Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Cuclainne: Hey hey! I saw the solemnization photos! Very nice! Heez.... your hubby reminds me a bit of my FH at some angles hahah. Its like a preview of what it's gonna be like at my wedding too... the sorta east meet west thing.... Heez.

Equinox sounds so expensive! yikes... maybe will take a look at the website and see if I'd want to go there........

Hey, does that mean your hubby's family came for solemnization then they went back and they are flying down for the wedding again? That's like 2 trips.... maybe that's why they want something affordable to travel around..... heez.,.... can check out www.hostelworld.com they have accomodation according to your budget and also guests who rate the places according to cleanliness, facilities and stuff like that.

Elizabeth

Oh ya! I have come across this place before when sourcing accommodation for hubby's trips - forgot all about it. Will discuss with him. Thanks.

Squeakers - WEAR A KUA! I strongly recommend it, it'd be fun! Plus, i really think you can definitely get a off-the-rack kua. Cos kuas do not have garters or anything like that. They just hang on you sorta... its like a pinofore (is that how you spell it?)on the inside.....I'm usually a M and I have to wear a S for my kua, cos M is way too big for me....

Tea ceremony, can check out some photos to see what it's like. Its just serving tea with a tea set nothing too difficult! heez...when is your actual day?

Yr FH is teochew? that's the same as me! Hahaha. Well, tell your FH that your future mother-in-law is supposed to buy you a jewellery set, hahah...comprising of 4 items, can be a mixture of necklance, bracelet, earrings, brooch....or anything that you like...as long a its 4 items. I wont' be having that from my future mother in law though...cos I'm not that traditional and my parents don't insist, but it'd be a nice thing!

Oh, I think deluxe has a document on chinese customs that she sent to us before...can ask her about it?

We won't do cake-cutting though. Cos my FH doesn't want a dummy cake.... so he's not particular about that either. heheez.

priscilla

Thanks. How's your preparations for the wedding? Excited, nervous....???

Well it is a delicate situation at hand here. Hubby's parents separated when he and his brother were young. They have since went on with their lives ie having new families. As much as his mother wanted to spend time together with us and his brother, Klas (the brother) would only come in March whereas his mom thought that the solemnisation ceremony was more important than the dinner. So she came in Jan with her husband - and in March, hubby's dad will come with his family (he has two teenagers in current relationship) and hubby's younger brother. In a way, it works out well for everyone because at least hubby has family present at all the planned events.

Welcome squekers!

Read yr thread! I'm Teochew and my fiance is Dutch. We went through the tea ceremony last year. But I didn't wear a kua. I look old so didn't want to and my parents are all right with it. My fiance was quite keen in me wearing it and to accompany me with the guy's one. But in the end, we didn't, too short a time to look for one.

But do try it out, think it's fun.

Like Priscilla said, the parents shoudl give the 4 items. But for my case, I told my mum not necessary. In the end, she brought us to the jewellery shop and let us pick what we like. I pick a necklace with a pendant of Mother Mary with Jesus and he a crucifix.

It depends how your FH's parents want. Teochew can be pretty tradition like to pick up bride at a certain time and more. That's what my mum told me. All the best!

The inlaws are insisting on certain things. I know I have to wake up before the sunrises (!!!) so he can fetch me. His mother had to jump over coals into the house (OMG) but thankfully I don't have to do that.

Priscilla, I can understand your FH not wanting a dummy cake. When I told my family about the dummy cake they went beserk! We have to have a real wedding cake.

We're having our solemnisation at the hotel just before the banquet this December. So we have quite some time to plan.

I don't know about the si dian jing. His family is sponsoring the wedding already so I don't want to appear too greedy!

Squeakers

My mom had suggested we get a dummy cake but hubby is not keen on it. He wants to get a tiered cake and share it with everyone during the dinner. Hmm .. wonder who's going to do all the cutting???

It depends on where you have the dinner. If you are having it at a hotel then they will cut and serve the cake. There will be a 'serving' fee though.

For us, the cutting of the cake is important. First, we make a wish as we cut the cake together. (if you visit theknot.com or other wedding sites you'll notice cake cutters in silver and have etchings etc. They can be quite expensive!) Then we feed each other a piece of cake to symbolize that we will 'feed and nurture' each other throughout the marriage.

Of course these days some couples don't realize the importance and will smash the cake into each other's faces!

One way to do it, is to have a small real cake and then have 'sheet cake' in the kitchen. This will make things cheaper for you. The 'sheet cake' is just a flat pan of cake decorated like your cake that is served from the kitchen. The guests never see it.

Wow Cuclainne, your wedding photos are fab. You look soooooo pretty. And your Ah Boy looks good in his outfit too. I'm sure there's more nice photos to come.

Looks like quite a swedish crowd is coming to your wedding. Hey, maybe they will come in their national costume, that would incorporate something swedish into your wedding? Or maybe you or your hubby could don a swedish costume if you have one?

The real wedding cake is more a western tradition, though Eurasians have them too. But I guess the cost of having real cakes are quite expensive that nowadays some people have the bottom (biggest) layer to be real and the upper layers dummy but covered with real icing. Never knew what went into a dummy until I saw my friend's mother make her cake. The dummies were ordinary aluminum pots (without handles) which most people use to cook soups or curry. My hubby never heard of a dummy wedding cake until he tried to cut one at our S'pore celebration. I forgot to tell him!!! He was wondering why the 'icing' was so hard and even after the photographs were taken he was still trying to cut the 'cake' until somebody told him it wasn't the real thing.

Squeakers, we had a dummy cake at the dinner but my aunt also made a 'sheet cake' which was cut a day or two before the 'wedding' and put into boxes to give to the guests as favours at the dinner. We still have our wedding cake from our English wedding sitting in our kitchen. The bottom layer was served to our guests, we still have a portion of the second layer and the top layer is basically untouched (still in its original box). I heard it was traditional to keep the top layer for your first anniversary or for your first child's christening. Do you think I should freeze the cake? Some people say its not necessary to freeze fruitcake while some people say its better to do it. So really not sure what to do. Don't really want it to get mouldy but also not much space in our freezer either.

You should take up the other girls suggestions and use a traditional costume. Its fun and also something different. My hubby made me wear a cheogsum for our practise photo session with the photographer in the UK. I've never own one (not chinese btw, well only 1/8) but my hubby insisted on buying me one to bring back here when he came down the first time with me to S'pore. I guess he wanted a bit of our Asian culture put into the wedding.

Hi Priscilla, gosh you're certainly going to be busy in the next few weeks. Going to airport and bringing people around ... You sound like you're running your own tour company!
Not long to go now.

Hi Elizabeth hope you (+Jeroen) are well too.

Take care girls.

Mrs N

Personally, I wouldn't freeze the cake. My FH is totally grossed out by the idea. LOL. We both also don't like fruit cake which is the best one to freeze. Don't keep it if you can't freeze it. Guarantee it won't be nice after one year of sitting in the pantry!

I was actually thinking about wear a cheongsum because my FH thinks I look sexy in that type of gown. My only problem is that his mother told me that chinese gowns aren't suitable for "big women" Ok. So I'm not chinese but I'm not obese! She said if I wanted an 'asian costume' I should get a Sari.

After she said that, I felt too ashamed/intimidated to wear a kua or cheongsum.

Oh! and for those who don't know. The reason we give cake to the single women at the wedding is that traditionally if she put it under her pillow then she'll dream of her future husband. (I could never figure out how you were supposed to sleep on a piece of cake without making a mess.. but who am I to question tradition? lol)

Hi Cuclainne

Burkill can seat up to 80 pax on the upper floor (aircon) & 120 (i think) on the lower floor (non-aircon). So you wouldn't need to split ur guests up. Depending on whether you prefer air-con or not, the other area can be used as a cocktail-cum-lounge for pre dinner mingling or post dinner dancing area.

Hi Pris

When will ur FH's parents be here? I'll think abt it during the wkend & let u know more if anything comes up.

Meanwhile...
- Night Safari: Should go, they just renovated & it looks quite nice. They have a park hopper pass that makes it cheaper to visit both the zoo & night safari if u r interested.
- Dempsey Road is an interesting place to jalan jalan. Lots of antique furniture shops. 1 cool wine bar (The Wine Company), the latest to see & be seen cafe (PS Cafe - need reservations!!), Dempsey Hut has real good BBQ & of cuz, dun forget the famous Samy's Curry.

For makan, U should check out:
- any of Tung Lok's restaurants, Ling Zhi is a v good vegetarian restaurant. (www.tunglok.com.sg) . Personally I prefer Tung Lok to Crystal Jade.
- Majestic Restaurant (newly opened, in Bukit Pasoh) (part of Majestic Hotel)
- Glutton Square at Esplanade
- Japanese food: Tenshin, the jap restaurant at Allson Hotel (very highly recommended-good food & reasonable prices)
- SEafood, the typical lah: Red House, Long Beach, Jumbo, No Signboard
- If u want zhi char in a nice ambience, go to Beaulieu House in Sembawang Park

That's all i can think of for now. Let me know if u need more help.

Squeakers

I laughed when I read your post about couples not realising the significance and smashing cakes into each other's faces. I must tell the hubby not to do that then. Lol...

You should go with what feels more comfortable with you - I happen to think that it's not the size that matters. If your FH thinks you look sexy in a cheongsam, by all means - do wear one.

Mrs N

Me and the hubby are thinking of getting just a small cake to share with everyone else ... I don't think he would be keen on having 'sheet cakes' cos he wants the actual cake to be served to everyone present at the dinner. I've heard of the tradition of keeping some of the cake for the 1st anniversary but shouldn't you freeze the cake? It might turn mouldy, otherwise.

Yes, I just got word from the hubby that another of his friends are planning to come for the March events .. that makes 10 confirmed attendees from his side right now and he still wants to make a few more calls to some others.

Hmm .. I should really start working on that Swedish tradition bit huh .. I mean, I don't really have much time left. Thanks for the suggestion.

de_luxe

We are looking for a place that will allow us to stay on for quite a while - his family and friends are here and we are pretty sure that they would want to stay out till quite late to catch up on things. Most venues say that functions must end by 11pm so we would like a place that would allow us to stay till maybe 2-3am or if we do have to leave by 11pm, it would be nice to have a pub or club nearby where the guests can proceed to. Plus his dad will be playing music during the dinner - do they accommodate that there?

Wow, this thread really moves very fast! Heez.
Deluxe - Thanks for your comprehensive introduction! I know you have a lot of good recommendations that's why whated to have your opinion. FH's parents coming on 21st or 22nd of February I think. His sister and his friend are arriving tomorrow for one night stay before flying to Thailand coming back on the 22nd again. I think I'll give the Japanese place a try. Where is Allson Hotel? I think his family are not that much food junkies, so they'd go for convenience and price rather than the most exquisite stuff. I can definitely bring one of FH's vegetarian frens to Lingzhi, the only at Far East Square right? Near my office.Oh BTW< the japnese food, for about 4 ppl, how much is it? Is it alacarte? Got sushi train? heez.

Cuclainne: Oh i see, I get it now. Yeah, well its good that both sides of his parents are making the effort to witness the wedding. =) You and hubby look so blissfully happy! So happy for you guys. Hey, i wanted to get some place that would open late too... my restaurant will open until 12 midnight, pushed from 11pm. The hotel would have given us 1am, but we decided that the restaurant was a nicer place cos there's a live band too.

Squeakers - Regarding the cheongsam, I think the best is to have it tailor made. Cos the sizes off-the-rack are pretty small, I have problems finding sizes that look good on me. That's why I don't owe a cheongsam, until I move to Germany hahah, FH insists on me having a chinese costume. Have you been to Singapore? My FH was saying that the girls in Singapore are so tiny - in terms of size. And that's how I felt too when I was in Canada for a student exchange. Girls in singapore tend to be very conscious of their weights and figures, that explains the booming trade of slimming centres and advertisements splashed all over the newspapers. FH's mom commented when she first washed my clothes, that she felt that there's a little kid in the house.... she even held up my jeans and went 'so small!" *in german of course*

Mrs N: That's an interesting tradition! Didn't know that you're supposed to eat a piece of the wedding cake like 1 year after the wedding. Is it still edible? Hmmm... heez. Hey, may i know what's yr race then? You said you're only 1/8 chinese... Was thinking about the cake thing, maybe they put the cake in a box and put it beside their pillow instead of underneath? heez...reminds me of the chinese tradition when children are supposed to put the red packets under the pillow or smth? Or stay up as late as possible on the eve of chinese new year so that their parents can live as long as possible? heez.

Ok lah, its a long post, have a great weekend!

Hey gals

Realized that I will hardly have internet access once I stop work. My last day is on 17th February (next friday) so looking forward to it! Yeah man. The only thing is the place where I stay does not have internet! Only my parents' place, but I only go back over the weekend and I guess the week before the wedding is going to be super packed, but yeah, trusting God to see us through. Yeah, if any of you are keen to come for my wedding, please let me know before the end of next week ok? So I can send you the wedding invitation. =)

Priscilla, I'm eurasian. My dad is of portugese eurasian descent while my mum err is a bit more complicated. My maternal grandfather is half Chinese/half Kadazan while my maternal grandmother is half German/half Filipino so quite a mix. Hee! Hee! Sometimes its too long to describe what exactly I am so its easier to say I'm 'rojak'!

Squeakers, agree with Priscilla that it might be better to MTM a cheongsum, then at least it will fit in the right places. A bit unkind of your FMIL to say such a thing but maybe she didn't mean it so don't take it to heart. If your fiance likes you to wear it maybe you should oblige him after all you are going to be his wife. Actually some Caucasian women look quite pretty in Asian costumes.

Hee! Hee! If I had the choice I wouldn't have fruitcake either but its traditional for English weddings apparently and besides I couldn't find the ingredients for making Sugee Cake which is traditional for Eurasian weddings.

Hi Cuclainne, yup I'll probably will freeze the cake just have to find a way to arrange things in the freezer. Its been sitting in our untility room for 4 months but not mouldy yet. I know what your hubby means by having the real thing, my in-laws were a bit amused when we told them, they never heard of such a thing. One of my friends, had a three tiered cake but only bottom was real which was distributed to the guests, upper two layers were dummies and she kept them as a souvenir! But after a few years, the icing got so dusty she had to throw it away.
So yes, probably better to have a small cake which won't be wasted and which you'll wouldn't end up eating for the next few months.

Mrs N

The hubby is quite fussy about the cake - it shouldn't have cream, it shouldn't be chocolate, etc etc etc. I swear that this man is more fussy than I should be! Lol.. don't know if that is a good thing or not.

Cuclainne,

Is your wedding going to be traditional chinese? I know for me, since my wedding will be following all of his traditions, my white dress and the cake became VERY important to me. Its the only part of the wedding that is from my traditions. So I'm being quite traditional with both of them.

(Traditionally, the groom's cake is chocolate and is usually designed around the groom's hobby's.)

Squeakers

I am Malay and the hubby is Swedish. We went through the solemnisation ceremony on Jan 14th which means that we have been married for close to a month. But we are holding our wedding dinner and Malay-styled lunch in March to enable his family and friends to come down.

I did speak with him about having a groom's cake but he's not keen on having two cakes. Everything must share, he said! Hmm ...

Cuclainne,

Sorry! Shouldn't make assumptions!

I can understand why he wouldn't want two cakes. One is already quite expensive plus I find that many Asians don't like cakes. (I guess cuz they didn't grow up eating them? Though I didn't grow up eating pineapple tart and I love them!)Do you know where you are getting your cake? What type of design are you having?

Right now I'm busy trying to figure out what colour theme to use for my wedding. I'm not creative at all! But I do know that I don't like the very very dark red roses that everyone seems to use.

J Koh

No worries.

I am considering getting my cake from either The Patisserie or at Sugarly Nice. Another lady from the other thread I am at gave a website for cake designs a while ago and they were soooooo beautiful!!! Still haven't decided on which design/ theme though.

Where are you holding your wedding?

I'm thinking of having Cheryl Shuen make my wedding cake. I went to her website and the cakes are quite nice. I'm not sure how much the hotel is going to charge though so if its cheaper then will go with the hotel.

I'm having my wedding at the Four Seasons in Windows West.

Only 2 tables will be mine since its too costly for everyone to fly over but we're having a dinner in the States as well for those who can't come.

Squeakers

Do you have her website to share with us?

Wow! The Four Seasons is very nice. We still need to decide on where to hold the dinner. But we've been quite occupied with other things .. plus I seem to realise that since the wedding, our social life just seems to be on the go (wonder why?).

Which state are you from? How long have you been here?

Got good news today!
FH's brother &amp; younger daughter will be flying in for the wedding!
Initally tot they wouldn't come at all cuz it's not the sch hols yet and the older daughter has to go to sch. But now, they decided that the older one stays home with FH's SIL while the other two will come! Might ask his niece to be the flower girl, but then I would need to find a little boy who can be a ring bearer!

Hello Squeakers welcome! Sorry I hadn't had the time to respond to your earlier posts. I do have an article on Chinese wedding traditions, give me ur email addy if u want it. In general, the Teochews have the most traditions to follow!! I know in the West, it's usually the bride's family who foot most of the bill. For the Chinese, it's normal that the guy's side pay for the wedding, so no need to feel like u r being greedy if they wanna give u the si dian jing too!

Normally at the tea ceremony, u would offer tea to those senior to u in the family. Depending on the family, sometimes the couple kneels down (which is the tradition). Those who dun want to kneel will just bow a little while offering the tea. There's usually someone helping to pour the tea, so all u need to do is to take the cup, offer it, take it back after the person drinks the tea &amp; (here's the fun bit) then take the ang bao or jewellery from them! After that, those junior to u in the family will offer tea to u and u will have to give them ang baos.

I think u shld wear a kua too as this is the only time in a girl's life that she gets to wear a kua. It's not figure hugging at all, just very squarish looking. Dun think u shld buy it, there's a shop in Tanjong Pagar (i can't remember the name) that specialises in kua (&amp; the male equivalent) and the other stuff that u will need for the whole ceremony.

If u dun feel comfortable in a cheong sum, you might want to consider wearing an ao dai (the Vietnamese traditional costume) instead. I've seen some that look very formal and elegant.

For myself, I will wear the kua only for the pre-wedding photo shoot as we are having the tea ceremony at the hotel just before solemnization and won't have much time to change. But I may wear a cheong sum (or a modern interpretation of it) for the evening gown.

Hi Pris

Allson Hotel is in btwn City Hall &amp; Bugis. Not far from the new National Library. I dun have the name &amp; no. of the Jap restaurant with me now, will look for it &amp; let u know. It's a la carte &amp; not the typical tempura, sushi place. The food is typical home-style food. I think u shld give the sashimi a miss (too common) &amp; try some of the other not so common items. The cod fish is yummy! Depending on what u order, it will prob be abt $30 per person.

Ling Zhi has 2 outlets: Liat Towers &amp; Far East Square.

U might also want to bring them for dian xin. Check out Red Star. It's an old but well known dim sum place in an old HDB estate not far from Clarke Quay. They still have the old fashioned dim sum trolleys. But go only on Sundays, that's when they have the most selection &amp; u must be early else everything's finished.

Bak Kut Teh is also a good bet, the best I know of is at Rangoon Road, near Hotel New World site (the hotel that collapsed in 1981) - ur dad should know its location.

Think u shld also bring them for Peranakan food, it's abt as S'porean as u can get. Try Blue Ginger or Simply Peranakan.

If they want to try Indian food, Kinara, Vansh &amp; Rang Mahal are good. If u wanna do ur bit for charity, then go to the charity Indian veg restaurant called Annalakshimi at Excelsior Hotel. There r no prices in their menu, u just pay the amt u want to. All proceeds go to fund their charity.

There's also a good xiao long bao / guo tie place near Chinatown. It's called Qiu Zhong at Neil Road. U could also get them some of the traditional Chinese pastries from Tong Heng.

Think this shld be enough makan for now!!

Hi cuclainne

Shouldn't be a problem for u guys to stay late at Burkill Hall. U will only need to inform ur caterer. They will prob charge u a little overtime charge (usually from 11pm or 12am) for their staff to stay on.

For Burkill Hall, they basically provide just the venue &amp; u need to get the caterer to provide the other things like tables, chairs, stage, speakers &amp; mics. They dun have a problem with music and all, they only want that u dun damage their furniture as some are antiques! I think it'll be a safe bet to use one of Burkill's recommended caterers as they r familiar with the place.

Most other venues r pretty much sticks in the mud over the timing. For me, I definately have to find somewhere else to go to after 11 as the poolside is just below the guest rooms &amp; they r afraid that we'll be too noisy n cause pple to complain.

Hey Cuclainne, how about malay or nonya kueh? Usually got no chocolate or cream!
There used to be a place called Conas in Katong that makes sugee cakes for Eurasian weddings, don't know if they are there now. Hee! Hee! Do you realise that your wedding (and almost everybody's on this thread) is a Eur-asian wedding?

Squeakers, you could also incoporate western traditions like throwing the bouquet or garter into your banquet programme. Might liven up the dinner a little. When my cousin married her Canadian husband they had that at the wedding dinner. After that, almost all other weddings in our family had them, it was such fun. A bit different from the usual Chinese wedding dinner.

Hey!
This is a rather interesting, close knit group here!

just a quick little introduction:
Husband to be is dutch. we just came back to singapore after a stint in dubai. and now we trying to finalise a lot of things..

Wedding is at four seasons, and right now, we are in the midst of confirming rooms for guests... room rates are sky rocketing! Also trying to think of nice wedding favours - something dutch and peranakan... ideas?

Hi amoeba8888,

I'm also having my wedding at FS. Are you using the Grand Ballroom or the Crescent?
When's your AD?

My close family is staying at FS but the rest are staying at other hotels cuz its too expensive for everyone to stay there. I have to book my own room since my FH has to 'fetch' me in the morning.

Hi squeakers!
AD is on 30 Sept using the grand ballroom - size is just nice cos he's got a lot of relatives flying in from holland.
Tell me about it. FS room rates are really expensive. So my mom is helping me to get cheaper rates with her friends in the industry. book earlier, cos i hear it will be difficult to get accommodation.
having a church wedding, so he won't fetch me..
when is your AD? who's your contact at FS?

Amoeba8888

kao_welcome2.gif

Wow! The Four Seasons is very nice yah .. but sure to be expensive. Doesn't the hotel give you some discount with regards to the rooms since you've booked the ballroom with them?

Hi Cuclainne.
Well, i assumed that they were supposed to, but the rate is still as good as a non wedding guest.
oh well...
where are you doing yours? are you having another reception elsewhere?

amoeba8888

The hubby and I had our solemnisation ceremony at home in Jan. We are planning on hosting a dinner here - we have decided on a date but not on the venue. My best woman is freaking out for me .. hahahaha. It's just going to be a small party so maybe that's why we don't feel pressured to confirm anything yet. We won't be doing anything in Stockholm cos it's too expensive.

Wow, our thread is expanding! Heeehez...welcome amoeba888!

Thanks a lot Deluxe for your input! Will definitely try a few places. =)

Been so busy lately! RSVP and stuff like that.Feel like i'm running on twice the amount of steam compared to what I'm used to. Anyways FH's sister and friend came down last Saturday and they had a full-blown chinese new year dinner at my friend's place which was a new experience for them.They had Yu Sheng and red packets from my friend's mom too. Her mom's cooking is just awesome! They all loved her food... then we went to Clarke Quay for some chill-out drinks. They left for Phuket and Bangkok on Sunday....This coming Sunday another 4 of them are coming at the airport, followed by quite a number of them over the next week or so. I think its gonna be super super busy! Its starting to sink in that I'm really going to married soon and its a bit unreal also. Don't think it will hit me until I say "I do" hahahz.

Anyways, tomorrow is my last day of work. So really looking forward to it! yay yay!Sad thing is I wouldn't have that much internet access as my house doesn't have.

Ok gals, Appreciate your prayers for me during this time. Will need as much spiritual help I can get. Yeah, really want to enjoy the whole process of preparations and bringing his family and friends around.

God bless, Pris

Hi Priscilla, just wanted to wish you &amp; Stephan all God's blessings for next week and for the rest of your lives. You will be in our prayers indeed. Do take things easy in the final run up and make sure you get plenty of rest before the big day.

Hi amoeba8888, are you a microbiologist? Just wondering as your name sounds very biological.
As for favours, just thinking off the top of my head, how about a pair of dolls (small ones), a boy dressed in dutch costume and a girl in nonya kebaya?

Hee! Hee! Cuclainne, a Eurasian wedding is never complete without sugee cake!!!! Probably an answer to your cake headache yah???

kao_welcome.gif
amoeba88
If your guests don't need to stay at FS, they could stay at the nearby hotels. Traders, Regent, Elizabeth, Orchard Parade &amp; Orchard Hotel should be much cheaper.

Hi Priscilla,
All the best! Stay calm!!

BTW, forgot to tell you to check out Academy Bistro at the new Supreme Court. It's not local food but the chef is one of Singapore's rising stars &amp; his food is damn good! They are only opened during weekdays for lunch. Dinners only on Fridays.

Cuclainne Did u managed to visit Burkill? BTW, u could consider the french-style wedding cake called croquembouche. Actually not really a cake, it's a towering confectionary made of cream puffs glazed with caramel (see pic below). Maybe u could also use durian puffs for a local flavour..haha

Does anyone know where I can find nice &amp; reasonably priced (max $100+) wedding shoes? Taka, paragon &amp; tangs selection are quite poor. Saw Paradox's range at Taka, looks nice but way to expensive at almost $300 per pair.

348951.jpg

Mrs N

It's a worthwhile consideration - will have to run the idea by hubby.

de_luxe

Oooh .. it's so lovely but hubby wants a 'proper' cake. At one point of time, I even wanted cupcakes but he doesn't agree. Hmmm ..

No, we didn't manage to look at Burkhill Hall because we were quite busy with other engagements over the weekend. Better get a move on, yah..

How are your preparations?

Congrats Priscilla &amp; Stephan!!

Here's an Apache Wedding Blessing for u:

Now you will feel no rain,
for each of you will shelter for the other,
Now you will feel no cold,
for each of you will be warmth for the other
Now there is no loneliness for you,
now you are two persons,
but there is only one life before you.
Go now to your dwelling place
to enter into days of your life together.
And may your days be good,
and long upon the earth

Hi Mrs N &amp; Cuclainne

My AD is 8 Jul... i've just been reminded that it less than 20 weeks away!!! *GULP* Still a no. of things not done cuz I'm always so tied up with work
.... My boss was asking what song will we be dancing to for the 1st dance &amp; I said we've not even talked abt it &amp; hardly anything's been done... I hope he got the hint :p

Have to find JP, print invites (&amp; of cuz send them out + manage the guest list &amp; seating arrangement), buy beer &amp; wines, buy rings, find a live band or DJ, choose music, food tasting.... can't remember what else...

Just had my shoes custom made at Leapin' Lizard, only $149 which I felt was reasonable for a custom made pair... prob will dye it another colour after the wedding.

BTW, I think Hangout @ Mt Emily might be a good place for out of town guests on a budget... seems quite reasonably priced...

de_luxe

Oh, that date will creep up on you slowly but surely ... probably best to get a move on with your preparations.

My dinner is in 3.5 weeks and I still haven't chosen a venue yet! Argh!

Cuclainne,

You only have 3.5 weeks? Wow. I would be really stressed if I were you. I'm only on the budgeting part right now, who pays for what etc... So stressful! I hate talking about money to begin with..sigh.

de_luxe,

why don't you try my JP, Chan Kai Yau. He's quite nice and should be available.

Squeakers

Yeah ... terribly stressed right now and my hubby is not helping at all. Do you know that he wants to keep it all under 1K, yet he suggested we rent a venue at Fort Canning (without thinking that we need to pay for that, plus catering, decoration, etc). Sometimes he really drives me nuts with his requirements. Hmmm ...

How are your preparations coming along?

Cuclainne

Wow.. he wants everything to be under 1k? That's impossible! I don't think he realizes what's involved. Or maybe he thinks you're a 'Domestic Goddess' and can DIY the whole thing...heehee

My preparations are going ok I guess. I already have the venue and the dinner menu picked out so that's easy. I found a photographer I like, but I don't know if he's available. Decor is my biggest problem right along with picking a cake design. My fiance doesn't seem to be that interested in the planning but then again we do have almost 9 more months before the AD. Can have a baby in that time. lol.

I don't want to have red at the wedding but I don't know how well my FILs are going to take it. So far they have been quite adamant about sticking to traditions.

Oh! I made the mistake of asking about 'guarding the door' in the morning before my FH fetches me. Apparently that's a Cantonese tradition? (They are Teochew) My FMIL was quite offended that I didn't know that and included it in the planning. Ooops!