Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

clara, yes of course i remember you .. still active at cozycot? i haven't been there in ages ..

wow, that's fast .. so you'll be moving over and then coming back here later for your sg event?

Wow, so much action! Finding it hard to keep up! But it's been nice reading all the posts

Liz, haha I find it ok, but Emil finds it strange, so don't wanna make things awkward for him in Sweden la
Thinking of keeping my maiden name email for friends in Singapore, while opening my married name email for Sweden. But must check with Emil too to see if that's strange :P these cultural things can be sensitive! So how did your pizza turn out? hehe..

Chrisl, wah, don't really keep a record of the telephone bill or postage bills though :P but i do have some cards sent by post ... haha dunno leh, the emails we have are on quite deep personal issues that we go thru as a couple, not too sure i want them to be read by the immigration dept :S and hey guess what? your solemniser also became my good friend's solemniser! she's everywhere ;)

cuclainne, wow, Elias must hv gone thru quite a bit to feel that way ... but on the other hand, home is where the heart is, and his heart is with you, so, whereever you are, that's home to him!
which is good lah. Some guys never cut off the strings from their parents, which makes it tough to set up a new home within marriage. Think Emil and I have to go thru that rite of passage - not to abandon our families lah, but to also make sure that in the end, our home is ours to make. Hahaha good la that Elias supports you with the doll collection
perhaps the collection may appreciate in value, then you can even pass it on to Sofi and Elin when they are of age ;) if you want to of cos... hehe.. And all the best with the saffron buns! Tell me how they go
I wonder if it's becos of the type of flour / yeast used in Singapore .. Emil tried duplicating his homemade bread in Singapore, but never turned out quite the same. haha i can imagine the issue with the swedish vowels ... Emil's last name also has one ... I always get a bit 'scared' that some places may become super particular about the vowel and refuse to grant the permit or sth :P I actually didn't know it's common for the kids to take their mum's surname! Is that for common-law marriages tho?

Julia, you're one brave and adventurous lady
kudos! I had to travel quite a bit for work a few years back, and after about a year or so I was already pleading fatigue and wanted to just settle in one place! :P

Emi, haha well, we do get what we wish for ;) but on the bright side, there's no other better person to be travelling the nomadic life with, eh? ;)

Mrs N, must record these things down and tell Dominic when he's older ;)

deluxe, yea, Emil has the same impression as your husband ... haha dunno why lah. I think when i was growing up, I used to find it abit strange too, to hv a hypenated last name, up till when i started working, then i realised that customer / client relationships can be lost when the woman gets married due to the change in last name. and esp for girls like ourselves, who suddenly 'become' angmoh ... haha can be quite misleading. Prob more convenient to have a hypenated last name la.. i would prefer that. But will submit to Emil's decision
Wow so your baby's going to be born so near CNY? So interesting
Would you prefer him to be a rat or ox, or no preference? And no worries - am sure he'll come out when Mum and Dad are ready! :D and yea, Chinese food in Sweden is quite sad... may be a bit better in Stockholm since it's a bigger city with more variety. But think I'll stick to home-cooked food. It's scary, the amount of salt they use in Sweden in all their food!

maple, no lah, you know we are here for you right
work really does sound tough ... what does Jeff think? Would you two still wanna stick on for the next 2 years? I don't think you both are the type to work for more and more money tho, just to have enough to enjoy life. Guess it's kinda like a vicious cycle - we gotta work to enjoy life, then in the end no time to enjoy life :P Hope work lets up for you. Things are pretty busy for me here as well, peak period at work for me for the next 2 weeks, and then it'll be better
Emil and I don't really talk everyday, tho we try to, but becos we each hv stuff going on, sometimes it's hard to find a common time. Just yesterday, I kinda broke down over the phone with him. Work has been a lot, so had put on hold wedding prep, preparations for the move to Sweden, job hunting etc. Then yesterday suddenly felt overwhelmed by it all. Really had wished he was here with me to go thru each day together, would have really helped la. But yea, gotta make the best of what we have right
One step at a time I guess

clara, good on you! Yes, the wait is almost over!!!

As for the meet up on Dec 6, don't think I can join you ladies, am busy on most weekends. You all have a good time!

glypmse, hahahaha - when he first move out from his mom's place, his apartment was located just down the street from her place. recently we had a talk about parents, now being parents ourselves, and wondering whether our kids will appreciate us as much as we appreciate ours. even though he may be far from his family, but i think the bond with the family is still as strong - we communicate via emails and his parents, esp his mother will call every weekend to check on the kids. i'm sure it'll work out fine for you and emil.

hahahah - it'll have to depend on whether the girls are interested at all in taking over my collection.

not really sure where it has gone wrong but the yeast we used was sent from sweden. even my mother says that bread tastes better there than here ..

yes, works for common-law marriages too .. sweden is very big on gender equality so i suppose that if the parents are ok with the kids taking on the mother's surname, that no one is going to bat an eyelid.

don't worry girl - you'll be with emil soon enough .. the finish line is in sight, just look towards that and the time will past by very quickly. i've been through it myself - it might have been easier for me cos we talk every day - we would talk on msn and chat on phone for a while before i go to sleep, and then he'll call me again just before he goes to bed which works out because i'm on my way to work then.. hahaha. the going might seem tough but just have to stick to it yah .. cheer up

cuclainne nope im not that active in cozycot anymore..

after awhile i find it abit boring.. hahhaa
ya come back for my event here

wowww! lots & lots of posts to catch up on.

hello again ladies.
sorry i missed the Oct meet-up.
life's been a bit crazy at the moment, job switch and all... quite a taxing time for me. Lots of things in a state of flux...

quick shout out to glympse:
paiseh, missed the chance to meet you. how's wedding preps?
We found a pair of nice rings at Love&Co but they apparently couldn't do the lady's band w/o the embedded diamond (unbelievable). We haven't had the chance to visit WB Silva yet as well, hopefully can go soon! Did you settle yr bands already?

cuclainne yah Dom sleeps in his own cot. Hee! Hee! His cot is nearer to Paul's side of the bed so in the days when he used to wake up in the wee hours it was usually Daddy that wakes up to do nappy changes and calm him down.

So the girls only peed on Elias??

glympse (((hugs))) you'll soon be in Sweden before you know it and then .... you'll probably be missing S'pore after that ... like the rest of us who live away from home!
I have 2 email accounts: one in maiden name and one in married name. I still use both interchangeably depending on my mood. Never occurred to me that there will be cultural implications so I never asked Paul for his opinion on this matter. Don't think he minds as it's no big deal. In fact he still uses the one in my maiden name if he sends me emails.
It's a whole lot easier to retain your old email if you have lots of contacts on them.

Yah I will have to set up a blog about Dominic's funny antics. Still can't get into multiply ... grrrr! That is why I've not put up any of Dom's piccies. I've put some up on facebook but at the mo also seem to have trouble loading pics on it too. Ha! Ha! Me and my computer problems.

Hi to everyone else!

clara, wonder what's going on there - maybe i should log-in and see if anything interesting is going on .. hahaha ..

felicia, welcome back - was wondering what happened to you .. busy busy busy huh?

Mrs N, i remembered waking up to Sofi throwing her teddy bear at me since her cot is next to mine .. so she'll either throw her teddy or scratch me if i'm close enough to reach .. hahaha .. what a wake-up to the morning!

yup, Elias is very lucky la .. hahahah

you're having probs with multiply?

felicia!!!!

how much is a pair of love & co wedding band huh??

always walk pass the one at vivocity but no idea how much it cost!

Julia actually I also dunno the rules re wedding bands, it depends on your culture I think, some cultures have the ring on the left hand and others on the right… I’ve been wearing both engagement and wedding rings tog on the left 4th finger since the wedding, purposely went to look for a wedding band that would match so I can do this. Tot of having 1 ring on each hand but found the right side too uncomfortable.. but my sis is only wearing her wedding band – so I guess it’s really up to you…

I’m not sure but I think only the Chinese practice “gatecrash” in sg.. haven’t heard abt my Malay frens doing it..

val I can’t make it on dec 6 as my BIL is in town till then, have to entertain him, dec 7 & 8 are fine tho.

Pics of cheong sum, I got mainly from bridal magazines, or websites of bridal shops… not much available generally on the web. If you need a good tailor, Ted’s Collection is apparently quite reputable – but their prices depend on how much time you give them to make, the earlier the cheaper, their designs are quite nice, more daring and different from the conventional ones. For conventional ones, I had a simple long halter cheongsam made at siglap centre – there’s a shop on the 2nd floor, it’s abt $450 including the material.

mrs n oh dear! I hope the counselor had an extra change of clothes with her!!

Hmmm.. having the cot nearer to hb’s side of the bed sounds like a good idea.. hehehe… I think I have the perfect excuse – if the cot is on my side of the bed, it’ll be directly under the fan – not so good for kids to have the wind blowing directly at them, right??!! :p

cuclainne yap, he’s due 20 jan, 1 wk before CNY!

Well I guess administration is generally faster here… what drives my hb up the wall is that everything has to go by the book… if it deviates, then either will take a long time to resolve or the reply will be “no, we can’t do it”… not too long ago, he had to change his mailing address with his German bank. I dunno why but the bank required some kind of govt official to sign on a form certifying that he is indeed living at the new address… took forever to get a reply from ICA, it was ding-donging back and forth before they finally said they can’t sign the form!!

glympse hiyah.. no pref for rat or ox baby lah.. all same same to me, whichever zodiac it is, there are pros and cons… I’m not so into zodiac myself, so don’t really care.

Hang on in there! I’m sure Emil empathizes with you
I understand how overwhelming it can be, trying to cope with everything alone… been there done that
are your parents able to help you out some of the preps?

de_luxe, only one week before elin's - she's born on 26th.

the swedish tax authorities were asking for a document from IRAS that states that they are taxing elias for everything because the previous one only stated that tax is only imposed on his salary. they wanted to make sure that someone is going to tax him for any other income, you see .. hahahah .. instead of waiting two weeks, elias managed to get the document sent to his office on friday and he had gone to see them on thursday which means the mail got sent that very same day. maybe he is just good at persuading them .. hahahah ..

actually the malay also have something similar to the gatecrash but not so bad la, won't ask the groom and his brothers to do 'tasks' .. like for my cousin's wedding, two of my uncles and a cousin blocked the way to the apartment and started asking the groom some questions mostly in jest and then they will ask what will he give them so that they will move out of the way etc and he will give angpow la. for me, i've already informed my parents beforehand that i don't want to do this so they informed my relatives not to do so ..

clara - heyhey! i think it was about $1600+ for the pair of fairly plain white gold bands we asked about. There was 1 tiny embedded diamond on the lady's ring.
i must say that they have a pretty good collection, since the whole shop sells only engagement solitaires and wedding bands. unfortunately service has been kinda inconsistent -- we waited a full 10 minutes at the Vivo branch and were not attended to, nor given any indication that either of the 2 sales staff would be keen to serve us after the other customers left.
At the Raffles City branch, the salesman was very polite and helpful but didn't follow up with additional info we requested.

i won't be buying from Love&Co because the price is pretty steep for the plain design we wanted (how ironic!) and apparently the lady's ring must come with the diamond, which i don't want.

will check out glympse's recommended jeweller instead

heheh.
this thread is hot hot hot. a day i missed is a whole page worth of thoughts. Goodness, ladies.. are you all high on adrenaline?

Corrine... wrong guess $250. more like $400!Its totally insane but its like condo singapore-style by the river. So,it better be worth it. WE thought we give it a try for a year and then we see whats next. Yalah my backside itchy, my husband's backside also itchy. He is the one who already insinuate that we can MOVE again after a year... LOL. WE have not even signed the contract. Probably by end of the week. The problem with the rental market is theres a huge demand but no supply.Everyone is rushing to Qland nowadays due to the job opportunity.

Nissa, am sending the parcel over tomorrow. It took awhile to wrap it coz I realised i dun have scotch tape in the house. I had to use BANDAIDS! hehhahahehhe. ok... dont look at me funny. its secured to reach singapore now!

Hernie, Yeah i can understand how u feel about small space. maybe u can move your bed to the living room and make the bedroom into your living room? I guess, if we went out of singapore and reached HK first, we wont have this claustrophobia, but because we went to Countries with less people and more space, after that, its hard to go back to that size again, unfortunately.
When exactly in January are you going to be in Sydney. Me and Chris will be in Brissy on the 8-12 Jan and then i will return to Melbourne on afterwards and spend alone there till end of the month. We are moving from Malvern East to Glen Huntly too in 2 weeks, for 2 months. Crazy rite?

yeah, Nissa's right about the gatecrashing, I remember when i was at the kampung weddings in the 80's. Weddings goes for a week and the gate crashing one is actually a battle of poetry between the brides' entourage and the groom. Money is also involve too(red packets similar to the Chinese customs) But nowadays, who can battle poetry anymore. Its kinda sad, but thats how it is. I cant write poems in malay myself!

de_luxe, cuclainne thanks for the info. I didn't know it's possible to wear both rings at the same finger.

ya, my solemnization and sanding are gonna be at the same day. As to the costumes, the idea of changing 5 different costumes or more in one day is quite new to me.
So, I was very surprised by the number of dresses, that are included in the bridal package...
Most probably I'm gonna have only 2 costumes - one traditional Malay for solemnization and another white dress for sanding. I'm not sure yet when I'm gonna get changed - between the ceremonies, or, maybe first arrive to sanding in Malay dress and then change to white one... hmmm... there's so much hassle with all those dresses.

May I know where you rented your costumes from? or did you make them to measure? My bf wants to make 1 pair of costumes to measure so that we could keep them, and the other pair - to rent. Apparently, he has more sentimental feelings than me.
For me, I don't know where to keep those costumes after the wedding, coz I doubt I will ever wear them again in my life... but we'll see...
so far I have looked through many wedding gowns websites and only a few catch my eye - Chinta weddings and Chantique bridal (I've heard very good comments about them) and Garcia De Fernandez - I loved the dresses on their website, but haven't found any good or bad comments yet.

also, I've heard RH bridal is good? pity that they don't have a website...

emi, band aids pun band aids la .. heheheh .. as long as it will arrive in sg and not raise any eyebrows at customs .. heheheh ..

girl, how can you tahan all the moving around? i think i'd be very tired if i was me ..

julia, i went with rias andaman because i felt comfortable with the make-up artist and she has a nice selection of clothes. i think you can find her site at www.urusanpengantin.com

i had my solemnisation first followed by the sanding 2.5 months later. both times, me and the husband changed into our costumes in the same room .. but he over at one corner, me at this corner la - that was during solemnisation but during sanding, already married for a few months so no biggie already .. hahaha .. i didn't make them to measure, i rented my costumes but she made sure that they really fitted me nicely which was great

wow cuclainne so there's a chance that elin n my son (feels funny saying that i have a son) might share their birthdays!

interesting info abt the gatecrash... i've never seen it done before. Guess the modern day version is a lot less rowdy than the Chinese version..

emi wat??!!! $400 for a 1 bedder!?! That's absolutely daylight robbery!!! Man! Is it located in the middle of town or wat?

BTW, why are u moving to Glenhuntly?

you're certainly resourceful... band aids indeed... hahahaha...

julia quite surprising for men to be sentimental... usually they just want to get over and done with the wedding asap with minimal fuss..

emi, i can't imagine how elias would react if he had to 'berbalas pantun' .. hahahahah .. so that's why i said no.

de_luxe, yes it might be a possibility as first borns are usually late - delivered after EDD. Sofi was about 3 days late.

yah wedding celebrations can last up to a week in the old days - and very fun too. i remembered as a child, when one of my aunts got married, she and the husband scattered rice with coins (don't know the symbolism of this gesture) over the crowd and all the kids were jostling to find the coins .. hahahah .. at that time, you can buy a packet of sweets with 10 cents.

heheh .. a famous malay poetry translated to engrish-singlish literally in a bad way- basically bastardised and tarnished to complete mess(bad corny joke)- MY SAMPLE or gatecrashing poetry.

1,2 cats run run
where got same between the 2
a wife for me easy to find
a husband for you, hmm maybe?

kwakwakwa,,, ok enough already.

Julia, I made all my bajus and my wedding dress at Tanjong Katong Complex. A set cost us about $250. We have worn the baju time and again afterwards. The chinese auntie is very resourceful and i went there 3 times for consultant and conceptually designed my baju.
I had fun. Shes very nice. She on the 2nd floor opposite JELITA. Good luck!

Corrine,Nissa,
You think I want to do the move? Its because I have tolah thats why. If not, I cant be bothered already!
hehehha How like that, cant have kittens, cant have babies, too busy doing all this. Now we are getting quotations on removalist and also how to register our vehicle in Qland.. So many documents to fill in. Its nuts.

yeah band aids- cool what!LOL

Liz.. yeah this trhread is on bullet train mode!

emi, i think i've heard the original poem (in malay) .. quite funny .. hahahah .. actually it's kind of said that no one really does this 'poetry exchange' anymore .. i last heard it on a kids' show and it was quite nice to see the children go at it.

eh, the tailor does baju kurung? i've been searching for a good tailor here .. must pay her a visit one of these days.

hahahaha .. who knows, maybe you like being on the move? heheheh .. but yah, better to get it out of your system now because once you start having kittens, kids .. not so easy anymore.

Wah, Liz & emi are right, this thread is hyperactive! 18 new posts in less than a day :P

cuclainne, haha maybe it's the water and the air that makes the difference to the bread. Emil felt he had to put a lot of flour into the bread when he was baking it here, cos it always felt too mushy, but when the bread came out it became too flour-y :P Perhaps it's the humidity, dunno. Oh well, at least we have BreadTalk here heh heh.

Very cool that Elias is close to his family. Much like Emil. Think it's quite unique to Swedes right, given the individualistic culture?

Actually, Emil sometimes thinks that we talk too often :S cos of the different timezones, i understand it's hard to expect him to drop everything just to talk to me when i'm free. but yea, we're trying to strike the balance. sometimes gets frustrating on both of us, but i know we'll grow stronger once we get thru this
thanks for the encouragement tho!

And good to read that Elias managed to escape paying so much tax! Swedish tax rates are insane :P

felicia, hey, good to have u back. No worries ya, there'll be another oppty to meet I'm sure. Wow, Love & Co is so expensive! I'll actually be going back to my jewellery in mid Dec to do the real designing of the rings, cos when we went down in Oct, he mentioned that prices of platinum are likely to be cheaper in Dec / Jan period, so advised us to come back then (my Mum's a loyal customer, so that's why he was very honest about this, rather than charging us a much higher price
). Gold prices are pretty low now though, so if u're planning on getting the white gold rings, would be worth going down to the jeweller soon

Mrs N, thanks thanks. At the moment everything feels so uncertain, esp with the economic climate. But yea, one step of a time, and praying thru it all. Haha so funny that Paul emails ur maiden name email. Emil has already started emailing the married name email I set up (to reserve the userid just in case haha). Yea my entire life in Singapore is tied up in my maiden name email, so will prob keep it la. Who knows, we may end up being back in SG :D

Hehe looking fwd to Dominic's pictures lah! A hottie in the making (right now still a cutie ;)).

deluxe, tks tks
actually yea, my parents have been a real help with the prep, sorting out the flight tickets and all that. But when it comes to the details, think it's up to Emil and I to decide. Emil and I prob going to set aside a day or two when i'm in Sweden in Dec to work out all the wedding decisions to be made. Hopefully we won't get too distracted by Christmas ;)

glympse, i think it's the humidity because elias does the same thing as emil did, put more flour and when the bread is baked, it becomes more 'condensed' than airy.

i think given the size of the country, for some families it's difficult to meet up as often cos they could be living in different parts of the country. not like here, where it takes at most about 30mins to get to anywhere ..

yah, elias was paying about 40% tax back home - it's insane for sure .. even though the taxes he pays here can also be jaw-dropping to the average salaried worker, it's manageable for us because we still get to put some money aside for emergencies and the children. now that 1 sgd is equivalent to 5.2 sek, elias said he's earning more when converting his current salary into kronors. i think a few months ago the exchange rate was 4.3 sek. maybe it's a good time to invest in a home in sweden? apartment prices are apparently going down.

hi, again, girls.
I've got one more question.
maybe a bit silly, but please bear with me...
)))
I looked through some pics of different solemnizations and all brides there were wearing white gowns. (not western white, it was malay dresses, but white color).
Is this the only color allowed for solemnization, or can be different colors? (maybe I saw some "wrong " pictures?) hehe...

emilia jo 250 for the whole set?? that sounds very reasonable!
Did you make it some time ago? I'll start visiting tailors next year I think. Now it's still too early..
Did you also make to measure the suite for the groom? (my bf is quite big boy, so I don't know if it's gonna be easier to make to measure or to rent... always hard to get his size here...

Ya, cuclainne, I know that your solemnization and sanding were with a distance of a few months. I read almost whole thread about mixed couples here!
looks liked you've spend a couple of years posting to that thread.
the whole life story!

julia, you can wear other colours la - no need to just stick to white. mine was silver, and then the second costume was a golden colour. for my sister, she wore baby blue.

hahahaha - not that very long la but yes, i've met some ladies from that thread and we do still keep in touch .. they rarely check in because all have moved on - except for me, it seems .. hahahaha ..

thanks, Elizabeth! that's a lot of pictures..!!

looks like most of couples choose white and light colors for solemnization and brighter for sanding... hmmmm...

hi felicia

we went to lee hwa to ask for quotation too.. (platium custom made ring)

its sooo X even after discount.
Decided to buy our ring in australia (my fiance asked the price from his client)his client is a jeweller and its not soo X and reasonable.

not sure how the shops going to survive in suntec so many close down yet love & co opening soon! LOL

Mrs N, Val :

Thanks for that, I didn't realize that there was a rule that said that one of the couple had to be in Singapore for 15 days before the solemnization.

My HTB will only be here less than a week before the actual date

I'm just wondering if any btb need to have their htb marital status documentation? According to the ROMM, I'm requested to have that ready as well as the 'official' translation as it is in Italian instead of english.

i say bring it on..any colour also can. Even if its black! unless you are a bit pantang ( superstitious) then it might be an issue.

This was our Singapore wedding
My wedding dress that i tailored made/designed and Chris tailor made suit
http://eminozy.multiply.com/photos/album/109/singapore_wedding2#3

Our traditional malay costume we rent
http://eminozy.multiply.com/photos/album/108/singapore_wedding#5

Our malaysian wedding
We made chris's baju, bought mine
http://eminozy.multiply.com/photos/album/101/The_Melakan_wedding_event_9th_Dec_07#13

Our Solemnization
We made chris' baju, bought mine
http://eminozy.multiply.com/photos/album/45/The_wedding_details#23

Basically we went from Blue to brown to red to cream. That was the baju color for our wedding.

We made all the baju about 6 mths before and Chris' suit was made a week before. He is 193cm! No worries about sizes! I highly recommend him.

I did my flower, chris' suit, malay traditional orchestra ensemble all within 3 weeks of my wedding. The rest within 6 mths. All this via emails and phone calls. I only met with them a week before the wedding to confirm and see who I was dealing with! If you need any of their conatcts, I will be more than happy to refer you. They will rememebr me coz i was constantly on the phone/emailing with them!

I think after all the organising i say ...
Best people i worked with was my cake-maker- wedding table gifts person, my decorator, florist and the 2 tailors. I give them 10/10
The venue people and the band were good too.

Dont worry Julia,you still have time. Ignore what they say about organising less than 1year is suicide. I say 1 year is perfect! I got married only last year! the shop will still be there.

Oh by the way if you cant click with the person you are hiring the service with, i say drop them like a fly. Coz its important that they dont ruin your spcial day!

marina, yes you will have to bring your future spouse's declaration of marital status to ROMM either when you register or when he turns up in person for the 'interview'. and yes, it has to be translated to english. same for the conversion certificate if done in his home country - this one will need to be endorsed by muis as well. so what we did was to go to muis in the morning, get it endorsed and then head to ROMM for his 'interview' .. me and my father (wali) had ours done first, when i first registered to get the date.

emi, hahaha .. as long as you keep a straight head, any time frame is possible right .. i only started planning mine a few months in advance .. hahahah .. and i agree with you on having that 'click' with the people you're hiring cos otherwise it'll just be a horrible day ..

emilia jo, cuclainne, thanks a lot! wow, that was very helpful!
emilia jo, very beautiful pictures! The hairdo that they made you for the traditional malay wedding is amazing. that's where I wish to have long hair.
hehhee... my hair is short, and I don't think I will grow them longer by that time.

anyway, yeah, I think I will start preparing about 1 year before the wedding.... anyway, my BF has some contacts around his numerous relatives and friends, so we can use them in case of emergency. (actually, our wedding preliminary date is 10.10.2010, so, I think there gonna be many people having the big day at the same date.
, so better don't leave the preparations for the last day...)

But it would be great if you could tell me the contacts of your tailors. I don't any tailor in singapore yet. also, contacts of cake-maker would be useful too. I understood from your photos that u used wedding Sutera as decorator, right? I saw there website. Look very professional.
Thanks a lot!

Julia, no more haircuts for you till then ..
but no worries, even if you have short hair, they will put hair pieces in so that it seems that you have long hair.

Clara: yeah prices at these Singaporean retail jewellers can be quite high. They really build in all the marketing costs into the rings!
We kinda regret not buying our bands while we were living in the US, but it was kinda too early to buy then.
My fiance is going back to California for Christmas, but I wouldn't be there to actually try the rings, so it's a bit tricky for him to buy too.
I hope you guys find something you like in Australia!

about Love&Co and the other major local jewellery chains, somehow they survive these times, because many people still want the fancy diamond-studded wedding bands, which they offer. i find that finding the plain ones that's the tricky part!

on another note, ystday we walked by SK and stopped to take a look, and when we weren't interested in the wedding bands the sales lady just kept pushing their solitaires. "Got sale you know? Special price blah blah blah" DESPITE us repeatedly saying no, we are only looking at bands. Haiyoh.... It was really quite annoying!

felicia, just saw ur post. a suggestion could be for u to pass an existing ring to ur HTB, so that he has a reference size, and he can buy ur wedding band in California. Otherwise, if it's white gold and it's plain in design, u can also consider having it resized when he brings it back to SG if it doesn't fit. Buying a plain band in the US + resizing is prob cheaper than buying a wedding band in SG (sadly!).

cuclainne... actually, that's the reason why I'm not very keen on using the make up and hair-do artists from the salon...
after their make-up the brides look beautiful, but... they look very different from who they really are!

I ever hardly use any make-up on everyday basis, and I don't wonna overuse it on the actual day. in makeup I always look so to say "very mature".
and without I look very young.
So, I'm thinking to make the make-up myself.
)) Also, due to my sentimental nature, I will definitely cry during the wedding, that means no eye shadows for me...
hahahah....
and I also like my short hair and like to have it naturally, so I will only go with the stylist who can make it look natural. Or, I will do it myself.

btw, emilia jo I recalled that you told that you did your bajus at Tanjong Katong Complex. Sorry, very easy to get lost in this thread.
Did you make Chris's baju there as well? or only yours?
and where did you make Chris's suit?

Julia, don't worry - it's not like the MUA is going to plaster make-up on you like in the old days where the make-up is quite thick because they insist that it'll look better in the pictures.. :S you can request for light makeup from your MUA and for some, they even allow you to go for trial makeup so you know what you'll be getting.

Cuclainne :

Thanks for the clarification, thankfully we've found a translator for the marital status document. And the conversion was done here in Singapore, so that is one less headache to think about

Hello ladies,
Wow...so many posts. Good good

Im currently down with bronchitis. Yuks. Chest is hurting like crazy.

Hi deluxe! No worries. I know sometimes it is hard to overlook someone's post, it is so busy here.
so how is mummy and baby doing? and bertil? glad to know that you have a proper kitchen now. Just dump everything in a corell and stuff it in the oven la. i know what you mean abt poor kitchen layout and i can still remember how dull the kitchen cabinet doors were when i was there.

hk pace is so fast man[don't live here if you can avoid it]...i cannot tahan the crowd!!and seriously thinking of moving again. i think eventhough jeff is not saying anything, but i think he is quietly looking into our contracts and trying to find some 'hidden' clause. dont want to keep my hopes i guess. as for poland, dont know why he mentioned it, but i know he knows someone there. after korea, i dont think i want to go somewhere with a language barrier. too tiring. we have no plans to work in sg unless jeff gets a great offer.

Heyy.exchanging sms is also romantic.
i remember when jeff and i started texting each other, we used to text all the time to keep each other updated like..'waiting for taxi', 'in the taxi', 'reaching soon', etc. heee.

juliaa..hee yes, same here.
Only said yes to go on a date after exchanging emails for a few weeks. I agreed to sms him first, we exchanged texts for a couple of days first before meeting up. I was so nervous and felt shy!

As for wedding bands, i have been wearing my engagement diamond ring and wedding band everyday. You don¡¦t have to remove your engagement ring just because of the wedding band. But i also have friends who just wear their wedding bands without the engagement ring. It is really up to you girl! I wear both my rings on the same finger.

Having your family to stay at your rented place is a good idea. You can save money and they are free to cook or do whatever they want. How many people are you inviting for your solemnization night? I heard many guys would prefer to have lesser people because they are always nervous about the akad nikah but then again, your htb may be ok with it. Have you decided on what to wear on that night? I didn¡t wear anything fancy. I wore the traditional baju kurung¡¦ on our solemnization night and my hubby wore a 3 piece suit with ¡songkok i didn¡t think it would go well but i was wrong. It was a charming combination.

mrs.n, it must be so nice to wake up and see your little angel next to you yeah.
I don¦t know whether i can do that or not. I am afraid that I might accidentally place my hand on my baby's face when Im asleep!

Yes, ive heard good things about Poland too but it seems to be too far away from Singapore. I cant stand the thought of being so far away from my mom. I don¡¦t want the distance to discourage her from flying and visiting me any time she wants.

cuclainne dear, you sure made me laugh with your doll obsession.
Big head dolls some more! Hee. There is this one lady we always bump into at the lobby almost every morning when we go to work and she has this white dog with her. And her dog has big head cos she only shaves the dog¡¦s body but not the head. It reminds me of you and your dolls when i see that dog!

I dont know whether the galliera was my birthday gift. I dont mind buying it myself but for some reason, jeff always wants to pay for my handbags. He said he likes the idea of me carrying or wearing something thats from
him.

Have you shopped for chrissy? I havent bought anything yet but i think i should soon before we fly to Vietnam. Do you do any gift exchange with elias and the girls? I dont think i need the recipe now, but thanks for the offer with the small apartment, ive decided to have our party in a restaurant or perhaps on a floating junk . Still sourcing for a good venue.

clara, congrats to you! Hello marina

glimpse girlie how are you? Take it easy(i know it is easier said that done) and don¡¦t let work drain you dry. You are right. It is a vicious cycle. I can understand how you feel about having to do things and face obstacles without emil there, but i believe everything happens for a reason and Emil is better off doing and organizing things in sweden rather than suffer more at his work place.There is always a blessing in disguise in most things. We just dont know and cant see it sometimes. And it will be magical when you guys eventually meet!

Jeff is a good listener and i think he is also exhausted by the super long hours. He is looking into things but i know he wont say much until he has some solid facts. He stayed home for a couple of days this week because he was ill[ he got the bronchitis first!] and he has never taken any sick leave for many years. So you take it easy ok? Have you bought your wedding bands??

emi.. you and nisa really made me laugh with your pantun man! So funny! Heeeļ and using bandaids?? Kekeke you are right nisa band aids pun band aids laaa.

Move the bed to our living room?? Cannot la. We often have friends over and there is no privacy when my mom or jeff¡¦s parents are here. I am still not used to the small space and don¡¦t think i will! Not after living in Melbourne and montreal. Italy was small too but the apartments there are unique and got some character. Gosh...im actually stressing a bit about his parents¡¦ visit. They are coming in april if everything goes well and we will give our room to them and will use the other room instead. Oz visit: We are planning to go to brix between jan1 to jan4th. Will miss you guys by a few days!
Try the chippies on glenthunty road when you have a chance. So scrummy. It is across from SAFEWAY. How the paperwork and other arrangements going? All settled?

liz...read your blog. Thank you for posting. It was beautiful and inspirational ļ Yes yes..this thread is superfast like a bullet train!

And and Julia i agree with Emi, drop them if you don¡¦t feel good or don¡¦t click with the person you are hiring for your wedding. I had 2 mak andam. Both were male but both were feminine. It was so much fun listening to them.Even their bickering was entertaining.
They know more about make-up than me! By the way, i didn¡¦t do any sanding but we did a photo shoot in a studio. You have lots of time dear.

Hello to everyone else. Have a great weekend and talk to you again soon.

wah lau this thread is faster than the bullet trains in Japan!

Hello everyone (again!).
Now husband and I are deciding whether to have this wedding because we are too lazy to plan and we don't want half the people there (mostly relatives!) and so we are not sure what to do!

Hey glymspe, I have a singaporean girlfriend who married a swede and she's there now. She seems to be enjoying it. Let me know if you want her contact details!

I have recently just changed my bank account name to my married name! I felt a bit sad! But i think it is easier to use my married name in the UK! Then the bank person asked me to sign my new signature! I was shocked because I haven't been practising so I kept my old signature! HAHAHA.

blue rinser have you already ROM'ed? Well... you both really don't want the whole bunch of relatives to be there, i think just a small intimate with your closest family will be good enough, whatever that makes you happy
How many pple were you originally going to have?

Change signature? I din bother - still using my signature even tho it has my maiden name in it - who cares as long as i can get the money out!

oh dear maplehue do rest lots and get well soon... sounds like the stress and hectic lifestyle is getting to you both.. hope things work out
are you able to resign with notice or must you serve the entire length of the contract?

Well i dun care abt the colour of the cabinets - what really annoys me is that the kitchen is so huge yet there are so few power points and the cabinet space isn't enough!! Cuz of all the insects (mainly ants, lizards and cockroaches) hanging around, I dun like leaving stuff on the countertop - so need lots of cabinet space but there isn't enough!!

cuclainne yah.. the taxes in the scandinivian countries are so high! part of the reason why we didn't take up a previous offer to move to denmark - the tax rate was close to 60% - i would definitely have to work (which would be tough given the language diff), else there wouldn't be enough money for both of us to survive on!

emi kittens ok mah... they go wherever you go lor
babies also ok - just not so convenient when they're schooling...

Hello to everyone else! Sorry if i missed your post - just can't keep up - m drowning in posts!

Hi deluxe thanks for the kind words..Yeah man..sufering now and house bound. I didnt know that this place is sooo crowded and quite stressful! i'd choose the crowd in Sg anytime compared to here. I believe Jeff is looking into our contracts but we dont know yet. I dont like the thought of not serving the entire length of our contracts but then again....just look at me. It is affecting both of our pyhsical and mental health. One of my American girlfriends is aleady suffering from a depression because of the stress and crowd here. I really don't want that.

Oh gosh.. i remember the lizards and ants at nanyang. i remember we used to drink lots of 100plus and we would put the rinsed empty cans in a box under the sink to recycle. One morning when i woke up, i saw one long black trail of ants coming from outside the window, across the dining room, across the kitchen floor and to the empty cans! Yuks. And yes, I couldnt leave anything on the counter top either cos of the huge lizards.
<font color="aa00aa">On a different note, have you bought a stroller yet?</font>

Happy Sunday everyone!

maplehue speaking of lizards... one just poo poo on my countertop last nite
we set up lizard and cockroach baits a few wks back but these guys seem too smart.. Oh yah, the ants here are uni grads too.. haha.. they ignore the rubbish n head for the good stuff..

Most prob will get a kitchen trolley from Ikea in a couple of wks so that I can dump the oven there. Then i'll have a bit more work space and wouldn't keep hitting the oven when I'm using the stove (currently they are next to each other - no other place to put it). I haven't figured out how to arrange all my bottles and jars of oils and sauces that i use often - the cabinets are very deep and it's quite hard / troublesome to reach inside when cooking, yet can't leave them on the countertop... sigh.. my only solution so far are those tall plastic toyogo drawers but i find them so very ugly n muji ones are too small...

No, we haven't bought a stroller yet, have shortlisted one tho. Cuz of all my criteria... we didn't have much choice anyway.. It's ridiculous how heavy some of those really nice strollers are!! Waiting for our car to be ready then we'll go get the bulky stuff at one go - just got told today that the earliest is 5 dec when hb will be away! So gotta wait till he's back cuz I'm not too confident driving now since i haven't driven for abt a yr.

Wow... how long has ur american fren been in HK? That's a rather extreme reaction - dun worry lah, dun think it'll get to you so badly, after all you grew up in crowded Sg too.. it's not such a shock to the system as compared to growing up in a more rural place or smaller towns..

Rest well!!
(i do hope you are on MC for the next few days!)

maplehue, i hope you're feeling better - look forward to your vacation!

hahaha .. me and elias the same when it comes to texting - now it's like 'going for meeting, talk later', 'walking back to office', etc .. before marriage it was 'sitting in the cab, thinking of you' etc .. hahahah .. feel like old couple liao!

aiyoh, shave only the body will make the dog look weird?? anyways the next few dolls that are going to be released don't look so nice so i'm going to start on my silkstone barbie next .. hahahaha .. i've already decided which one i'm going to get, if they have stock here otherwise i might have to go on ebay to get it.

that's so sweet of jeff! a colleague of mine said that perhaps elias might surprise me with tickets to kylie but i wouldn't count on it - i can count the number of surprises he's given me in the years we've been together with just one hand and even then i won't use up all the digits .. hahahah .. that's how he is.

the girls are the lucky ones .. they get loads of presents from us and their grandparents. we exchanged pressies the first year but last year, we just did away with ours and just got the girls' and also some for my family. this year we are planning something special for elias' family and some of his mom's relatives and friends so i've been busy collecting addresses since last week. hahaha ..

de_luxe, precisely the reason why elias said it wouldn't be practical for us to live in sweden .. it's hard to get by with one income (maybe also due to our lifestyle choices) and with the kids .. hmm .. yesterday i spent $177 on groceries and the kids' milk already cost us close to $100. *gulp* sofi seems keen to not drink milk - at least the formula kind - and if she does, that'll be great!

how is everyone doing?

im just struck with funny idea. i want to do a western groom eastern bride cross stitch artwork. has anyone did before?

Hi everyone, been reading the thread. But I must say I'm lost who is who for the newcomers. ;P can't catch up.

Hernie, do take good care. A friend told me to watch when I had such a bad cough. Bronchitis if not taken care of can become asthma. Avoid cold drinks n food. Milk as well. Hope u recover soon.

Can b stressful having to go to another country of a different language. I've heard of Poland n got to know some. They r generally nice. HK is really stressful. As a tourist, I felt so stress, even Jeroen. Good to know what works for both of u b4 moving agaiin.

Thks 4 the feedback. Glad that it has some inspirational effect. Sometimes I wonder am I too direct. ;P