Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Hi deluxe. I live in Melb for almost 2 years and I still cant find a proper permanent full time job. Before moving to Melb, I was in Adelaide for 6 years. I have no complaints financially, even if you work in the most minimun waged area. I dont really feel any pinch from the high tax. In fact, after tax deduction, I still am happy with my pay. The salaries in Australia are considerably high even when you compare it with middle europe.

eg: waitressing minimum wage is about $22 an hour. In uk, you're looking at 6 pounds. And in EU about 8€. Go figure. Work wont be an issue if you are not fussy. Its everywhere.

The suburbs in Melb, in my POV are better in the South Easterly areas. Best website to look is realestate.com.au. Chris and me surf in there like every other day. We are looking for an apartment ourselves from December onwards. Our fav suburbs are Armadale, Malvern, South Yarra and Caulfield. These areas are within the 15km distance from the city and are pretty and lined with trees and have parks. Furnished places are a rare find.

If you are worried about co² gas omissions and recyling, Oz is the place to be, the population is obsessed with the environment. Especially when we are in a high drought stage now. Which is fine, coz i am used to it after 7.5 years.

Maids are non existent in Oz. But Cleaners and Babysitters are. There are many around to help clean your house anytime on freelance basis. Most people are independent in rearing their kids in Oz and theres heaps of play areas and activities for the kids all year round.

I have no issues with racism, BUT there seem to be a lot of segregation in the community sometimes. And its horrid. The other tend to not want to mix with the other. Especailly those uni students. Its quite a worry. BUT somehow when it comes to food, everyone rojaks together. there is still hope, ya?

Well, good luck. :P

deluxe: in sweden, the tenants of the apartment building share a common laundry room which is usually in the basement. It has a big dryer machine (you can fit about 5 people in there) .. hahaha .. two tumble dryers, two washing machine, etc .. i wish they would have something similar here!

I'm now nursing a cold and a sore throat - argh! I was supposed to be resting at home but can never really do that .. I've managed to put away some lighter stuff (like picture frames, display items) for moving tonight ..

Elias insists we can do everything on our own but I am sure not going to help carry the tv bench or the coffee table - they're really heavy! We are also going to be buying our own shelving units and sofa and he insists we could fit everything in our car!! Siao ah! I know Ikea can flat pack but even they have their limits.

Oh well! If he insists on doing it himself let him be. You just sit down and be the 'boss'.

Hee! Hee! Shouldn't laugh because come to think of it I was just as 'siao'. In the first year when I had to move from student accomodation to private accomodation I also insisted on moving stuff myself. My new accomodation was about 20 mins away on foot. Took me all day to move (and it was only one room). Must have walked up and down hill at least close to 20 times. Was totally exhausted at the end of the day.

Happy moving.

de luxe we don't have a dryer either as it really eats up your electricity bill! We have those racks which we can put in front of the radiator to dry our clothes in winter. May be you can get one of those too and just put it by the window to ari dry since you are not allowed to hang stuff out in public.

Mrs N: Today he is singing a different tune - saying it would be nice to get someone to do it for us. I think he realises that there is no way he will be able to carry all the heavy stuff by himself esp. since we're living on the 2nd floor of a walk-up .. thank goodness there is a lift at the new place!

hahaha .. but i would have expected you to pack your belongings properly, right? elias said that we don't need more boxes than what we have stashed from his relocation .. he said we can pack some stuff, bring to new place, unpack and bring the empty boxes back to current place and start packing again .. wah, like this it will never end la!

Cuclainne me not that organised lah! At least Elias uses boxes when I moved I used plastic bags. Still have some stuff in plastic bags after moving in here for more than 2 years. I think I'll drive the hubby mad. Still unpacking especially all my university notes and papers. Don't really read them now but also feel sayang to throw. What to do!

Oh btw <font color="119911">Selamat Hari Raya</font> to you and family! Ditto to EJ and Riza.

Thanks for the greetings, Sharon.

Shalom quoted us $450 but since they dilly-dally with our enquiries, Elias got upset with them and decided not to use them .. so we had to rush to get new movers .. luckily for us, Elite quoted $300 and are sending the boxes over today so we can start packing for the move on Saturday. We also went shopping at Ikea for some essential stuff and having that delivered on the same day .. rush rush rush plus Elias' dad and stepmom are in Sg so we've been meeting up with them and frankly have very little time to even take a breather .. tired ..

Your moving 'saga' sounds very complicated!
But I'm sure it'll all work out fine. Is your FIL and StepMIL going to help you?

This thread has suddenly become quiet in the last week. Looks like everybody celebrating Hari Raya.
Hey wasn't it Nikki's Singapore wedding yesterday?

Mrs N: Yes and it sure got complicated yesterday when we got home and found packing boxes from both moving company at our place!! Apparently when my brother got there, Shalom had left their boxes outside our apartment so he brought them in. Then 30 mins later, the other mover brought their boxes - argh! it was such a mess! had to spend today trying to sort out the whole shebang ..

FIL and StepMIL have gone to Desaru today because rooms are fully booked almost everywhere and they only had room confirmation from Sat onwards - apparently there's some big law conference going on at the moment so there's a shortage of rooms right now but they'll be back on Sat to help us at the new place.

Oh, was her wedding yesterday?! Aiyah .. if I had known, I would have gate-crashed since it's so near my place ..!!

Goodness Cuclainne your house moving is like watching 'Sandiwara'! So many twists and turns.

It's good that your in-laws are coming to help you. I'm sure you could always do with an extra pair of hands.

Wow Singapore must be overcrowded then with lawyers!

apparently there are a few hundred delegates for the seminar but we haven't been to any of the hotspots ie Suntec City, Orchard Road so i'm not too sure ..

yah, we're moving on Saturday and already planning to celebrate the move with dinner at Brewerkz on Saturday night and Top of the M on Sunday night .. guess we won't be working on Monday .. hehehe ..

Sofi has been sent to my mom's place while we sort out all the packing - we're nearly there, just the few odd items that we need to figure out whether to throw away or to keep ..

Where's Nikki?

Hee! Hee! I see you've got your post moving in celebration well and ready. Oh well you certainly deserve a break after all the hassle you've been through.

We are in the middle of renovations at my workplace. Its pretty major as they've stripped of all the wallpaper and the flooring and knocked down a few walls. And guess what! There is no toilet because they are working on that too. Have to go to the hall next door to use the facilities.
Not very ideal when it's pouring with rain.

Maybe Nikki's on her honeymoon.

helllo girls! I thought after MIA for a week I will have lots to catch up but its very quiet in here. My trip was wonderful. I like Istanbul. very exciting city. Wish it can get $$$$ to clean up the place. It would be perfect.

Nisa, u still packing²? Ya, u better take care of urself and not overwork coz u have another baby in that tum² of yours!

Sharon..thanks for the greetings! it was so sweet of u. This year I only get 2 real hari raya cards in the post!hehehe.so funny and cute.
Happy renovating!

Chris is already confirmed to come to Oz. we were in vienna to get his 1 year visa to live in Melb. we got it within 5 days. its quite amazing. I think Visas seem to be easier for EU people.

Well, talk to u guys soon.

Hi EJ yah very quiet on here.

Maybe we should make more noises.

Oh that's great news about Chris. So now you have to pack all your barang barang. Will keep you busy for a while. How's the cupcake business?

Glad you enjoyed your holiday. The only thing I've seen of Istanbul is the airport.
Took Turkish Airlines back one year.

Harlow...

Hmm... not much happening here.

EJ Yeah, EU citizens have it a lot easier for visas almost everywhere...

Thks for ur helpful tips on Melb. Will take note. No issues abt no maids.. we dun have any and dun intend to have one anytime soon. Anyway, we've decided on Melb yesterday, so now gotta start the ball rolling... suddenly seems like there's so much to do!!! Alamak! Not to sure where to start...

Mrs N Wat a coincidence! My office's under reno too... the company's growing bigger so we took on an additional floor below. Now half the office has moved into the new one downstairs... while me and my dept have been designated to stay on the same level... BUT they are now renovating my level in sections... which means when it's my area's turn to be done next wkend, i've got to move my stuff somewhere temporarily then move it back when the new workstations are up... meanwhile all the mess is happening ard me... i can barely concentrate with the noise, the mess and the smell of paint and carpet glue floating ard...

cuclainne how did the move go? everything settled?

Hi deluxe yes seems rather quiet around here lately. Wonder why!

Oh tell me about the joys of renovation. The place is so dusty I can feel it in my mouth, nose, hair and clothes. Makes me want to vaccum myself when I get home.
We haven't got round to the painting and carpeting yet. Kind of hard to work in such a messy place. But will be better once its done. At least the heating's still on.

Oh so you'll be moving to Melbourne. You'll have Margiel and EJ for kakis then. You guys certainly have something in common ... your husbands are all German speakers.
When are you expecting to move?

Cuclainne should be nicely settled in her new place.

Hi Mrs N

Thanks for your advise in another threat, i must say you have been very active in this forum. : ) The messages here are so overwelming i guess i need quite a long time to go through all of them.

Anyway, sorry to interupt however would like to get some advise from this forum about addition name in IC and passport. My FH prefers that i include his family name after we get married and agrees that i should keep my own name as well for convenience. But my Christian name is not in my IC, do i need a deed poll to include my christian name or i can just include Sherry Axxx as married name?

Example

Original name : Tan Li hua
married name : Mrs Sherry Axxxx

Any knows whether ICA allows me to include Sherry without a deed poll?

Appreciate is some one could advise me.

Many thanks

Wah long time since im here..busy with homework &amp; online tv lah ;P hehehe

Cuclainne~Hope you're settling well into your new nest

Mrs N/Deluxe~hahah yeah thread's too quiet..wonder how the rest are.

Hi Sherry
My christian name 'christine' is also not in my birthcert so definitely have to do a deedpoll as what lawyer told me. So got that done and plus the marriage cert, go down to ICA and add in married name in both IC and passport. Hope this helps
is your HTB 'ang moh' too?

Hey ladies! Who's up for a gathering during CNY? Wanna meet up? Want?? want?

Me going home to SG! yippie! I miss Sg leh!

Hi Christine, Thanks for your advice that help, i was hoping to skip the hassle of going throu a lawyer guess that is unavoidable.

Yes, my HTB is a Rhodesian and we are getting married in a month's time. I'm quite new here i believe most of you lives overseas? this is quite an interesting and unique "girls chat" ya! keep up good work!

Hello everyone!!! I have been reading silently while busying with updating Multiply, housework, cooking as well as submitting final batch of documents to Immigration here.

Saw Nikki's wedding video at her site, very lovely and romantic ;) Hey Nikki! Anymore to view?????

Hi Deluxe, apologies for late reply on ur much earlier post. So far i din really encountered much racism here except sometimes u dun get friendly reactions from staff in shops (quite rare actually). But obviously to some ozzies, they always see u as part of mainland ppl, so as much as possible, i try not to associate myself in any form with them e.g. dressing, chatting/ laughing loudly as if everyone is invisible etc.... Sometimes when i see those young mainland students here, i felt disgraced by them! Can understand why chinese are being stereotyped in some ways! Btw we are looking at July 08 for the Sg wedding. Hmm nothing much to prepare i guess, besides the booking of venue and gown/ suit rental, makeup etc. Have u started with ur visa application to Melb?

Mrs N, how's the renovation at ur workplace? Still covered with dust heheheee ;p

Culcainne, sorry to hear the logistic mess. Hope u are well settled with ur all the barang barang in ur new house oredi.

Chrisl, homework or tv???? hahahaa ;) Any test or examination? But dun worry, since few of u in class, teacher has to pass all otherwise her passing rate will be below 50% and she will be sack!!! Heheeeee.. Btw which online tv are u watching????

Emi, congrates to Chris's visa! Super fast man!

Welcome Sherry, Ya u need a deed poll to add in English name. I did that b4 our marriage and b4 my Oz visa. So u are getting married in a month's time! Where will it be held? So excited, another wedding bell in the air

Hi Margiel, thanks! I was hoping for a shortcut to avoid running around legal firm and ICA jsut to add the english name. Ya, indeed my wedding is in a month's time and im still like a sotong not sure what to do. My wedding will be in The Regent Hotel.

Does anyone has a copy of MC speech to share?

Hi Sherry no lah! Only active in the last few days b'cos I managed to knock off early so can kaypoh this thread! That's the only good thing about the renovations can't really do very much.

I guess the rule of thumb is any name that is not on any official document i.e. BC, IC, marriage cert, you need to do a deed poll.

You are most welcome to join in the chatting over here. You are right most of us are living overseas but there's still a handful (or is it a fingerful now?) in SG. Wow your wedding is in a month's time how exciting. You must be very busy. Your HTB is from Rhodesia? Is that Zimbabwe?

Chrisl you must have been buried under piles of homework seeing that you 'disappeared' for a while.
So you managed to find a cheap flight to go back during CNY? Would love to meet up but unfortunately we are going back later for Easter b'cos then Paul can take more leave. You know for leave must maximise usage and minimise wastage.

Margiel yes I'm still covered in dust!
Might have to start calling myself the 'dustman/woman'!
I haven't been on multiply yet. Nikki has finally updated her site eh? Will have to nose through it later. Ha! Ha! She kept us all in suspense for more than a month.

hello. sorry mrs N aka Dustwoman ( reminds me of ziggy stardust), i was kinda busy last weekend to make some noise in here... now can?
kao_kiss.gif
hehehha

Chris just informed our stressed landlord about moving out for good and we spent the whole weekend cleaning up these tiny cube so that potential new tenants can come and look at it. 1 coming in an hour and 3 tomorrow. I've never seen this apartment looking so immaculate....hehehhahah. We are both so careful not to dirty this place its funny, given our track record on how to 'trash' this place worst first! hehhehahaha

welcome sherry, i am adding my husband's sirname when i get to spore in dec into my passport in brackets first.... if it becomes an issue still, I will officially change it!

hehehahha. deluxe, yeah.. our 'german' spouses will be elated in Melbourne! hehehahhahehe. I wonder whats the attraction of german and melbourne, when the real german town is actually in Adelaide, its called hahndorf, situated in the adelaide hills region!

Wow Chrisl, you are already confirmed to be in spore during CNY? thats very advance! hehehe. yeah nothing beats celebrating with ur family and friends back home. Something i missed so much this time around for Hari Raya. *sigh*

Margie, thanks darling.. heheh heard u hanging ourt with deb again this week. Sounds like food party to me! heheheh Yeah, we saw Niki's melodramatic wedding slides with music last night. Her Desaru shots were beautiful. who is the flower girl's mum, anyone from in here? Maybe Niki will be back in here soon.

You're welcome to join us Sherry! The more the merrier mah! Though not all lives in Sg at the moment but we gather sometimes though. Like that time some of us met in Orchard for dinner! Right gals? Wah can't believe that's a few months back already!Oh another nice wedding!!! Congrats! Yippie i love weddings! Wah im kinda facinated by weddings these days cos they reminded me of my own! hahaa

The name changing is very easy, just takes the lawyer about 1-2 days then call you down to sign and volia you can bring it to ICA already. Some law firms offer online deed poll and ard $80-$100

Where do you intend to live after married? Cos for me i had to relocate so in a way it was very rushing for me to do all stuffs (names and packing of stuffs/sending parcels) withnin 2 weeks after married. Think if you can maybe leave it after your wedding so you have more 'free hands' to do wedding preps? Also you can get your marriage cert then go together with your deed poll so not too rushing loh..

You can try this http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/26229.html?1191478196 for MC speech

Mrs N Wahahah! yah lor on the pretense of homework..while secretly watching online tvs!
hehehe i understand that
Im trying to source for the flights now and i got a contact from a singaporean gal here, she gave me a number of a guy who owns a travel agency here so can see what i can get..Oh and also clare and i were newly invited to write in a column in the newsletter for overseas singaporean here in norway. So i think it's good to occupy my time with

Margiel wahhahaha! actually not that much homework lah maybe more tv that's true! Im slowly turning into a couch potato in boring norway! im watching the Hk series on u tube but problem is that they take time to load leh

EJ Yeah confirm! *grin* cos i miss SG so much! And my mum's cooking. And most of all, CNY is important for families to gather and do visitations. I specially miss that eve's dinner gathering for steamboat &amp; live tv..yum yum
and oh btw, did i forgot to add you in multiply all these while? I blur lah! Will add you soon!

hullo ladies .. finally back to the office after taking two days of leave to unpack boxes and clean up the place - we still have 9 more boxes to go!! plus my FIL and his wife came to singapore - yes, while we were moving home - they went to desaru for some r&amp;r and he managed to get himself sick by drinking water from the tap. argh!! so here we are, moving home and worried about whether we should just dump everything and go to desaru to see him .. thankfully he got better and they're now back in sg and flying back this evening ... so drama! will write more soon ladies but will have to do some work for now .. hehehe ..

Hi Ladies, thanks for your precious advise. I guess im little too late with my addition of English name. We are moving downunder in couple of months time depending on the VISA application. "HTB" has already submitted my original name for VISA application,hopefully there wont be an issue later on. In fact im already ROM so most of my documents are in my original name, i didn't know much until i came to know about this forum and get to know quite a lot precious information from here. I hope is not too later.

My mum is a semi traditional type, she won't recognize our marriage until we go through the proper chinese ceremony, so in a way im still addressing my hubby as "HTB", its kind of weird but just to please her my hubby doesn't mind. phew!!: )

Chris : i have checked around a few legal firms, many has quoted $120 there is a particular one charging $250 for a deedpoll. I think is abit outrages. Fortunately through a friend's recommendation, i manage to get a quote at $80.

Mrs N : well for now im still managing .. actually didn't want to think about it. I have been getting so stressed up with the wedding that i have been picking on my poor hubby to vent my frustration. Feel sorry for him. I took his advise to put the wedding preparation aside and spend more time on other things to keep myself distracted i must say that is quite useful haha... so im kind of in "switch off" mode on weddings.

hi ladies !!!

me back to sg last sat !! and started eating liks a pig , now i have gained 1 kg !! haha!!

nisa, u seem so busy....could be difficult to meet you ??

gina: how long are you going to be in sg for? yah a bit busy this week cos i'm back at work for the moment so have to schedule everything right now .. today send FIL and his wife at the airport, tomorrow evening pick up some more stuff at the old apartment, hen party on friday night (yah, i'll the old mother hen - hahahaha) ..

Cuclainne goodness what tough luck for your FIL to fall ill while on holiday. But at least things seem to be moving on the 'moving house' saga. Well at least it's 9 boxes not 10.
Everyday there will be fewer boxes to unpack. Your life very happening. Enjoy the hen night.

Gina you still in sg? Thought you were going to be in sg for a day or two before heading off to Madrid? Happy eating.

Chrisl so are you and Clare setting up an 'agony' aunt column in the newsletter for S'poreans living in Norway?
Hee! Hee! That's nice that you have a newsletter to keep in touch with each other.

Seems that quite a few of you who are moving or have moved downunder.
Sherry yah that was good advised from your 'HTB'. Just relax and take things easy.

I would have thought there shouldn't any issues so long as you have the relevant documents. Why not contact the body who is handling your visa application and see what they say. They haven't issued you with the visa yet have they?

EJ of course can be noisy lah! The more noise the better. Ha! Ha! Like real and yesterday the knocking and the sawing and the sanding and the drilling were all driving me up the wall.
When I got to work yesterday the builders had removed the door to my office.
My little sanctuary has been invaded so now I'm even more exposed to the 'building work' elements. If I was dusty before am even more so now!

Mrs N: yes, such a change when i didn't have anything to do .. hahahaha .. he is feeling better now .. elias kept saying he's so stupid to have drunk all that water (apparently it was several litres) straight from the tap .. they flew home yesterday evening and we bought them some pineapple tarts and pandan chiffon cake from bengawan solo cos they love those ..

so are you wearing ear plugs in the office then?

chrisl: i will be here .. i think .. i would be delivering just before cny, i think ..

Sorry that i havent been logging onto the forum for a while...having a wedding is never too easy peasy a chore...more like a mad rush to me than anything...lol

delux, thanxs for the well wishes =) ..we would be staying in Germany for the time being but we may move to HK should he decides to take up the job offer there ...but fr the looks of it, he doesnt seems too keen ...oh well, i dont hv much issue staying in Germany for the time being...at least i could bother Joyce as &amp; when i like ; )

Nisa, am really sorry that i didnt manage to read the forum any earlier than now...or else i would hv definitely "force" you to gatecrash my wedding..lol..The 3 weeks in Spore were practically a mad rush ...coz first we hv to rush to Desaru for our photoshoot &amp; we hv to tie some loose ends with the hotel &amp; etc etc ...the list juz goes on! ..Am really glad that we can safely say we have been there &amp; done it all...lol
When is baby number 2 arriving btw?? ...Have you both decided on a name as yet??

Emi,
The flower girl in Germany, you mean?? ...She's a mix...her mum's Thai &amp; her dad's German...from that pic, you can see that the mum's actually holding onto the train of my dress...&amp; am sure if u look through the slideshow, you will catch her parents in there ;o) ...She's quite a doll, isnt she?...Her name's Cecile &amp; she's ab 3years old &amp; she seems to like my hubby quite a whole lot....competition!! darn!! LOL

Mrs N,
on our honeymoon??! ...i think there might be a moon but definitely no honey...lol ..coz Danny says we would hv to let his bank account heals after these 2 bombs from the weddings!!! Besides we didnt even manage to recover for the chinese banquet thingy! Heavy man!!

Sherry,
Welcome to the club =) ...sorry, i cant help much ab the deed poll thingy ...coz i dont hv a christian name ...i have my husband's last name included in my IC too..i juz need to provide ICA my original marriage cert &amp; pay $60..they will update the necessary changes on yr ID....for e.g
my original name's Teo Li Sa &amp; now they add another line benearth it stating: Mrs Behnke-Teo Li Sa ...Hope that helps a bit ..

As for the MC speech ...perhaps you could leave behind yr email address so that i could email it to you??

&amp; to everybody else who leave me such sweet comments over at multiply...THANK YOU, THANK YOU =) ... thank you for all the lovely well wishes &amp; the very nice comments...*curtsy curtsy* ;o)

Sherry~Wah the rates range so much difference! The price you got now seems reasonable
Think it's the cheapest one can get for deedpoll. Hey take it easy for your preps! need any advices for wedding just shout! Cos im sure most of us here can chip in a bit ;P

Mrs N~Hope you can 'recover' from the trauma soon hehehe..when will the renovation be all finished?

Gina~Wah so good!!! Im counting down now for my turn heheheheh ;)

Nisa~yeah, have you thot of name for pumpkin yet? Wah excited for you! You'll be delivering in the same hospital again i supposed? Maybe till then CNY can visit you and see sofi and her bb sister!!

Nikki~yes the gal is such a doll! I read from one of the forum that a mixed bb (of a chinese&amp;caucasian couple) had 1st dark blue eyes then it changes to light grey then finally to light brown! Wah siah! Made me think much leh! *wink* hahaha

Cuclainne oh dear, your FIL must have been really thirsty. I think europeans are used to drinking straight from the tap. Paul's the same. He thinks its funny when I drink boiled water. Don't know why but boiled water seem to have a nicer taste.

Ha! Ha! The earplugs is a good suggestion.

Chrisl think I heard that one about the eye colour its from the overseasingaporean forum isn't it? Hee! Hee! I think it is also true for hair colour. Two of my uncles had blondish hair when they were born (my granny's half german) but it became darker brown when they were older.

The trauma will continue for at least another month. Now I have to shower twice a day which is a bit crazy as the weathers so cold. So much for saving on the water bill during the winter.

Poor Nikki! Oh dear were people that stingy at the banquet? Guess you just have to find some bees to make you a pot of honey.

Margie Not sure if the visa app started already, all i know is that he's sent them a scanned copy of the signed contract, dunno if they would act based on that as they wanted the original doc returned by mail.

we've gotten a relocation quote, pretty ex, more than $6K when we're only bringing a 3 seater sofa and other normal stuff, no other furniture!!

M now trying to sell my current furniture...

Also trying to book flights as year-end is always tough..

Have tendered my resignation at work without much hoo-ha... boss was "devastated" but already saw it coming. He tried to convince me to stay but i doubt this will happen.

EJ mabbe we cld do a meet-up once we've all settled into our Melb homes... we'll be staying temporarily at my niece's appt while she's back in SG for summer hols. Have you ever taken German lessons in Melb?

Mrs N Poor dust-covered you... my office reno has ended on Sat.. now left with the odds and ends to complete. But the reno has disrupted our work so much that i think i've got at least 1-2 wks backlog to clear
gonna be late nights for a while.

sherry Hi! Welcome! which part of aust are u moving to?

Haish..... Mrs N, showering twice a day in winter UK is a big NONO. maybe u shud dry shower! heheheh.still shower, what!

I havent drink boiled water for so long. I love the Austrian Alp water... it taste so amazing, crystal!

A friend of mine a Chinese girl married a South African, her second daughter have grey eyes.... and shes like a year now. She hopes it stays grey. SOOOOOOOOOO beautiful. I think i cant get coloured eyes kids lah.. both of us brown eyes, how? hehehehe make them wear contacts later? hehehahahahehehe.

deluxe..yeah no worries, will do! Margie and I shall wait for u with our German husbands! hwehehehaha. Is your husband pure German? i cant believe it cost u 6k to send ur sofa set. I think with 6k, u can buy a new set plus dining too! It doesnt sound right. When will u be in Melbourne and wheres your niece's apartment? we will have to also find a place when we reach Australia too, in December!

German classes? They are almost everywhere, theres lotsa language schools in Melb. When u reach here, you can start enquiring. Normally prices are regulated so its more of the teachers, who u are comfy with?

Mrs N, ya thanks.. been staying away from wedding preps for few days that definately helps but was even more stressed nearer to the wedding date as more guests are backing out for not able to attend our wedding dinner. I guess that's the prob when a wedding is on popular date and during school holiday. sigh...

Hi Spiderbaby, thanks i wish i could have seen your message earlier, i went to a lawyer to get my English name added, after a long discussion with the lawyer i still didn't get it right. My original plan was to include my english name infront of my original name. eg) Sherry Ng XXX XX after having it done in the deed poll my hubby told me that's the wrong way it should be NG XX XX Sherry. From his point of view Surname is always either at the back or right in front. Well, i do get a bit stressd over it that he should have told me right from the beginning not after a deed poll. I guess he's just not impress with me for not giving up my own surname.

Now i have to get back to the laywer and get it changed. fortunately, there is no extra cost.. i could have done it like yours to save the trouble and cost.

BTW, can i take a look at your multiply as well? thanks that's appreciated, here's my email : [email protected]

Hi Chris, Yeah i found some at ripped off price. I notice some lawyers are not even interested to quote. Sure, if i need help i will give you a shout. My greatest problem now is my guests attendance, at least 60% not confirmed yet. i keep my finger crossed.

Hi Deluxe, Thanks! We are moving to Perth. Are you some where there as well?

Hi Sherry, actually i put my English Name in front like what you had 1st done e.g. Margie Lee XXX XXX . So far there is no problem here as long as u fill the Given name and Family name correctly in its respective boxes. Have you changed your passport and IC oredi?

Hey Deluxe! Wow 6K is not cheap, did they qoute you by container? Try courier co. like Fedex, DHL. I used Singapore Post as most courier are quite tough with Personal Effects (UPS doesnt even accept cothings??!!!), after comparing, i still find S'pore Post service efficient and cheapest ;) My 8 big boxes arrived Melb in 5days time (Pick up on Thur and delivered on following Tue). Have u submitted application forms to Oz Immigration? What Visa are you applying? No prob, we shall arrange a meet up 2gether when u are here, together with Emi and all our German hubbies ;)

Mrs N u are brave man! 2 showers in a cold day Wowww... Hope your dust 'wind' will end soon

Chrisl, interesting to read about the BB's eye colour. Lovely

Gina, enjoy ur Makan Trip back home!!!! Eat more more ;p

Cuclainne, how's ur shifting? At least can sit back and relax now while doing your unpacking slowly

Nikki, so what's next after your wedding? BB plan?? heheee

Okie Girls, Have a good week!

Christine,
you dont hv to think much ..juz do much will do ...LOL ;o) ...lotsa baby dust to you &amp; am sure soon you will hv to throw some "red eggs" over ; )

Mrs N,
yeap...some people came with their whole family of 5 &amp; only gave about 200bucks! &amp; some came alone &amp; gave only 40bucks! *slap forehead* ...but then again, there are of course people who are nice enough to give 500bucks even though they hv called &amp; said they wont be able to attend as they are on holiday...oh well, Danny was kinda expecting it to be so...or at least he was well prepared! I guess it could hv been worse...that's why we aient really complaining...lol

Hi Sherry,
you could juz go our wedding webbie...under the photo albums section, it will lead u straight to the multiply... http://daniellisa.weddingannouncer.com/photoalbums.html

hv fun viewing &amp; hope to hear some of yr thoughts ;o) ...

Best of luck with the attendance thingy...keeping my fingers cross for you too! =)

Margie,
yes, u couldnt hv been more right...lol ..but then again, i dont really wanna stress him out on that for the time being..he has after all spent quite a bomb on the 2 weddings liao...we might juz wait for another couple of months ba ...hence after you ; )

hi ladies !!!

i didnt bring my laptop back with me hence cant log on often..

i went to see the doc last week and he confirmed there is a 'little potato' baking in my 'oven'..haha!! its 10 weeks now :-) coz doctor wanted to see me again in 3 weeks times so i have decided to stay in sg till christmas day then fly to madrid after that...poor hubby has to cook and clean the house himself !!

nisa, so now no hurry to meet up..lets meet up when you have setttled at your new apt :-)

been eating so much for the 1st 2 weeks, i think i got indigestion so now dare not to eat too much!! now can only eat small meals every now and then...

margie, have you tried the red bean paste yet? you like it?

nikki, dont know is it the pc got problem or the multiply..when i watched the slide, it will stop every few seconds and then continue and then stop again...so till now, havent finished watching the slides !!

Chrisl...i think most probably you will be the next one annoucing the good news !!;-)

Hey Gina,
CONGRATULATIONS!!!...Darn, am soooo excited &amp; happy for you...I couldnt help beaming away!! LOL
...ooooh soooo sweet...Gina's gonna have a BABY!!! *jump jump jump*
... yea, better eat small but frequent meals rather than big meal at one go ya ...esp now that u hv a baby...must take good care...eat as much as u would like..juz in moderations ya!!...err, dont drink too much watermelon or pineapple juice...not sure how true lah but that's what i always heard my mum said...kekeke ...aiyo...am really really thrilled man!!! ok, i better stop blabbering liao!! lol

as for the slideshow thingy hor ...since u are a member of multiply..u could download the original instead??...maybe that helps?? ...anyhow take yr time lor!

a big big BIG CONGRATULATIONS once agian ya
...must look after yrself &amp; bb well ...juz sleep &amp; eat, eat &amp; sleep ..&amp; be happy ...blow some baby dust to me as &amp; when u can ya ...we havent quite try as yet coz he said has to let his bank account heals first! *slap forehead* ...oh well, i would definitely need as many baby dust as possible ...LOL

big big BIG HUGZ to you, Gina &amp; the bb of course ;-D

Gina~Hey CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wah so happy&amp;excited for you too! I thought it was my eyes when i 1st read your words..then i read it again to confirm! hahaha! Anyway yeah as what nikki said my mum also says that not too much 'cooling' stuffs..and the painting hse or sitting on bed cutting stuffs like that..did your mum advise you on those?? Im not sure how that works but as they say it's better to believe then not to..

nowadays when HB and i talked about it, and i told him that it's in the chinese supersition all these follows..he said it's plain silly...oh well i dunno lah..when it comes nearer then we shall see..

As for now im on the pill for all this time..maybe i'll finish up the next packet and see how..actually would like bb to be born in june cos HB and my birthday's in june..now too late for june bb hahahah..

Nikki~hahah do much?? LOL! you hah! but see gina's earlier then me to throw red eggs over! hey you also have to 'work hard' too now then..mayeb some accidental news huh?? LOL *WINK* then we have to 'migrate' over to motherhood forum hahaha..hey in fact i've already been there to see see cos it's good to prepare oneself physically too..over there are tips&amp;advices from previous MTBs and they say it's good to eat more folic acid and other vitamins etc blah blah...ah yio! so much things to do pre-pregnancy..

and yeah! Same experiences here..wonder why some people so 'buay zi tong'! Tot they're eating in 'zi char' stall meh??!

Sherry~attendance? When's your AD? Cos some ppl will only confirm last minute say ard 1 week before..so it's better to call them again to confirm nearer to the date. But from what my wedding co ordinator's experiences, there're surely be 'slightwash' on the AD..and sure enough, for my case, it's ard 3 pax..

Mrs N~Hope you're not freezing too much with all those showers! Oh you have to pay for water there? Over here it's only electricity have to but not for water.

deluxe~ that's steep! Cos i paid $6k for my 15boxes of barangs via singpost..can consider to get new furniture there..

wow looks like so many ladies here going australia!

Nikki: the second baby is due on 5 Feb 2008 but i heard that the gynae might induce earlier as the gap between the first pregnancy and this one is a bit too close (considering that i went for c-section) and he probably wouldn't want to wait until the baby is full term and big! i just told elias about this when i found out and he got a bit worried as he's going back to sweden for a vacation in dec and didn't want the baby to arrive before he gets back ..

Chrisl: nope, still thinking of a name .. i have come up with a few possibilities but nothing is confirmed yet cos i keep changing my mind! hahaha .. yes, that would be great .. you will get to see both of them!

Mrs N: elias only drinks the ice mountain bottled water here, even at home .. at the rate he's guzzling water, i won't have time to boil and let the water cool .. he can drink 2 1.5 litre bottles in one night! that's why my colleagues say that if ever there is a water ration in sg, they'll know where they can get bottled water cos we usually order 5-6 boxes of those per month!

Margiel: we've only been at the new place for about 3 weeks now and already elias is complaining about how much stuff we own and how we would have to move to an even bigger place once the second baby arrives .. aiyah! in order to appease him, i've had to do some major spring cleaning to my wardrobe, etc .. gave away most of my magazines, clothes and bags. but i really love the kitchen at the new place .. yesterday i spent almost the entire day in there cooking meals for sofi and elias .. so tired but worth it! i couldn't really cook at the old place cos the kitchen was not that big and i didn't have a big area to work with ..

Gina: CONGRATULATIONS!!! So happy for you, now Sofi and pumpkin will have someone to play with!! Yay! Your hubby must be overjoyed yah .. never mind that he has to do all that extra stuff .. hehehe .. if you're feeling up to it, why don't you come to Sofi's birthday party this coming Sat? it's a bit last minute i know but elias didn't show much enthusiasm for it two months ago so i've only started planning things last week when he finally decided to ask what we're doing for her .. yikes! i'll pm you the address ok .. it'll be at my mom's place.

Nikki/ Chrisl: when will be your turn, ladies?

Congrats Gina! Wow! Everyone I know is pregnant or have kids. Very good sources to tap for my research in the near future! Hee hee.... So ladies, would it be possible to share about your experiences?

Culcuainne, My Goddaughter and another good friend's babies are also due in Feb! Feb babies!

And the rest of the ladies, work hard he! Ke ke ke ke.... ;D

Hi ladies. Congrats Gina! (funny to see me in this thread eh).. So, you'll be living in Canberra after birth? Where will you be delivering your baby, SG or Aust.? Confinement?

Actually I've been reading the past posting and think you ladies are WAY ahead of my 'league'
I am already tapping on all your comments and ideas!

Way to go, mixed babies *I told my HTB, I'll be so jealous of them as they will be SO beautiful*

Great to hear the good news Gina!! Congratulations!! 10 weeks oredi? Wow which means that when we met up, i had actly 'met ur little baby' So sweet
Keep us updated more ok... Have not started on the Red Bean Paste that u bought but been looking at them almost everyday when each time i open my pantry hehee.... Would like to make some red bean buns tho ;)

Wow Cuclainne, so fast ur hubby is thinking of upsizing the house oredi! Maybe better to leave some of ur cartons unpacked if u dun need them. Great to have large kitchen and definitely that will give u lots of space to prepare ur ingredients
Enjoy ur cooking!

Gina: you didn't activate your pm so i can't send you the address to my mom's place for Sofi's party .. sms me ok, i think you have my number right??

Elizabeth: when will it be your turn?

Miss Lala: no need to be jealous la .. have one yourself and let others be jealous of you for having the babies .. hahaha ..

margiel: we have two boxes unpacked in storage - one containing all my CDs and the other, my shoes .. elias said that if i don't need anything from those boxes by the end of the lease or when it's time for us to move again, he'll just chuck them out

Omg Cuclainne, abit sayang to chuck them out esp shoes leh, unless u dun wear them anymore lah. Probably CDs still ok, u can always copy them to ur PC or download from internet anytime hehee...

margiel: i've already thrown away most of my shoes when i moved out from my family home .. elias said the ladies of the house are like imelda marcos .. hahahaha .. anyways i can't wear these shoes now cos my feet have swollen up from the pregnancy so i've been saving them for when i'm able to wear them again but this man ah .. he completely refuses to let me take them out from the box cos he doesn't want the clutter (i agree la) but that doesn't equate to me not wanting them anymore right .. boo hoo hoo ..

i don't mind downloading my CDs to the computer .. that's why we got the portable hard drive for but then again ah, this man promised that when we moved, he was in charge of all the electronic stuff and two days before we returned the keys to the old apartment to the landlady, i found my hard drive still in the cupboard!!!! i'm so worried that if i download everything on that, HE will misplace it!! argh!

hi ladies !!

thanks for all your best wishes !! :-) Lotsa baby dusts to those planning to have 'junior' soon !!

we were quite surprised we bingo so fast...coz we only tried in July and in August we strike ..haha!! thought will take 6 mths to a year to have good news...have 'all day sickness', headaches, feel like throwing up whole day, tiredness...very jialat, heard these symptons will go away after the 1st trimester, better be true !!so uncomfortable..

went to see the doc the last time and he kept saying 'for my age, ......' coz i consider high risk pregnancy due to my age (i am 38)so need to go thru a few more tests than those giving birth before 35..i guess age does matter when comes to pregnancy,so ladies try to have your 1st child before 35 if possible as its better for both the mother and child, after that, its ok to have 2nd child after 35...

nisa, so sorry, just log on now so cant go to sofi's brithday party ..would like to play with her and touch her so maybe i will have a girl too!! haha!!sofi so beautiful ..i tried to activate the pm thingy but couldnt..will try again..i did have your mobile but i have deleted the email, isnt possible for you to send me an email with your mobile again? thanks:-)

doc said my estimated delivery date is 1st June 2008..so Chrisl to have June baby, you will have to 'strike' in late august or Sept..so maybe go for other mth's baby?;-)

nikki, tell your dear hubby, a baby will 'come out' only after 10 mths so for the next 10 mths, he can try to save as much as possible!! so no excuse for that !! haha!! better act fast !!

most probably i will give birth in sg, mount Alvenia. It's winter in australia in June, so cold, so think better give birth in sg and can cater confinement food too...

i wanted to eat 'rojak' cannot eat coz got the prawn paste:-( wanted to eat sea cocount dessert last nite, also cannot eat, my mom said too 'cooling'..damn sian..but no choice lor...must tolerant..

thanks again for all the 'congrats' and i hope to hear more good news here !! the more the merrier !!

hi hi ladies!

Logged in here cos BIL's over to watch some sci-fi shows whith HB which im not interested of..yucks! i made dinner for all including PIL and BIL as they came over today for a gathering
wah they're thumbs up with the fried wantons and semi fusion dinner i made
heheheh! looks like my time online on the foodie websites were not wasted ;) hey practice really makes perfect!

Anyway wah Nisa same here i got so many shoes and when i was packing my stuffs in SG, i threw so many of them
so sad hor? And i remembered my brother was standing beside me said 'WAH FINALLY YOU THROW EH!!' think it's a woman thingy lah..cos we got to choose which pair and colour to go with the outfit mah hor?? kekeke..Unlike men shoes and clothes...'rather boring' is what i told my HB

But will keep in mind what you've said that the feet will expand after preggy..hmmm...oh and elias is going back sweden for christmas so you're going to be alone with sofi and pumpkin right? Better take care! Oh btw on your question...hehehe..i think im still not that ready cos im kinda scared of the pain ..in fact im on the pills now (heard it's not too good and im considering another birth control method coming jan cos pills finishing) but anyway im still preparing my self mentally..and reading the motherhood forum for now to prepare and see lah..cos gaute already asking for a 'junior' for his christmas present

Long time no hear! Hey so how's things in Aus? Lala?

Eh Gina why prawns paste cannot eat? You have any other cravings? I remembered my aunt told me when she was preggy with my cousin, she craved for oranges all the time! and then if she didn get to eat it then she was so cranky...yikes! Thinking of that hope it don't to happen to me..Doh! don't think will have bb born in june already lah..im too late! Got to wait after next year then hahah!