Amara Singapore

reismion

am bk fr my honeymoon.

same goes for my photos. still under process like Jill's.

Amara's superb for their wedding. Like Jill, my coordinator was michelle n banquet mgr was jeffrey. both of them helped us loads in the events. thumbs up for their hard work!!!

i would highly recommend amara for all potential brides.

hapict

gd for u reismion! wow my expectations of amara is really being raised up v high. chatted to a forum gal and she said the food is excellent at amara (which quite a lot of ppl has been telling me), except that she advises dun take up full ballroom capacity as her fren has 30+ tables and it was so squeezy she bumped into other persons sitting at next table! but no prob for me as i have v little tables.. ;p

reismion

hi hapict

we had 32+2 for our dinner. still ok but a tad squeezy. heard tat the ballroom can host up to 36 tables in all but not advisable. :p

've fun on ur upcoming dinner.
btw when is it again? forgot liao. paiseh. :p

chetxin

Hi would recommend my coordinator Rayston.
He seems quite young but we think he is friendly.
We got a lot of request and he manage to sort out with us in a polite manner.

hapict

reismion
mine is in jan.

chetxin
yea my coordinator is rayston too. though we tot he was inexperienced he handled our multiple requests and my many queries better than patricia (is that her name cant rem) or michelle (who comes highly recommended by frens and relatives). my food tasting is next week. will update u all!

YBK
u can email them at [email protected]

jenopc

hapict
i look 4ward 2 yr updates on the food tastg! i heard fm my frens who attended amara's wedding dinner, tat the food's great.. and in big portions too...

btw, do u intend to buy wine fm them? i tink $18 per bottle (as quoted by amara) is not the best deal in town...

hapict

jen
i cant rem if it's $18..gota ask them again.. but i lazy to source around. i know some brides gather together to buy crates fm suppliers and get bigger discounts but mine is a lunch dun think ppl drink that much. (hopefully)
sis in law offered us abt 12 bottles left over fm her own weddin banquet recently but i asked FH to reject cos relatives complained abt the wine. think cheap wine tastes like vinegar like how a fren described such wine ;pp

jenopc

if yrs is a weekend, i tink ppl will take the chance to drink and drink.. so probly u may wana start wine only wen the 1st dish is served to save the wine $$.. ya dun go for vinegar standard wines.. haa.. i guess u cud search for threads abt wine supplies.. dun hv to gather for bulk purchase, probly juz for u to go and buy fm the place onli.

reismion

the wine which we sourced for our wedding was $19 each. not the best deal cos we only used those from the wine shop at amara. but our guests loved the wine alot n even asked my parents where to buy it.

i agree with Jen cos this way u will save ur wine from running out too fast. tat's wat my banquet mgr suggested for our wedding too. end up, we were on quota hence no need to touch the consignment bottles.

hapict: wow, v fast liao. 've fun! :D

money

Had my wedding dinner 2 wks ago. I must say Amara is a worthwhile hotel to hold your dinner at. My romance theme was tastefully done up making the ballroom sophisticated and cozy. Especially like the stage back drop and table centre piece..... Food received good comments too. Staff are all alert and attentive to details. Highly recommended hotel. Jeffrey and Michelle are great contributors too

hapict

reismion
i wonder was it possible to taste the wine 1st before buying? i also prefer to buy fm amara so dun need lug the wine there.

NL
your romance theme was the red colour one right? any photos to share? i love tat but FH wans grandeur... which shape weddin cake u picked? reismion urs?

blessedger

Hi! can anybody adv me what are the perks we can nego with Amara? Usually will they give in to 2 nites hotel stay , free flow of beer and corkage waiver? Thanks~

jenopc

JK if your's is a weekday, then they would already hv free flow beer in the package. if weekend, den u'll hv to negotiate wif tat.

for the bridal suite, it's standard 1 nite stay. so you'll need to tell them that you want 2 nites. my gf adv me to change their breakfast to lunch, cos confirm canot get up early de..

go line by line in their package to ask for more tings loh. like no of cards, carpark coupons.

there's one ting tat i FORGOT to negotiate for and wana kick myself - free 1 year's Anniversary stay at their hotel. sob.

reismion

hapict:

i bought 1 bottle to try 1st then decide. :p

Jen Ong:

mi got ask but tat time michelle said dun've. :S
am interested in amara sentosa. hee hee.

hapict

reismion

gd idea! shall get a fren to taste it first.

how much was your total drinks bill? i m scared that would be the real shocker cos i exchanged one barrel of beer for food tasting for 10 pax. i have an uncle who drinks beer like fish n dun eat anything. ;p i can say no fruit juices allowed right? what are mixers anyway?

blessedger

Hi Jen, Thanks for yr info! Any idea is there any hidden cost involved? After seeing so many good comments abt Amara, we are seriously considering that as our wedding venue. But so far, the response that i rec'd from Amara coordinator - Patricia, she doesn't seem very helpful.
, Can anybody suggest who can I look for? thanks!

jenopc

i tink if its hidden, it will remain hidden to me untill i pay the bill :p but at least i asked before what are the expected charges besides GST loh.

hmm.. tat Patricia.. seems to be like that when she noe tat u're juz enquiring. but after tat she was ok. the other parts, i will reserve my comments untill my next meetings wif her.

generally, i tink this hotel is perceived to have good service. but u muz like the place + package and judge if it meets yr expectations loh. not point taking someting tat everyone says is good.. but in the end u realise is not wad u wan..

my FH and i are crazy over their fibre optic ceiling.. so much so tat we're planning a theme against it. so tats our reason for taking tis hotel. (and the great price too)

reismion

hi hapict

we tasted the wine ourselves.
my sis knows abit abt wine. gave me some types to check out while sourcing for wine. she based it on the menu n asked her lecturer for recommendations. :p

drinks-wise, as mine's a wkday pkg, free flow of beer. used only 3 bottles of martell & 30 bottles of red wine. :p

hapict

jen
same here! i fell in love with their unique ceiling n persuaded FH to book with amara tho he prefers chandeliers. haha!

JK
u can look for my coordinator Rayston to see how u like his style. initially we called up lookin and insisting for Michelle but michelle was quite busy and wanted Rayston to get experience so he entertained us and i like dealin with him.

reismion
tat means no additional drinks bill except for the martell (u brought there?) and the red wine? thanks!

lollie

I have booked Amara for my wedding in dec 07 too. Weekend package.

I do agree that its hard to neg for perks. Maybe their package is very comprehensive thats why they can't throw in more. My coordinator is Patricia. She is rather nice. Showed us the pic of various theme. We confirmed our booking on the spot even without seeing the actual ballroom cos there was a D&D last night.

There are weddings this weekend... sat is grandeur theme, sun is romance theme. Happened to be any of your wedding?

lollie

just to inform all Amara BTB...

Amara has increased their package. I was on the verge of signing the contract but was told they cant honour what we have agreed on initially due to increase in gst next yr. As such, even couples who have signed the contract, they will still increase the price. Its a management decision. Patricia says that she will try to cushion the increase by doing something to my package, but what she offered was not attractive at all. What attracted us to Amara in the first place was the nett price, but thats what we are getting instead. In the end, its nett plus 2% GST.
BTB who have already signed up with Amara, better call them up to check with them. What i was told is as long as your wedding is next yr Mar onwards, even if you have signed, they will still add the 2% increase into your package.

hapict

yes laurel is right. My coordinator even calculated two prices for the wine/beer durin my food tasting. I dismissed his 2nd price with the increased GST cos mine is Jan 07, definitely b4 the Budget sitting on Feb 15.

may i ask reismion and those who had their weddin dinners at amara already - is the dish "spinach with braised mushrooms" very low-class ie cheapo??? mom asked me to add abalone, or pacific clams or scallop to this dish to make it more "presentable" and more "face" for me but of cos it costs more $$...

my food tasting session was ok, no adverse comments.

jenopc

i dun hv my contract wif me so i cant check for clauses tat allows for 2% gst to be added to a 'nett' price. is it fair?

do any one of u rmbr any clauses abt tis? i frankly wun be quite pleased to hear tat i wun be paying the nett price as written on the package.

lollie

Jen, you might want to check call up your coordinator to check it out. I did asked abt those who have signed the contract already and was told that they will still add on the 2%. We told them that customers can complain to CASE but they are still adamant abt it.

Although ad additional of $15 per table is not a big amt, i still feel its not very ethical of Amara to do that. They can increase the price on new enquiries, but not on old customers.

Guess those who have signed and paid deposit will have no choice but to swallow the additional cost, unless all gang up to petition agst it.

jenopc

dun tink we need to go to the extend of petition.. its a biz transaction so any dispute sud be professionally settled.

juz wana go bk and check on my contract...

reismion

hapict:

i dun like the dish but dunno wat to add to it then cos increase our costs further hence kept it as it is. :p

to the rest:

wow, increase so much arh... then dunno worth it liao a not leh... luckily our wedding was b4 the GST increase. :p

sillyqueen

Can anyone email me what you guys got from Amara?I am currently looking for a good pkg for myself and so far I like what I see here on this thread but would like an idea of wat to expect 1st b4 heading down.

p/s : except the gst part but mine most like in yr 08 so no choice...

kindly email me @ [email protected] .thanks in adv~!

babe_belle

Hi Laurel,
I'm quite shocked and upset to learn that they will be increasing the price without informing us. To date, i have not heard anything from Michelle. I'll have to inform my FH and get him to clarify with her.
I'm also a Amara BTB and our wedding is on Oct 07.

jenopc

i read the contract already and found nothing to allow hotel to add in 2% gst.

i rmbr it stating that prices include service and prevailing taxes. contractually, it should mean nett rate, be it 5 or 7%...

in any case, my FIL said that we'll just pay if they insist on whatever grounds... cos he doesn't wan the hotel to coordinate things for us half-heartedly, should we go into any misunderstandings... sigh duno how man..

noscon

Anyone has bargained for more things due to the GST hike? Can share what you got? My brother is having his wedd there in march 07....

noscon

not sure... have not ask him yet. Will asked him if i see him over weekend...

Are you an amara bride? Are you affected by GST then?

happybeingmi

I have checked with Patricia, she say no such notices from the management about the GST hike. But if the management decide to add in the extra 2%, they will give us a proper explanation.I also dont know how, I think I will be affected cos my wedding in next yr March.

klybtb

i went down yest to enq on pkg. chk with patricia on gst but she say u will pay on wat u sign only even gst increased. btw is their cheapest pkg @$710/table?

klybtb

i also not sure but their cheapest package is $710/table but i haven't sign up yet. i specifically chk with her abt gst hike & she say price no changed le...

but im not too sure the package im looking at, is it the same with u guy?

chidori

hi gals, i'm also thinking of signing with Amara for Nov 07 banquet. Thanks for all the advice for the gst increase.. i did not even ask coz I thot its nett prices. btw, any of you gals managed to ask for free flow of beer for weekend package? all I got was the LCD projector, 1 day use room for helpers and additional 10L of beer..

starmed

Gwen
u haven sign up wif her for Nov 07 dinner? hmmm...cos my younger sis told me she tried to book hers for dec 07...all the weekends are taken up. She ended up taking a date in jan 08. U made a tentative booking wif them?

happybeingmi

hi Gwen,
The $710/table is for weekday or weekend? I didnt manage to get the LCD projector and day room, is it now included in the current package?