Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

mittens: my mil is half-finnish though i don't think she knows how to speak it as she grew up in sweden.

wah, isn't it expensive to keep commuting back and forth like that?

maplehue: i suppose it was custom made cos our bedroom at the last apartment was two rooms made into one so it was huge!! we would love to get a big bed like that once we have a place of our own .. we have to think of all those nights when the kids would crawl into the bed because of lightning or monsters under their bed, etc.

infantcare is expensive - i send sofi to learning vision at my workplace and it almost costs 1.2K for the public. as a staff, i get preferred rates and get an additional $400 subsidy from MCYS for being a full-time working mom. initially i only paid $170 in monthly fees but after reno and re-shuffling of staff, they up the fees to $349 which is affordable when you compare it to 1.2K. plus it's convenient cos i get to see her whenever i can get away from the office .. elin will be going to the same centre once i start work.

babysheep22: oh i really loved hitting the stores when i was last in london .. it was quite cheap even with the exchange rate to get stuff from topshop, etc cos once it gets here, the clothes just get super duper expensive. i stocked up on magazines to read on the plane .. hahaha ..

babysheep22 - I will persevere. Thank you for the encouragement!! I know what you mean about your sentiments of moving back to S'pore. I do feel somewhat the same too. But at the same time, I feel very guilty about 'leaving' my parents and I know that I will feel as bad about HTB leaving his parents (although he also has been living away for ages). So, we also need to budget for his parents coming over/us going back to Finland and also to find accommodation to accomodate his parents (we are hopeful that they will come and stay with us a few months each year if we are able to move to S'pore).

cuclainne - Oh! Half Finnish!....my HTB also has a few aunts/uncles living in Sweden now. Yes, the commuting is expensive, but what to do? I don't want my Mum to be more unhappy than she already is.

hi hi. the sad woman is back online. I cant believed theres more than 20 replies on everything under the sun in this thread within 24hours. I think Mrs N, you are right. people like on hoiday like that!

Yeah. I am pretty much the same outside in general, dont want people to feel my sadness while talking but its weird how my heart feels really morose. The thing is I really feel bad for Chris. He saved up to get this ring for me and also he has never sepent so much money on woman his whole entire life as he was a non believer of marriage. So, loosing it makes me feel so guilty. He was quite cool when we found out the rings were missing, he looked at me in a sad way and went back to the beach to get his goggles and spent 30 mins floating and looking into the water. Chris not getting angry added more misery and guilt on me.
I intend not to tell my parenst as they will flipped to the sky and blame my carelessness forever! They kinda have began liking chris more coz hes neutral.

Mittens. Dont worry about your mum. Have she actually met your HTB? Chris was my 2nd white partner so my parents kinda getting the hang of it lah that her daughter might not end up with an asian. Altough my dad is the one who dont like the ang moh idea. he was totally against anybody outside the race but I dont care lah. Somehow, Chris neutrality and quietness made my dad comfortable. But the thing that made my parents most happy is the fact he is a Singaporean food monster, so its easy for my family to go eat out together or mum to cook coz he guzzles down anything even chilli padi, it's a plus point. Food is important bonding session in a asian family, yes?

Chris is half polish-russian-born in poland but grew up in germany and then lived and worked in austria.

I am a sporean but moved to adelaide, Oz in 2000 was living in austria with chris for a bit last year too.

After 2.5 years of back and forth to europe and oz, with no romantic will you marry me and me nearly broke, we decided to logically get married and now we live in melbourne till end of this year. coz after we went back to adelaide for a week just then, we regain sweet memories of why we love australia.

Currently, we have a few plans to live somewhere else after this year but if all fails we are going to move back to Adelaide. Our love city of great white endless coastal beach, non polluted air with eucalyptus smell in it all the time and small population of 1.3 mil super laid back people. its a bit kampung but we kinda prefer it.

Oh and yeah.. chris' family doesnt even know he is married or with me. we have learnt to live with it. nothings perfect.

oh yes !! the thread moves really fast yesterday..it was holiday in canberra yesterday, Canberra Day..

EJ, 1.3 mil people sill not that bad, Canberra only have 400,000 + people, even more 'kampong' than Alelaide !!

i heard H&M opening store in sg too but dont know when, so far only HOng Kong and Tokyo have H&M store...the baby clothing sat H&M also very nice :-)..Mrs. N, london has a few big H&M stores along Bond street..you will stay in sg till when? yes, if possible do get an aisle seat near toilet, you will have to go there pretty often !!

chrisl..oslo has H&M stores..i think buying things in sg is still much more cheaper than norway....

Good morning ladies..and afternoon or evening to some,

Elizabeth, I have stopped using msn, only at times.. but I am on multiply. Userid: jhmartins. I still can't figure out the invite thingy and some other stuff there. But learning slowly of course, so if you could invite me from yours, that would be swell!
Are you in London now? Lived there briefly, less than a year and i remember all in all, i bought 4 umbrellas! Not because they're ruined, just like collecting them. They have nice ones there compared to in montreal or canada.

Oh Mittens, I am sorry to hear about you and your Mom. But I do believe she still loves you very much!
Mothers are like that sometimes. Especially when we can't figure out what they want or thinking. I am sure you and htb will win her heart eventually. Slowly but surely yeah.

I can't read chinese characters Mitten but my conversational mandarin is enough for me to have a conversation. My Canadian hubby can also speak it, he picked it up when he was living in China. Now we are looking at learning Cantonese considering HK is full of cantonese speaking people. Which part of Asia would you and htb like to live in?

Hi Mrs.N..Hee..your mom sounds like mine! She always nag at me about doing things at the last minute and she always say 'kelam kabot' is very bad for the mental health! Paul is right, don't bring too many clothes, you can shop for more in Sg! and you also have your mom clothes to wear too right?! hee.
Pace yourself Mrs.N and have a safe flight home.

Hello Cuclainne, I didn't know that infantcare costs so much! I wonder how much that'll cost me if or when jeff and i have a kid of our own. What if i have no job in sg and only want to spend a few months there during my maternity leave? Not to mention jeff is not a pr. we do have insurance but i dont think it will cover things like this. Hmm.. Is your office and infantcare in the same building? That is convenient if it is1

Chris, me same as you and a few of the ladies here. Stayed in london for less than a year but don't know what h&m is. The only place i love to go to shop is Harrod. Window shopping is not really counted as shopping but good enough for some therapy session
Never mind, when you leave sg, you can start saving again. Last christmas when me and hubby went back to canada, like you I also shopped like nobody's business. Then when we returned to Seoul, I 'barred' myself from shopping centers for a couple of months!

Welcome back Emi!
Missed you here. Lived in Melbourne but never made the effort to go to Adelaide. Is there a lot of difference between the 2 places?

Hello to everyone else..I better get back to work now. Talk again soon.

heheh. melb and adelaide is world's apart most definitely. will talk more about tat sometime soon!
h&M....aiyayayayay... we have so many H&M stuffs. we love it so much! ...
alamka gta go do supermarketing.. talk later!

Emilia...excuse my language but what the heck is this "H&M"??!Heee. Happy super marketing! Have you tried the little drumlets from the hot food counter section at Safeway? They are quite yummy.

maplehue,

H&M is one of the large women's and children's clothing chain stores in Europe. They are originally from Sweden, but have stores in most other countries in Europe.

It stocks really yummy stuff at affordable prices.

www.hm.com

Emi,

I'm sorry to hear about losing your ring.
It's awful.... *big hugs*

Cuclainne,

Tempted to come to London again for shopping?? Especially if you come for post Christmas sale or summer sale, the things are so cheap. Topshop over here is like Giordano price in SG.

I bought loads of Karen Millen too cos it's definitely cheaper here even after conversion.

Hi Everyone!!!!

emilia jo - Chris is so sweet! Despite the lost, doesn't his reaction (or non-reaction, rather) to the lost of rings just re-confirms that you married the right guy?! Awwwwww!!!!!

Yes, HTB has met my parents once when he flew into S'pore from Brussels over a weekend just to meet them. HTB loves Asian food too - he takes even spicier food than I do and I think I can take quite spicy stuff already. But, no opportunities for makan sessions as we were all living in different countries (Brunei, S'pore, Brussels).

OMG re: Chris' family not knowing!!! HTB's parents are completely ok with me, so at least that's one headache out of the way.

Georgina - Brunei even more kampung - 300,000 people (including my 2 brothers, me and many others who have not been living in the country for the past 15 years at least?). The land area is 10 times bigger than S'pore. I remember studying geography and Brunei has a piece of land in Oz bigger than Brunei itself - it's a cattle farm. Yikes!

maplehue - Haha...we're kinda similar...HTB also learnt to write/speak Mandarin when he was working in China. So embarassing that he can and I can't!
We're focusing on relocating to S'pore because it is near enough to Brunei and parents are very familiar with S'pore.

Good afternoon ladies,

Babysheep, thank you for the info about h&m.
the place sounds like a shopping haven. I can't believe i didn't know about it when i was in london!

Mittens...you can't speak Mandarin well or you can't speak mandarin at all? Hee. Never mind, you are excused considering the many languages you have learned
I think Singapore will be good for both of you. NOt only you can be closer to your parents, but your htb can also find some comfort being in a multi-cultural place with lots of foreigners/expats around. i just hope he likes hot weather..cos Sg can be really sticky for any expat I've known!

Emilia, Cuclainne, Mrs.N and Chris, what did your darlings say about Sg weather? Jeff loves the sun but dislike the stickiness. And Orchard road...he fits right in there with the crowd.

Ok, better go now. I have a 3 hour conference in 30 mins. Not looking forward to it at all.

Talk soon ladies. x

maplehue: yes, the infantcare is on the same level as my office so i can just pop by whenever i have the time ..

elias loves the weather here .. even when i am complaining about the heat, he says he loves it .. hahahah .. he likes it here cos everything is so convenient .. just yesterday i was telling him that it's such a hassle to go out when it's raining, esp. with the kids and he reminded me that going out in winter in sweden with the kids would be even more of a hassle.

babysheep22: no la .. don't think i will get the opportunity again cos elias doesn't really like london .. he doesn't like paris either but since i've never been there, he said i should go but just once .. hahahah ..

Hi maplehue,

Ummm....I don't use Mandarin at all when I start a conversation cos no one understands me anyway, but can catch a few words here and there like at food courts/taxis and try to reply in Mandarin mix with English/Malay? Does that count?
Can't understand S'pore's Channel 8's tv series/news at all (too 'standard Mandarin?'). Can't read/write Chinese characters at all.
HTB seems to like S'pore so far....he has visited many times, but have not lived there. He does not mind the hot weather. But he did not like the rain so much (but also because he seems to bring the rain to S'pore...everytime before he comes to visit for 10 days or so, it'll be nice sunshine and right when he lands, we have the bad rains for days!) Hehehe...even I don't like the stickiness! Somehow we don't get much of that in Brunei!

mittens: that is so funny re: your HTB. Mine also mentioned that he is the same - like if the prices of a co's shares go down, that's because he bought them etc .. he's so sure that if something 'bad' happens, it's got something to do with him. hahahah ..

Hi cuclainne,

Hahahaha...maybe we can ask your hubby which shares he does not want to buy, so we buy them and make $$$? Now I'm hoping that there won't be more floods in S'pore if we really get to move over in case HTB really brings the rain with him!

Hi cuclainne,

No, not sure at all if/when we are moving to S'pore. It's just wishful thinking for now. All depends if HTB can get a job there first. We're trying.

hello girls. am on night shift again... trying to waste time. I want to watch discovery travel but its miami ink now.. i am over the tatooo thinglah.. i want to see food!!!

yeah..chris have been sweet, he knows i am still feeling crappy about the shebang, he even cooked dinner for me last nite, something which is super rare. Normally it will take me a week to urge and pursuade and what not just for him to cook, and yesterday he just did it automatically. it felt awesome!

Chris' parents dunno about us but his sister does. I knew it would be the case even before we got married and thought long and hard about it, you all know lah family is big in asian society BUT this is all due to the harmony of the family, so.... betterlah for now. hehehe.

singapore weather? i hate sweating but all these ang mohs love it. coz it sorta rejuvenate their skin, can breathe and feel healthy. Chris is a big fan. not me.

We dont mind living in Singapore if we can find jobs,definitely but for now seems there arent any!

mittens! so cute aahh, your hubby is more mandarin-ised than you. its oklah... maybe thats why u are meant for each other so that he can lead u!

The story about brunei's bigger than brunei land in oz is hysterical! hehehe

PS: I LOVE SHOPPING IN LONDON especially during the sale period. you can get zara, gap, UCB, h&M sometimes at 2pounds!!! woohooo.... love shopping!

mittens: my husband only managed to secure his current job after many months of searching .. even then, he had to come down to sg for interviews and what-nots, and then he had to go to paris to be interviewed at the head office before they formally employed him. it was such a hassle but thank goodness he's a patient guy .. the reason why he moved here to sg instead of me moving up there was because of my family - he knows how close i am to them so he decided to uproot instead.

ej: oh, it's sooo true .. whenever we go back to sweden, i will end up having rashes cos my skin gets all dry but after a few days in sg, it's all better!

Thanks for the heads up, cuclainne! We'll try to be patient...we don't really have a choice either about the moving - family reasons as well. Then, the next question would me how long we'll stay for. sigh...when will the moving ever stop!? Oh well...one step at a time, I guess.

Good morning ladies,
Today I feel so stress at work..so here I am now. Somehow exchanging thoughts with you ladies kinda help me relax a bit.

Mitten, don't worry too much about not knowing how to speak Mandarin. Without it, i am sure you can still survive in Sg. Afterall, English is our first language. But of course it is always good to know it, just incase.
Jeff doesn't like rain either, he thinks rain makes it hard to go to places. We had a Gilera red scooter when we were in Sg and he used to complain a lot when it started to rain. I just called the taxi! What about Brunei? Would you consider Brunei at all to relocate considering your parents are there? You mentioned Malay language has been part of your lifestyle since young, what about the culture itself and have you had 'asam pedas' before? Scrum..

Hello Cuclainne, that was so convenient to be near your babies when you are at work. So lucky!
Where I work now, we have a qualified babysitter to babysit employees' children. But it is not a nursery and children below 1 year old aren't allowed. Has Sofi had any problem letting go of you when you need to get back to work?

Hi Emilia, i just find it so romantic whenever the hubby makes time to cook for us. That was sweet of Chris! I hope you are slowly getting over the lost rings. I know it is hard but don't let it affect your daily mood okay. Jeff cooks french toast every Sunday for me, complete with Canadian maple syrup on the side with of course a cup of my fav. vanilla tea. There was one morning, he accidentally burned the toast..Hee, but I was still touched and ate all..It was my fault la, I made him braid my hair when the bread was already in the pan! Kekeke.Emilia, don't you think watching food show will make you hungry at work?? What if you see a show about cakes, how are you going to find any cake at that of the time?

Wouldn't it be so great if all of us can meet one day and just shop together. I want to go to this h&m shopping place you girls have been talking about.Being in Korea, shopping has been so limited. I have to shop online sometimes to buy stuff. I love Coach bags and what they have here is so dear, it is like daylight robbery!

Cuclainne, is Elias tanned? What about Chris, Emi and your htb Mitten? What is his name? Jeff loves the sun and is considered brown for a white guy. He is trying to get darker than me..and I keep telling him, not a chance

Hmm...Mrs. N must be on her way to Sg now I think?...

Hi to the rest of the ladies here. Have a good day everyone. x

Maple I'm still here.
And still haven't packed anything yet because there really isn't anything I can pack. Well the hubby seem to be more organised as he got everything he wanted to bring laid out on the spare bed. Ha! Ha! At least one of us has their head screwed on.
Just two days more yeah! Is your mum still with you? Hopefully you won't feel stressed up for long. What work is it that you are doing?

babysheep It will be hard adjusting back to Sg life after a few years away but you'll get used to it eventually. Has your husband considered coming up to the UK to work so that you can be together?

Chrisl I haven't been to Batam in a long time. Yes we only need to venture out into neighbouring countries like Indonesdia and the Philippines in order to appreciate how lucky we are in Singapore. Even though most of us may not be rich we are still comfortable. When my grand uncle from the Philippines came to visit us he thought living in our HDB flat was a real luxury compared to what he had. He was living in one of the islands in Southern Philippines and they were having civil unrest. I think even today it's still a dangerous place to live in.

EJ how nice to have Chris cook for you. It's nice to have a break from the kitchen sometime.

Gina I see. Hardly go to London so don't even know where to shop! I'll be in Sg until 6 Apr. My mother has asked me to stay longer but unfortunately can't as got to go for the anomaly scan on 9 Apr. Nurse at the hospital wasn't very pleased when I wanted to change the date and made me feel very guilty for going on holiday! But MW was ok with it and told me not to worry.

Margie hope the pain has subsided and you are feeling better. Take care ya.

Anyway to the rest keep well. Hope tootsieroll is fine too.

Hi maplehue - I guess I'm paranoid about not being able to speak Mandarin partly because I was screamed at very loudly by an old lady at John Little once.
She was asking me something in Mandarin when I was queuing to pay. I was beginning to answer that I can't understand (in English and Mandarin mix) and she just started waving her arms madly and screaming who-knows-what at me. It was so embarassing and I was so upset for days after that.
So,..really want to pick it up somehow.

No, Brunei does not have good employment opportunities to be able to advance for great career (unless one just want to work/live there forever). So, I think Brunei (or Finland) will only come later, like retirement time.

Yup! I love all sorts of food actually, so i do miss a lot of food that Brunei has which S'pore does not (both Chinese and Malay foods) and also sometimes the dishes are made slightly different. Or the dishes are called differently and the ways sentences are formed/words used are different, so yes, I do get laughed at alot!

Mmmmmmm....all these stories on hubbies cooking (and braiding hair!!!!!!!) for you is making me so jealous! Mika (my HTB - sorry! forgot to put his name down) is as useful as my cat is in the kitchen. Though he did make me a full breakfast in bed for my birthday once. But he does make it up to me in other ways.

Yes - it would be great if we could all meet up for shopping with coffee breaks one day!

No, Mika is as white as the part of my body which never sees the sun. But I am pretty light-skinned too; can't seem to tan....I just burn, peel and then become even paler than before.

Hope everyone is having a very good day after maplehue's kind wishes!

Mrs N, don't let the nurse make u feel guilty. U deserve the holiday. I guess she is jealous that you are going for holidays. She is the one having the issues! Sorry after having studying dance therapy, a lot of things I just learn that people project what they feel onto you. Ha ha ha.... Enjoy yr stay ja!

EJ, so nice! Chris cooked! Yeah! I can bet with you that he will do more. Jeroen cooks when I have school or other time when I don't feel like cooking. Or he cooks his favourites speciality. He never really cooks when he was single, more of mummy's boy, got food for him all the time. hahaha... after marriage, he begins to enjoy cooking and baking! What a change! I guess when man loves his wife, he is happy to make her happy. That's what he says!

Babysheep, I agree with Mrs N, maybe get yr hubby to come to UK. The last time I went back to sg after 2 yrs juz for hols, geezzzz... I know I can never fit in anymore. I am never a city gal like some of my friends are. I prefer the more slower and quiet pace. Sorry to hear abt your ex and disagreement from you parents.

Mittens, even I know Mandarin, it's only half past six. I was laughed at when I went to high school. Coming from an English Catholic school and only speak Mandarin at home and plus I didn't like Chinese class, that doesn't help. I failed my Chinese, only managed to pass like after 2 to 3 attempts for O and A level! So peiseh when my in laws ask me and Jeroen wants to learn, so that he can speak to my dad. Hahaha... U can always pick it up. Coz I have to somehow since Jeroen is going to learn. Kekekek....

Maplehene, i love korea food esp kimchi. Even bought it home fr sg. I tot Korea has some nice cute fashion. Never been there, so no idea. I am also not familiar with mulitply and hardly log in, Can multiply chat also?

H&M hahaha... I usu go there when there is sale. O yes, it can be really a good buy when there is sale. Some of the designs are v nice! only H&M and We pants I can fit in. C & A has strange cuttings!

Actually, I am supposed to go for fieldwork today but decided to stay home. Been tired sourcing ribbons lah... until so fed up! Well... Better catch up on my study. Wish soometimes there are more time! well well well... ok lah go back to my study liao!

Hi hi to all the ladies!

Hey ladies!

Kinda relaxing at home today..sorting my luggage stuffs..and i managed to weigh it..Guess how heavy?? 21.1kg! The limit is 20kg..and I have not finished my shopping for stuffs! hmmmm...

Maple~My hb is somewhere in between..he doesn't like too much sun or too much snow heehee..and yes! He don't like the fact that he's always perspirating all the time after he's out from the showers..And oh as for the crowds..hehe..he's not fitting in sometimes cos in norway, it's so quiet in the stores compared to shops in Sg. So he said if he's in the shopping mood sometimes, he doesn't mind, but if he's too stress, he'll find his way out the exit asap!

Mittens~I guess for the sake of love, (esp pple like us married to angmohs)..we need to sacrifice much more...in terms of distance wise/relocating Either one has to make the sacrifice.. As for me and hb, as he's more established there in norway, we decided that it would be much better for me to relocate instead. Hb said that SG is nice in some ways..in terms of variety of food and also close approximity to stores and the convenience of public transport. Good luck in finding a job here then!
I think your mum is going to be really happy!

Mrs N~Be careful of the slippery roads here, remember to get good non-slip shoes with you! It has been raining for a few days now in SG. Somewhat nice and cooling weather but on the other hand, it's so inconvenient to go out ..shopping or running errands

k have to go again! Take care for now everyone!

Im doing well with my gums after the extraction, very happie with the recovery speed, been eating carrot cake on 2nd day and pizza, baked rice on 3rd day and today KFC hehehee.... Thank God for the blessings! Now im back into trying to finish what i need to do for this trip back. Got the gown, make up artist, hotel venue, change passport/IC, power of attorney, shopping etc..... Now im kinda feeling days passing too fast, just some unbearable missing feel about leaving Sg and gg back to Melb again. Strangly, that was what I told Ralf (my hubby) when he drove me to airport 3 weeks back, i was telling him i began to miss Melb as i approached the airport.... So confusing, I have learnt to face the fact that i dun fully belong to either place, bits of here n there!

Mrs N, ya like Chris said, Sg been raining BADLY everyday!! And will still continue for the next few days, Remember to hold Mr N tight and walk slowly when u are back ;)

Maplehue, my hubby Ralf is not the tanned type. Abit of sun he can get sunburnt. The last time we went to a beach at Great Ocean Rd, even tho applying sunblock lotion on himself, he still gets sunburnt!!! cos he forgot to apply it on his feet! for the next few days he has to bear with the pain whenever he wore his shoes hehehe.... After that incident, i'll make sure he is well-greesed with lotion if we are gg into sun!

Hi Mitten! Sorry to hear about your John Little drama
i guess it just happen to be the woman having issues with herself, there is nothing wrong with you for not being able to speak mandarin. Good luck to your next relocation!

Chrisl, your lugguage is still consider light
Buy more more to your heart content!! Most airline counters will prob close one eye when they do check in baggage hehee.. Use your sweet and innocent smile when you see them staring at your lugguage weight *kekeke*

Hey Emi, so Chris made special meal for you? Curry or Rendang ah? Was it big pot enough for u n him? Heheheeee... But really sweet of him. When i had stomach virus, Ralf will make mashed potato and if i have sore throat, he will make raw garlic bread!!! Thoughtful of him lah but i just cant swallow raw garlic bits, ended up he has to finish all! Ah well, afterall it's always sweet to see your hubby trying his hands to make a meal for you even tho how simple the dishes are, rite??

Elizaberth, Good luck to your studies and ribbon sourcing too

Margiel, thks! Glad that u recover so fast!
If u need reccommendation for make-up artist, photographer and videographer, let me know, I can reccommend.

Chrisl, u can take 2 to 3 kg but hoor juz be careful not to get check when u come home. I kena coz of the red tag on my luggage stating heavy duty coz mine was 34 kg for one bag (Jeroen and I combine together as the other one was less than 20 kg so can pass off)! But lucky the customs didn't check all the small one or else I die! I stock a lot of food stuff in the bag. a bit more like 1 or 2 shd not be a problem. When I had once overweight by 2 to 3 kg if i remember , no problem at all.

Hmmmm hard luck on ribbons, so expensive and expect me to order each design 500m and it is in pound somemore. SIGH!!!!!!

Hi All…

Wow this thread is moving so quickly, I can barely keep up with all the postings! So excuse me if I fail to reply to anyone… we’ve only just got internet access at home up and running – after waiting for 3 long weeks!!! I felt so isolated from the world without internet… it was depressing!

I ate too much chocolate 2 days ago and have ended up with a sore throat! Punishment for being greedy! Just bought this soluble remedy thingy- hoping that it will work…

A warm welcome to all the newbies…

Tootsieroll congrats on your second child! Hope you have a smooth delivery!

Chris I think they usually allow a max of 10kg excess without charging, that was what happened with our luggage. We got 10kg extra per person but still had an additional 20kg excess that we had to pay for (yes our total excess luggage was 40kg!!)

Margie Glad that you had a good operation and recovered so quickly! Wah, can eat crunchy KFC so soon! I think I was on porridge for a week after my extraction!! We’ve just settled into our apartment. I finally got round to ordering coffee beans for our coffee machine – it’s a proprietary system so we can’t use any brand we like – so it should be delivered next week…. U and the rest can come over for a coffee morning (or afternoon) one of these days…

What did you need “power of attorney†for?

Hi Mitten sorry to hear about your John Little experience… maybe the old lady just get agitated because she thought you knew Chinese and was pretending not to understand her… it’s fairly common for Singaporeans to assume that a Chinese looking person will speak Chinese. I know some pple who looked Chinese but are not and always having pple (from hawkers to taxi drivers) speaking to them in Chinese…

My Chinese isn’t fantastic either… hardly ever speak it at home and pretty much learned most of it in school and barely scrapped through at O levels… I can speak fairly simple Chinese but reading and writing is pure torture! Frankly if the Ch 8 programs don’t have subtitles, I find it pretty hard to follow.

My hubby is just as lost in the kitchen as yours is! In the 6 years that I’ve known him, he has cooked only once!! I’m still hoping for a repeat performance one day… hahaha

Maplehue my hubby doesn’t mind the weather in S’pore although he sweats all the time. I think he prefers it to chill in Germany… but in Melbourne, he’ll complain about the heat and likes it better when it’s cool… shortly after we arrived here, the mercury was hitting 40C and he said “I thought I lived in the hottest country and now I’ve moved to an even hotter place!! How is that possible?!?!†On the other hand, he hates the crowds and shopping in Singapore – never ever ask him to go to Orchard Road on weekends!

I don’t like the sweating and sticky feeling and find it easier to be active in Melbourne when it’s cool… on hot days, my skin often feels like it’s burning just after 20 mins.

BTW, I heard from a fren who has been living in HK for the past 2 yrs that you can get by with Chinese but it’s good to know Cantonese esp when you are dining out as most of the small local “cha guan†do not list their set menus and specials on the menu and their a la carte is typically slightly more expensive. She also only picked up Cantonese when she moved there.

babysheep Yes, Mrs N is right that adjusting back to SG will take time. You will probably experience reverse culture shock, most of us do in one way or another… but give yourself some time and you’ll get used to the Singaporean way of life again…

Good evening ladies,
TGIF!! What a long week it has been..I am just glad that I can sleep in tomorrow.

Hello Mrs.N. Oh you are still in UK. A day more and off you go to the land of delicious food! Don't bring anything if it is unnecessary. Afterall, you need the space when you shop there. Hee. Sweet of your hubby to get everything organized and ready for the travel. I think one organized person is enough when it comes to getting things ready. When we travel, Jeff is the one who packs. All I have to do is to dump everything on the spare bed and he'll do the rest!
My Mom is still here. She is leaving next Saturday and I am already feeling a little sad.
Tomorrow we'll take her to Itaewon to shop. It is a tourist shopping place. I know she wants to buy souveneir(AGAIN) for people back in sg. I teach Visual Arts at an American Curriculum based International School Mrs.N.
Enjoy your trip to Sg.and have a safe flight back and forth okay
Will miss you!..and oh, don't worry about the nurse, i agree with Elizabeth, she is probably jealous.

Hi Mittens, thank you for your kind words. It just feels nice to know that they are people we can talk to when we need to.
Mittens, don't worry about being yelled at by any old lady anymore okay. Maybe what you can do is to learn how to say "I am sorry but I don't know Mandarin" in Mandarin and then slowly look away. If they started saying something else, just ignore them. Sweet sweet of Mika to make you a full breakky in bed.
Speaking of breakky and food, what food can you find in Brunei that you can't find in Sg? I thought Sg has everything? Both jeff and I are sunbake freaks. We love the sun so much and can sunbake for hours. The only problem is, I have now developed some sort of sun allergy. The last beach holiday we had in Vietnam gave me a serious rash on my inner thigh and when we went to the doc, she said,it could be the sun.
Not good at all! We do have friends who peel and burn from suntanning. I am sorry you are one of them. I hope it is not that painful!

Hello Elizabeth, I am sorry to ask you this again but where are you right now? If you are in Sg in June, I'll get you some kimchi from Korea okay
I have offered some to Cuclainne too
Jeff and I are swinging by Sg in mid June
I don't think we can chat on Multiply. We can only exchange personal messages(PM) and comments. I am still exploring it. I think Emilia(EJ) is an expert when it comes to Multiply. She is an active user. Aren't you Emi??
Some of the korean fashion is cute but Jeff doesn't like it at all. So far, Ive only bought a few summer and winter skirts, that was it. Are you still doing the language course? And if may I ask, what's the ribbons for?!Hee.

Hi there Chris, your hubby sounds a little bit like mine. He has certain mood. Sometimes he doesn't mind being with the crowd and sometimes crowd makes him frustrated. But one thing I know for sure is that he prefers the sun than the snow. He said he's had it with snow! Hee. For me, I don't mind it at all. I like wearing high boots but dread the thick winter coat. Chris, I don't think you should worry too much with the extra 1.1kg. We have exceeded way more than that and i thnk checking in early has helped us a bit.

Hello Margiel, glad to know that you are recuperating well from the recent extraction. Are you eating solid food now? When I had all 4 removed, on the 5th day, my surgeon told me to eat normal food and to stop my porridge and liquid diet. He said it will help heal the wound faster. Ralph sounds like he has sensitive skin. There was once when Jeff forgot to apply lotion and fell asleep on the beach chair. That was like 30 mins and luckily he didn't get burnt! He doesn't like to look so white he says and I dont know why. Hee.

Hi Deluxe, got your Invite(thank you) and we are now 'Online Buddies'! Went on your site but nothing there yet. Slowly add some photos okay
Good to hear from you again and I am glad things are slowly coming together for you and hubby there. Must be a little frustrating with all the delays yeah. I know exactly how it feels being in Melbourne during summer. I've lived in melb for 4 years. Summertime can be Pppfrt! I got dehydrated many times. Make sure you guys dont get burnt okay. Ha..speaking of going to Orchard road on weekends, the only day Jeff avoided going there is on Sunday cos of the big number of foreign maids and workers there. He said there were just too many of them!
As for the language thing, I am seriously thinking of learning Cantonese. Maybe one of you ladies who speaks it can teach me one word at a time for now?.
and go easy with the chocs ol. It is easter time Lots of choc. bunnies!!!! Scrum

Emilia, you promised to eat for me some Chocolate Cross Buns right!!
Get some from bakers delight k..Hee.

Cuclainne, forgot to ask you, do we need to apply for this Infantcare? And do they teach the kids anything specific? I was just talking to my sis earlier on and she sounds interested when I mentioned to her about this Infantcare. She's been looking for an afternoon 'social building' time for her youngest girl.

Hello to the rest of the ladies too. Hope all of you are winding down from the long week. Seems to me that everyone here is blessed with a loving, caring and sweet hubbby. I am happy for all of us!

Ok, I think I've said enough for tonight. Talk soon everyone. Take very best care
xo

ps: can any of you ladies tell me how do i go about making my words bold? I tried but no luck

Elizabeth, Chrisl, Margiel, de_luxe and maplehue - Thank you all for your very kind words. It's really wonderful having your and the rest of the ladies' support here.
And it is fantastic (sorry!) knowing that most of you are also having trouble with Mandarin!! What a relief!!!

OK...the foods that came to mind:

Foods in Brunei but not in S'pore - Ambuyat (kind of a sticky thing dipped in sour-ish sauce), Tarap (a fruit close to, but is definitely not a cempedak/jackfruit), Hati Buyah (Cow's lungs but done in a specific way), Beef liver rendang, fresh prawns/seafood (we still buy and pre-freeze them for our S'pore friends), not-fried prawn keropok (to-die-for, I promise!) and the IndoMee Goreng?...different packaging, taste and I recently found out that that recipe is just for Brunei. Wierd!

Foods in Brunei which S'pore has, but slightly different - Laksa, nasi lemak, gulung pangang, some chinese dishes.

Foods in S'pore which Brunei does not have - Well,...if I really think about it, I'd probably jam up the server..but I'll list a few - lontong, 'mui fan'? (my god! I almost died when I first saw it! never again!), otak-otak, lor mee.

Oh...the other thing I keep forgetting...I think dried kway teow is called kway teow in S'pore, but the one with gravy is called horfun? we just call them wet or dry kway teow.

Also...when I was living in S'pore, I really did not like shopping..found it too crowded (as could only shop weekends), so Orchard Road I think I only went twice a year.

Have a lovely weekend everyone!!

maplehue: so far, sofi's 'nannies' have been really excellent - there has been a few occasions when she would burst out in tears when we gave even the slightest of indications that we were going to take our leave but most of the time, she ignores us cos she's at play with her friends!

infantcare is different from play group .. infantcare is a whole day affair and even for the one at my work place, there is a long waiting list for placement. there is a standing joke between my colleagues that one has better signed up for infantcare as soon as you intend on getting pregnant - yes, the waiting period is that long. when sofi went there, she was about 3 months old and initially they just let her lie on her back and play with the playgym. then when she learnt to roll/crawl, they would play with her to get her to interact with her environment - they would do things like sing songs with exaggerated finger movements *sofi loves this*, read books etc - they also have an outside play area for the small kids. the older kids get to paint, go to the playground, etc - i didn't know this until i signed sofi's half-yearly development file that she has managed to draw lines .. yes, i saw her work ..

elias is not tanned at all - we have a pool at the current place and initially he didn't want to go .. i thought it was because i was constantly ribbing him about being ogled at by the maids here but it turned out that he didn't want other people to see his scrawny, and worst of all, pale legs!! hahahah ... he gets burnt, not tanned even on days when it seemed like the sun is not out! once, he went up to fort canning with a friend to visit battle box and returned home with a red nose .. he was so self-conscious about it and chided me for letting him walk around orchard road with a red face .. his fault for not using sun block what!

Mrs N: yah, i agree with elizabeth - she's just jealous that you're going away for hols and she still stuck doing appointments! so can you still bend down or see your toes?

So, baby is out! Can't remember when I last wrote, probably a week and a half ago now? This time it was a natural birth, which I'd been praying for all along - hurrah!! I went into labour early hours of last Saturday, and Roisin Elizabeth popped out at 3.11pm. I don't know which was worse, the really unbearable contractions when the midwife broke my waters or the fact that Portsmouth scored against Manchester United an hour before she came out (yes, for those who know me well enough, I had the match commentary on in the delivery suite!) I lost a lot of blood and needed a transfusion, but all seems OK at the moment - even managed to drive for the first time today to the supermarket

Been having the baby blues the past few days - but a friend has just made my day by 'bethrothing' her newborn to Roisin

Cuclainne: Wow, didn't know childcare in Singapore was soooo expensive as well! I went looking at a nursery yesterday, and they were charging £40 for each child/day - do these people think we're all millionaires?! When do you go back to work?

tootsieroll: <font color="ff0000">CONGRATULATIONS</font> on the new addition to your family.

Roisin Elizabeth is such a unique and beautiful name - did she break her brother's birth weight record? How is Joseph, now that he's no longer the only baby around?

i know what you mean - it's the same with me. the first few days at home and i remember thinking what the heck did we get ourselves into .. i mean, sofi was finally capable of doing things by herself like feeding herself, showering instead of using the tub and actually sleeping the night through .. and then bam! we went back to having a baby who seems not to sleep at all during the night, crying when her milk feed is not kept on schedule down to the last micro-second, etc etc etc .. i forgot how much work it is to look after an infant - or maybe i chose to block that memory out .. hahahah ..

yes, infantcare is quite expensive and not all centres provide this service .. plus the nannies at the place i sent sofi to are registered nurses actually so maybe that's why it costs more ?? i'm going back to work on 21 april and i'm sooooo not looking forward to it at all!

Cuclainne,
Roisin was 3.23kg, which is funny since her last scan a month ago put her at 3.4kg! I'm still getting used to how tiny she is compared to Joseph. One week on, and she's certainly starting to fill out, at least the cheeks are
Joseph has been marvellous, and surpassing all our expectations. There has been no jealousy whatsoever - in fact, he has asked to hold his sister a few times now, and looks absolutely angelic when doing so. We've been very blessed!

I wonder sometimes whether it's worth it to go back to work, especially with 2 children in tow, especially when childcare is so expensive. Will you go back full time?

Btw, any photos of Sofi and Elin?
630142.jpg

Good Sunday afternoon ladies,

First of all, Congratulations Tootsiroll! Roisin Elizabeth is indeed a beautiful name.
The picture of your 2 sweethearts is so cute! The big brother snoozing with his little baby sister.
Such a sweet sweet picture. Thank you for sharing with us and well wishes to you and your family.

Hello Mittens, wow, you sure know about food girl! I asked my Mom who is still here with me in Seoul and she said she has tasted almost all of them except for the 'Hati Buyah' and Indomie.As for me, Ive never tasted any of them. The Indomie I had was definitely not from Brunei.I loveeee kway teow! Scrum. Have you and Mika been to Brunei together? Does he like the food there? Esp..the 'Hati Buyah'?? Jeff won't taste anything that looks out of the ordinary. Hee. He can't take too much spices either so when i cook, sometimes i have to make 2 separate dish cos sometimes i do feel like eating something 'hot'!

hello cuclainne, this infantcare sounds like a very good place for toddlers and young groups. I mentioned the waiting list and the fee to my sister and I must admit, she was a little disappointed to hear about the "hassle". The waiting list is soooo long! I wonder whether there are other places like infantcare. Both my sis and I are impressed by the fact that they have qualified people there and not just babysitters. She has a live in maid but still wants to send her youngest girl somewhere. This niece of mine is adorable but she can be quite a tyrant! Her older sis used to be a little afraid of her. I called them Lilo and Stitch before!! Kekeke.
Elias does look fair from your wedding photo compared to Jeff. How did he manage to burn his nose in Singapore? Jeff's been to Fort Canning before but luckily he didn't get burn. I think for Jeff, it has something to do with his lifestyle since at a very young age. He played lots of sports and has always been an outdoor person, i think that s why his skin is already 'seasoned'. One of our closer friends is a Dutch and he has no luck with the sun either. Always getting sunburn! April 21 is still more than a month away..You can still relax right?
Have you thought of becoming a stay home Mom and not get back to work? Having 2 kids is more than a full time job right?!

Mrs.N, hope the flight was a good one. Enjoy Sg!

Hello to everyone else here
AND have a good rest ladies.
x

Maplehue,
Hehe, thanks! Joseph had asked to hold Roisin, and before we knew it, he had fallen asleep, with baby sister in arms.....we couldn't resist taking a photo of course!

So you're in Seoul? One of my brother in laws spent a year in Korea, and will go back there around May for another year. He teaches English I think, not sure which major city though. What's it like living there? How come you ended up there? Is your partner Korean?

Hi Tootsieroll,
I showed the picture to Jeff, my hubby and even he said it was a perfect picture to frame!

Yes, we are in Seoul. My hubby is a Canadian. We married almost 2 years ago in Sg. Had wedding there and also another one in Canada. My hubby works here and that is why I ended up here.
But we are moving to Hong Kong this June! Yehh!! Seoul was okay at first but this place is definitely not for us. The language barrier is a big struggle and unfortunately the culture doesn't suit us at all.
I don't know much about you..
Where is your partner from and will you be staying in Sg for long? The hubby and I will swing by Sg for a couple of days this summer before flying to Canada for a break, then Hong Kong of course.

Night night to all the ladies here too. x

hey hey.... it is definitely a 'moment' with that photograph. it should be blown up and put on the wall. just beautiful! Congratulations tootsieroll and husband!

Margie, Chris made the only thing he knows. vego pasta! hehehehahahahahehhehehahah. but his pasta is good to me, its weird how one can use the same ingredients but when its cooked it tastes different.

Nie, i cant believe 6pc chocolate hot cross buns from Bakers delite cost $6!!! i will buy it tomorrow though.heheh But Cucclaine have actually ate it before me. And she loves it!

oklah talk to u ladies later!

Hello ladies,

Emi, I know.. it is dear isn't it but so yummy scrummy. They are so delicious so enjoy okay. Thanks for eating for moi! Hughugs to you...
And Im glad that Cuclainne loves it too. Yummm, I'm drooling now..hee.
Talk soon everyone. Hugs to the rest too!
Okay going to sleep now. Its Monday tomorrow, more traffic and that means getting out of the house way earlier!

tootsieroll: such a lovely pic of the two siblings together .. i have pictures of sofi and elin sleeping side by side too but i need to get my gimp software installed on this lappie otherwise i can never crop my pictures down to size to post on this forum.. sigh ..

maplehue: sofi is approaching her terrible-two stage and i just can't deal with her sometimes .. esp. when she sees that i'm busy with elin and then she does things like climb the chairs, etc to get my attention. we'll have to see how well i cope going back to work with 2 young kids .. when i had sofi, elias said i could give it a go for a month and see how things go and i've lasted this while without quitting .. this might seem weird, but working gives me a break from the kids .. plus i get money for it ..

i don't know - elias is not one for sports .. his family members don't get tanned, they burn too .. but luckily none of the kids got this - we've brought sofi out once to see this swedish ship that sailed to sg, and even though she wasn't in the shade, she was perfectly ok though i can't say the same for elias ..

ej: what hot cross buns - i'm sure if it was delicious, i would have remembered it .. hahahaha .. you mistook me for someone else, is it?

oh got mixed up, i mean corrine-de_luxe... sheesh... am so tired last nite, yet i still want to write in this thread! hehehe

tootsieroll congrats!! the photo is so sweet and Joseph has certainly grown! His looks seem to have changed to become more ang moh looking...

btw, why did the midwife have to break your waters? I tot this happens naturally?

cuclainne the "to work or to stay home" is always such a dilemma isn't it? It's a pity that job sharing / permanent part time work is rare in sg.

yeap it's me who was raving abt baker delight's chocolate hot cross buns... tried the normal ones from philippa's but i didn't like them... oh dear, are they considered expensive? I didn't know... still find it difficult to know what is a good deal. Usually if i want to buy something i need to go to several shops to compare the prices but it's tiring and sometimes such a chore and i can't be bothered!

maplehuecan't your younger niece go to a playgroup instead of infantcare? I reckon that it might be cheaper?

mittens i didn't know that brunei has food different from sg and m'sia.. tot the cuisines would be similar...

looking forward to the long easter weekend... we're thinking of taking a tour somewhere in victoria

Hey Tootsieroll! - Congratulations! And you have such adorable kids!!!

Hi Maplehue - Yup....I sure love food! Yes, Mika and I actually met in Brunei when we worked together, so he is used to Asian cuisine (he actually prefers them to Western food now - When I ask noodles or pasta?, he always say noodles). Mika will just about try anything once except for innards. Luckily he has no problems with spices.

Hi de_luxe - Hehe...yes, the foods are very similar, but different enough to make me miss the food from home still.

Hope everyone's having a brilliant start to the week!

Good afternoon ladies, hope everyone is well

Cuclainne, i hope Sofi will overcome her needyness soon..but then again it must be a little difficult to "expect" her to grow up too quickly. press on girlie! my elder niece was like that too initially and her way to get my sis's attention was by burying her face on the pillow and just cried and cried. she was just one year old so it was hard to expect her to understand. working is definitely another way to get some space and if you feel right about it, go for it. depending on the need, you can always quit later. but the dilemma must be hard to make right? i think most asian skin is tougher than the whites. but this is just my opinion. i hope your darling girls can tolerate sun than having sensitive skin. it can be a hassle if it is. what about you? do you have sensitive skin?

emi, you were sleepy weren't you? ha. but i know what you mean, how busy i am, i still want to make time to write to you ladies.
so have you had the buns? jealous jealous!

hi deluxe, glad to know that you also like chocolate cross buns. $6 for 6 is considered very dear but its worth it! my niece joined the playgroup before but i am not sure why my sis said that it doesnt really do good for her. Infantcare is definitely out of the picture now knowing from Cuclainne that there is a long waiting list. Cuclainne, you must be one of the lucky ones!!

Hello Mittens, you are so lucky that Mika loves Asian food. I loveee noodles and loveee soup/dry noodles any kind of noodles but jeff doesn't like noodles at all. He had ONE bad experience in china and had food poisoning after eating a bowl of noodles and since then, swear never to eat noodles ever again! Haishh.

Hello to the rest of the ladies here too
Time to make some dinner. tata for now...
x

hehehe.
Nie. i have not gone to the shops to get the buns. Its too hot. 40degrees, have to be indoors! been online and cleaning up the apartment the whole day. clearing all the garbage the husband and me left around since 2 weeks ago.
I finally handwashed some of the delicate clothes we had on during the wedding.

I spend the evening boiling eggs, soaking lada kering(dried chilli) and then blending it and then tumis-ing it. home-cooked sambal is hard work. heheh

we had chicken noodle soup last nite, chris' favourite. we have that like 2-3 times a week. I love making them too and changed the ingredients here and there like dif noodles and dif veg... but our favourite in the soup is chinese cabbage and flat vietnamese noodles. its such an easy recipe.. just plonked everything in teh pot and leave to boil!

oklah talk later..heheh about to eat my boiled egg sambal and cucumber. Thank you to chris for cooking rice. i am too lazy to do anything already. What a day for the Melbourne housewife! hehehahha

off to work again tomorrow.8am! *lazy*

Good evening ladies,
Emi, speaking of "similarities"...i also just had some sambal! I loveee hard boiled sambal but tonight i cooked tiger prawn sambal. Of course had to cook for jeff some japanese curry first cos he can't take spicy food. Anyway, now my tummy is so tight. I ate a bit much la..rice and sambal and kicap manis(sweet soy sauce) is so yummy scrummy! Your vietnamese noodles soup sounds good. Can share the recipe with me? Hee. Cuclainne can Elias eat sambal? What about the rest of our ang moh/born outside Asia hubbies here? Not only Jeff can't eat sambal, he can't smell it either! Hai... He'll get choked everytime I am tumis-ing it.

Better don't miss the choc cross buns Emi and Deluxe, they will stop making it as soon as easter is over!

Ok ladies, good night now. Emi..don't work too hard being a Melbourne housewife okay! Hee.

xo

Thanks for all the kind words from everyone!

deluxe: no, my waters didn't break naturally (both children), dunno why they didn't. The midwife said she's delivered babies who've come out in their waterbag before!

Nice hearing about these husbands getting used to Asian cooking - my DH likes Chinese food, but cannot tahan a single bit of chilli......his loss!

maplehue what does your sister plan for your younger niece then since infantcare and playgroups are not possible?

Hmm... maybe you can trick your HB with crispy noodles... :p

Wow... you and emi so hardworking... making the sambal and all.. unfortunately my asian cooking isn't too fantastic - usually find that using a store bought sauce is more likely to ensure that we get dinner! I find western food easier to cook and usually less troublesome.

My HB eats almost everything, including spicy food but he doesn't fancy soups (including noodle soup), dim sum and porridge. Also find that he tends to prefer strong flavours. Most of the time if something tastes too mild, he doesn't like it and ends up adding salt, pepper, tabasco or ketchup.

Good afternoon ladies,
Hope everyone is good and well

Yes...it is indeed nice to hear about the hubbies getting used to Asian cooking. Tootsiroll, i told my hubby the same thing about chilli..it's his loss!

Deluxe, I don't know what my sis will do now. I know the main purpose to send her youngest girl somewhere is to help her build some team spirit. She is a loner and quite a tyrant. Her elder sis is now learning ballet and when my sis asked her what she would like to do..she said tae kwan do or karate! She is very cute but can be a little scary for a "midget" you know. Hee
AND she is also very protective of her elder sister. Her name is Idi, she is the one i called Stitch and she hates it, she wants to be Lilo!

I loveee sambal, just so happen both me and Emi wanted it yesterday. It is not that difficult to make sambal. You just need dry chilli, a blender and sometime to "tumis" it in the pan. But i agree with you, western food is easier to cook. Since jeff prefers western food, it is also easier for me. but i think italian can be a hassle cos i dont like to use ready made sauce from the supermarket. so making any pasta sauce to me is like making sambal from scratch. and oh..ive tried tricking the hubby with crispy noodles when we were in sg, he stopped eating after his 2nd bite! hehehe.

emi, are you still staying indoor? have you been to bakers delight yet?

and cuclainne and tootsiroll, hope the eldest are not too needy these days and i hope you gals are not too tired. take care k.

mittens, are you and mika traveling to sg soon and can you find dry chilli in moscow?? i don't think emi can survive there without chillis!

So far a few of of our hubbies dont like soupy stuff yeah. Dont know why. Jeff loves ketchup so much. he can finish 1 big heinz ketchup bottle in one month!

How are the rest of the ladies here? Hope everyone is having a good day so far!

Maplehue, I read what you wrote on yr sis's little gal. Just want to quickly say something before I go for my internship. Probably the little gal has a lot of energy. That explains what being describe as "Tyrant" But I don't think so. Try not to label her. I mean not try not to put it in a negative way but use what she is in a positive manner. It is not good for her to know that she is a tyrant. Karate or takawdo might help her to release the energy and also to learn self control and leadership. Since she suggested it herself, good to let her have a go. My sis did it when she was in the uni and it helps her to have a stronger body. Hope this helps. Perhaps u can fill me in with more details and I can see what it will help. I use to have a lot of energy too, lots of it and need to do sports to let it out. But there is always a reason why she is like that.

I will be back again tomor as I have been busy!

Hi to all ladies, take care n keep well! Cheers!

Hello Elizabeth,
Thank you for your note and yes I agree..she has a lot of energy. My sis and her hubby are watching her closely. She is slowly getting better now. From the family's observation, it started when she was younger. Her eldest sis loves her so much and used to willingly give in to her younger sister all the time. Now when she is older and when her elder sis starts saying no to her, she'll get mad. She doesn't know she is a 'tyrant' and the "label" started when me and my sis were joking and chatting. My mom took Child Psychology before and both sis and i have been careful.
Hee. She is taking karate now and very proud of her white uniform..

Hello to the rest of you gals. Packing now to leave. what a long day today!