A Place for Singles

NABEH leh HBH!!!
Hng!! Dun think that I in Kang Kong Land dunno u still say me hor!! hng hng!!

Transiting at the airport now.. still got chance to come in here to NABEH HBH lor..

anyone miss me? whahahah.

latino.....skylar just bought a plot of land....she's going to have grow KK there....and export them!

skylar....rem to bring some samples back for the emperor.

kekekeke....

Folks...check your email....

Morning!

just finished my weekly morning meeting...sian man

Half day today!

well i guess not so much of dying, but the pple here progressing to different stages of their lives... and looking at the past year, it does put a smile on my face to see the positive changes that has been happening with everyone, in particular Rara... dun know if i'm old or what, but it's like watching a little sister growup and experiencing new things that i've never had the chance to... well, like i said, puts a smile on my face...

this thread is probably one of the most unpretentious genuine and sincere threads which feels like home.

not bad... with my post, this thread is still ahead by abt 440posts from Chatters, hehe... not that i'm monitoring but it's nice to see pple mingle and share from mundane to exciting to totally irrelevant stuff like old frens at a coffeeshop...

me old man liao, so like an old man... normally just stick to the own kopi-kakis... old man cannot move around too much... bone brittle, body fragile... old man also type alot... "nong nong time ago..."

Powder, the way u talk like Siao-ge... kept on saying Old man liao.. LOL

can join me mah... so you will talk and act like a young man.. (oops probably like a adult btw 30's) keke

your english very cheem.. so me wld like to learn from you.. Sifu..

uncle powder, ya u old liao... why so 'aww.....' (omg I can't find an appropriate word!) today?
give me honourary mention somemore. i very easily gum dong one leh... putting a smile on ur face at the expense of bringing tears to my eyes! :p

but speaking of which, last night, coincidentally, i revisited the thread i began last jan. almost did post about how i thot this is the best decision i've made in my life so far but decided not to dig up a dead thread. a whole lot of mixed emotions emerged reading what a struggling me wrote a year ago in contrast to the person i am now. nevertheless, it's all for the better and i always know i have u guys to thank.

p/s: it's scary how u guys were so accurate in the positive changes i would experience upon coming here!

the prata thread shud've come up last nov when i was suffering from foodsickness. i'm sure all craving for sg food would've ceased instantly upon reading the posts there.

delinbb,

call me old man hor... but dun call me ah-siao or siao... i not siao like him... he young man, very siao... my engrish not cheem lah, just that uncle once awhile add cheem word to make myself sound cheem, but actually i very shallow...

haha Rara, wanted to write your 感触 rite? hehe. not sure if i even got the chinese rite, but dun care lah u catch ball can liao...

well that's life, many pple pass your path and u cross many pple's paths... it's always nice to remember all good, bad and beautiful...

be thankful with wat you have now...wat you have achieved now...the unhappiness will soon be forgotten....everyday is a new beginning....new hope

and I am still waiting for the day to get you drunk! hahahaha............

nice to meet u too...

the blur-queens are the ones who typically get their way... so the smart ones will always act blur...

powder, i share your sentiments. unlike nong nong time ago where there is always a new topic every few days, nowadays, this thread is alot quieter but not dead. occasionally i will revisit our old thread and that always put a smile on my face..

yes, the regulars hv gone on to other things and not that no one bothers abt SINGLES any more. if there is an occasional BIG BASH to meet up, i am sure many will still try to turn up..erm except that LOUSY you la. hahaha :P

i know what you mean when you wrote " this thread is probably one of the most unpretentious genuine and sincere threads which feels like home. "

i remember the many times i wanted to use so many harsh words in other threads yet held back, but i brought them to Singles. though i was 'barking' at the wrong tree, it's a place where i could unlash my thoughts yet no one gave a hoot to what i wrote.. kekeke

in fact, sometime RARA's presence in this thread do bring many of us (esp those buried under all all those work) back to this thread for a few posts and a few laughs. it's like a family gathering with all our banterings...hahaha

Rara, you may be the youngest among us, but you are indeed our little SUNSHINE all the way from Jepun !! kekeke. hey woman, you not coming back to SG yet???

damn powder!! you kept calling yourself OLD MAN. but you are not a day older than your age la... ok, sometimes i also cannot tahan your cheong hei posts and cheem logic. after a hard day's work, reading your post and trying to understand your reasonings really make my head spin..kekeke i persevered cos there is always something to learn from you...kekeke

but i salute you for keeping your advice coming and in the midst of getting flamed. wonder how you can emphatise with the many hardships and emotional ups and downs from forumers. i know i cant, maybe i am jaded...hahah. were you a female in your previous life????

well, seems i hv gone all sentimental. powder, it's all your fault !!!!! :P

hmmmpppphhhhh!

Do we have to get sentimental now? I dun want the memories keep flashing back when I am at work. hahahaha.....

although some have started to sneak up into my head

Latino, u very cheong hei leh... hehe.

actually i mentally i'm pretty old, my body is simply the house for my mind... young or old or crippled doesn't matter... lucky enough that i have a body liao...

well to answer your question our country is moving forward and many pple are falling back without knowing it. not just financially, but emotionally many seem to be moving backwards... i guess the way our country brings us up, we're bound to show little independence. some pple still think being independent is about spending their own money and taking care of their own living.

emotionally many are babies, financially many are teenagers. maybe it's the way our country has been... almost half of us are frogs in wells without knowing that we are, simply becos our country Isn't. sad fact is - we're NOT in line with our country's progress...

anyway i'm an uncle becos i always grab opportunity to remind pple of that.

hee hee powder, i cant beat you so i join you in being cheong hei. the difference is, you are intelligently cheong hei, while i am naggy cheong hei..more like 'auntie-fied'...kekeke

you mentioned - "some pple still think being independent is about spending their own money and taking care of their own living." well, that's what i think too. i mean, i dont expect our govt or our future children to look after us. ultimately, it is still our own responsibility.

recently many of us got some money from govt for some GST offset. to me, it's like 'wow, got extra money in the bank...cannot complain'. other than this, what else hv i missed out??

just the other day, i was in a cab and my friends were talking abt migrating to other countries like US or AUS and how life would be so much better. remember we had a thread on this recently? well, as usual, i shared that SG is home and i will never leave this place. as usual, our taxi driver joined in and added abt our ministers' pay increase, increase in this and that. i told him, what to do, hv to accept increase, grumble also no use. he replied that i should think abt our next generation. i told him, i am single, i dont hv next generation.

well, speaking out loud, i just accept what the govt provides. i am just thankful many of us can own homes unlike those in other countries. now, i only hope i hv enough for my retirement that's why i am cheonging so hard these days.. esp with the increased in rental of space. maybe i am just too complacent. maybe i am just too shallow...i dont question...more like i am too lazy to think...hahaha

would i still vote for our govt at the next election? the answer is a sure YES.

well, like you said "almost half of us are frogs in wells without knowing that we are, simply becos our country Isn't." i am probably one of the many frogs in the well.... hahaha

over to you, uncle powder...kekekeke

ohayo!!

wah yesterday is what day huh? everybody so sentimental and reminiscing old times. :p

salsa, haha u can try getting me drunk if u pay for the drinks
my record here is 2 beers, or 1 beer + 2 other alcoholic drinks tho i dunno high the alcoholic content is. still not drunk. ;p but i only drink non-bitter stuff hor. haha.

latino, i dun wanna go home yet leh. one winter not enuff!! hopefully at least another one or two. lol. have some plans in mind and hoping they go well. ;p

huh!! serious... i've seen some pictures taken by people who've gone up in it liao. and most of their captions wrote 'is this my country Singapore?', 'never knew Singapore looked so beautiful' etc. lol. but the beautiful bright cityscape at night is something that i def can't find here. it's amazing what having A LOT of lampposts on the roads can do!

sigh... no more lessons for the day. rot for 6hrs to go home.

Latino, dun see me too up... me got a long way to go.

actually frens who went Oz for over 5yrs are actually coming back... there's actually alot of pros and cons on either side of the fence, just need to pick one that is justifiable and relevant. Other pple's well-thought out reasons may not be your conveniently-picked-from-others reasons.

anyway no need to complain abt what other pple make, whether gov or non-gov... everyone makes their own life, we should do that too. if got so much time to discuss other pple's salary, mightt as well use the time to better one's own income.

actually being independent is when u can... not only take care of yourself, but your family and loved ones too. we seem to forget we're the next generation and have the responsibility to look after the previous generation. thus we spend more time and money on ourselves and have alot of time to bitch abt petty relationship matters... all these should be secondary.

"if got so much time to discuss other pple's salary, mightt as well use the time to better one's own income."

Exactly. Envy itself doesn't justify anything.... overtime, i think it just puts down one's belief in his/her abilities to earn as much, or even more.
Well.... instead i just use powder's 300k/annum as a benchmark to stretch myself.... kekeke.

About our govt..... all i can say is that they...

get damned if they don't.
get damned if they do.

And the coffeeshop talk will always exist.... we've just gotten our letter re. GST credits and monies? i'm sure there are ppl who'll complain about their share....

wah u like tat say, pple might get the wrong idea tat powder getting 300k/annum leh... u should say powder's advocate of 300k per annum as benchmark.

but yalor, i think 300k is a good aim... should provide for a comfortable life til we retire...

me always say "aim for sky - fall on tree. aim for tree - fall on ground"

rara, good that you are enjoying yourself. take your time to come back. you are only young once. anyway update us on your coming plans ok..

powder, not that i see you so up and of course you hv a long way more to go...you still so young. you hv an old mind in a young body.

a friend once told me, if i want to increase my revenue, is to visualise $xxxx in my bank account. true or not, i am working on this....hahahaha...

Oh... It's time for eulogies har? Ok, ok. I wld like to thank ebelybuddy here. For simply being there during my dark times.
*whips out light sabre*

Frenship has moved up a notch on my priority list now. I've definitely moved a long way since a year plus ago (though not as far as Rara. :P). Done a few things I din think possible a year ago. I'm ready for more of life's challenges. Bring it on!!