Amara Singapore

Morning ladies,

Shell : Joelle ideas is gd...mayb, the outdoor shoe...u can buy outside..

Yvonne : i am oso keen to see ur pic...kekeke...

Joelle : Romance very red...i dun really like it...the stage set up...oso got red...make me thk of chinese rest...kekeke...the VIP table red as well....& the flower they use r red rose...cos it the most suitable one 2 go wif the red theme...guess grandeur will b a beta choice...other than rose...wat other flower they will recommend ? lily ? wat color do u wan ur rose 2 b ? yellow ? tat times when i saw the grandeur theme...the couple use pink rose...which i thk nice as well....

u so lucky...school holiday...i am even goin 2 b headache as to who can open my hubby door...cos the kids will b in school...& i m the youngest in the family...no more younger brother...kekeke

Hi Tarepanjo

hee hee, not that my preparation style is different. the original venue for our wedding has always been our place but after looking thru the amt of guests we have, even just for close friends & families, it's double of what's allowed in the function room at our place. And after adding the cost of the wedding, it's almost the same as holding it in a hotel poolside, so, that's when we decided to look for a proper venu

yup, my wedding favours were bought back in Mar, floating candles in the shape of flowers, for my poolside wedding theme
we booked our BS back in Jan 04, did our PS & selected our pix in May, so, not much different from ur preparation style

yes, my friend is doing it FOC for me cos she works in a printing firm in Australia & she's very creative. Plus, since my guest list will be small, it won't be expensive for her to print for me.

joelle
nope, haven't seen the actual themes 'live' but have seen them in pix. don't think i'll go down and view them cos mine will be by the pool, not much decor needed (lazy also

we went to this bridge behind indoor stadium, a 'forest' at tanah merah, the beach next to it and for our nite shots, we went to south bridge rd/ china central square.

Tarepanjo/joelle

haven't gotten back the pix from our BS but i get it back, will share with u

Hi Yvonne and Tarepanjo

Thanks for your advice! =)

Will be checking the link soon.

Yvonne

Do you know whether Amara allows guests/us to put floating candles in the pool? If we want to add more deco, can it be done?Say add more flowers etc...

Hi ladies, I think Joelle ideas is gd.. Will start to shop for shoes..Cannot wait to see the tailor made EG.. Dunno turn out nice or not..

Yvonne, I think poolside wedding is very unique. Show us the photos ok?

hi moo
u're welcome
as for floating candles in the pool... have u checked out Amara's swimming pool before? cos the pool is actually away from the place where the wedding will be held. u'll have to check with Amara on this, but i doubt they'll allow u to do it as guests will still have access to the pool.

i think it should be alrite for u to add more decor if u want. have u spoken with Li Ping before? it's best if u check this with her personally as she'll be the best person to answer u, remember, i've yet to sign on the dotted line with Amara

hi shell
u may want to get a cheaper pair of shoes or used shoes or even sneakers for ur ourdoor PS cos u may go to some foresty or beachy area and u want something that's comfortable for walking, a galfriend of mine wore her white nike sneakers for her outdoor shoot cos she chose comfort for her feet. also, ur shoes may not be seen in the pix, so, it doesn't matter if u don't wear ur brand new MTM shoes

thanks, will share the pix after my AD, provided they look good

HiHi,

Shell, for me on PS maybe will bring a normal slipper too..easier to slip out and into the nicer heels.. easier on the feel..

Tare: Yeah seems like romance v the Red... will avoid tat cos EG is red later i blend in with the table cloth ... hehehe

Hi Joelle, U choose red as ur EG? I choose bright & dark pink for my EG.. Yalor mayb will wear normal shoes.. But I saw ppl bring many pairs of shoes for PS and change every outfit.. She even bought her own accessories like earings, necklaces..

Morning ladies,

Yvonne : So u shop 4 ur own wedding favour...u get it frm Thailand ? Those flower shape flowing candle...i thk it's a gd ideas 2 source 4 wedding favour esp in Thailand...alot of nice but yet cheap stuff...but i thk if i were 2 bring hm 300 pcs...it will b so heavy...

Forest is a nice ideas esp for those who like nature...i luv nature...just to chk...is there any scenery like...alot of those tall tall & thin thin tree...then there is a pathway in btw...seems like u went 4 quite a no. of places for the outdoor...some BS oni hv 2 outdoor location...

looking 4wards 2 c-ing ur photos...

Shell : Dun worry abt ur EG...they will definitely make sure tat u look georgous on it...actually, i thou outdoor shoot will oni hv 1 outfit...tat is the white gown...cos it's pretty troublesome 2 chgn the gown in public...kekeke...so hv u bought ur own accessories to go wif the PS ?

Joelle : ya, i find romance too red...so if the theme is grandeur...then i must avoid having a champaign gold color EG loh....

joelle
hee hee, so cute, blend in with the table cloth. but yah, will be very red affair since ur EG is red. agree that the grandeur theme is much nicer

shell
hee hee, i brought 3 pairs of shoes to my BS during my PS. cos 1 was my AD shoe which i only wore for indoor pix. the other was for my outdoor WG (a cheap pair from Charles & keith) and the 3rd was another Charles & Keith shoe for my cheong sum tea dress.

tarepanjo
actually, i didn't shop for my wedding favour, a galfriend of mine went to Thailand to get them for me
if u want to bring back 300 pcs, u may want to consider sending them back via courier or by shipping? get them to pack it properly for u so that they're not spoilt on the way back?

er... tall & thin trees with pathway in between... in singapore? not too sure but i know they've got those roads lined with trees along Marina South? basically, i just showed the photographer the kind of pix i'd like and he suggested the places hee hee, i'm lazy

Hi Tare, I have yet to shop for the accessories for my PS.. Need to source for shoes first..

Ladies if u r looking for shoes, Tangs not bad.. I got my ROM shoes there...

It indeed a gd idea to get the wedding favours from oversea. I have ask Li Ping whether does Amara have other gifts she said not..

Yvonne, r u still using the chocolate on top of the candles.. If not do they allow u to exchange for other things?

Hi Shell, Yeah got a satin red for EG heheh :D Wow me lazy will only bring 3 pairs for PS (1 my AD shoes for indoor, 1 outdoor pair + my slippers)

Tare: did u show the the pic fr a magazine? Think i know which one u r referring to...wanted to find out which one is tat too...dun think its sg though..yeah must take note for EG, golden brown will blend with the walls and floor then we become chameleon... hehehehe

hi shell
i doubt Amara will exchange the chocolate wedding favours for something else since the cost to them will be very cheap, i'll most likely give it together with the floating candles from bangkok.

Hi Yvonne, Amara is stingy & not very flexible.. Anyway r u getting the wedding cards from then even u dun used it?

Hi Joelle, have u taken ur photoshot?

Yvonne : wow, u really very hardworking...bring 3 pairs of shoes...i am oni thking of having 2 pair..the pair i hv oredi bought & slippers since u gals suggest tat...
...i duno whether I bear 2 wear my AD shoe or not...who know...mayb, by then i havent bought my AD shoes..

i guess it tough 2 find those kind of place in S'pore...not even waterfall...we oni hv Jurong bird park...kekeke

Shell : For accessories, Bugis Junction hv a special corner for bride...Taka oso hv nice jewellery...chomel brand oso offer alot of nice one...i got my ROM choker frm Taka...intend 2 wear tat 4 my PS...

I oso got my ROM shoe frm Tang studio...actually, i realise tat other than white...silver oso go well wif our WG...

Do u intend 2 source for wedding favour ?...i hv come across a few website...having some cheap & nice gift...very tempted...but my gf advise me not 2 anyhow spend...she says I can use the $$ for honeymoon...who know, i might still hv 2 cover up the losses 4 the dinner...

Joelle : hahaha...tat a gd one....must make sure my EG dun hv those color the same as the ballroom...

hi shell
hahahaha, well... since the cost for the chocolates don't cost a lot, don't think there's anything we should expect from them in return. why do u say they are inflexible? did u request for something which they didn't allow? as for the cards, i may not take them since my friend will be doing them for me.

tarepanjo
hee hee, no lah, actually, wore 1 pair there and carried the other 2 in their own boxes
my hubby didn't wear his shoes there as well, so, just nice, put all 3 boxes into a big bag

take ur time to find ur AD shoes. actually, for me, i didn't want to spend too much on my AD shoes cos they'll be covered by my gowns. my AD shoes only cost $45, from Jwest, 50% off

Yvonne: I do agree wif Shell tat Amara is quite stingy on their perks...i oni manage 2 ask for an extra nite stay in the bridal suite & 5% more for my car pass...there r no pre-dinner snack for us...they will oni pack the dinner 4 us...invite card, they will try 2 give me 10 more...projector is chargable at $280nett...fd tasting remain at 6 pax 6 coz..wedding favour no chgn...but i guess they know their where they stand & they r very confident becos of their newly renovated ballroom...

my frenz goin 4 PS next mth...she says tat she is oni goin 2 wear her AD shoe for the indoor shot...for outdoor, she is oso wearing a simple shoe cos can't see one...

ya, i thk i will start looking ard 4 AD shoe next yr onwards...as long as it's nice & comfortable...the shoe dun nd 2 b too ex...

Tare: for ur extra night, are they charging? or giving for free? They dun provided pre-banquet dinner to us? Hey can look out for AD shoes during dec, christmas dinners & D&D time so plenty of stocks coming and giving discounts so more options...

my PS not going wear AD out too, only for indoor shootings...

Joelle : They give me free extra nite stay...u leh ? is ur included in the package ?

ok, shall keep a look out during Dec...since i will definitely take 2 days leave 2 shop 4 X'mas gifts and evening gown to wear during my brother in-law & brother wedding dinner...

btw, is ur AD show 4-inch high ? I can't wear high heel...can't walk...

hi tarepanjo
not bad, u got to extend 1 more nite in the bridal suite, i'm only given a room in tropical 6. a friend of mine had her ROM at Amara and she requested for a residential suite and got it... hmm... maybe i'll ask Li Ping about it tomorrow, we're going down to sign go thru the contract with her this Friday.

actually, $280 nett for the projector is a reasonable price, cos most hotels usually charge $450 for use of the projector, at least that's from my experience of organising events at hotels.

but i think u've got quite a good deal with Amara, congrats

yup, better not to wear ur AD shoes outdoors, u'll feel quite heartpain if u spoil it, i know i will

u've got loads of time to hunt for ur shoe, enjoy

Hi Tare: They only giving me 1 night stay
, no extra nights.. Yeah my AD shoes (for WG & EG) all 4 inch... not tall mah so have to enhance... hehe tats y me practicing now lor...

Yvonne, agreed with u,if AD shoes spoilt during PS will heartpain ya..

I ask for a co-ordinators rm for day use and Li Ping ask to exchange with my bridal stay.. I find not worth it and tell her other hotel give it to me FOC with me asking for it.. They are very inflexible as it wont cost much somemore our package is not cheap..

My ROM Shoes cost $79 from Tangs so I was told of using for my AD but the colour dun match with my gowns leh cos the shoes is light blue and my EG is dark pink and can see my toes.. I am think of getting a pair of silver shoes abt 3 inchs.. Cos too high very difficult to walk and need alot of standing and walking during AD. Most probably I wil wear old shoes for outdoor as if I go beaches, when the shoes get in touch with sand and seawater will spoilt very fast.

Yvonne : wow....how did ur frenz manage 2 get the presidential suite...tat is not cheap leh for 2 nite stay...ya, mayb...u try 2 ask whether can chgn 2 a bridal suite...i hv a make up artiste frenz who ever been to the room...she says it big...

$280 nett is cheap...but my BIL...his hotel oni charge $250 nett for projector...i will loan it frm my coy...pray hard tat no one will use it for official...else, i hv 2 get it frm Amara...i oni intend 2 use it 4 my photo montage & tat it...5 mins...

ya, will definitely enjoy my shopping...kekeke...esp during Dec period...the holiday feelings...

R u goin anywhere 4 ur honeymoon ?

Joelle : is ur co-ordinator li ping when u sign up ? cos i thk previous co-ordinator is not flexible in the perks...

4 inch...i dun thk my leg can take it...hahaha...so i thk i will just wear a normal 1 or 2 inch shoe...i m oso quite short..but comfortable come 1st...kekeke

shell : For my case, i ask for addition nite or day use for my co-ordinator...she let me choose btw the 2...so of cos, i rather take the extra night...

ur ROM gown is blue color huh ? i thk silver shoes will match wif almost anythgs...

joelle
wow, 4 inch shoes, pei fu pei fu
yah, sure heartache if AD shoes are spoilt, so, wear for indoors only

shell
hee hee, u're very cute leh, u find Amara inflexible but u signed up with them still?

my ROM shoes are long gone
yup, silver shoes will go well with both ur WG and EG

Hi Yvonne, Actually my first choice is Grand Plaza Park Royal 2nd Choice M-Hotel & Amara is my last resort cos the first 2 was taken up.. I like Amara Ballroom & it is near MRT & hold only 1 wedding per night cos I choose lor.. Had a hard time bargin with Li Ping.. I simply told her tat Amara Perks are not the best as what she claimed.

Hi Tare: when i signed up I was with Irene then changed to Pauline then to Li Ping. Seriously not flexible esp the corkage part... other hotel is waiving all corkage, mine is still charging fr the 13th bottle onwards... and no other perks..

but other hotels have their regularations too, maybe its just tat we not with them so find them better... the grass is always greener on the other side mah...

Me wears heels to office so think work on it so by then should be ok

Shell : Never know the GPPR & M hotel r so popular as well...my BIL will b having his banquet at GPPR...the march-in pathway is quite short rite ?...

Joelle : Seems like i m quite lucky...my package for next yr...corkage waived for all wine & hard liquor + free flow beer

i thk i will look like penguin if i wear a 3 or 4 inch heels...

Hi Tare, The bridal suite at M-Hotel was the best I ever went to. Much much more better than Amara, U will definitely like to stay there.. They have a jacuzzi inside the suite toilet and the rm is much brighter spacious at Amara.. Too bad the ballroom is taken up and they ask me to use the function rm but the rm was a L shape so I dun like.. GPPR is very popular and is cheaper than Amara by $30 per table for wkend. Moreover u will have free flow of beer.. Mine only have 30 Litre.. Hi Tare, ur is a wkdays or wkend?

shell
i see, so, Amara wasn't ur first choice. so, Li Ping didn't budge much in the end for u?

wow, jaccuzi in M Hotel's bridal suite? that's nice. not many hotels have that.

joelle
yup, agree with u on the corkage part, but then... it's a 50-50 thing, not all hotels waive their corkage fee. initially tot of getting Amara's in house wine but their in house win costs $60/bottle, so, forget it, better to buy outside and pay the corkage, still cheaper than their in house wine

Tarepanjo
lucky gal, waiver of corkage plus free flow of beer? wow, ur guests can drink till their heart's content and u won't have to worry about the extra charges

hee hee, i think i'll look like a penguin if i wear 3 in high heels too

er... typo, my friend didn't get the presidential suite, not sure if Amara has it, not many hotels has that... she got the residential suite, i think that's also the bridal suite. think she only got it for a nite.

Hi Moo, I dun think GPPR & M-hotel have poolside wedding.. U can try Merchant Court.

Hi Yvonne, I got the standard weekend package from Amara which Li Ping claimed to be the best offer in town.. U r right that M-hotel bridal suite is one of the best & fewer hotel which provide jacuzzi in the rm.. That is their selling point.. Moreover they have a rm beside the ballroon for u to change ur gowns.. More & more ppl go to M-hotel becos of this reasons.. My friend told me & I dun really believe until I experience myself.. Too bad their ballroom taken up on the AD lor..

HiHi

Shell, Furama also have jacuzzi inside the suite but the hotel a bit "log-kok"....was considering M Hotel too but find their reception area rather congested if all the guests were to wait there... and heard negative comments on the service there... + march-in kinda short, these amara is slight better :P... *Vain*

O ya, another thing is M hotel dun have the front drive in porch for the wedding car...

Tare: U R SO LUCKY! now dun have to worry on corkage... sigh... its so ex leh...

Yvonne: Agree, not really worth buying the house pour, i am going to buy fr outside and pay for the corkage... but really wondering how many bottle will the guest drink...

moo: not sure on the pool thingy... dun think M hotel have...

shell
hee hee, i guess these sales people always claim that the package they give is the best in town, but i've seen their list price, it's almost as expensive as 5 star hotels, and Amara is only a 4 star hotel. so, hee hee, we must ask for as much as we can from them

joelle
hmm... depends on the guests that u're inviting, are they mainly young people who love wine or old folks who prefer hard liquor such as Martel & XO? Li Ping was telling us roughly 1 bottle/table?

tarepanjo
oh yah, forgot to mention something about free flow of beer... hee hee, better tell ur hubby to be prepared to be sabo-ed by his buddy cos there's so much beer available
so, in a way, it's also good to have control on the amt of alcohol/liqour available, have an excuse for escaping these kind of sabo
so, better make sure none of ur friends/family/relatives know about the free flow of beer

Missed out alot of msg...on MC yestersday

Shell : Mine is a wkdays...Thurs...duno y, i never really thou abt M-hotel & GPPR when i was shortlisting my htl...actually, was lookin for 5 stars htl tat offers reasonable charges...like meritus mandarin (but got pillars), Pan Pac (Ocean room not a ballrm ambience) & Marina mandarin (hb dun like the room)...so in the end, go for Amara that are really cheaper, nice ballrm , oni hv 1 wedding, perks tat r quite ok...

since u oredi take up Amara...dun thk abt GPPR & M hotel liao...then u won't feel so heartache
...just enjoy ur day & hope tat Amara can give u a nice & memorable nite...

Joelle : Ya loh...no worry 4 me...tat wat i look for when I m shortlisting the htl for my banquet...free beer + wavier...too bad, they can't provide more coz for my fd tasting, cute wedding favours, pre-dinner snack & real cakes for my mini celebration...otherwise, it be so perfect...my bro got all these, including a projector...but his is over at marina mandarin & he b using the grand ballrm which nd 2 hv at least 38 tables...

actually, i do thk tat Amara 2005 wkend package is not tat cheap...if mine is a wkend...i might choose other htl...

Yvonne : hmmmm....i thk relatives wont sabo...more likely his frenz...relatives can let them drink as much...but his frenz..hv 2 keep quiet....i very scare his frenz mix all the diff wine & let him drink...he will definitely vomit like mad...i will hv a hard times...

hi shell
will let u know after my final negotiation with Li Ping tonight

hi tarepanjo
hee hee, yah, better make sure his friends don't know about the free flow of beer or ur hubby will be hugging the toilet bowl, instead of u, to sleep on ur wedding nite.

Yvonne : I thk...eventhough they duno it free flow...they will still carry on wif the sabo...i just hope tat he will hv some bro beside him 2 help him drink...otherwise, he confirm hugging the toilet bowl...kekeke...he is quite gd in beer...but not wine or hard liquor..

Ur is in the afternoon...so i thk ur hb wont kana the sabo...

ok, i'm a confirmed Amara bride, we just signed the contract tonight
We were lucky, managed to get a complimentary upgrade to the bridal suite and corkage waiver for our min gaurantee of 12 tables. Li Ping's been very accommodating to us, let's hope all will go well for our wedding

tarepanjo
yup yup, a bunch of brothers with good alcohol appetite to help ur hubby will be good

well... yah, hoping that they won't sabo my hubby too much since it's the afternoon, but... his army buddies & uni buddies drink quite a bit. so... fingers crossed hee hee

Hello ladies,

Yvonne : Just wondering what if it rain...did u ask Li Ping on the bk up plan ? Is there any fd tasting for ur case since ur is a buffet style ?

It terrible if ur hb r drunk in the afternoon...how r u goin 2 enjoy ur wedding nite...if he zzzzzz thru out...kekeke

hi tarepanjo
yup, there's a back up room for us in case of rain, so, that's settled, no prob
they wouldn't give us the venue if there's no backup room
nope, no food tasting but it's from the same kitchen as their in-house restuarant, Elements. I've eaten there before, it's alrite.

hahahaha, wedding nite? well... other than counting the ang pows, was thinking of going out clubbing since our wedding will be over in the afternoon

Yvonne : If ur frenz r all very ON...clubbing would b fun...rather than stayin in the htl doing nthgs....

i thk provided my hb is awake...otherwise, i dun thk i can count the ang bow till the next day...but Amara r quite flexible...they allow us 2 settle the payment the next day if my hb is drunk...

Shell : U leh ? Goin 4 any outdoor shots on the AD ? I hope i hv enuff times...my frenz does advise me 2 go 2 the htl earlier 2 bathe & rest b4 the banquet start....will ur jie mei follows u thru out or they will go hm & rest ?

Ladies - Hv u all thou of any plans 2 sabo ur hb when he come & fetch u ??

HI Tare, I plan to go to Explanade for outdoor shots as suggested by CF Tien.. Anyway my house is not far from town & my new house & my parents house is nearby so shld be able to save some travelling time for photoshots..

Will check in around 3pm to hv some rest. That y ask li ping for a day use rm for co-ordinators but was rejected...

hi shell
since ours is a lunch reception, we won't have time to go anywhere for outdoor shots after our tea ceremony. it's alright cos we can think about taking more pix after the reception, if we're still up to it, otherwise, it doesn't make a difference to me

hi tarepanjo
yup, well.... the idea's still up in the air, will see how it goes

hee hee, yup, i guess Amara has to be flexible in this since they can't get a half sober man to sign the bills

no plans on saboing my hubby, will leave it to the imagination of my frens

hi , i m new here , looking for a weekday dinner .. think Amara is have nice deco ... does any one have their dinner there ? any feedback ? good or bad , thank

Hi Shell : I thk Merlion side is also a nice place to take photo...so after ur photo shots, u will go straight to Amara? My frenz says most bride wear their tea dress to the htl...guess mainly becos it still the most comfortable outfit compare 2 the WG...

Since Amara dun give day room...u will let ur co- ordinator use ur room ?

Yvonne : R u goin 2 hv a mtg wif ur jie meis on the sabo-ing ? Btw, hv u decide on wat the times 4 ur hb 2 pick u up ?

Hi Joa,

According to previous Amara bride...they mention tat the fd are not bad...quite big portion...4 those of us who r currently in tis thread, we won't be having our fd tasting till our wedding date is nearer...

HIhi,

Ladies how u doing!

HI Joa, as wat tarepanjo say so far the comments are good.

Shell: good for u, can travel a bit to take pics on AD..

sorry, was busy yesterday, didn't get a chance to log in here

joa
well.. the gals have answered u, so, don't think i need to add furhter

tarepanjo
well.... not too sure, cos most of my ah yis are above 30 (yes, i'm not that young either
) they may be too lazy to think of these sabo stuff for my hubby

yup, we've settled the time for my hubby to pick me up

joelle
how have u been? must be busy