Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

ashlee

Honeygem
Aww... Congratulations!!! So happy for u that ur big day turned out so well! Really really want to see your pix now! ;)
Thanks for the recommendation to the shoe shop at Cuppage. Will go take a look when I am back the week before the wedding. But, one week before wedding then buy shoes very rush right? hehe... you and ribbit so cool. Everything last minute and still had such a nice wedding. *envious*
Our big day is 2 July. Still quite a wait eh? hehe...

Ribbit
Congrats!!! Pix pix pix, please!!!
Yahoo Small Business is really good for doing up your own webpage!!! I did my "shopping" for building own webpage and they seem to offer the best deal. It costs only US$11-ish a month. It comes with a program that has a lot of template webpages for u to choose from and all you need to do is to insert pictures and type in the words in the text boxes. Totally idiot-proof!
Oh ya, 2 gig space on your webpage, which is huge, and 2 gig email quota. Good right?!

Tootsieroll
Tell us more abt your trip back home!

frogprincess

Hi Ashlee!! Thanks for the congratulations. 2 July eh? not that far away! We can both stress together because i am currently getting ready for wedding in France (yes, i am a sucker for punishment!)

btw, you may also wanna try getting not too expensive shoes from Jwest in Raffles City. they have got not-bad and not so high heels (unless you need to totter around)...

Thanks for the link about web-pages, will send you the link when it gets set up!

ashlee

ribbit
Hehe... aww, another wedding in France. Good chance to show off your gowns again gal! If only we got a wedding in UK. hehe, can't afford it also lah. hehe

Thanks for telling me abt Jwest. Hmm... really dunno if I should get shoes in UK or risk it and wait till I go back to Sg. Only one week to scout ard at that time tho. But Great Sg Sale on at that time right?! Oh dear... dilemma...

ya, will be looking forward to seeing your webpage! *can't wait*

honeygem

hey ashlee, which part of the UK is your FH from? I'm rather curious. hee! Are you based there as well?

Ooh.. feeling rather kaypoh now...

So tell us more about your preps... also, how is your dress like? Bet it is lovely
Can I be nosy and take a little peek at your website?

ashlee

Honeygem
Hehe... we live in Billericay, Essex but commute into Central London to work. Where are u leh?

Gowns are designed and almost finished. But forgot to take photos of the EG when I was there in Sg so cannot show. Will ask my BS to take photos of the gowns and send me,then will show u ok? PS done as well... hehe, so basically, only need to get JP, confirm the dinner details with hotel one mth before wedding and that is abt it lor. The rest are minor minor stuff to be done... like SHOES!!! hehe...

Ok lah, we make a deal. U show me pix of your wedding and I give u link to my website. hehe... deal?! ;P

frogprincess

Hey Ashlee, I am getting into the nosy stuff too -where is Billericay and how do you get into central london?

I am thinking of moving to london sometime this year. It is really hard to find accomodation when you cannot view the place!! I am looking to live in the Docklands area, because my office-to-be is canary wharf.

ashlee

Ribbit
Billericay is in Essex, somewhere east of London, between Romford and Southend. So we take the First Great Eastern train to liverpool street and take tube to work from there lor. Where are u based now leh?

London house prices and rental are very very high. Even for those that is a way from central london. Why not combine income with your hubby (he is brit right?) and get a property away from london and commute in? Travel expenses will be higher but at least it is better than paying rents and at the end of the day, dun get anything back.

There are lotsa "commuter" towns that are really nice and suburban. Area ard docklands doesn't seem very nice leh, we pass by bits of it every morning. Dun think we want to live there. Think you might definitely gotta come down to London to view the areas and the houses/flats before u make any decisions. There are too many dodgy nooks in London...

honeygem

ashlee - DEAL!

but let me upload and organise them properly first. I've just whinged on another thread about how tiresome the whole procedure is... when there are soooo many piccies you like, and only one mouse to click and click.

After a mere handful of uploads, I gave up and watched the telly. Will resume tomorrow when I get my enthusiasm back

tootsieroll

Ashlee: Trip was fab.....makan until stomach almost burst hehehe, but dun care, since I can't do it when I'm back in UK
It was FH's first time meeting the parents, but they all took to him and spoilt him silly! One thing that struck him most was the prices. We went to Jack's Place on the last night, and I treated all of us (6 pax) to set dinner...I had fillet steak, FH had T-bone steak etc...and it came up to $130 (£45)....we came back and went to Cafe Ritazza at Victoria station, and 2 panninis and orange juice cost us £10. I know we can't really compare, but I think he was pretty struck by the vast difference.

Honeygem: Can't wait for the pix....glad you had a brill time!

Ribbit: My sentiments are similar to ashlee's....London is really pricey to live in. I do think that the Docklands has some nice areas, but the price you pay to live there, might as well live a little further out and have more space and better quality of life. Essex isn't too far to travel into the Docklands, places like Romford, Ilford, billericay and up to Southend are all 20-45 min away by a very regular and efficient train service into Central London (Liverpool Street). My FH is in Brentwood, which is on the Romford, Ilford line, and it's really convenient and safe.

ashlee

tootsieroll
Hmm... glad your family is thrilled with your fiance. My family was in disapproval and denial for two whole years before they finally agree to meet him! haha... but he managed to win them over lah, as he is nice. But they can't communicate much anyway cos my parents dun speak much english. Good actually, less communication, less friction. haha...

Ya, hate the food here, so bl**dy ex as well. hehe, Sg is the best! Nice laksa and beef noodles for less than £1!

Ribbit
Forgot to mention, Shenfield and Brentwood are LOVELY! Really really nice places, I think nicer than Billericay and Chelmsford actually. All in Essex. But Essex does have a reputation for their gals. haha... doesn't bother me anyway.
Hmm, agree with tootsieroll, there are definitely nice places in docklands, must be ex though, but then again, you might get lucky.

Just have to decide where and what u prefer lor. Keep us updated on your house/flat hunt ok?

katgrrl

Tootsieroll, know what u mean by "makan until stomach almost burst" hehehe.. think we can all identify with that. Same here, last Sept when we went to East Coast Seafood center and had lobster, prawns and crabs, we paid $150 for 4 -less than €75! A dinner at an average restaurant here costs €45 for 2 and it isn't fresh seafood we're talking about!

Griping aside, really glad that your family took so well to FH
I remember years ago when my FH met my parents for the 1st time, he won my mum totally over by speaking a few words to her in Chinese (ren4 shi4 ning2, wo hen gao xing).. yeah, back then, he took 2 semesters of chinese lessons and knew how to write 200+ characters. NOW, after the fish's caught and in the frying pan, he only remembers 3 characters. sigh..

sannie

hi ribbit, now you have to start getting busy planning for the other wedding. I'm sure you'll have fun. Are you going to have the traditional french wedding cake, croquembouche? We had one the day after the wedding for a luncheon we host. very fun. ;-)
As for the website, Hubby bought me the domain name for US15/YEAR and hosting is free. The only thing is there is banner advertisment in the website. If you prefer banner free hosting, it's another US$15/YEAR. quite inexpensive. As for setting up the webpage, frontpage is an easy to use software.
Read that you are probably moving to London.... us too. we're looking at some opportunities now and if it comes our way, we are intending to move there. we're looking at living in central london zone 1 or 2.... hubby is deadset against living too far away from work. Heeheee.... if we do move, will probably get to meet too! ;-)

Honeygem, CONGRAS! sound like you had a great day! Can't wait to see your pics..... your honeymoon part 1 sounds so dreamy and the room is fab!!! I so miss asia.... all the wonderful beaches and the sea.....

frogprincess

Hallo girrrls!

Married life is great (sigh) I hope all of you have as much fun throught your whole life as these few weeks just after the wedding where we waltz through the air...

Okay Sannie -- we decided to use the www.weddingwindow.com service because there is lots of space, and we like the template. although it is US$79 per year (there is still time to change our mind!!)

My hubby is French (not English) so he has a natural aversion to living in the UK. His next job posting may be somewhere else in Europe but because I am a lawyer (yep, figured I would confess this at some point in time) it is a bit difficult for me to practice any place outside of UK and/or Singapore, so we may have to do the Great Commute!!

Will keep you posted on the accomodation hunt and the web-page shopping.

I hope the stuff I posted about the Deed poll and name-changing was useful, I am thinking of adding my married name on Saturday at Kallang. Also want to get a new passport and stuff - better to settle all these things before we leave Singapore!

honeygem

hey girls, so is everyone moving up to the UK? Hubby wants to move back to Manchester but hmmm... not sure whether Im gonna like living there for a long time. The few times we've stayed there, I didnt like it much - people are exceptionally nice but it is so bl@#dy cold. A typical English summer is when one pretends it is not raining. hehe

anyway, my vision is skewed from staring at the computer too long but good news is the piccies are uploaded! can you please PM me your email addresses so that I can email you the link

ashlee

Ribbit
Can you write your own lawyer's letter for the deedpoll since you are one? You got lobang or not leh? Still confused abt the deedpoll thingie. sigh...

frogprincess

Hallo Ashlee and Honeygem

I am now in Koh Samui for Chinese New Year Holidays. Was supposed to go to Kota Kinabalu but our travel agent managed to get flights but not a hotel room, so we came here instead, and I completely do not regret it! I am leaving Singapore in 5 weeks time (yep that is not long at all!) for Paris, and then for Italy. But yes, Honeygem $100 is about right for the deedpoll, but as you will see from the website for the immigration authority of Singapore (yes, that is near kallang) you do not need a deedpoll for adding on your hubby's name. You just need your marriage certificate. It is all on the website
here -- http://app.ica.gov.sg/index.asp

ashlee

Ribbit!
You lucky thing! Koh Samui eh?! We are thinking of going there for our honeymoon! Aww, u must be having a great time! Do enjoy it before u come to the cold and gloomy weather at this part of the world...

abt the name change, so u mean that no deedpoll is needed if we substitute our original last name with my fiance's last name? Does that mean that I also do not need deedpoll if I want an alias in my name? Like :
mylastname myfirstname @ myfirstname husband'slastname

Hehe, sorry, me useless at this...

honeygem

Frogprincess!!! Enjoy Samui, I do think it's soooo romantic *sigh* Great place to make babies. LOL

Take loads of piccies! When we went there, we forgot all about the camera.

ashlee, have a look at this, scroll down to question no. 9
http://www.ica.gov.sg/nric/faq/faq_Website.htm

It did mention there is no need for deedpolls to insert a married surname. Just a marriage certificate.

So I guess we dont have to do a deedpoll for name-change really. *yippe..saves me $100 and all that hassle*

I guess the whole procedure is rather straighforward as Frogprincess did.

I think you did ask me what I would do with my name? Just adding hubby's surname - MyFirstName MySurname MarriedSurname

It wont be double-barelled as hubby is having none of it.

I'm still keeping my maiden name legally and for other social/professional situations, they can just call me Mrs MarriedSurname. *but i sound so old!*

Im keeping it all simple.

I hope by this done, hubby will be happy withthe compromise and stop pestering me about my name

Thank you so much Frogprincess!! Enjoy your honeymoon Part One!

honeygem

By the way Ashlee, if you are thinking to go to K.Samui for your honeymoon, at least consider this resort www.rockyresort.com

If you think that you can splurge on a room for just one night, go for the room featured on the website's home page. Guaranteed to take your breath away! But as a whole, a really exotic resort.

ashlee

honeygem
Hmm... the hotel looks good and price is rather reasonable! U've stayed there haven't u? Ok, will ask fiance to go take a look at the website and see what he thinks. I think it looks great though! Cheers!
So the name thingie, it does sound rather straight forward now. Ok, one less source of stress! hehe...

Ribbit
Which resort are u staying at?

katgrrl

Sigh...u lucky gals...Ko Samui!!! it's -3.8C now and snowing outside. I was fair when I came to Finland but now I'm white as a ghost! I'm so happy to find out that Ko Samui's on the east coast of thailand (okie...suaku I know..) so July will be quite alright to go. Yay!

Ribbit, best of luck with your move! remember to buy all the spice packs! get what u think u need ...and then some.

snoozy

hi everyone, i m kinda new in this thread, can i ask is there anyone who FH is a ang mo and having wedding in singapore. HOw about do you prepare for the wedding? Where you husband gg to stay the night before the wedding, before fetching the bride the next day

frogprincess

Hallo Snoozy - welcome to the thread! If you are wondering how marrying someone from a different culture will have practical implications starting right from your wedding day, then you are definitely in the right place, because we are all willing to stress together, hand-hold and help each other through the madness.

To answer your question about where your FH will stay before the wedding - My husband stayed in his own place in Singapore before the wedding as he has been all along. His parents stayed at the service appartment we got for them.

So I guess if your hubby and parents are all not normally resident in Singapore, the service appartments can serve as their symbolic home.

I got the service appartment to put up my in-laws from this link: www.lotus-sanctuary.com.sg

Hope this helps and good luck - when is your AD?

frogprincess

Heya Ashlee - No you don't need to do a deed poll just to add your husband's name, you can even do it double-barrelled if you like. You just need a scanned copy of - your own IC (both sides), your photo and your marriage cert.

Honeygem - you are welcome and I hope the sites helped!

I am in the midst of doing the addition of my hubby's name and so far so good - i haven't hit any snags. Tell me if you hit any problems, or update me on your own processes!

honeygem

eh? are you back from Koh Samui already, Frogprincess?

Heya snoozy, welcome to the thread
Are you both based in Singapore at the moment?

frogprincess

Hallo my dear twinnie Honeygem!

Yeps I am back in Singapore from Koh Samui. Busy setting up the website with our Singapore wedding photos!

A little pai-seh/takut to put the link here because it is a Work In Progress (i.e. very unfinished cacaphony), but if you (or indeed anyone else on this thread) wishes to take a sneak peek at how it is coming so far, gimme your email address, and I will send you the site.

By the by, if anyone here is Peranakan, and needs to cater for their wedding, I had a great dining experience last night at this place called True Blue Peranakan Restaurant. The address is 117 East Coast Road, phone 64400449. The Ayam Buah Keluak is to die for!!

ashlee

ribbit
Cool cool cool! Thanks for the info! Can't do double-barrelled lah, cos if I do that, then fiance has to do that too, and got to change all his accounts, licenses, etc. Too troublesome. hehe...

Which format are u using for your name then?

Website please!!! [email protected]

Snoozy
Which part of the world are u at now?

snoozy

@ ribbit - i m not sure abt my AD date yet, althought my fiance said he dont reali wan to get date from those fortune teller but since he said all up to me so i might as well follow my mum as she wan me to check it out before decide. So maybe onli next week then i can get the date.

@ honeygem - i m from singapore and my fiance is from australia , currently i m in singapore and he already went back to aust cos he need to work . BUt most likely i will be flying over to aust 4 mths later, cos i told him i wan to take my PS in australia, and as i was more to the bigger size bride, i find tat it more easy for me to buy the grown over there. Found one reali nice grown before i came back here for chinese new year, so i will be going back to that store and take a look again.

@ ashlee - currently in singapore

i was hopping to have a poolside wedding, as both of us onli intend to invite close relatives and friends , so reali dont feel like having banquet.. too troublesome

tootsieroll

Ribbit: How did you find the Lotus Sanctuary? I'm considering Lotus Joo Chiat for my in-laws when they come down. How long in advance did you have to book for them?

Welcome Snoozy! This forum is great!

ashlee

snoozy
actually you'll be surprised as there are lotsa nice bigger gowns in Sg bridal boutiques! I am very big sized (read: big and chubby) and when I went to my BS, I can actually fit into their show pieces -- they always make them bigger so they fit the big sized ang moh models! Plus, more importantly, of cos the fact that it is cheaper in Sg than Oz I believe.

Tootsieroll
I am so proud of myself... I finally sent the cheque out liao! haha... ;p

frogprincess

Ashlee - I have emailed you the link, though it is not really finished (and I wonder if I ever will get it done!)

Honeygem - my dear twinnie, don't forget to send me your scrapbook link (if you are getting it done online)

Tootsieroll - I found Lotus because I drove past it, and when I went in to get more info, they gave me the website and stuff. Basically certain periods in the year, they are quite busy so you gotta book in advance (we booked about 1 month in advance)

Hello Snoozy! Poolside weddings are great, nice weather, intimate atmosphere. Take a look at the thread about poolside AD because there are lots of contacts there which do not bear repeating here. Additionally I have a great contact for a baker - Naleeza who did our lovely wedding cake - take a look, because I still have her contact if you like it:

frogprincess

Aww Nuts, I cannot upload the image (it's 1.01MB, so might be too big)

If anyone wants a great baker, tell me, and I will send you the images of the cake, and her contact details!

snoozy

ashlee, i intend to buy my grown in sg too, but everytime i walked pass those BS , they always show the nice, small and sexy wedding growns, i dont reali dare to step in

ashlee

Ribbit
Saw your photos liao! OMG! So pretty!!! And you all looked like u are enjoying every minute of it! Cool cool! Really liked the setting and the atmosphere! If only our wedding can be like that... hehe...

So which hotel was it at? So nice!

Snoozy
Hmm, personally, think you might like to at least try to visit a couple of BS and give it a shot. It is really good value for money, I think. Anyways, those gowns u see displayed on the mannequins are actually pinned at the back, if you look closely. Not real size of the gowns lah. hehe...

I know my BS got bigger gowns, for sure, as I tried on some. In fact, I borrowed four gowns from them for my PS. hehe... wanna consider them? They are lovely!

And how's the rest of your prep gal?

snoozy

hi ashlee.. can i know which BS you choose? but can i try even my bf is not in singapore? omg.. my prep.. not even start yet, my bf said too early... as we want something simple so he think is not a rush.

ashlee

snoozy
Can never be too early for wedding prep, I dun think. So have you decided the date already?
We are with The Wedding Present. No complaints at all so far, in fact, they've been exceeding our high expectations every time! hehe...
Men are always laid back in wedding prep, but they will soon appreciate it when they see the outcome of the fiancee's hard work and planning. hehe...

frogprincess

Hello girls!

Thanks for all your nice comments about the very unfinished wedding website. Hubby and me trying not to stress about it, but juggling a lot of wedding/moving stuff at the same time can place a strain on the new marriage.

Doing what Katgrrl suggested and loading up on buying spices, instant noodles and loads of things which I don't think I will get easily in Italy - Thanks Kat! We have one container of stuff (phew) to ship, and I am trying to buy my textbooks from the NUS co-op so that I don't have to get them in Euros. Both Hubby and I trying to learn Italian, not making much progress, whilst trying to hand-over all our work commitments AND organise our french wedding.

The good news is that it hardly gives me time to miss anyone, although occassionally i feel wistful about the friends I'm going to leave behind... Onwards to less maudlin thoughts --

*Ashlee - the Hotel I used was Beaufort Sentosa. Lee Sun Sun was our wedding planner from the hotel, I found her pretty professional, and have no complaints about the service we recieved. The important thing is to coordinate with lots of your friends who can make judgement calls and so on, because on that day you really don't want to be bothered about little details. The Wedding Present is a good BS - I wanted to use them originally too (got own stuff in the end)

*Snoozy - Agree with Ashlee that you cannot be too early. Especially if (like me) you do not have unlimited budget and are paying for it yourself, then you really want to get more bang for your buck, and the only way to do it is to Plan Plan Plan..

** Sannie my dear, didn't hear from you for the longest of time, so happy to see you back here again!! Just emailed you the website - enjoy them photos and hope they bring back happy memories. Agree with you that Honeygem's Siam Reap dress was tres chic.

BTW for your wedding in Agen, did you encounter any raised eyebrows from FH about changing from the white dress into the chinese dress during the dinner? Becos my hubby is telling me that most French brides keep their white dress on for the entire dinner!!

honeygem

heya sannie
thank you for thinking so. I like my dress too. I know its really shallow but that's my favourite momento from the wedding. Cant bear to sell it off. hehe

I actually wore it with a separate kebaya & a veil for the solemnisation. But for the evening do, I took off everything but the dress, which worked quite well in the end. Very happy with my dressmaker.

Snoozy, when I first started planning (which wasnt way ahead, i have to admit), I didnt do much but read loads of magazines for ideas. Maybe you should start thinking of a theme, or how you'd like your wedding to be like. Intimate/grand, indoors/outdoors, colours, budget! etc. Are you having a solemnisation at a church?

honeygem

Italy...oooh sounds lovely. Which bit of Italy will you be at in a few weeks? How long will you be living there? All that wonderful wines you can drink there!!! hehe

*sorry, very nosy but you girls lead such interesting lives!!**

ashlee

Ribbit
Was considering Beaufort at first too. But didn't work out as we wanted an outdoor dinner then. Thought we would go for rasa sentosa for the dinner out in the lawn, got the worst service ever, and so we decided on raffles. Havent looked back since! hehe... but till I saw ur pix... I was like, wow...
talk abt fickle-minded!