Amara Singapore

reismion

belleteo:

so far, we were quite pleased with amara's service. still ok. will have more comments after the food tasting.

minssy:

printed my cards at jasvy's. it's similar to last year's white card but this year's has no embossed design in front and comes with a shimmer surface as opposed to the pure white 1 for last year's card. :p

hi reismion,

jasvy ah? eeee... they got hella a 'good' record man.....

at my time, its already a shimmer beige card.. its not white ah
the embossed stocked ended probably in aug/sept 05 already..

belleteo

Hi Hapict,

I have sign up for the wedding show as well.
Do you have the photos of the ballroom?
Can send to me: [email protected]

Have anyone consider or visited Plaza Park Royal, HIPV, Holiday Inn Atrium and Novotel CLark Quey?

hapict

belle
the photos they emailed me r of v poor quality... think i shant destroy yr impression with those photos... y dun u make appt take a look? seein is believing..=)

belleteo

Ok. I shall see it myself on 9th Sept.
Now a bit sian cos those budget hotel doesnt seems to have good comments on food and service.

hi reismion,

hahhahahahahah! wink wink.. i know your hidden meaning :p

well, i think belle meant that its budget compared to ritz.. :p

hapict

hey actually i heard n read gd comments abt amara till i m scared...hopefully all turns out ok or u all would hear fm me man. i m sure not afraid of sharing my experiences on net, be it good or bad. *touch wood* haha

reismion

hapict:

haha... personally i've not experienced the 'amara service' yet so keeping my fingers crossed n positive till my AD... coming soon so u gals will've an update rite after my AD or after i'm back from my honeymoon... ;)

belleteo

Hi Reismion,

Not to worry my " those Budget hotel" stands for MY own budget la.
Minssy you are clever, or course i'm comparing to those 5stars hotel.
Like Grand Crothorne Waterfront, Raffles the Plaza....so on la.

Haiz... Actually read too much forum also not good cos make you scare. Especially bad review then even worst.

reismion

belle:

really, i agree w u. initially i had signed up for my BS w/o checking. post-sign up, i went to check out the forums. nearly wanted to give my pkg up. luckily our bs turned out ok.

always keep our gut feel w us. ;)

belleteo

Ya lor so forum is for us to read and as a comments and advise. Better dont totally believe.
I ever read one of the tread that one guy actually bad mouth one of the hotel and the customer service then when ppl invite him to say more he like disppear. Then they realise there is one guy at that hotel as banquet manager same name as the forum name hor.

Novotel and Plaza i did read quite alot of bad things abt them but my friend used to work there before feedback that their service good lei.

hapict

belle
yea i saw tat thread. scary right? think we read with big dose of salt loh. judge for ourselves n trust our gut feel.

how many star is amara???
grand copthorne waterfront is 5*??? i love their grand ballroom n high ceilin but inconvenient location dun wan cater bus for guests n have 1 more administrative detail to worry abt on AD..

u all doin yr own Ang pao box or askin amara?? they said their AP box taken away by brides who dun return cos their AP box too nice. i told them ppl may b sellin their AP box on forums!!!!

joey123

hapict, i dunno Amara is giving angpao box, I nv check with them. Do u mean last time they do provide, but now no more?

I alr bought my AP box from precious thots thinking to decor it wif frens.

Hmmh, I thk Amara is consider 4* hotel

reismion

ya, amara's 4 star. as for the AP box, i think it's not provided. asked michelle b4. either DIY or buy lor. mi being lazy, i would choose the latter opinion.

joey123

reismion, thks for your info. By the way, when is ur big day?
My big day is on 23 Dec, but dinner is on 24 (Xmas eve) cos Amara's ballroom has been taken on my AD.

joey123

Sweetie~ Wow $20 for corakage fee is pretty xpensive leh. For me, 30tables thk i need at least 3 cartons of wines lor! They only waive corkage fee up tp 12 botols.

Sweetie, do you know how much is their in-hs wine? I didn't check wif them.

hi reismion,

i got mine from parker's.. give may ling a call lah.. 6535 3987...

at the same stretch (north canal road), there is wine bos also..

yingsan

Hi joey

Ur Big day and dinner different day so will you incure extra charges for MUA, photography, rental of gowns etc?

hapict

joey
yea last time they provided beautiful ap boxes, then brides took them away n never return so they hesitant to do new ones now for us. =|

i lazy buy wine outside n lug it to hotel, think i no choice buy wine fm them..

there's a designated printer for amara right? have to go there print?

sweetie06

Joey,

They don't have any in house wine. Patricia told me they have a wine distributor. Their wine distributor is Wine Bos just next beside Parkers wine. I will be getting my wine from Parkers. Found that they are cheaper then wine bos.

reismion

minssy:

thks for the info minssy. *hugz* will chk tat out.

hapict:

amara's recommending jasvy's. am using them. quite fast n effificient. tried calling axxa (minssy's printer) b4 but didnt noe they were not open on sat hence we chose jasvy.

hapict

ok my AD in jan 07, u think i shld start printin now? after i started so late on my weddin preparations now i think i mus b KS n start early on all these misc stuff. i already notified many frens my AD date n book them liao. ;p

joey123

hapict~ I heard they got designated printer, but my SIL going to help me to print maybe i wun go to him lor!

Btw, anybody knows Amara got a copy of the invitation that we can refer to?

hapict

ching2627
did they change the red invitation card design? is yours the oblong matt red cards? er any pic?if same as the one i m goin to take, i dun mind taking them off u n sparin u the space in yr hse. hee hee

reismion
i m goin put big big "SIT DOWN CHINESE 8-COURSE LUNCH" ;p rite now already tellin ppl abt e 8 courses. hehe

ching2627

hapict,

Not sure whether did they change the design of the red wedding cards? Do you have the picture of the card that you are going to take?

hapict

ching2627
no opportunity take photos.mayb this sat at their weddin show i take one show u.

reismion
cos hor everyone associate sat/sun lunch with "buffet" = cheaper = less angbao = more costs for me!!

joey123

hapict & reismion,

Any nice song to recommend for dinner march-in? Amara's aisle is quite long i think, so i need to choose a longer song instead?

Anyone know Amara accept self-burnt CD for march-in song? I heard some hotel they only accept original CD.

hi joey,

yes you can self burn.. but do indicate properly the track number, the song title and whether its for first march in etc etc..

the banquet manager and sound technician there are good so actually no worries.. all these will be coordinated on the AD itself..