Amara Singapore

jolene78

mikmik,

my hubby n in-law comment tat it taste terrible. funny taste...

during food tasting, they will ask you to write your comment abt the foods. for us, we just write wat we think lor. like seafood not fresh, sea cucumber taste like rubber n smelly. i personally tink tat they will tak the comments seriously.

we suggest to change the braised sea cucumber to whole abalone, meaning each our guest hav one abalone each. but of course small one lar. i still remember they only manage to buy the abalone tat i request just a week b4 my AD.

mik

hi Jolene,

thanks for sharing.
with your input, i think i rather top up for the seafood yam basket dish rather than make an exchange to the crysal seafood delight. oic. that's good.

chatterbox

I'm back!!!!! My AD finally over

Everythg was very smooth.
Guests commented the ambience was very nice. Everythg good expect the fd not very nice :p
The garoupa was over cooked.

I had pink roses n white lilies for the decor. Turned out to be very nice
And I opt for a diff stage back-drop which was done up by June florist. Very nice also

hi chatterbox,

welcome back! hope you had a really good time!

wah.. the garoupa is overcooked ah? thats a sad part.. cos garoupa is more ex than sea bass leh.. then wasted your money in a way?

btw, was the whole flower arrangment done by june florist or only the stage backdrop?

hi chatterbox,

welcome back! hope you had a really good time!

wah.. the garoupa is overcooked ah? thats a sad part.. cos garoupa is more ex than sea bass leh.. then wasted your money in a way?

btw, was the whole flower arrangment done by june florist or only the stage backdrop?

mik

hi chatterbox,

welcome back!
all the dishes not very nice? or just garoupa? oh dear......then wasted your top-up.

sounds really lovely!! what colour theme did you choose? grandeur or romance or natural to match your pink roses + white lilies? your flower arrangements are done by amara's florist or your own florist?

chatterbox

The flower arrangement was done up by amara florist. Thk they got 2 florists. 1 of them is june florist.

I chose the grandeur theme.

mik

oic. have seen june florist at an exhibition before. they did a good job at the venue.

:) thanks for sharing, chatterbox.

nya

hi Joy,
i have the 2005/2006 price list. not sure whether it's updated already, but it can be a guideline for you. you intending to hold ur banquet in amara?

nya

hi blumarine,

the price list is saved in my office pc, so think the earliest i can get back to you is on monday, so sorry...and hor, think what i have is outdated already. not sure whether amara has updated their lists...gota chk with them.

but i guess the fastest way to obtain a price list is to call/email the hotel personally, will get it on the same day, if not the nx day...=)

faintz

hi, everyone..

I have been looking for a hotel for my AD. Not happy with those shortlisted ones after we went down to see..

now trying to check if amara can make it or not.. running thr this forum and see tt geberal comments about this hotel is still ok..

just hope that when I call the hotel tomorow they will still have the slot I want for next june.

any idea what is the maximum no. of tables their grandballroom can hold? I saw some comments that 30 tables or more will be squeezy. Is the ballroom occupying the whole floor? or there are some function rooms around like Pan
Pac hotel..

hi faintz,

the ballroom has another function room at the same level.. if you are particular on this, then you may not like it. but the ballroom is very nice with the modern setting and with the optic lights...

the 'by right' maximum is 38 tables but i think its gonna be squeezy. i will have 32 and i think it could be a little squeeze already. guess 30 will be just nice. i think you shd visit the hotel to see for yourself.

faintz

Thanks Minssy..

Headache.. We have 35 tables including two VIPs tables.. think going to be squeezy.. I went to grand park royal and the by right capacity is only 32 and I went to see the ballroom and so happened there is a wedding banquet of 30 tables and the chairs are already back-to-back.. This is what I dun wan..

Any idea whether the ceiling is high? If the seats are already squeezy and coupled with a low ceiling, it will be really "cramped" feeling..

Any wedding planner, other then Michelle, who is good ?

taringa

Hi Faintz,

I just had my wedding at Amara a few weeks back. Had about 30 tables+2. Its a little squeezy. But everything was great then. Think 30 tables including your two reserved will be good

faintz

Hi, smiggins

just spoke to michelle.. she said can open up the function rooms or something to cater for up to 45 tables..I will check up with her this weekend. hope everything goes smooth.. tired to source further..

Is the chair back to back for your case with 30 tables + 2? the 30 tables includes your VIPs table and the 2 tables are your reserve tables har?

hi faintz,

sounds like if you want the space to be really comfortable.. then amara may not be the choice for you. if they can open up the function room, try to see if they can provide you with extra screen.

mik

hi faintz,

it's possible to open up the function rooms (connection 3 and 4) to join with the grand ballroom to hold up to 45 tables but it will be an L shaped ballroom. if you don't mind an L-shaped ballroom then you can consider.

the ceiling has optic lights -- the reason they put up the lights -- to distract ppl's attention from the low ceiling.

ashwen

Hi babes,
Jus finally have time to pop in here after my AD on 23 jun.
Overall, we had a good time.
Food:
Most guests gave good comments. I only changed the dessert to yam paste. At first quite worried as Michelle said usually guests dont stay for dessert for wd dinner. may waste the yam paste. But most of my guests actually stay for it.
shark fin's portion was good. they serve the shark fin and the soup separately. mix them in front of guests at the table. but too bad i didnt get to eat it.
Deco:
Granduer theme. Flowers white lilies and red roses. for guests tables, rose petals and floating tea light candles. the red was very striking
Tables:
33+2, was quite squeezy. esp my wedding gown is those big ballgown type so ended up my 1st march in we walked very fast, overtaking each other along the way. 2nd march in was ok, as dress in slim-fit and guests were seated.
Wine:
Brought our own. but heard the waitresses very prompt to refill wine, so we actually finished all the 42 bots. but my guests enjoyed themselves a lot lah...
Service:
the 1st few dishes were served very quickly. some comments they have not finish the food, dishes cleared liao.. but managed to ask them to slow down at abt 5th dish.
Favours:
they didnt upgrade the favours for wd dinner. so last minutes we had to get the favours ourselves. got the contact from michelle. but our own aliasing and own costs. our guests had both chocs and gifts.

ashwen

hi faintz,
if you have 35 tables or more can consider Merchant court, min 32 tables WD and min 38 tables WE. or consider Meritus Mandarin (orchard)
min 35 tables. both have high ceiling and pillarless. The Meritus manager quite flexible with package. but we didn meet the min tables requirement.

hi ashwen,

very good info! i will print out! hee...

btw, mine is also a WD wedding.

1) what time did you start your dinner and what time did it end?
2) were you charged corkage fee since the free corkage is only for 24 bottles?

faintz

Thanks,Ashwen..

We did consider Merchant Court but the thing is our capacity is somewhere in between. Can't meet the 38 tables for merchant and can't fit in the "just nice" capacity of amara..

Maybe consider to reduce the no. of tables to make it spacious for my love ones and friends..

By the way, ashwen, did you open up the full 35 tables or 33 tables with 2 reserved tables being laid out but not opened?

ashwen

hi minssy,
hope my feedback will be help to u guys..
but i only feedback abt the dishes cleared too fast part to michelle.
i started at 845 pm. quite late. as many guests were late. at 1045 pm i went out to stand but guests left at 11 pm... last guest left 1120 pm..
i had free corkage for all wine and hard liq.
if you only have free 24 bot corkage. buy those 'magnum' bottles (bigger, 1 litre) my friend got some in bags form, at 3 litres each.. so can cheat a bit.
hi faintz
2 res table laid but not open. actually still got space lah... mayb remind your helpers to ask guests to make a bit of space for u at the aisle. when walking round to take photo still got space to walk..

ashwen

oh ya... during food tasting we commented their yam basket not nice. so AD they changed to yam ring instead, which was a pleasant surprise. esp. for my mum... she loves yam ring..

hi ashwen,

of cos they are useful

hhhmm, its a WD wedding and yet pple are so late ah? i thought they will be there pretty early cos most will come after work. in fact, i am planning for my dinner to start at 815pm! hee...
so 2 hours dinner will be sufficient hor?

ok i think all of us heard that their yam basket sux big time! haahhah! so is this yam ring nice then?

mik

hi ashwen,
thanks for sharing.
from your feedback about shark fin portion, i'm more at ease. becos we commented on the portion for shark fin during food tasting. wow! the flowers you've chosen sounds lovely. got my heart set on the grandeur theme.
wow! wine seems really popular these days. did you buy magnum bottles for all 42 bottles? can share your wine contacts with me? my email is [email protected]
thanks!! oh! i didn't know can change to yam ring. sounds really interesting! hmmmmmmm.....your starting time got me thinking......maybe some of the guests went home to change after work? that may cause a delay. i hope to start early since it's a monday night.

hi minssy,
heehee. the yam basket with seafood really cannot make it. maybe before food tasting, you can ask to change first before you taste.

hi mikmik,

yeah confirmed passport guarantee chop! hahah! but i just dunnoe what are the dishes i can change.. that i will check with michelle.

mik

hi minssy,
heehee. sounds very final. can change dishes right before you taste so no need to taste not-nice dish.
you can do a direct swop with the crystal seafood delight (from friday's menu)
or else is top up for another dish
or else is scrap the dish and use the amt to top up other dishes like sharks fin, etc.

faintz

Ashwen - your feedback is definately a boost to all the brides here who are going to hold the banquet there..

I haven had a chance to talk to michelle yet but will be meeting her for the first time this weekend.. hope everything smooth.. what are the perks we can try to get?
Mind e-mail me at [email protected]?

Anyone to share their extra perks? pls e-mail me at the above address o..

mik

hi faintz,

how much perks you get will depend on how many tables you book. more tables = more perks. or else is a trade-off. you trade something to get something else in return. i got extra wedding cards and extra parking coupons.

faintz

Oh ya..Anyone got good lobang on video/camera man for ROM cum actual day and dinner and can do up a video clip for our ROM for us to show before the first march in?

faintz

milkmilk - I am thinking of getting free corkage for wine and hard liqor onli.. dun know got chance or not..

anyone of you manage to fight for extra night stay or free flow of beer?

hi mikmik,

ok i will consider scraping the dish.. dunnoe if the seafood delight is nice or not though. think it was mentioned previously in this thread.. shall read the archives..

hi faintz,

why dun you visit the hotel first, see what they have, and then compare and negotiate from there. if you have more tables, i am sure you can negotiate for more stuff...

clouds

hi minssy, after reading this thread than i realised your WD is in Amara too? when will you be going for food tasting ah?

hi clouds,

yah i already find you familar man! haahahh! high five!!

i plan to go in early aug. your AD is in oct rite? so have you gone for your food tasting? anyway, i value ashwen's, mikmik's & chatterbox comments so confirm i will change the yam thingy. hahah!

clouds

hi minssy... ya.. i will go foodtasting this month end.. wah like that.. i will have to look at my menu again.. i can't remember my dishes liao...

hi clouds,

i dunnoe what package you are in but well, i find the constraints of 6 pax, 6 dishes very boring. its like, i will choose to taste the first 6 dishes (that means excluding the vege, lotus rice & dessert) but it will be nice if i am try the dessert too cos i wanna change to a cold dessert. anyway, dun think they will be so kind to throw in complimentary. haahhhahh!

mik

hi faintz,
free-flow beer only for weekdays, if i'm not wrong. as for weekends, you can bargain and see how...for wine cockage, i had only 24 bottles waived. guess you can bargain and see how. hard liqour cockage is all waived for duty-paid hard liqour.

hi minssy,
i read jolene's feedback so i dropped the idea of swopping for crystal seafood delight. we had confirmed to top up to change the dish.
if you want cold dessert, can ask for mango pudding, almond jelly or sago honeydew. =)

hi mikmik,

noted on the desserts... thanx! though i will not be eating the yam stuff but i hate it and i dowan to have it during the dinner. haahahh!

ya know what. i told my FH that i wanna sweet & sour pork. then he say abit cheapskate. haahahahh! dunnoe if that can replace the totally CMI yam ring. i wanna check with michelle when she is back. she will be back on sat, 16 july.

mik

hi minssy,

you're welcome. =)

heehee. can ask and see whether amara can replace for you. how about sweet & sour spare ribs? i know of some hotels serving spare ribs instead of seafood basket. got flavours like coffee spare ribs.

hi mikmik,

oohh that sounds nice! i ate that once in a 'yu jia zhuang' in suntec and loved it!!! ok shall check with michelle. hope they can do as well as yu jia zhuang! hee

clouds

hi minssy... i dun know how many course is my foodtasting leh.. cos mine, i have to pay for the food-tasting.. so i suppose should be for 10 pax..??

mik

hi minssy,
wow! sounds really yummy! =) me never tried "yu jia zhuang" before.

hi clouds,
can email michelle to check. previously i was quoted $50+++/pax for additional pax on top of food tasting session. my session was a complimentary food tasting for 6pax to taste 6 courses. hope this info helps!

hi clouds,

oh.. then its different package leh. mine is only for any 6 dishes for 6 pax (including FH & me). heard that it you wan extra pple to go, it will be at $50+++. faint.

i think mikmik had checked the prices ... yah very ex. its meant to be free one what. why shd they charge rite? sometimes i tell my friends that though amara is nice, but their perks sucks. hahahahha