Amara Singapore

jenopc

Latte

Hi o so u holdg yr ROM at Amara too huh... at first i wanted a ROM party, but my hubby wana save $ and further more our ROM is weekday, so not many can show up.

do send me yr pics for tat dae ya...

0212bride

Hi reismion, thks for sharing ur pics so far. dun hv nvm lor. those r good enuf and when the time comes for me to choose i'll go look at the photos... or c if any other brides here can share theirs

Hi o_O
I've alrdy had my ROM there in Dec.. heehee.. agree tt weekday ROM is normally smaller scale. mine was on a sat. It was a pretty intimate affair too and prolly cosier than AD banquet (i think lah). i'll pm u the pic.. when is ur ROM?

klybtb

hi reismion, seen ur pics! is nice combination with the flowers decor u have chosen. cosy ambience.
btw, any comments on just using 1 projector? can guests sitting behind see the screen clearly?
just worried...

reismion

klybtb:

i think it's fine. we had 30+2 tables. had 31.5 in all.
the guests fr the back had no issue with seeing the projected image.

cloud0829

Hi Reismion,

Me more or less going to sign up Amara for my dinner banquet. Can u share your pics with me too? Wish to see the ballroom deco.

reismion

cloudie:

cld u pls pm me ur email addy? i will send the pics to u via email.
thks.

klybtb:

more than 35 i think. best to check with ur coordinator.

0212bride

Hi cloudie

When is ur AD? If u do sign up with Amara let us know who's ur coord and whether ur banquet price adjusted for the 2% GST increase, thks!!

happybeingmi

I heard that there will be changes to the wedding favour soon. is it true? I think i will still be getting the pralines.

Thanks reismion for the photos,v tempted to take the romance theme now. This backdrop is nicer than the previous backdrop!v similar to swissotel merchant court theme.
anyone has the grandeur latest backdrop pictures?

0212bride

Hi happy

when is ur AD? Pralines are ok, better than some places giving plain choc or fruit cake
Anyway the cost for favours alrdy charged in the package so i doubt they will change to anything better/more expensive...

Come to think of it if any brides already signed the package but still affected by GST, we can all ask for change of favours.. haha

happybeingmi

Hi iced_latte,
My AD is this coming March.I dunno if i will be affected by the gst. Praying hard it won't..will be an additional few hundreds.

I have been to the wedding dinner at Amara 1 yr plus before, it's gd.hopefully it will maintain.

0212bride

Hi happy

u ought to check with Amara after the budget is annouced, if the date for 7% GST is b4 ur AD. I've not read thru the contract to c if we are exposed to such changes... Just hv to c what they intend to do for couples who hv alrdy signed up...

cloud0829

hi remismion, my email addr [email protected]

my AD is 16th Nov, most likely going down to sign with Amara this week. Actually my HTB and myself are deciding between ParkRoyal (Beach rd)and Amara as PR has a suntec wedding show promo, it's very attractive but the ballroom not as nice as Amara.

We did ask Michelle of Amara regarding the GST, she said the package will not be affected by GST increase. However, if we buy wines etc where prices is not Nett, then those rates will be affected.

reismion

hi happy,

unfortunately, my PG didnt tk any pics of tat. All the other pics had guests blocking the view so cant share with you gals. :p

clclwedding

Hi Brides,

If you need any projectors, audio equipment, can contact this guy. Sim @ 9743-2423. His price is reasonable, less than $200 and very reliable.

happybeingmi

It's ok reismion. thanks for sharing your banquet pictures.
Btw, anyone can advise on the selection of first dish song? usually by what artist? havent decide.

0212bride

Hi happy

My AD is qt some time from now but I think i'll hv the same problem with first dish song (actually the march-in songs too)... Got some good recommendations in the wedding songs thread tho i'm not sure if they are suitable for 1st dish as usually ppl use more dramatic songs for it. Maybe back to Kitaro since its really good and nowadays no longer so common

happybeingmi

Thanks Iced latte,
I wonder if Amara has any 1st dish songs for me to choose from.I had something in mind for march in songs already. Is kitaro music very dramatic? I havent hear it before.Any very good album or songs from Kitaro to recommend? I read from wedding songs thread, mainly recommend allegrato by bond or be my guests. i find it a bit dramatic for allegrato, so wondering if anybody uses less dramatic 1st dish or not.

0212bride

Hi happy

Kitaro music has lots of drums.. hmm i dunno how to describe. used to b v popular as first dish song long long ago. haha.. Be my guest is kinda common by now. No matter what song most impt u must like it, not cos others like it, cos its ur evening!

got a fren used 'love is in the air'.. abit forgettable lor, unless can find the fast tempo version.

happybeingmi

Thanks iced latte,
I shall check it out Kitaro's. I'm shortlisting some from the Bond, so depend on which is more suitable.Have to finalise all details by early feb, so doing my last min homework now.
Will be going down to take a look at the grandeur theme, hopefully they have new deco theme like romance backdrop totally revamped. It seem like most wedding r using grandeur theme, the coming up weddings r mostly using grandeur.

jenopc

My fren had her wedding at other hotel and they used "be my guest".. i tink its from some cartoon, feels like tat "under the sea" cartoon. it's cool actually - got a jazzy feel to it.

in any case, tru experience from planning her wedding, the coordinator should have a list of recommended songs for march-in, 1st dish and 2nd march-in.

we can also expect to meet the banquet mgr at the ballroom 1-2 hrs before the start, to listen to their songs and select there.

For my 1st march-in, my FH intends to pick some 'happening' opera songs.. good luck to him man. haha

cutecat

Any idea whether is it possible to have dinner buffet or something by the pool? I'm actually trying to look for places that allow that. Is Amara one of them? Though i know many of you ROM there, how about dinner then? Thanks

0212bride

Hi o_O

Be my guest and Under the sea hv the same feel cos they are both songs from Little Mermaid
It's v appropriate for dinner right
Hw are u marching in to opera song? dance? hv to walk v v slowly lor, will look v grand.

Hi cutecat
I think the food for Amara ROM packages r all buffet style, either lunch, hi tea or dinner. Just different food, min pax & prices

cheryl_c

Hi I'm new here, just went to amara for viewing. Michelle was attending to me tho my FH surname is Nxx. Strange.... Anyway she was quite ok just not neg in quite a few things (corkage/helper's room), abit of attitude...

0212bride

Hi cheryl

hmm dunno which alphabet they start to split b/w michelle and patricia.. maybe not exactly 13 each

did u view the ballroom or ROM venue? A day room for helpers is reasonable. go neg again. But i agree they dun neg for corkage. maybe tt's to make extra $ in return for offering slightly cheaper package to entice customers. Just a tot.

jenopc

Hi Latte

haa... let my FH go figure how to march in... as long as he doesnt make me do stunts.. haaa anyway i tink i'll be so shy tat i feel like running past everyone..

0212bride

Hi o_O

I just sent to you

Your ROM on weekday right. Hv u been checking out the makan places to adjourn to after the solemnisation?

jenopc

Hi Latte

Juz saw yr fotos.. wao u damn chio & tall leh... keke..

All my frens adv not to take up any ROM packages from hotel... coz mine's a weekday so not many will turn up. and also they find tat its not worth spending tat amount of money for a 3 hr tingy.

anyway i guess i'll listen to them and stick to a family dinner. Any sugg? Both pairs of parents are traditional chinese... so hv to find a great restaurant. btw, usually for such dinner where its only 2-4 tables, who pays for it? Parents in law or us, the newly wed?

0212bride

Hi o_O

Thanks for your compliments. Tall.. yep i'm above average.. Chio.. hmm MUA can do wonders!

I agree weekday ROM shldn't hold at hotel cos if u dun hv enuf ppl to attend its not worth the package. Normal hotel ROM scores more on ambience/deco/photo opportunities than food. Mine at Amara had so-so buffet spread only.

Dinner can try peony jade. My cousin had her ROM there (i din attend) and got good comments on the food. Near ROM venue and good - Wah Lok @ Carlton hotel. Can see several ROM couples there one
More pricey but good - Chef Chan at Odeon. Seafood restaurants like Jumbo qt foolproof too. Urs is dinner so plenty of venues to choose.

I'm not sure traditionally who pays for the ROM. Older folks may not feel the importance of ROM so some may feel its the couple who wants to treat them to makan (ie not a necessity and NOT a wedding expense). For mine, I paid with FH (not 50:50). If ur PIL can afford and they offer, let them pay. Otherwise u and FH pay. luckily few tables still affordable.

jenopc

wa... tks for yr ideas man..

will check them out with my FIL... i let him make decisions actually... i guess for the dinner, it sounds reasonable for us to pay instead of PIL...

in fact, the choice of amara hotel was my FIL's... he finds it convenient for relatives... so we went to check it out wif him, liked the new reno-ed look and.. sign lor.. keke

0212bride

ya i think relatives esp non-drivers will find amara v convenient. even drivers, cos hardly any traffic jams, unlike orchard

ur FIL got good taste. The new look is v modern now. totally unlike the old amara or any 4* hotel
hopefully we get our money's worth and hv good memories to hold our AD there!