88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

Hi mei mei,
do u print the cards for ur cmf tables, or also print for the reserve tables? cos i also want to fax over the when i cmf my guest list.

Hi Questy / Mei Mei
I have one question here.... How to I prepare my guest list? Erm... I mean the list we always get to see when we go to a wedding dinner and the coordinator will look at it to tell which table we are seated.... it's kind of like in Excel format... So, does that mean we need to get the restaurant layout (which table is at where) from the restaurant?

hi questy
i've received the draft abt the cards liao.. will start printin after i sign back

btw wat u mean by the reserve table??

hi butter
hehe.. thanks for ur compliment
ya my hubby skinny skinny one.. he's quite quiet too.. its juz the photographer make us laugh.. haha i have fun durin my PS.. we went to changi and tanah merah for outdoor.. dun wan sentosa coz the place too popular liao.. =) will be waitin for ue pics

u will get the layout once u pay ur deposit..

Hi mei mei
Did you go for night shooting? I think it looks nice... especially by the beach... sun set... so romantic... (compensate for having a boring FH)... hee hee....

Hi butter,
i think i'll put all the names in alphbatical order, then the table number beside, is it suppose to be like tat? of cos must seperate into bride and groom side too, so eaiser to see.

Hi mei mei,
i hving 28+2 tables. tat means 28 cmf tables, and 2 reserve tables which we need not pay for if no one sits there. so i was thinking if i can ask them to print the cards for the reserved tables for me, just incase i need to use them.

I hvn get the layout yet leh, even when i paid the deposite long time ago, u hv a copy to email to me? he....!

ok.. i will scan then email u but can i have ur email add?? hehe
hey i think they will put the reserved sign on the table one.. so dun worry

btw do u think i should tell donny that one of my frd ( that will be u ) will be havin her dinner there so that he will provide good service for u??

hi butter
we did wait for sun set.. taken a few with the sun set
so happy..

Hi mei, mei,
no loha, i mean the invitation card for the reserve table, i'll call them to ask, he....!

Thanks! Donny will be the MC for the night rgt? or r u hving ur own MC? I apparently hv no plans for my banquet leh, how hah? i'm just leaving it to the restaruant coordinators....

Hi butter,
Donny is vivien's supervisor, tat should be higher rank than vivien loh...

Hi butter,
I've only had a brief chat with Donny, but i think i can get good perks with vivien, so dun knw if Doony can also give good perks, must chk with mei mei liao.

Actually the service there quite flexiable, i was worried for not hving wnough invi ards, and the lady, Ivy, promised to give me up to 200 cards, so i'm glad i choose 88 restaurant now, quite hassel free, he...!

hi questy
sent liao..
ivy call me and say my cards will be ready in 2 weeks haha.. happy
i'm not too sure whether donny is the MC onot leh.. leave everything to them

btw wat perks u get from them huh??

hi butter
donny is the manager

Hi mei mei,
Got the mail, thanks a million!!

When u sending out the cards? I'm going to fax in my form mayb by next week, if not sure will be tempted to add on tables, he....!

Hi gal,

Planning to have my dinner at Dragon gate. Any feedback?

88 restaurant is too small for my no. of guests.

Hi mei mei,
forgot to answer u, it's some minor things like the voucher cos i dun want the hotel room, think got free cockage (cun remember bargain for this ornot), more invi cards, the candles..... I think the greatest perk is vivien helping me to tame my MIL, ha.....! Do we actually get any perks? i just wonder, he......! It's rather standard things tat we requested. what abt u

the same lor.. hehe
btw saw ur thread in Oct bride seein the kai photographer..but he's not free on my AD so he intro simon.. is he good?? think will meet him next wed to see his work lor..

Hi bluey,
Had my dinner at Dragongate in Jan this yr... food wise not bad... but too many pillars... And dun ever ever take their emcee... really lousy!
Other than tat, the ambience quite good esp during the march-in...

Just to share something....
Here's a picture of my recept table at Dragongate... most of my friends commented that the recept table is very nice!

109309.jpg

Hi Hoshi5
Quite romantic like this... got candles some more... Care to share with us your wedding pic? hee hee... maybe can just put on up here for us to admire?

Hi butter,
y not u give me ur email add, and I will forward the link to u?...

Cannot see the photo clearly... but the centre candles are the chinese words 'Xi'...

Hi hoshi5,
Ur recept table is veyr nce, did u do it urself or dragon provided all these candles for u? can i view ur pics too? my email is [email protected]

Hi mei mei,
can i also view ur pics for the PS?

hi bluey
emcee is the person who will be Hosting: ur dinner that night... the person who will be standing on the stage and ask pple to stand up to welcome the couples... etc

Hi mei mei,
Got ur pics, really "mei mei" loh, he.....! u nv do anything for ur hair? letting it down during ur dinner? i was told tat i need to bun up my hair for the evening, cos my EG is bare-back one. I also wearing a purple EG, but it's dark purple. Remember to let us see ur PS pics when u got it k, I'll let u see mine when i done with my PS too, he....!

I'm not sure abt simon, but Kai's ok loh, very friendly. The pics he'll show u r the very very nice ones, i saw my friend's pics, and we all agreed tat he did a better shots for the dinner. Overall is pretty ok. I think he'll let u see Simon's work, if u like it, then it's ok. Dun mention u knw me k, then see what he says, then we can discuss more abt them, he.....!

hi questy
i've post my PS link in the oct bride liao.. u can take a look there

my hair is let down on my PS coz is more casual but i think on the AD the MUA will help me style lor..
btw do we need to pay Kai 1st if we want to sign up with them??
thanks huh

Hi Mei Mei,
Just seen ur pics, very nice and romantic leh! especially the 2nd last pic at the "deck" there, so nice.............! U sure u want to reject tat piece, tk it lah, he....!

U just need to send then 20% of the total package by chq and the signed contract which Kai had sent through by email. I think the reminder will be paid when receiving the pics.

Hi mei mei,
I think u can, but i told him i'll consider, so when we agreed with the terms, he'll send me a contract via email. after reading through the contract and agree with it, i'll sign and send over a chq with it, the amount u need to pay is also stated in the contract.

hey gals..
i can go collect my cards liao.. hehe
fast hor.. really 2 weeks only leh.. goin to collect them this weekend

hi questy
done ur preparation already?

Hi all..
Learnt alot from you gals, need assistant..
I'll be holding my dinner at 88 too. Am actually bothered by the march-in lay out, expect it to be straight instead of 'L' shape. I understand they will use the spot light to guide thru the march-in, as the walk way I'm cracking my head. Cos I'm having 33+2 tables and according to vivien, is kinda cramp. Imaging my march-in with gown, means I got to be careful not to knock unto those tables & chairs.. I Even thought of using flower stands to at least 'highlight' is a march-in walk way, but it'll be costly. so HELP!! any suggestion ?? oh ya my day is coming Nov.

Thks in advance ;)

Hi mei mei,
i working liao so very very busy loh, no time to come in everyday......

I still amending the draft for the card, think cna cmf for printing soon. I already cmf AD photographer and pgrm, the rest is a blur vision for me, ha....! think got to do very last minute liao cos i dun even hv time to sleep ah, he.....!

Hi favgemz,
why not u line the path with luminous sticks, then the path will be very significant in the dark. Or u ask ur friend to stand at the turing points or corners to guide u if u tend to sway away from ur path, dun worry too much abt it k, think we'll hv rehersal before the march past. ur wedding is before us, share ur experience with us k, he....!

Hi Questy..
Tks for your reply & time spent..
i thought yr day & the others is ahead of me ??
mine is on Nov 04 leh..
agree with you, shouldn't worry too much. u know la once in a life time thing..
Actually mine is a long story, 88 is our last resort, we jux cfm our wedding end of may (2004 hor)..
after reading all your exchanges, it eases my mind & i felt relief... thks to you gals for sharing, appreciated !

<font color="0000ff">favgemz</font>, dun think using of flowers is neccessary cos it will make the area more cramp and it might block the view of your guests. Actually, the walkway is still alright. The only problem u will had is while taking photos cos table are quite near to each other.

Trust me, it is still ok when u walked in. For you, ur surronding is very dark, rem to follow the spot light. But to the guests, goosh, u and ur dear will be in the limelight. It is really very clear base on the guests' viewpoint.

MMmmm....tks Ocean..
can visualize now, looks great! care to share did u gals decorated or intend to decorate the stage?

Hi favgemz,
oh yea, ha....! sorry i super blur liao, my mind was too occupied with work, he...! actually 88 was also my last resort too, cos i also had major story behind it, he..! but iwas glad i got 88, cos the managers and pple there are all very friendly and helpful..... I'm not doing any extra deco for the night, cos no one will actually remember it after the night, he....! and i may also wun knw what's happening as things will be a blur for us, he...! just commenting from my experinece from my ROM, cun remember much, too nervous liao, he...!

hi ladies..
me collected my cards already
now writin names hehe.. :p left with food tasting and GDL :p so excited nw.. left only abt 3months hehe

hi mei mei,
my auntie actually went 88 yesterday for wedding dinner, and she comment tat the food and service is not bad, and she liked the idea of lighting the unity candles. But one thing she noted was there's no number stand on the table, it was a vangard sheet folded into cylinder with number on it, so what do u think?

hi questy
i think i will make do with it coz dun intend to spend more money :p juz hope that the food and service is good

so hw abt u?

Hi all, I'm interested in holding my wedding banquet at 88 too. is it true that the walkway is a L shape? Will it be very weird to suddenly turn when u walk in?

hi elmo..
hmm.. actually its alrite lor.. as the hall is not too big mah.. have to walk quite a long straight line b4 u turn to the stage so as for me its ok..

me went food tasting today :p
the food is not bad.. quite good service oso.. one thing that make me very happy is that vivian did make an effort to call the restaurant even though she got something urgent and have to leave so she didnt stay for me to go.. attended by Asst captain named jennifer.. she is nice lady
and change my dessert to honeydew sago instead of the lotus seed coz my guests mostly youngster
so excited liao.. still got 2 1/2 months to go

I found all your feedback are really useful. i hv mine to share and wish to receive feedback from you gals.

i m planning to hv 2 wed din. 1 at M hotel for my friends and the other at 88 for relatives. many of them told me i will be very tired to hold 2 dins but i personally feel this is once in a lifetime and furthermore i dun find it a hassle. So i wondering wed preparing isnt fun mah?? wat u gals tin? Or mayb i hv not experience tat so i m positive towards tis idea.

hi jennifer
actaully i find that preparation is fun leh.. hehe male me busy too but its all worth it coz its my own wedding mah..
me also no experience in this so juz ask around lor.. hehe
so my advice to u is that JUST ENJOY the process

Hi Mei Mei,

Ya, i guess the min. is 28 tables. So it should not be too cramped? Is there anything I must look out for when negotiating the package? So you think it is better to talk to the Vivian mentioned in the thread? Cos whenever i call the restaurant, I'm always attended by a male, so dunno if I can get Vivian or not. Or must I specifically ask to speak to her? Might be going down this weekend to look at the restaurant's deco for a wedding banquet.

Sigh, my fiance doesn't seem concern about where the banquet is held. Seems like I'm the only one planning about it.