Amara Singapore

moonny

Tare: you can either do a photo montage or MTV, put in laptop or VCD and hook up to projector.

I am going to show:
1. Photo Montage (b4 march-in)
2. Express highlight of the day(2nd March-in)
3. Photoslide show(wedding photo) (after 2nd March-in)
4. Slideshows of ROM & other pics (thru out dinner)

Think me a big show-off hehehehe
93642.gif

Shell: I saw a MTV that show how the guy proposed to the gal(the couples "act" again for the camera) its so touchy!!

babyad: dun gan cheong hehehe... relax then will be beautiful!!
93643.gif

shell78

babyad: dun be so nervous lah.. Relax lah... Dun take heaty food and drink some herb tea.. Pimples will go away very fast lah...

Joelle: U plan so well liao...

tarepanjo

Hi hi...

Shell : You can ask Amara for a list of songs...then u can consider whether you want to choose theirs...It's good to go to the cd shop...look ard & see whether got any nice love & meaningful songs....(there is a CD shop over at Peninsula Plaza, we can hear the cd before buying it & they hv alot of nice new age songs).Sometimes, while watching tv program, you might also be able to come across some nice songs...You ever heard "Perfect Moment" (Liu Xing Hua Yuan Part 1), Te Amo (LXHY Part 2)...these 2 are very nice march-in songs to consider...most impt is tat both of u likes the song...babyad suggestion is gd...Other than my march-in, first dish & champaign pouring songs, I intend to play new age piano songs throughout the night...it will make the ambience even more romantic, warm & cozy...

I also haven't decide whether I should do MTV & slides....it not easy...heard frm my frenz...she give up in the end...i attend her wedding & she din use any projector in the end...

Babyad: I think we have the balloting exercise on the same mth...I also got my key ard March...but my reno only started last yr Sept...

Just stay cheerful & drink alot of water...your pimple will go away...

Joelle : I beg your wedding is going to be very entertainment...so many things to see...think I must ask my hb whether he want to show our guests on all these thgs...but I thk it's fun for your guests to see the day event happening...

btw, ladies....I am goin to sign up with Amara as well...me & my hb will go down next mth...did all of u use Grandeur theme ?

moonny

Tare: hehe I do hope my wedding will be entertaining and warm... i am using Yo Te Amo for my montage, hubby loves tat song..like perfect moment too...still sourcing for the songs..
Hey dun have to decide on the themes as yet can decide when its nearer the date..... but most likely going to use grandeur.. unless they comes up with newer themes..

Hey ladies, any one of you got a helper's room fr amara on AD? was wondering how much they will be charging..

tarepanjo

Joelle : I wan to use Te Amo as my 1st dishes song..

i ask Amara...they r having the same themes next yr as well....hopefully, they will chgn...goin 2 compare btw grandeur or romance...

actually, i ask Amara whether they can give me an extra nite stay at bridal suite or day use room for helper...they let me choose either one....U might wan 2 ask whether they can give u day room use ?...sometimes, just hv to try to negotiate more stuff...

u gals ever thought abt sourcing for your own wedding favour than just the chocolate they give? Realise tat it not cheap to get frm outside...

moonny

Morning Ladies,

Tare: Yeah I will ask when i meet the coordinator the next time.. didn't tot of it tat time.. the wedding favour fr outside are quite ex but also depends on wat you want to give..I'm quite ok with the chocolates that Amara is giving dun noe wat else can i give the guest (tat will not burn a big hole in the pocket... hehehe).. Any suggestions?

shell78

I have tried very hard to bargin for a co-ordinator room and they can provide if I used my 2nd bridal suite stay to exchange for the co-ordinator rm.. (Not worth it). I told them that they are very stingy cos other hotel when we ask they straight away said no problem.. Amara very hard to bargin for additional perks as they claimed that their perks are very attractive...

I might choose Grandeur..

Tare: Try to drag longer unless there are some1 behind u in the q.. Since u still got a yr to go dun have to sign the contract so fast... Unless like me behind got 2 waiting in the q (dunno how true) then got no choice but to sign... That wat my friends teach me.. Try to bargin for more perks if u can.. But very hard until in the end I give up waste time..

tarepanjo

Hi hi...

I do agree tat they are rather stingy in term of the perks...i also trying asking for more but not successful...fd tasting is fix for 6 coz, invite card oso fix, carpass 5% more given, no pre-dinner snack...but they are very flexible in term of the courses....can chgn...

Joelle : i hv try surfing for some wed favour website...but most r very ex...imagine, like candle...$2++, key chain, $4++...thk I might hv 2 give up on tis ideas cos will definitely burn a hole in our pocket...i thk "drink stirrer" would b a nice gift...but again price does matter....

Shell: It true tat I still hv a yr 2 go...but i m thking...since i hv decide on choosing Amara...just go ahead...at least, i hv clear 1 thg in my wedding planner...still hv alot of thgs 2 b done...my frenz told me i will b super busy 3-6 mths b4 my AD...as u hv says, eventhough if i wait...i dun thk they will still let us bargain 4 more perks....

shell78

Hi Tarepanjo..

I agree with u.. Once I have confirm with Amara, I feel so relax.. Really tense up when u cannot find a hotel of ur choice.. During the wks of hotel was indeed a nightmare.. Since u have decided on Amara then go for it.. Dun make comparsion if not u will not be happy.. Gd to move on to the next task as u havent select the wedding package.. As for me wedding package & hotel all settle within 1 mth.. Really busy & stress..

Best Wishes to Babyad.. Have a gd rest and I am sure u will look pretty on ur AD.. Cheers!!!

tarepanjo

Hi Shell,

Ya, I dun intend 2 make any more comparion...i feel very stressed when i m deciding btw Pan pac & Amara...whole day thking abt it...package or ambience keep coming 2 my mind...actually, 2 count down...u still hv abt 7-8 mth 2 prepare...will definitely feel very stress...esp the invite guests & RSVP part...so i presume u hv more or less confirm all the video/photo-grapher part...not 4getting booking 4 ur honeymoon, buying those barang barang, "an chuan", "xia pin", etc...

my frenz was telling me...she spend so many mths preparing 4 tat 1 day event...once it over...she got nthgs but oni photo for memory...she says it like fairy tale coming 2 an end...everythgs bk 2 normal...but i thk the process is fun as tis is a once in a life times thgs...

shell78

Hi Tare,

Yup I am pretty stress now.. That y have to settle things fast and make numerous decision within a short a period of time as my hubby are hardly in town.. Need to concentrate on reno then wedding preparation.. AS for honeymoon, my ideal place is Europe but my wedding is in mid Jan so cannot go for too long trip as CNY is round the corner and it cold to go europe in Jan.. So still have not decide on the destination yet. How abt U where do u intend to go?

Joelle, where are u going for Honeymoon? Babyad is going US for hers...

shell78

My friend start in thread in this forum and found her neighbours of the same blocks.. So coincidence.

As for this thread, we a grp of ladies which same in Mature estate... How abt Joelle where are u staying?

tarepanjo

Hi Shell,

I can understd ur stress....seems like u hv 2 make alot of decision & i presume you are very involve in the whole preparation...cos ur hb r always flying...me too, my hb is very busy at work...i always tell him...tis is goin 2 b my project cos I know he is so busy wif his work...but i will try 2 discuss wif him on those details...lucky for me is tat my hse oredi completed...so nthgs 2 worry...just nd 2 concentrate in my wed preparation...

actually, my dream honeymoon destination is Europe as well...i like the romantic scenery there...but hv 2 see whether our budget permit....nd 2 set aside at least $10K....if tis rd, we can't make it 2 Europe..we will go Australia instead...mayb, next times then go Europe...but still hope tat i can fulfil my dream 2 Europe for my honeymoon...

oh ya, so u b giving ang bow next yr...kekeke...

moonny

So happy, my gd fren just gave birth to a baby girl yesterday!!
94685.gif

I find tat preparing for a wedding is a very fun thing got, though a bit busy but its a wonderful feeling, my fren just told me she miss the wedding preparation period so since we are still in the midst must enjoy it totally, its once a lifetime so make it most memorable...
PS: thought talking to other(non-brides) on wedding things kinda of bored them a bit hehehe..

Shell: me may postphone honeymoon to much later. cos my AD is dec, no point going anyway (ex during school holiday) + CNY around the corner if i go in Jan+feb .. so most likely going much after that... dun noe where i will be going too.. i am thinking of tasmania, australia.. was told its beautiful there.. or korea ( but i have been there b4).. no confirm plan at the moment..

Mi parent's place is in CCK, next time will be bedok. New hse in woodlands.. heheh i go all over sg...

Tare: me also have to give ang bao at the coming CNY..

tarepanjo

hello ladies....

Joelle : do u plan 2 hv baby soon after u get "dang dang dang dang" ? seems like u do like kids...it fun 2 look & play with others' baby...

i agree tat it a fun thgs 2 prepare 4 wedding but will feel stress cos afraid tat thgs dun work out well....oso start 2 worry abt others stuff tat u might hv miss out during the preparation...so i will always ask my gd frenz who oredi had hers last yr...

tat means u b staying wif ur parents in-law b4 ur new hse is ready ?

oh ya, cos ur is tis yr Dec...but i thk should b fun giving ang bao...esp for the 1st yr...i decorate my new hse during CNY tis yr...eventhough oni a few of my hb frenz came over...but it fun goin 2 chinatown 2 buy goodies & those deco...kekeke...

moonny

Tare: not yet lah.. not so fast... maybe in 1/2 yrs time the may think abt it....Yeah good to ask for advice fr frenz..

yeah i will be staying with IL first..

shell78

Hi Joelle,
Tasmania is very nice...My frenz just came back in Dec and he said very nice and romantic... I am planning to go one place which me & my hubby nvr been to before so most probably NZ (cos is summer at that time) or Hakkido...

When ur new hse will be ready?

tarepanjo

Morning ladies...

Joelle : Just try 2 give in & endure while u r staying wif IL...definitely will feel a bit restricted...but once ur new hse ready...u will b having ur "er ren shi jie"....

Shell : NZ hv very nice kiwi sweet...kekeke...i heard tat there's alot of mountain & lake in NZ...very peaceful & nice place...so u plan 2 go free & easy or by travel agency...my ex boss went there & he drive ard...

moonny

Hi Hi

Shell: New hse ready only at end of 05

Tare: yeah yeah NZ sounds good too, have lots of scenery.. but heard after dark nothing much to do...

tarepanjo

Joelle : That's pretty long.....end 05...but thk it in another way...u dun nd 2 worry abt the hse as of now...can fully concentrate on ur wed prep...

oh...so their shop oso close very early like Australia...bring poker card along 2 kill times...kekeke

moonny

Tare: Yeah it will be a while to go, now mi enjoying preparing the wedding.. next yr then the house... also $ will be so tight..

Yeah think in those countries not much nightlife..hehehe..

Shell: Hakkido sounds very nice leh... i am thinking of going too.. cold cold and snow snow wah
95218.gif

shell78

For planning of honeymoon, we know clearly wat we want?
1) Choose a place which both of them nvr been to?
2) U want to c scenary or historical building.. If is scenary, NZ, Tasmania.. If historical building then will be Europe.. Or u want to go to cold country and see snow then will be hakkido.. Must choose a romantic and memorable place...

Well if I go NZ for honeymoon most probably will be follow tour cos too tired to drive... But many ppl told me self-drive is more relax.. Will see how things go later...

Joelle: U go for honey in early Nov where the sch holiday hvnt start

tarepanjo

hello ladies,

i find Europe very romantic...esp sitting down at the street cafe or cafe by the lake...nice feeling...duno y, i like their historical building...sekali, i stay there be in my previous life....hahaha....i hope 2 see snow but our luaggage would b so heavy...thk honeymoon should b more relax...if my budget dun allow...i thk i will consider western australia....must try 2 go 4 more than a wks...kekeke

shell78

Hi Joelle, I am sorry.. I keep hving the impression that ur wedding in OCT.. So maybe we can discuss where to go for honeymoon liao lah.. cos we are one mth different only nah..

Agree with Tarepanjo that must go at least one wk for honeymoon...

tarepanjo

after u gals hv settle ur wedding...i still hv 9-10 mths 2 go 4 mine...u gals would be relaxing...while i m still busy...kekeke...next yr would b an interesting yr cos i b helping out for my bro in-law wed on Jan and my own bro on Mar...till, my turn...thk i b expert liao...hahaha

moonny

HiHi
95644.gif

Shell: no problem. Think we fill in the list then we will not get mix up again

Amara Brides
============

Joelle: Dec 04, GHA, granduer
Shell: Jan 05
Tarepanjo: ? 05

moonny

shell: where do u intend to go for HM? mi thinking

1. Australia - Tasmania/Queensland/Perth(but hubby been there b4)
2. Bali/Batam - beach resorts
3. Maldives/Mauritus - ex wor
4. South Africa - fren been there for HM, pics looks great!

Tare: then you will get the advice fr us.. which BS are you with?

gypsygal

hi hi...

may i check with u gals... is Amara hotel flexible with their perks ?

anyone managed to get free flow beer with their package..?

moonny

Hi gypsygal,

Amara is rather strict with perks cos their package is already quite good.

I got free flow of beer cos i signed up last yr when they are having promotion.. not sure if they still have it now.
Are you interested in Amara too?

shell78

Hi Joelle,

Wah u so gd got free flow of beer.. I signed up during the recently exbihition organise by Newpaper also dun have free flow of beer....

I am thinking to go NZ, or Central Europe (Swiss, Italy, France, UK etc). Somewhere which both of us nvr went before...

AS for Maldives/Mauritus- we do consider before but as u said it is expensive and I am not the kind that like sea sports.

South Africa is nice (heard from friends) but too long flight... So will be tiring...

Bali/Batam - Can go anytime since is near..

Jolle, Hope u dun mind on my comments on those place u mentioned earlier.. Just my personal opinion..

shell78

Amara Brides in this thread
==============================
Name: AD,Bridal Package, Theme of Ballroom
Shell: Jan 05, White Link, Granduer
Tarepanjo: ? 05

gypsygal

hi joelle...

thanx for your advise...

i tot going down to have a look...but..actually i've already confirmed with another hotel. quite tempted to go down to amara coz i find their setting quite nice loh...

tarepanjo

wow...just a few hrs without chking...so many new msgs...kekeke...

Joelle : ya, u gals must keep tis thread active even after ur wed...kekeke...& share wat happen on ur wed day..then i will know wat i should do....u know...i come across some thread....some of the brides reach the stage of being mama...

I havent sign up any BS yet...will oni do so in Dec...GHA is currently my 1st choice in mind...

Shell : Mine oso free flow of beer as mine is wkday packages...

gypsygal : which htl hv u confirmed ? u sign the contract liao...if it oni verbal..u can still chgn...Amara setting is nice...i like their ceiling special effect lightning...

Amara Brides in this thread
==============================
Name: AD,Bridal Package, Theme of Ballroom
Shell: Jan 05, White Link, Granduer
Tarepanjo: Oct 05, BS - tbc, theme - tbc btw Romance or Grandeur
Babyad : May 04, Dang, Grandeur (thk currently on her honeymoon)

shell78

For those who signed last yr will have a better deal as the living standard in Singapore is increasing..

gypsygal: If u have signed the contract and have made payment then u will have to consider carefully.. Btw ur is a wkdays or wkend?

moonny

HiHi,
Ladies, have to take note of the beer cos I heard about ppl serving beer during reception and by the 1st dish they have finished the barrel.. so take note of that...

Shell: Yeah Irene told us that the promo for free flow of beer will end sept 03 so we quickly book once the tong shu is out so that we have the free flow.. but also depends on whether ur guest drinks beer or not.. if not much beer drinkers then dun have to worry mah...

Tare: Yeah will keep contact even after AD.. seems like mi earlier hor...

gypsygal: which hotel did you sign with, if you dun mind... mi KPO... Amara so far has been quite good and they have a good banquet manager.. met him b4 very reassuring...

shell78

Morning Ladies,

Joelle: Agree with u.. So still deciding whether want to serve Beer during reception or not?? But nowadays ppls start to drink red wine.. Hv u source for any red wine supplier?

gypsygal

hi Tarepanjo..!!

i'm using GHA for BS too..!!

well...i've already placed a deposit with LM. but.. my package quite good.. so if need to..should be quite easy to "sell" away..hehe..

tarepanjo

hello ladies,

Shell : I thk since ur is not free flow of beer...beta not serve beer during the cocktail...tis is 2 prevent ur pocket frm burning a hole...i oso wonder where can get cheaper red/white wine cos amara corkage not cheap...

Joelle/gypsygal : Mind if I ask how much is ur GHA package ? Is the package somethgs like tat....
GHA $3388 package
* Groom pants made to keep, jacket rental
* MTM wedding gown rental
* MTM evening gown rental
* studio, day & night make-up
* Bridal bouquet for photoshoot and actual day
* Car for rental change to actual day photography (service only)
* Car decoration
* 12"x15" - 20 pcs (wedding album)
* 20"x24" Canvas Portrait with Frame - 1pc
* Outdoor for album - 2 locations
* 4R - 24pcs (4 poses)
* 8R table top with frame - 1pc
* 1 mini album ( photo same as wedding album)
* 1 tea dress or Kua (rental)
* Extra jacket 1 pc (rental)
* Father jacket 2 pcs (rental)
* Signature Book 1 pc
* Accessories for actual day (rental)
* Trial makeup

Joelle : ya, ur is Dec this yr...getting nearer to nearer...when r u goin 4 ur photo shot ?

gypsygal : when is ur AD ? is it this yr or next yr ? eve is consider wkend...

moonny

HiHi,
96148.gif

Shell: I agree with Tare, since you don't have free flow beer better don serve during reception.. even for mine.. think only will serve during banquet, dun want any drunk uncles around either...

the red wine at Carrefour (suntec) seems quite reasonable priced, they have consignements as well but you have to consume 3/4 of the wine, i.e. can return 1/4. With exception to white wine (no returning) + free deliveryto hotel for purchase of $200 and above .. think most likely i will be going for them.. they have a wide series of wine to choose from.. seems quite good..not too good with wine so will be asking frens to help.

Tare: u can consider carrefour, star cellar.. they sent me a list for the price, if you want give me your email i sent it to you but dun think their is cheap lor

My GHA package is $3388 too, but dun have the father's jacket going to request for it..i changed the 24 pcs 4R photos to 2 extra pcs for wedding album..the rest are the same.. but i am using london cab for wedding car so will make changes to the car rental part..

Me most likely going for PS in end of july/early august..

Gypsgal: me with GHA too! u r with tampines or yishun? Eve of PD is weekend pricing..

shell78

U choose normal photo to put in the album or choose magzine style photo?

Mine is a magazine style arrangement photo album.. My package is $3988

shell78

Magazine can put a few repeating photos on the same page lah.. Whitelink claimed that need to pay extra... Not so sure.. Most of my friend got magazine style leh...

shell78

I am going for my first appointment next wk.. Still havent decided what to MTM for WG or EG or OTR cos I got one MTM but if I want can change to photos..

tarepanjo

Joelle : my e-mail : [email protected] thx...mayb, will ask my hb on the wine part...guy, they should know more than us...pass the tasks 2 him...kekeke...

do u thk u will definitely add on more photo in album...most couple end up spending extra $1-2K more due to the photo...will u b getting ur own chaffeur ? last times my frenz wif another BS..they charge her $100 more for wanting the make up artist & driver 2 be at her hse earlier...

Shell :I thk they will let u try out wat style suit u best...then u can decide whether u wan them 2 MTM 4 u or u choose OTR...

I very worry..i will overspend on the photo...cos if all nice...really duno which one 2 give up...if can, i will try 2 keep a full set of the photo in either 3R or 4R...will u gals be developing extra photo ? I thk my mum would wan 2 give 2 my aunties...