Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

georginat

hi nisa..yes, time really flies, at first was like why so slow? now its like yeah, another 2 more mths to go !! hope the baby will 'pop' out end may earliest, not too early please !!

what was your hospital bill at KKH ?? would like to know the rouge gauge of bill for c-section..did you get the baby bonus eventhough elias is not PR yet? bu ti understand the baby has to be singapore citizen to claim it...

gina: tell your baby to pop on 21 may ok .. then same birthday as me .. heheheh ..

my c-section bill was about 5K - you will usually have to stay at the hospital for about 3 days after the surgery for observation and i stayed in a one-bedder as Elias stayed overnight with me. the baby's bill is about $700. sorry, i forgot but which hospital are you going to?

baby bonus is a yes - entitled as long as mommy is citizen and baby is too .. sofi got it and elin is getting it too .. plus with the second one, there is this CDA (child development account) which the govt will match dollar-for-dollar the amount you've banked into that account up to a maximum amount of 6K - this money can be used by all the children in the family for infantcare fees, education.

will you be registering your little one's birth at the embassy?

georginat

hi nisa, thanks for your quitr reply...i will most probably give birth at MT. A..did you save youe baby's umbilical cord?? am comtemplating should i or not?

yes, we will register the baby's birth with the spanish embassy in sg and he will have a spanish passport too.

gina, you mean the cord stump which falls off after it has dried up? i gave both sofi's and elin's to my mom - she kept it .. not sure why. she used to have mine too but of course, it's been so many years - she has no clue where it is now .. hahahaha

maplehue

Good friday evening ladies,
This will be short but I will come back again later on.

Emi, Cuclainne and Mrs.N, I have created an account in Multiply but unfortunately I'm having a little problem going about it.
Anyway, I don't know how but I managed to create 2 accounts. Ha! And I do not know from which account I have invited you ladies to join me. BUT the userid I am using is jhmartins. Sorry for the confusion girls. Cuclainne and Mrs. N, I tried to 'invite' both of you but I have no idea whether my request has made it to you or not. Emi, you are one my contacts now. Thank you

Talk to you ladies soon.
TGIF everyone.

babysheep22

I am not married to an ang mo but I am currently living in the UK. Can I join in this forum?

Hi Pris,

How are you? Looking forward to seeing you and hubby in Stuttgart on 4 April.... am sure you know who I am now!

babysheep22

Mrs N,

Read that you live up north in the UK. Were you affected by the earthquake a couple of weeks ago?

Some people over here in London claim they felt the tremors. But I just slept like a baby.

babysheep22

Hi Cuclainne,

Thanks for the welcome. Are you living in Singapore or other countries?

I was hoping to be able to chat with some of the girls that may live in Europe in this forum. Otherwise, it's a bit hard due to the time zone difference.

Which country is your husband from?

eminozy

hello! morning from south australia... welcome babysheep. yes! we have a few european husband-ed ladies around.
like me but we are not really staying in the region. where are you at?

hey nie! heheh. yeah i saw your multiply but tehres nothing there yet!
put some photos... just go to the tabs at the top... and start adding things up!

Its gna be 39degrees today in Adelaide .. Its been dry and super hot. No sweaty bodies here and great summer by the beach. we have been beach-whaling heaps since we got here and catching up with friends. we love the smell of eucalyptus in the air wherever we go. something one dont get in melbourne.

we are thinking about moving here someday....

ok take care ladies... see you again when i have time!

maplehue

Good Saturday morning ladies,

It is grey outside and Jeff and I are planning to have our Saturday routine trip to Starbucks. We'll take my Mom with us. She is still here and enjoying the cold weather

Hello Cuclainne, I got your invite, thank you
You are one of my contacts now! The sharing of mattress is definitely a big spoiler with kids when it comes to being by themselves again. I think it is the 'smell' thing. So what my sis did was to leave her worn pajamas with her eldest daughter to help her sleep. Ha. I guess she was desperate but it worked a bit. After a couple of weeks, her girl doesn't need the "smelly" pj anymore. When my sis told me about it, i was like "Eeeewww"! Hee. It is a good thing that Sofi wants her dad too yeah. If not, you will be more worn out than you already are right now. Ha. You made me laugh with your story about getting rolled out of the bed.
Maybe you and Elias should change to a Super King size bed. This way, all 4 of you can sleep soundly through the night. But I guess we dont want that do we?
Will both Elin and Sofi be at infantcare when you start work in April? Or is the little one going to stay with the grandma?
...I didn't know C-sect costs that much! My sis had a natural birth with her eldest but did a C-sect. with her second child at KKH. 5K is a lot!

Welcome Babysheep
Where are you about now?

Hi Emilia, I downloaded some pictures last night and I also have a wallpaper now.
It took me a while to figure out how to do it but getting the hang of it for sure.
I wrote you a long gmail but suddenly the Mac at work went kaput. Usually when that happens, emails will get saved in draft but this time nothing. I'll write again later ok. But quite annoying right?.. You can never write the exact same thing like the first time.
39degs?? That is so hot! Drink lots of water okay and don't get sunburn. I love eucalyptus smell. I used to burn the oil at home but not anymore cos Korea has no such thing. Enjoy!

Mrs.N, How are you these days? Received your Invite too and we are now each other's contacts

Have a great weekend everyone and talk again soon...

babysheep: i am currently living in sg - the hub is from sweden. which part of the uk are you living at and how long have you been there?

mrs_n

babysheep hi hi! Of course you're very welcome to join us.
Yes I'm living further up North in Nottinghamshire. The epicentre was about 30+ miles from where we live. So felt the tremors quite violently. But luckily no structural damage to the houses in our area. Apart from the poor chinese restaurant in town whose chimmney was damaged. Are you working in London? There's quite a few of us living in UK on this thread.

Tootsieroll thanks for the advise. Will take note.
Are you on maternity leave now and just waiting for the big moment to happen?

Awww Joseph and Sofi sound very lovely kids. Hope they'll always stay that way yah!

maple ah good you got the invite.
I received your email but when pressed the link nothing happened so thought it easier if I sent you an invite. Enjoy Starbucks!

Now that it's almost a week since I'll be leaving for home. I've been busy trying to tie things up at work so feeling a little bushed at the moment. So am really looking forward to having a break.

Ok have a good weekend everyone. EJ enjoy the 39°C weather as much as you can before autumn comes to OZ.

babysheep22

Hi Mrs N, Cuclainne and Emilia,

Thanks for welcoming me. I live and work in London and have been here for 2 years now. Absolutely loving it here though!

christie79

wow this thread is going so fast!

sorry been busy chomping,shopping,meeting up friends and relatives

But will be back following week! Gosh! How time flies!
Im starting to miss here..

Mrs N~Yes i'll be going for a short trip tomorrow to batam with my family
The hk trip is not positive cos we have to wait for my sis to get her school results. Sigh..anyway, You're coming back soon! Don't stress with work, take care meanwhile! Im sure the shopping therapy will compensate you when you're here hahaha..as it did for me! Now i have some headache on the weight of my luggage!

Maple~Hey i'll add you to my multiply too!! How's korea? How's your hb and yourself adapting to the food there?

Cuclainne~It was nice to meet you up that day! Hahah..did sofi slept well that night? After all that running around and playing? *wink*

Think it's the whole umbilical cord itself..as there's this cord bank .. heard that some parents opt to place it in this cord bank for baby's future use..(if there's any emergency etc..)

EJ~Wow! You're in Adelaide now! How's it compared to sydney or melbourne?

tootsieroll~Hi!! Hope you'll have a smooth delivery!

babysheep~Welcome! Im living in Norway with my norwegian hb, now im in sg for a holiday till mid march. So how's uk?

ok got to go!

maplehue

Good morning ladies,
Mrs.N...I enjoyed looking at your pics.
So one week to go yeah? You must be looking forward to meeting your family, friends, the food and of course shopping! Make sure you have an extra bag to fit all your shopping goodies
I just loveee to shop for shoes in Singapore and summer wear like skirts. Jeff is not crazy with Korean fashion so I don't buy clothes here... How long will you and Mr.N be in Sg?

Hi Cuclainne, hope you are enjoying the Sunday with the family. Reading you kinda reminds me of my sis and nieces.
We have many girls in my family and Jeff has many boys in his. I told him we'll see. Hee.

Hello Chis, sounds like you've been happily shopping there
Retail therapy is always gewddd! I always give Jeff headache when it comes to the packing and checking in luggage. But so far we always managed to check in without paying anything more. There was one time ours exceeded by 20 kilos! Kekeke. And yes, add me to your multiply. I am still unsure of how to do the 'Invite'!

Emilia, hope you are still enjoying your trip
Take pics okay!

Babysheep, Im living in Seoul with my canadian hubby.

Hmm..Haven't heard from Deluxe in Melbourne...Hope you and hubby are settling in well there...

Talk again soon ladies. Taaa..

maplehue

Hello Chris, sorry girlie...forgot to answer to your earlier question. Korea is so so. Okay at first but not anymore for us. Hee. The hubby and I can't wait to get out of here. The language barrier has been a real struggle. My hubby doesn't eat spicy food at all so we haven't really explored korean restaurants here. I do love some of them like Talkalbi, Pulgogi, Bimbibab, etc. They are quite scrummy
I keep telling him that but he is not tempted at all. So whenever I feel like Korean dish, we will go together but he will only eat white rice with some 'specially' ordered non-marinated, no sauce whatsoever grilled chicken. I feel bad for him! And when I told him that, he said he did it "for the sake of love"!
Heheheh

mittens

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to this forum...my very first post!!

HTB is Finnish and we are currently living in Moscow, Russia. Prior to Moscow, we were in Brussels, Belgium. BUT,...prior to that, I was living/working in S'pore for 6 years. HTB has not lived in S'pore before.

I'm just wondering if any of you had objections from your families about your cross-cultural relationships?

eminozy

hello! hi mittens! welcome.

just a short one. we are about to go onan 8hr drive home. Just came back from the beach and saying goodbye to my ozie family. We had a great wedding by the beach last night. But sadly i lost my engagement and wedding rings while swimming in port noarlunga!
i am devastated. But what to do right?

sheeesh... will talk more when i come back.

christie79

Hi Mittens! Welcome!! My hb is norwegian and he has never worked in signapore before either. But our families are very supportive about our relationship. We make it a point to let both families communicate..writing letters and postcards and such..communication is key i should say

Hey EJ~Gosh!! That's not good to hear!!

Maple~my hb is very choosy about food, though he's trying very hard to kick this habit...sigh..oh, btw, i've invited you!

maplehue: yes, a very big bed is exactly what we need now .. unfortunately we're still renting so we just had to accept the bed that was already in place .. we had a super big bed at our last place, that one can fit at least 4 adults - not that we've tried, of course .. hahahaha .. yes, both will be in infantcare when i go back to work though sofi will only be there for a few weeks before graduating to the toddler class .. usually when kids are about to go to the toddler class, the teacher would bring them over for a few hours to get used to the new teacher and class environment ..

chrisl: yeah she slept really well that night though i can't say the same for the subsequent nights after that .. hahaha ..

mittens: welcome .. between you, chrisl and myself - we've got the scandinavian countries pretty much covered .. hahaha .. wow, according to the hub, moscow is nice - how long have you been there?

ej: oh dear .. how did you lose it - is there any way of getting it back? i can only just imagine how you must feel - i can't fit into my engagement or wedding rings *yes, still* but i've kept them some place safe .. once (when we just got married), elias took off his wedding ring to do some house chores and after he was done, he went to the supermarket - i saw the ring on the counter so i took it to keep it safe. he came back all flustered saying he'd thought he lost his ring at the supermarket .. recently he was playing with his ring while we were in the car and he dropped it .. lucky it landed in Sofi's car seat - i think she saw this shiny thing drop cos she was kaypoh and trying to shift and get her hands on it first.

georginat

hi babysheep and mittens , welcome to the thread :)

nisa, i mean storing the umbilical cord with a cord bank in singapore..me too, cant wear the wedding ring at the moment (fingers have swollen) so only wear the engagement ring (if finger gets bigger, cant wear that too !!)hubby also nearly lost his ting once while shifting the PC and later found the ring under the PC !!

Mrs. N, hav eyou put n much weight? when i was at week 24, i have put on nearly 13 kgs !! i put on 4 kg in a mth !! which is not good i think...

chrisl, did you do lots of shopping in sg before heading back to norway?? i miss H&M !! cheap and nice clothings ..

tootsieroll, hope u have a smooth delivery...

liz4jeroen

welcome babysheep n mitten!

Mitten, at the beginning my parents were really upset and was not happy as my husband is so far away and also being an angmo, they don't trust him. The impression of them being a flirt, and not to be trusted... But after he came, my family changed their mind coz they know he is a decent guy. By the way, I stay in Netherlands, my husband is a Dutch.

EJ, o dear! Heart pain! My father-in-laws lost his wedding ring once too and has to make a new one. He took it off while working and cannot be found. O what is the link for yr wedding photos? I'm hardly at multiply thought I have an account.

Cul, I'm fine but busy as usual with study and cracking my head for my internet biz. hahahah....

Mrs N, my course is coming along fine but the internship is really tough as language is a great barrier! SIGH!!!! Sometimes feel like giving up. Wondering when I will ever master Dutch well...One step at a time!

Got to go! Another day of internship! even dreamt about it. hahahaha....

Hi hi to all the ladies! Take care n God bless! Hugs!

mittens

Wow! That's quick! Thank you so much for making me feel so welcomed!!!

EJ - OMG!!!!!! I am so sorry to hear about your lost of the rings! But I do love your attitude! - no point crying over spilt milk! Tell us more about your wedding when you can! You're living in S'pore?

chrisl - So nice to hear that your families are getting along great! Our families have not even met yet (although we've been together for 10 years), mainly because until recently, we've been living in 4 different countries - his parents in Finland, HTB in Brussels, me in S'pore and my parents in Brunei (I'm originally from Brunei). It was only in 2006 that I decided to forget about a job and moved over to be with HTB. You're living in Norway?

cuclainne - Yes, I do like Moscow (well...it does have it's negative sides as well, but all in all, I am very plesantly surprised). We've been in Moscow since May 07. Living just about 20 minutes walk from the Kremlin/Red Square. Where are you living now? Sweden?

Do you ladies speak HB's language? I am so dreading to learn Finnish (but I guess I have to learn cos his parents do not really speak English)....+ HTB also speaks Swedish, Danish, German, Norwegian and some Mandarin.....I hope he does not expect me to know all of them!

mittens

OMG!...this thread is so fast!

Hi Georgina! Are you in S'pore? I miss H&M too!!

Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for the info! So,...meaning your HB moved to S'pore for a while so your parents could get to see that he's a nice guy or they could tell that from his visits to S'pore to meet them? Did they object when you moved to The Netherlands? For us,...his parents are completely ok with me but my parents (actually only my mum, dad's ok) I guess feel the same as your parents did initially. They have only met him once so far. But we are working on moving to S'pore so at least we are closer to Brunei and he can see my parents more often as they go to S'pore alot. However, I think Mum will never be happy with us because she will continue to think that one day he will 'take me away' from Asia?

gina: we didn't because elias had his reasons and i just went along with it ..

at least you took a month to put that on .. for sofi, i put on 5kgs in 1-2 weeks!! after that my gynae warned me to stop eating so much .. hahaha ..

elizabeth: you still doing the wedding pillows?

mittens: nope, we're living in sg at the moment. husband came over when he got a job in dec 05 and we got married in jan 06. we have talked about moving back someday but it won't be anytime soon cos we just like it here ..

yup, i think the europeans know more languages aside from their native one *my husband is the same* i had some difficulty conversing with my mother-in-law at first but my husband refused to be the go-between so we were kinda 'forced' to learn .. i'm not fluent in conversing at all though i do understand most of what is said.

liz4jeroen

Hi Mitten, ja the thread moves super fast that I cannot catch up... hahaha my teacher is sick so I don't have to go for my internship. Yeah! Free!

Regarding my hubby. He only came to visit. He has never stayed in Singapore. From the first visit, they have a v gd impression of him. Still my mum was not very happy that there is a possibility of me moving so far away. So I have a lot of nagging from her. They were very worried. Somehow, I managed to talk to them. O we did argue as well, even quarrel over it. kekeke... After these 2 yrs, my parents have let go and my sister came here to visit and reported back that I am happy, so they are relief to know that I'm well taken care of. In fact, the long distance brings my family and me closer. Irony!
Wah! Yr hubby can speak so many lang. I understand. Learning Dutch was not easy! I was so frustrated at the beginning. Still though! My future profession is of the highest level so I am not there yet. Struggling like crazy! Wish sometimes I can do it in English. Thank God the course is in English or I will surely give up! :p

Cul, ja I'm still doing wedding ringpillows as well as decorations. Probably thinking of expanding it. Not sure yet! As side line! In case, I don't master my Dutch well after graduation and cannot find a job. Kekeke... at least I have this as back-up!

liz4jeroen

O mitten my in laws don't speak English also esp my mother-in-law. She was hoping I can converse with her. I do via MSN chat hahahaha. I even make a joke by my spelling error as in rabbit, I spelt king. In dutch the spelling are v close. Hahahah....it was so funny when I realised it! All of them have a real good laugh when she told them.

mittens

cul - OK...you're in S'pore. That's nice!...at least you can understand the lingo. I can only manage as much as good morning/night, thank you, cat/dog, sit, stay, go, etc.! hehe!

Elizabeth - Haha....still so happy to miss classes - some things just never change! OK...so it takes time huh,..for family to 'accept'. I've been living away from my parents since I was 15 (due to studies, work, etc) and I would have thought that Mum would be used to this by now, but nope!....she wants me near her now since I've been away for so long. Good luck in your Dutch course! I also had to do French, German and Spanish before, so I know how you feel! But..your Dutch must be pretty good to be able to MSN!!! And you're running a biz too! Hope that picks up quick! Do you have a website up and running?

liz4jeroen

Wah mittens! Since 15. I guess that is why yr mum misses u n wants u to be near as she has not been with u for so long. May I ask you have bn staying by yrself at 15? Where? U r v independent then. Wow! U know so many lang too! I'm sure u can pick up finnish. Hahaha... my dutch is half past six! Hahahah....

O ja I have a website, not everything is up yet. But most of the stuff. Yesterday my hubby added more photos. But I cannot put it here, or else kena ban fr thread! happened b4! U can message me if u want to have a look at the website.

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Hello Mitten, welcome to the thread
I haven't been to Moscow yet but have seen many pictures of it. How is winter there? My hubby is a canadian and currently we are living in Seoul. No objections whatsoever from either family. They have been so suppportive from day 1!
Hubby and I do speak French at home but we mostly converse in English.

Emiiiliaaa, I am so sorry to hear about your engagement and wedding rings. Don't be to sad okay. I am sure both you and Chris will find a nice one to replace them. You must be tired now...make sure you rest enough before you get back to your shifts alright.

Hi Chis, got your invite and already accepted it. Thanks
Are you still shopping and Are you still in Sg? We have so many ladies here in different countries, I am a little confused now! Hee.

Cuclainne, you made me laugh with your big bed being big enough for 4 adults! I must admit, that got my imagination to run wild for while. Heheh. What size bed is that? Or is the bed custom made? That is one huge bed I must say! good to know that your girls can go to infantcare. This way, it will be easier for you to be at work knowing that they will be safe and sound
Is it very expensive to send them there?

Hello to the other ladies too here...

Mrs. N..happy packing..A few more days now. You must be busy with everything. Forgot to ask you, how long will you be in Sg?

Talk soon ladies. I am actually rushing now!.xo

mittens

Hi Elizabeth,

Sure! My story - After 'o'levels in Brunei, went to Australia for Year 12 (stayed in boarding school, but own room), then it was to Switzerland for hotel school (we all must stay in the hotel where we studied, but own room), then London to work (stayed by myself), then Scotland for post-grad (stayed at Uni's boarding houses, but yes, by myself), then S'pore to work (yes, I lived alone), then Brussels and Moscow to join HTB. So, I have no place I can really call home anymore!

OK...I'll message you (as soon as I figure out how to do that! I am pretty new to Forums..never had the time when I was working!)

mittens

Hi maplehue,

The winter here is really, really nice! Even at -18 degs, it feels so much better than say London's 5 degs? I think it's because the snow insulates the whole city up and we don't get a lot of rain/bone chilling wind. (at least that's my theory) and,....the heating in the city is controlled by the government (as in we can only on or off it...can't control the temperature). So, because the govt is so generous with the supply, we often find it too too hot, so even at -18 degs, most people have the windows partly open all the time (including us). Wierd, huh!? It's about -1 deg today. How's Seoul? I've not been there but would love to go one day!

I'm so envious that you had no objections from either families! I have been going to S'pore just about every other month for the past 2 years - I make it a point to be in S'pore everytime my parents go there, just so that Mum can't say they are seeing me less.

HTB and I converse in English only although I am making him learn some Cantonese and Malay too. I like to think of it as punishment for making me learn Finnish. Hehe.

babysheep22

Hi Chris,

Yeah, I am living in London. Enjoying it a lot as life here is really vibrant! Also,

Hi mittens,

Regarding your question about cross cultural relationships - I am currently married to an SG guy. However, one of my ex bfs was an Englishman. My folks objected really strongly. Didn't manage to change their minds and we split eventually.

But I've had a love affair with England and all things English ever since and I'm living here now!

The weather is horrible in London now. Wet and windy and I have ruined 2 umbrellas these 2 weeks.

Finnish is incredibly difficult although I have heard Russian is probably more so. Do you speak Russian? Would imagine you need it to get around as you live in Moscow.

Hi Cuclainne / Georginat,

I love H&M too... returning to SG in October, so will be buying lots and lots of clothes from there before I return...

maplehue

Hello Mittens,

You are certainly a well travelled girl. Congratulations on your engagement and coming wedding
It could be stressful at times but exciting problems to solve for sure with your hubby
Where will you have the wedding and will your hubby be part of the planning. Mine arrived in Sg just a week before the wedding, so I had to do almost everything myself(and my Mom of course).

I think from my personal experience, winter anywhere is better than winter in Montreal. Heee. It was so cold there! The government in Moscow is definitely generous with the heating. Good for you guys. Seoul has been cold but it is currently about 6degs which is not bad. We have heated floor which is so comfortable but the downside, electricity is high. Our apartment is paid for by the employer but not utility bills and in winter, it can cost as much as $US300. Seoul is okay. Lots of mountains and tourist spots. We liked it here alot at first but now we can't wait to leave. The language barrier has been a struggle. The hubby and i will be moving to HongKong this June.

Where are your parents? Are they based in Sg? It must be difficult and tiring too to have to travel back and forth every other month, not to mention the cost. Why don't you get your parents over to Moscow instead once in a while? Im sure your mom will like it

May I ask why you are making your hubby learn Cantonese and Malay? Why this 2 languages? After speaking with a few of the ladies in this forum, I think I should learn Cantonese myself before the move to HK! i don't want the struggle i have here to repeat in HK. That will be a put off for sure!

liz4jeroen

Hi Babysheep, sorry to hear yr story.
I gave up carrying umbrellas. My husband says is pointless. The wind is too strong.

Is H&M in Singapore? I tot is in Europe? :p

babysheep, mittens n maplehue, do u have msn or multiply? I also confused who is who! Kekeke...

mittens

Hi babysheep22,

Hehe...you made me laugh about your umbrellas! I remembered when I was working in London, my English friends would hold on to me whenever it was windy and I was holding an umbrella in case I fly away with it! Lucky for me now....I've only need to use umbrellas a few times since I got here in May 07. And no wind...just a bit of rain.

Well,...we had to study the Russian alphabet (cyrillic) or else we really cannot read anything at all like road signs/names. Good thing that some of the Russian words are derived from English, so words like restaurant, internet, cafe...is read somewhat the same, but the writing is complety different. We get by ok...just the essentials we know (mainly food and thank yous and the like!).

mittens

Hi maplehue,

Thank you! We have not decided anything on the wedding yet.....not when Mum's still fairly unhappy. Our first step is just to move back to Asia...hopefully that will happen this year. But when the time comes, I do hope HTB will be part of the planning. We both just want a small-ish reception.

I think we're quite lucky....because Russia is still viewed as a 'hardship' kind of expat country, between the landlord (inclusive in rent) and HTB's company, just about everything is paid for ..rent, gas, electricty, telephone, internet, cable tv. I don't even want to look at how much these things cost as everything is so expensive here.

Wow! HK next for you! Yet another adventure!

No, parents are in Brunei, but they go to S'pore often, so I meet them there. Yes, the travelling back and forth is very, very tiring. The only good part about that is I can see my family and I can stock up on curry, laksa and other goodies! I've asked my parents to come visit so many times...Dad's cool about it, but Mum...well...I guess she's still on strike.

The 2 languages...my mum's cantonese, so that's my 'strongest' chinese dialect. BUT....everyone in S'pore (& HK) laughs at my cantonese...I think it's because it is very much Malay-influenced? Also, my verbal sentences with family may have malay/cantonese mix in them....so better ask the HTB to learn so he can "follow" what we're saying. But yes, I think it is a good idea to pick up some cantonese for HK. Can you read chinese characters?

mittens

Hi Elizabeth,

I have MSN...I'll email you? Don't have Multiply though.

Me also getting confused and it's just day 1 for me!!! Was also thinking if we could do a table of who's who, HB/HTB is from where, living where, etc.? Does anyone know how to do this? If not I'll try to figure it out.

mrs_n

Wah today so happening! Like everybody on holiday and very free!!
Hee! I'm at work but just sneak in to read. Being naughty today! Hey weather's not too good today but doesn't seem as bad as they had predicted.

Gina since getting preggers think I've put on at most about 3 kg. Don't know exactly how much though as the weighing machine at home and the one at the doc's not consistent. The one at home's always heavier!
But I haven't been eating that much lately as not much appetite. But drinking more and peeing more. Ha! Ha! They had better give me an aisle seat near the toilet this Saturday.

Maple haven't start packing yet. Just brought down the suitcase from the loft yesterday. Talk to my mother yesterday and she was nagging at me not to be last minute and then kalang kobot! I told her can't bring any clothes down with me as they were all too tight. Paul said we have to get some in S'pore and my mother told me nevermind lah no need to buy can wear her clothes!! Ha! Ha! I shall have to see if I can fit into my mum's clothes.

EJ oh dear oh dear. I lost a cross my late grandmother gave to me. Had it round my neck from sec school until I started working. Was really sad when I lost it. It wasn't valuable but just had a lot of sentimental value. Never mind the memories of those special days are firmly embedded in your heart and nothing can ever take them away.
Chin up girl!

Mittens welcome to the thread. I don't think parents will ever get over the fact that you live so far away. But at the end of the day it's your life and you have to choose the path that will make you happy. I think eventually they will be happy for you. I know my mum wishes I lived closer (so do I) and found it hard at the beginning that perhaps I may never live long term in SG again but she is happy for me in a way as she knows my hubby is a good man. I guess your mum always harboured the thought that you will eventually return home someday but the reality that that may never happen probably hit her when she realised your choice of a Finnish husband! She probably needs a little more time to get use to the idea.

Liz so you get to 'poteng' school today huh!
Good to have a little break even if its for a day.

Chrisl when are you going back to Norway? Did you have a nice time in batam?

OK what is this H&M? Is it a new store? At first I thought you girls were referring to Honeymoon!

babysheep hope you're keeping well and you're not affected by the bad weather.

Cuclainne four people on the bed eh? You'll need a very big bed and a very big room.
Yeah wonder if the big moment has happened for tootsieroll?

Alrite I better stop skivving and get back to work! Have a nice day everybody.

margiel

Oh my this thread is soooo hot!!

Im a bit blur and lost now... Anyway warm welcome to Mittens!

I went for my 2 wisdom and 1 extra tooth extraction today!! Dentist is really superb and gentle.Within 1/2hr all done, good thing my face wasnt swollen even 9hrs after the surgery.

2 more weeks left in Sg, time flies!!! Still have alot of stuffs to do.

Hey Emi *big hug* and sorry to hear the rings lost, chat with u when u are on msn.

Alright ladies, glad to see this networking expanding! Catch up again, feeling sleepy after medication.... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.....

babysheep22

Mrs N,

I'm skivving at work too, reading this forum! My umbrella broke this morning and I live 15 min walk to the train station - so was completely drenched by the time I got in.

Good to know that the weather isn't as severe in Nottinghamshire as predicted. Apparently it will last until Wednesday.

Any plans for the upcoming bank holiday weekend? I'm going skiing with a bunch of English mates for a week and can't wait!

Liz,

Yeah, H&M is in Europe. I live in London at the moment but am going back to Singapore end of this year.

My husband and I live apart at the moment (he's in SG, I'm over in London), and my parents have been nagging me incessantly to go back to SG!!

Margiel,

Hope you feel better soon. Can't be a pleasant feeling coping with the pain after wisdom tooth extraction.

Whereabouts are you living at the moment?

mittens

Hi Mrs N - Thank you for the piece of reality check! It is a PH in Russia today, not that it really matters to me cos I'm not working at the moment.
How long will you be in S'pore for? If you can....select and reserve your seats online!

Hi Margeil! Ewe! Wisdom tooth extractions! I've also had 2 taken out (on different occassions, but never in S'pore)...but I still do my dental visits in S'pore...better than in moscow. ;) 2 more weeks in S'pore? Where are you going back to?! Hope you're feeling better already in the meantime!

babysheep22!!! I did not realise that you and your hubby are not in London together! I hope the end-of year trip to S'pore means going back for good? If not, I will help your Mum nag at you too!

christie79

hallooooo!

Wah this thread is super fast!

Gina~Good to hear from you! How's bb and yourself? Yup..i have been doing so much shopping..think hb is going to faint when he sees the luggage...hehehe

Gina/Mittens/Cuclainne~Same as Mrs N, i dunno what's H&M, the 1st thought was also 'honey moon'! LOL

Mittens~Wow! You are so independent! I think if i were you i'll cry everyday missing my folks!! But i think your mum feels kinda insecure now...esp after the 10yrs dating and that you have been living away from home since you were 15. Did you show them photos of your htb's family? Im sure if you try to start the 'pulling together' of both families she might feel better and even be more positive. I remembered when i started dating my hb, over the internet, my folks were skeptial about it..about how are we going to maintain the relationship in cyberspace.
But over the 3 years..we managed to convince them with our actions (sending parcels, our frequent trips to meet up and telephone/messenger chats everyday) to show his sincerity & our committment to each other

I also agree with mrs N, even now we're married, my mum still misses me much and can't stop worrying about me..about how i'm treated over there and whether im ok or not..things like these..

Maple~yes im still in SG but No im not really shopping now hahhaha...does window shoppings count? LOL im dead broke!!

babysheep~Oh! Another long distance relationship! We know how it feels as most of us have been though it! It's tough! But you'll savour the sweetness after
Oh no..hope you'll take care and not catch a chill..

Margiel~1/2 hr only! Good for you! Take care recuperating!

Mrs N~Great to hear from you! The trip's great, an eye opener to me cos it's my 1st time there! Saw different 'class' people..from the very poor to the very rich..sigh...poor people living in slums (houses made of cardboards and zinc in very poor living conditions) and the richer people living in big houses...made me appreciate what i have more..

But all in all, this trip made me feel like a millionaire! WHY?? Cos it's the 1st time i used 170 000 on one price tag and i got to pay 7000 to have a bowl of noodles! hahaha

mittens

Hi Chrisl!

Sorry about H&M!...Just love the shop! I think I heard that it will open in S'pore this year?

Hehe...all my tears dried up from student days already.
No, kidding...actually I do feel sad often still, especially at airports.

Right now....I almost don't even dare to mention HTB's name to Mum. She will not accept anything as long as I'm not in Asia. Funny thing is that I met my HTB in Brunei of all places! HTB even flew in from Brussels to S'pore over a weekend just to meet my parents. Don't think she was touched at all.
I think time (and being near) will help. At least that's what we're hoping

babysheep22

Hi Mittens,

I am like you in some respects. Have lived away from my parents since I was 18 and went to university. I think that was the point of no return cos thereafter, I got my own place and shifted out!

My mum is always saying she misses me. She always ask me if can be less independent!

I've been abroad for nearly 3 years now. I do think of my husband and family from time to time but am coping well. We keep in touch by weekly phone calls.

I'm actually quite apprehensive about the prospect of moving back to SG as I can't imagine going back to the long working hours and overwork lifestyle.

I have to "learn to be a wife and daughter" again - i.e not do whatever I like whenever I want to. If my family found out I went backpacking across South America and hiking in Africa on my own, they will probably be sick with worry.

babysheep22

Mittens,

Just wanted to say one more thing - please persevere in your efforts to convince your mum... hopefully with time, she will come to realise your HTB is a good guy and grow to love and accept him.

I didn't succeed due to a variety of reasons then when I was with my English ex bf. Sometimes, I still wonder what could have been, because we really were soulmates.