Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

georginat

mrs. n, walking up and down the stairs will let you have a faster and smoother delivery, if its natural birth...

just came back from the clinic, will go for c-section with epidural so that hubby still can watch me give birth..have booked may 26 as THE date coz Julio will come to sg on may 25..hopefully the baby will not come out earlier !!

nisa...thanks
your girls will always be welcome , its ok they are noisy..

maplehue. swelling not painful but irritating !!now can only wear 1 pair of shoe...all others cant even fit in at all !!

hello ladies, hope everyone is well. i've been back at work for about a week now and was just telling elias that i feel more tired doing nothing at work, than being on my feet all day at home.

anyways, i've been baking up a storm *well, not literally
* this weekend ..

horlicks doggie cookies - these were too cute for me to pass up on, so i baked these for sofi and nephew.

657883.jpg

strawberry jellyheart (strawberry cheesecake with agar-agar) - i tasted this when a colleague gave me one last week. she paid $20 for 16 pieces and i think i forked out less to make one on my own and if i cut it bite-size, i would get more than 16 pieces!!!

657884.jpg

anyways i got the recipes from http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com - very good local baking blog.

margiel

Hi Cuclainne, I LUV your horlicks doggie cookies! They are lovely and great bite size for kids too! (and adults too hehee)
Wow your strawberry cheesecake looks yummy yum yum, would like try the recipe one day

maplehue

Hello ladies, hope everyone is well.

Hi Deluxe, the shipper came on Saturday and good news..they will do the packing too for us!
But I'm sure the hubby will be around to supervise this time. The cost is not much at all. So far, after looking at our stuff, he quoted US$1750-2000 for approximately 8 cubic meter..which is not bad at all. And insurance is included.

As for food at Nanyang, i don't remember which canteen was it near the the staff housing. But there is a bus-stop near it too with a little mini mart. And of course, you can also find lots of good food at Jurong West! Just a feeder away right! and movies too! I used to swim a lot when i was there. There is a swimming pool near the Centre right. I hope the temp. accommodation will be fine for you guys. They are new. PS: Check your Multiply. I've send some more infos.

Georgina, Im glad the swelling is not painful for you. When my sis had swollen feet, she could only wear the fabric type of slippers.

Hi Cuclainne, your cookies look so scrummy. I miss horlicks so much!! Can i have the doggy recipe? What did you use for the dog's ears?

Hello to everyone else here. Talk soon.

margiel, the lady's blog has loads of tried-and-tested recipes and even though it was my first time making cheesecake, i managed to avoid any 'mistakes' by following her tips .. i can't wait to try her durian muffins .. heheh ..

maplehue, yah i miss horlicks too, that's why i went out to buy a whole bottle and when i came across the recipe, it was like hitting jackpot lor .. heheheh .. you can get it from http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com - you can select it from the food categories on the right. i used koko crunch cereals .. i roped elias in to help me with the 'decoration' but after 4 cookies, he decided that he was better off doing dishes .. he was also eating on the job (munching on the 'ears') ..
btw nigella also has a recipe for cake which combines horlicks with chocolate and maltesers .. yummy .. i want to try!!

de_luxe

Hello everybody!!

Wow... cuclainne that's a lot of baking... how did you manage to do all that in 1 weekend? They all look yummy.. are the white doggie ears made of koko krunch too?

I made carrot cake muffins last week and that was enough work for me!

maplehue good to hear that you've gotten a good deal. That's a really reasonable price, esp if insurance is included. KC Dat is coming tmrw for a survey.

The canteen you mentioned is the same one as Canteen 2 then. That's the only one with the minimart. Yes, I swum a lot there too...clean Olympic sized pool - what's there not to like?

We usually walk to Jurong West - the HDB estate near to City Harvest Church. Don't really like Jurong Point cuz it's so crowded. For movies, we prefer Great World City which is much quieter. We used to go to Plaza Singapura, before they renovated and it was like a ghost town. But now with Carrefour there, it's super busy and we don't like going there as much.

de_luxe: yah i also don't know how i managed to do so when the kids are at home.. hahaha .. sofi kept coming into the kitchen whilst i was doing the muffins and so i showed her that i needed to pour the batter into the muffin cups. while i was cleaning the mess, she dipped her finger into one and started licking the batter off her finger - aiyoh, raw eggs leh .. quickly told elias to come and get her but before we could stop her, she dipped her finger in again .. yum yum was all she could say .. hahahah .. then i placed the tray into the oven and she was watching it bake for a while before i bundled her off to watch tv .. the minute it was done, i offered one to elias to try (he's the taste tester) and sofi quickly got up from her cushion, went to her dad and opened her mouth really wide .. so cute ..

maplehue

Hello ladies,

Cuclainne, now I can't wait to go back to Sg. I've been craving for Nestum and horlicks for a few months now and after seeing your scrummy cookies, I am definitely going to try making them. The only problem is where..? We can't bake cookies in the hotel room! And before we go to HK, I'm definitely bringing some Horlicks with me. Cute of Sofi to lick the batter. Even an older man like Jeff loves to do that too esp. when he is making chocolate cake for me. He is the baker in the house.

Hi Deluxe, did KC Dat give you a quote? I hope this time, you and hubby don't have to wait so long to get your things cleared in Sg. Jeff and I told the shipper that no matter what, our things must be cleared by a certain date cos we won't be bringing any work clothes, resources and materials for work with us when we travel for the summer holiday. I want to travel light this time..and maybe have more room for shopping.*wink*.
Plaza Singapura has definitely changed a lot. It is so crowded now and we don't like it there either. The only time we go there is when we have to go to Jeff's Citibank branch next to the building.

I used to walk to the HDB estate too, near City Harvest church to get a quick bite at McDonald esp. when i was lazy to cook and didn't feel like canteen food. I loveee chicken nugget with curry sauce. There is no curry sauce here in Korea. There is nothing here at all!

Emi...how's the visit to Eckersley?

Hello to everyone else here. Talk soon and stay well. xo

de_luxe

haha cuclainne that's so funny...sofi is certainly learning to be a gourmet already! Maybe elias will be retrenched from his taste tester job soon?!

maplehue the survey has been delayed till Fri cuz my HB is in Canberra today for a conference. The shipping from Korea to HK shouldn't take too long right? Are they able to guarantee the clearance date? I thought they usually wouldn't as it's not within their control? Whereabouts are you going for the summer?

Actually, this time, I wouldn't be too concerned abt the clearance in SG. SG is typically efficient (don't think they will tell me that PSA is short staffed!) and the quarantine restrictions aren't as tough as Oz. In fact, the longer they hold it the better since we wouldn't have any room for all the stuff and would have to pay for warehousing if there are still no staff apt when they arrive. Clothes-wise I should be able to get away with borrowing my sis' clothes for a while :p

maplehue

Hello ladies,

Deluxe, the shipper just informed us that it will take about 20 days for the shipment. But the "door to door" is another thing. I think this is what he meant by clearance cos like what you said, it is out of their hands. It is a little vague and Jeff wants a firmer confirmation. He said he'll get back to us for more info from HK side. I am quite scared that we'll end up with no shipment when work starts. Knock on wood!

Summer will be in Canada this year. We will fly to Sg from Korea for one week first, then off to Vancouver for 2 weeks plus, return to Sg for a couple of days and off to HongKong!

I don't think you'll have much problem with clearance in Sg. So far so good for me with my previous clearances and not only you can borrow your sis' clothes, you can also buy some.

Is the hubby back from Canberra?

Anyway ladies, do any of you know when is the Singapore Great Sale? I hope it is in June-July!

Talk soon everyone and have a great Friday afternoon. xo

margiel

Hi Maplehue, Great Sg Sales starts from 23 May to 20 July
Check this link out http://www.greatsingaporesale.com.sg/english/
I'm also aiming at it and hopefully by the time im back, there's still some good bargain!

Wow Cuclainne for a first timer to make such a yummy and pretty strawberry cheesecake is superb! I would like to try my hands on too, prob next weekend ;)

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Hi Margiel, thank you for the info. I am stoked to know that the Sale will be on when I am back in Sg. I need shoes.
That's right..you'll be back in July too. Great timing!

Talk soon everyone. x

mrs_n

Wow Cuclainne you should be given the prize for being a supermum and a supercook! Hope you still have enough time to rest and put up your feet.

Hey maple there's a lady who just joined sgwomenabroad. She's in HK and looking for kakis.
Happy packing. How many more weeks have you got in Seoul?

Looks like Gina can start counting down already. By this time next month, she'll have a bouncing baby boy.

eminozy

hello ladies... seems like everyone is either cooking out a storm or churning babies... hehehahhaha
hoep you all are doing fine.

Yup, Nie..went to ekerseley.. and it was ok only. But found more interesting things in the city. I think you can get more cool shoes in canada or Hk rather than in Sg? no?

Nissa. I was figuring out what was that on the lil doggies and thank God u told us coz it would have driven me insane figuring. koko krunch! hehee

Yeah ur cheesecake looks super yummy too... :p

oklah ..later ladies!

christie79

hey hey ladies!

been rather busy with a little one so kept postponing time to write here..a kitten i meant

she's 7 weeks now..still a handful though..and she had given me so many cuts and scratches ..

just did scrolled and read thru sorry if i miss anyone's posts..will try my best to answer

Deluxe~ June is around the corner..have you starting packing yet? I'm sure your family will be thrilled to have you back again

Nope i've not been to any doctors here in norway yet..and those specialized in back are stationed in bigger hospitals in the cities..so i'll see what i can do..maybe find a doctor to refer me somewhere for treatment..these days it's hurting again..esp in the mornings after waking up. I miss sleeping in bed till noon!

waoo! NIsa that's great cute little doggies and cheesecake looks yummy! thanks for the link! will try my hands and fingers on those soon!

Emi~we're now using the soap (the photo you posted) not pink but it's the same brand..same cute curvy design. I called that the 'WILD' soap cos when i put it near the sink and mirror will reflect as 'wild' hehe..the one i have here is for sensitive skins..white in colour. It's not found in every store though as only certain ones have them so think it's not that common these days

maple~I also love nuggets with mac curry sauce, but only difference is that i add their chilli sauce with it too! Yummy! see lah now you made me think of food!
Im hungry again

Mrs N/Gina~Take extra good care these days!! Try to relax more!

Margie~wah heard from emi that you retreated into eating after the workouts? But you can lah..for me i'll surely put on all the extra kilos!! hehehe are you trying any recipes these days? I tried baking moist choco cake recently ..the recipe is weird but ok taste not too bad! it calls for vinegar and oil and no butter nor eggs! result is nicer with some vanilla sauce from the stores here to go with it.

Ok have to go again! take care!

de_luxe

maplehue yeap the hubby's back from Canberra, was just a day trip tho he was grouchy when he got backed cuz the return flight was delayed by 2 hrs.

Where's ekerseley?

chrisl for a minute you had me wondering since when were you pregnant!! LOL...

I haven't started packing yet, still too early. Will also need to try and sell some of our furniture. I think oz is generally more accepting of 2nd hand gds than sg. We're still waiting for the quote from the movers who came for a survey last Fri. They said they would send us the quote by yesterday but we haven't received it yet - typical Aussie, always blah blah and no action.

Are you working now that's why you can't sleep in? Or is it the kitten that's jumping on you in the morning...

That's an unusual sweet recipe with vinegar.. where did you get it from?

We had guests over on Sat and i cooked 4 dishes and dessert.. was fun, nice to be able to cook for more than 2 persons and not have to think about dealing with leftovers. Been itching to bake but we always have such a hard time trying to finish the food even when i reduce the quantity.

christie79

Deluxe~hahah yeah i got the other wondering too when the saw my blog's heading posted on mutiply hehee. I suppose not only aussie, norwegians here too very very lax! My permit for example took a couple of months and after many many calls to 'chase after' them..

No lah it's my back still..can't sleep more than 6hours..it'll start to get painful after..i've scheduled a doc appt here next week. hope he'll refer me to further treatments ..really can't stand it already..im starting to get grouchy in the mornings cos of that

Oh i got the recipe from the net, i typed moist chocolate cake recipe on google and i found this on cooks.com

<font color="119911">1. 5 cups of all purpose flour (can substitute with wholewheat flour)
3 tablespoons of sifted good quality cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup white or vegan brown sugar
0. 5 teaspoon salt (optional)
5 tablespoons canola oil (can substitute with any veg. oil or even olive oil)
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup cold water

By far the most surprisingly deeelightful cake. This recipe is great for adults and for kids ages 3 and up.

1. Put your flour into mixing bowl, add cocoa, baking soda, vegan sugar and salt and mix well.

2. Make three deep holes in the dry mixture. Into one, pour the oil, into the next, pour the vinegar into the next, pour the vanilla.

3. Pour the water into the bowl, over all of this--- making a great big mess.

4. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together until there aren't any more lumps and pour into a 9 inch by 9 inch baking pan, two inches deep, it doesn't even have to be greased.

5. Bake at 350 for about half an hour, test with a fork.

Enjoy this delicious cake. You will be surprised at its moistness and richness!!!!! It can be cooled and iced with your choice of icing or can be enjoyed on its own. The batter can also be used to make cupcakes!!

TIP OF THE DAY: for an instant cake, have the premeasured, premixed dry ingredients at hand, then simply add the wet ingredients when you want a fresh treat! It makes a great birthday cake! Hey, it even freezes well!

Preparation time: 15 min. + 30 min. bake.

Submitted by: kph</font>

That's nice to have guests over!
But when it comes to washing the dishes not that nice : )) hehehe last time i was in charge to clean after a meal (i invited my PILs over for dinner..is contemplating to get a dishwashing machine after all the refurbishing of the house

maplehue

Hello ladies, TGIW!!
It is holiday here tomorrow in Korea and I am just happy that I can stay home and rest. Ahhh.

Hi Mrs.N, thank you for the msg. I've already contacted her and we've also e-mailed each other. 5.5 more weeks to go in Seoul and 23 more work days for me. Can't wait! How are you? You must be fairly heavy already now.. Do take care!

Emi...some of the shoes in HK are fancier but comfort wise, cannot beat Sg or Canada but I guess maybe I didn't shop at the right place when I was there. I can't even remember anything about HK! I'm clueless where to go and when I asked Jeff, he said to focus on finding a house first than a shoe shop! Heheh. Maybe we can explore together okay when you come visit me.?

Hi Deluxe, good thing the hubby only had to be in Canberra for a day. Sorry to hear about the delay. Mine doesn't do well with flight delays either, but so far we haven't encountered any of that when we travel together. The last time he had a delay at the airport was in New Zealand. He was supposed to be home by 10pm. I cleaned the house, bake a spice cake with vanilla icing(his fav.) and waited and waited. I even watched Bollywood to kill time! And when did he arrive? 2:30 in the morning! Haiz..I was already snoozing on the sofa when he opened the door. My curly hair was all messed up. I looked like a Medusa!
Eckersley is an Art shop. There are a few of them in Melbourne and of them is in the city, Elizabeth st. near Swanston st. Emi mentioned the other one which is near Chapel st.

It must be nice to have friends over. What did you cook? 4 dishes? That's a lot! You are a super woman. When we entertain, I'll only prepare 2 main dish, the rest will be finger food and appetizers for them to nibble.
ps: I tried sending you a little pic. to your Multiply(guestbook) but after pressing 'Send', I didn't see anything on it. Did you receive it?

Hi Chris, how is your little jewel? She is sooo cute! If only I could, I would buy one too! How are the scratches? So you are nuggets lover too? So scrummy right. I still have 5 more curry sauce at home. I am trying not to finish everything until it is time to fly back to Sg. Almost 6 weeks more. Can you find nuggets and curry sauce there? Thank you for sharing the choc.cake recipe with us. We loveee choc. cake, with lots of icing. I like to eat cake with a glass of cold milk! It brings out the taste of the cake. See. I am hungry now. I have a few more hours before the drive home. We have Spring Fling dance for the students and I'm going to help a bit with the chaperoning.

Hello to everyone else here. Hope you ladies are well and happy.
Talk real soon.
xo

liz4jeroen

I'm back. What can go wrong in April, really went wrong. Laptop kena virus, have to clear everything n upload again. Then the whole street telephone line kena cut off coz of a construction. No internet, no phone line. Geeezzzz.... Order spelt flour n stuff, sender wrote wrong address (in-law's), so have to wait only after a month to receive my items. But the service was good. They took care of everything and check, we went to collect at post office collection point but not there, so they sent a new package rather than waiting for the first one to be sent back to them n to us again and blessing in disguise, got a spelt baking book free! : D Now biz slows down again, competition is steep and some of them selling really cheap. How to compete! Faint! Hmmmmm..... O ja. last year we got a bridal company who approached us last year, was hopeful about it after the meet up, then after we sent the email about what they would like, never heard from them. Then I heard from them again and asked whether their orders are ready!!! Crazy! Apparently there were some misunderstanding and my email has been found in the spam. They make an order, hopefully, we can clinch more deals and get our website linked to them. BUT I run out of satin and have to buy it. The thing is I am still so confused withthe colours and found out that the last one I bought is cream instead of ivory. Going to try again on Saturday on another stall.... So hard to find as the market are not consistent with their colours..... ARRRGHHHH!!!! Will try to resolve this problem!

Deluxe,
I have managed to contact your friend's gf who sells the wedding stuff. She is very sweet. Talking abt delays! I remembered in 2005 going to US with Jeroen, our luggage got lost. Flight got delayed and like running from one place to another. Never again will we take US airline!!!! The service really sucks!!!!

Hahaha Chrisl, U also caught me thinking u r expecting!!!!! So funny the way u put it! Kekekeke

Emi, congrats on yr new job! Read yr multiply! Yeah! :D

Maplehue, all the best in yr packing to HK. I have a little favour to ask u when u r in HK for help. Would that be ok? : )

I like spring! Long day and nice weather! I have been cycling. Hope the weather stays like this till Autumn! Kekekeke.....

Hi hi to all ladies! Take care n God bless ya!

de_luxe

Hello everyone!

We're slowly starting the ball rolling for the move, gotten the mover, informed the landlord... i really should start selling some of our stuff and emptying the pantry soon... so xianzzzzz...

Liz Great to know that you've been in touch with her... I dunno her personally, we've never met. Did you managed to get the info / supplies that you wanted from her?

Thanks for sharing the recipe Chrisl... it looks really easy, shall try it soon. You dun even need to sift the flour? Hmmm..what vinegar did you use in it? I only have balsamic, red wine, white wine and chinese black vinegars in my pantry and they all taste quite strong, thinking of omitting the vinegar instead.

Sorry to hear that your back's hurting so badly.. i had a back injury too and the pain was pretty bad too, affected my sleep and difficult to walk and sit down. It didn't help that it was also misdiagnosed at first. It's gone now after i tried acupuncture as a last resort, but I still have to be careful not to strain my back cuz it may flare up again. Apparently the injury is permanent. Hope your doc can help. Have you done an MRI before? There are some back injuries that an x-ray can't detect.

maplehue Hope your PH was good! Your account of Jeff's flight delay made me laugh

Thanks for the info on Eckersley... at first i tot it's some tourist spot and was wondering why i've never heard of it before, my conclusion was that it probably isn't in VIC... hahaha

Have checked my multiply, dun seem to have anything in my guestbook..

I made food that can be done in advance.. wasn't that tough. Like chrisl said, the cleaning up is worse than the cooking!

Haha.. you can ration your curry sauce, 1 pack per week... then you're safe in home base

moms to be how's things going? Really seems to be a baby boom among pple we know... i have 4 friends giving birth this month and next! And last year we had "twins boom" when 2 of HB's old school frens had twins within months of each other...

christie79

Maple~my kity is free from a nice family, who happened to live about 45 mins drive from us. Yes but selected stores only..but so far the ones i've seen (nuggets) are very pricey, about 10pcs SGD$15! eat gold like that! so maybe next time when the price drops a little and if i happen to crave for it then i'll get it..curry sauce i think the ones i got from my last trip are better..so no need to get from the stores at the moment..but else curries at the asian stores here are not too bad either
btw, are you a dancer?
What's Spring Fling dance? Sounds like a dance between lovers in spring heheheheh

Eliz~ your laptop kena virus again?? I thought the last time was not long ago? Think you should invest in a good virus software and update/scan frequently since yours is an online business thingy..

hahah yeah loh the other gals at multiply thought so too kekeke i've been cycling too! Seems like im 'mobile' again
especially in this ulu town..no car..hb working..so good to be able to move around freely. I usually have bicycle in behind hb's car and he'll drive us to my class..from there, offload bicycle and me..me go class then i cycle home...sometimes i drop by the stores and get groceries and also to the library just like yesterday.. Only trouble is that the uphill paddle on the bicycle is too 'xiong' (tough) for me...panting non stop thereafter! So normally i'll get down and push heheh

Deluxe~nope i dun need to sift flour!
I used distilled white vinegar..(normal white vinegar will do) think it's used as a raising agent as eggs are not used in this recipe) Nope i didn't do MRI...i'll ask the doc here for that next week then..thanks so much for the tip!
*hugs*

TGIF everyone!

liz4jeroen

Hi Deluxe,

She didn't really tell me where she got it except the countries. She goes there to buy her stuff. But she did offer me when I come back to sg, I can get it from her. She is a nice lady! Someone to share our woes! Kekekeke....

Hi Chrisl,
That was the time I kena, Jeroen tried to solve it but still giving problem n v slow. Now it is ok. I do have a virus scan. Just that so unfortunate day that I click on some download and no doubt with warnings from virus scan, it still affect the computer. Well..... : P Just my luck.... hahahaha.... Maybe a blessing in disguise! The laptop is faster now after clearing all the "Junks"! Ha ha ha ha....

Glad it's Friday! And a long weekend till Monday! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

maplehue

Good evening ladies,

Hi Elizabeth, hope the business with the bridal company works out for you and make sure you don't upload anything more from unknown sources ok. Poor you and the computer. I hope it didn't cost you and Jereon so much to get rid of the virus. Computer problem is so annoying!

We have started sorting and packing. I am finding it hard to get rid of things. Last night, a few of our colleagues came and I let go all of my plants. I am quite attached to them cos I see them grow from a tiny weeny bud to a full grown plant. Sad a bit la. As for the favor in HK, of course as long as its within my capability, no problemo.

Hello Deluxe...strange that you didnt receive anything in your guestbook. I tried twice and when I checked it, i didn't see anything either. I thought you blocked your Guestbook from being viewed. Did you accidentally deactivate it? I'm not even sure whether there is such option. What a bummer cos Im sure you'll like the picture I've attached in my message. I was just trying something new and thought I would send something colorful to a few of you here. Still learning!

PH was good. Went to Starbucks, watched a movie, "Taken". It was an interesting and good movie but a little violent. I closed my eyes a few times...and just rest.

Ha. My Medusa hair..even Jeff couldn't hold his laughter when he saw me. I still remember him calling me, 'Curly Sue' that night. Have you watched that movie before?

Chris..10 pcs for $15??! You are right, its like eating gold. That was too much! Luckily you are not a nugget fan.

Hehe..I wish I could pass as a dancer but no chance. The Spring Fling dance last week was for the students. I am working in an International School here in Seoul. You should see some of them. New frocks, new shoes, make up, hair do and giggling here and there. As for the guys, polished shoes, smart tie and some of them even gelled their hair. Kekeke. Can die! It was also quite funny to see these kids flirt and mingle in situation like that.

Hows your back now? Any better? I'm glad I don't have it now but I know how it feels when I have it and I feel for you. I hope you get better soon. Shoo backpain shoo!

Has your kitty started eating solid food?

Hello to the rest of you gals here and of course to the moms to be too. Take very best care and talk again soon. xo

christie79

hey maple! im a nugget fan but i've to curb my cravings for now cos of prices heheh. I see cool..international school..i bet it was fun to see how it works cos it's different system from sg schools..british styles..

brings back memories of year end concerts in kindergarten and childcares in sg..whoa..the most 'headache' time of the year was that!

hahah you made me laugh with your expression of 'shoo backache shoo'! So funny LOL thanks anyway..still painful as usual..waiting to see the doc here soon

yes..semi solid food..she lovesss canned food..i normally give her in the mornings as she can get too much bursts of energy from too much food! hahah..that day she was running and jumpin..springing non stop from one end of the living room to another for almost 15mins! Then i knew it must have been the 'whiskers' catfood i fed her...rabbit and chicken meat flavour LOL

but i also introduced her to some hard boiled egg and crispy flatbread as well as tiny bread pieces..she loves it! she's so unlike my mimi (my sis cat in sg) who is so choosy about food

Lastly a HAPPY MOTHERS'DAY to ALL Mothers and Mothers-to-be here!

mrs_n

Hi girls hope you are all well.

Hey maple word must have gone out that you're going to be in HK. Looks like another lady in HK has joined the forum.
Looks like you won't feel so isolated in HK with all these SG ladies around.

deluxe I'm doing alright in my 27th week now. Next week have to go to the MW for the dreaded blood test again. Beginning to feel tired now especially when walking up the stairs.

Chrisl hope your back hasn't been made worse by your 'near miss'. You should really get something done about it. Do go to the chiropractor if you can. It will really help you.

Liz glad you are back in business. Your bridal business has certainly taken off in the last 2 years. Well done! So pleased for you.

liz4jeroen

Hi Maple, Can PM me? I have a favour to ask when u r in HK? Is that possible?

Hi Mrs N, Didn't expect it at all. I am holding onto it and see how it goes. Probably do this and dance therapy at the same time. Both part-time. Yesterday made a corsage for a customer. Was so pleased with the end product. Hahaha... I like craft, don't mind doing it as long as I have time. V fun! Thks, u have been v supportive! O ja, abt the UK show, we still haven't looked up how to get there yet. Ai yo! Been busy cleaning! Which is better and cheaper? Boat or plane? Which aiport and harbour again that we are supposed to go? My bro n his gf and a friend are touring ard Europe and stopping by here for a night over the weekend. Lucky, this few days we have been cleaning, going to continue today after mass. Hahahaha....

de_luxe

chrisl can u get frozen nuggets in norway? Then dun have to think that you're eating gold!

I tried out the recipe, turned out quite well. It doesn't raise very much does it? I wasn't sure if it's because i used melted chocolate instead of cacao powder (didn't have any). I tried 2 versions actually. First, used white wine vinegar and replaced the water with milk, hoping to get a richer cake but it didn't work out very well, maybe it's the vinegar or maybe the vinegar reacted with the milk, tasted a bit odd. But the 2nd version worked out pretty when i stuck to using water and put balsamic vinegar instead. HB couldn't keep his hands off it!!

Hope your doc appt goes well this week! My back started aching a little - dunno if it's due to some stupidly high heels i wore on thurs or if it's cuz i went jogging (i'm not supposed to do anything high impact)... now trying to be good about my posture and hoping it will go away soon!

Eliz that's good to know! At least you've got an additional back-up source now..

maple dun think i've blocked the guestbook... dun even know how to do it?! i'm still testing out multiply actually, m not particularly active on it, still trying.. hahaha

I can understand if giving away stuff feels... so sayang right? Sigh... we'll be doing the same here soon.. i hope we have less this time around since we've already thrown out/given away a lot of stuff when we left SG 6 months ago...

The Spring Fling sounds like our secondary school D&amp;D. I've done one for the Australian Intl Sch and United World College in S'pore a few years back...they have this every year for the students' final year, it seems pretty fun and i think it's nice of them to bring the kids out instead of having it in the school halls like most secondary schools do.

maplehue

Hello ladies,
TGIW! 2.5 more work days before the weekend. I am dying here..SOOOO tired! Not only must sort and throw things at home, but also must do the same at work. Haizz.

Anyway..

Hi Chris, I wonder how you curb your appetite on nuggets when you are a nugget fan. Must be hard right? Never mind, when I'm back, I'll eat more for you okay!

Unfortunately, the international school I am at is not so much of a british style school, its American with American curriculum and all.

The Spring Fling brought some memories for sure but of course those memories and my 'thought bubble' could not stay long with the excited kids running around and shrieking loudly.

Your little kitty sounds so cute and hyper. Be careful it doesn't jump on your back when you are lying on your tummy. Not good for your backache. Have you been to the doctor yet? Don't wait too long if it is painful ok. AND do you think theres something in the canned food that made kitty jump so much like that? Rabbit meat...that's why she was jumping like a rabbit I guess.

Hi Mrs.N, how are you and how's everything? It's been awhile since we chatted. Ha..yes, got PM from Cuddle about the newbies and we have already exchanged e-mails. It would be nice to eventually meet up in HK.
Let me know too ok if there's new "hongkongers" on the forum. I've been so busy and can't "socialize" so much online. PLUS, i love the ladies here..

Hi Elizabeth, We're scheduled to be in HK in mid July. Have to find a suitable apartment first and really really hope that we can find a suitable one before work starts in early August. And of course praying and hoping that the shipment will get cleared by then or I'll have no work clothes or resources for work! Stress! I don't know how to PM you. Don't even where to find the PM button here. Do you want to exchange email? It is better cos when I travel and have limited time, I'll go to my email first. My gmail is: [email protected]
I'll see what I can for you when I am there. If it is possible, not problem

Hi Deluxe, how come I can't write anything on your Guestbook? Strange isn't it?

Have you started the throwing part? I agree with you, so sayang to throw some stuff. Jeff asked me to choose which bags I want and to discard the rest, I was like WHATTT???? I only realized that he was teasing me when he started laughing. I told him bags are untouchable. Hee.

You should definitely see the dance, some girls were dressed to kill. It was definitely like D&amp;D with dates and everything! If one thing I could change, it would be the music, they played too much rock music and it was seooo louddd!

Hello to the rest of the ladies here.
Some of you must be busy. Cuclainne, have you been baking again these days? I got my Horlicks! My Mom send it from Sg. Scrum.

AND Emi, where is the bread recipe? I am trying to make bread pudding without custard cos the hubby cannot eat custard. I don't know how.

Ok talk soon ladies. xo

christie79

Mrs N/Deluxe~not at all much difference..hehehe..anyway i've been to the doc and he had referred me to the physiotherapist and chiropractor as well after some tests on my legs, he said for sure that it wasn't slipped-disc..The physio is just a few doors away from my classroom and so i could go anytime after my lessons but then the other one is an hour drive away..but i don't mind the distance cos i want to go and treat this annoying pain of mine *frown*

Deluxe~Hope you're taking care of your back too dear
Good for you that your hb likes it *winks* my hb loves it with some vanilla sauce from the stores here
I think yes, the milk reacted with the vinegar, that's why it didn't really turn out well. The cake doesn't really raise that much..i reckon it's because no eggs are used.. I didn't know that balsamic vinegar is so tasty until i tried last saturday on a trip! I used on some salad and it tasted so wonderfully 'tangy'..i shall get a bottle next time i go to the stores

Maple~Yes do eat for me please! ahhahaha..actually not easy to curb my cravings ;P i tried very hard not to think of that! I would replace the food with a similar one..say in this case, fried chicken drumlets heheheh LOL

Eliz~'jia you' for your biz and good luck!

eminozy

hey hey.

how are all of you? so many back aches in this forum! hehheeh. i am beginning to wonder if growing older is a good thing. Ive been sick a lot lately too. I think i am allergic to some form of wheat, coz i seemed to get stomache aches from eating some of them breads.
so sad.

Hey Mrs N, throw us some pictures of your pregnancy lah.. would love to look at you!

Chris..u so new age.. i know lotsa people who feed veg and healthy food to their pets too... apparently its good for them.hehehh

nie...my bread pudding is quite clean?? I only use old bread, pure unsalted butter, milk, nutmeg, cinnammon, eggs, and raw sugar (sometimes i used only honey). thats it. I've never use custard, and just found out yesterday people used custard, so i am a bit surprised.

I guess i do it using the AMISH recipe so its different. And i dont call my pudding bread and butter pudding... Just bread pudding.

de_luxe

chrisl the doc didn't say what's wrong? at least it's good that it's not a slipped disc - that's what i have and it sucks.

yah, balsamic vinegar is one of my fav... i use it for salads and dips... the aged ones are more expensive but they taste smoother and more mellow, less acidic

maplehue i've not started the throwing or packing yet... just slowly using up the stuff in the pantry, the sauces and all that, i've got like 3 different kinds of chilli sauce... sayang to throw away...

christie79

hey hey emi, glad to see you back here. Oh! better go check..else you might not know what's ok to eat and what's not..

Deluxe, no he suspects that i just strained my back muscles..3 kinds of chilli sauce? hmm..maybe you can make chilli crabs!! hehehe..

as for the vinegar..i think it has to do with my taste buds at the moment..body's getting funny these days...im craving for mee siam! Spicy and sour stuffs...kekek..im checking with a home 'test kit' later

christie79

ah yeah..nothing lah *Phew* not preggy but im sick!! down with stomach wind and feeling so bloated..seems like it's indigestion. ok goto go rest and stone...it's national day here in norway today...rain and rain and rain..

maplehue

Good evening ladies,
Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend. I am!

One more month to go and i'll be out of here. I can't wait for a vacation!

Hi Chris, Oh no...it must difficult to crave for something and not get it when you feel like it. Same with me too here. I crave for so many things and can't have them. Right now, it is watermelon season, I loveee watermelon but one miserable fruit costs USD$18-20! Ridiculous isn't it? When the hubby asked me today whether I wanted to buy it, I said never mind. I like it but not that much to spend 20 US dollars for it. I can still wait till I get to Sg later this June. ..Hope the tummy is better now. Hope you didn't get too disappointed about the 'test kit' result'. Hugs to you. Must be hard for you to have both back and tummy ache at the same time. Take care girl. Have you seen the doc regarding the tummy? Do you think antacid would help?

Hi Emi, got another recipe for bread pudding. This one is without custard and doesn't even need raw sugar or honey. Raisins is in the recipe too. I am planning to try it tomorrow(Sunday) and will update you on the result.

Hi Deluxe..3 type of chilli sauce?? Sounds like me
Hee. I lovee chilli sauce and am also trying to finish what I have in the fridge. So sayang to throw! Right now I have Heinz chilli sauce, Thai Sweet Chili and Kimball chilli sauce. Everytime the hubby opens the fridge, he'll always pass comment on my "obsession".
He doesn't even know that I always add a teaspoon of sweet chilli in his pasta homemade sauce! Don't throw away yours. Like what chris said, maybe you can make some chilli crabs. Scrum. I used to buy crabs at Chadstone, they have quite good blue crabs. Not too dear considering the size of them. Do you like seafood and can your hubby eat seafood?

Chris..after reading you, I now feel like mee siam too! Just another thing to add on my 'TO EAT' list when I am sg this June. Okla...I'll eat mee siam for you too.

Hi Elizabeth...already written back to you via email.
Do keep in touch!

Take care everyone and have a great weekend!! xo

ps: Haven't heard from Mitten for a while now. Hope she is well!

tootsieroll

Cuclainne,
Yum yum! Your baking photos look absolutely fab! I am sure Joseph will love the cheesecake and dog cookies

Gina: Not long to go now.....how big is your bump?

Mrs N: Yes, do show photos of you and bump!

de_luxe

Hey tootsieroll long time no see... how have you been?

hahaha... maplehue and chrisl dun think i can make chilli crabs with the types of chilli sauces I have cuz they are all quite different.. I've never cooked crabs before - i dun dare and can't bare to kill them myself and i also dunno how to clean crabs... Actually i have 4 not 3, counted wrongly, LOL... sweet chilli sauce, siracha (thai) chilli, garlic chilli sauce (chicken rice type), chiu chow chilli oil (tastes great with boiled wantons and dumplings). And if you add the cooking type, then there's even more!! Sambal balacan and chilli bean sauce (for mapo tofu)!! Really really hope i can finish them up... HB's tastebuds are undergoing "spice" training - almost everything I cook these days is spicy and i've noticed that it takes more spiciness now to make him gasp for milk or water...hahaha

HB loves his prawns but is not so keen on other types of seafood, particularly shellfish and octopus. I love my chilli and black pepper crabs! Other than that, I'm not a very big seafood eater... i like steamed fish but i'm very picky and fussy about the freshness, just a little bit of fishy taste is enough turn me off.

maplehue US$20 for a watermelon is ridiculous! I can't believe pple will actually buy it?!?!?!

chrisl hope your stomach has settled... if it's just strained back muscles, the chiropractor and phsyiotherapist should gave you some results in a month or two... meanwhile, take care not to carry heavy stuff

tootsieroll

Deluxe: Hey! I've been ok, panicking a little cos my mum goes back to singapore next month, so I'll be left with the 2 children....all.by.myself.! So maybe won't have time to come back to Sg brides....let's see!

Would love to make the crabs actually, but dunno where to get the actual crab hahah

I made chicken rice 2 weekends ago....did the chilli and ginger sauce all from scratch. I bought birds eye chilli from the local sainsbury supermarket....wah seh, didn't expect that they would be soooooo pedas! The chilli fumes emitting from the kitchen made my hubby and even my mum cough and splutter, and eating the chilli brought tears to my eyes and excruciating pain to my tongue......but shiok leh? What to do?

georginat

hello ladies !!!

at last, baby Luke has popped out on May 20 at 950pm!! been confined to bed for 2 days ( delivered the baby via c-section with epidural)...tummy so painful full of air, have to eat painkiller everything...

baby luke weighs 2.98 kg and is 47 cm long.

will post baby's pic once i uploaded the pic

congratulations gina ... wah, baby luke wanted to share his birthday with me .. well, almost .. hahahah .. mine is on 21st
rest well .. and enjoy your time with luke ..

maplehue

Hello ladies,
Happy new week everyone.

Congrats Georgina! Rest well with baby Luke.

Hi Deluxe,
You can ask the guy to remove the shells, cut and clean the crabs for you but I know it can still be troublesome. You mentioned wanton in your posting. I love wanton noodles! Scrum.
Must eat when Im in sg. How's the hubby taste buds training with the spices? Ha. I made the hubby tried the pineapple in my 'asam pedas' i made last week and felt bad when he started coughing and choking. I've raised my white flag and won't try again.
Deluxe...i have that Siracha chilli sauce too you know but don't have a clue how or when to use it? What is it for and what dish can I make from it?

Chris, hows the tummy now? Hope you are well now!

Hello to everyone else here. Talk again soon. x

georginat

nisa, thanks :) ya, baby luke decided to pop earlier than scheduled coz he has not been very active then so the doc decided to take the baby out earlier...

chrisl, read your posts earlier, hows everything now?? rest well..

here's the pics of baby luke

677765.jpg

de_luxe

Congrats gina! Hope the pain subsides soon!

maplehue oh i din know that the fishmonger will clean the crabs upon request... hmm...

yap, i made wantons over the weekend.. we had them with the thin egg noodles for dinner last nite, yummy.. still have enough wantons left for a couple of meals.

I usually use the Siracha sauce as a dip, not so much for cooking. But u can use it to make sweet and sour or to replace chilli in some recipes. I think i've used it in chilli con carne before, turned out alright. It's very spicy so need to use in moderation.

tootsieroll make full use of the time that your mom's here! will u be going back to work when your maternity leave ends? your chilli sauce sounds really shiok!

margiel

Hey Gina! Congratulations on the arrival of Baby Luke. He is so good looking, lots of hair and eyes are big too! Rest well and hope you recover fast to carry Baby Luke everywhere

oh, the hard drive on my laptop died!!!!! i am so suffering from SB withdrawal symptoms over the weekend so now i shall try to get my 'fix' ..

gina: he's sooooo handsome la .. i'm so jealous over his thick hair leh .. both my daughters were born with thin hair, then have to wait at least a year for the hair to grow out .. rest well and take it easy but i know it's easier said than done, esp. since a newborn is a lot of work .. but it feels good to have him in your arms, right?

maplehue: i think i'm going to still be in SG when you come for a visit .. we were hoping to get tickets to go to sweden for midsummer but the prices are so exorbitant, like daylight robbery .. Thai has seats but asking for 1.9K for adults, 1.7K for the kids (crazy or what?!) .. not only that, they mentioned that my eldest don't get seat and the youngest one, the bassinet is not guaranteed. so i'm expected to pay that much but travel 15-16 hours with my girls on my lap?!!! No thank you la .. last year we travelled on MAS and my eldest was only charged 10% of adult fare and she got bassinet AND food .. argh! trying to make money off us when they know we are desperate .. now trying to get elias to change his mind about travelling in june - maybe try our luck later in the year but not late as in winter la ..

margiel: did you try making the cheesecake?

de_luxe: when are you expected back in sg? i hope you're not having too much trouble finishing up the food .. over the weekend, i did some 'spring-cleaning' of the fridge and pantry .. argh, threw away about 3 plastic bag full of stuff that had expired or gone bad .. when i told elias after he came back from the pool with sofi, all he could say was thank you for doing the dirty job .. hmmm ..

chrisl: how's your back now? i had severe back pain last weekend but after lying down for a while, it got better - don't know if it's due to the epidural i've had twice but anyways, it must be more painful for you who's suffering from it more times than i am so i hope it'll get better soon ..

mrs n: how are you these days?

tootsieroll: not sure if you've mentioned this but have you decided if you were going to put your kids in childcare or get a nanny?

eminozy

hello ladies,
wow... good news for ms georgina. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
yes true! i really really think LUKE is gorgeous and yes what thick hair he has!

I am tired as... still in Alice looking about and getting excited about the ART SCENE here... hmmmmm.

hope you guys have a great week ahead!

hugs and love
Emilia

christie79

Hey CONGRATS Gina!!! Luke is so sweet &amp; he has double eyelids!! (well i don't have lah..so i get very excited about that kekekee) Have a speedy recovery &amp; do get to rest well!

Maple/Gina~Im fine now with my tummy, just ate too much glutinous rice..that's why felt very bloated for a few days!

Nisa~Happy belated birthday! The price is so ex! Maybe can try in aug or sept cos maybe not too crowded so might have some promotions

Deluxe/Nisa~Thanks, im waiting for my appointment with the therapist. Hope will go well..

georginat

Thanks, ladies !!

yes, baby Luke has lots of hair, a friend said his hair like rocker, got sideburn !haha!!

its so tough to breastfeed, can take up to 2 hours and i fell asleep while breastfeeding..what a mother !! The engorgement of breasts also very painful..guess will take another week before recovering from the pain at tummy..so much air there..

luckily i have a good confinement lady , can cook very well and take good care of the baby, if not, dont know how to handle the baby ...

liz4jeroen

Congrats Gina! Luke is so adorable! : ) Hope u recover from your pain soon.

Chrisl, Take great care!

Hi to all ladies!

I have been sick last Thursday. Due to lack of sleep coz of late nights with my bro and 2 of his friends who came over for 2 nights to visit. A high fever and a real bad headache and stuffy nose. Slept the whole day. I didn't know I had fever as I tested it, it was normal until in the late afternoon. Feeling cold and terrible headache. I just slept until Jeroen came home then I tested it out and found out my fever was 38. 98 degree. Next day I got better then fever came down in the late morning. But that night the downstair stupid neighbour had his musician friends over jamming in the wee hours till 3 plus am and talked so loudly in their garden!
being a light sleeper and sick, I woke up and had headache and couldn't sleep. What a night! We told him off the next day! cannot tehan! The more I want to move! ARRRGGGGHHHH!!!!! Now he is quiet as a mouse! Hahaha! Hopefully!

Ok lah! Take care ladies!