Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Would Indian Veg be good? FH n I can't take fried and spicy food as we are preparing ourselves for a detox on Monday. Not to worry, if it's difficult, just go ahead with the venue, we can always join u for a drink and al of u eat. Hee hee!

Hi Priscilla

I am new here and need your advise and help. do you have the number for Grand Shanghai and is the place very *chi-na* looking? I urgently looking for a venue for solemnization and party.. Pls kindly email me at [email protected]
thank you for your help..

hihi girls!

i think maybe we can go for something like non-spicy? So that Liz and Jereoen? can join us?

Deluxe - thanks for all your suggestions! Hmm, considering that I haven't been to any except for coffee club n rice table (which i don't think we shd go to cos its spicy food).... do you wanna suggest? Maybe smth not too expensive also.... $15? How about Marche? Or is that gonnna be too crowded? Dunno if they take reservations...Does anybody know? Or pasta mania? There's one at cineleisure..... Can go to Meridien Hotel for a nice drink at one of their lounges after dinner.

Ok, I'll be the first to leave my no. My no. is 91808021.....can u all sms me? So i can store your numberS? So far, confirmed

1. liz + FH
2. Cuclainne?
3. De_luxe?

Hi jessica!

I don't have the information now........maybe you wanna sms me on 91808021........and i can sms you the contacts of the person when i reach back? Its very fuss free one.........cos the service at Grand Shanghai is very good.....and you'll really fall in love with the place! Its like super grand and classy

pris

Hi jessica!

I don't have the information now........maybe you wanna sms me on 91808021........and i can sms you the contacts of the person when i reach back? Its very fuss free one.........cos the service at Grand Shanghai is very good.....and you'll really fall in love with the place! Its like super grand and classy

pris

Hi jessica!

pris

Meeting on Saturday evening ... I think we might need to make reservations if we're meeting in town. Otherwise might not be able to find a place to meet at ...

ok, we shd make a reservation, but need to decide on what place also........??? Or are u all ok about Holland V too? There got quite a lot of restaurants......can make reservations..... or do we prefer esplanade?

hey girls!

Ok, How abt someone make a suggestion and we stick to it? Chijmes sounds good.... wat restaurant? And wat price range? I'll be having my first wedding gown fitting this coming saturday too! They will do my hair and make-up. So interesting.....Plus this will be the first time that I'm gonna see the wedding gown that i designed by myself. I'm really excited!

pris

OK.. This is what I suggest in accordance to all the comments (prioritized by price, cuisine i.e. asian / local & non spicy, location). Check out the links for more info...

- Mai Vietnamese: Atrium @ Orchard, next to Plaza Singapura (about $10 for a bowl of pho) http://food.asia1.com.sg/gdfd/fea_20050808_001.shtml

- Thai Express (Esplanade, Paragon, Plaza Singapura, City Link) http://www.thaiexpress.com.sg/franchise.htm

- Lao Beijing, Plaza Singapura: Beijing food, not sure about price, think it’s not too ex. http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

- Tea House (Primarily tim sum, Chinese food), China Square $28+++ for à la carte buffet dinner http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

- Space @ My Humble House (Jazzed up local Chinese food), Esplanade http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

- Straits Kitchen (Grand Hyatt, Orchard): Halal local food buffet @ $38+++
http://restaurants.singapore.hyatt.com/straits/straits_intro.html

- Menotti (Raffles City) Italian, café price range. Never eaten there before, but it’s always crowded so guess food must be good … http://www.think.cz/eats2/menotti.html

- Baker's Inn (Raffles City / Paragon / One Fullerton) http://www.bakerzin.com/about_comp.asp

- Coffee Club (Raffles Place, Raffles City) http://www.coffeeclubworld.com/

- Carnivore (Chijmes) (Buffet @ $39) http://food.asia1.com.sg/gdfd/res_20050102_002.shtml

- Seah Street Deli (Raffles Hotel): American food, large servings, about $20 for a main course

- Esmirada (Chijmes), Mediterranean food. http://www.esmirada.com.sg/index.htm

- Bobby Rubino (Chjimes) Abt $30 for a main course. cuclainne, it's a ribs place, so dunno if u r ok with it? http://www.californiacbd.com/Bobby_Rubinos%20Singapore.htm

Will be emailing u gals my mobile number. Doubt will have time to log in for the rest of the week, so sms or call me if u dun hear from me b4 sat...

Thanks De-luxe! U did a fantastic job!
Greatly appreciate it! Coffee club sounds good! There's one also at the Rendezvous Hotel. If not, Mai Vietnamse, is there vegetarian?

de_luxe, they serve chicken at Bobby Rubino - I think - but since we're meeting at Coffee Club, that shouldn't be a problem.

Shall we confirm for the coffee club @ Rendezvous?

hey gals

Ok, how abt coffee club? I think I noe where Hotel Rendevouz is...maybe someone can make a reservation? So can we confirm no. of ppl? I think there will be liz +FH, cuclainne, me, de_luxe (and /or FH) = 5 ppl, maximum 6/...... Confirm k?

wanna say that had a very good time meeting up with Liz + jereon + deluxe (corrine) and Bertil..... Yupz...will share the photo when i get my card reader......cuclainne (nisi), how's yr wedding prep coming along? You sound so bz! And preparing for the big day in pretty short notice...when is yr actual day?

Priscilla

Sounds like you ladies had a good time meeting up last Saturday. Sorry I couldn't join in ... I was out since morning, looking for wedding favours, confirming my wedding registration with ROMM, booking the guy who's going to marry us (the equivalent of the Justice of Peace for you, i think), looking for wedding rings, booking my BS/ MUA, etc ... argh!!! I'm so stressed right now cos I feel like there's not enough time .. hahahaha. My solemnisation date is 14 Jan 06 - me and FH will be married then but we're only having the lunch/ dinner/ party on the weekend of 24-26 Mar 06.

hi priscilla, liz (& jeron of cuz)... great seeing u guys on sat...
wouldn't mind more meet up sessions when we all find the time

priscilla.. wonder if ur FMIL has given u any feedback on german wedding traditions?

cuclainne, too bad you couldn't join. btw, on ur search for wedding favours, did u come across any supplier that provides little jars of honey or jam for favours?

work has been so busy....haiyah... major lack of sleep.. eyes can barely open liao... nitez

hi deluxe - heehee, my FMIL said no need to have any german traditions cos she doesn't know any, and cos she wants a full-blown chinese dinner thing.......but one thing i know, most weddings they dance the waltz....its like the bride and groom will dance first and the others will follow suit after the 1st dance.....I'm dancing the waltz with my HTB, but i don't think the others will, cos our item will probably at the beginning of the dinner.

It was a great meet up! Been rading the thread but no energy to reply. Ha ha ha...I'm super busy right now to finish up for my tomor's engagement. I'm getting so excited! Ha ha ha.. even dreamt of it in my sleep! Can't wait for tomorrow. Please pray for me a good weather for sat & sun. Ha ha I got drenched after the outdoor photo shoot. Can't post the website of my photos here. got rejected!

Got to go ladies! FH n I have to go and buy flowers, then pedi n mani n collect our photo frame! Ciao!

Elizabeth

Your engagement is this weekend? Congratulations, girl!!! Must take care ah .. drink plenty of water and have enough sleep. Wouldn't want to appear tired in your photos, do you? You must tell us how the experience is, yah..

Hey gals!

How r u all? its gotten so quiet! Guess everybody's busy with work, prep for weddings and everything.. Anyways, thought I'd drop a short msg to check on you girls........ Liz! how did your engagement go? I liked the pictures that you took for the photoshoot, looks very sweet and I think your fren did a pretty nice job. Though I did feel can go to more places...... Cuclainne, how's yr prep coming along too? hehee....

Hi Liz, how did ur engagement go? pictures pictures?

thanks for the link cuclainne... will check it out. haven't found any honey or jam favours so far. I might just give up and use the hotel's favours (tho I dun really like than) if really can't find. Dealing with the hotel is such a pain!!

Hi priscilla... have u & HTB taken waltz lessons? I suggested to FH that we learn some basic dance moves from a dancer friend and he doesn't want. Not sure if it would be advisable to do 1st dance with FH... he has 2 left feet!!! :P

Maybe for traditions i'll just settle for something new, something borrowed & something blue
easy peasy...

Priscilla

My preps are coming along great ... I've paid my deposit for the MUA/ BS and I need to confirm the photographer. I'm also close to choosing my new home so everything is falling in place nicely. How's your preps coming along?

de_luxe

Which hotel are you using and what's their favours? I was at Takashimaya today and I saw the small jars of jam but they were about $2.50 each. So ex!!

hi cuclainne

i'm using oriental. Their favours are chocolates, boy-girl keychains, a pair of teddy bears or a cupid card holder. If I use theirs, most prob will use the cupid card holder tho it wouldn't really match the table decor. The rest are either too common or not practical.

Yah, $2.50 a bit on the high side. I budget $2 each, inclusive of the tags & packaging, but of cuz the cheaper the better.

de_luxe

If you and/ or your FH travels, then perhaps you might want to consider getting your wedding favours there. Someone's FH (she's from another thread) went to Bangkok and bought their favours there - cheap yah.

Hey girls....

De_luxe: - I shd be taking up waltz lessons with my fiancee when he comesdown in Jan 06. We'll probably go with Jitterbugs or josephine. Its gonna be about $250 to $300 to have a dance item to learn together.....

Cuclainne: Will u and yr FH buy a place? I sorta remembered u saying that you'd wanna just rent.

As for me, I'm sorta halting my wedding preparations, cos my mom's critically ill and don't really know what to do.

priscilla

I'm so sorry to hear about your mother. I hope that she'll be ok. Is she getting the care she needs?

I won't be buying a place cos me and FH have no idea how long we will be living in Singapore. We might go back to Stockholm after two years or something ... or even go someplace else first though we have decided that we eventually would like to return to Sweden.

Hi priscilla

I am so sorry to hear that your mum's ill. I hope she'll be fine. Do take good care of yourself too and I really hope your mum will be fine after receiving the care that she'll need..

Btw, pertaining to dancing classes, I guess both me and my FH will have to start learning some waltz or something too, esp for our french wedding since the couple have to start the waltz after the dinner. Actually I know 2 persons of Jitterbugs. Did you get in touch with Fen? She is very good and if you learn from her, I am sure you'll pick up the dance steps in no time. Of course I am sure the other instructors from Jitterbugs are equally good as well.

Its extremely cold here, really hope the cold air will go away very soon!

Talk to you gals again!

sorry ladies! Of course I didn't forget any of u. I just reached Netherlands yesterday. Very tired! Been busy in Singapore, packing, no time to write in the forum. Will be back at it again in the next dew days. Lots of things to pack and settle in again. But with the family making the home so cosy helps a lot to settle in. will write again. Will go back to sleep in a while.

Elizabeth

That's very nice of his family to help you with the home - makes the transition phase very comforting then. How are you holding up with the cold there? FH can't wait till he gets to Paris - he says it's 'warmer' than Sweden is.

Hi peeps

Thanks for all your concern. Mom's still in hospital been there for like 1 week already. Well, dunno lah doesn't look like she is getting any better, she has terminal-stage bone cancer and the cancer has spread to all parts of her body including the spinal cord and bone marrow. Yeah, so now its either a miracle happens or its a matter of time before she goes home to be with the Lord. Been feeling up and down lately, cos its the living with the uncertainty of what is going to happen in future kinna thing.

Anyways, for my wedding preparations........ my website is up already...If you all are free can check out the website ok? www.stephanpris.com Oh and please do sign in my guestbook too ok?

DeniseK - My FH and i wont' start on waltz class until he is here..... tat wld be in Jan 06 only....

dear priscilla,

sorry to hear about yr mother. Will keep her in prayer. It must be so tough for u.

Ladies, I will email u the photos. I'm still unpacking my things and cleaning the house. So many things to do still and my sinus is not so good! Sigh! Take care ya! Will write or catch u online over msn.

Hi Liz,

Thanks for your encouragement. Yeah, really appreciate your prayers for my Mom. She's called Lydia Tan BTW.Is it very cold in Holland now? Do send us some pictures...Yeah, can imagine u'd be quite stressed having to unpack and all. But it shd be over in a couple of days.Anyways, i'm feeling quite happy today....maybe cos its thursday already and the end of the week is almost here! Yippee! Liz, do send us some pictures of where you stay in all! Do you have a blog perhaps?

Priscilla... i'm sorry to hear abt ur mom... it's always hard to deal with things like that. Can pretty much empathize w u as I've had to deal with something similiar a few months back. Take heart and stay strong..

Liz... hope u r settling down well. Keep in touch.

Hope things are fine with the rest of u...

I'm pretty bogged down with work and haven't been able to do much else. Seems that some of my deadlines at work will clash majorly with the wedding and kinda lost track of the wedding preps too... been meaning to list down what else we have to do but haven't got to it yet...

Elizabeth

Thank you for your email. Your pictures are lovely - you and Jeroen look so blissfully happy. By the way, just curious if there is a meaning behind the heart-shaped balloon you were holding.

How are you settling - you know, new place, new environment, new climate, etc?

Priscilla

Hey dear .. how is your mother doing?

Be strong yah .. she needs a lot of support from the family.

de_luxe

I understand what you mean. I got a bit disheartened a few weeks ago but things have slowly picked up pace again.

I've found a place to rent and I have booked my BS, photographer, decoration, catering, etc. Now I just have to attend the marriage prep course and wait for the big day to arrive. Oh yes, I also need to figure out the venue for dinner, my dress and the rings of course. That's about it for me. So relieved!

de_luxe

Not really superwoman la .. I've been doing a lot of sourcing and once I focus on something that I want, I make sure that I get it before someone else books. Hehehehe .. so maybe that's why everything seems to be in order.

Hi Deluxe,
Have I sent u the photos yet? I'm settling well so far. Just have to keep the house clean of dust! Ha ha ha! How are u getting on? Haven't seen u on msn.

Hi Cuclainne,

Not new place or environment. Still the same old place but the weather is cold and turning windy and more rains as the winter has approached. I think the first 3 mths here helped me to settle in quickly this time round.

Wow! Seem u are all ready for yr coming wedding! You are just like me, booked way in advance! Ha ha ha... I haven't got to start planning for my wedding yet. But got some ideas on the food. Most likely to prepare ourselves with the help of his family. The idea came when they had birthday celebrations. Great fruit cocktail the dad concoted and the crispy tasty biscuits with fillings u can pick to put on. This is going to be part of the food. Will think about it more. Ha ha ha... 5 more months to the wedding...

Elizabeth

I'm glad to hear that you're having a good time there. Who knows, I might decide to visit when we're back in Stockholm.

Hi Elizabeth

Haven't gotten ur photos yet. Can email to [email protected]?

Been very busy at work - that's why haven't been online often.

Some hitches with the wedding plans AGAIN. *sigh* So xian... Just when I tot we confirmed to go ahead with the PS, work has to come along and screw things up. Now work deadlines will clash big time with the PS and I dunno if I should just dun give a damn and go ahead or if I should play it safe and cancel the PS. FH doesn't mind either (I think he would rather save the $$$). My 1st instinct is to go ahead, just that a bit scared that somehow I wouldn't be able to get away from work or will end up like a pandan during the PS but I'm so fed up with having to plan my life ard my work and I just feel that this being once in a lifetime, I shouldn't compromise...

de_luxe

I supposed it's really up to you and your FH to decide whether to proceed or to put it on hold till after your work deadlines are met. You are right to feel fed up but sometimes things happen beyond our control. Well, look at it on the bright side - perhaps this came up because something good is on its way.

Hi Cuclainne,

Sure! U r most welcome! I'm doing to Paris to meet up Denise and another lady fr Sg bride too.

Hi De-Luxe,

Sometimes things don't go the way it is but don't get stressed up by it. I was also stressed up from chosing the photographer and decided just to ask my friend to take no doubt she is not professional. However, I was too sick that day to go ahead with the PS, so we decided to do without. Out of the blue, one of my friends who is a photographer, my official photographer for ED n TC only called and had this interesting idea (actually before the call, we wanted to use him but he charged too ex that we didn't in the end). He came across this field and had this idea and he didn't charge us for his professionalism coz of friendship. We paid only for the print n photo frame. Though it was a last minute and rush but it fell into place. Sometimes, God works in a very funny way. We were so tight in budget and He provides. After the engagement, my another friend came up with crazy ideas of taking photos at my parent's house near by park. It turned out I have so many photos of engagement day, tea ceremony, PS and others. Discuss with your FH and see what is the best. Everything will work out somehow. This is what I learn to take it easy and don't get stress out. I was so stressed out before the engagement day too but Jeroen told me to relax and take it easy and I did. Surprisingly we barely have enough sleep but the day turned out to be very memorable day for us and our family and friends.

Elizabeth

Hey - hope you've had a good Christmas in Netherlands. Ah Boy is finally here (he arrived yesterday) - tired but he started work today anyways.

The apartment is coming along pretty nicely - we've bought some essential stuff and it's beginning to look/ feel like a home with us two living there. So nice!

Hello girls

So nice to read all yr inputs after a while. I've been super tied down with visiting mom at the hospital most days after work. She was in hospital for about 5 weeks in all. But she asked to be discharged last Thursday and is now resting at home. Her situation is better, but not very promising either.

Anyways,now I have the time to continue doing my wedding preparations again. I'm trying to finalize my church program, so that I can come up with a program sheet...then i can start focussing on dinner program....

Elizabeth - how's stuff with you? How's yr christmas? R u intending to apply to study or do u intend to find a job?

Deluxe - how's yr PS? Hmm, is there any way u can change yr PS date? Cos if not, also quite hard to have peace of mind in going? Either that or I think you could talk to your boss and let him / her know how difficult its been for you.

Ok, I got to go. My website is up. www.stephanpris.com Please feel free to take a look and sign in my guestbook too ok? Thanks babes!
Cuclainne - u muz be so happy now that yr FH is here. When is yr AD again?