Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Mrs N, heheheeh .. we only clean this place up when we know we're going to have visitors .. there are books, magazines, receipts, letters, bills, toys, etc all over the place .. elias and i were just discussing the possibility of procuring the services of a cleaning company to come maybe twice a month to do the cleaning .. hahahaha .. i don't know how we're going to handle moving when we do..

What a busy forum this is! I tried reading past threads to get an impression of the regulars but I think I'm still lost =)

Let me introduce myself: I'm Zhenlin and my German boyfriend H and I are hoping to get married soon. We met playing badminton while I was at college in US and he was working there, but now we're doing the long distance thing since he got transferred back and I got into grad school.

Unfortunately grad school and LDR just isn't my cup of tea so right now we're looking into getting ROM-ed in Germany and working there. I guess the whole thing is quite scary esp since I thought it'll be at least another 2 years till marriage with my grad school in the way, but I'm sooo glad to find this forum esp with the shared experience of moving to country with a different language (and frequently bad Chinese food!)

Is anyone in Germany working right now? I was wondering if you have language problems at the workplace - H (my boyfriend) insists that all Germans have learnt English and should speak it pretty well, esp in my field (healthcare) but so far my experiences are similar to yours, that many of the Germans I've met speak pretty bad English!

BTW - I'm learning German through this company called Rosetta Stone, and H is learning Chinese through the same company. They basically provide you a software with interactive lessons and it's pretty fun. There's no translation provided, only words, phrases and pictures, so you kind of learn it like how you learnt your mother tongue. The good thing is, you learn it at own time own target.

Anyway, it's nice to join this forum and hopefully meet some Singaporeans in the same boat - will definitely make the move over a little easier knowing that others have been there, done that!

P/S: We'll be living in Wilhelmshaven, which is about 1 hr away from Bremen, near the North Sea.

-ZL

Hi Hi!

Sure Nisa! Would love to finally meet you up! After all these time corresponding thru mail, sms and here hehe..And also Mrs N-thanks! Im feeling much better! Hope to meet you here! &Georgina would like to meet up too leh!

But apart from a meetup with my JP (She has not confirmed the day/time) as well as a family meet up for my late grandma's passing anniversary..think should not be a problem ladies

Oh Welcome ZhenLin! Im still in a LDR with my Norwegian guy (now still boyfriend hehe..) but going to tie the knot this June finally after 3 years of LDR! *PHEW*

Yes! It'll be over soon girl!

hi zhen lin, welcome to the thread ..

christine, that would be super .. i know we've always tried to meet up but there's always something that will crop up at the last minute .. come over, ok ..

helo zheng lin, welcome. Yes. Its actually fun in here talking and sharing thoughts. heheh. My partner is german too and I was in grad school, but taking an intermission now. Chris wants to get out of europe, had enough apparently. He is coming over to oz next week and we are getting married 4 days after, and then unfortunately he will be going back to austria, thats where he currently lives for the next couple of months. He will then move to OZ with me permanently in December after our Singapore wedding.
Its LDR all the way even after marriage but its ok lah like Chrisl said, it will be over soon... hehehe and is it worth it? As MRs N said YES!

Most germans can speak english.... heheheh trust me on that, even if the english is broken, you will understand them. its something to do with the language!
I am teaching Chris English coz the first time i met him, we were like practically doing lotsa of body language and hand signals.... he is fluent now but still thinks i am the only one who can understand him, and the funniest part is he sometimes speaks singlish.... very cute!

Hi there gals!

The HB is away in Long Beach USA this week so have the whole place to myself... good or bad, i dunno. I enjoy the peace and cleanliness but on the other hand, I miss him lots too and the bed feels empty. Guess can't have my cake n eat it... *sigh* After recently reading this psychology bk, I've come to realise that I've a deep seated fear abt being abandoned.. something abt my childhood experiences etc etc... hence, i now understand my fear whenever he travels cuz I always seem to be scared that something will happen to him while he's away. Knowing why helps a little cuz I dun feel like i'm going mad as it's so irrational but it doesn't stop me from feeling that way either...

Yah cuclainne it's WGS again.. time flies... how i wish i can wake up and it's May when WGS maddness is over... Got the packages from the zoo, surprisingly not that ex and they have lotsa themes that the regular hotels dun.. plus i know the pple there so can possibly get a better deal... prob by being extra nice to the chefs.. hee hee

Mrs N the world gourmet summit (WGS) is bascially 3 wks of fine dining food & wine events, where Michelin starred chefs and renowned wineries are brought in to showcase their skills. There are also 2 stars from the Discovery Travel and Living Channel. This year it will be Kevin Braunch - the thirsty traveller and keith floyd. We had Anthony Bourdin and Ian Wright the last 2 years. It's opened to the public and Amex cardholders are entitled to priority bookings and discounts. There are sessions like culinary classes, wine tastings, wine dinners, gala dinners, charity dinner, masterchefs dinners, etc... if you are interested, just check out the website www.worldgourmetsummit.com, some of the events are already fully booked... it's worth it to attend as most of the time, it'll be cheaper to have a Michelin starred meal during WGS as u get wines paired with each course and u dun need to pay for transport e.g. car/plane and accommodation to visit the chef at his/her restaurant. The winemakers are also required to showcase some of their rarest wines as part of the deal so it's really a good opportunity to get to taste some fantastic stuff that usually is not on the market or costs a bomb. If you or hubby are whisky fans, McCallan is showcasing a selection of their Fine and Rare whiskies as well.

Welcome to the thread Zhenlin... I'm married to a German who has lived here for 7-8 yrs. He's from Kiel (quite close to you) and we're going back for a visit this summer. My husband used to play badminton too, he was in the badminton club back home when he was young. We never went through LDR as we met here and he's worked here throughout but i've been through 2 LDRs with others and it was a major major pain. So can understand how you feel. From my prev experience, all Germans learn English at sch but whether they actually speak or have the confidence to speak English depends on how often they get to use the language. So i guess you'll meet a spectrum of pple along the way. I personally find that the more well-educated and well-travelled ones will speak to me in English and will be mindful that I dun understand that much German whereas, those from small villages/towns who rarely travel internationally are quite the opposite.

Someone else on this thread, Priscilla is now married to a German and lives in Stuttgard but she hasn't been here for a while. Guess she's busy learning German and settling in...

I've lived in France for 3 yrs, and could hardly speak a word of French when I first went there. It was tough at first, plus the French tend to be rather racist in general... in Paris there were times when one of those homeless pple came up to me and started yellng vulgarites at me, calling me a slut and the equivalent of such things. It certainly wasn't easy but eventually I got through. Looking back, I think the years that I spent in France were some of the best years of my life and that the lessons I've learnt there are those that I'll never forget. Given a chance to do it all over again, I will. So do rest assured that you'll pull through and it will make you a stronger person.

Do share your thoughts here cuz it's really supportive and helps to know that there are pple who have gone through or are going through the same things as you... All the best!!

de_luxe, i feel the same way you do, girl ..

oh, thanks for letting me know about the whisky bit, Elias is big fan. oh, kevin brauch and keith floyd for this year .. ooooh now you got me all interested. hehehehe .. stockholm has two michelin star restaurants, i think and we were considering going to one of them when we go up in spring .. but now that you've mentioned it, maybe this is a good opportunity for us to have the meal here instead during WGS.

Yes, where is Priscilla and Elizabeth? I tried to go to Pris' blog but it's no longer there??

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Just so that I've a mental image when reading your replies, are these your locations?

Singapore - de luxe and Chrisl
Oz - emilia jo
Sweden - cuclainne
UK - Mrs N

de luxe - ooohh I've heard about the WGS but never had an opportunity to go! Sounds like you're part of the organising team? There's a channel on US cable TV that shows food-related programmes 24 hrs a day called Food Network and it's my absolute favourite channel. Re: Germans and English: yup, you hit the nail on the head... my future MIL speaks fluent English but my future FIL doesn't, so we have fun with lots of hand gestures, a mixture of his attempts in English and a smattering of my wobbly German.

emilia - that is so cute that he speaks Singlish! How did you guys meet??

Well right now, I guess my biggest dilemma right now is to figure out how to break it to my parents that I'm moving to Germany. My dad is quite traditional and isn't in favour of me being with an "ang moh". Anyone has similar experience or tips on how to cope with that?? They've already met my HTB, my mum loves him, but my dad... that's a whole different ball game.

As for the move itself.. I guess I'm just afraid that when I'm there, I'll be completely dependent on my HTB until I find my feet. Having just moved to a new part of US and struggled to settle in, I know how tough it can be to find friends and network with people. If it was difficult to do so with people who speak the same language, I'm apprehensive about moving there and making my own friends. I mean, it's convenient with a built-in circle of his friends, all of whom are really nice and supportive, but I kind of also want my own friends, you know what I mean?

On top of that, as much as I feel like I'm ready for marriage, I'm afraid I'm too young at 23. I guess I just have a preconceived notion on an appropriate age to settle down, although I've no desire to "do my own thing". Every day I'm trying to find a loophole, something I haven't thought about, that I want to do before marriage but I've been drawing blanks...

But having said all that, I'm excited to finally be in the same time zone together again. We've been through a lot (I'm sure all of you have too, being non-traditional couples) and well, I'm looking forward to a shot at normalcy again...

BTW: it's really inspiring to hear about you guys thriving where ever you are. Oh! And it sounds like quite a couple of you are planning more than 1 wedding. How far apart are they and where did you hold your first one? We're thinking of a quiet ROM in Germany first, then a wedding in SG in the next 2 years, and lastly a reception in the US, but we're daunted by the total costs!

Thanks for sharing your stories and listening! It feels good just to "talk" it out to someone else.

zhenlin, the list is more like this:

singapore: chrisl (norwegian FH), nikki (german HB) and georgina (spanish HB)[for the moment], de_luxe (german HB), me (swedish HB) and marina (italian FH)
germany: priscilla (german HB)
netherlands: elizabeth (dutch HB)
uk: mrs n and tootsieroll (british HB)
oz: emilia_jo (austrian/polish FH) and pinkcandy (aussie HB)

does anyone know where denise is now? sorry if i missed out anyone yah ..

there is a 24-hour channel on the cable here about food - channel 69 is the asian food channel. elias, that is my husband, loves watching that channel especially makansutra .. then he would try to drag me to the stalls to try out the food.

yes, that is usually the case when one moves to a country where english is not the native language .. it'll take some time, but i am sure that you'll manage somehow - after all, there are a few other ladies who's done the move and they're doing well so it really depends on how you approach things. i mean, you can't expect to have friends of your own, or a job, or to speak the language overnight - these things take time.. it is all too easy to give up when it gets tough, so you must be willing to persevere yah.

heheh .... wow cuclainne, you got almost everyone alright....

chris is more of a german citizen from Mannheim who is half polish/russian but lives in austria! hehehe.

Zhenlin, yes am in melbourne now, will have multiple weddings which is truly time consuming and expensive.heheh

i met chris in adelaide (i screamed across the cafe and asked him out for a movie, but we ended in a lounge drinking coffee and eating waffles till 3am), we got together in lyon, france after i got attacked by a cat and was under observation-not allowed to go back to OZ. He sorta asked my parents for my hand in marriage last year in Singapore in November, and we made the official planning in Innsbruck, Austria last December- thats when I signed up in this website! Unfortunately theres no romantic on his knees proposal frem his side, it was just a logical answer from..hmmmmm how do we get to stay together?.. ahhh maybe we should get married... thats it! heheh

We dont know at the the end of the day where we will end up, but right now its definitely OZ, and later on maybe around asia, uae and europe... we will go wherever it lead us. Of course moving to another place is a troublesome thing, but i think its a must if you are with someone who is as wandering traveller as you are. Its something that we have talked and agreed upon happily. We both dont really like Melbourne and thinking of moving elsewhere around oz in a few years time!

Singlish came about for Chris as sometimes i get lazy and just speak it. Its tiring to speak proper english all the time, and he kinda caught up with it. Its peculiarly funny coming from an Ang moh... but i heard so many angmohs speaking manglish/ singlish- it freaks me out in a humorous way. I loike! he calls its singlish-emi-lazy-talking.:P

Hi everybody I'm back! Goodness and isn't it hot! Just like stepping into a sauna. Oh well can't complain as I was freezing in London only a day or two ago. My fault really thought I could survive with only a fleece jacket. Ha! Ha!Give me warm weather any day.

You've gals have certainly been busy this weekend. So many posts. Nice to see a new person on board. A warm welcome to Zhenlin.

To add on to Culcainne's list: there's freaky (UK). Btw, I thought Nikki has gone back to Germany? Oh there is another lady called J Lo who lives in Hawaii? Her hubby's american I think. But she hasn't been on for quite a while too.

Liz and Pris are probably busy with their language/intergration courses.

Cuclainne pris's blog is still alive and kicking. But she has changed the name to prissteph. You can still communicate with her via her blog. So when are we going to have this gathering? I'm ok for the weekend except Saturday night. But I think next weekend's definitely out. Other than that should be able to make it unless I melt into a liquid form in this warm weather! So its up to you and Chrisl who are the working ladies.
Not too sure if Gina's working too?

De_luxe the WGS sounds really interesting and jam packed with events no wonder you are busy! Me & hubby not really whisky fans but WGS is something worth considering. I like watching cooking programs especially Masterchef and my hubby knows better than to switch channels when I'm watching it!

Can understand your sentiments about hubby being away. I get that feeling too although my husband doesn't really travel out of the country but his job takes him quite a bit round the UK. Just a few weeks ago he had an accident on the motorway. A car behind didn't slow down in time and hit him. Lucky it didn't turn out too serious. But sometimes I wonder if something did happen to him what would happen to me being stuck in a foreign country all alone.

Ha! Ha! Emilia joYou've hit the nail on the head. It's too tiring to speak proper English. My hubby says that Singaporeans tend to be very 'economical' in their use of english as we only use what is important to get the message across.
He always shakes his head when I do it. He did tell me once that I should speak properly especially to his mum as she would be quite horrified at my singlish
as she was an English teacher!

Mrs N, Nikki is back in Singapore .. well, for the moment at least. Glad to hear that you've made it safe and sound *hugs* I am alright for this weekend .. next weekend would be difficult for me as I've got a birthday party and a wedding to attend ..

ladies, anyone interested in joining in?

nisa..this weekend we are going to malacca for a short getaway...we are free next weekend though..or perhaps another weekend?

welcome, zhenli !! nikki is getting married soon with her german fiance too..heard it takes quite a while to obtain the visa to live in germany..

chrisl..saw your pre-wedding photos..they are nicely taken and both of you look soooooooo in love !!!:-) another few more weeks to go and you will be a mrs !! be excited !!!

hmmmm...i still add myself as Ms Thang !! haha!! hubby wanted to go malacca this weekend so i went to make booking at the travel agent and when he saw the invoice printed Ms Thang, he said it should be Diez, not Thang..so i argued its Ms Thang but Mrs. Diez !!! notti me !!

Georgina Thanks! Yup im excited and a little apprehensive at the same time..you know the big questions and stuff like that being with another person for the rest of your life...
Btw, the other time when your hubby was here for the ROM/Wedding, did he arrive in SG at least 1 week in advance? Cos im starting to freak out a little as heard that FH must be here at least 1-2 weeks?

chrisl, if you are going to ROM in singapore,your FH has to arrive sg 5 days to 1 week in advance coz both of u have to go ROM personally to verify the documents, normally is about 4 days before ROM date, it will state the date and time when you have successfully filed your notice of marriage. Have you file the notice of marriage yet?

If just for the wedding, he can arrive sg anytime before the wedding.

i know what u mean !!! i guess most brides will have this thinking before the wedding, most importantly is both parties honour the vow they take during the solemnisation of the marriage, loving each other unconditionally and treat each other with respect. A wedding is just a day for your loved ones to share the bliss with you but a marriage is about both of you. Its always so nice to hear someone getting married!!!:-)

Mrs N, thanks for letting me know about the change in name .. and here i was still checking out the old address .. hehehehe ..

Gina, sharon will be going back on the 12th, i think .. is that right?? so the weekend after the Public Holiday is no good as she would have gone home already ..

Let's do the list of who's available when, here:

Saturday, 31 March: Nisa
Sunday, 1 April:
Friday, 6 April:
Saturday, 7 April: Nisa (morning or evening only)
Sunday, 8 April: Nisa (evening only)

Alternatively we can meet for dinner on any weekday .. I don't mind. Chrisl, how about you?

Oh, and if we do decide to meet on the weekend, can i suggest we ladies meet outside cos i won't have time to clean the flat by then .. hehehe .. lazy lazy me .. hahahaha .. trying to escape the cleaning up bit.

Gee thanks Georgina!
Nisa Im fine with
31 March Sat
1 April Sun
2 April Mon (Evening)
3 April Tues (Evening)
as for the rest from 4th-12th im booked

Georgina yes we had filed the notice and day of verification is on 6th june. So now Gaute can book and buy his airtickets! (Yup! He's sooooo late with them!)

Oh ladies a slight change i can make it on 7th evening too

Let's see, I'm still ok for most days
31 March (Morning and Afternoon)
1 April (afternoon and evening)
2, 3 and 4 April (I'm ok for the evening at the moment)
8 April (possibly evening)
9 & 10 April (still ok)

Yeah Cuclainne I realised that Nikki was in S'pore after I went to peek at Chrisl's beautiful wedding potraits.
Btw anybody contacting Nikki I think she would like to come along to a gathering too.

Gina you still not used to your married name huh? We shall have to start calling you Mrs Diez then; so that you'll get used to it. Is your married name in your passport? When we booked our flights home, my hubby booked mine in my married name. The guy at the check-in counter in Heathrow was a bit confused when he saw my passport in my original name and he looked so relieved when I showed him the page where it was written that I was indeed a 'Mrs'. Ha! Ha! I think he thought he couldn't let me aboard as I wasn't who I was supposed to be!! At least no according to the e-ticket.
No such problems now. My new passport which I got on Tuesday has both names printed on the front cover.

u r weclome, chrisl..so now gaute can come anytime before june 6..

april 2 or 3 seems ok for us to meet?

mrs.n...so far, i have not used my married name...no one calls me mrs. diez unless my friends made fun of me...other than that, they call me by my name. and when filling forms, i still use my maiden name...i didnt add my married name in the passport yet, coz lazy to make the changes !! maybe later when changing a new passport

Apologies for "disappearing" for a while...been busy lazing at home & busy doing basically nothing...kinda of..lol ..

Thanxs for providing information on my behalf...yeap, the ladies are right, my HTB is German. We are currently living in Köln (Cologne) except am back in SIN right now for a month to sort out my hotel for the chinese banquet thingy ...

Am kinda having 2nd thoughts if i really want to be married or not...as it's kinda upsetting that i wont be able to work in Germany since my German is not fluent as yet ... rest assured that am very good in swearing though ;-D ...& it's a bit annoying that he's paying for everything including dental bills & stuff ...& i simply cant do much to help!...HTB is sweet enough to say that i dont have to worry as am not spending much at all...since i dont buy diamonds & stuff...those were his exact words...not sure if that's funny or what!...anyhow, am juz feeling sorry for myself that am not earning my own money like i used to!...oh well, luckily i get such "moods" only when I hv been spending too much ...lol

To the 3 lovely new members on board, a very warm welcome =) (did i miss anyone out??..sorry if i did...if truth be told, i cant count lah!)...if there's anything that i can do to help, pls feel free to shout ...my msn id's [email protected]

Sharon, how's yr back by now??..Trust it's better already!...Do look after yrself well ya...Mrs N is Sharon right??...Welcome back to SIN, btw =) ...there seems to be quite a few freezing chicks back in town ...lol

Speaking ab the married name thingy...well, we just submitted our documents to the German court 2 weeks ago & i was told that on the day am married, i hv to decide if i want to have my family name after his or merely have his on my passport ...Hence it seems like it's not up to me to decide ...my passport would hv to state LiSa Behnke Teo or simply only LiSa Behnke...(oh, for those who are not aware, my Chinese name's Li Sa lah) ...am definitely going with the Teo behind...Germans can be quite arrogant, no?!

& yes, pls do keep me in the loop for the gathering this week or any other day...it will save me fr rotting at home...lol

my handy's 82068545...pls buzz ; )

looking forward to seeing u all real soon

big hugz to those far & away too =)

Hey girls don't think I can now make it on Mon 2 Apr. But other than that everything as ok.

Welcome back to the forum Nikki! Hey don't sound so down ... you'll get through this. In your heart you know that Danny is worth this sacrifice on your part.

And yes Sharon & Mrs N is one and the same person.
About the name in the passport, as long as you remain a S'pore citizen you can't drop your original name from your IC or passport. You can only add in. If you don't want your original name and only have your married name, I was told you need to do so by deed poll.

Guess the western culture expect the wife to automatically take on the husband's name. My MIL was a bit surprised when she attended my graduation ceremony and they gave me my degree in my maiden name. She asked hubby if I ever intended to change my name. Hee! Hee! Not that I didn't intend to just that I'm not allowed to and I was secretly pleased that that was the case. It gives me the opportunity of using either whenever I want!
So you can still have Teo LiSa along with something like Mrs LiSa Behnke or Mrs Danny Behnke underneath it in your SG passport/IC if you want to.

Hey Gina then like that next time if people call you Mrs Diez you'll be blur. When I first got married I was waiting for my turn at the dentist and the nurse called Mrs Newby and I just sat there like sotong not realising she was calling me. The nurse had to call me again before I realised that it was my turn.
Ha! Ha! The nurse thought it was funny that I didn't know my name!!!

Nikki - my HTB came in to take a look at the forum and told me to post this... hope it helps! (P/S: He's German..)

"The German law ('naming convention') has changed recently - 1994. If man A marries woman B, they can:

1- agree on his name: Their name: A (no chance to change it later)

2- agree on her name: Their name: B (no chance to change it later)

3- agree on his name, woman wants to add her previous name to her new name: His name: A; Her name: A-B or B-A (no chance to change it later)

4- agree on her name, man wants to add his previous name to his new name: Her name: B; His name: A-B or B-A (no chance to change it later)

5- don't agree on one name; both partners keep their names: His name: A; Her name: B (they can agree on one of the 4 name conventions above whenever they want)

So, both partners have exactly the same possibilities, no discrimination and if we, for example, decide for option 5, we can always agree on one family name later - we just have to go to the wedding office in person."

Opps sorry girls i just received a call from my JP to confirm my meeting with her at 7:30 at Tg Rhu
so in a way 3rd is out for me...any other days you girls can make it?

Hi Chrisl I'll be in S'pore until the 12th (leaving in the night). Any chance of a free spot with you before then?
Unfortunately I can't do 7th evening as my coz's wife is getting baptised. However I could possibly do Good Friday evening (6th April).

Or alternatively we could still meet up (maybe near Tg Rhu??) on the 3rd and you could could meet up with us after your meeting with the JP?

Or does anybody have better ideas?

Hi Mrs N should be not a problem as got a confirmation from my relatives that the meet up with them is the whole day 7th April.

So i can make time on 8th April (Sun)! Hee...So it seems like Me, Mrs N, Nisa and think Georgina and Nikki can?? ;)

Hi dear girls

Sorry for the long absence. I started a new german school 2 weeks ago and it feels like I got no life other than school, homework and my housework. Ah. I spend on average about 2 to 3 hrs doing homework everyday and I got another 4.5 hrs in school. So its like in total, the burden of studying german is almost as long as having a full-time job. Well, at least i´m in the intermediate advance level now, one more level and I will be at university level and that´s basically the highest level that a person can study german. But I guess to be able to converse and think as fluently as a local german would require more time than the time of what it takes to go to school. Anyways, wanna pop by to say hi and I did a brief reading of the posts.

Welcome Zhenlin. I´m Priscilla and I´ve been staying in Stuttgart for 7 months now. Still studying german and adjusting in. But yah, can relate to the stuff you are talking about. I got married at 23 too and I´m 24 now. Moved to Germany about 7 months after my marriage (in Singapore) and yup, feel free to share your experience, anxiety or whatever... we´ll be willing to listen, often advice (when we can, or when its appropriate) and to support u too. Too bad, Stuttgart is about 6 to 7 hrs from bremen.. my hubby has a cousin in Bremenhaven though. We haven´t visit the north, but we could meet up when u come to germany at some point in time.

Cuclainne, Deluxe, Mrs NHello hello girls! I´m still here! Alive and kicking ahhah. What have u all been up to? Deluxe, did you kinna mention that you would wanna try for babies from 2007 onwards? Its 2007 already! Heehee.

Chrisl Can I see yr photos too? I tried looking for the link in the message boards but couldn´t find. =)

Hey! Pris Long time no hear! Wow! Seems like you're starting to settle in! Good for you! Wah you're a pretty fast learner i must say!

Sure no problem, let me know your email address and i can add you to view the site

Chrisl Sunday 8th April (evening) is fine for me. We've got a family gathering for lunch but should be over by tea time.
Is this date ok with everybody else?

Pris nice to see you back on the forum. You are certainly doing well in your German course to get up to almost university level. You are certainly one clever girl! I am so pleased for you.

Hello Riza Do tell us more about yourself you are certainly very
kao_welcome.gif
to join us.

Hi Pris, silly me i did a run thru the archive of the thread and saw your email so i'll invite you soon yeah? ;p

Hey welcome Riza! It's always good and excited to hear that someone new is joining us in this big family! Yeah tell us more about you and partner ok?

Thank you for the lovely welcome everyone... Currently I lived in Denver, Colorado, USA.. we have our Malay wedding sometime back in September 2005... So now we are planning for a American wedding + reception for next year...

Is that ok, if I join this forum or group?...

Riza

Hi Riza of course it's ok for you to join in this group. In fact I only join this group a few months after my weddings in the UK and Spore. Ha! Ha! So you have more of an excuse than I did as you still have your American wedding to plan for.
So no worries, you'll be more than welcome. You know as the saying goes 'the more, the merrier'.

Chrisl I've no problem with Nisa's suggestion to meet outside. By all means if it makes life easier for everybody concern.

Hi Zhenlin,

Thanxs much for the input, i appreciate it ...It certainly look confusing enough at first glance...Vielen dank =)

Hallo Pris,

atze, alles fit? =)...Dein Deutsch ist sehr gut...Gut gemacht..Du bist sehr klug... ich bin sehr neidisch und "dulan" ; ) ...Das nächst mal, müsst du mir beibringen - umsonst...lach lach lach lach lach

To the rest of the girls,
looking forward to seeing you all next week =)

& hi Riza, a very warm welcome to u & congrats on yr wedding though am kinda 2yrs late...kekeke.. & pls by all means, join in the big family ; )

big hugz to all

Ladies, i am ok with meeting on the evening of the 8th (Sunday) - i have a wedding to attend during the day but dinner with you ladies is a-ok .. question though .. are we bring hubbies along and where?

I got referred to this forum by another one and here it looks like one big family here! A bit about myself.. I'm married to a German,living in Germany and also learning German. When I read this forum, I felt a connection to what was discussed and what people experienced.. especially Priscilla's. It's really great to know all of you!

Hee! Hee! Cuclainne you read my mind cos that's what I was going to ask next as I was thinking of taking my hubby along as I feel kind of bad leaving him alone. But of course if you ladies don't want a man hanging around, I can always send him off to wander round the shops (if there are any nearby). So its a question of where we're going? But if you and Gina bring your hubbies along maybe it won't be so bad as the men can be together while we girls have a natter.

Joyce a warm
kao_welcome.gif
to you too! Another one with a German husband eh? I think my great-grandmother would certainly have found this forum very useful with so many 'German' wives around. Pity such technology didn't exist in her day
Whereabouts in Germany are you residing in?

hi ladies !!

so the meeting is on april 8 evening now?? if you ladies are bringing your hubbies along, then my hubby will tag along too..

hi joyce..welcome here !! Top on the list is germany hubby...at least 3 ladies here have germany hubby!!hmmm....there must be something nice about germany guy...
kao_babydust.gif

hi pris..glad to hear you are coping well in germany :-)

where shall we meet for dinner?

HiJoyce! Nice to see you here! Welcome!

I have a place to recommend but not sure how you gals might like it. I and Gaute love that place from the 1st time we were there. It's a nice, cosy and al-fresco place with real authentic italian pizza. Artz pizza at east coast(anyone been there before?), the co-owners are italian and they make the pizza themselves. Thin crust ones and stone oven baked! They're situated inside parkland golf driving range east coast park itself (opposite parkway parade). Well apart from pizza, they also serve usual italian fare like spaghetti and such.

But cons are they're not that accessible with buses/trains. You have to take a taxi or drive to get there. Secondly, might be warm as it's open-air and might have some flying bugs. And also they're not halal certified though they DO NOT serve pork or lard.

Any other suggestions ladies?

Once again, thank you everyone for the warm welcome... is that ok if I add you all in my msn or yahoo list... so in the future when time permits, I can chat with you all...

I hope I am not intruding... my sincere apologies...

Riza

YAHOO ID: tiaramazlina_02

MSN ID: [email protected]

For the email, I will let you know okies..

Wow, the thread moves so fast, I´m surprised! For a moment, I thought that my post didn´t get posted, cos I kept scrolling to see where did I last read until and couldn´t find my post! Until I realized that u gals have all replied!

Good news! I finally got air tickets to visit Singapore in August til Sept. Hmm, seems so long to go, but I`M SO HAPPY! Woo-hoo! Managed to get a Singapore Airlines ticket for about 750€ (about S$1500). Not too bad right?!?!?!? Its gonna be a reward for myself, since by that time, I would have finished learning my german already and by the time I go back to Germany, either I look for a job - God knows what job I shd apply in or I will further my studies.

Mrs N Thanks for yr compliments! I do my best. But I think I will take another german level, equivalent for business german rather than german for the university. I doubt if I will want to do a masters with the german language. As in, even if I DO take a masters, I wld rather do it in english at a german university. Heehee.... easier plus wld wanna do a business or psychology masters, dunno how it will go.... R U in Singapore now? Wow, so jealous.

JoyceD Hey, ms fellow-Singaporean-in-Germany! Which city are u in? How´s yr german course coming along? How long have u been here already?

NikkiHallo girl! Bitte nicht niedisch auf mich! Du hast auch sehr viel gelernt. Zusätzlich hast du in die Zukunft mehr Ziel Deutsch zu lernen und an eine neue Kultur einzuwohnen. Wann kommst du zuruck nach Deutschland? Wo findet deine Hochzeit statt?

Hi Pris yes I'm in S'pore now but only for a short visit just two and half weeks. Wish it could be longer. But unfortunately my husband can't take very long leave. Lucky you that's quite a good price considering that August is peak season. God has certainly blessed you for your faith in Him.

Chrisl I have absolutely no idea where the place is! Is it new? I'm not the best person to suggest places as among you I think I'm the one that's probably most out of touch. Gosh sometimes I feel like a tourist in my own country!

Mrs Diez
if you're bringing Mr Diez along than I'll bring Mr N too! Btw did you have a good trip to Melaka?

Priscilla/ Nikki: Acks. You guys are so far ahead! I'm still at eins, zwei, drei... =P And we're also planning for a trip back to SG around Aug too, to officially announce our plans to my parents. *shudders*

Priscilla- what German course are you taking now? Is it at a community college or what? I'm contemplating starting something like that when I move over in Sept...

Joyce/ Riza: Hi! I'm new to this forum too but everyone has been very welcoming so I guess plunge right in!

Riza - My HTB and I are planning our wedding in Arizona cuz there's where we met; how long have you been in the US? We almost drove through Denver last winter during the horrible snowstorm, on our way to IL...

Zhenlin,

Nice to meet you here!! I am new in this site too! I have been in the US since September 30 2005. That time we were in California. But we relocate to Colorado since I love Colorado so much... We should keep in touch...

What say you, zhenlin?

Riza

Hey, so quick response again.

Mrs N Oh, that´s so sad! Can´t meet up with u. R u going back to Singapore again in Aug? Hahha, jus trying my luck. U know wat, I had absolutely NO IDEA that Aug was peak season, until my hubby n I started searching for flights and I saw one by Msia airlines for 1000€, I almost fainted. And then, my hubby checked again today and he booked Sgairlines immediately when he saw the price. So wat haf u been doing in Singapore?

Zhen lin Hey, I´m doing my german in IFA (www.ifa.de) - its an institute similar to Goethe Institute. But my city doesn´t have Goethe, so need to go the next best choice. But its good too. There´s also the Volkshochschule - but that´s really dependant on how good the teachers are.I´ve heard both rave and not-so-gd reviews of german courses there. U might check, maybe u can do integration course, cos I had to do mine, it was compulsory. Gd thing is, the government pays 2/3 of it, so i paid only 100€ per mth.

It's bn a long time! I've bn MIA! I've bn very busy! Still am! SIGH! Going to have another test tomorrow for Dutch! Super SIAN! I have to juggle between Dutch, dance therapy n making ringpillows as usual. And I have to fit in fieldwork and personal therapy soon. I am already very late liao! Too little time to do everything!
Have been really tired! Dun even have time to chat nowadays. You hardly see me in MSN. What to do!

Welcome newcomers! I'm backdated liao! :P

Priscilla, want to check with u. Which website did u book? Direct flight? 750 include tax? Found SIA, the cheap one but it is not direct lor. Very confusing! Yours really very cheap! Pls tell me the details. If I can, I also want to book n go back. If not, have to be in dec then.

My sister came for 3 weeks to visit and is back. SIGH! Well... miss home man!

Hi to all! Gtg and study for test! Will try to catch up! Take care ya! Happy Easter in Advance! Can't wait for the long weekend to come! Yippee!!!!!!

Hello everyone! Wow, it's really fast here!

Hello Mrs N! Thanks for the warm welcome! Haha.. yep HB also German. Guilty as charged! Hmm..your great-grandmother..that makes you 1/8 german and part of the clan..heh. I live in Saarbrücken, probably the smallest Hauptstadt in the whole of Germany, and it is just next to France, only 15 mins away by car. Actually, I think France looks the same. I only know I'm there when the signs are written in French..hee. Which part of UK are you residing in?

Hi Georgina! Nice to know you! I have no clue as to why German HB are on the top of the list..haha. How are Spanish HBs? Hope I didn't get my info wrong..

Hi Chrisl! Erm..hehe..Where does your HB come from? This thread is super long! I'm so confused..

Hi Priscilla! Great to know a fellow Singaporean in Germany! I'm in Saarbrücken, Bundesland- Saarland. It's possibly one of the sleepiest places in the whole of Germany! I'm here for about 1 year and I also started out with the integration course but it was sooo boring I dropped out after 3 months..haha. Now I'm doing my German course in Universität des Saarlandes for about 6 months and will take my DSH in July. The focus is to learn German for studying in the uni, so now I probably know more about the unemployment rate rather than phrases I would need in my everyday life..haha...not good. How's your German course? Do you like it? What are your plans after this course? I'm also thinking of what to do after this..