Amore Fitness Membership

alice

would really like to slim down...thought of going for aerobics class... has anyone been to amore? any comments? is it effective?
what exercises should i do there??

julia andrew

Hi alice

I've tried amore, was not very impress by them since there are other gym such as Planet Fitness & California fitness which can offer more alternative.

Why not consider going to california/ planet fitness. Moreover, they will usually have a fitness instructor telling you what you should do to concentrate on your problem area. Give it a try, there are free trial available at both centre.

apple

Hi, I'd been to Cali (both branches) and Amore (Bugis and Tiong Bahru). I prefer Amore over Cali, cos it's all ladies.

And the instructors at Amore are fun, you've to know which classes are always full, and you'll know the instructor is good.

alice

hi hi...
i wouldn mind cali or planet but the only thing is amore all ladies... that's wat i like about it...
apple
you know which instructors are good and which class should i go? how long would it take for me to lose wight?how often shd i go btw??

leo

Hi Alice,

I am a member of Amore for several years. I find that they are good. They have a lot of classes and they are quite flexible, you can go to any of their branch to your convenience.

I've tried their areobics classes for low and high/low impact, very good cardio work out. Besides areobics, they oso have pilates, yoga, power yoga, kick boxing, step work etc. to enable you to choose from on your targeted area to work out.

If you want to see the effectiveness, I think at least you must go twice a week, best its three times a week, of cos must oso go with a sensible diet.

hwee

Hi Alice,

I used to be a member of Amore for a few yrs. Reason why i decided not to continue is becos the way they increase prices is horrifying. For the past 2 yrs they increase by $25 per year. Also, I find that not all instructor at Amore is good, some were not too professional. For eg, a hi-lo class is taught like low impact class by some instuctors. So you have try out a few classes and find out which instructor is good and try to stick to her classes.

I have join Max aerobics now. Although they are cheaper, I find that their instuctor is so much professional compared to amore and I really feel that I have worked out after the lesson.

girlie

Hi.. have any tried philip wain??? then??
I m thinking either Amore or Philip wain....

Any advice???

tks...

cynthia

Hi Hwee, where is Max aerobics?

I agree that Amore has been increasing their prices at an alarming rate, but still think no one can really beat them in the flexibility (in terms of locations and time schedule) aspects.

cynthia

hwee

Hi Cynthia,

Max has two branches, one in Northpoint and one in Hougang. U will need to reserve the slots for lessons conducted during peak hours, but so far I have no problem reserving my slots. Their rates are about 20% lower than amore. They offer aerobics classes only, no gym.

alice

hi hwee,
I would be more inclined to amore coz of the location... if max is nearer where i stay then i wouldn mind joining...is max for all female too?

hi leo,
If i wan to make my arms less flabby smaller and trim my tummy, which classes shd i go apart from hi/lo?? any idea??

hi girlie,
I have tried enquiring ant Philip wain. The impression they gave me not v good, very pushy and you need to pay one lump sum for 1 yr membership etc... facilities are definately better than amore you can check it out... but beware that if you dun sign up with them, they will keep calling you again and again to ask you to sign up...just my 2 cents worth...

apple

Hi Hwee,
u r rite, amore dun hi-impact classes are taught like low-impact by some instructors, but there ain't lots of differences, since lo means at least on foot on the floor at one time, and hi means two feet not touching floor.. so, we can control the impact ourselves.

different pple has different preferrences.
anyway, i've not been to amore quite a while cos no time, will be returning to gym v soon, to tone up for rom.

i like Cindy and Natelie's classes. Cindy's like push u to work hard, she's like female commando type and she gives lotas toning tips too. Natelie will 'chit-chat' while conducting the classes.

hwee

Hi apple,

I like Natelie's class too, but she's no longer at amore. Think she went to switzerland to further her studies. Have u tried Pauline before? She's not bad too.

Te instructor at Max is really good. I'm really worn out after a lesson of their fat burner (Hi-lo) class.

Hi Alice,

Max do have some class which allow males to join. The location was quite okie for me as it is only a MRT stop away from my home.

joy2003

Hi Hwee,

I like Natalie's classes too
But I didnt know that she has left for Switerland. No wonder, she has been around for the past few weeks.

Oh yes, I am interested to find out more about Max aerobics. What's the name of the company, the address and tel no? I am interested to know the location near hougang.

angie12

Hi Joy2003,
I've been a member of Max for 2-3 years, enjoying my regular aerobics classes
Most of the instructors are good, every class starts with warm-up, followed by main class(hi/low, fat burner, sculpting etc)and abdominal exercises and ending off with relaxing cool down.The only thing is there is not bathing facilities. Max started off with the branch at Northpoint. The Hougand Mall is new and it's very much spacious compared to Northpoint.
Max Aerobics Studio
930 Yishun Ave 2 #03-04 Northpoint Shopping Centre Tel: 65753 0798

90 Hougang Ave 10 #04-02 NTUC Hougang Mall Tel: 62821698

angie12

By the way, males are only allowed for classes like kickboxing. Normal aerobics classes are only for females so we won't be pai say when our fats wiggle as we see ourselves through the mirror...haahaa No matter where we are, Amore, Philip Wain, California or Planet Fitness etc, let's enjoy our workout and be happy, healthy ladies who feel good about ourselves!

ssl

Hi joy2003

Has Natalie gone off again?? cos that time she mentioned she was going away for studies but then she came back after two months saying change of plans and she's in Singapore now doing some dance course??

So is she gone again?? i havent been to Amore for 2 months so not sure if there's new changes. Yes i love Natalie's class cos she's very good and friendly.

val

Hi SSL,

I just attended Natalie's class at Eastpoint last wednesday. But I'm not too sure whether we are talking about the same person. She was covering for another instructor on that day but I do see her name on the board regularly.

ssl

Hi Val

??. The Natalie i said is the one i saw at Bugis Junction outlet so not sure if they are the same person or not. heehee

Anyway i've stopped going there cos too busy as wedding is near. Maybe after wedding will go. c how.

val

Hi SSL,

Not sure leh, is she long-haired? Her lo-impact have alot of pattern, abit difficult to follow cos I still quite beginner. I think the amore instructors dun stay at jus one outlet, they seem to switch around. I went to a few outlets and saw the same names on the board.

ssl

Hi Val

yes she's long hair, abit highlighted And i think she got abit freckles on her face.

She's very bubbly and her moves sometimes got dance move one cos she told us she learning dance class.

val

Hi SSL,

Yup the Natalie I had also had highlighted hair. Also very bubbly, I think she talk throughout the class
and sets an active mood for us. She's covering for another instructor on that day. I'll chk out the schedule when I go this week and let you know when her lesson is on, huh!

sunshine

I have been with Amore for 5yrs. If I am not wrong, there is only one Natalie. She is still around. She is conducting SS class at Tiong Bahru on every thurs, 6.30p.m . I like Cindy too. But, not sure where is she now.

sushi

Hi Sunshine
I think Cindy is still at Bugis Junction. I attend her Pilates and New Body class every Saturday, till I got pregnant recently. Simply love her classes... push you like mad but at the end of the day, who's gonna benefit? Us, right?

sushi

Hi Sunshine
I saw your contribution at the other thread of mummies-to-be, and I answered your question about anti-stretchmarks cream....

Do join us more over there. And yes, start using your creams, day and nite!!

cynthia

SSL,

Amore Fitness is having a 30% cash rebates for anyone signing their packages this September. Redeemable against spa services.

Are you interested in signing up first?

cynthia

ssl

Hi cynthia

Is it the same as the ones i signed up the last time?? i dont mind. but have to see how "goody" is the promo cos money hard this month. some more promo ending sept.

cynthia

Erm... what is the promo that you got the last time you sign up?? Free facial and free massage?

No lah.. think not the same....

ssl

har. soli i meant is the those 12 times to be finished in 3mths type of package for normal or power package??

cynthia

both also lah... they offer up to $400 worth of cash rebate. so depending on which u sign up, will get 30%. if the more ex type, then may hit up to $400..

ssl

hmmm.. see how if i got go bugis i kapo there. this coming week sure very busy for me. ahhh....

zen

Just sign up the amore package 2 months ago, did not go very regulary due to after pregency the weight that I have put on and also not so fit liao...Love Natalie class I use to "followed" her class very closely...now she is gone??? She was the one whom inspire me that exercise is the best way to lose all the fats...not weight....

Seiko,

Went for the body message and seaweed wrap, for a discount price of $69, I think it is alright but for a normal price like 100+ not so impressive, after the treatment they ask me to sign up package which cost thousand over dollars, no way, I will spend that on other things.

seiko

Hi zen

tks 4 the feedback. I went to the Woman Inspire Expo at Suntec today, n signed up for 8 sessions wif them at promotional price of 68.
There are 3 treatments avail. The sales pple said I cld choose fr any of 3 treatments when i call 4 appointment. They claimed 1st time customers cld only try their trial treatmts at 68, subsequently, they've got 2 fork out 80 + for the same treatmt.

zen

Seiko,

They always said that, I remember 1 year ago before my wedding I was given a first trial for 68 dollars, than I sign up a few sessions. Than about two months ago I sign up the amore aerobic package, they call me up and offer me another 68 dollars seaweed wrap and massage. Maybe this is their business stratergy

seiko

Hi Zen

*sigh*, id better be strong willed the next time they try to push a package to me man. Anyway my wedding's next yr, n i was also looking 4 a spa package, so thot id sign up to pamper myself too

zen

seiko,
It is alright to pamper yourself bfeore t your weeding, as bride always deserved the best. Enjoyed preparing your wedding.You can ask me anything if I can help, as I am already marriage and a mummy of one recently.

seiko

Morn Zen!

wow! u're already a mummy ? Congrats! i love babies too. Whenever i go out n see babies, i'll look at them n make funny faces. Think i siao liao. Some of them r juz sooo cute! When i say the babies r sooo cute, my FH will say our own ( future ) baby cuter. *HEE* I think we both n his parents siao 4 zaizai already. But i juz love playing wif babies....

babybreath

hi hi ladies!

juz join amore 4 abt one month cos i'm preparing 4 my big day tis july, simply loves the atmosphere there. not as commercialised as both cali and planet. Cindy is real good and from her figure, u juz noe that her standard is there, so is Natalie, very chatty n she really noe how 2 draw crowds

juzager

Hey ladies!
I would like to know more about Amore fitness..how to go about joining them as member? And how many lesson am i entitle to go? What are the lessons i can go?
I cant visit the webpage cos my $#%# PC dun have a flash player!

dreyers

call them to get more info.
amore cineleisure: 6732 1822

they sell basic aerobics packages at 12 lessons or 24 lessons, expiry in 3 months.

Or you can sign up for the power package that includes the use of shower facilities and certain aerobics classes that the basic aerobics package exludes eg Yoga, Hip Hop, Pilates etc

They also have a gym package, which is all inclusive of aerobics, gym use and shower facilities.

Lockers must be rented on a 3-monthly basis. Forgot the price.

FOr first-time members, you have to pay a registration fee of $20+ i think...

timid

hey,
can i check with you ladies can we wear track pants and tshirts for aerobic at amore??feel paisey if I have to wear leotards...

juzager

Dear Dreyers,
Thanks for your wonderful informations! I will called them to check it out.

F

fatorfit

Is there any promotions going on at amore?? I am thinking of signing up with them... Anyone interested to join me at the East point, tiong bahru or bugis junction branch ?? Please leave a message here or your email here... .. thanks

Hi Fatorfit,
I think they are giving free package for certain package.
Call them up and check lor..

F

fatkid

fatorfit

i think they r giving some freeies now becos of the GSS eg free sports bag, body massage and 1 mth membership..but not too sure on the terms n conditions like how many mths u need to sign before u r entitled to them. so u hv to call them up to double-check.

I can join u at either 1 of the 3 branches as i stay in geylang. i sign up abt 1.5 mths ago. u can email me @ [email protected]