A Place for Singles

boasting about hubby's financial spending on them is like boasting about how rich our fathers are and comparing wealth that we did not make ourselves.

very disappointing indeed to see that our nation has progressed but some dun. worse is if these same ladies want to prove that they are better than men and engage in such topics, but end of the day, they wanna use their men's money to talk big. seriously disappointing...

to think someone paid 30k for a 2-carat when actually kena carrot liao. blah blah... sori i just bitching... and venting my frustrations

*fanning powder* chill la... no need to get worked up.. I just find it darn amusing... Ya it's sad that there are such weirdos ard but then again, it's their hbs's money and if their hbs are named roberts, that's their problem...

It's not juz our nation lah. Am sure it's a worldwide trend. There are probably those who think us damn stupid for not 'making use' of our hb's monie. We're not Teresa Cheung wannabes.

Ya ya.. u want?? But powderful isn't here to take orders leh... I will take 2 double choc, 2 mint dark choc & 2 reaspberry filling. U wanna take the other 6?? How much har? $1+ each?

laundry.. that woman scary.. she can spend thousands on a meal...

ggal.. i'm ok.. i think $12 per box... i only wan the double choc, whie choc and raspberry ones...

Ceci ok but u need to specify the qty or issit 2 each like mine? In that case means:

Ggal/Ceci's box:
4 double choc
4 raspberry
2 mint choc
2 white choc

Must bring own box or can they provide extra boxes so we can split??

Wanna consolidate? G~gal, does urs include ur earlier order?

5 double choc
5 raspberry
4 mint choc
2 white choc --> tis white choc is which one?
1 blueberry glazed
1 coffee roast almond

Tio boh?

Laundry - Donuts Coordinator

No no.. Laundry, ceci and my box are ours...

BTW, no more orders accepted liao... :P Dun worry, powderful got all the orders liao..

Head count:

1. Ceci
2. Ggal
3. Salsa
4. Laundry
5. Ah siao
6. Powderful
7. Skylar ?? (where is she??)
8. SM?? (where is he??)

Part 2: all the above + Latino

OK. I should be there.

As usual I can pick up at MRT - nearest one - outram or tiong bahru or redhill. Prefer not to go into the biz district to avoid the jams.

to add on to powder's earlier posts -

a mother came to see me one day, she talks abt her gal gal so pretty and clever, can get such a rich bf. her boy boy doing some degree course and just became a daddy and got such a cute little baby gal who is so very cute n intelligent (this one i cant deny, the babe is really cute
). then went on to say, her husband so pamper her, buy this and that for her, show me diamond rings, earrings, handbags etc. went on to tell me the price for each item. she continues to tell me her husband will do this and that for her. her husband will buy this car and that car for gal gal and boy boy.

her gal gal told me abt the new furniture in the house. even their toilet paper are not ordinary, must match with the deco in the toilet.

i smiled, nodded and replied to mother - wah, you so lucky hor, your gal gal and boy boy so capable hor. wah you so lucky hor, got such a wonderful husband hor. wah you very blessed hor, keep moving from small house to big house to bigger house blah blah.

i replied to gal gal - wah you all so meticulous har, toilet paper also must match. wah so clever, managed to find such matching toilet paper.

when i met her husband one day, i said - wah your wife is all praise for you, you are such a loving couple. he said, yeah we are but she is very dependant on me, cannot do things on her own.

the 'mother' here is a housewife - her life revolves around her family. the more i praise her, the happier she becomes and the more she will spend.

to each his own. there are all types of ppl. and this is only one type.. so day in, day out, i say what is politically correct. geez, i sound like a BIMBO !! sigh !!

just last week, i was at a salon hoping to get pampered but got tortured instead !! the lady boss attended to me. she was talking very loudly to the customer next to me abt her house and condo she bought and renting out, abt how capable her sons are... blah blah. Oh no, not again, i told myself.

the customer told lady boss - wah you so capable, can do head-to toe services for ladies. woman money, all earn ka liao.

at the same time, lady boss hurted me with her roughness and i got a cut. me, this customer, just rolled my eyes and grumbled to myself. wah lau, talk so much, i want to zzzzz also cannot !! ta ma de !!

aunty latino wears a $10 watch n $10 bag from toa payoh central, t-shirts from giordano and bugis village, sandlers never more than $20, $20 hair cut and steam by my aunty, travels around by my kar no. 11 (ie my legs). wah, i am such a cheapo hor??!! hehehe

very long story cos i am still so awake at this hour !! kekeke

Morning peeps...

Haha.. Latino.. v amused by ur story, but yes.. it takes all kinds to make this world and so there will be bimbos and aunties.. As u pointed out, that customer of urs is a housewife.. she got nothing to talk abt except herself and her family. That's their life in a well...

latino,

one thing i dislike is pple talking abt things they didn't achieve themselves. notice the gender who enjoy engaging in such talk? hehe.. sori.

hehe, powder. i know what you mean. Due to their lack of self-achievements, the exact 'achievement' in these tai-tais' life, is being the wives of their nice,rich,pampering and carroted hubbies mah.

Haha..

Ok, battle of the sexes!!

Wat abt those loser hubbies who live off their wives?
Ok, ok, no end to tis. Like G~gal mentioned, they are housewives. Wat else do u expect to talk abt during their taitai outings? It's 1 thing to brag & compare abt their luxuries, it's another to argue abt their entitlement. Their lives revolve around their hubbies & families. Why shldn't they be rewarded for the sacrifices they make? Coz they did not achieve those things themselves? Wat abt those hubbies who actually ask their wives to give up their careers to be housewives?

it's a sacrifice ONLY if u have sacrificed something Better. if u have jumped from something worse, it's known as a Lifeline. and if u know u're just lucky, dun brag abt it.

of cos the hubbies whio ask wife to give up career is another thing altogether lah...

C'mon la.. u think those taitais "look after" their kids? They have a maid (or 2 or 3) to do all the housework, cook, feed their kids, while they themselves go for high-tea, shopping, spa and whatnots.. they dun do shit for their kids but they get the credit for being SAHMs? BS... There's no sacrifice..

I'm thinking of my fren who stopped working to take care of her children, at the request of her hb. She was still quite young then so not much of a career. Izit a sacrifice? Loss of watever little income she had, I guess it was. But she has everything today tat I'm envious of. 2 bratty boys (
) & a loving (though sometimes gong-gong) hubby.

We all agree tat bragging is uncalled for lah. I'm juz uncomfortable with the entitlement linked to self-achievement part.

Actually, I really wonder how taitais spend their day. I'll go senile in no time.

hehe, find a rich husband and enter into a 3yrs marriage contract to find out. drop the kids so that u dun have loose ends... keke

honestly we never know wat goes on in pple's minds. to me 'Sacrifice' is a relative term... some pple hide behind that word to hide their insecurities about the future and lack of confidence in themselves. Some Really sacrifice... i'm not there to judge, but i love to point out.

I don't think such talks between women about being pampered are restricted to aunties. I have heard it in a lift between two very power-dressed women - presumably female executives - and one of them was telling the other about her anniv gift - a diamond ring worth 10s of thousands - and I guess it is immaterial if the woman is able to afford it herself because the joy is telling other women how much their HB is willing to splurge on them.

Ok. *hangs myself up to sell*

Give pple the benefit of the doubt lah. It heals the world & makes it a better place for u & for me & the entire human race. Hahahha...

Sm, is the lady hao-lianing or sharing her delight? Got difference leh. Heheh.

laundry,

Can't really tell but - it was just like a casual conversation. She was not really boasting nor exceedingly happy - I guess she was just comparing notes with her colleagues to see who got the bigger diamond for their anniv?

powder, I beg to differ slightly. For modern women, if they can be financially independent (ie they are capable of getting a good job and feed themselves), having them stay at home to take care of the kids is a form of sacrifice. Because she will lose the working experience and also she is taking a risk as marriages may not last forever. It would be disastrous if her HB discard her when she is in middle-age - no skills, no nothing and I guess possibly she need to build her insurance.

Ya.. I guess if the woman loves her job, it wld be deemed a sacrifice to give up her career and be a full time mum.

Well to me, no matter whether it's intentional to haolian or not, talking abt money or money-related stuff is pretty crass to me. Only the noveau riche wld do that. I've never seen an "old money" person talk that way...

sm, i know modern ladies are capable of doing that. if u haven't noticed, there's been quite a number going around discussing allowances and other stuff when they're more than capable as modern women. so they want their cake and eat it too... and now u want me to give them extra curry puffs by saying that they are sacrificing?

no self-respecting woman is gonna try to have all 3.

i'd gladly be the stay-home hubby if my wife can get my level of income.

Wah.. how come today our thread like so serious har?? Where are the fun-loving pple?? Kekeke.. Send in the clowns leh...Or else must wait till Fri to TCSS?? Zzzz

ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO EVERYONE! I AM BACK! HAAAA......

ah siao bored..ah..where is everybody!

Ggal....hullo *hugs*

Any interesting topics these days?

bleddy hell, account suspended due to a screw up in my email change and moderator no do work...never respond to my request for reactivation...

So now have to use this glamed-down and ungay nick design...