Any dentist to recommend for braces - good and at reason price

bb

Try Dr Ho and associates at tanglin shopping centre. Call 100 to get his number. I used to go to him when I was schooling. Took mine out years back. You can go to him for consultation.He used to be from NUH (then open his own business) and is a lecturer at NUS dentistry.I had mine done for 3k. but that was 6 years back. Now I m not sure.You can't look for cheap dentist. You pay more to get a very experience one. This is important cos if he is inexperience, he will take longer time in the tightening process. It will be painful. My 2 cents worth. : )

tieknot2004

Hi I am thinking of correcting my teeth via braces but as i need to meet clients for my job, may need braces done from behind the teeth.

Anyone done that? Where did u do it and how much does it cost?

Will appreciate your advise very much! Thanks!

pk

my sis did hers at Dr Chong(I think) at Ubi Dental Clinic.. quite good n cheap.. but his appt list can line up to 1-2 mths one.. very busy doctor..

thinking of doing it as well.. but take very long leh.. abt 2 - 3 years.

tieknot2004

Hi PK, Thanks will check it out! But err.... clinic name is UBI DENTAL CLINIC? Cos i couldnt find the telephone listing. Do you have the contacts? BTW, sorrie, may i know how much did your sis pay for it? Thanks!!!

deysher

i have been a dental nurse assistant before and for root canal treatment thats one clinic name dental@farja. Very expericence doctor but also expensive.
deysher

lw

Hi Tieknot2004,

I am wearing lingual braces now ( braces at the back of the teeth )

It's very expensive, 5K each for upper and lower teeth. Meaning total 10K. You will have to pay 3K for the first instalment and subsequently have to pay $300 for each visit ( per month )

I do it at emBRACE...

ocean

I will be doing mine braces with Dentalworks. Going to do the back teeth next Friday and the front ones by the following Friday.

The dentist Dr Poon is a very nice and gentle guy. He explains every steps he does to your teeth. A bit ex for me lah but my personal view is to get a good dentist thru recommendation.

Good luck.

dolphin

Hi ocean,

Wat are the charges for Dentalworks ?

Hi Deysher,

Wats the charges for Dental @ Farja ? can i have the contacts please?

squirt

Hi ppl..

Me tot of doing braces..but my wedding is nxt year dec..which means that I do nt have enuf time.

Anyone heard tat the braces can be taken out during AD and put back again...??

lea

Hi Shanice

Yes, I had braces previously and took them out twice ... once for ROM and once for actual day ceremony. But the dentist will charge you a fee for the material and also his labour for taking out and putting back the braces. Can be quite expensive so got to ask him beforehand on the charges. I went to Dr Loh, OmniDental at Heeren. He's very gentle and patient.

zuzu

i read on the internet that extraction is not necessary in 2/3 of the cases of those who wear braces. my dentist wants me to extract 4 perm teeth (not wisdom teeth). He's a specialist in orthdontry and I know I should trust him but I'm still very worried. i must extract in 2 weeks time.

any advices?

oraia

hi shanice,

if ur wedding is nxt dec, u hv 2 yrs almost... i think it shd be enuff time, no?

i did my braces years ago... mine only took 1 yr cos it wasn't v serious... most of my other frens who had theirs done had it on for about 2 yrs...

mabbe u can go and consult a good dentist first, and then decide.

buffy

Hi Fernvale,

I heard that NTUC Denticare is not too bad as in reasonable. But of course, it cannot be compared to National Dental Centre.

Have you done braces before? Because most of the time, to do adjustments, u need the metal brackets on all the teeth, not just the back ones.

I did mine with National Dental Centre when I was in Poly and then my dentist went into private practice. He is now at Mt E but he is very good. Costly though...

buffy

Hi Fernvale,

Oh.... I think you meant the lingual ones... Think almost all orthdontist have them right?

zuzu:
Oh, I was not aware than more than 2/3 of the time, you need not extraction. Because all except one of my friends had to extract 4 teeth.

I guess this depends on an individual basis as in if there is overcrowding, how much space you have for re-positioning, etc.

4 molars are quite common so dun worry. Perhaps you should also ask yr dentist on his logic for the extraction and he may be able to share with you his "restrictions" if there is no extraction.

zuzu

hi buffy

thanks. me extracted all 4 and on braces for abt one month liao. my orthodontist says i have over-crowding so must extract 4. was very relunctant at first but got to trust him i guess.

twinkleglint

hi zuzu,
dun b scare cos 4 teeth is normal. mine also extract 4 of them....my friend had 8 of them extracted cos she had in addtional 4 wisdom tooth. now my wisdom tooth are out n they are nicely grown so dun need to extract, i think the braces i did 2 years back did help to aline them. i have no regrets, i even miss the days i look wif mine braces on, looks kinda cute, hehehehe......even for now i still put on retainers every night.

hi shanice, fernvale, dolphin, Tieknot2004, moon
if u need any recommendation, i can give u the contacts. i have 3 frds all wif the same dentist, he is very expreience, skilful yet very gentle. jus email me at [email protected]

hi Tieknot2004
i actually have my teeth corrected wif braces cos i had bunny teeth n the lower deck too crowded. a good smile is very impt, esp when u need to meet clients. u kn wat, my face is slimmer now, chin more pointed so enhance my cheekbone. my frds n family members commented that i look slightly diff. i didn't realise it myself but when i took out my past photos, i see the diff.

dun worry abt the look wif braces on cos i use to worry too......now i miss it so much cos it looks kinda cute.....heehehe....go for it, i support u....

hoshi5

Not sure whether I shld go for braces too.
I mean, it's not very 'buck' but I find tat it's getting more and more esp if u view the teeth from sideways... how?
Worried abt the costs, and the discomfort.
May I know how much u all paid for and where?

twinkleglint

hi hoshi5,

i agree wif u that ur teeth is ok, if u r not very bother by it.

i paid about $2.5k in installment, no interest of cos. my teeth got straigthen in a few months time, but the upper deck takes longer n to adjust to perferction, it takes around 1.5 ~ 2 yrs to take it off, depend on ur condition. mine was quite fast.

i couldn't get use it in the few wk, but get use to it quite fast. u can look quite cute too, hehehehe. many pple say very pain till cannot eat or sleep but me n frds dun have such prob leh. even my cousin also went for it n twat that she will have those prob but then she also quite enjoy the process.

no regrets!

zuzu

hi twinkleglint

wow $2.5K is quite cheap. I paid $3.8K for the whole treatment, not the ceremic ones, just the metal ones.

hi hoshi5

for me i see it as a good investment, ur set of teeth is going to be with you for life. think it takes a lot of determination to go through it: first the extraction then the pain, and the hassle of visiting the dentist every month...must be very determined lor.

twinkleglint

hi zuzu,
mine also metal ones. heehhee

i agree wif wat u say, infact i dun have much pain. i was scare initially but after when thru it i felt brave. really very satisfy wif the result. now i can take my bridal photos close-up....no prob.

zuzu

hi twinkeglint

good for u. if only i did mine earlier. i got married last oct. did mine almost immediately after my wedding in dec cos dont wanna "tu" liao. u taking ur wedding pc soon?

sugarbabe

i'm oso wearing braces now, extracted 8 teeth (inclusive of 4 wisdom teeth).. had been wearing it for 6 mths already... the first wk of wearing braces is really a torture to me, as the wires kept on rubbing against my mouth n cause me to ve a very big ulcers n my mouth was swollen for the first wk... my dentist is from national dental ctr, the dentist is ok but those recep. n appt making is a hassle (read: u cant change ur appt. easily). hopefully i am able to take off my braces in 1 n a half yrs time (but dentist says 2 yrs more) n will be holding my customary..

bortei

so glad to find this thread

my dentist have been nagging me to wear braces, for my lower teeth as they are too far apart. i have 2 teeth that are standing alone, and my gums are not strong. so the dentist advised me to wear braces.

She quoted me abt 2.5 - 2.8K, is it X?

and if i wan ceramic, i will need to top $500.

what do you ppl think?

me now also trying to look around for more prices comparison

zuzu

hi Bortei Khan

i believe prices will not be halved even if you only do one row. i would advise u to put on both upper and lower. the effect would be better. mine is $3.8K for whole treatment, metal ones. did it at Mt E.

so far those around me who had braces before never regret. all are happy with the results. think you should go for it, esp since ur dentist already advise.

doremon

Hi bortei khan,

Can i have the contact of your dentist? Me was also being advised to put on braces and i need to do extraction too.

So far, the price i got is 4.8K or 5K. So was very surprised to read that yours is 2.5 - 2.8K and somemore with ceramic will only cost $3.3K.

Can you share with me?

bortei

hi zuzu

mine is just to tighten the gaps in betw my lower teeth. so dentist has confirmed me no need go for upper teeth.

doremon
mine is just the lower part, that's why you think that it's cheap.

zuzu

hi Bortei Khan

one of my fren was quoted $2K plus (cant remember how much exactly)for the lower teeth too, from ntuc denticare. but later she opt to do both cos it's more worthwhile. i believe $2K plus is the norm but $2.8K seems ridiculously high.

i feel that u should put on braces to remove the gaps, will improve ur bites and appearance. but price wise, why not seek a second opinion. compare prices first to find out the mkt rate. (i heard NDC prices is similar to priate clinic).

also i chose one close to my workplace, more convenient to go for my monthly review. also got any problem can go anytime. so, good if u can choose one near ur workplace or home. can be a chore cos u need to go every month.

zuzu

twinkleglint

it is really true that u will never regret with the result after putting braces........btw, if ur are considering ceremics one, i advise u to reconsider because i got a frd doing it and it took longer to get her teeth straighten.my dentist also told me that it is true because it do not have the strength of the metal ones.

my friends even had her backets dropped a few times n have to pay for the backets if she lost it. for metals ones, it is more secured. mine never drops.

initially, i very scare i will become very ugly with those metals on my teeth. but in the end i keep going back to my dentist to change new n colourful rubber bands.........hahaha till my dentist said mus order more. then my mum also found it weird cos before i put on braces i keep worrying of my looks then why i keep putting diff colours of rubber bang which will make it more obvious........hahaha........i remember me n my frds even chose red ones for CNY.......heee so fun.......

i did get brasions during my time but it seldom turned ino ulcers cos i took very good care of it. i seldom eat hard food n i chewed slowly, my mum is the best always cook soft but good food if i went for tightening. then after tightening i have wierd graving for ice-cream........ n the weirdest thing is u keep having dreams abt ur teeth when i was on braces.........

enjoy......

small_lamb

Hi Bortei Khan ,

I have the same problem as you, the lower deck of my teeth. Far apart and it will be more apart as you grow older.
I am also thinking of wearing the braces but just don't know how much and where to get it. Yours is cheap i think. Can I have the contact as well to find out more?

bortei

thanks for the advise!

blythe, we are in the same boat! my contact is Q & M at hougang plaza 1st floor. number is 63872683. Dr Eddy Ong.

hi zuzu, i agree with you, i feel that 2.8k is rather steep, not forgetting there will be follow-up consultants on alighment, think will add up to 3k plus.

actually now i doesn't really affect my bites and appearance, nobody knows abt my gaps cos it doesn't show. but then i know that as i grow older, it will weaker and my gum cannot support.thus the consideration now. will have to put on false teeth after late 30s.

i think i will consider seeking another price comparison from ntuc dental care.

will let u gals know the quotation after my visit!

zuzu

hi Bortei Khan

usually price quoted is for the full term of the treatment ie no charges for monthly review. u pay by installment. i believe the $2.8K quoted is a package price already.

for ntuc denticare, u only get discount if u are an ntuclink member.

bortei

hi zuzu

no leh, i double check with the clinic liao. 2.5 -2.8k is not inclusive of follow-up consultations.

zuzu

hi Bortei Khan

then it's too too expensive. mine and many of my friends' are all packaged price. mine is $3.8K (both upper and lower). no charges at all for monthly review (tightening, adjustment etc).

u want i can give u my dentist's detail and website. he's an orthodontist (specialist). u can give me ur email add.

doremon

Hi zuzu,

Can you pm me your dentist's details and website also?

Yours is 3.8k for both upper and lower....hmmmm...that is recent pricing?

yunn

I'm really sad cuz i did orthodontic in 2000 but it's getting back liked b4 now. Mayb the 2nd year i didnt go 4 follow up more than half year?? It's ok at the 1st, although come out a little bit, til last year my doc asked me not 2 wear it 4 a month then mayb my tooth not stable enough so come out a little bit again so now almost like b4 but not worst than original, sure la...

Last time there was different doc, even my doc now also said dont know y the doc didnt wanto extract tooth 4 me in order 2 make it perfect. He said some doc is liked that, not like 2 extract patient's tooth. According 2 my doc now, he said 2 of my lower-part teeth hv2b extracted 2 make the up 1 push back cuz lower teeth hold up the upper teeth 2 push back. Then i hv 2 waste $$$$ 2 do it again but this time my doc said he'll recommend his fren, a specialist 4 me. I hope so if not i'll hv inferiority complex feeling caused of ugly looking tooth. My bf always says no need 2 do, he said very nice looking. I think only he felt that i'm pretty! He wanna me happy mah... Ai, so sad!!!

orangejimbo

Hello

I am still pursuing my studies but i wanted to get braces for my teeth coz i haf bunny teeth which make it unappealing from the side. Anyone can recommend me good and affordable dentist coz i will be paying it by myself...

asklea

I am looking for a professional yet affordable dentist to do my braces. Preferably ceramics as they are less obvious. Does anyone have any good recommendations? It has to be reasonably priced as i am a student and will be paying for it myself. Thanks so much.

zuzu

hi orange and asklea

did mine 6 months ago at Mt E. $3.8K (full package price, no other charges)+ extraction of 4 teeth at another $200 plus(own dentist). Is this within ur budget? can email u the contact if it is.

ugly_teeth

Haix!
I also thinking of having braces... but scared pain lar.. den sumore my teeth damn ugly really.. so paiseh.. i got phobia of dentist u see... 8 yrs never visit dentist liao... so can anyone recommend female orthodontist for me? haix.. must be cheap also lor.. on budget... think my case arh, most probably need 6 years and $10k ah.. really jialat... havent been smiling for 8 years also ler...

asklea

Hi Zuzu

At $3.8k is that about market rate? The price seems alrite as long as we can pay by installment. Is that possible? Can you email me your contact? How long will your braces be on? thanks. [email protected]