Juz saw this in another forum :

Aerobic Package
- 12 lessons @ $126
- Unlimited @ $252

Power Package
- 12 lessons @ $189
- 24 lessons @ $304.50
- Unlimited $346.50

Jurong point has promotion for new comers where u can join for a trial month of unlimited package @ $60.90 only, registration fee waived but no free use of towels.

naoki

Yes Daphne, they've closed! Poor thing... the membership is low ... can't make money like dat

Yuki, if the schedule hasn't changed, bong's is tue (eastpoint 7.30), wed (parkmall, 7.30), thur (parkmall, 4.30), fri (heartland, 6.30); rasol's is mon (bugis 4), thur (heartland, 9.30), fri (parkmall, 8), sat (heartland, 2.30)

If i'm not wrong, the uob a day pass.. so unless the class needs prior booking, i don't think there is a restriction.

veevee

Hi Naoki, u seem the person to ask about Amore lol..Do u know if they have discounts for purchase of membership for a year? The rates u've given are 3mths right? Some staff said yes, some said no, so quite puzzled. I'm on the unltd aerobics package ending in end August..want to renew but not really sure about the rates..many thanks!!

naoki

ghosh!!! as far as i know, the current practice in amore is no cash discounts/no free mths, only free gifts...

Yes that's for 3mths package... so for a year of unlimited will be 346.50x4 = 1386

Actually i am wondering should i encourage amoreans to switch clubs??? oops...

veevee

hmm...that's interesting lol..btw, thanks for the quick response..

Switch to which club? Maybe i will consider cos i find some of the intructors not up to par, only a handful that i like..and most classes are always full, so difficult to get a class/instructor i like..presently only going for bong's classes at HM cos lazy to travel, love Ray's kb on thurs but he's no longer there, miss his classes lots..dunno y, don't fancy the other instructors cos i'm resistance to change (??)..hmm..

aphrodite

After the Toa Payoh branch closed down, the timings of the specialty class (pilates, yoga) really sucks

Thinking of changing mine to aerobics package after mine expires, but from the comments in the forum, seems they no longer offer aerobics packages.

Now I always have a headache thinking which branch to go for classes.

naoki

morning yuki

ok the pkg msg was from another forum... i did not check again with amore... but as i said earlier they are coming up with only a single price pkg, and furthermore jurong point is exclusive for power members.. so most likely they will not sell aerobics pkg there if this pkg still exists. Anyway if you check amore website, they are only selling power and student packages.

dolphin48

naoki, u are right. they no longer sell aerobic packages. i went to PM yesterday and ask them about the packages so confirmed now only power packages. btw, i saw CL liao.... wah, that instructress seems solid leh.... she sure can shake her bums.... i booked to go next week.. hopefually can knock off on time.

naoki

hey great daphne!.... try try must try very hard to go... its rather fun... once u like her dance, you will then die die try to go to her hip hop as well. she is a national dancer, dono no. what ranking in asia too... i like her hip hop more than her cl... The other instructor hamzah... he is also good but very critical... so i dislike going to his class. He also never stick to beginners so very tough...

you went for step blitz?

dolphin48

no, i didn't go for step blitz... i just went gym cos dunno what class was going on then. but is she patient with beginners?

dolphin48

hmm..... she looks friendly enough to me lah.... ok will comment again when i go for the class next tues. hopefully can go.....

princessloo

hi... been watching out this space but nv reallly posted...

just to share. yup i did tried out CL weekly. jovienne's a great instructor and have been following her some time ago when i realised her Lo/HiLo was quite fun. i rmb one time when she reliefed bong, she mentioned she is the asiapacific no. x in salsa dancing. haha, at the time my jaws dropped and i went dumbfounded.

my first time tried russell KB at bugis on monday. KB is really fun but not very exciting since got no real person for me to punch at. =s my arms are achingggggg.

in abt may, eastpoint amore had the offer of cash discounts for the packages.

naoki

Hey princessloo

great you enjoy kb... if u want something to punch, you got to do Blast! but then i think you need to buy gloves or what b4 going for class. Rasol's kb is currently the toughest after ray left... so very shiong...

sleepykoara

hi, can any kind souls recommend some classes/ instructors in Jurong Point? and how would you rate the gym facilities? I used to go to Woodlands for Ray's KB class, but too bad he's gone. thanks!

naoki

wow... sleepykoara

tough question to answer... havent been to jurong point branch so can't comment.. but generally, can try almost every class since it is mostly blitz series (cardioblitz, bodblitz, stepblitz and cardiolatino, hiphop)

Have fun!

sleepykoara

i have tried everything in woodlands and was not very happy with the instructors (except Ray, he's great), the staff was confused as you ask different girls will give you different answers, so many moms bring the kids over, and make the reception area very unprofessional. and the worst is they always count more lessons than what you have taken, you have to be very careful to count how many lessons left after each visit. So after my membership ended, i didn't even think about renewing it, and therefore now with extra fat around my waist.. =(
i don't really know should i give Jurong Point a chance...
by the way, does anybody know where's Ray now? really miss his classes!

naoki

Hi sleepykoara

haha... maybe you wanna change clubs...where ray is... give me your email or u can send an email to me. I will forward his latest to you.

sleepykoara

hi nakoi, have PM you, thanks!!! see, if an instructor is good, no matter where s/he goes, the students will follow, rather than geting stuck in the fitness club!

babybluezz

I have been following the postings here. Here are my two cents' worth...

I used to enjoy my classes with Amore. But I am now terribly inconvenieced after the closure of Toa Payoh branch and the saddest thing is I still have one more year with Amore!! I tried to ask for a refund but they refused. Mine is Aerobics Package, meaning that I cannot go to Parkmall branch from 1 June as well!

I am not so angry that I cannot get back my money but more frustrated with the level of customer service I am getting from them!! I never expected such amaturish service level from them. Really disappointed! Not sure whether anyone has the same problems as me?

naoki

hi sleepykoara

umm... i very stupid,,, dont know how to retrieve PM... can email me instead?

hi babybluezz

ya i know how u free over the pkg thingy... can try to do an upgrade if your 1 year pkg hasnt start. Alternatively, u can try to sell to friends living around the aerobics centre other than parkmall, woodlands and jurong...

sleepykoara

Naoki: thanks so much for passing Ray's information! Hope the package price is not that hefty to take Ray's class in the new place!

MF Fox: i think Amore is no longer selling aerobics package as on their website, there are only power package and student package...

veevee

Talk about packages.....my unltd aerobics package is ending Sept. I enquired about converting to power unltd and they told me i've to top up $340+ just for the next few months!! I didn't think the top up would be so much, i thot it'll only be prob $100 or so, but since it's this case, i'll stay put till my current package ends and see how it goes from there.

leah

yes, I must agree that the Toa payoh outlet closure makes things really difficult for me. I stay in AMK, so the most convenient one now is PM. Jurong point is too damn far away!!!!

Sigh, I think I am just not going to sign with them anymore after I finish my last 3 mnths.

I hope the management is reading all these negative postings.

yoz

Anyone went for the power launch at Parkmall today? Any freebies or promotions?

I am interested in e power package for 12 lessons @ 189. And I am considering the Jurong Point branch.

So if there is any promotion which involve extra lessons if 2 or more sign up together, do post it here. Maybe we can sign up together to enjoy the promo. Cheers!

babybluezz

Naoki: Thanks for your advice. I enquired about the upgrade but I was told that because I purchased the package during promotion, I may not be eligible for upgrade!!! The staff said she will check and get back to me again. I felt that I was being told different things everytime I spoke to different staff!!

Btw, can you PM me where Ray is? Thanks!

yuki31

Hi Yoz,

I am interested in renewing my Amore package as well. Do keep me posted if u know of any promotion ... thanks

belladona

today went for a class at Kovan and they ran out of the towels! this is not the first time I had encountered. Inspite of them trying to get new sign ups for power package (more expensive with use of shower facilities and towel, more classes) and yet are not able to provide sufficient towels on hand.
kao_frustrated.gif

yoz

Hi Yuki,

I also don't have any infor on the promotion cos never go to the power launch. So we shld wait n c anyone can share with us any promotion details over here.

babybluezz

Leah Keh: Seriously, I don't think the management care...

Anyway I would like to share the following info with everyone...just in case you are in the same situation as me (at lease you know you are getting the same or better deal than me).

I bought my unlimited Aerobics package last December during the promotion, so it cost $1008 (12 months + free 3 months).
But due to the closure of Toa Payoh/Bugis & Parkmall being converted to power package from 1 June onwards,
I am left with little options as the rest of the locations are inconvenient for me.

After being told different things when I approached different staff and some did not even bother to get back to me as promised, I finally got the following options if I want to convert my package:
(1) Change to a 9-month unlimited power package (but must top-up $31.50)
(2) Change to a 9-month limited power package (no need to top-up but only entitled to 72 lessons)
(3) Convert to spa packages (but the minimum package available cost $1960 and I need to pay additional $50 for conversion charges)

Seriously it was not the best customer experience having to deal with the staff. It makes me wonder why Amore bother to call itself a "Superbrand".

As customers, we can fully understand why companies go through business changes, but in this case, it seems like a certain group of existing customers were penalized for the change and no actions have been taken to make them happier or at least, minimize the inconveniences.

naoki

hmm babybluezz...

Did you try talking to parkmall staff? Talk to branch manager, christine... she might understand and help out somewhere.

I think if you have not started the pkg, then it is fair to perform an upgrade with the current promo - which if lets say their promo now is 12+3 then u only need to pay the difference; however, i think the current promo has been like 9mths pkg w/o free mths and 2-year type of pkg. Thus you might have to forgo that 3 free mths for the upgrade.

But if you have already started the pkg, then it will be a bit difficult to convert fairly. You might have to accept whatever they have put forward.

sleepykoara

the reason why i joined AMORE was it's the only female-only gym in Singapore as I hate doing workout with unknown guys around; and the reason why i stopped the membership because they don't care about the customers and trash their brand image with unprofessional front-line staff; and many of the good instructors has left... so what's the reason staying there?

veevee

wrote an enquiry to amore wrt striking off aerobics package. They replied saying that they are not striking of aerobics package, but got different answer from the counter staff....shouldn't the staff have the proper and correct info? Now i'm confused, who's right and who's wrong?

My unltd aer. pkg is till Sept. They allowed me to do an upgrade for the balance of the last 4mths by paying the difference of 30 each month (ie. 30 x 4, for 4mths)..they said it's a special 'concession'. Dunno should i take that up cos i really really dun go to the classes for the power pkgs..+ my husband's work schedule has changed and i've to readjust my class sessions all over again from my usual ones..still considering.....

i think tt amore's wonderful instructors have left, and the thing i dont like abt amore is that the teachers there dont exactly care about whether or not you are following the class correctly. Bt the gym is nice because you can just stay there and not worry abt guys staring at you or sth.

Anw, ive just one more lesson left and i will not be continuing with amore, been thinking of joining Pure Yoga, they've gt wonderful teachers and really professional service. Ive been to the free trial lesson and i totally love the ambience, lesson, people and facilities.

belladona

viv,
Unlimited aerobic package is $252 per 3 months, whilst unlimited power is $346.50 per 3 months. by right the difference is $94.50 per 3 months..so actually the amt they offer to you to upgrade is pretty reasonable..that is if you require the additional "classes" or "extras" under power package.

yah I also always get diff answers from diff staff.. they don't seem to know very much...probably the fault of their managment for not updating the staff.

veevee

Hi belladona,
they calculated by dividing the pkgs into mthly (ie. aer. mthly = 252/3 = 84, power mthly = 346.5/3 = 115.5). This is the difference they're talking about, ie. difference of $30 per mth. But ur way of calculating seems better for me heheh...

haru

i used to be with Go!Fitness and unfortunately they closed suddenly only after i had 2 lessons. they have offered a 3 mths m'ship at Planet Fitness til July. In the meantime i am looking around for a nice gym, pref with classes such as body combat/pump... any recommendations? It seems like amore is not getting great reviews..where wil you ladies b switching to? thanks for sharing!