Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

cuclainne.... i think i know you la!!! check yr email. hehehe. (sorry i didnt read properly, even asked if you were chinese. paisay. sorry!)

Pink Bunny

You know me? Sorry ah .. but when you told me to check my email, I had to check all my accounts. Which one did you mail me at?

uh oh ... then i may have gotten the wrong person... are you NXXX and your husband is EXXXX? ...

cos i knew someone also from SB and her husband is swedish and they had their ROM on 14 jan and they're also living here...

Welcome Pink Bunny!

My fiance is a Dutch and I'm living in Holland now. Had my engagement and tea ceremony in Singapore. ROM n church wedding in Holland.

Cuclainneyou are very popular!
How is your prep coming along for yr Malay wedding?

Mrs Ng, thanks for your words of encouragement. Sorry didn't have time to reply to your email. We went yesterday to get the form from the city hall but found out I am not registered in the city coz they didn't have my BC. In the first place, they didn't ask for it when we went for our appointment in Dec and my fiance even asked them. So inefficient! And now they said I need the commissioner for the oath to stamp an expiry date on it. I was so annoyed. Thank God I know two ladies here from my Dutch class who came here and done their registration and we don't need the stamp at all and thr info they have is outdated.
I gather all information I and we will go again to the city hall. Pray that everything will go smoothly. My non marriage cert has expired so I need to get my sister to legalise it after requesting it online. So just have to wait.

At the beginning it is very frustrating for us when we are in two different countries but now that we are in the same country, delaying in marriage is not so bad. Give us more time to prepare. See how things go. May hold it in June if everything is ok, if not has to be in Sept now as his aunt is away on hols in Aug.

We plan to DIY everything. His parents also said the same. They are going to help us. His mum said as each household has a kitchen and an oven so we are going to do the food ourselves. We don't have to worry about it. In all, we have five ovens. His parents, us and other 3 siblings. They all stay closeby. As for the decor, his mum told us that they will take care of it, just tell them what we want, they will do it. I'm very touched by their gestures. It's going to be so fun! I always wanted to DIY. I plan to bake cookies for the wedding favours and the cake myself.
Have to test out first! Probably busy experimenting with baking the next few months. Plan to sell the wedding pillow too. Learnt how to make the sew the flowers from my friend's mum in Singapore before I came. Ha ha ha... getting excited about it.

We will be viewing the house next Mon with his parents. Keep all of u posted!

Deluxe and Priscilla, how is yr prep coming along too? Been sometimes since we last chat online.

Elizabeth

No lah .. not that I am popular but I've known Pink Bunny since late 2004 before she went to Canada and way before I went to Stockholm. Me and my hubby know her and her FH.

Have yet to get started on the wedding preparations for March. My parents are pretty much on top of their preps but me and hubby needs to really plan the dinner.

as i'm writin this,i'm keeping vigil at my mom's wake. She passed away yesterday, exactly a month before my wedding date. Its good, cos God knows best and even though both of us (my mom and I ) wld have wanted mom to be physically present for the wedding, God has better plans, which is to for her to STILL be there,but in spirit and watching from heaven. We had closure when mom was in a semi-conscious state and I told her that's its ok ifshe's not therefor wedding and that I love her all the same and we shd surrender to God's perfect plans. Prayed for her, during which her breathing (which was very heavy and difficult for 2hrs) suddenly became normal.... She went home to be wth the Lord within 15 mins after my conversation with her and prayer.

My FH Is flying down today, he brought forward his flight one day and it cost him a total of $1,600! He originally brought forward his flight from sat to friday, but due to bad weather conditions, his earlier flight was cancelled! Hence if he didnt buy another tix he would havetotally missed my mom's funeral and burial which wld be on saturday morning. His actual flight was scheduled to arrive on saturday evening.

Yeah appreciate prayers for me and my family during this time. Plus for my FH too, I think its gonna be the first time that he's gonna be at the funeral and think he wld really need all the spiritual and mental preparation he can get. He hasn't been around when mom has been sick and I think its almost impossible for him to imagine what its like to have her not around anymore.

ANyways, I'm thankful that he'scoming down today cos I think his presence at times like this is smth that money cannot buy.

Priscilla

I am so sorry to hear about your mother's passing. Think of it as that she's in a better place now - watching over you and your family.

I am glad to hear that FH is coming down to be with you, provide support in your time of need.

Once again, my condolences to you. Do let us know if you need a listening ear. You are not alone..

dear priscilla

i'm glad you told your mum to let go and stop fighting if it causes her such anguish. some believe that the critically ill try to hang on for a loved one's happy occasion despite all the pain they're in. it's best for them that they decide to stop fighting.

from your writings, i take it you're christian/catholic. we're supposed to believe that our dearly departed are now free from suffering and pain. don't feel sad that your mum is gone, feel happy for her that she's in god's hands and he's taking good care of her. your mum's already fought a good long and hard battle, it's time for her to rest now.

take care of yourself ok?

Dear Priscilla
Sad to hear of your mum's passing. But she is at peace now. She has fought a good fight, finished the race and kept her faith and now heaven is her reward. It is indeed painful to lose someone dear to you and we pray that you & your family will find the grace and peace in knowing that she is now safe in the arms of Jesus. From now on, no matter where you are, your mum goes with you for she lives forever in your heart. Cuclainne is right, you are not alone, you are never alone. And even though you cannot see them, Jesus & your mum will be beside you & your FH to watch and to bless both of you on your wedding day. We will continue to pray for you and your family. Do take care.
May God be with you!
Love
Sx

Hello Pink Bunny

My hubby is British or to be more specific English. I'm in the UK now, been here since late 2001. I've been married for over 3 months had the ROM/Church in the UK but had a Thanksgiving mass/celebration in S'pore. I've 2 cousins in Canada married to Canadians too and they live in Toronto. Which part of Canada is your fiance from?

Hi Elizabeth

Don't worry about it. Its more important to get these paperwork settled. We can do away with the frills for a wedding but the legal bit is something we can't escape from and we just have to be patient and bear with it.

Your wedding sounds like fun. If I had the time, I would DIY everything too. As it is, I only had time to make my veil. And my mum & aunt helped me make other stuff. I've also learnt to make some flowers out of leftover cloth from my wedding dress. But be sure not to take on too much yourself, can be tiring especially in the run up to your wedding. I've been guilty of that sort of thing as I was going to drive myself to church but my hubby's american uncle step in one week before the wedding and offered to drive me in his hired car, much to my hubby's relief. Hope the house viewing goes well. Must be an exciting experience to get to choose your own house.

Hi Cuclainne
Hope your proposal for a honeymoon in Tioman has been met with your hubby's approval.

Alright girls, time for me to go and do something useful. Take care & God Bless!
Sx

Dear Priscilla,

Jeroen and I are sorry and saddened by the news of your mother. We have been keeping u, yr FH, yr mum and family in prayers. You are a very brave girl to let go of yr mum so that she can go home to the Lord in peace. Like Mrs N has written, she has fought a good fight and with the Lord now and that you are never alone as your mum is always with u, watching and protecting u in Heaven and with u on yr wedding day. She will be smiling from Heaven, watching u getting married. I'm glad that your FH is here with u. Take great care and God bless. Our hearts and prayers are with u.

mrs n
thanks for the welcome
mr pinkbunny's from montreal, quebec. we've got the wedding here but not sure about back in canada... one step at a time la!

priscilla
hope you're feeling better... write to let us know when you can ok? take care...

Mrs N

Yes, he was quite impressed by the isolation of the resort - he mentioned that he didn't want to go to the beach and find a 'gazillion' people there. Seems that we might head there for a short trip soon.

haha hey! i didn't know there's a thread specially for angmoh husbands also.

haha...yes, my HTB is also angmoh, and i'm getting married in nov06. he's already a PR here and our ROM is in may.

I'm at my cousin's place now, having visitation at her house with all my relatives. Its not been easy, but we're taking it one day at a time. My dad has been really brave throughout the whole thing. Mom's burial was 1 day ago and I'm quite glad that there is the CNY to keep us occupied for these few days. FH flew in one day earlier and his whole flight plan was a big disaster. First, he paid $300 to push forward his flight from Saturday to Friday and then this earlier flight was cancelled due to bad weather conditions in Istanbul (He had to take a connecting flight from germany to istanbul). That wld mean that he miss the whole funeral if he didn't buy another ticket, the airline refused to let him change airlines cos of company policy. In the end, FH bought an extra ticket for $1,600 to come to Singapre just one day earlier. I was so stressed up over the whole wanting him to be here and my mom's funeral that I was really in a bad state on the first day. But thank God that FH managed to arrive by Friday afternoon so he was there for the memorial service on friday and burial on saturday. His presence has been a huge help even to my dad and my family members. Cos its good to have an extra male in the house so that my dad does not feel alone. Dad asked both of us to stay with him at his place for this week, since has to go to the US for a final job interview at the end of the week. Thanks for the prayers gals and guys (jereon) ... really appreciate it. Know that it'd take some time, my aunt passed me a book on how to handle the loss of a loved one. I will be reading it soon.... as for now, my FH and I will try our best to be there for my dad and family...give ourselves 1 week break before doing wedding preparations again. Realized mom passed away exactly 1 month before my wedding... but yeah, know she'd be there to witness it. Just felt very sad yesterday cos also realized that I won't be able to see her, but just got to trust that she and Jesus will be there to witness the whole thing.

Ok, better go out now... happy CNY gals.

Hey Mrs M, I just checked my email. Thanks a lot for your lovely card! So sweet of you... showed it to FH too. 2nd day of CNY was very cool, stephan got to meet a lot of my relatives from my mom's side and I think they like him quite a bit. Ok, gtg see ya!

hello priscilla

sorry to hear about the situation, but glad to know that everyone's keeping strong and supporting one another. im sure that your mother, and everyone else are happy with your FH, and your choice to be with him.

It doesn't matter that she won't be in chruch with you, because as you've said it, her persence will be with you. Not just during your wedding day, but always.

god bless.

Hello cuclainne

Thanks for the warm welcome. hhhmmm what's there to tell...

FH and I met in 1998 while i was studying in australia. plus plus plus a few more years, now HE's the one in singapore with me working, and plus a few more mths, we'll be married! haha sounds so simple rite...

My rom is in may, and im possibly going to a la carte everything. looking at the pace other people on the forum are planning, i think im lagging way behind in my own schedule. two things are a concern to me now.

Venue!
im wrecking my brains trying to decide between booking a restaurant, or a venue and caterer. I'm quite keen on getting some park/garden thing with tentages, but im not very keen with the logistics invovled. (or figuring how to book a park)

Photographer!
Has anyone here using Edmund Leong? i've seen some of his works which i find very impressive, yet he's one tough person to nail down. managed to reach his co-ordinator and he's away, won't be back till next week. wanted to book him through his co-ordinator because i heard he's quite booked, but she said she can only tentatively hold the date and eDmund himself will close the deal. the anxiety of his return is killing...

hahaha..that's about all i have planned. my rom gown is made my a friend overseas.

hope everyone's having a good CNY

Dear Priscilla

I'm very much saddened to receive news of your mother's passing. However,on the other hand, knowing that she is now at peace and no longer in pain is, i'm sure, a great relief to you. I'm glad that you have had the opportunity to have closure with her. I think it was impt for her to hear you say that to her and it certainly took a lot of courage for you to be able to do that. Nonetheless, like you said, I'm certain that she will be with you in spirit on ur wedding day.

Thank God too for bringing ur FH to you earlier and in time to be your support during this trying time.

It may take a long time for the grief to subside. But I personally believe that our loved ones and our memories of them is something that we forever cherish the rest of our lives and it is something that no one can take away from us.

Priscilla, may God grant you the strength & courage to go through this period... God bless.

Corinne aka de_luxe

Welcome pink candy & pink bunny! Hmm.. one of ur nicks seem familiar. Think I've seen u on the Bridal Veil or July 06 or Oriental Hotel thread?

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Rather uneventful CNY except for having all the extended family tell me "Ha ha last yr heh!" while giving me their ang pows... suddenly dun feel like getting married liao!

Been feeling quite nostaglic the past few days... CNY doesn't seem like what it used to be anymore & everyone is there just for the sake of being there... It's also the 1st yr since my grandma's passing and somehow things just feel different, even tho she hadn't been doing her usual the past couple of years..

Pink candy I'm using Edmund Leong for PS & AD
Think we should be talking abt the same person... he's a freelancer right? His co-ordinator (Veron) told me that he'll be back this Fri (3 Feb). U could also email him, tho he does take some time to reply. I've not had any email from him since he went away. What date r u looking at booking? As long as Veron's holding the date for u & no one else is on that date, I guess there shouldn't be a problem.

Elizabeth does the jeweller at Bkt Merah (the one whose address u gave me b4) do platinum rings? Actually I dun even know what to do abt the wedding rings. Haven't looked ard... plus, FH is not even wearing the engagement ring i bought him previously cuz he says it irritates his skin (it's white gold)... What if he doesn't wear the wedding ring too? Waste my $$$...

Mrs N I was studying in France for 3 yrs. Sch was based in the south in the little town of Nimes. But we had to do a 5-6mth internship every year so also spent some time in Cognac (obviously where they make cognac) and Paris (awful - i hate cities!). Generally i like smaller towns that are relatively close (i.e. 1-2hrs drive) to bigger towns and cities so i can get to choose when i want to hang out with the maddening crowds.

We're not doing a 2nd wedding in Germany. No money lah!!! Honeymoon wise, delegated the whole thing to FH... hahaha.. he already decided on Europe, no neg so now only need to decide on where exactly in Europe. Was trying to persuade him to go somewhere nearby & we go to Europe for Xmas instead but he doesn't want so i rest my case.

Four Seasons has a nice new resort in Northern Thailand, in the Golden Triangle, quite cool cuz it doesn't have any rooms, just 15 exclusive tents. Also saw a hotel in Cambodia, called Hotel de la Paix, that looks really nice & cosy too. Guess gotta shelve these for future trips now

I'm trying to finalise the invitation card wording & printer. Haven't done very much b4 CNY cuz of work, now the printers are closed for CNY till end of this wk or next wk... FH's relatives are asking for the invites already. They dun seem to feel "safe" making their travel arrangements when they dun have the card. Hmmmph!

Priscilla, my dear, it is good to grief together with your Fh n your dad and family during this period of time. It will relief your hearts. It's tough during this time as the loss of a loved one is felt and take time to adjust and accept the reality. It took me a while as a kid to accept the loss of my late brother and for many years I didn't understand until I prayed during one of the life spirit seminar where God revealed to me that he is in Heaven with the Lord, my heart, spirit and mind is healed and felt a great sense of relief. Tears poured with joy and sadness goes away. It's good also to talk about it with yr FH, dad and your family. Support of one another's very important together. We will always keep u in prayer and your mum is home with the Lord, protecting and watching you all the time. God bless.

Ha ha ha... I didn't realise Pink bunny and pink candle are two different ladies. Me really blur blur!

Welcome Pink Candy!

Deluxe, regarding the ring, we wanted plantinum too but the shop said it's a bit difficult to do, can't remember coz the time is short or what. You can check with Mr Koh again. Mentioned I recommended u. U can also check with him beside white gold, what other metal that will not cause allergy. Hmmm... don't mind me asking how come the engagement ring is bought by u n not yr FH?

Pink Candy, Deluxe, Liz - Thanks a lot for your concern for my mom. Its amazing how even though I wouldn't have known you all for long but your posts have been really encouraging and inspiring for me. I guess its easier to share stuff over words than for maybe my friends to talk about it with me. Most of them won't really know how to bring up the topic or even know if I would want to talk about it. So I feel pretty relieved to be able to read posts and reply the posts...sorta like an outlet....

Liz - I would like to go for one of the life spirit seminar thing.... where did u go for it? I'm not sure if my church has something like that. Well, I've been trying to spend more time with Dad but sometimes for etc today, FH and I had to run some errands and came back for dinner only at 9pm... dad was none too happy about it, since he really wants ppl to accompany him on his super-early morning walks at 7am! I don't even wake up that early when I go to work... plus have been having bad eyebags due to late nights and I'm trying to catch up on sleep before I have to start work on Friday again. *sighz* Its weird when life goes on when a person's still in the process of griefing. I guess I feel that my heart's not in my job anymore since i"ve only got 2 more weeks.... technically......

Anyways, my CNY is pretty nice. Yeah, Deluxe - I get the same thing too! Everybody is like next year must come back ah, give ang bao.... then can give the euros too....I'm like huh??? hahah.

FH has had his formal introduction into my family. Extended family I mean. He's really pretty welcomed into the family except for the fact that 1 or 2 aunties are not happy taht I'm giving out the invitation cards during CNY, sorta so near my mom's passing away. I don't have a choice lah, cos I already intended to give them out during CNY since my FH wld be here by then already. don't care lah, if My dad's ok about it, don't bother about what the older or more superstitious ppl think. Can see there are some of the aunties and uncles who really like FH. Think I'll arrange for some one-on-one family with my FH and i gatherings so that we can get to know my relatives better, on a family level rather than on a big scale level.

Starting to feel the stress about the wedding, but really hope to settle as much of it as possible before I have to start work again. Its good that FH is pretty free now so he can help out more......but its like I want to be invovled in the stuff also, so that wld still mean taking the responsibility of seeing it through...

Went to Omnimax theatre today, cos aunt had 2 free tickets, watched this show called "figherpilot" ... pretty nice, but more of a male show than a female.... The shops are just so packed these days, went GIANT at IMM and its like mega packed! Cos FH wanted to buy new sandals which he got for $5 the last time...this time there was none of those sandals anymore, so we got a $20 pair.....not bad too......

Oh pink candy... - you might want to check out Burkill hall cos its a colonial house in botanical garden......very beautiful place.....if you want outdoor suggest you get a weddin coordinator cos that would have a lot of logistics.......plus you wld want to keep the budget within your control. I have photos of Burkill Hall, Arts House.... let me know if you want, can send you the link.
ok got to sleep nights!

Hi Priscilla you are most welcomed. I have learnt that when God puts you through trials, He usually does it for a purpose. Look at it in this way, you & Stephan are going to disciple school to prepare for mission. Well being on mission isn't easy and its very easy to become depress and lose our faith if we're not prepared for it. God loves us too much to let that happen to us so he gives us trials to cleanse, purify and strengthen our faith in him. It is only when he has broken us that we can learn to totally trust & depend on him, even when circumstances seem rather impossible. And in the last few months, you've probably learned that more than anybody else. God will do beautiful things through you, because its only when you've been through Calvary, will you realise the true meaning of the resurrection and be an effective witness to others. Your mum will be proud of you, so keep the faith alive.

Btw, you can attend Life in the Spirit Seminars in some of the Catholic Churches. My parish church does them every year. If you like to go, I can ask my mum when its going to be held, as she's involved in it. Anyway, have a good rest and don't let the wedding stress you out.

Hey Liz, don't tell me you attended LISS in Risen Christ too? I was involved in LISS for ~4/5 years before I came to UK. Still can't believe you were on the same trip as my mother! Anyway, hope the house-viewing went well.

Hi de-luxe, I'm not very much a fan of big cities myself, never really felt that safe walking home at night with too many drunks about. Villages are quieter and probably safer. Well, if europe is going to be as cold as it was this winter, then your FH has a good case not to go during Xmas unless you want to make snowmans!!!

Hi Pink bunny, so is Mr Pink Bunny a french canadian?

And hello to Pink Candy too. Don't worry too much about not doing any planning. For me, everything was basically on the spot inspiration (within budget limits of course). Hardly planned anything as was too busy writing my thesis. My deadline was to finish it by end of last October, same month as my wedding. So when I felt the stress getting to me, I took the words from the serenity prayer as my inspiration 'That I should learn to accept the things I cannot change'. If that was the way God wanted it to be, then so be it. Well, all I can say was that God gave us a lovely day, better than any we could have planned ourselves.

Take care Ladies and Keep Well.
God Bless You!
Sx

HOPE ALL OF YOU HAD A GOOD CNY!!

pink candy

My Swedish hubby and I got to know one another in mid-2004. At that time, he was still living in Stockholm so we had to commute in order to meet up (more so on his part). At the end of last year, he started work here and we were married in a small solemnisation ceremony at our home on 14 Jan.

No worries.. you still have a few months to go. I only really started my wedding preparations about 2 months before the solemnisation event. The months before that was just spent on doing some research on the prices and packages available. I have slightly less than two months to figure out where to have my wedding dinner .. we're not booking a ballroom cos we're only inviting about 50-70 guests comprising of immediate family and close friends so we're hoping that we won't have any trouble finding a suitable venue.

I didn't take him as my photographer. Mine is Ridz from a picturebook wedding.

priscilla
glad to hear that everything is better for you now. you're right to ignore those aunties... every family has them, i realise1

mrs n
yup he's french canadian. he's even got the nose haha.

deluxe
nah i'm in neither of those threads

pink candy
hello, almost twin!

Elizabeth okie.. will ask him then. As far as I know, only gold (as in yellow gold), titanium & platinum dun tigger allergies, something abt the alloy composition or watever... Really hope I can find the time to do this + organise wedding properly. 1st day back at work already can die & looks like it's gonna get worse. Oh, FH bought me engagement ring too, which i wear all the time. He was asking why guys dun have so i bought him one too, think it's called a promise ring or something like that...

Pris, i know wat u mean abt going back to work, felt pretty much the same last yr when my grandma passed away suddenly & a few wks ago when we had to put our dog to sleep (Was a terribly painful decision but no choice. Took 1/2 day urgent leave in the morning to do it but was still rather shaken & upset when i went to work in the afternoon. Didn't help that bosses were not particularly understanding either).

Not particularly surprised that some of ur aunts might be unhappy, prob pantang or something like dat. But if they r really traditional, they shld know dat in Chinese beliefs, the child must marry within 100 days of the death or else can only marry 3 or 5 yrs (not too sure abt the period) later... anyway, like u said, not much choice & it's only a mth b4 ur AD. Dun mind them lah (& pink bunny is right - every family has them)... it's impossible to make the whole world happy...

That's all for now. Have to get back to work now
Ciao ciao!

I've got an urgent question about immigration to ask. My FH is down in Singapore and currently he's only on a social pass. Thing about it is that it expires in 30 days. He shd have a student pass soon, starting on 30 March 2006, however from now till 30 march, there would still be about 2 months plus. We'll be heading for our honeymood soon, sometime first week of March which would still be beyond the 30 days dateline. I'm thinking we can go Malaysia for 1 day or so so that he can extend the 30 days dateline. However, according to the immigration, they said that the Malaysian authorities sometimes do NOT extend the 30 days dateline, AKA it might end up that we still have only the remaining number of days left in singapore. Do you know any way we can go around this situation? i'm thinking of going for a social pass, but that's quite a bit of procedures..... so was thinking of something easier.

priscilla

i think the first time he goes out of singapore, they will extend by 30 days. subsequently it's a 14 day extension per trip. it will say on the stamp. that's what my FH did until he got his EP.

Priscilla

When he arrives in Singapore via Changi Airport, he gets a stamp in his passport which enables him to stay in Singapore for 30 days. After that, you will need to renew the 'stamp' to enable him to continue his stay. The easiest way is to head to JB and come back - this will give him a 14-day extension but you will need to repeat this every 2 weeks to get a new stamp each time which can be quite tiring for the two of you.

The other way is to apply for a social visit pass but he is required to complete some documents and find a local sponsor, which should be easy since you can do that. But I have no idea how long it would take for them to process the application. You can download the necessary forms from this site - http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_visitor/social_visit/application_types.asp

Hi Priscilla

It might be better to do as Cuclainne says and apply to ica for extension. My mum did that for my grand-uncle when he came down from the Philippines to stay with us. He ended up staying with us for over 3 months and I remember my mum had to apply extensions for him. Can't remember how long they gave each time also the rules could have changed since then. I don't think it was any trouble so long as the passport was valid and all other papers are in order. As far as I remember, the application process wasn't very long otherwise my uncle would have been sent home at least twice. No harm trying eh?

wow! this thread moves super fast! Thanks everyone for the warm welcomes, and i didn't know PINK was used alot here. haha.

priscilla: good to hear that you're holding up well. hope the immagration issues work out well.
i'm not sure about the venue yet, but i will go check out the two which you suggested. thanks!

de_luxe: nope that couldnt be me. I'm not anywhere near to that part of the planning stage yet. :X Not sure if we're using the same Edmund Leong? His hp number start with 9843?

The one i know is a fulltime, but he doesn't do only weddings. Actually i know him vaugely through my company because they hired him before. And Veron told me that most of the corporate clients will pay to reserve his date even if he's not around, so that's why i'm abit anxious.

If its the same Edmund, how do you find him and his works? I think i like it quite alot, but pictures are quite important to me so I don't want to take any chances. (update, will be meeting him next friday).

Mrs N: Gosh that must have been difficult times juggling both sch and wedding. Great though that things worked out for you. i hope i can employ the same level-mindedness on myself.

hi pink candy Yep, it's the same Edmund Leong we're talking abt
I'm not really sure how his working arrangements r like, i.e. full time or freelance. I know he's also doing work for NTU 2006/07 prospectus & Newsweek or Time (can't quite remember), aside from weddings. I think the corporate clients r full time, whereas weddings are what he considers "free lance". Maybe u can ask him when u meet him. He's quite young but skill-wise I think he's good. I knew abt him from a fren who's his x-classmate. He did her AD photos & i tot they were real good. He doesn't have piles & piles of albums like other photographers, so when we met him, he was showing us his work from his laptop. He's also very helpful & forthcoming with advice & suggestions, even b4 we confirmed w him. We decided on him after considering his package, price & also cuz he's recommended plus a fren's fren so overall, think it combined to be a good deal for us. R u using him for PS or AD or both?

Good luck for the meeting with him
Keep me updated!

BTW, for burkill hall, u can contact
Ms Tona Tuominen,
Manager, Marketing & Commercial Activities
Singapore Botanic Gardens
National Parks Board
Tel: +65-6471-9964
Fax: +65-6467-4832

She's very nice too. Was liasing w her when i enquired abt their venue. We loved it but couldn't use it cuz our no of guests will require us to divide everyone among 2 levels & logistically, it's quite a headache for us.

de_luxe

Burkhill Hall sure is nice eh - but hubby and me were thinking it won't be nice to separate the seating arrangments among the 2 levels.

I still haven't booked my dinner venue yet. Yikes!

Priscilla

Hey girl, was that you and Stephan buying ice cream cones from the MacDonalds at Plaza Singapura? It looked like the two of you - I was walking in there with the hubby. We passed you two .. if it was really you la.

hi cuclainne

when's ur dinner again? & how many pax? Dun remember liao...

We did seriously consider dividing our guests, upstairs for relatives & downstairs for friends, even tried cutting guest list & having 2 seperate receptions. But our problem is that most of FH's family & frens who r flying dun speak English or speak minimal English... so figured it would be really tough to fit 1 family blabbering in German & another going on & on in Singlish, Chinese, Cantonese & Hokkien... Since we wouldn't be with them all the time, we have no idea how things will be like if they r left to their own devices.... hahaha...

If both sides could communicate w each other, I think we would have gone for it. But of cuz, that wasn't exactly the optimal solution... given a choice, still the best to have everyone together. It just that it was the only venue that really won us over & we were so sad to cancel our tentative booking

de_luxe

My dinner will be on 24 March. It'll be for about 50-70 pax. Me and the hubby are still quite cool about it - my best woman is freaking out though! We're not renting an entire ballroom so for me, it's still ok because we could just be renting a portion of a restaurant in a hotel, you know. We'll see la - hubby wants to have it outdoors but I fear the rain! Hahahaha ...

Yup yup - totally understand what you mean. Hubby's family and friends will come for the March events and he had initially wanted for us to put several Swedish people in each table for them to mingle with my family/ friends but it wouldn't work. I mean, if it's a couple - would you split them up? And his dad and family are already 4 people - do I put his siblings at another table then? Aiyah! In the end, I told him that they can sit anywhere they want la!

Burkhill Hall sure is a beautiful place yah. Actually hubby is quite taken with the venues available at Fort Canning but it's going to be a headache for people who don't drive.

Wow, its like didn't know Burkill hall is so popular! I really liked it too but didn't want to split my guests hehee.

Cuclainne: Hey, u can post a photo of you and your hubby too! Then can recognise u two also hahaha.

And yeah, I was thinking of putting the 'foreigners' on a few tables, mixed with the rest.... it might be a possibility cos a lot of them will be my friends who will be more social than older folks heehez.... but they might prefer to sit together.....seee how lah, anyways we should have a chill out session after the dinner, so maybe there'd be more mingling then.

Its getting quite exciting with the whole wedding preparations now...cos there's about 3 more weeks left. We'll start our waltz class this coming thursday, it'd be private class, hope that both of us will be able to have good co-ordination.... its a different thing to dance in a club and dance a proper dance hahahha.

Hey gals... especially deluxe, need your suggestion. My FH's parents will only be here for a few days and I would like to bring them to places and restaurants to try out Singpaore food. Was thinking of Crystal Jade, a japanese sushi restaurant - my fren suggested Waraku (marina square) / Ichiban (Suntec), i haven't been to these places so thought of sushi tei or sakae sushi...... but they think its not very good. Also, seafood would be great too...any suggestions? And I guess the usual places of interest would be sentosa, night safari, esplanade blah........Any ideas of what other stuff we can do that's a bit more 'local' too? Oh yeah, geylang wld be a good idea hahaha!

Hello everyone!

I thought this was the best place to post. I need help with my upcoming wedding. I'm completely lost with all the traditions etc. My situation is a little unusual because I'm American and my fiance is Singapore Chinese.
(I know. Not very common!)

What exactly do you wear to a tea ceremony? I don't think I should wear kua or cheongsam since I'm not chinese....

Also, I don't know any vendors at all... When you engage a make up artist is the price for the whole day? I need someone to do my makeup for the tea ceremony in the morning and my makeup for the banquet that night.

Can anyone recommend a good wedding planner? I'm bringing my gowns from the States so have to do ala carte planning instead of bridal studio package.

Please help!

Hello Squeakers

I think some bridal studios allow you to pick and choose the services you want. At least the one which my mum sourced did. I didn't need a gown either as I brought my gown from the UK, the BS just provided a make up artist (for afternoon and evening), did the bouquets/buttonholes etc, photographer and videographer and also organised the car, as well as my hubby's suit. The shop is in Katong Shopping Centre, not a big one. Name is classic moments (I think!!! But I may not be right). The lady who owns it is rather nice though!!!
Prices weren't OTT either.

To everyone, you all sound so busy, busy busy!
Hope all of you are keeping well.

Priscilla

Me and the hubby usually bring our overseas guests to Long Bar, Raffles Hotel to have the Singapore Sling (hubby claims it's an authentic experience) .. and dinner at Equinox Restaurant (though this can get quite expensive!) but the view of the sunset/ city is very nice.

When hubby's mother was here with her companion in Jan 06, they were fiercely independent - and didn't want any help from us to get around. We gave them ez-link cards and they were off. They went to places that even hubby haven't been to and he's been to Singapore twice (each time for about a month) before he moved here! They even went to St. John's Island and I have never been there!! Lol.

Try not to pack too many things to do on their itinerary - yes, they might want to see everything but they are on vacation after all and should take things slow. Give them time to enjoy the things that they do manage to see/ do.

We brought them to Geylang to eat durian and mangosteens. They tried the durian though they are not as keen on it as hubby and I are but they love the mangosteens. Hubby also had them try the century eggs with rojak - they didn't like that one either but hey, at least they tried something new!

Squeakers

kao_welcome2.gif

I think you will look nice if you wear the cheongsam (it is unique!) and by the way, would probably make your future in-laws blush with glee that you did follow some of the 'traditions'.

I am planning my wedding dinner for March 06 and wish to incorporate something Swedish in it but hubby has no idea of any Swedish traditions so I shall have to ask his mother. He suggested Swedish flags all over the place but hey, this is not a trade fair!

Usually the package for the make-up artist covers the entire event but you better check it out with the artist yourself. Some tends to give you a break and say ok but others stand their ground and insists that you take the full package. Be sure to scout around for the best deal - especially one that agrees with you!

Mrs N

Waking up with major headache each morning, trying to figure out where to put up hubby's 5 family members who will be flying in for the March events. They mentioned that Singapore would be too expensive to stay at for the full three weeks they'll be here so we've suggested they head to Malaysia for some R&R for at least 10 days (benefit of the currency exchange). But I have yet to find a place that is agreeable with the right price. Argh!

Hey gals

Welcome Squeakers! - sounds mousey heheee. Anyways, yeah, its pretty unusual when the female is the western one... heeheez..... My personal opinion is that its nice to inject some chinese stuff in your wedding too! The cheongsam is pretty popular cos its more world-renouned.... However, the chinese kua is pretty cool too, cos you only get it wear it during your wedding. That's why I'll be wearing the chinese kua.... though the common trend is that usually only 'mixed couples' wear the kua. As for make-up artist and stuff... I think it would be good to outsource it yourself, don't have to go through bridal salons, since you've already gotten your wedding gown. I think most make-up artists will do both day and night make-up. Definitely. Not too sure about wedding planner......flying dutchman company would be pretty good, but they are pretty pricey. Do you need photographer and videographer? I can recommend you mine....

Cuclainne - thanks for your suggestion. We might go for the Long Bar.... not sure about the equinox though. What's the price range like? Cos i think his parents are not very keen to spend a lot of money on food too.... actually the 12 ppl who are flying down for the wedding will be settling their accomodations by themselves. That would really help me a lot. But yeah 1 week before the wedding wld be a mad rush of going airport picking ppl up and bringing them around.... plus 1 week after that too.....will definitely bring them around a bit but yeah, i think most of them will want to get around singpaore by themselves too. Yr hubby is so farnie! Swedish flags! Hahhaha, if i put german flags all around, ppl might think its some nazi stuff.... just kidding. i will sing 1/2 a german song in my church wedding and dance the waltz. Plus play a german thing about cutting bedsheet with a heart thing.... Not much,but at least its something. I'll be moving to germany lah, so think that's more impt than making my wedding more german hahah. Most of the ppl flying down will be going to thailand too and they will settle their own stuff.... you can recommend them some good budget airlines to fly around with, and websites like chanbrothers so they can scout around by themselves? at least they will like what they pick.

Priscilla

Thanks for your suggestions. Hubby's family of 5 (his dad and family, plus his youngest brother) decided that it would be much too costly to stay in Singapore for the full three weeks and decided that they wanted to fit in some R&R at a beach in Malaysia. Initially hubby and I suggested them spending some time in Tioman but that was too expensive for them (they told us!). So that's why we are scratching our heads to get agreeable accommodation that comes at the right price. We managed to find a reasonably priced chalet about 200m from the beach at Desaru but they would have to make their way to the chalet grounds on their own as they don't provide transfers from the ferry terminal. Aiyah! But we have agreed that it would keep the accommodation costs down if hubby's brother stayed with us when they're here in Singapore. We have a guest room which is big enough for two people but since hubby placed a computer table in that room, it's now good for only one person.

Hubby's friends who are flying down have confirmed their trip and booked the hotels/ tours on their own so that was a load off our mind.

If you go to the Long Bar, make sure to tell them to make the Slings 'fresh', otherwise they'll just pour it ready-made - or so I've heard. We've been to Equinox twice - the first time cost us about $420 total and the second time was $320, each time we were a party of 4. I guess we spent more the first time because our guests ordered two cocktails each.

Thank you all for the suggestions and greetings!

Actually, I'm seriously thinking of wearing a kua. Just for fun! But obviously I'd have to have it MTM. No off the rack size for me!

I'm going thru with as many traditions as I can. My FH is Teochew (sp?) so I know I have to buy a tea set and dragon/phoenix candles etc.

Can anyone tell me how a tea ceremony goes? I've never seen one and my FH has no idea. He keeps telling me to ask his mother and she keeps telling me "don't worry." So I still have no idea what I'm supposed to do! (other than pour tea. lol)

If anyone needs any info on western traditions please ask! (Like why we do the cake cutting etc.)