Amara Singapore

hapict

yea songs for the march in. can i rely on the hotel or will the songs they choose b outdated?

heard the banquet mgr is v gd n detailed so now i got v high expections of amara leh.

to Amara:
u'd better live up to your reputation!! or i will come after u!!! ;p

belleteo

Hello everbody,

gg Amara wedding show tomorrow liao. Hope that the ballroom will be nice and package is good. Pray hard the date i want is still there lor.
Went NCQ today, quite nice lor but the date i want is taken by someone else.

hapict

hi belle

how do u find it?

FH & me more or less decided on the grandeur theme which apparently is more popular. but i like the romance theme for the normal guest tables. the VIP table for romance is too red n traditional...

i m so happy i got a copy of the blissful brides mag tat was in the goodie bag given out today at the show. =) quite a lot of things given out..so worth it n it's free

but a bit displeased tat michelle stopped my FH from takin photos of the theme setups (what is there to copy anyway??? if we were spies sent by competitors???). I want to take photos show my parents which theme to have for the banquet. but apparently she dont recognise us as her confirmed clients. also another gal was takin photos n she was not stopped. PLUS i had asked another coordinator for permission to take photos b4 FH took out his camera. so when she stopped us in a loud voice, it was quite embarrassing and I said I had asked another coordinator for permission. When I was trying to explain further that i wan to show my parents the themes as we had booked the place, before i had finished, she abruptly turned and walked away to continue talkin to her potential clients. =(

pinkypiggy

Hapict,I managed to took a few photos. Nobody seem to have stop me. Perhaps I did that after you showed your displeased :p
So did your sign up with Amara today?

belleteo

Hi Hapict and pink and everyone. Belle really facing BIG headahce need ALL your valuable comments...

I think taking photo not allow at there.
I attend the wedding show yesterday and infact i was there since 12pm all the way till 5pm hor. HAve not sign up with them yet cos rather coufused. I like the Natural Theme it was impressive, so comfortable feeling while romantic was nice too but not suitable for our age lei.
The dream also nice but eyes pain lei. Granduer was what my bf like.

Ok my problem is that:
1) Not a good & attractive package though it was a wedding show

2) Only 30Litre of beer and over 400+++ for 20Litre (that was ex)

3) The wedding show didnt throw in much thing lei what they throw is was wine but after fist 18bottles need pay lei. Corkage 20+++ per bottle hor.

4) Very firm, hard to nego as seems to be like the rules of the hotel ;(

5) I might need 35tables but that will be really cramp and if i exceed the pattern will become "L" shape which means some table will be neglected & totally cannot see whats happening.

But i like the place, the theme is nice, though no high celling but it is cosy and more to romantic, comfortable or design feel instead of grand. A bit ex also as mine is sat so is 800 per table. Is Amara 4stars right?
Price a bit steep.

HELP HELP HELP....
Pls help me!

babe_belle

I'm pretty new here and i have confirmed my AD on 6th Oct 07 at Amara Hotel. Just book my AD at their wedding show last sat.

I do agree with Belle that their price is rather steep. I have confirm 35 tables but i think the number will go up. I asked Michelle for a additional night stay but other then that, seems like there was nothing much more to offer. Michelle said that i have to confirm the total number of tables before she can let us know what other freebies can be thrown in.

Hapict,
I'm not sure if the potential customers u were talking about was referring to my FH, me and my brother as we were actually talking to Michelle when she went to stop a couple from taking some pictures...
My brother did pass a comment that Michelle was abit unfriendly.

hapict

there r two belles here! not the same? ;p

belle chan
i tot i saw she was talkin oni to a couple, not 3 pax leh. anyway i was embarrassed cos she said so loudly n startled me. yea she's not so negotiable.. i have less than 20 tables n have to beg for more stuff but she said got to b accountable to her mgt.

belle teo
someone said here yea amara is 4*.
at first i wanted a ballroom with hi ceilin but amara's star light ceilin lights enchanted me. my lunch package also quite x but it's reasonable for the location. u make your own choice. dun let us influence u.

pink
i m a confirmed client. booked the place for my AD and paid $$$. they asked me go down take a look at the decor themes. tat's y all the more i felt disgruntled tat i cant even take photos. the photos they sent me of the different themes r of poor quality, as i have said in a posting of mine here b4.

elint

Hi Everybody,

I went to Amara Hotel on Monday to take a look and their layout. I like their long aisle and their them (Romance - not red kind) and package seems quite gd except that my FH do not like the idea of having to pay for cockage for wine.

So he suggested to look around for more gd and better deal so that we could get the most out of it. Our AD is on 24 Jun '07 and I'm kinda worry most gd deal will be taken up by others and not much selection for our wed date.

His friends told him should wait for wedding show in Nov ...

Anyway I leave decision to him and will discuss further.

hapict

elin
i tot their romance theme is the red coloured napkins and for the VIPs = red colour??

u beta b KS n book the date first or sth. i m havin weddin lunch cos all hotels booked for my AD at night, even a ulu restaurant..

reismion

elint:

ya i agreee w hapict. better go book early.

hapict:

u've the same wedding date as my neighbor. she found it hard to book church as well so she chopped the date early. heehee...

belleteo

Hi Hapict,

I decided to give up Amara as after calculation the price pay to them is equal to a 5star hotel.
Only cockage charge alone will gg to cost alot.
The we need sat as alot of malaysia relative and sat is strictly 800 per table regardless of 9 or 8 course. Kind of like not flexible.
One more thing is that we might exceed 35tables. Once exceed it will become "L" shape then all guest in that "L" shape will be blocked.

So for my case really not suitable.
HB atually dont like the ballroom and their service of being not flexible.

I dont know you gals saw me? Me and a galfriend was there for few hours lei.

Anyway we have decided to take Novotel of the good package.

reismion

belle:

wow, didnt noe amara has raised their price by so much this yr. they muz realise tat they r getting more popular. :p

to all fellow amara-brides-to-be:

will b going for my food tasting this weekend n will give u all my feedbacks.

reismion

ladies,

juz had my food tasting last week. the 1st few dishes were pretty good. portions were just nice and the ops mgr was v friendly too. thumbs up!

hope the AD service will be of the same standards. ;)

tazmania

Hi Reismion,

I will be going for mine this week.
How pp u have for the food tasting?

Anyone went for the wedding show recently.
Can update me the pecks they offer?
My friend is rather interested in Amara too...

hapict

the perks pretty standard if u can bargain, IMHO. think there's a free 30l barrel of beer or sth.. if u confirm more tables, they wil give more perks. but even tho i m a confirmed client, i must say their weddin show doesnt give out too much perks. mayb business is gd?

reismion
the sales coordinator n chef not there right?
can have it durin weekends? cos they told me oni weekday nights which is quite difficult for me..

reismion

tazmania:

9 pax for food tasting. topped up additional 2 dishes for 100+++. (my pkg came with 8 pax for 7 course tasting) Enjoy!

hapict:

sales coordinator is there. so is the ops mgr. wknds' tough hence weekday is better and have more attention as the amara staff r not so bz.

babe_belle

My AD is in Oct 07. I've received the contract and confirmation letter from Michelle but i have not signed it. Can i wait till further notice before i actually sign it as i should be adding more tables and i understand that Michelle may be posting over to Sentosa.
Will they add in more perks for me if i just sign the contract now or just stick to what i have signed on the contract?
Please advice.

hi belle,

signing the contract is to secure the date.... u can feel free to add more tables nearer to date cos ultimately, they will take the final figure that you confirm 2 weeks before your AD.. however, u cant confirm lesser tables than what is indicated in your contract.. do note that its comfortable for the ballroom to hold 30+2 tables.. anything more it could be a little bit squeezy..

hapict

belle chan
i also think u shld sign the contract now if u r more or less deciding on amara. however do note minssy's advice on the confirmed no. of tables. u can always add on but u cant reduce! they may give u more perks towards the end if u have more tables. i m not sure can bargain then. ;)

reismion

Belle Chan:

ya, I've gone for the food tasting. The portions were pretty ok and food was quite tasty too.
both sets of parents were happy w the menu. ;)

if u r confirmed on the venue, u shld go ahead n sign with them.

tazmania

hi Belle Chan,

ya, i've gone for my food tasting too. For my case, the portions were ok.
We have requested some changes here and there for the food. My in laws are more particular on food.

You should sign if u have decided on Amara.
This will at least secure you your date.

But i must say Amara dont really give good perks as compare to other hotels.
Is the atmosphere & food u are paying for

anushka

hi, we've been liasing with patricia. she has been pleasant to work with so far.

just to share, we were rather put off initially, sensing that there might be some sales competition between the wedding planners. blegh.

in the end, we was swayed over by service provided by patricia - patient listening, advice for newlyweds and suggestions on carrying out a customised, meaningful wedding.

jenopc

i'm new here, was lookg out for ideas for march-in and everything and chanced upon yr topics.

wana share some things abt amara hotel... i've signed the contract wif them for 20 sept 2007. my planner is patricia. i do agree tat she seems unfriendly during the 1st meetg (compared to the wonderful coordinator from merchant court). as if she has made up her mind tat we wun sign.

but in the end, we simply decided on amara w/out much hotel shopping.

wad made us decide w/out much shopping was the the package as a whole. the hotel's renovated and we luv the contemporary look. during the 2nd meetg, pat got a whole lot friendlier.

she may be too confident at times - its her nego skills - i'm sales too so i noe. =) but we r customers & its our wedding. so hv to remind her tat we wan things our way. she'll give in if we persist on reasonable means... we nego for 2 night's bridal stay and patricia gave in. keke...

but we were dissapointed abt one ting. the color of the 'stars' are in multi-colors.. abit tacky..

reismion

welcome jen ong!!

wow, patricia gave u 2 nites' stay. *thumbs up* we've got 2 nites' stay as our pkg was for wkday wedding and 've confirmed 30 tables. :p

my wedding's next wed. will post up the decor pics for u gals on the latest setups. keeping my fingers crossed. :p

jenopc

Hi reismion

Congrats to yr big dae next wed! so r u getg the jitters alrdy??? i wonder how i'll feel like as the dae gets nearer.. haaa.

i will look foward to yr great pics... if u wana email, its [email protected]

btw do u hv any special march-in plans?

reismion

thks jen

jitters? nope. too bz w the logistics. hope to get things over n done with. :p

special march-in plans? nope. the good old classic n simple way. LOL.

hapict

to the unsuspecting couples who signed up with aamra and goin to print weddin invite cards soon, pl note that due to the two differing sizes for the invitation cards - ivory coloured cards is squarish shape, red cards are oblong rectangular shape, you have to pay twice the artwork for printing inserts as it's considered two different artworks.

FH and I went down to print, oni realising this after showin them the cards, hence went down to another printer. Amara did not warn us of this.

heard from Jasvy they would be changing cards soon. I hope amara have the sense to change both ivory n red cards to same shape. imagine we payin $240 for printin inserts + maps when others need pay oni $80 for 1 set. *heartache* tmrw FH goin to negotiate wtih printer again.

also for those printing maps, pl also note that 1 printer we went down advised tat the map amara gave us is not gd/usable as the shaded areas in their map would show up as dark areas when printed. Jasvy would have the correct map as they were the designated printer for many years (but they are quite expensive compared to other printers).

hi hapict,

its common sense that due to 2 different sizes of cards, ANY printers will charge you 2 different sizes.. from the printer point of view, its 2 different molds, 2 diffent artworks, 2 different designs, 2 different sizes so they need to cut 2 different papers..

hapict

hi minssy
it's common sense but we never do this b4 so we duno n never tot abt this aspect.when i do my research online, there were no postings on differing size of cards. when i called up printers askin qns, no one asked abt the card sizes too. i m sharing my experience in case there are other blur couples like us.

reismion

babe_belle:

cant wait for the wedding to b over. preps r so tiring plus having to spend the long hours to make myself look presentable. *faintz*

sure. hope to snap the pics b4 i get whisked off to do make-up again. :p

hapict:

we were quite lazy n used jasvy instead. used 260 cards in all. :p quite ex cos we had to re-print. luckily we didnt choose the red cards. :p

bbgg6061

thanks hapict, for sharing your experience. At least I will keep that in mind as I will be printing my wedding cards next year.

So did you manage to print the maps in the end?

reismion: wow, it's tomorrow.. Congrats.. do update us on your wedding when you are back.. really looking forward to that. Meanwhile, enjoy yourself!

jillie

Hello Girls....just wanna share my experience with everyone. I just had my wedding dinner on last Sat and it was a wonderful and perfect experience. Michelle was my coordinator and Eddie was my Banquet manager on that night. I was very impressed with Michelle, for her patience and reminders thoughout this year and also Eddie for his professional throughout the dinner. He was CALM and organised, as compared, we were flustered and messy.

I chose the Natural Theme and took Michelle's suggestion of PINK and WHITE ROSES....very very beautiful. Although I was busy that night, I took a glance at the flowers and it was PERFECT. Also, everyone commented that the food was TOPS, especially my overseas guests from Bangkok and Hong Kong....they LOVED the food.

The total bill turned up to be very reasonable (as compared to other hotels) and to my BIG surprise, I actually managed to COVER all my costs although we gave away 6 tables to the ladies's side....BIG BIG surprise....

I really recommend having your wedding at Amara...my wedding was a FAB FAB FAB experience!!

poorthing

hi jill,
congratulation!!
can u share with me your pic too?
btw can email me ur package?
my email add is [email protected]
so overall, dividing ur total bill among the total no. of tables, approximately each table cost around how much? thanks