Amara Singapore

Hi Tare, I did not sign up the videographer yet.. I may used the the photograher who also a videographer for my ROM cos he charge $600.. My sales co-ordinator also Li Ping.. How did u find her?

errr.. i wld like to know more abt amara poolside wedding... can anyone here provide any insight...? i wld be so grateful...
107538.gif

HiHi,

Shell & Tare: my sales co-ordinator is also Li Ping. Find her sincere and quite helpful.

Hi peeper, mi not having poolside wedding so can't give you much infor. Why dun u approach the wedding coordinator at amara, they will be able to help more.

hi joelle,

i'm actuali going down tomolo to have a look.. but u noe... sumtimes asking advice fm ppl who have been there wld b more helpful... get info which co-ordinator will not highlight to u.. esp. if its negative to their venue n such...

tks anyway...

anyone out there hv any comments/experience... pls share wif me.... i wld appreciate soo much
107643.gif

Shell/Joelle : I find her helpful...but abit blur at times...kekeke...most impt is she make sure our wedding run smoothly...

Shell, are u oso asking ur videographer 2 do the montage & express edit stuff ? I am asking my videographer 2 do photo montage but not the express edit...cos it will b very rush 4 him...it gd 2 hv him ard 2 capture all the interesting thgs...

Gals..u know Robertson Quay is actually oso a nice place 4 outdoor shot...

hi peeper,
Sorry, me oso can't give u any comments...cos mine oso in the ballroom...

Hi Tare,

I will not ask him to do express edit.. As photo montage, still deciding cos Amara dun have projector so u will have to loan one from outside. It is cheaper to source urself than ask Amara to provide (they also source from outside). Let hope tat Li Ping will make sure our wedding run smoothly..

hi pepper
what a coincidence, i'm also looking at holding a poolside wedding at Amara, just met with Li Ping today. This is my 2nd time there, 1st time with my hubby.

it's a last min decision as we had been planning to hold our wedding at our place all along till we realised that we've got quite a substantial guest list and the function room at our club house can't accommodate so many people.

r u looking at holding it in the day or nite? i'd prefer to hold a lunch reception so that everything can be over and done with earlier. but i think it'll be quite hot during the day, provided it doesn't rain

have a look tomorrow and let me know ur outcome, not many people have poolside weddings, glad to have a partner

Hi Yvonne and no time

How do you find the poolside wedding in Amara?

It is one of my hotel choices for poolside wedding as well.

Have you been to others?Can share with me? I had been to Roxy hotel, opp parkway parade. Not bad. Good for small weddings though.

Hi Shell,

I went down on Sat...the couple hv a projector provide by Amara ...the screen is just beside the stage...unless u r really making full use of the projector...or else, i would it kinda ex to spend $280 on just a montage....

i am trying to loan from my coy....staff benefit...but tat provided...no one is using it for that period....pray hard...

Btw, i went to see Amara poolside....the style is "Bali" resort kind....but very hot in the day...

hi moo
i pools/garden area in Amara, it's very nice, like what Tarepanjo said, it's very Balinese style and the space is just nice for the number of guests i have. actually, the other places i've been to are Conrad (friend's poolside wedding) and Marina Mandarin.

Hi Tare, So have u sign the contract with Amara? But I think the screen is limited as the stage is quite small.. I have already designed my EG.. IT wil be ready in Aug for first fitting and I have also confirmed OTR WG.. Settle another thing liao.. So when r u deciding ur Bridal Package.. A friend of mine who also hold her wedding in AUg 2005 already confirmed the banquet and bridal package..This show that u r on the right track..

Nvr heard for Jolle this few days? How are u doing?

Just wonder when Babyad will be back to share with us her experience with Amara...

HiHi Morning Ladies,

Hehee me back fr leave

Tare:ur projector is not included in the package? Have to pay extra? Are you doing any videography?

wah balinese pool sounds like romantic poolside wedding venue..

Hi moo

the max # of tables for Amara's poolside is 18, i think the min required is 3? not sure, u may want to call up and check with them. i think for poolside weddings, u don't want it too big, cos the main purpose is for it to be small and cosy for easy mingling, any bigger, a sit-down banquet would be a better choice. my 2 cents worth

Shell : I hv sign my contract with Amara last Sat...kekeke...then i take a look at the poolside as well as the ballroom...Romance theme...but thk Grandeur is nicer...so i hv make up my mind...will oso take grandeur...hehehe...

true lah...the screen is not tat big...but beta than nothings...

wow...so gd...i still hv 2 wait till next yr...but i m goin 2 sign my BS by Dec...dun wan 2 stress my hb...he says we r oredi very fast...since hv confirm banquet & videographer...next mth, i wan 2 confirm my photographer... : P

It gd 2 hv frenz wedding ard the same period...can share on lobang...i hv a frenz..getting marry next yr Jan...but she very steady...till now, oni bk her BS...the rest havent settle...kekeke

Ya loh...din hear frm babyad...should b bk frm her honeymoon liao...u & joelle must send me ur wedding picture 2 c c hor...must c ur beautiful face...kekeke

Joelle : No wonder din hear frm u...taking a break at hm ?

ya loh...it not included in my package...mine wkday package mah...if i wan 2 get frm Amara...they charge me $280...so i b trying to loan from my coy...hv confirm my videographer...will ask him 2 do a photo montage...but not express edit or MTV...express edit abit rush 4 him...so i rather hv him ard 2 capture the whole day event...kekeke...MTV...feel tat it's kinda ex...so just settle on photo montage loh...beta than nthgs 2 show my guests...

when r u gals goin 2 get the invite card...i saw the red & white one...prefer the white one...simple & classy...dun really like the red one...remind me of those tradition mooncake box design...kekeke...but thk will still take both...since my mum prefer red card to give relatives...

Hi Yvonne

Thanks for your 2cents worth =)

Seems like the max no of tables for poolside are always very small...just worried that my estimated no of pax will balloon closer to the date :P

Hi Hi Morning Ladies,

Tare: Yap me resting at home hehehe, went to the GSS with mum. Dun find there are much things to buy...

Me going to take Grandeur too.. find its nicer..heard fr Li Ping they have 2 florist, not sure which will be better.. I knew one is June florist.. Yeah Amara's screen kinda of small but nvm will do. Tare, you still shopping for BS huh? decided on any?

Yeah its good to have fren getting married around the same time but if you pang tang, then cannot go to her wedding ....

Yeah din see babyad in here, maybe busy with post-wedding things. Can't wait for her to be back and share share some experience...

Tare: You r pretty well prepared leh but its better then last min rush..I seen the invitation cards, they sent it over already.. think will be taking both, the red for relatives or elders, white for frens. Prefer the white too more elegant, but the red kinda of cute too.. looks like mooncake... heheh

hi shell, tarepanjo & joelle

i'm a soon Amara-bride-to-be, still waiting for Li Ping to get back to us on the stuff we've asked for, so, 1 more person in this thread

tarepanjo
agree with u, the red invitation cards are only for the old folks, their cream coloured cards are nicer

moo
1 'trick' which my friend did for her poolside wedding at Conrad was to only invite 1 generation for their relatives, the rest are not invited, helped keep the numbers down

u might want to try Roxy Century park as well? i think they can take up to 250 pax

Hi Tare, Joelle, & other ladies who in this thread.

Is anyone going to tailored made shoes?

Joelle, when r u gg for ur gown fitting again? I have choose my mtm design and the EG will be ready in 2 mths time for first fitting then discuss abt the design of beeds to be sew onto the EG.. My photo session is in mid sept... Urs leh??

hi shell

nope, not going to tailor make my shoes, bought mine from JWest and Charles & Keith. u may want to try Leaping Lizards for tailored shoes, can get a decent pair from $60

Hi all ladies,

Joelle : I din really make a trip to any BS...becos i know tat i would still prefer GHA cos it my 1st choice all the while...kekeke...but a bit far frm my hse...duno whether my hb will mind or not...sometimes, i m thking...if i settle 4 a BS at Tanjong Pagar...i can just walk to return my gowns after my wed the next day...kekeke...save times 4 travelling...still thking...

i hv a frenz getting marry in Jan...but her AD..i might not b able 2 go as well...cos my brother in-law r oso getting marry on the same day...so coincidence...

anyway, if my wedding 2 near wif my frenz...my parents oso won't allow...kekeke

yaya....tat wat i thou when i seen the red one...like mooncake box design...hahaha....u means u din go down 2 take the invite card...they mail it 2 u...btw, did u ask Amara 4 their song lists...wonder how many songs we nd 2 prepare...

Yvonne : Welcome to our circle of being Amara bride...kekeke...so ur is goin 2 b at poolside ? Afternoon or Evening ? when ur AD ?

Shell : I oso hv a colleague who tailor make her shoe at Leaping Lizard at Int'l Plaza...but her shoe cost $100+++...for me, thk i m buying instead...i wan 2 hv 2-3 pairs tat i can interchgn...kekeke...btw, i hv oso bought a pair of white shoe specially 4 my photo shoot...

Can we exchange the wedding cards to other items? Anyone of you did that? Just wonder...

Nvr seen their cards before, nice?

hi tarepanjo

thanks for ur warm welcome
yup, mine's going to be a poolside wedding, it's my dream to have 1 eversince I attended my friend's at Conrad in 2002. It'll be in the afternoon, we're planning to start early, around 11.30. our AD is on 30 Oct, a Sat. We thought since most of our friends are not working, should be alrite to start early, any later, it'll be too hot and our guests will really have to start taking off their clothes

u're working at tanjong pagar? me too. i'd initially wanted GHA too cos i kinda liked their gowns from the bridal mags but decided on taking somewhere central cos u'll need to go down to ur BS quite a few times for fitting and PS.

moo
er... no idea... u may want to check with Li Ping, I believe she's the main wedding co-ordinator

Hi Moo,

I have already ask Li Ping and she said cannot exchange for anything.. MAyb u wan to try again..

Hi Tare, u so fast bought the shoes for photoshot? My gown designer ask me to tailor made one that suits me and wear for both WG & EG cos it is ore comfortable for me ask I will need to wear one whole day..

Agree with Yvonne that better to find one in the town area easier.. Mine I need to travel to Kaki bukit a bit far for me..

Moo : They hv 2 type of card...red & white...i prefer the white 1...more elegant...red one...the wording abit funny...like mooncake boxes design...kekeke

Yvonne : So ur poolside wedding is 2 in 1....chinese customary + ROM ?

My office in city hall...i stay at Tiong Bahru area...so Tanjong pagar is very nearby...so which BS do u take ?

Shell : Ya loh...i happen 2 saw a pair of white color shoe at Isetan...got some diamond bead on it...so i thk it will b matching 4 photo shoot...but AD shoe...i will shop 4 it next year...

shell
i gather u don't live in the east? don't worry, try and get everything settled during ur visits to ur BS, then u won't need to travel there so often

tarepanjo
nope, it's just customary cos we ROM-ed last year.

hee hee, after looking at all the BS around tanjong pagar area, i settled with one in Bugis
it's santiago. cos a friend of mine used them before and had been there with her when she selected her pix, had a pretty good impression of that place, so, i took that.

so how? u're still going to take GHA as ur BS?

Morning Ladies!

Hi Yvonne!

Shell~Me tailor made my EG shoes @ leapin lizard for $139. cos have to buy red open toe heels and have been search high and low but can't find one, so we to make. Going for fitting in mid Jul, then PS on 5 August
Can't wait!!

Amara sent me the invitation card together with the quotation fr the printer on the printing.

Yvonne, which BS u with? me with GHA, agreed tat is kinda far but luckily my hubby stays in bedok so its ok for us.

Ladies, is all our coordinator Li Ping?

Yvonne : GHA is still my 1st choice loh cos i prefer 2 hv both my WG & EG MTM....kekeke...another BS i hv in mind is Milan @ tanjong pagar...tat will b the 2nd alternative...

Joelle : Since u din go down to Amara...how r u goin 2 confirm the banquet songs, theme, etc ? call them ? I thk all our coorindator is li ping...i thk they oni hv 1 & oni wedding coordinator...cos never heard frm someone else...can b quite "xiong" 4 her...one woman show...

ladies, does all of u intend 2 do a rehearsal 4 the march-in ?

Shell : I hv decide 2 take CF Tien as my AD photographer...if i nd 2 print extra copy...it will b $0.60...but he mention tat since i hv the master copy (mayb 700 pcs)...i can go out & print myself...effect will b as gd...kekeke

Hi Joelle

u've received ur invitation cards already? when is ur AD? my BS is Santiago, it's at Bugis, cos i was staying at Aljunied before our house was ready. It's convenient for us cos can drop by when visiting my parents hee hee

yup, my co-ordinator is Li Ping as well, I guess she's the only wedding co-ordinator Amara has? how do u find her respond time? I thought it was a little slow, maybe it's cos she's the only person handling so many of us, that's why it's slow. waiting for her to revert on our queries so that we can sign on the dotted line with her asap

Hi Yvonne

Is there only one theme for the poolside? How's their poolside package like?

Is it a sit down dinner or buffet style?

Yvoone : I agree...she's the oni person handling so many of us...sometimes, i wonder...how come Amara dun engage 1 more colleagues 2 help her...at least, they hv 2 pple to cover for each others...

Hi Tare, how do u find CF Tien? I find him very experience lor.. Hope the photo he took dun show my tummy or wrinkles.. Heehee.. Actually 300 pcs for AD is a bit little.. THe photographer who I used for my ROM give me 90 pcs with some special effect in the photo.. But I forget to ask CF Tien whether does he do that.. I like those outdoor shots he took (from those he pasted in the shop). Hv u paid the deposit?

Shell : I havent mtg him in person...only talk on the tel...tat day when I went down...he is not ard...cos i went down like a last mins thgs...since my office is just at Raffles city...having view his digital shot & those paste in the shop...i thk it's nice...

in fact, 300 pcs is the standard package (i hv ask 4 a few quotation, some charge at 800++)...some oni give 180 pcs..& the redevelop charge can go as high as 0.80 to $1...

according to him...he mention tat he will do up 20 or 30 pcs wif special effect...thk depend on pple request...u might wan 2 chk wif him again...whether he can do more special effect...

not yet pay the deposit...mtg him next mth...

his timings quite ok...some oni cover till 1 or 2pm...

Tare, he only reserved his slot on ur AD for 1 or wks and u must payment cos he claimed that only after u place a deposit then he will mark the date on his diary.. Agree with u that his charges are resonable..

shell, according to him...he mention tat he will block up my AD 1st...anyway, i will pay him the deposit when i mtg him next mth...so it more or less confirm liao....

actually, since u thk tat ur ROM photographer is not bad...y u din use back the same guy ?

Shell, for the mtm shoes, abt 1 month, they will let u try the shoes then a week after u can collect. Mine is collecting in July, made in June.

Tare: My dinner is in dec 04, so there are still time, according to Li Ping such preparation will start 3 months before AD so should be going down to see her ard aug/sep. I have went down a few time to see the different themes and setups so roughly i know wat i want heheh :P.... me kan geong been to Amara a few times after i siged already hehehe...I am already looking for songs for the dinner so when she gave me her list i can compare and decide on which one to take..

Most likely to have rehearsal cos i have little cousins to march in front so they need practise too... :P

Yvonne, yeah amara sent to the samples already. My AD is 2 dec 04. Met Li Ping only once, find her v polite and friendly. Respond time.. quite fast actually, maybe she is busy now... cos wedding before 7th month... overall I find her quite good.. so far lah..

Hi Tare, I want to book CF Tien for my ROM but he already have a AD photoshot..So I used another guy for my ROM and book CF Tien for AD lor..

Hi Joelle, Oh which means tat my photoshot is on sept so aug will have to make my shoes liao lor.. Dunno want to use the mtm shoes for PS or wait til AD then wear..

Agree with u that Li Ping is friendly but at times u may need to chase after her for respond..

hi Moo
the theme for poolside wedding is pretty simple, not much decor is need cos i wanted it to be natural. the VIP table can be decorated according to the 3 themes Amara has. the rest of the tables will have the standard white tablecloth and seat covers

mine is buffet style cos i prefer free and easy style for my guests.

hi tarepanjo/joelle & shell
agree, i like li ping, she's a nice gal and has been quite accommodating to our requests. yah, if only Amara hired another wedding co-ordinator, at least she won't be so busy. hee hee, she's finally responded to 1 part of my request, hope she'll respond to the other part soon then we can settle our venue

joelle
oic, hmm... my AD is end Oct, so, i guess after we sign on the dotted line, we'll have to go down again and confirm the details soon

so cute, u'll have little flower gals and page boys for ur march in

shell
agree with Tarepanjo, 300 pcs quite standard. i'm using The Pond for my AD, his package for half day is 6-8 rolls, that's about 288 pcs if u take 8 rolls of 36.

Can anyone advise the standard no of rolls of film and the price for AD? No idea at all...

+ any recommendations? Actually what are the differences between the diff photographers?

Hi moo,

Digital Photography is abt 300pcs of photos and Conventional Photography is abt 8-10 rolls depend on the price he quote u.. U can try CF Tien as Tare & me enaged him for AD.

hi moo
u may want to try going to www.singaporebrides.com/photographers, they've a list of photographers in there. u can visit their website and some of them have their pricing in their websites. i got my AD photographer this way
i think u should check out their work first, then speak with them and see whether u can get along with the photographer before making ur deicision on hiring them.

no pt finding the cheapest photographer but turns out u don't like his/her photography style or u can't get along with them on ur AD. similarly, no pt getting the most expensive but encountering the same problems. hope the link helps

Joelle : I thou they hv the standard 3 theme...so far, i hv seen Grandeur & Romance...i like the set up of grandeur as compare 2 Romance...Romance is too red...the stage set up of grandeur oso nicer...hv u seen natural theme ? btw, wat flowers do u hv in mind 4 the room set up ?

I hv oso decide on wat songs 2 play 4 my dinner...kekeke...Do u gals thk "From this moment" by Shania Twain, "I know I luv u" by savage garden or Baby, I wanna you by David Gates is gd for photo montage background ?

Actually, i oso like 2 hv little boy/gals marching in front of us...but mine is a wkday...might not be 2 convenient 4 them...

Shell : My frenz who tailor make her shoe frm Leaping Lizard intend 2 wear the shoes on photo shoot as well as on her AD...but u must really take gd care of it when u r goin outdoor 4 the PS...

Yvoone : So how's ur preparation so far since ur is quite near liao...

Moo : I guess it really depend on ur budget & the style of photo u like...some photographer r very gd in journalist style...while some provide very gd special effect...u should chk out the thread on photographers...

hi tarepanjo
i think i'll most likely take the natural theme cos mine is a poolside wedding and it'll blend in with Amara's Balinese poolside area pretty well... (i hope

as for songs... my advise is... choose something which u like. best is something which is meaningful to both u and ur hubby, cos it's ur wedding, should do what u like so that u'll have fond memories of it

my wedding prep? have finished my PS and chosen my pix
but may change my AD gown cos it may be too... exposed
now, i'll just need to settle the venue, then i can move on to my cards. i may not be taking Amara's invitation cards cos my friends are doing it for me.

Yvonne : ya...i thk natural is more suitable 4 ur poolside wedding...since ur is a buffet style ? will u b having wedding favour 4 ur guests ?

ur preparation r quite diff frm the rest of us...we book our venue 1st follow by the other stuff...

ur frenz doing the invite card for u FOC ?

Shell, maybe can wear them for studio pix then outdoor change to another pair.. tats wat i am going to do...

Yvonne, yeah think ur preparation will start soon already, have you gone down to see the different themes yet? Hey u finish PS ya. any pic to share share? where u go for outdoor?

Tare: I seen Granduer and natural. Nv see romance b4. Natural, v green lor... v garden... i dun like lor.. prefer grandeur too... maybe using roses... still thinking abt it..my AD also wkday but in school holidays so can get them in...