Any dentist to recommend for braces - good and at reason price

ugly_teeth

I did mine at Lee & Ong dental last year. Still on treatment now. Going for my appointment this tuesday. I have overcrowded teeth, but i can opt whether to have it extracted or not. I opted for non extraction [4 teeth, shd be damn pain and lose a lot of blood i guess?].

So ortho placed me on this RPE treatment. Rapid palatal expander. After 6 months on that, then can put normal braces already. No extractions needed.

I'm on metal braces now. Total treatment is 3.5K, irregardless of whether you're opting for extraction or non extraction.

I paid an initial deposit of 500, followed by 100 for every visit.

Lee & Ong is located at Teck Whye, and also at Orchard.

Heh heh, and it's never too late to put on braces! I thought it was, but my ortho said he himself put braces when he was 30 years old, and he has patients old enough to be grandparents.

Hope it helps.
:)

ugly_teeth

537251.jpg
537252.jpg

See, this was how my teeth looks like before i put on braces. Looking back, i'm quite surprised at the effectiveness of the RPE.

But it's abit painful because you'll have to screw the thing yourself as instructed by ortho to expand the teeth.

Good thing is, it gives you a wider and more beautiful smile as compared to extractions. Extractions will reduce exposure area of your teeth, and will push your teeth further back in.

I don't know.. up to personal preference ba. Haha~

If you go do some research on the thing, it's quite scary actually. Haha.

ugly_teeth

Nope. No need to pay the full fee at one go. I paid $500 for initial downpayment, followed by $100 per month when i go for my follow-up.

If you want, you can choose to pay more for your initial downpayment.

:)

hurt2x

Thanks Esteem. I went to Smile @ Compass point today. Ceramic braces,cost me $4800. Paid $1500 for initial downpayment, followed by instalments for 14 to 16 months... gg to take x-ray tmrw... Kind of feeling excited and nervous. Some friends told me painful while some said alright...

iamme

Me also opt for the non extraction option cos I simply can't stand the extraction process.. My experience is totally painless.. only can't speak well during that 3 mths with the metal thing blocking my tongue hee..

For those who are terrified of pain I recommend you my dental. Dr Siva of Corporate Dental. He is very skillful and his method is painless.. Or maybe my gums are too 'remold-able'
Never regret doing the braces after seeing what a beautiful smile it gave me..

iamme

Btw my treatment is $800 for the metal thing to widen my upper jaw and $3700 for metal brackets. But not everyone is suitable for the RPE treament as it usually works better on younger kids with less stubborn 'bones'..

ugly_teeth

Hahaha~ True, age is a factor to consider for the RPE treatment. Before i decided on that option, i went to research about it first. Seems that my age looks too old for RPE. But i decided to give it a shot, since there's no harm trying. If after RPE treatment it couldn't work, i can always go back to extraction. Wont incur extra cost. I could afford to wait for the results, so went ahead with it loh.

Wow iamme, yours a little expensive to me. Mine was everything 3.5k, inclusive of the thing to widen my upper jaw as well.

Pain factor, depends on your treshold level i guess. Hehe~

Hope everyone will have a pretty smile!
=D

hurt2x

I went for the extraction. I was surprised that I didnt have much feel even when the extraction was done, less than a min for each tooth. Before that, i was informed that due to my age, may expect some toughness. I was scared before I step into the room, nearly wanted to back out. Not sure for those opted the extraction, mine gv me a spray before the injection and then a painkiller for me to to take.

Soon I am going for my second extraction appointment. Hope the same experience as per the 1st one. Gg to extract one of my decayed wisdom tooth as well.

hurt2x

hugebearf, for me, location is another factor to consider. Cos I am staying at Punggol, I prefer to go somewhere nearby. So I decide on this clinic. Though not in the popular listing, I decided to take the risk, also heard from my sis that the Dr is very gentle.

melody_fav

Hi, hurt2x.
i just went for consultation with the dr with the same clinic to. . hw was the xray n extraction u experience?? u took hw long to get the braces on? im still pondering which clinic to go for.

hurt2x

Hr Sheryl

Dr Chiong attends to my case.

The x-ray is done at orchard, not incl in the package. extraction is fast and no pain. He do a spray, injection ( bearable to me ) and medication, wait for these 3 to take effect before he extracts. If your tooth's root is deeper, once the anaseptic is over, u will feel the pain that nite. U can take pain killer. It helps. I experienced the pain for my 4th extracted tooth. The root is deeper, the rest ok.

if u follow his schedule, within a month, you can have your braces on.

I dont follow his, cos I am very busy with my work and study. soon, I will have mine on.

melody_fav

HI, Hurt2x
Thanks for ur reply.
Does cleansing included when u each time go back for tightening..? i very scare of the pain.. omg..

hurt2x

I heard the package includes the cleansing for each tightening appointment. U can call them to confirm this again. I didnt ask cos that day I heard a lady asking also & the nurse said "ya, included as well as changing the wire "

Me too, but I already stepped into it. Cannot give up now.

melody_fav

i check with them , she quite abit attitude like tat say ya.. den say that if wan, pay the deposit first n they give u the referral letter for the xray.. hw long u get ur xray? n start the extraction?

hurt2x

melody, which lady? think there are 2 to 3 of them.

Not sure whether we are talking of the same person. when i made the 1st enquiry, I felt the same too. Now I find the one that was attending to me then is nice and she offers me advice.

After the 1st consultation, once you are confirmed in doing, you need to pay the deposit. Within the same day u can get your x-ray ( take less than an hr ). Visit the clinic again, let Dr see the x-ray & decide if you need extraction.

The extraction is anytime from there.

wendily

I'm thinking of putting on braces. Really afraid of needles and pain. I now can feel that my teeth are pushing forward, wonder if it's the wisdom tooth growing that causes it.

Any recommended dentist? I saw some recommended Ubi. As i'm staying at Bukit Panjang, are there are dentist that is near my area?

Hopefully those with minimal pain experience can recommend me? I scare i will faint! LOL..

melody_fav

thx Hurt2x
i dun feel gd abt the payment for deposit first den they give u the referral letter for the xray.. saying tat dun waste $ for doing the xray.. like kind of crap.
but for convenience sake, its the better choice.. haiz..

happycookie

don't visit the Smile Clinique Dental Surgeons at compasspoint. Went to extract my upper wisdom tooth. Dentist Chiong quoted me $80 before extraction but charged me $120 after extraction. I was very consious of the price he quoted because i was ready to boot if the price quoted is out of my budget. I was annoyed also becuase their price list stated $80-$100. so where did the $120 come from?????

hurt2x

cbh, have you asked for a reason?
I went for mine, a lower wisdom tooth extraction in nov07, I was quoted 450 to 600. The cost was within the budgtet. Mine was the surgical type.

hurt2x

I have my full braces on.
the process is not as bad as I thot ( referring to the pain ). My dentist spread out the process, with the separator, the crowning & then the braces in 3 weeks. Indirectly, the anticipation has reduced and also making me slowly accustom to the change in my mouth.. Now i have to face eating and brushing problem. I believe I can manage.

hurt2x

liv, not really, cos u be given injection etc. it is after that, when the anaseptic effect is over, by then u be at home resting. When u open wide your jaw.. then u feel the pain, so be careful, dun open until u feel the tissue is stretched. Cos I was careless, it was shocking pain. Next few days, your jaw will be swollen... so when comes talking & eating, dun open too wide, but still manageable.

alleb

Went for my braces consultation yesterday. I think all dental clinic charge the consultation if u do not take up the package, so when i ask the nurse over the phone how much is the consultation fee and she say no fee needed, I was a bit skeptical.. hahaha... In the end, the female orthodontist is very nice, really din charge me consultation fee and talk to me for half and hour and ask me to go back and think about it. She is very nice, gave a lot of advise and best of all, not pushy at all.

I was told that to achevie a prefect result, I have to go for jaw surgery and at the same time braces. As my jaw is protuding out, therefore, braces will only push my bunny teeth in, but not able to push my jaw in. Sigh.... I took very long get myself mentally prepared for the braces, now the jaw surgey thing, I really dun know if I can tahan the surgery a not... I will be on 1 mth mc after the surgery... Total time taken for the surgery and braces be ard 2 years to complete.

Anyone has jaw surgery before? Is it very painful? How long will the pain last? Really need advise on that..... help...

vernwyen

My braces is done at NTUC denticare. Dr Boay is an orthodontist hence my teeth lies in good hands
Now into last stage of my braces liao, tightening the extraction gaps with rubber bands.

vernwyen

erm, after 10% discount is $3600 IIRC. I am on Damon 2 (metal brackets), this type of braces has less tension on teeth hence the pain is reduced. Of coz you will feel the ache after every tightening but it will subside in juz a couple of days. Btw, the price excludes pre-check up (consultation + xray) and extractions but includes retainers

bigman

Actually the safest recommendations i wud say are the govt clinics.
AH or NUH wud be the top choices cos it's waiting time is short compared to NDC.
BUT NUH uses inexperienced post grad students who are guided by the expert professors, and i read that they are only available on weekdays (Can call NUH to further check). However they charge the cheapest one can find.ard $2.2 k only!

For private, go to those govt affililated like NTUC or reputable ones mentioned in this forum a few times.

bigman

Hi jasmine,

why did u choose to go Epismile?
how much is ur braces + jaw surgery package? wheere will u be doing the surgery?

joloke

I'm currently on braces but I very much wanted to change to a new dentist. Okie, my problem here is my lower jaw is slightly protruding out but this dentist that I'm with currently with says surgery's not needed, however, I strongly will not recommend anyone to visit there! Elias Road (Yen Dental) Dr Tay! I shall not elaborate much on my worst experiences but I guarantee there will be 100 regrets.

I've intend to get marry next yr, but till now for almost half a year of visiting to that Yen Dental, there is still not much progress, I guess I may need another 2 yrs if I were to change dental. My appt duration with them was always like 6-7 wks apart, and each time abt 45 mins, and untill now I've yet to see those hollows being close up for almost half a yr visit, is it a norm process?

Wonder if anyone have lobang of dentist that can take a shorter duration like half a yr's time? I don't mind paying more per visit and stays for hrs.. I just wana see results. Thanks!

bigman

Hi Jo,

I think the treatment is generally the same with any kind of dentists.... it's more of the age tat matters

bigman

Hi Jo,

But also the skill is dependent but not too much lor...some orthos don't accept transfer cases... so u can try if u're really not comfy wif ur present ortho..

joloke

Hi Bigman,

I have a friend who is currently with a dentist at Paragon and she told her about my problem, surprisingly she is willing to meet up with me. Hope she can give me a positive answer, and of course more professional.

bunnz

Hi Jo

The time taken for each individual with their braces varies from how serious their problem is, how often do the brackets actually drop, of course skill of the dentists etc etc.. i had my braces for 3 years supposedly planned for 2 to 2 and half years. The dentist cant guarantee you like u can definitely finish before your wedding.
The number of hours at the dentist each time and number of visits will not hasten the result.

bunnz

hey perhaps i can recommend you another clinic..the dentists practice at paragon too if i remmeber correctly. they also have another practice in a suburban area..may be cheaper.. at bt panj though.if u are interested.

btw i came across a lady who had braces and then had to take out her braces for a day just to take wedding photos and put them back after wards. of course she has to pay extra for the service..think abt $500

bunnz

like what bigman says..some dentists dont accept transfer cases..if u change, u might have to start all over again from scratch..cos different dentists have their own point of view

joloke

thanks for your suggestions, I have visited her, Dr Koh yesterday and if I'm not wrong it's call G.S Dentist at the 9th storey, she will not charge me for the down payment, cos she actually handle quite a number of transfer cases and knows we have paid quite alot but suffer in the end. What she is concern now, the previous Dr Tay might not want to write a report for her to follow up. However, she suggest me to undergo minor surgery for my gum first prior to bracing cos the previous dentist did not extract my wisdom tooth which was growing sideway, and also I was in a car accident a few years back, my gum was pull down so not much support to my teeth and it causes my lower front teeth to be shaky, and the previous dentist keep pushing them to the back. She's afraid at the end of the day when my bracing, my front teeth would drop off. She is quite detail (but too early to tell her professionalism), she show me my x-ray result and explained to me and let me consider before she continues.

What is more depressing is, she says end of the bracing, my protruding lower jaw may not be as perfect as what I might imagine, unless I go for surgery, on the other hand, she advise not to cause it's not as serious and will try to fix it as perfect as possible for me.. then what is the point of putting all this braces in the first place?

And yes Bunnz, I think I have to start all over again

sorry I know I'm naggy and loso.. but I'm really lost and hopeless

bunnz

Hi Jo

Are u comfortable enough with this new dentist to carry your tx with her? U have to gauge yourself.

So are u doing the minor surgery?I am confused.
Well if after the braces , there's improvement..\
but also depends on how perfect u want your teeth to be..Actually i'm like considering teeth whitening for a while but still pondering over it.. cos it's more like vanity treatment liao .not sure worth the $$ anot

btw one of my frens was advised by my dentist to go for surgery but in the end she opted not to..and make do with whatever the braces can give her..her jaw is like the excessive kind..

joloke

Hi Bunnz,

I will also be doing whitening when my braces is done. My friend did it after bracing + she is a smoker abt 5 yrs ago and nw still in good condition. So just do it.. she did it at Ubi dental. Cheap but the dentist is abit rough..

Ur friend had finished her braces? Is the look different nw? Mine is gum problem.. so most likely have to do it.

bigman

Actually i wud recommend orthos from govt hospitals bah.. and look for those experienced ones..those private ones dunno good or not.

So far i haven't heard of a good skilled ortho.

But for jaw surgeons i know this Dr. Ho Kee Hai and Dr. Loh Hong Sai , both formerly from NUH. now doing private practise... good and approacable. Dr Ho has opened a clinic at Paragon but charges highly .. most of his patients are overseas ones..

missyyee

I've been considering putting on braces for almost 2 years! But I have no idea what to expect from putting on braces..

I have friends who experienced massive pain (huge ulcers leading to headaches etc) while the rest told me that it's not as bad.

Anyone knows a reasonable priced OD located at the West side of Singapore (Boon Lay, Jurong East, Clementi, Bukit Batok)?

Please advice!