Amara Singapore

mik

hi minssy,
yep, yep. same charges goes for changing the norm 4-types cold dish to the 5-types cold dish with a portion(few pieces) of suckling pig so we changed to lobster like more worth it?

you booked 30 tables with amara?
managed to get more perks from amara?

only thing inter-changeable without incurring top-ups are the desserts with the exception of the premium dessert. meaning red bean (wkday) /sago w melon (fri & sun) /sweet corn w water chestnut (sat) can be swopped

hi mikmik,

yah.. sounds like chg to lobster more worth it.. just hope its nice...

i booked 25 that time. now i think need 30. perks ah? amara is the least in that man. hahhah! in order not to pay for the LCD, i 'sacrified' the chocolates. but its ok cos i wanna get my own wedding favours anyway
i think its the standard stuff.. must refer to contract then can tell you cos off hand cant remember already

ok noted on the desserts. i dun mind sago & melon! but dunnoe whether its nice. what dessert are you taking and when is your food tasting btw?

taringa

Anyone tried the Baked Cod Fish With Bonito Sauce? Your sincere comments pls.

I am thinking of upgrading the fish to this.

mik

hi minssy,
i hope so too. will know how the lobster cold dish looks like during food tasting then can feedback.
ohhh...yah, remembered you said u traded in your chocs for LCD. what type of wedding favours will you be getting?
i requested for mango pudding from the start so michelle checked with the chef and they were ok to do it. (don't quite like the idea of hot dessert)
actually, i wouldn't mind forgoing the dessert and bringing in a wedding cake to be served. heehee. but unless can get a good exchange for the dessert.
my food tasting is next week. about 3 mths before the wedding dinner.

hi smiggins,
never tried but heard feedback that it's nice. only grouse is that older folks may not like it becos it's not the whole fish but just a big slice of cod fish -- no head and no tail...

hi mik,

i am looking for pouches....

a... i doubt you can exchange dessert for a wedding cake.... but thats what i think lah.. desserts are cheap stuff mah. actually i also got think of a real wedding cake but that will cost quite a lot of money and my FH will surely not approve one. hahaha

nya

hi chatterbox,
thx for the encouragement. =) yupz, wont let that matter effect our mood. but of coz we will tend to be more careful in future when working with them..hahaha..human nature..=P

btw, does anyone knows what other wedding favours amara provides besides the usual chocs pralines? i intend to get another item to be given to the dinner guest for added memories of our wedding...thx in advance! =)

mik

hi minssy,
organza pouches? think spotlight has nice ones!

nope, nope, not exchanging dessert for a real wedding cake but bringing in my own cake to serve for dessert and doing away with their dessert. heehee.

hi nya,
they have the fruit cake in a silver box for as well.

hi mikmik,

ok i will check out spotlight. haven been going to town man! hee..

oh! sor des neh! bringing in your own wedding cake! steady! that would be a lovely idea!

nya

mikmik,
only the fruit cake and chocs ar? hmmm...maybe we shd suggest to them to provide a wider variety of choices for wedding favours? heh...

mik

hi minssy,
just checked: there was this couple recently brought in their own wedding cake. IDEA, right? must *teh* my hubby to agree.

hi sleepysleep,
you can email them: [email protected]
think most of the gals here having michelle as their coordinator

hi nya,
yep. you can talk to michelle, i guess.

or maybe you want to exchange the wedding favours for some other perks?

hhahahhah! mikmik, then i hope you can 'teh' successfully leh.... it will be really nice & sweet and not just the normal fake cake. but such cakes will normally cost a lot of money... what is your budget?

ok my frd's frd just told me something... her colleague made a cake for her for a wedding of 20 tables and she already charges her $500. i may not think 300 - 400 is a good budget cos such stuff can be up to 1k...

hi mikmik,

i got the below contact from my frd. i honestly dunnoe how good the cake is but my frd said its not bad.. do speak to her first yah.... if she asked, then say you got the contact from amanda's frd lah

annie 94272916

mik

hi minssy & other amara brides,

me back in here to update on food tasting.

first dish: ok
sharks fin: too much fish maw & too little fin

prawns: lovely!
seabass: happy to update that the seabass turned out ok.
yam basket: really CANNOT make it. the only "seafood" were squids and clams.
definitely gonna change that...
chicken: yummy! nice and crispy!
overall:

oh yes, can bring a CD to test out the songs which you wanna use for march-in or dinner music to try out their sound system during food tasting. i've tried mine. no prob. but advice given by the staff was that to use original CDs would be MUCH better quality-wise.

hi mikmik,

thank you so much for updating!

so you chose these 6 out of the 9. you did not try the dessert lah?

ok based on what you mentioned, confirm i will chg the yam basket too!

btw, is the seabass big? how is it done? soya sauce or deep fried?

are the portions big?

mik

hi minssy,

you're welcome!

yep, food tasting is only 6 dishes. so tried the first 6. nope, never try the dessert.
other amara BTBs feedback were very informative too! the yam basket is...

the sea bass was OK. personally i dun favour it because of its taste but overall comments from parents and in-laws, that it is OK. the meat was quite soft. size-wise, they were all OK with it. it was steamed with soya sauce with shredded ginger and chinese parsley.
portions were quite big. by the time the 5th dish came around, none of us could finish everything on the plate. haha.

mik

<font color="ff6000">hi amara BTB
anyone has tried the "crystal seafood delight" during food tasting?
any comments?</font>

mik

<font color="ff6000">hi amara BTBs
anyone has tried the "crystal seafood delight" during food tasting?
any comments?</font>

mik

hi minssy,

i believe the portions were for 10 ppl judging from the size of the dishes but they served to 6ppl. that's why so full! haha.

nya

hey mikmik,
wow, ur food tasting experience sounds good! making me hungry oredi..hahaha...btw which package did u sign up for, if you dont mind sharing?

btw i've heard some hotels actually serve the guests cold food during AD! how to prevent that from happening ar? what if we have told the coodinator beforehand but then they still serve cold food in the end? what follow-up actions can we take ar?

kurera

I had been to Amara Hotel for wedding. They have great lightings, nice bridal suite...but the ball room is a bit if squeeze...the tables are too close to each other. suggest you gal to go down take a loobk when there is a wedding dinner on the same day. At least with set up, you will tell your guests will be comfortable anot. remember to bargain before signing the contract.

nya

hi CAT,
thx for sharing! =)

i think the ballrm can hold 30 tables comfortably...if add in more than will definitely be veri squeezy!

hopefully there wont be any other events on the same day of my dinner, or else will be so dampening. dun like sharing the special day with another event. and the poor guests wld be left wondering which ballrm is the correct one they shd go to! hahaha...

beemer

Hi gers,

Anyone tried poolside soleminzation @ Amara? Went to see their poolside, it's pretty nice. Am thinking of doing both soleminzation+dinner there. Been to a few hotels and kind of tired to see more...hahaa....Any feedback is appreciated.

hhappy

Can anyone share with me the kind of selection of flowers we can chose if we take the grandeur theme for our banquet?

mik

hi minssy,
yep! charges are $50+++ per additional person for food tasting...i enquired previously just in case, but last min, 6 ppl.

hi nya,
it was not too bad.
hahaha. when's yours? i signed the weekday 629 package but with changes to some of the dishes.

nya

hey mikmik,

yar, how come gota fork out so much for additional pax for food tasting ar? aiyoh...hyper ex leh!

as for my food tasting, my FH suggested to have it probably end Oct, coz our AD is nx Feb, still got lotsa time...we took the 789 package coz we hving the dinner on sunday...aniwai will it be too late to change dishes after the food tasting ar? wld it incur extra costs?

mik

hi minssy,
my AD's sept 18. no worries.

hi nya,
tat's for additional pax on top of the 6 allowed. during food tasting, you will feedback on each and every dish on a feedback form so can make changes from there. i changed some items after giving feedback. guess it depends on what you change. for mine, i had to top up additional 5 bucks per table.

hi mikmik,

did you collect your cards during your food tasting? btw, if you had collected, do you mind taking a photo and show me how the cards look like?

hhappy

Coolz to hear about the sharing session. Actually I also signed up with Amara too..
I am impressed with banquet set up and the overall outlook of the hotel set up.

Just wondering if anyone have any idea on whats the selection of flowers we can chose from if we go for the Grandeur theme.

Care to share?

Thanks so much

mik

hi minssy,
yep, i collected the cards during food tasting. need to let michelle know the quantity of cards u want for ivory or red -- that is if you're getting a mixture. (PS. i took a mixture of red for relos and ivory for friends &amp; colleagues)
sure sure! will take a pic when i go home tonite. can give me your email? i will email you the pics.

hi happy,
i vaguely recalled from the pics i saw previously: think they used yellow roses/orchids for the centrepieces.

hi nya,
you're most welcome.

hhappy

Hi mikmik and all,

thanks for your response.

Do you mind if I can also have a pic of your cards too...
My email: [email protected]

I am so excited and happy to know that those who signed up with them are having a good time !

Hope everyting went off well for all...

to all brides to be.........

jolene78

i actually hav my wedding din at amara last dec.
juz to let u'll know tat all the guests are very satisfied with the dishes and with jeffrey help, my din went very smoothly.

mik

hi Jolene,
thanks for sharing!
was your wedding dinner on a weekday or weekend?
for first dish song, did you get to choose your own or have to use amara's?