Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

georginat

mrs. N, toa payoh really have lots of stuff to buy right? haha!! yes, i am heading home this sat afternoon...i crave or french fries and nonya dumpling now !!Ate a big pack of french fries just now, felt gulity..well.i know bad for the baby but couldnt resist !!

nisa, i will be in sg 2 or 3 mths after birth, once the doc says baby can fly , will being him back to oz..of course still have to make passport, obtain visa etc....

mrs_n

Gina yah Toa Payoh Ctrl usually have good bargains. Hee! Hee! That's why my parents still like to stay there. Very convenient to get stuff.

You heading home this Saturday and I'm leaving early Sunday (but got to be in airport on Sat before midnight). Who knows our paths might cross in Changi!!!
Is Julio coming back with you?

Maple hope you get better soon!

maplehue

Hello ladies, hope everyone is well.

Thank you Mrs.N! I am still under the weather and both Jeff and I are still sniffling with headache and all. Hope you are well too!
xo

liz4jeroen

Hi Maple, Hope u n jeef get well soon. I'm having a headache now. Hopefully it'll be ok before I go to school.

Hi Mrs N, Enjoy yr last day in sg. Shop till u drop! : )

Emilie Jo,
congrats on yr 1st anniversary!

Hi Tootsieroll, Yr little angles are so cute n adorable!

Hi Cul, saw yr angels on the multiply. She has grown so big!

HI Mittens, Hope u are enjoying yr trip to sg.

Hi hi to the rest!

I have been busy with study, internship n internet biz. Rushing orders during my free day. I have a positive evaluation from my counsellor over my first time leading the group in the warm-up (though I have problem with the lang kekeke)and half way into my internship. Hopefully I will improve in the lang. Will be more challenages ahead! Geeezzzz one and thousand of things to do. After April, at least, the school comes to an end. I will have my Friday free! : )

Take care ladies!

margiel

Hello all How's everyone doing? Have been pretty busy catching up with house stuffs again after coming back from Sg. I'm starting a part time job this coming Mon
Am excited in a way but that oso mean no more late morning sleep! ;)
Mrs N how's the weather in Sg? Still rainy? have you been sweeping away Tao Payoh's kiddies clothings hehehehhee..... Hopefully u and Gina could cross path at the airport huh
When i left Sg that evening at 8.15pm, one of my close friend just touched down from Germany at 8pm.... Been a couple of years since we last met and still couldnt get to meet up tho. But who knows prob our planes might have 'parked' next to each other ;-)
Hi cuclainne How's things back to work? Does Sofi get used to her playgroup class aagin? Your pictures of your 2 darlings are so adorable, pinchaaable man!! hehehe... Yea 'mummy' also adorable lah *kekeke*
Maple Hope u and Jeff get well soon
Shoo shoo away the headache too!
Hi Elizaberth,u really have been busy with so much going on at a go
Have fun with your internship! And also shoooo shoo away your headache ;)
Hey Chrisl! How have you been back in Norway? Back to your classroom oredi? Take Care girl

Hello Gina, does Luke kicks you often? Will he 'pause' his movements when u talk to him? Heheeee when my sis was pregnant with my niece, she will stop moving and kicking whenever I talk to her, interesting tho ;p So are you packing lots of BB clothings when gg back to Sg? Or Sg side has also gone on shopping spree for Baby Luke? Okie you have a good flight back to Sg!
Oh Mittin, this is the 1st time I heard about Kitty on board, your cat is indeed blessful to have u guys as his/her owner. So is he/she a Sg born cat? Think if im the airport staff, I will also shift my attention on the cat instead of the papers. Paper stuffs are Boring heeee....
Ah yes my Dear Emi, what a sumptious Russian breakfast! Yum! And Happie 1st Anniversary to you and Chris, May both of u stay as sweet and loving as ever

eminozy

Thanks everyone for the congratulataries. I am so busy nowadays. was working non stop for 2 weeks except for that day I cabut from work for my anniversary! hehehehe. It was great . more details on multiply! I was also busy preparing and getting organised for my dad who came here this morning for the next 5 days! THANK GOD! i cant cope with more than that! hehhehehe Notty child!

Hi Nissa... thanks for the help with the soap.its handsoap rite? I dont mind anything lah.. maybe get red or green. 2 is ok.... if its ex.. no need also. I cant remember where i got them but it was in a huge supermarket, like a carrefour but swedish version!

Mrs N and Mittens .. hope you guys doing well in Singapore.
Nie... i NEED to go to gym soon if not my money burn for nothing. I plan to bring my dad along! hehehehahahha

ps: all who are sick, take care of yourself!
have a great week ahead girls!

de_luxe

helloooo all!

i've been quietly reading your posts in the past weeks.. somehow felt too lazy to post anything

Mrs N Glad to hear you enjoyed your SG trip.. hope your way back has been smooth and didn't feature more episodes with Dubai airport..

mittens I've never heard about or seen cats on flights before... do you have to pay for a full-price ticket to get a cat on the flight? Wonder if dogs are allowed to travel like this too?

maplehue hope u get well soon!

Yeah, dogs (and their poo) are everywhere in france. As far as i'm aware almost all restaurants allow dogs. Only some hotels have restrictions on having pets in the rooms - mostly cuz they are concerned abt the smell and potential pee on carpets. When i was working in restaurants there, sometimes when guests come in with their dogs, we're expected to bring a dish of water for it too.

gina i dinno that newborns need a passport and visa too! I tot for passport, all children only need to have a photo affixed in one of their parents' passports? Will Luke be eligble for Spanish citizenship as well?

cuclainne did your IL manage to get through being on the same flight? They're really brave to eat the durians... my HB can't even stand the smell of durian puff on my breath! Found out when i was waiting for him at the airport once and couldn't resist Polar's durian puffs!

Hmmm... hearing you gals talking abt Asian desserts make me feel like having some "tong shui" too... but no incentive to make any myself cuz HB doesn't like it and i can't finish a pot by myself...

chrisl is your back better now? maybe going to a chiro would help? It's best to get back pains sorted out. I had awful pains in my leg that turned out to be caused by a slipped disc. Tried physio but it din help and in the end acupuncture got rid of the pain till now. Sometimes I feel a strain on my back if i push myself too much so i'm more careful these days not to do anything that might cause the pain to return. Sometimes even vaccumming the floor gives me a pain. I also avoid high impact exercises (even jogging has an impact on the back), and stopped roller blading cuz I'm afraid that a nasty fall may hurt my back.

There're plenty of asian shops in melbourne selling sauces but since i have time now, i prefer not to use store bought sauces when i can cuz most of them are really high in salt and contain MSG.

BTW, i've discovered a great website for S'porean / Malaysian recipes: www.rasamalaysia.com. I've tried the kung pao chix and modified the black pepper crab into black pepper chix and both have turned out really well, although a tad too spicy for HB. Trying out the ma po tofu recipe tmrw - i think we're gonna end up with tongues on fire!

Seems like we'll be moving back to SG late June as HB has a job offer there now. HB was asking me over the wkend abt the moving arrangements with movers and so forth... dunno why but i really wasn't in the frame of mind to deal with it. Just the thought of getting quotations, cancelling contracts, packing, etc... makes me feel blah... i guess i should be glad to go back, but i dunno why the thought of moving back doesn't quite appeal, even though sometimes the slow pace of services here is so fustrating

mrs_n

Hi girls am back in the UK now!
It was 4°C when we landed at Heathrow and dropped to 1°C when we headed up North. Came home to a village and garden all covered in snow! We stopped at a motorway cafe on the way home and everybody was in thick jackets and scarfs. Must have thought I was some daft person to be wandering around in this weather in just slippers and a light fleece jacket.
Oh no incidents in Dubai airport on the way back. Thank goodness for that! We have both come down with colds unfortunately. Must have caught a bug on the plane.

Margie hope you are enjoying your new job.
De-luxe you're going back to S'pore? I thought you just unpacked!!!
Oh well! Can't be helped if your hubby takes up the job offer. Hmmmm maybe you've got used to a more relaxed pace of life? Will you go back to your old job?

de_luxe

oh dear mrs n Do wrap up and stay warm. Hope you get well soon - drink lots of honey lemon and have enough rest. Isn't 1-4deg unusually cold for spring??

Yeah maybe i dun feel too happy abt moving back cuz we've just settled in here and it does feel somewhat like starting the whole process all over again, although i guess it will be less 'ma fan' in SG.

Haven't really thought abt the job search in SG yet. Not really sure what i want / can do. I guess i could easily get my old job back but I'm not sure if I want to cuz the long hours and stress really burnt me out by the time I left. There's also a new guy in charge now. He joined just before I left and I felt that he's someone I couldn't work with - he's always talking down to pple, very long winded and has this rather pompous attitude. On top of that, the guy whom i can work with has recently left amid a whole bunch of other changes!

tootsieroll

Just survived a weekend of the in-laws descending upon us for Roisin's baptism. It was all a bit chaotic, because DH's grandma had been diagnosed with cancer just a few days back, so we didn't know if she would be attending the baptism or not. She managed to in the end, which was really nice, but all a bit emotional because at one end you have the celebration of the birth of a baby, and at the other end you know that someone is coming to the end of their life. Anyway, today is Roisin's 'Man Yue'.... I don't know where the month has gone!

Deluxe - eek, sounds like a nightmare with the new guy....hope things settle down at work!

cuclainne - can i ask if you've applied for the baby bonus? Does it make a difference if your hubby is a foreigner?

gina - wow, 91 pieces of clothing???!!!! How many pieces of luggage do you have?

Mrs N - welcome back to the temperamental UK climate....my bro-in-law was having fun throwing snowballs at our car on Sunday. Hope your cold clears up.

*wave* to everyone else!

maplehue

Good evening ladies,
Thank you for the kind words and well wishes. Jeff and I are better now. I guess Jeff is stronger and was up and about only after a few days but I have been staying at home a lot and only going back to work tomorrow. The cold and feringitis have subsided and I should be okay enough I guess. Fingers crossed.

Elizabeth, hope your headache is not a serious one. Hope it is not migraine. No fun. You sound so busy with studies, internship and internet biz as well! If it is related to online shopping, do let me know ok. Since I arrived in Korea, I've been shopping online.
Do take care.

Hi Margiel, how's the part-time job going? Hope everything is good for you. I know what you mean about no more late morning sleep. Ahh..so good to sleep in. In between, I've "Invited" you on the Multiply. Did you get my invitation? I am still trying to get used to it.

Emi, I hope you didn't pay too much for the gym time. Did you take your dad along to the gym? Hee. Since I've been sick, I have stopped riding my stationary bike at home. My body is actually still aching. What I feel like doing for exercise now is to plunge into a warm swimming pool and do a very slow lap of free style. The swimming pool at work is not warm enough.

Hello Deluxe, it's been quite a while since I've heard from you. Thank you for the recipe website!
Can't wait to print them and compile them in my clear file. Just fYi, there is a good Asian shop on glenhuntly road I used to go. As far as i can remember, they have almost everything(including durians in their fridge!). I didn't know you've worked in a restaurant in france before. Your french must be very good. Yes, I've seen the water dish too for the dogs. I still feel uneasy having dogs in the restaurants cos of the flying fur. Congratulations on your hubby's job offer but I am sorry you have to go through all the packing and moving again. Must be a little frustrating and tiring for sure. I have 9 more weeks in Seoul and I am also dreading the packing and moving. Scary. I can sense stress coming towards my direction! Hang in there ok.

Welcome back Mrs.N! Glad to know that you are safely at home now. Take care of that cold and stay home till you get better.

Where are you Mitten?

Cuclainne, loved the recent pictures you posted on Multiply. You are blessed with two sweet darlings!

And hello and wave to everyone else
Talk to you ladies again soon. xo

mittens

Hi Everyone!

Sorry for not being on for a while...I'm now in S'pore and have been sort of babysitting my nephews - brother is in-between maids and he has to be on biz trip, so I have to help do the Daddy duties. 2 kids with different school timings, etc. I am so, so exhausted!!! Just don't have the energy to run after 2 boys.

Mrs N - Hahaha....well...there is a photo box in the passport, so I have her photo on it.
Yes, thanks for asking - I had a great time with parents.

Maplehue - Yes....kitty is in Moscow - I could not take her back here cos of the 1 month quarantine here. I brought back 40kgs from Brunei! Mainly fresh seafood!

Elizabeth - Miss chatting with you online!

Margiel - Yes, i adopted my cat in S'pore. The vet guessed she was about a year old then and I've now had her for 7 years. She looked quite bad and had fungus infection on her ears when I got her.

De-Luxe - The charges are by per kilo (does not matter whether the cat is in economy or biz class), so it depends on the destination. Dogs are also allowed on board (depending on size/weight). I think most airlines (if they allow animals) state 8kg including the carrier and must be able to fit under the seat in front. And I think it's maximum 2 animals per plane.

Sorry that I'm going on and on about my cat...but what to do...no kids.

Here are 2 pics of her:
645275.jpg

645276.jpg

de_luxe

hee hee tootsie roll i've left the company already and glad i did so!! Glad you survived the invasion of the in-laws... Wow... Roisin's already a month old... time flies.. are u on 9 mths maternity leave as well this time? Was reading the local papers recently and it seems that Oz doesn't have paid maternity leave - i'm surprised and i tot SG was bad!!

Maplehue Glad to hear you r slowly getting better.. what's feringitis?

Good to hear that I'm not the only one collecting recipes.... i haven't figured out how to organise them tho... The Ma Po Tofu turned out well, a little too salty for my taste and i couldn't be bothered to buy any Sze Chuan pepper so didn't get the numbing feel even tho it was already rather spicy.

I've not been to glenhuntly rd before. Sometimes go to the big Asian shops in the city but usually for convenience's sake i'll go to the 2 near to prahran market.

I studied hotel management in france for 3 yrs and our course includes 3 internships plus practical in the school's hotel, hence the "working" bit. My french is OK, enough to get by on a day to day basis but not good enough for business communications cuz my grammar sucks. And since i tried learning german abt 4 yrs ago, it's been messing up my french and sometimes i use both languages in one sentence by mistake! The other day I heard "Wo bist du?" (Where are you?) on the telly and understood it but strangely couldn't figure out whether it's french or german. My HB was laughing at me the whole evening bcuz of that!

have u started getting quotes from the movers, and tying up loose ends yet? Will u be working up till the move?

Ooohh... Mittens... your cat's adorable and looks pampered.. hahaha

Good to hear that you've enjoyed yourself in Brunei.. makan more before u leave SG!

Well, baby sitting ur nephews will be future training for when u have kids... i think it's easier to run after pets than kids!! I can hardly keep up with my younger cousins.

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Mittens. your cat is sooo cute. He/She is a persian isn't she? My cat was a persian too. Long white hair and quite "ugly looking in a very cute way"! You know the breed with flat nose. Your cat looked like a traveller too! Ha. She must be very spoiled. Why do i keep addressing it as a 'she'? I didn't know you were going back to Sg after Brunei. 40 kg of fresh food?!! You are definitely stocking up up your Asian corner at home aren't you? Hang in there with the nephews ok.
When will you go back to Moscow? Im sure Mika misses you...

Hi Deluxe, yes I am getting better. 2 more days of medicine and that's it. It was hard at work yesterday. My throat was hurting so much and everytime I take my meds, I feel drowsy! Faringitis is inflammation of the throat.

I used to go to Prahran market too to buy fresh meat and vegetables. I've never tried buying Asian things near there. The one on glenhuntly road is run by a Chinese couple from Hong Kong. But if you can go to somewhere more convenient, then it is better.

You made me laugh about the French and German thingy. Ha!
It must be confusing sometimes for the brain to register what you hear. Afterall, we as Singaporeans know at least 2 languages. It must be interesting as well as challenging to study/work in France yeah? I had 2 choices to go for my post graduate studies, one was in melbourne and one was in montreal. Eventhough i've lived in montreal before but i was still scared to plunge! you were brave! Till now, I still have problem pronouncing some of the words.

Is your hubby a german or an australian?

Jeff is going to call the mover soon. We have already started selling some of our furniture and I am dreading the packing part. Eeee. 9 more weeks to go!! I have a lot of books too and this I know will cost us. And unfortunately, I will be working till the move. Can you imagine? Last day of work is Saturday and we are leaving on Sunday!!

Hi Margiel, we are now each other's contact on Multiply! Thanks
Deluxe and Mittens, are you girls on Multiply too? If yes, it'll be great to share pics.

Ok ladies, have a great evening and we'll talk again soon. xo

liz4jeroen

Wah Deluxe, I can imagine the unpacking n packing again! All the best in your packing.

Mrs N, u r back. Hope u n Paul get well soon! When must I let u know whether we are coming up to yr place n the airshow? Hopefully there is still tickets.

Mittens, ja we chat again when u r back!

Maplehue,
thks for your concern. I'm ok liao. Probably not enough sleep or either sinus or period coming. My internet biz is making wedding ring pillows, corsages and care decorations. When there is orders, they come at the same time, when there is none, it is so quiet.

Ja Margiel, Been insanely busy! I still have a few things not done yet for my internship. Have to get organized! Been late on the planning and have to start thinking which client I would like to focus on. Can be pretty stressful when I think abt it. But juz have to take one step at a time.

mrs_n

de-luxe it has been unusually cold for spring. Just when I thought I could put my winter jackets away. We turned all the heating off before we left thinking that we won't need any heat when we come back. Thank goodness BIL turned them on for us day before we arrived otherwise we would have frozen!

Yah can understand why its not appealing to you to have your old job back. Hey maybe you need to change line or something. My cousin worked in the hotel line too but quit after several years and is now a childcare teacher. She seemed much happier in her new career.

Tootsieroll congrats on Roisin's one month. She must be getting bigger day by day. Well, your hubby's grandma certainly has led a full life and the fact that she got to see her great grandchildren is a real blessing. Not many get such an opportunity.

Mittens so your cat is a Singapore-born EU citizen!
Well she's certainly a fine looking cat. I'm just following Maple's cue that it is a 'she'.

Liz we won't be going anywhere so just let me know whenever you're ready to come. I think the airshow is in early July. Have to check.

Yah hopefully the cold will go away soon. We haven't even had the chance to go over and see my BIL's family yet. Too afraid of passing on the flu to the kids.

maplehue: elias would like for sofi to be interested in music cos he has regrets not following in his dad's musical talent - father is a jazz musician in his spare time.

gina, remember to drop me an sms when you deliver .. elin has a sg passport already .. quite fast, i dropped the application in the deposit box at ica building last friday and it was ready yesterday.

elizabeth, yes the kids grow up so quickly .. you are one busy lady, do you ever have time to relax and put your feet up?

margiel, i'm not back to work yet - another 1.5 weeks to go .. boo hoo, why is my 'vacation' coming to an end? i went to the office last mon and they asked me if i would like to start work asap cos the temp girl wants to take another job .. i'm not ready yet! hahahah .. sofi has been going to infantcare for a few weeks now - was just told that elin can't start on the same day as i go back to work as there are several cases of HFMD and chicken pox in the other classes and they don't want to take the risk so all the newly enrolled kids will have to start at a later date. lucky for me that my mom is ok with babysitting her during the day.

ej: yes it's handsoap - elias said it's a standard handsoap that he used when he was a child .. he couldn't believe that it's still being sold. i think i know which supermarket you're talking about because there is only one big supermarket in the city.

de_luxe, they got through it fine, i suppose but it was just awkward at the dinner the night before they left. we were supposed to go out with his mom for dinner but decided to go out with his dad instead cos we couldn't reach her. when she found out, she called my fil and complained that she felt disappointed to be 'passed over' so we could go out with him and his family instead. aiyoh .. after several phone calls back and forth, she called me and said that she can't see why she cannot join us for dinner .. ok, so i booked a table for 9 and even though we all survived through dinner, it was just awkward cos it was almost like my mil and step-mil were 'fighting' for my attention and i was caught in the middle .. even elias mentioned that he's going to suggest that they don't come at the same time when they decided to come again.

you're coming back to sg? have you even unpacked all from your move yet? i hate moving .. all that packing and unpacking, deciding what to keep and not .. argh! good luck!

tootsieroll, is your daughter one month old already? that is very quick!! they do grow up so quickly .. yes, i've applied for baby bonus - as long as mom is sg citizen and so is baby, then you're eligible but i'm not sure if you can claim it as you're living overseas. might have to check the website. with the 2nd child, you also get this child development account (cda) which you can use for infant/child care fees, education, etc .. if you put $100 in this account, the govt will match it up to a cap of $6K. the cda can be used for all the kids in the family so i'm using it for both girls.

eminozy

hhehheaha. OMG MITTENS!! i can bite your little kitty. so gerammmm. the 2nd picture is taken in russia? i love the floor tiling... so exotic!

aiyah.. if only Chris is a cat obsessed person! I have been asking to have a cat and most people see that as being CLUCKY( wanting children). Aiyah.....salah signal! :p

Anyways, thanks Nissa. I cant believe teh handsoap have been around for so long, the shape is so modern and ergonomic.. Cool! thanks for helping. heheh. Am glad your family episode is over...mine is ending in 2 days. My dad have been here for 4 days and its beginning to eeek me-my own blood! hehehehaahhaha

Corrine/ margie... ready for makan on the 19th? hehehe. eh .. i cant believe u are going away soon. June is not that far.. so much for all the hassle...its quite unfortunate, ya? such as life as we chose to live this way. We have nothing to loose anyways, ya? Yeah, theres no maternity leave but there are some other privilege which i am not sure what they are called. I think its parents and child support money.

Nie, its good u are getting better. i ate something bad again yesterday and i had to vomit and went to the toilet like 4 times today. I think its the oily takeaway fish and chips we yesterday.blerrghhh.

Seems a lot of people are packing up their stuffs. I cringe thinking of having to do the same by end of the year too... coz we bought so many nice new stuffs and then its gna just go and leave us. quite sad somehow. heheheh

Elizabeth... whats ur website? can i have a look?

hey Mrs N, how does your tummy look like nowadays?

oklah talk to u girls later.

liz4jeroen

Hi Ladies, I have not been feeling very well, looks like coming down with a flu, trying to fight it with chinese herbs n echineca. A friend joked is it that I'm expecting coz I feel cold. Hahahaha.... no lah!

O my website is www.everyoneweb.com/agapebridal

It is in Dutch and not all items are up yet. Hubby too busy to put all up. I put in the website here similar to Yahoo. If you want to look at the whole collection, you can click on the lick on the other websites to see my whole collection. You can choose the one on marktnet. You are welcome to write in my guestbook which is gastenboek in Dutch. Have fun!

I have school today and tomorrow! Busy busy busy...buzzzzzzzzzzz

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Elizabeth, get well soon. Maybe you need to slow down a bit and rest. Ring pillows, corsages etc...such a brilliant online business! I've looked at your website(thanks for sharing with us) and i like your pillows. They are all very sweet.
Who made them? Ok girl, Get well and drink lots of warm water..and don't worry about the spelling error la.

Mrs.N, you must also get well soon. How come we all are falling sick? First it was me, then Eli, then you..and then emi with her vomitting. Don't tell me we can spread our germs thru the computer screen. Hee. Wear warmly when going out to work ok.

Hi Cuclainne, I was just talking to Jeff about Elias hoping to get Sofi interested in music. We both agree that since her granddad has the music talent in his blood, it is possible that it runs in the family. Hee.
So go for it! I used to love jazz a lot but has stopped listening to it cos Jeff cannot stand jazz. SO did you guys get the drum set for Sofi?

Emi, what did you eat this time huh? Greasy fish and chips? Are you feeling any better? Maybe it is not the grease. Toilet visits and vomitting? SOunds like food poisoning too. Maybe the fish is not cooked properly or something. when i was living in Melbourne, channel 9 did this documentary about fish with very high mercury. That stopped me from eating fish for a month. I got so paranoid. Poor you! You cannot get sick cos your dad is there you know...Take care!
And try not to be too sad about packing and moving la. Deluxe and I are doing the same thing soon. It is annoying at times but like what you mentioned before, this is the type of life we choose. We are adventurous people
Can't you take some of the things with you? Jeff and I have sold quite a few things already. The only thing which is not sold is our dining table + 2 rattan chairs. The rest including our car were sold last week. Luckily the new owner is still in the States. We still get to drive it till the last day in Korea. Quite sad too.

Ok ladies, talk soon and GET WELL SOON everyone! hugs..xo

tootsieroll

cuclainne: Wow, all this family politics - are Elias' parents on non-speaking terms or something? I've got my pack through for Roisin's citizenship application - so tedious, with all the form filling! Ah, I didn't know that we couldn't get the baby bonus if we're overseas....going to read the website again.

Mrs N: Yes, the children have been fortunate to still have most of their great grandparents still around, at least on the paternal side. Roisin is getting very heavy, and already reaching the tips of 0-3mth clothing. I think it's due to glugging lots of mummy hindmilk

Liz: Nice items on sale....too bad I'm already married hahaha. I never had a wedding pillow - DH's brother just fished the rings out of his pocket!

Emilia: Where has your dad travelled from? More family politics for you?

Mittens: I'm not a cat lover, but your cat seems very well taken care of! She also looks like she's contemplating something

emi: no problems - how do i get them to you, if i do get my hands on it?

maplehue: elias' dad can think of a tune and start playing away on his piano .. once, he composed something using the computer that elias had just set up for him in the basement of his home and started dancing with his wife while me and elias looked on .. hahahahah - i thought it was sweet but elias looked like he was about to collapse from embarrassment.

nope, no drum set here though sofi has been quite imaginative by using her 'pot' to bang on .. today i told her to collect her plastic alphabets and she did such a good job that i couldn't find them afterwards .. turned out that she had hidden them in a compartment on her bike. hmm ..

tootsieroll, elias' mom and dad do get along fine - i mean, whenever elias is in town on his own, they would go out and eat together with elias' brother as well. but i don't think that their SOs have been formally introduced to each other - when we met my step-fil by chance at newton while out with my fil, he was introducing himself to my fil's family and saying oh, you must be so-and-so .. and my fil's children are already 19 and 17 years old.

hahahaha - here i was thinking the same thing but you must have had more papers to complete .. did joseph get the baby bonus? if he did, then roisin should have no problem. when i was signing elin up for the baby bonus, the staff told me that i might not be eligible (i don't know on what grounds) but i mentioned that sofi got hers so elin should be entitled too!

hey ladies, I love to read everyone's posts but this forum is going so fast I have problems keeping up.

Can I ask those of you who're in Germany if u know of any lobang to get cheap flights to Singapore?

liz4jeroen

Oh oh oh! My stomach is not good today. Have been like that the past few days! Will skip supervision in school today and rest at home. And the laptop caught a virus!
Stupid me lah! Go and click some website, thinking it is safe! Jeroen is trying to solve the problem. So handicapped! Can't do anything with the laptop even though there is Jeroen's computer. SIGH!!!! Well... well... well...

Maplehue, thks for the compliment. I made them myself except the small little roses. Got them from Hongkong (when a friend used to stay there to buy for me and send them over). The rest are made by me. The idea came from my mother-in-law. Thks also for the concern.
I have been sleeping early, taking easy. Maybe I drank too much cleansing stuff, boiled ginger in the water yesterday, my stomach has so much gas. Today drink prune juice and green tea. End up I have been going to the toilet. Hahahaha.....

Tootsieroll, thks for the compliment too. Hahaha... as long as yr DH's bro didn't lose the rings! I lost my self-made ringpillow for my wedding. it just went MIA after the mass. No one knows until today what happened to it and where it has gone to! Boo hoo hoo!

Fruitchick, I am trying to figure out how to get to Germany myself in August for a workshop. The thing is I can't even speak German. Hahaha...Anyone staying in Munich/München?

Cuclainne, Ikea sells little bongo for kids. I bought one for myself in singapore and used them for my lessons. Hahaha... They have very nice sets of musical instrument for kids.

mrs_n

Oh dear Liz better take care of yourself. Don't work too hard. I've still got a cold. Seem like something is stuck in my throat. It's not painful just uncomfortable. Been trying to cough it out but ended up throwing up whatever I eat or drink. Maybe I coughed too hard!

You can try looking on the Overseassingaporean forum or the sgwomenabroad forum as there are quite a few singaporeans staying in Munich. The link I sent to Fruitchik is started by a singaporean lady living in Munich.

Tootsieroll looks like you're going to develop very strong muscles soon. Wow sounds Roisin is growing very quickly.

Maple looks like you're pretty much on the road to saying bye bye to Seoul. Well at least you have a car to move around until the last day which is a great bonus.

cuclainne some people are just born with that gift. My dad's the same. He just listens to the music and just plays the piano automatically. We were entertained daily by my dad's music when we were back. He thumps away for hours and my mother thinks it's too loud!
Maybe you can get Sofi a toy piano if you think a drum will be too noisy.

EJ tummy is growing but not as big as Gina's yet!!!
Went for scan on Wednesday baby seem fine. Have a MW's appointment on Tuesday. I think I will have to ask her if there is any medicine I can take as this cough is driving me nuts. I'm just letting the cold run its course hoping that it hits rock bottom soon before I perk up again! How are you ... feeling better?

maplehue

Good morning ladies,
Cuclainne, Elias' dad is definitely gifted! Lucky him. I learned the piano till grade 4 and that was it. It got too hard and i didnt have time to practise. I regret not pursuing it. I still have my piano at our house in Sg. I hope the tenants will not abuse it. it was indeed romantic to hear about elias dad dancing with his mom. Sweet don't you think?

Ha! I can imagine Sofi drumming and hiding her things in her secret place.
Maybe drumming on plastic pots will be more gentle to the eardrums. Hee
I agree with Mrs.N...a piano is a good alternative. She can play the piano and jam with the grandad later on..

Fruitchick, hope you managed to get a good deal on the tickets.

Elizabeth, now I am more impressed knowing that you made the pillows yourself! They're very well made!
How's the computer now? Hope the virus invasion is not too serious. It is quite annoying isn't it? And hope you are feeling better. I get gas a lot too when i use ginger in my warm water. Even ginger tea gives me gas. But as far as i know it is good for tummy just maybe not too much ok!

Hi Mrs.N, yes we are slowly getting rid of stuff and more boxes are on the way. Jeff thinks we'll have less than 50 boxes this time cos he is going to pack things himself. The last time we hired a moving co. to pack, it was horrible. There was one box with just one plate and a fork with lots of bubble wrap! Hope you are feeling better too! If the cold persists, maybe you need to go to the doctor. I took a week to go to the doctor for my cold when i didnt get any better and found out, had a secondary bacterial infection instead that caused heavy chesty cough. Just in case ok if you feel worst.

Tootsieroll, i hope you'll get the baby bonus!

Hello to the rest of the ladies here. Take care and talk soon. x

elizabeth: thanks for the tip but no more toys for sofi at the moment .. she still has a big box full of birthday toys and she wanted to take some out a few weeks ago but we said no cos she has too many to play with already. when i was preggie with sofi, elias said that despite having a kid, the living room is adult territory and there is no way that he was going to let it be over-run with toys, etc .. you should see the state of our living room since then .. hahahah ..

hope you'll feel better soon.

Mrs N: elias' dad found a jazz club somewhere in boat quay that he frequents when he is in sg - we thought it would be cool if he could play a few tunes but he never got round to asking .. do you play the piano too? i was never musically inclined but i just love listening to others play .. there was a music festival at the esplanade recently and elias wanted to listen to this group that was dabbling in experimental music .. a guy on a piano, one guy on the computer and another on the synthesizer .. some of their tunes were really catchy but their compositions seems to be in disarray cos it didn't really 'flow' from one to the other .. but it was still neat, something new.

do you know the gender of your baby yet or are you keeping it a surprise?

maplehue: it brought a smile to my face but you should have seen elias .. i think it was because our relationship was still new (it was only my second visit to his dad's place) and he probably didn't want me to think that his dad is kooky .. i thought it was cute .. hahahah .. would have loved for him to start dancing with me too but elias is just not that kind of person .. oh well.

50 boxes? that's a lot of stuff .. i should know, i had 48 boxes and that's just from the movers'. there were also some other odds and ends that we had moved ourselves so i think the official count should be more than that .. hahahah .. at least your one box had a plate and fork .. elias panicked on the morning of the move and was desperately just dumping things into the empty boxes .. when we finally got to unpacking, one of the boxes had nothing but plastic bags .. hahahah .. i had told him to start packing things a few weeks before the move but he was very laid-back about it and then a few days before the movers were scheduled to come, he started to worry cos we were not packing fast enough - at this time i was already 5-6 months preggers with elin .. he said he would handle all the electronics and cables, etc but after we had moved, we went back to the old place to see if there was anything left behind and there in the cupboard was my portable hard-drive .. argh! he moved his but forgot mine!!!

liz4jeroen

Feeling much better today. Thks Mrs N, Cuclainne en Maplehue.

Mrs N, do u mean phlem in your throat? Hope you recover soon too. My nose was stuffy this morning, but it is ok now.

Culcuainne, It's toy toy land! Hahaha... My godma used one part of the balcony into a play area for the kids. The thing is it is huge.

Maplehue, thks for the compliment again.
I have to crack my head to think of more ideas n designs. The competitors here are very competitive! Hahaha...

O man! This time I really have it. The virus is a bad one. I can't even read files from USB port, can't play CDs. Now I am stuck, I can't put up photos for my advertisement. Jeroen is now trying to sort out. Geezzzz.... I can't even back up my files if he has to reload windows.
Hope he can find something from internet to solve it. Now I think twice about downloading anything. Once bitten twice shy!

Wah! Does the mover charge by volume or no of boxes? If so, isn't that cheating? :p

de_luxe

Hmmm… so strange, I didn’t get quite a few of the earlier posts and thought that it has been a very quiet weekend until I scrolled up before posting.

Was so tired yesterday after a 3-hour trek through The Dandenongs from Upper Ferntern Gully to Belgrave… it was nice but we somehow took the wrong route (there were hardly any signs) and didn’t go where we wanted to go. The highlight of the day was our rest stop at a Belgrave café before heading home. They had the yummiest cheesecake ever, and so cheap, a slice was only A$3.

My sympathies, liz, i've kenna viruses so many times at work (mostly through emails) and it's so painful each time...

You’re the 2nd person living in Holland with a stomach upset last week! A friend of mine also had stomach upset and he reckons that all the bread in the Dutch diet gives him wind.

my fren's gf recently set up a wedding biz (www.lovedroplets.com), find her designs very nice and unique. If i'm still planning my wedding, i would buy from her.

maplehue yes it was both interesting and challenging to live in France, particularly when I first started off cuz of the language difference. I took French for 6 months before going but still wasn’t able to converse or to buy anything without body language. I was choosing between Australia, France, Switzerland and US – France turned out to be the cheapest and my mom figured that I would be better off learning a language and culture in the most cultural country of the lot. Dun really think I was brave, I was young, stubborn and foolhardy at that time!

My hubby is German. He moved to SG in 1999 and we met in 2002. Bcuz I lived in France, many pple expect me to be dating or married to a French. And now, a few pple think that I’ve moved to Germany instead of Australia.

wow, 50 boxes is a lot!! We had 34 during the move from SG to Melbourne and I thought that was plenty enough The packers did a fairly decent job, we didn’t have the issues you had. Hoping that this time we would be able to sell more of our furniture so will have less boxes. Esp since the staff apartments in SG are furnished, even tho I hate the furnishings cuz they are so old-fashioned and obiang. I would have to start making the moving arrangements soon, but just feel so lazy.

EJ have you guys decided where to move to already? Yes, it can be quite sad selling off your stuff. I was sad to see our car sold before leaving SG, cuz it was used as our wedding car and so had sentimental value…

cuclainne elias sounds similar to my HB! Wait till last min to pack! My HB is horrible at packing whether it's boxes or luggage - he would just dump the stuff in, and wouldn't arrange properly. He did the books and files and I ended up re-doing them and reducing the number of boxes required. I’ve pretty much unpacked all our stuff here except for 1 box of books and 1 box of computer stuff.

mrs n hope you’re feeling better!

Yes, I do think I need a career change, just haven’t figured out what to change to and also have to factor in any requirements (and cost) of re-training.

liz4jeroen

deluxe, Thks for you symapthies. poor jeroen spending whole day n night solving it. OUCH!!!

i have come across her website once while souurcing. I love her ideas esp the money holder, so unique. Do you know where she gets her materials from like the butterflies, flowers, ribbons and baskets? I am trying to source more materials but was hard as most expected a minimum quantity order from overseas. Here it is super impossible expensive. The taste of the people here are so different from Singapore. Sometimes, it is hard to make and find what they like. kekekeke....

Ah! Probably I ate too much bread. But usu I bake them myself and use spelt flour instead. Maybe is the yeast?

mittens

Hey Everyone!

Hope all who's not been feeling well has gotten better already! And the ones who are packing are almost all done?!

Maplehue - I'm not sure what breed she is. The vet says maybe 1/2 persian or 1/2 ragdoll? I've decided to get another Russian visa whilst I'm here as my current one expires soon. I have the same problems with books too! Sometimes I just give them to libraries instead. Try not to stress too much with the packing! I feel like I've been packing and unpacking my whole life but it does not get much easier! Am not on multiply - yet, i hope!

Emilia_Jo - Geram, ya? Yes, 2nd pic is in our Russian home. (1st pic is probably somewhere over Russia. Hehehe!) It's quite wierd how I was never really a cat person until I kind of 'accidentally' adopted her!

We ended up with 103 boxes + a Ducati moving from Brussels to Moscow!! YIKES! Time to throw out the junk!!

de_luxe

hi liz yeah i love the money holder too (the bird cage one right?). I dunno her personally but i can ask my fren (her bf) if he knows where she sources the materials from the next time i see him online. I presume that she gets them in sg. What do the Dutch typically like? I guess they are not so into dainty looking stuff?

Wow you bake bread too?! My last attempt at cookies din go too well, so wouldn't be progressing further for quite some time. I guess it could be the yeast if you're sensitive to it.

mittens 103 boxes??!!! Goodness, what on earth have you guys got?

mrs_n

Liz and deluxe yeah feeling much better today. Yesterday morning was really crappy. Felt totally exhausted from all the coughing the night before. Guess the cold weather isn't helping much either. Was a bit unsettled yesterday what with rain one minute then sunshine and then cloud. Gosh can't the weather make up its mind whether it wants to be warm or cold!!!!

Yes I think it was phlegm. Though at one point of time I thought it was a fish bone!

Wow Mittens you're setting the record for the most number of boxes!!

Cuclainne no we don't know the gender. The sonographer asked us before the scan if we wanted to know and Paul said 'no'. So she turned the screen away from us when she was scanning between the legs just in case we found out accidentally.
Our little niece next door came by on Sunday to tell me that she hopes the baby will be a girl. She has 3 older brothers so one can understand why.

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Hi Cuclainne, ha..you never know, maybe when Elias reaches his father's age, he'll be bold as his father to dance with you in front of Sofi and Elin. Kekeke

Yes Jeff thinks we'll have 50 boxes or slightly lesser but I doubt it. His kiresurf and windsurf gears are enough to fill about 8-10 boxes and not to mention his shoes. I just counted his shoes and he has more than 30 pairs! Can you believe that? So it could be more than 50 boxes ladies. And as for the packing part, Jeff is quite good at it. He packed well when we travel but the only thing I dislike is the last minute thing. I wonder whether all men are like that. You sure made me laugh about Elias leaving your portable hard drive in the cupboard. That was quite funny!

By the way, have you started work already?

Elizabeth, how is your computer now and are you feeling any better? I hope so. With the sweet designs and well made little trinklets you have at Agape, maybe you should have more languages on your website and deal internationally
I gave my sis your website and she loved it too! She loves the little roses and was always grateful when my Mom sewed little roses on her daughters' dresses when they were younger!

Usually the mover would charge us either by weight or volume. So far it has been volume, like by per cubic metres. But the mover here in Seoul told us that they are charging on both volume and weight. We thought that was just ridiculous and we are looking for another mover. What a rip off. I am afraid that they'll overcharge us because Jeff is white. Foreigners here get overcharged way higher for everything and that includes our utility bills. We found out the locals only pay around US$150++ a month but a few expats here got a bill of more than US$200. Ours was almost US300. *sigh* Anyway 8 more weeks to you and counting. Hee

Hi Deluxe, how are you and how's the preparation to return to Sg? 34 boxes are not bad...I hope you are not too sad to leave Melbourne. Forgot to ask you, where did you and hubby get married? Sg, Oz or Germany? I think it is normal of people to assume that we'll get married to someone from the place we were at for a quite a while. Many friends and my relatives also thought that I'll marry an australian just because I've lived there for 4 years but I married a Canadian instead.

I know what you mean about 'obiang' furniture. Ha! I haven't used that word for so long. The hubby didn't live in Sg long enough to understand Singlish or some Malay or Chinese words. He doesn't even know how or when to used "lah".

We are lucky that the sofa and furniture in Seoul provided by the employer are not obiang. Have you decided whether or not to work when you get back in Sg? Maybe rest first, eat and eat some for me before you start anything ok. I told Jeff constant moving maybe be exciting but I still dread it big time!

Hello Mittens, how is everything? Got your Russian visa? I showed Jeff your cat's pic and he said your flooring looks good and I was like, "..what about the cat??!" Ha
Did you really give some of your books to the library? I wish I could do that but I can't. I collect novels and I have so many of them. Lcukily all of them are at our home in Sg but I've somehow managed to buy more and my other books for work and resources, i just can't go without them cos i need them all the time. A LITTLE troublesome. But Jeff has been super nice. He has never made me feel guilty about my books and also never discouraged me from buying more. I hope to get a wall size book shelf in HK

As for the boxes, maybe not as many as 103 boxes! I second Deluxe's question, what do you guys have there??

Get well Mrs N and Emi, how's the vomitting?

Okay ladies, talk soon and take care. xx

eminozy

hello ladies.

i am in pain. been going to the gym like nobody's business. dad went too and he did yoga for the first time. i seriously never done such activity with a family. Its funny to see your dad in an upside down position, so vulnerable.Hes gone back now.

Alamak Nie, you make me sound like as if i am pregnant... vomitting...hehhehe. I am feeling better, thank you.

Mrs N , if too much phlegm u must avoid chicken. it aggravates more if you do. :p

Corrine.. i dont know if we are gna be packing end of the year.. but if we do.... its a love-hate thingy. Chris can pack but not as well. and YES.. pretty last minute. When he moved here.. he had only 2 boxes. when i moved to australia in 2000. i had a mac, a backpack and a box. But when i moved to Melbourne. I had 20. Reduced it from a one bedroom place... This time around IF we moved.. I got a feeling it will be about 20-30.. we have too much crap, correction... I have too much crap! heheheh

I think majority of the crap will be books, clothes and my art crap.hehhehehaha

Mittens... definitely .5 ragdoll... you can see it. They are so ex here.. about $350 a kitten. I want one too. apparently they are great home cats.

I want a cat so much but Chris said we already have one. _ME_. i accidentally scratched him and bit him sometimes till he bleed. so its bad.. hehehahahahehhe

he also said that he used to date a girl with a cat and its annoying in the morning! hehehhaha
I guess i have to somehow try to coax him somehow.. slowly..slowly.

de_luxe

maplehue charging by both weight and volume is indeed ridiculous! good luck looking for another mover...hope you find someone reasonable.

We haven't started any prep at all. Prob start next month. Actually still sitting on the fence btwn SG and Washington DC, tho HB is more inclined on SG cuz taxes are lower and housing is usually provided for, except that they sent us an email a couple of days ago saying that they don't have any apartments available when we arrive and will have to put us up at temp accommodation (read: hotel-sized room without kitchen and laundry) for at least 2.5 months. Was told by an insider source that the shortage is not due to high demand as what they claimed but because they converted a few blocks of staff housing to student hostels $%^&. Whereas, in DC, rent is like US$2K per month and we would also have to live quite far outside. I've never been to DC before so have no idea what the place is like.

I would have to work in SG, no excuse not to. In DC, I wouldn't be able to work cuz of the visa restrictions.

We married in SG in 2006. HB has been in SG since 1999 but is a typical expat, hangs out with mostly other expats, eats fried rice and sweet and sour like nobody's business and only recently started learning a few singlish words from me like kay poh, giang ziong (anxious, dunno how to spell). He also doesn't know how and when to use lah correctly. I think it really depends on a person's work, whether they come into contact with the locals or not. I know an Italian chef whose Singlish is better than his English!!

EJ have you thought of fostering a cat instead? I've came across several animal shelters in Melbourne looking for foster homes. Bascially you take care of the cat till they find a permanent home for it. Some even provide you with the food. Since it's only a temporary thing, Chris might change his mind? On the other hand, if it doesn't work out, you don't have to foster another cat. That beats having to give up the cat if you actually buy one.

maplehue

Good afternoon ladies,

Emi, did you really bite Chris till he bleeds? Naughty naughty girl!
Sometimes I bite Jeff too but have stopped after seeing the last bruise. heheh. When he asked me why I did that, the only word I could use was "Geram". So as for you missy, go easy with the biting! Have you watched 'I Am Legend"? Biting is bad.. Heheh. I guess your vomiting must have stopped now. Good for you. Oily food does that to me too.

And yes...I would loveee to have a cat too. A tabby or persian doesn't matter but the hubby says 'NEOOO' He said once he stepped on his friend's cat's wet furball and it was really disgusting!

Deluxe, we are still looking for another mover. So far no luck yet cos many of them cannot speak English(I really hope HK is not going to be like this)! I am worried that we'll end up with this sicko company that charges by both volume and weight. That'll be so dear for us and I'm sure you know that moving is not cheap.

So have you decided whether to go back to Sg or venture out further to the States? I hope it is not too hard a decision to make. Sg will definitely be more familiar for you, plus you can find work but that accommodation thing was a little 'pekcek' yeah? Can't they put you at the Metropolitan YMCA apartment first? Jeff's employer put him there for the first month when he just arrived in Sg while waiting for his apartment to be sorted out. It has kitchen and everything like a little apartment.

As for Singlish, you are right. It totally depends on where they work and who they mixed with. Jeff's friends and colleagues were mostly expats so thats why i think he doesn't understand Singlish.
Good luck in your decision and regardless of where you guys decide to go, good luck with the packing!!

Hello to the rest of you ladies there. Hope one day we can all meet at one place and have a good chat! I know I know...with the distance and everything else, it is quite a wishful thinking!
Talk soon everyone. xo

hahahah - elias' work colleagues are mostly expats but he still picked up singlish from me! so much so that his step-dad actually told him that he doesn't speak like a swede anymore .. a few days ago, he was in a cab on the way home and the cabbie asked how long he's been in sg because he didn't sound like the typical expat .. hahahah ..

btw ladies, i've found another recipe site for asian food - www.kuali.com ... tried the century egg and chicken congee over the weekend - darn sedap!! even sofi likes it so much that she actually wanted more ..

georginat

hi ladies !!

me so lazy nowadays !! feet and fingers starting to swollen....

mrs.n, a good friend of mine and her british bf would like to register their marriage in UK , is it difficult to do so coz needs lots of documents ?? your baby kicking you alot ? nowadays babyluke kicks alot, espcially when i sit down or lie sideway...

maplehue

Hello ladies,

Ha. Cuclainne, Elias reminds me of someone I know. He is french but when he speaks Singlish, the taxi driver will definitely look back to see his face and wonder whether he is really an expat. Thank you for the link. I just looked at it and I can't wait to go back to Sg to eat!!! And your century egg(I believe this is 'telur asin' right?) and chicken congee....scrumm. That's why if we can cross path, we should go and have a 'makan time'! Hee.
I was craving for mee rebus last week and made it using whatever ingredient i could find(without using nuts). Since there in no yellow mee, I had to use the bee hoon my Mom brought from sg. Overall verdict: Failed!

Hello Georgina, hope the swelling is not too painful.

Deluxe...how are you and hows the packing? FYI, since you and Bertil are moving soon too, Jeff just told me today that to ship our things abroad,the cheaper way is to get a shipper to do it rather than a mover. He has asked around and the movers here charge a minimum of US$3000-4000 for 3 cubic meter. That is ridiculous isn't it? But the shipper he just spoke with this morning charges US$750 for the same 3 cubic meter...which is more reasonable. .Lots to do yeah so take care ok.

And for the rest of you ladies...have a lovely day and talk to you all soon.

Marge, thanks for helping with the MSN thing. I still can't work it out. There is no 'Log Out' option at all and when I click on MSN, it'll go straight to the window with all my contacts and everything! That i don't want. Maybe Emi can help me too?..You are a Mac person right? I'll leave a note later.

Liz girl, hope you are not overworking again yeah.

Ok girlies, adius for now..xo

mrs_n

Hi girls I'm much better now. Thanks. Emi I don't eat chicken or birds of any kind.
I'm more a fish and vegetable person.

Gina you don't need a lot of documents just passport and a lot of money! It's actually quite expensive to ROM in the UK and more hassle too because you have to apply to the home office for permission first before you can make your application to the registrar's office. And it is not any registrar's office that you can go to only to ones designated by the home office.

Haven't got to the swelling stage yet. I'm 24+ weeks now. So slowly getting there. Baby kicks every now and then. More so when it comes to going home time. Maybe to remind me that it's time to go home.

Anyway better get going. Hope everyone has/had a nice day.

georginat

mrs.n, thanks for the info....i am week 34 now, another 3 weeks or so can give birth...my feet and fingers started to swollen at week 33 and i have put on 18 kg so far !!! now is the best time for you to enjoyu your pregnancy, when reaches the 3rd trimester, here pain , there pain..and the doc told me ' no pain, no gain !!'

so many posts to catch up !! read some of you were not feeling well past few days, hope all of you are well now...

de_luxe

Hi mapluehue maybe you could try using spaghetti to replace yellow noodles instead of bee hoon. Used to work pretty well for mee goreng.

I suppose the shipper wouldn't do the packing whereas a mover would?

We're waiting for KC Dat to get in touch with us cuz they can bill direct to NTU. Haven't started organising anything yet, prob slowly start the ball rolling after the Anzac holiday.

gina Rest well... one of my frens is at the 39th week and she says the waiting is driving her nuts!

mrs_n

Gina haha! Like then then I've got only 2 weeks more to enjoy the pregnancy before the trimester of here pain, there pain begins.
Oh well! Time will pass quickly. When I was in Sg I met up with one of my friends and she was telling me that her MIL told her if one wanted the baby to come early, one will have to keep walking up and down the stairs!!!

deluxe well hope the packing goes well this time.

gina: soon soon very soon .. the weeks will go by very quickly - don't forget to sms me hor .. i'll bring my daughters along (just hope they won't be too noisy) ..

mrs n: i tried that with sofi - walking here and there but it didn't work for me leh .. i think she was too comfortable inside my belly .. hahahah .. whereas elin couldn't wait anymore cos it's getting a bit tight for her .. wah, not too long more to go for you too ..

maplehue

Hello ladies,

Deluxe,i tried 'fried spaghetti' last night. It worked! Ha. thanks.

You are right, the shipper won't pack for us but after what the mover did in Sg, Jeff wants to do it himself this time. But this shipper will still provide boxes and bubble wraps. They are coming tom. to give us a rough quote.

I've lived in Nanyang Walk(NTU) before and I guess with the canteens they have, you and hubby should not have a problem finding food if you guys have to stay at the temp. accommodation first(i assumed this is also on campus). There is also a canteen which is near to the Staff Housing and it is not so crowded cos it is quite a way from students campus. I am hoping that this hasn't changed though. Good luck girl!

de_luxe

maplehue if they provide the packing material, it'll help lots rather than having to source boxes, bubble wrap and stuff as well.

Yah, finding food is not a problem on campus. Were you living in the staff housing too? My HB had an apt at Nanyang Crescent for 4 yrs. I didn't know that there's a canteen near to the staff housing and usually go to Canteen 2, there was a stall selling yummy beef balls. If we were in the mood, the coffee shop near the Prime supermarket at Jurong West has the best hokkien mee and thai chicken ever. There's a chinese restaurant in the staff club but it can be rather expensive. The temp accommodation is at Nanyang Crescent too, where they've built the Nanyang Executive Centre for foreign guests and intl students on EMBA or short courses. Just dun fancy staying in a small hotel room and eating out all the time for 2.5 months - gets kinda crampy after a while. We figured we could escape to my parents' place over the wkends to keep our sanity intact.

mrs n my mom commented something similar to a distant cousin before too. She didn't specifically say to walk up and down the stairs but she said one should stay as active as possible.