Wow, so much action! Finding it hard to keep up! But it's been nice reading all the posts
Liz, haha I find it ok, but Emil finds it strange, so don't wanna make things awkward for him in Sweden la
Thinking of keeping my maiden name email for friends in Singapore, while opening my married name email for Sweden. But must check with Emil too to see if that's strange

these cultural things can be sensitive! So how did your pizza turn out? hehe..
Chrisl, wah, don't really keep a record of the telephone bill or postage bills though

but i do have some cards sent by post ... haha dunno leh, the emails we have are on quite deep personal issues that we go thru as a couple, not too sure i want them to be read by the immigration dept :S and hey guess what? your solemniser also became my good friend's solemniser! she's everywhere
cuclainne, wow, Elias must hv gone thru quite a bit to feel that way ... but on the other hand, home is where the heart is, and his heart is with you, so, whereever you are, that's home to him!
which is good lah. Some guys never cut off the strings from their parents, which makes it tough to set up a new home within marriage. Think Emil and I have to go thru that rite of passage - not to abandon our families lah, but to also make sure that in the end, our home is ours to make. Hahaha good la that Elias supports you with the doll collection
perhaps the collection may appreciate in value, then you can even pass it on to Sofi and Elin when they are of age

if you want to of cos... hehe.. And all the best with the saffron buns! Tell me how they go
I wonder if it's becos of the type of flour / yeast used in Singapore .. Emil tried duplicating his homemade bread in Singapore, but never turned out quite the same. haha i can imagine the issue with the swedish vowels ... Emil's last name also has one ... I always get a bit 'scared' that some places may become super particular about the vowel and refuse to grant the permit or sth

I actually didn't know it's common for the kids to take their mum's surname! Is that for common-law marriages tho?
Julia, you're one brave and adventurous lady
kudos! I had to travel quite a bit for work a few years back, and after about a year or so I was already pleading fatigue and wanted to just settle in one place!
Emi, haha well, we do get what we wish for

but on the bright side, there's no other better person to be travelling the nomadic life with, eh?
Mrs N, must record these things down and tell Dominic when he's older
deluxe, yea, Emil has the same impression as your husband ... haha dunno why lah. I think when i was growing up, I used to find it abit strange too, to hv a hypenated last name, up till when i started working, then i realised that customer / client relationships can be lost when the woman gets married due to the change in last name. and esp for girls like ourselves, who suddenly 'become' angmoh ... haha can be quite misleading. Prob more convenient to have a hypenated last name la.. i would prefer that. But will submit to Emil's decision
Wow so your baby's going to be born so near CNY? So interesting
Would you prefer him to be a rat or ox, or no preference? And no worries - am sure he'll come out when Mum and Dad are ready!

and yea, Chinese food in Sweden is quite sad... may be a bit better in Stockholm since it's a bigger city with more variety. But think I'll stick to home-cooked food. It's scary, the amount of salt they use in Sweden in all their food!
maple, no lah, you know we are here for you right
work really does sound tough ... what does Jeff think? Would you two still wanna stick on for the next 2 years? I don't think you both are the type to work for more and more money tho, just to have enough to enjoy life. Guess it's kinda like a vicious cycle - we gotta work to enjoy life, then in the end no time to enjoy life

Hope work lets up for you. Things are pretty busy for me here as well, peak period at work for me for the next 2 weeks, and then it'll be better
Emil and I don't really talk everyday, tho we try to, but becos we each hv stuff going on, sometimes it's hard to find a common time. Just yesterday, I kinda broke down over the phone with him. Work has been a lot, so had put on hold wedding prep, preparations for the move to Sweden, job hunting etc. Then yesterday suddenly felt overwhelmed by it all. Really had wished he was here with me to go thru each day together, would have really helped la. But yea, gotta make the best of what we have right
One step at a time I guess
clara, good on you! Yes, the wait is almost over!!!
As for the
meet up on Dec 6, don't think I can join you ladies, am busy on most weekends. You all have a good time!