Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

val, i think it'll look great - would you have time to do that?

Elizabeth, is it getting cold there now? My MIL called over the weekend and she said she's getting a bit gloomy cos winter has already arrived in sweden.

Cuclainne, yes it's getting cold. Much earlier and even snow. But temp can be crazy. Sky is always gloomy n not much of day light. I also dun feel like going out on my own unless necessary.

hello ladies,

have u seen this keyring? im looking for one.
im also looking for one in western dress.
please email me at [email protected]
842264.jpg

omg! Val
you can find al this type of keychain in Chinatown
theres one of the shops there sell the wedding bedsheets and wedding favours of matchsticks and all that

go chinatown to take alook you can find any oriental stuff for your guest to bring home

liz, all the more reason for you to stay at home and cuddle up to Jeroen .. heheheh ..

val, i think i've seen this at the esplanade gift store but that was ages ago .. maybe you can follow up on clara's suggestion?

clara, all geared up for your move to Oz?

not sure if any of you have heard about the bomb blasts in mumbai. heard that they were specifically targetting westerners, particularly british and americans. we are thanking our lucky stars that elias is not there - he is scheduled to visit some clients there again and the hotels targetted are the ones he's stayed at during his visits ..

hi cuclainne

i haven pack anything yet haha..
will be mailing over my clothes nx mth too many clothes.. if i pack everything in luggage i think will overload!

clara, you mailing or shipping things over? hear that it's quite cheap to ship things now ..

julia, maybe it might interest you to watch this show on suria channel on every wednesday night at 9pm. it's called "minah & dol nak kahwin" (minah & dol wants to get married) .. it's somewhat a show cum drama .. basically the 'couple' is planning for their wedding and they will touch on the different aspects or things to plan for. i think yesterday's show touched on the inai (bridal henna) and also the solemnisation proceedings. i think it's really interesting esp. since they will explain in detail the symbolism of the gesture, etc.

Thanks, Cuclainne for the info.
that would be really interesting to watch, coz I'm not familiar with details of Malay weddings at all...
but, I work from 3pm to midnight every day, so...
maybe need to ask somebody to record it for me.. hehehehe... nevermind, step by step, I think in 2 years I become be a wedding expert, same as you.
))

I'm finally feeling stronger after feeling so crappy for 2 weeks. Still coughing[and still waking Jeff up in the middle of the night]but it is not as bad anymore. With the flu, it is hard to get well. Thanks for the warm notes everyone

Alamak deluxe, lizards poo. Yuks. I am so scared of lizards. I remember when I was there, I used to wear an umbrella everywhere, even in the bedroom cos I was so scared that those fat lizards would fall on my head! There were about 8 of them one time on the ceiling!

Have you bought your kitchen trolley yet? I've never liked the toyogo plastic ones. You must be bigger now. I don't know much about pregnancy but I've read about trimesters. You must be in third now right? How is your appetite? Do you have to pantang much? And any cravings? When my Mom was carrying me, she said all she wanted to eat was crabs! and she thinks because of that, i am always traveling and going around places like a crab. ha.
And dont work too hard yeah. Must relax and pamper yourself. Ask bertil to massage your foot and go out for tea or something with yr girlfriends. Where is Bertil going this time?

My american friend came here around the same time as me. A few months only and she is already so stressed out. Even her Irish hubby doesn't know what to do to cheer her up. When we go out, she always talk about work. I mean I don't mind it, afterall what friends are for, but sometimes when you are feeling down yourself, it is so hard to pick someone up all the time.

Don't know lah...I didnt know lifestyle here is going to be like this. Places are always crowded!So sien and work just never ending.

hi cuclainne...looks like you are loving your dolls a lot. aren't you scared of their eyes? i'd rather play with a teddybear! hee
speaking of teddy bear, out-of the blue last week,jeff bought me a big head teddy bear. It must be the constant talk about the adorable big head dog and your big head dolls la I think! And yesterday he took me to an indian restaurant and what do i know when we got there, It was an advanced surprise birthday party for me!! I was so moved, I cried right away la!!
kao_cry.gif
it was a white theme and there was even a chocolate cake!

14 more work days before our chrissy break, i still haven't done any chrissy shopping. with the crowd and all, I feel so unmotivated to go to shopping malls! is elias family in sg now? you mean his mom and dad?

I loveee kylie minoque, she was here i think, cos one of my gfs mentioned about attending her concert! does elias like kylie minoque? I cannot imagine our hubbies singing and dancing to her tunes! ha

hi liz...thanks for your kind words. Yes, Ive been coughing non-stop and considering that i had asthma before, I was so scared last week when I had a little trouble breathing properly.

I'm sure HK and Holland isn't the same at all. Your place must be so peaceful yeah. No wonder you can write like that.
Even my Mom cannot tahan the crowd here. She doesn't like Causeway bay at all and can't stand inconsiderate people walking and bumping to her. Isn't it strange? This place was under a british colony before, but many of these people are just so inconsiderate and without manners. They step on your heels and don't say sorry, and they speak so loudly. I know Sg is crowded too but the vibes are still different. Jeff got so angry at a woman one time when we were out shopping. She just rushed into the door and stepped on my foot when she saw Jeff was opening the door for me. Knowing Jeff, he couldn't let it go and followed the girl and told her how rude she was. So Sickening.

Keep writing girl.. I love reading your blog!

julia...wow you work so late till midnight everyday? how do you go out with your friends then? do you work on weekends too?

2 years is more than enough to prepare a dream wedding girl

mrs.n...how are you and dom? any new tricks from the little darling?

emi..enjoy your last weeks in mebourne!
are you staying in a hotel?

hello to everyone else. take care and talk to you soon.

cuclainne yeah really good that elias didn't go to mumbai... the scale and precision of the attacks were really shocking.

My mom is scheduled to travel to India next month, have been trying to persuade her not to go but she insists that she'll be fine cuz she's not going through Mumbai, but stopping by at New Delhi before heading go to the smaller towns. Sigh... i would still prefer her not to go.. maybe i'm being paranoid, but just feel that India is rather messy...

julia sounds like you're in the service industry?

maplehue wow! how did so many lizards manage to get in?? How do you wear an umbrella??

So far most of ours (sounds like they're pets or something!!) hang around outside, mostly on the walls and around the flourescent lights... tho there are a handful of irritating ones that jump around the staircase. I'm always scared that one of them would land on me as i go up / down.. i would freak!

No i haven't bought the kitchen trolley yet, waiting till after Bertil's trip when we'll get our car too.. he's going back to Germany to see his parents. We also have other stuff to buy for baby's room... and now need to replace our sofa too cuz the current one has gone mouldy after we moved it back from oz... must be the humidity here!! So sayang, it's less than 2 yrs old n our favourite piece of furniture!
kao_cry.gif
Doesn't help that the movers insurance wouldn't compensate us cuz we only found out recently, we would only get compensation if we notified them within 30 days of receiving our stuff...

Yes, i'm mid-way through the 3rd tri, definitely bigger and rounder now :p sometimes the weight of the tummy can feel pretty heavy.. appetite's been pretty normal, tho i've been indulging in junk food that i dun normally eat the past 2 wks, so really gotta watch it.. doesn't help that i've somehow been wanting mac donald fries recently. I dun pantang much, it's too troublesome, my mom tells me not to eat or do this and that but i find that it's not necessary and sometimes not practical too..

Hmm.. haven't heard abt crabs going places
the Chinese generally believe that preggies shldn't eat crabs cuz it will give them kids with itchy hands who will touch these and that.. something to do with the crab's 8 legs n scurrying motion.. it really sounds quite silly to me...

Hope ur fren picks herself up too.. maybe she just needs a break from work? sometimes it's not just the hectic environment but also work pressures, most ang mos are not used to the asian style of working...

It's so sweet of Jeff to give you a surprise! I'm sure it really cheered u up!

I work in call center that follows European time, so when it's 3pm here it's only 9am there.
yeah, work every day like this, except weekend. and my bf works from early morning until 6-7pm or sometimes 10pm (coz he also study). so, we normally meet only twice a week, on weekend.

well, the good thing is that we can't get enough of each other with such a schedule.
))

maplehue, so sweet of jeff .. i bet it made you beam from ear to ear
heheheh ... when is your birthday, btw? happy birthday wishes in advance yah ..

nope, elias' family is not in sg though his dad mentioned that he and his family might swing by since he has 6 weeks' leave to take. my MIL said that she might come next year, still deciding exactly when though ..

elias is not a big fan of kylie - he's been to one of her concerts before. sting is coming to singapore and i'm not sure if i want to go for that - all the tickets are really expensive for the big name shows .. sigh ..

de_luxe, elias was due to be back in mumbai actually but for some reason, it was delayed - after this event unfolded, thank goodness for that otherwise he would have been there now. the loss of the singaporean lady hit a bit too close to home for me, even though i don't know her personally, because of what could have been. elias stayed at the trident hotel on his last work trip, and where the terrorists had landed from their boat, he was taking pictures of that area so that he could show me how picturesque south mumbai was (he was trying to convince me to come along on his next trip).

i'm not sure i'm going to be 100% ok with him going back there, once the travel advisory is lifted. he is trying to sound optimistic for my sake, but i know that he's not feeling happy about it either. previously he'd be out for dinner until 10-11pm with colleagues, now he said it'll be straight back to the hotel after work. the fear is there.

it's hard to predict these kind of things, when and where it'll happen .. if it's possible for your mom to postpone, do so .. otherwise just tell her to be more alert.

found some time to post here after a very long week i feel..sorry if i missed anyone cos this thread is going so fast

Maple~I was down with a cold (flu) too..the cold here is so different..last longer..dunno leh..anyway i found some home remedy cos i didnt go to the doctor here..even if i were to go i won't be given any medicine. So i made a tea of lemongrass and ginger..boiled with a few pandan leaves and rock suger to taste..you might want to try it. I was miraculously cured after the 2nd brew!

Cuclainne~Phew! really thank god! Glad to know that he was not there! Finally snow is here! How's your christmas preps coming along? Do the swedes eat the christmas porridge during the 24th? Here we do, and something special about it, there's an almond added to the porridge and whoever eats the porridge and found it will get a chocolate as a special gift!

Julia~ Wow..your working time sure is long and 'twilight'
Hope you're taking care amidst all the wedding plannings

Clara~ good for you if you can mail your clothes over
I used singapost too after i've found out that shipping (from relocation companies) was too costly for me as i have about 25big boxes of stuffs! But i did kinda regretted a little cos most of my sg clothes i can't use here in norway (only summer lah)..i should have just given them away instead..but it was for my sis that i had to clear my room (we shared a room then)

Deluxe~ felt a little wasted about your sofa! well take it that you have an excuse to get another sofa of your dreams hehe
maybe wait till they have christmas sales?

hey btw, i used to get lizard traps from those HDB provision shop. It's a sticky trap and will stick the poor thing once they try to run over them..a bit cruel i feel but it works
Costed about $2 i think..

Val~ have you found what you've been looking for?

Eliz~ hey hey! it's gloomy and dark here too
hehe that day it was so dark at 4pm that i thought i was so so very late with making dinner! so i panicked and started making and by 4:30pm dinner was ready and can imagine the surprised look on both hb and my face when i told him that dinner is ready! and he said 'hey not yet 6!'

wave to the rest of the gals!

chrisl, wah you found a good home remedy then - i must try it out since i'm starting to feel under the weather too. can you share the exact measurements for the ingredients?

yah, we're just so thankful that he wasn't there. the invitation letter from the india client came on the same day as the attacks, so of course by then the company had freezed all work trips there - phew!

oh yah, they do have this christmas porridge but so far we've not had it (i'm just too lazy!). so how many times have you gotten chocolates as a reward for finding the almond?

i've tried to start eating healthier now, especially at home - have been cooking more fish dishes now. i made a fish pie on saturday and it turned out ok - it was my first fish pie and i don't really know what to make of it but elias said it was great so it must be .. hahahah .. yesterday i made cheater's rhubarb pie. why i named it cheater's was because i used a ready-made pie crust, just cut the rhubarb into small pieces, poured loads of sugar on top of it, then dropped crumble on top to cover the mixture and baked till golden. it's not as nice as the one my MIL made but it's close enough - elias was quite pleased with that too, he ate more than half the pie by himself .. and the kids enjoyed it too.

i can imagine how one can easily make that mistake, especially during winter when it's light for only several hours a day. so did you have to reheat everything up or did you have an early dinner then?

julia ic... that explains your working hours
i used to work shifts too... dun mind if the shifts are regular. My health only started to suffer when my shifts became irregular, like 2 days 9am-6pm, 2 days 4pm to midnight, 1 day off and then 2 days 7am to 3pm.

Even tho some consider shift work as "no life" as in you can't meet other frens on regular office hours on weekdays, I din really mind as i could do stuff like shopping and going to the bank when it's less crowded... now always have to squeeze with the crowds during lunch hour and/or weekends.

cuclainne yes, concert tickets can be so expensive... i rarely go for them.. personally prefer plays and musicals but they aren't much cheaper either!! Have been thinking of watching Avenue Q...

That's a really close shave for elias... can understand why u feel that way.. even tho my hb rarely travels to conflict-prone areas, i can't help worrying whenever he travels even if it's to places like Oz or Europe that are generally considered safe, somehow just feel that nowhere is really safe these days.. sometimes it's really a matter of luck.. Previously, most of the targets were US hotel chains, but this time, they went for local Indian chains, dunno what's next.. stay in cheapo budget hotels next time perhaps???

My mom still doesn't want to postpone her trip - you would think that parents will be more sensible!!! Well, she's an adult right.. just got to hope and pray that nothing happens..

did you get the rhubarb from cold storage? I rarely see them in sg..

chris gd to hear from u... hope u get well soon!

The doc doesn't prescribe medication for flu? Isn't that rather strange?

Another home remedy for flu is the grog - basically, tea with a dash of cognac, honey and lemon... i had it before, not too bad - the cognac helped me sleep! LOL!

Is Christmas porridge made of oats or rice?

Yeah, really heart pain abt the sofa.. we've decided that we'll get the new one from Ikea when hb is back from Germany, cuz they're most cost effective for full leather sofas, can get a 3-seater for abt $1k (i dun think they have x'mas sale tho), the other brands start from at least $2k or $2.5k, and some aren't even real or full leather!!

We've got similar lizard / cockroach traps - set them up abt 2 or 3 wks back but so far nothing has been caught.. i guess i have clever lizards??

de_luxe, my brother caught the last show for Avenue Q. He said it was quite funny.

cheapo budget hotels also doesn't mean that it's safe from attacks - in fact, i think these places would be teeming with westerners esp. backpackers so it might be next on their list. as to attack a hospital, that's super low too ..

well i doubt that they'll be stupid enough to launch another attack anytime soon esp. since they will probably be beefing security and all .. yes, all we can do is just hope and pray that nothing happens.

yes, i got it from cold storage cos i doubt the other supermarket chains would be carrying it. i think only the cold storage outlets in town carries it. so expensive! one bunch (that consisted of maybe 10 pieces) costs about $10!

hahaha .. like you said in your previous post, the ants and lizards must be uni grads .. hahaha..

Cuclainne~ sure! here's the recipe (actually got it from here and i modify a bit)

http://crystalbyblog.blogspot.com/2008/10/lemon-grass-with-ginger-and-red-dates.html

<font color="0000ff">Lemongrass and ginger tea</font>

Ingredients (serves 2)
° 4 stalks fresh lemon grass
° 4 slices ginger
° 8 seedless red dates
° 500ml water
° rock sugar to taste
° 2 stalks fresh lemon grass (optional), for garnish

Method
1. Peel off the outer layers of the lemon grass stalks, leaving the tender whitish centre. Cut into 7.5cm pieces and bruised.
2. Place the lemon grass, ginger, red dates and water in a pot. Bring to the boil and simmer for 5-8 minutes. Add rock sugar and simmer until it dissolved.
3. Serve hot or chilled. Add a stalk of fresh lemon grass as swizzle stick, if desired.

I omited red dates that day..

I see you can get rhubarb there
over here it's grown all over so ppl used it to make cakes and pie and wine etc! Hey i have a rhubarb pie recipe from a norwegian cookbook. If you like i can share with you
..but i dunno how it turns out though cos i've not made it before..but from pic it seems delicious

Haha not so lucky lah
maybe this year ;P haha..we did eventually had early dinner and gaute had some evening snacks in front of tv as usual again

Deluxe~ yeah the docs here dun think it's wise to over prescribe medications. They prefer you to rest at home. So it's up to the pple's resistance to fight the flu..but they'll make exceptions when the person is old or with other illnesses etc..

My africian friend here is so annoyed the other time she went to the doc, she said 'paid money yet no medicine'

the 'grog' you mentioned sounds like the 'glogg' here, norwegians/swedes have it during winter..keeps you warm. It's with some glogg liquid, and volka or some port wine with dried nuts and fruits..

Christmas Porridge is made of rice..sushi rice. They cook it with fullcream milk and some butter. The serve with cinnimon powder and sugar

Yeah i think Ikea's stuffs are reasonable priced. We got lots of stuffs from there too these days for the renovations

deluxe..if i were in your shoes, i would be worried about my mom too. why does she want to go? if she wants to shop, i think there are other places that are better.

eeee.those huge lizards. we left the windows opened and i think thats how they got into the apt. so grossed. i wore that umbrella/hat(you can google it) at home and really felt like a clown but what to do..i was so terrified of those fat lizards. they even made that noise one after another like singing a song or giving a code to each other!

When is bertil leaving and for how long? Will you be staying at your mom's or you are just going to chill out alone at nanyang? when are they delivering the car? is it european made and thats why you guys have to wait for it?

deluxe, it must be a coincidence but when i was there, our leather sofa turned mouldy too you know and it was new. and we bought it from sg. the carpet turned mouldy too and we even found mould on the ceiling. we made a complain and a few guys came to check the apt. i don't know whether it was because of the apartment or what. we didnt throw the sofa but called a company to treat it. maybe you can consider that rather that throwing it away?

ha..craving for mcdonald fries? have you had any yet? i heard that when we are pregnant and if we crave for something, must try to find the food we crave for or else when the baby is born, he or she will salivate all the time. not sure whether this is true or not! as for the crab story..hee my mom still sticks to her belief.

I just met my gf today and she looked so worn down. I jokingly told her that now I have someone who looks a little like me. Ha. Heard from her that her hubby is sick. It must be the stress too i think. Yeah, i agree with you, some angmohs are not used to the asian style of working.

Yes...
the big head teddy bear and surprise party cheered me up a lot. I laughed so hard when Jeff sang me a birthday song in his chipmunk voice [he inhaled some helium gas from the balloons!)

cuclainne..thanks for the wish. ha.. birthday is on dec 12.

woah..his father has 6 weeks leave? so best! it must be cold now in sweden. i remember how miserable i was when i was living in montreal. had to wear so many layers and still felt so cold. woke up in the morning and couldnt open the door cos the snow was almost reaching the door knob. urgh. i dont miss those days. but i do miss white snowy christmas and actual didnt mind the winter in vancouver. i love flurries

have you done your shopping yet? did you put up any chrissy tree?

I hoppe Elias doesnt need to go to india anytime soon. Let things settled down a bit la but jeff was just telling me this morning. Usually when a place just had a terrorist attack like that, most likely it would be the safest place to be afterwards.

hi chrisl...glad to hear you are feeling better! your own natural healing 'potion' sounds good to me. I might try it. Thanks for sharing
The only thing I dont have is pandan leaf. Where did you get yours? Is there any asian shop nearby your place?

I know the lizard traps you were talking about but never used it cos I know I'll freak out when I see a lizard get stuck on that patch! These lizards at nanyang were super big man and very dark! Scary.

Stay warm yeah and dont catch a cold!

Hello to everyone else! Have a good evening/day.!

Maple~ i got from the asian store 1hr drive from here. Have to specially order it 2 weeks before and collect it after. At 1st i didnt know i could order but then later as i patronise the store often enough for the owners to know me and then they gave me an order list of veggies and fruits (with pictures) so i could order thru phone/email or fax
good thing about technology these days yeah?

But i must freeze them after washing and cutting them into smaller pieces
Found this tip from one of the forum ladies
Good as so called 'normal' food like this in Sg is so scarce here..so must ration or find ways to keep them fresh hehe

as for the lizards, heheh ..a cat is the next best option

Hey ladies! It's been a while
Lots of things been happening these days..

cuclainne, am SO glad to read that Elias didn't go to Mumbai for the trip. Really wow ... will he need to go back there again soon tho? And u know, the Singaporean lady who got killed in Mumbai? I actually know her husband ... so it really hit close to home for me as well. And she's so young, just 28 years old ... so sad to lose such a bright talented lady to something so unjustified and hateful.. very saddening.

maple, hey do take lots of care ya. HK's constant crowds causes sickness to spread faster (I worked there for quite a while before, so I understand how it can be). Really hope that you and Jeff are able to work something out and perhaps relocate to a place where you both can have quality of life.. health and happiness more impt than wealth anytime! and a very happy belated birthday to you babe

deluxe, don't think u're paranoid, just concerned about ur mum, which is very natural given the current state of the world. yea, like u, i'm getting concerned with even the thought of leaving the country. My parents are flying to HK/Shenzhen end of this week, and I'm going to Sweden via Amsterdam late Dec. Though both places haven't really been targets of terrorist attacks, but in the current climate, one never knows huh? Still cannot stop living life tho ... just gotta keep praying hard, be wise when travelling, stay alert ... and live life to the fullest each and everyday
but anyway, don't over stress urself ok? Esp with the baby ... maybe ask ur mum fly to Oz to take care of u instead? hehe..

Julia, doesn't sound easy for u and ur bf! But yea, I totally understand what u mean abt really treasuring the time u are able to spend with each other

Chrisl, hello! haha Emil's been telling me about the depressing weather in Sweden too. He's looking fwd to me arriving there to bring some sunshine and warmth hahaa...

Big hello to everyone else! Quick update from me - peak period at work just finished (PHEW), so finally able to start posting again. Going to Sweden in less than 3 weeks (YEAAAAH), really looking fwd to the break and to spending time with Emil. We've been able to webcam or chat online almost everyday, so am thankful for that. Imagine living in the old days when there wasn't even email, just snail mail...!
Always sth to be grateful for ;)

Hi gals, moi have been busy lately. Now have some time to write.

Maplehue, glad you r better. Now me seems to be coming down with a flu. Throat a bit sore and adding my downstair neighbour's friends smoke again and the smell got into our house. Not been sleeping well lately coz of the nonesense of the neighbour. Jeroen has to start isolating the floor. I cannot tahan anymore. Esp if they would to smoke marijuna again. SIGH!!!

Chrisl, weather is super crazy. I don't mind if it snows but not the wind. Today, the sun is shining, the past few days has been gloomy n cold. Geeezzzz how not to get sick with this kind fo crazy weather.

Glympse, v soon u will be in Sweden! Yeah! Finally reunite with your sweet heart! Jeroen was away for 4 days, I'm like ai yo miss him man. Die lor! In future, he is probably going to be out station more often. Hmmmmm..... Funny that we were so far away for so many months before we were married and not only a few days, I'm complaining liao. ;P

Good luck with all the wedding preparations Julie n val. Did I miss anyone? A bit blur blur!

Hi hi to the rest! Hugzzzzz.....

Hi ladies, hope everyone is well.

chrisl..you must have a big fridge at home to freeze and store these things. I'm sure since it is a one hour ride to the asian shop, you only limit yourself a trip there once or twice a month, no? At least you can order online!
That is convenient. Can they do delivery as well? Do they have frozen food too? I hope it is not too expensive there. How are you now? Stay home and rest well.

Ha! You sure made me laugh with your new lizard solution! A CAT??! Hee.
I remember when I had a cat back in Sg, he used to hunt for cockroaches and lizards. He would play with these pests and killed them. One morning, he came into my room, jumped on my bed when I was half asleep and proudly placed a half dead lizard in front of me! I screamed so loudly like never before and woke the whole family up! Eeeew.

Speaking of cat..how is your little kitten? Has she[its a female right?} been good or still jumping up on your legs?

Hi glypmse, I am excited to know that you will be reunited with emil soon. So romantic!
Heheee. How long will you be spending with him this time? Have you shopped anything for Emil?

Isn't it wonderful that we now can use skype/webcam to communicate to one another? Of course it is not the same, but still it helps a lot! Bring warm clothes and don't catch a cold. Bring medicines incase yeah.. I am so paranoid when it comes to falling sick. Finding a doctor in a foreign country can be such a hassle!

Yes...I agree with you. The crowd, small places here and sick students are a sure thing to catching something unhealthy. I get sick students in my class almost everyday. Blowing their nose, coughing, etc non stop. I am now forced[by the loving hubby] to eat a couple of vitamins everyday! No fun.

Oh no Liz...you just got sick recently and now you are sick again? This is not good girlie and those smokers downstairs! Oh my gosh, I know how it feels to live in a house with smokers as your neighbours. Our neighbour right next door is a smoker. There are 3 of them and dont know how many are smoking, but our house is always smelly because of this. So annoying.

Is it legal to smoke marijuana in netherlands? How do you isolate the floor? AND where is Jereon? Lock your door and take care!

Helo to everyone else here. Goodnight.

Ja, Hernie, I woke up out of the sudden at 2am when I smelt something strange in our bedroom. Got a headache due to marijuana. SIGH!!!! Haven't been sleeping v well. Yes, it's legal as marijuana is soft drugs. But don't think it allow to do it at home. Hmmmmm... Jeroen sleeps like a log, he cannot smell a single thing. I've super sensitive nose. Tonight, we have to talk to the neighbour, hope he is home. Jeroen was away some time ago in the north of amsterdam for workshop. Too far to drive to n fro. Glad he is home.

Are u going to move?

Hi hi everyone .. just got back from the Kraftwerk concert - it was awesome! back in the 'courting' days, elias dedicated "computer love" to me (so geeky, right? hahahah) and i have to admit that i didn't really think it was the kind of music i could like. but hearing it again today, i don't know .. just felt different to my ears .. hahahah .. maybe it was the atmosphere .. i've never seen so many people in their 30s-40s dancing and bopping away. hahahah .. here's a link to the kind of music they were playing ( Vitamin,Pocket Calculator). i just found out that the founding members are now in their 60s - COOL! hahahah ..

chrisl, thanks for your recipe. i really must try it out one of these days. i was actually quite sick yesterday - had a throat infection (very painful when i tried to swallow and my ears felt painful too) and also fever. i am actually on 2 days' mc and just before i went into the concert hall, i actually felt bad enough to throw up. but it was ok in the end - i survived the night

eh, share the rhubarb recipe with me, can? yah, elias was saying that it costs next to nothing to get it in sweden - i think the rhubarb we get in sg is from australia. so glympse, you must take the opportunity and eat rhubarb pie when you're there

eh, quite nice that you're now able to get the asian foodstuff ah ..

i'll keep my fingers crossed and hope that you'll get the prized almond this year

maplehue, the 6 weeks' leave is his sick leave actually because his dad went for an op but didn't tell us until he was back home because he didn't want us to worry. so now they were thinking of escaping the cold and also get him away to recuperate ..

i've not been in sweden during winter but the first time i was there, elias took me to a mountain resort about 8 hours' drive away and there was snow there. i think it was about -2 degrees and the guys were saying it's not THAT cold. at the rest stop, they insisted i take my gloves off and when it was time for us to go, i couldn't feel my fingers enough to pull the gloves back on .. :S

actually i have .. i went shopping for a small camera and elias paid for it .. heheheh .. i already have a pocket camera but i wanted something that i could have more control over - like change the shutter speeds, aperture, etc .. elias has a camera that's good for that but it's so bulky for me. so this is quite nice ..

no, we'll probably put up the tree in the next week or so .. don't want elin to be crawling around there and pulling the tree down. the other day i heard her crying in the living room and when i came out, i only saw sofi and when i asked her where elin was, she pointed to the tv .. elin was actually behind the tv bench and she was crying cos she's stuck there. argh .. nowhere is out of bounds to this girl once she started learning to crawl!

glympse, yes he will need to go back as soon as the travel advisory is lifted .. it's not just him that has to go, there are a few other colleagues who are also there at one point of time or another .. just lucky that none of them were there then.

yay, just a few more weeks and then you'll be in sweden .. how long will you be there? elias said he might have something to request for you to bring back but he's still thinking about it .. hahahah .. will probably have to email you about that.

Liz, i think it might be a good idea for Jeroen to do that to your floors - it's no good for you to be taking in all that second-hand smoke .. i hope the situation will be better after Jeroen has had a talk with them.

Liz, I think after having been apart for so long before marriage, u would just wanna treasure every moment together now that u're finally together
natural lah! Yeah I am really really looking fwd to seeing Emil face to face again ... 16 more days!!

And MARIJUANA?? wah.... :D

maple, hehe thanks thanks. Will be there for slightly less than 2 weeks this trip (arriving Sat, leaving Thu the week after). Yea, kinda thinking of what to buy for Emil's Christmas pressie. We did agree that we're gg to keep the cost low tho (save for wedding lah!), so I'm going to get him a present that costs exactly S$18.99, while he gets me a present that costs exactly 99 SEK :P We're prob going to be spending a fair bit of time sorting out wedding prep during this trip, as well as hanging out with his family and friends for Christmas. BUT we already scheduled in some alone time for nice romantic (and cold!) walks in the woods near his house hahaha...

Good to fortify your body against the bugs lah. Do make sure u eat enough and eat well
Do u cook at home, or do u and Jeff eat out more?

cuclainne, wah the way you describe the Swedish weather quite scary leh. Shall keep my gloves on at all times.... and bring lots of hot tea along! Well i'll be in Sweden for abt 2 weeks, back just after the New Year. And yes, no prob emailing me when I'm there, just give me a few days' advanced notice before I leave so that i can hunt the stuff down :D Hmm gotta check with Emil re rhubarb pie hehe. .. hopefully it's one of the Swedish Christmas dishes

Anyway, quick update from me - Emil and I are finally kickstarting our wedding prep again (after a downtime of 1 month due to work and other things :P). We're starting to plan our schedule for his family's trip to Singapore and my family's trip to Sweden, finalising wedding invitation design &amp; wording, our website, etc etc. Last night we spent about 2 hours looking through various cabins in Norway for our honeymoon hehe ... we're going economical but scenic, so likely going to rent a cabin for a week by the fjord, and just take walks, drive around the place without any rush to catch tourist attractions and away from the jostling crowd ... really looking fwd to it
but first - Christmas in Sweden!

Big hi to everyone else!

glympse, it wasn't even winter then - was late march/ early april .. crazy indeed! I remembered that year the season was a bit whacked cos one day, elias called me to ask if it was snowing at our area (in mid april!!!) cos he said he's looking at falling snow from his office window. i ran to the window but it was bright and sunny - hmmm. have you gone for your flu vaccine? i went for mine before i went up and didn't fall sick the entire trip - was kind of nice!
i don't think rhubarb is one of the christmas dishes - it's meant for spring/summer but no harm in asking Emil to find or make you that pie so you can try .. hehehe ..

Hey, if you're going to Norway for vacation, why don't you contact Clare - she used to post here. She lives at Lofoten and it's a beautiful place. Her MIL owns a B&amp;B, though I'm not sure if it's in the same area. I think perhaps Chrisl can hook you up with her - i will have to dig up her email from my account cos it's been a while since i last emailed her *paiseh* ..

hey Glympse no problem if you come here and visit us
just give a tinkle or email to make sure im home
Im to the south, about 3-4hrs in normal traffic from Oslo
hey good to hear that you're taking a break soon! Have you packed? I remembered when i was dating gaute, i packed my bags way weeks before flying off
hehehehe

No lah Maple, my fridge is not too big
but i intend to get another freezer in future after the renovations, as i tend to stock up frozen foods and the fridge we have limited space in the freezer compartment

Yup the asian mart has frozen stuffs
Im better now thanks
yeah! kitty is a female
she's outside now hunting in the cold -15deg! Oh yes she still loves snuggling up on our laps

haha thanks Cuclainne i hope i do get lucky
hey good to hear that you're fine now
I'll hv to 'dig' up the recipe and will post to you soon
Waoh seems like Elin is growing up fast hehe but luckily you have sofi to help keep watch on her

Soft drugs Eliz?? wah not too nice to be breathing in the smoke leh i think
maybe install some air purifier or something
Hey take care esp now weather is so cold!

Val Your wedding favour sounds personalized and nice
I only had chocolates for mine as i was too lazy to do more apart from printing the tags on the pouches

Exactly! Ladies! That is what I don't like abt Holland. Too much freedom! YOu can even smell people smoking marijuna in the street. That is why I am so angry with the neighbour. What if I'm pregnant and also v bad for health. I hate most is people smoking! I cannot stand it. Yesterday, I dripped lavender on my pillow to sleep. If really can't reach my neighbour, I'm going to write him a letter.

I'm fine now. Took vit C n rest early. Now busy making potpurri for in-laws. Tomorrow we are celebrating St Nicholas (similar to Xmas) where we exchange presents. Still cracking my head for the boys. These are additional gifts added onto the rest. Would want to make it more personal, rather than having to get from shops. N nothing so special to buy here. So limited! Ok! Till then ladies!

liz im worried about you la. have to inhale the smell from your neighbour's smoking. how can they be inconsiderate like that? you are right. imagine when you are preggy..not good for both mummy and baby! so strange that it is considered legal to smoke marijuana there. i still have family members living in holland and they never told me that. maybe i should call my uncle and ask him!

im just glad that jereon is home. its always good to have our hubby/bodyguard with us yeah.
hee.

as for me..and moving. we dont know yet, but i have been bugging jeff quite a bit lately. i know i should be strong, afterall it is going to be money again having to move and all, but i seriously cannot tahan the stress and pace here. im so tired. i am even so tired to chat on the phone with my Mom
I can only pray that there is a way out. jeff has gone to the HR a couple of times and has also "challenged" the hidden and misleading clause about the working hours.

wah nisa..new camera eh? hehe
sweet of elias! was that supposed to be your chrissy pressie?

how did elin end up behind your telly? luckily nothing happened to her. behind our telly here, we have a lot of wires..after i read you, i told jeff when we have a kid, we must make sure there is no gap behind anything electrical thing la. so scared. one of my nieces in sg pulled a chair and fell into a moving washing machine. this was long time ago when the washing machine has an opening on the top. she had to be brought to the doctor cos she almost drowned and had swallowed too much suds.

Ha. I can only imagine how curious she'll get when the christmas tree is up all decorated with ornaments.
good luck my dear. heheh.

glypmse..you and emil are so romantic la. kekeke
so cute! i'm sure you will enjoy your time there with him. you'll forget about the cold and can only see white daises everywhere with your loved one in your arms.
just make sure you enjoy your trip to the fullest and dont be like me. 5 days before my departure, i would get sad already. silly me!

so did you manage to get an 18.99 pressie? ha
who came up with the idea and why? i guess you can buy him a cd, dvd, famous amos cookies..??? what else? have fun girlie. im happy for you you know

chrisl your message is so full of smiley faces...
love it! so best if one can have another fridge or freezer at home. the place here in hk is small for such extra luxury. with my instant roti prata, frozen sambal. curry puffs and jeff's steak, our frezer is so full now. we dont even have any more space for ice trays! Grrr.

woah your kitkat is such a terror. -15degs and she is still hunting and playing outside??

stay warm both you and liz okay.

nightnight everyone. xo

O yr uncle didn't tell u. They even have coffee shop just for that. Not the coffee shop in SG but marijuna. They even have food, candles made of it. Yucks! My friends tot it is normal coffee shop n order pizza coz it has such fanciful name. Some of them ended up in hospital after eating it. I'm getting v paranoid esp how would I know when I m in the midst of getting preggie. Was v stressed! So going to bug at Jeroen to talk to him!

Hopefully Jeff can work out and find some clause that can get both of u out. I cam imagine the situation. I would b likewise. Will keep u in prayers that something good will come out of it. In the meantime, take great care! Hugggzzzzz

No lah! Only once! Xmas is going to church n gather together as a family. We started out cooking, each one take a dish n parents get to rest. This year, not sure, haven't discussed yet.

cuclainne, never heard of the group, but I sure know computer love! now i know who sang it.

So romantic la elias. Dedicated a song to you some more! You must be beaming like a schol girl yeah. Kekeke.
I hope both of you didnt get any sore throat after the concert. I always tend to scream and sing out loudly when Im at a concert. I remember when Jeff and I went to the Simple Mind concert at fort canning in Sg, I sang and danced so hard, the next day, i could not even talk or walk properly. Jeff took a video of me and when i looked at it, i realized i was singing dancing like a lunatic! so malu!

liz...so has jereon talked to your neighbour yet? i hope for the sake of your health and your future baby, he'll move out soon!..
i talked to my mom on skype last night and mentioned about the legal marijuana thing in netherland. she said my uncle has told her about it before. What a shame that a country legalises such thing!
You take care yeah!

Happy weekend everyone.

Are you looking for X'mas gifts for your loved ones? Look no more! Cos we have the lovliest cutie pies for them!

Visit our blog for more details.

Quote 'sgbrides' in your email for special promotions!

www.blingblingnight.blogspot.com

Wedding accessories (Swarovski Crstal) also avaliable!

Nisa~ I made a mistake, it's Rhubarb Soup instead of Pie
it's a sweet dessert eaten with vanilla ice cream

Rhubarb Soup (4-6 servings)

1 liter water
300gm sugar
1 vanilla bean (can use 1 tsp vanilla essence instead)
500gm rhubarb (washed, peeled and cut into chunks)
1 tablespoon finely shredded mint leaves
Sliced strawberries
Vanilla ice cream

Method:
1) Heat water and sugar to boiling
2) Add in vanilla essence
3) Add rhubarb to the syrup and mint too
4) Remove from heat
5) Cover and steep until cold
6) Serve with strawberries and ice cream, topped with mint leaves if desired

Happy cooking

Eliz~ Saw your cookies at FB, looks cute! You guys celebrate early? How about the real Christmas then? Do you still celebrate &amp; what are the traditional food served?

We've just finished with baking over the weekend. Im intending to incorporate some CNY cookies like pineapple tarts &amp; choco cookies to the cookie spread too

maple~ hahah i love the name you gave kitty kitkat haha yeah it's her habit to go out in the morning hunting and running and then coming back in the afternoon and eat a bit then snooze away. She's really fortunate i must say

My place here is also a bit cramp to put more now..but it really helps when my in laws are next door and so can 'kapok' some space
MY MIL has 2 fridges and 2 freezers!!!

K have to make dinner now

chrisl, the two girls are quite a handful! i was trying to convince to put up the christmas tree while elin was at my mom's place over the weekend but he insisted it was still too early .. i'm just worried that we'll lose her amongst the christmas tree and decorations .. hahahah ..

thanks for the recipe - looks delicious! i've finished the last batch of rhubarb so it looks like i might have to get more .. this soup looks like a recipe for rhubarb cream from one of my swedish cookbooks - will have to see if it's similar

maplehue, yes we kind of splurge on the camera for me and on the weekend, after several 'dropped' calls and my mobile eventually just died on me - went shopping for a new phone
i got myself the nokia E71 - quite nice and sleek.

she sneaked her way through the tower fan and also one tall speaker .. yes, we have loads of wires behind there too .. i keep telling elias that we'll have to do something about that because kids just seem so attracted to wires for some reason. i remembered when sofi was elin's age and she loved playing with the phone wires .. sigh!

didn't you know that it's legal in holland? the one time we caught a connecting flight in amsterdam and there were sniffer dogs waiting for us as we got off the plane in stockholm .. argh!

of course la
hahahah .. i must cherish my surprises cos they're few and far between .. hahahah .. well, it was kind of hard to keep people in their seats .. in the beginning, as soon as the concert started, you can see people's cameras flashing and going off even though they specifically said no video recording or photograph taking. then slowly people started standing up and dancing .. until eventually everyone was just standing and dancing and taking photos - i managed to take some photos and a video recording myself *hahahahha*. the ushers, who were quite gungho at getting people to stop doing so at the beginning, eventually gave up
actually they caused more of a distraction because they kept walking up and down the aisle, blocking people's view ..

Liz, hope the discussion with your neighbour went well.

Hi ladies, me going banana! LOL! Kidding! Been sick for a week but now well again. Now into making crafts n keeping me busy. Jeroen spoke to the neighbour, so far no problem. Cross my fingers! He claimed they used water pipen said that caused the sweetish smell. FAINT! well... still taking durgs wat! He knows we are going to isolate the floor so he asked when it will be completed. We hope to do so at least before year end. As for cupboard has to clear my stuff n knock it down.

Chrisl, thks for the feedback. As for x'mas we haven't planned yet whether to cook again with the siblings. Yet to discuss with them. We don't exchange presents anymore. Or else go broke man! ;P

Ok! Back to my craft liao! Take care!

Liz, glad to hear that there has been no problems with the neighbour since Jeroen spoke to him .. but yah, i don't think it's good for you in the long-run to be taking in the second-hand smoke, especially when you're considering having babies .. think about how they would feel too .. my dad smokes like a chimney and after almost 3 years living with a non-smoker (elias hasn't smoked his cigars since i got pregnant with sofi), i feel like i am suffocating whenever i'm at my parents and my dad lights up ..

clara, wow - so exciting! when are you relocating?

hello ladies.

Its been awhile. I have been busy these whole week packing and moving. Finally we are semi settled in our new apartment for the next 2 months before we move up to Brisbane. Its been NUTZ!

Just in to say hello and wishing well to those under the weather. I have been quite sick with the stomache issues too. My phantom sickness no doctor can identify.

Hugs to all.

Nissa- have u received the package?
Hernie- u sure u will be moving- where to?
Liz- U trying fr baby? nice one!
glympse- your savings on xmas gift very the cute. why compromise happiness....indulgelah..LOL

oklah over and out... stomache too painful.*sigh*

emi, thanks for the package .. received it the other day. elias was asking me about the band-aids .. hahahaha ..

hope you'll get better soon ..

clara, wow - next week. that is quick.

Hmmm… din realise it’s been that long since I posted…

maplehue happy belated birthday!! Hope u had a good one!

My mom isn’t going India anymore cuz her travelling partner can’t make it… she practices Tibetan Buddhism n usually makes an annual trip there and travel up to China or Tibet from India.. think she’s been doing it for the past 4 yrs or so… n now that Jetstar has apparently increased their flights (after the attacks!) she lagi itchy backside to go…

Oh, think I know what umbrella hat you’re talking abt… ha! You’ve must have been really paranoid! I can only imagine how funny it looks!

Bertil will be back on Tues n we’re prob going to collect the car on the same day if he’s not too jet lagged… we had to wait abt 3 mths for the car cuz it’s the 2009 honda jazz model, the current model would have been available almost immediately but we figured that its resale potential will drop once the 2009 model is launched…

I’ve been chilling alone at nanyang… prefer it here to my parents’ place although my parents keep bugging me to go over… somehow it doesn’t feel like my home there anymore… more comfy here..

I think the humidity in this area is pretty high… but we din have mould problems in the apt that bertil had previously. The other furniture here seem ok so far. My guess is the change in humidity btwn oz and sg was the cause. Dun think it’s much of a point to treat the sofa cuz the mould is coming from inside the stuffing. I think the cost of changing the stuffing, treating the leather n re-upholstering some parts will be close to the cost of a brand new one… sayang but still not worth the time and effort…

Yah I finally had the fries but not shiok cuz mcd changed their chilli sauce… dun like it anymore
I think I’ve heard that superstition b4 but I guess all babies drool anyway… lol..

Yes marijuana is legal in Holland n in most parts of Europe the authorities pretty much close one eye… I would say that 80-90% of my school mates n colleagues in France have used it at one point or another… one even had a marijuana plant in his room – it got stolen one day and he was really upset! Someone told me marijuana is not a drug cuz it’s from a plant (he means vs manufactured drugs like ice and ecstasy)… I tot it was pretty warped logic…

BTW, dun the HKers use pandan in their cooking?

chrisl good that u have a source for these “rare” food
yes, freezing works for lots of stuff…. are u able to get Chinese vegs like xiao bai cai, etc? That’s wat I missed most when overseas… was so sick of salads, cauliflower and broccoli…

I would prefer a dog to a cat… my old dog used to catch lizards and cockroaches too when he’s in the mood… but I find it so yucky… can’t stand it if he licks me after messing around with insects… need doggie mouth wash..

I imagine ur kitty has really thick fur to withstand -15deg!?!

The rhubarb soup sounds nice n definitely easy to make… shall try it if I come across any rhubarb…

glympse u blur liao… m in sg… no longer in oz already

When are u heading to Sweden for x’mas? Must be pretty soon?

liz did jeroen change job or job scope that’s why have to be outstationed more often? It takes getting used to… I usually need a few days to settle into being alone in the apt… mostly after that, I enjoy the solitude plus the fact that the apt seems to stay cleaner!!

cuclainne u’ll prob need one of those wire organizer thingys to keep elin away from the tv console… I think it’s a phase all kids go through, have heard of it before… guess it’s not much different from the fascination cats have with balls of string…

Did u leave the band aids on for sofi to undo?

clara all the best for ur move!

emi hope u’re settling in nicely! Dun be too stressed!

hi hi. hey corrine. nice to hear from you. WHAT?? MCD changed their chilli? wah.. not happening anymore. I wonder why? its good what, no?

Hernie ..Happy bday.
I am having my bday next sat too! having a teh tarek and prata brunch. Invited my colleagues over. saying goodbye as well.

Yeha, i feel better nowadays, but i look like rudolph. Gotten meself an annual nose infection that happens on the tip of my nose, throbing, blistering painful swollen nose i have now. I call it RUDOLF SYNDROME. I dunno why but I get it everytime during this period. Not sure if i was a reindeer in my pass life. heheheh Doctor thinks its stress related. *sigh*

corrine... take a picture of yourself,., would love to see how u look pregnant!
JAcq is pregnant too. dunno if you know it.

Have fun with ur jazz.

ciao...

emi yah MCD changed the chilli - dun ask me why, cut cost maybe??? I prefer the old one, the new one tastes n looks diff (darker red n zero garlic).. they also changed the McWings recipe n stop the sweet chilli sauce that they used to serve w McWings... felt pretty disappointed that day.. but ate it anyway since i've already bought it..

Oh! I dinno Jacq's expecting! Wow that's fast! LOL! Shall drop her a note on FB
Thks for the update..

I've taken some photos off and on but haven't gotten round to uploading... i'm just great at procrastinating :p

could u be having a form of hay fever, with spring/summer n pollen floating around? U can't possibly be stressed at the same time each year can u?? do take care n get well soon!

Hey ladies! How's everyone doing? Busy preparing for Christmas celebrations? hehe ... I'm counting down! 3 more days till I fly off to Sweden.... no mood to work at all :P

cuclainne, wow, snowing in April?? You two were in Stockholm then tho right? Perhaps cos it's further up North so there's still snow... I heard from Emil that Swedish weather can be pretty erratic tho ... snowing in spring and all that

Thanks for Clare's email btw
Emil and I are prob going to keep our honeymoon very private and 'antisocial' tho haha ... but it's always good to have other options

And congrats on the new phone! Nokia E71 is a beauty

Chrisl, thanks for the offer! Perhaps we'll come visit on another trip, Norway and Sweden are so close, a road trip shld be easy
We'll likely be renting a cabin near the fjords, also to the south. And hey, once Emil and I are settled down after the wedding, you and Gaute are very welcome to come by Lund too! Perhaps we can have a 'Singapore' makan session or sth hehe.

Liz, glad to hear u're feeling better, tho hope the issue with ur neighbour gets worked out in the long run. Not good for health lah
Would u both consider moving to another apartment even?

maple, hey babe, you sound really stressed and tired. Yea if u two can afford it and if the contract allows, shld def try to move.. really not worth being miserable and ruining ur health.. At least now Jeff and yourself have experienced different countries/cultures, so u both hv a better idea of what kind of lifestyle u'd want (after weighing the pros and cons), and will be able to make a happy decision to move to a place where u both can have the quality of life u're looking for. Do keep us posted on ur plans ok?

Haha yeah, Emil and I really counting down the days. Strangely, the closer we get to my arrival in Sweden, the more we miss each other. Guess we're both really anticipating able to meet each other face to face once again
As for the pressie, we decided to round it up haha ... yea not so fun i guess, but we've been pretty busy with wedding prep, so not that much time to go source for pressies. I think just being able to be around each other in the same place is already the best present anyway
Just looking fwd to watching movies together, doing things together, experiencing life together...

emi, oh no how are u feeling? found out what the phantom sickness is about? and how's the moving coming along?

deluxe, paiseh, my work must have gotten to my brain :P Glad to know ur Mum's not going to India anymore.. must be a big relief for u
am flying off this Fri evening to Sweden! Very tempted to take Fri off... really can't concentrate at work anyway haha... Your little one is coming soon too!! How are you coping physically?

clara, exciting re the move! Hope u'll settle in nicely!!!

To everyone else, a big HELLO!!!

glympse gd to hear from ya! i sure know the holiday mood
my last day at work is next tues and i've been in la la land since last wk or so... this wk even more no mood! LOL!

It must be freezing in Sweden now...do cuddle up and stay warm! *wink* :p

Physically m good... feeling the tummy weight sometimes (baby is 2.3kg as of yesterday) n having a little water retention ard the ankles but neither are major problems.. i din even realise that the ankles were a little puffy until i went for a massage and the therapist pointed it out..

Hello gals,
Its been so busy for me at work..everyday when I get home, I feel like pengsan!

chris how is the baking going? did you make any pineapple tarts. scrummy. I love pineapple tarts! I can eat them at any time of the year. Unlike my sis who only eats them during festive season.

hope you are keeping warm and your kitkat is not too busy hunting. she definitely has more tiger blood in her yeah. hee.

cuclainne..have u been busy shopping? and did the little princess explore the chrisyy tree?
been enjoying your camera lately? good for you! ive kinda adopted jeff's new dig. camera lately, he is okay with it, except when it comes to downloading and charging it cos I am so hopeless when it comes to that. heheh.

..and you got a new phone some more! wah!! i am still using the nokia 7370 gold swivel you know. so old already! but i guess old pun old la. as long as it is okay, i wont complain so much. even my students are using the latest one. i confiscated one of my student's phone and she had a Prada phone!

so did you take any pictures when you were at the concert?

liz..how are you girl? i hope you are feeling better. you've been sick lately. stay warm and rest well ok.

emi and deluxe thank you for the birthday wishes
i had another great one this year with lots of surprises and pampering

emi..are you feeling better? moving is one stress process man..sometimes it is hard not to fall sick when we are in the midst of packing, moving, adjusting, etc. hang in there and stay home if you can.
as for me...i'm not sure of the move, but i sure know that we need to do something about whats going on. headache!!..
AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY in advance to you too girl!! Have fun and enjoy

deluxe..i agree with emi. Take pictures soon. I want to see you pregnant la.

Good to know that your mom has cancelled her trip to India. Even though things are better there,as a daughter, i'd rather not have my mom there either.

Yeah..that ridiculous looking umbrella hat. I can't stand it at all, but what to do, those huge lizards were just too scary for me. Are they still pooing everywhere?

Wow..Honda 2009! Thats cool! You guys are defintely preparing for a family. It is definitely easier to have a car when you have a child. With strollers, bag, etc, I can just imagine having to wait for a cab. Are you going to take turn to drive or are you happy just having Bertil to do the driving?

You must have enjoyed the peace and quiet at nanyang. Wise choice girl. I used to like the sounds of the crikets and birds when i was living there
Felt so close to nature. Did your Mom visit you when Bertil was away?

If the mould is coming from inside the sofa, then i think you have no choice, but to throw it away. So sayang!

What MCD changed their chilli? Why would they want to do that when people are used to their chillis?? Dont tell me theirs are sweeter like KFC now?!? Not original anymore!

Marijuana is definitely bad for non smokers in Holland. My family in Holland doesn't smoke(as far as i know) and I heard from my mom that my uncle had actually 'lectured' a few teenagers for smoking it publicly.

Pandan leave in HK? So far, i have not seen any at the supermarkets. I've had yum cha here and no, they didnt use pandan leave for any of the dish i had. Maybe there are other dishes with pandan leaves I dont know about.

Ok you take care and I wish you well in your pregnancy girl.

Hi glympse, yes, i am so tired and stress here. We are definitely looking into things here and planning for other options. We tell each other, if we have to pay, we just pay la. Thanks for your concern. Will definitely keep you gals posted!

Woah..one more day right and off you are to Sweden. Im so happy for you
Enjoy yourself and enjoy the quiet time with your prince charming. Take photos!!!

Okay ladies, have a great day and will talk to you again sometime. Jeff and I will be flying off to Vietnam this Saturday morning for our winter break, then a few more days in Sydney. It wont be long this time, just 2 weeks cos we have another 2 weeks of holiday in feb. for chinese new year. Will try come in here whenever I can

Happy holidays to everyone and take care ladies.

And marge, wherever you are, hello to you. Miss having you here

xoxo