6.5 or 7 kg front load washer, which model is good?

reighman

Dun worry so much. Brandt looks really good IMO, except that I might be biased against them based on my past experience, so dun have to take my word for it. In any production lines, there is always the possibility of producing a lemon from every 100 machines Brandt made. And my poor Thomson happened to be that lemon!

ridhwan82

good choice nick i personally like the bosch 20260.

i even got my fren who ordered the 18060 to change it to the 20260. cos its way better than the other my just a mere 80 bucks in terms of spin speed and also the delay function.

yup i would defintely recommend bosch wae 20260.

yeah even my poor thomson the new one 938 also suddenly cannoty fill water in.. i also blur then when i told the person he also dunno whats happening. and its only 9 months old. never had i encounter such problem with myt previous thomsons.

poor thomson haiz. but okie lah at least it doesnt give me much problem just duno why canot fill water. my conclusion is .. electronic controls are very good in terms of features they give you .. but mechanical controls give yous the best reliability over electronic control.

my previous models are those mechanical movement type.. only this one is the new digitronic system then haiz....

ridhwan82

hi sun7,

that 08871a .. that a good choice that you made choosing the premium line of washer.. but be careful yeah its not made in france its from turkey okie.

onloy their top loads are from france. its clearly imprinted on the front fascia.

i would hpwever would get the higher spin speed model. that would be better.. in case where i would want to add a dryer in the future.. then i do not have to really see if a change in spin speed is better.

cos previous machine spun only at 750rpm and its not that dry.. relatviely wet. and when i changed to the now 1100rpm. waah the difference is a lot.

the timings from the usual timing of about 80 mins drop to something around 60+ only.. thats a lot considering that i would need to wash 3 times and dry 3 times. everyday! thats a saving of electreivity of about 1hour!

but its your call yeah.

ridhwan82

hi snoowypooh,

well if you have a dryer then probably you would not have to hang out anymore?

yeah like my house. its been like 10 years since i lst hung anything outside on that bamboo pole.

well you can get the washer first and then the dryer later. but i know that if you are going to wash king sised quilt thats quite tough to fit that budget. cos i know at best a 7kg washer might not be able to fit that load. though i know a 6.5kg can easily handle a queen sized quilt.

i would still think a sepearet washer and dryer would work best for you long term wise. yeah..

but its just my personal opinion yeah>

sun7

hi ridz,

thanks for yr advise and i had bought it. so not the whole machine made in france, where can i notice it as u mention front fascia ???

ridhwan82

hi sun7,

its printed on the fascia near the power button if i am not wrong.. this online catalogue sucks pictures not hi res.

anyway i will see if i pass by any shops on the way home and see where they imprinted the made in france. i know its very clearly visible.

MADE IN TURKEY wahaha.. but i think its near the power button on the right most part somewhere there...

ridhwan82

oh yeha what is the size of your quilt.. i forgot to ask. if you are getting one?

is it queen?> if its queen and those cool type quilt shouldnt be a problem. but if those warm type.. then hmm might be a squeeze.

snowypooh

Hi Ridz, thanks for the advice. Guess I'll either have to increase my budget or settle for just a washer first. Or be the guinea pig for that LG washer cum dryer combo lor. Hehe...

sun7

hi snowypooh,

wanna share with you, i bought brandt washer at $999/- for 7 kg. model WF_8771 , you can go and hve a look if you want a harvey norman at millenia walk. not available at all branches.

ridhwan82

thats a washer only.. with 800rpm on spin speed variable.. but is under the premium range with a lot of features.. namely the opti a 45 which give you a 40 degrees wash in about 45 mins full load. for very slightly soiled items

ridhwan82

bosch.

cos this bosch has 1000rpm plus delay start. and express wash of 15 mins.

compared to electrolux which is i think at 850rpm.. and no delay start if i am not wrong

yzxyzx

Thanks ridz.

I read some review on Electrolux saying if there is coin /botton left, it will block the outer bowl. Is is true?

How about bosch? Is this a common problem for all the front loading WM?

yzxyzx

Hi, Ridz

How abount Electrolux 1087? as it also has 1000rpm.

If both price are around 1K, which one will you recommend?

ridhwan82

hi yzxyzx,

what do you mean by coins outer bowl. i dun get your question.

anyway the delay start is used for you to make the machine start the wash hours later after you have switched it on.

because if clothes after they are washed and spun and after the end of the cycle, you do not remove it as soon as possible, a lot of creasing occurs and also clothes can smell bad.

so to prevent that for example if you want to wash clothes before you leave house in the morning but want it to start later.

you use the delay start for it to start washing like probably at 5pm so that when you reach home at say 7pm the clothes is just nice fininshed washing and watiting for you to remove them.

instead of waiting for it to just start wshing..or even starting the wash int he morning and only to remove it in the evening by the time whicht he clothes will strart to smell..

ridhwan82

as for

EWF1087 vs WAE 20260.

i would go for wae 20260.

well this is just my opinion yeah.
i would go for bosch,

1) bosch has more specialty wash programmes than electrolux.
2) bosch uses lesser water than electrolux. bosch at 62 while electrolux at 68. (electricity. bosch stands to be a bit better by a very small margin)
3) im not too sure if the electrolux has the delay start but sure is a plus point for bosch.
4) electrolux only has quickwash which is a shorter wash cycle but still takes about 1 hour or so. boshc has express 15 mins for like those very lightly soiled clothes like business shirts probably can wash around 6 or so in 15 mins.
5)and finally bosch is based on german technology so yeah i trust german technologyu they are tops.

but electrolux isnt too bad either i must say yeah.

ridhwan82

yes thats correct.. bosch that model in singapore is a 7kg washer. so yeah thas why i did not highlight it in the comparison with electrolux.

blurryzz

Hi Ridz,

Not sure if this thread is still opened. I am comparing between Bosch 20260 model and Whirlpool 9365 model.

Can give some advice which is better?
-Heard that Bosch 20260 is assembled in thailand and whirlpool is assembled in UK. Will it affect the quality of the washing machine.
-another key difference i notice is the variable speed. Bosch can only switched to lowest 600 rpm. However, whirlpool can switch to lowest 100 rpm.

Wondering if 600rpm can still be harmful to delicates like silk etc

brownger

Hi Ridz...need some advice as well...

I came across a Bosch model WFL1660SG - is that good? It has 2 speed - 600 rpm and 800 rpm i think. Not sure what's the price though...will appreciate your advice!

Blurryzz,

wae20260sg is made in Thailand whereelse AW09365 IS MADE in Italy. I would prefer a Italian made machine.

Both are using the 1 wash 2 rinse method so it pretty even in this aspect. Another point to note would be the fully stainless steel drum in both machine so nothing much to compare about.

But Bosch drum size will be bigger for Whirlpool.

Whirlpools door hinge will be a 'metal door hinge compared to a 'plastic' door hinge.

As for variable spin speed, 600 is no problem for delicate clothings. If you intend to use the 100 rpm then be prepared for the clothes to come out dripping wet, especially if you are washing jeans.

Just my two cents worth..... Gd luck in your choice.

Brownger,

WFL1660sg??? Seriously, its either a old/discon/very very new model or something which i have forgotten.....

The latest series for Bosch is WAE12060sg 600RPM or WAE16060sg 800 rpm.

Bosch Machines are not bad.... Any other brands to make comparison with??

brownger

Hi twt,

I came across this Bosch WFL1660sg model at the following website:
http://www.rinaelectrical.com.sg/product_tpl_desc.asp?pId=4

hmm...another question I wanted to ask is whether variable spin speed is important? I'm actually thinking of getting the WAE12060 sg with 600 rpm. Thought that should be Ok for most types of clothings....if not, thought the WFL1660sg model (if it exists) with dual spin speed should be sufficient...

Any advice you can offer will be much appreciated!

Brownger,

WFL1660sg is definitely a very old model. If i am not wrong, this should be last batch model. Hw much are they selling you (if you dont mind telling me and how much you are willing to spend on a washer). I still reckon that if you have decided on Bosch machine, you shoud just get WAE12060.

Variable spin speed to me if rather important. Why?? It is due to the spin speed that my clothes will come out dryer(especially Jeans). For delicate clothing, it might not be advisable to use anything higher then 700rpm as it will stretch most clothings.

ckoonyin

Hi peeps,

seeking your opinion as i'm a super noob in WM

Am looking @ this 6KG brandt frontload WM with 600 rpm. Price is about $700+ which is already stretching my budget already.

Was told that Brandt has a AA qualification for both water consumption and electical consumption.

Any comments or feedback?

stellarm

hi ridz and anyone else,

i'm also looking at getting a Brandt frontload WM and Dryer. any recommendations? i'm thinking abt the Brandt WFE876A 800rpm..and also the brandt EFM102K dryer.

are these good buys? or which other brand is better for consideration?

thanks a lot!

ckoonyin,

The machine which you are considering should be WFE 676A. 6kg 600 RPM made in Turkey.

This particular model comes with an AA rating. Not much of a comparison for a 6kg washer. Closest would be Electrolux EWF 861(6kg) retailing at $889 or the Bosch WAA12165(5.5kg) retailing at $699/-. I would say that in terms of feature, this will make a gd prospect.

If you were to make comparisons with these two models, then it should be OK. Depending on where you wish and where you purchase the items, there could be some discounts given.

Mind revealing what is the best offer price and where you intend to purchase it??

Stella,

I guess you have not come to a decision as yet. Not much of 6kg washers around to make comparisons with.

However, you may wish to consider the WFE676 model rather then the WFE 876A. The only diff between these 2 machines is the rpm differences. Of course $$$ is another factor to consider. Difference in terms of retailing cost should be close to $100/-.(depending on where you purchase the machine)

Another choice would be to take the WFH 08771A model. The diff would be that it is a 7kg model with 800 rpm(same spin). But the feature for the machine is much better. The A+A rating for the machine is another factor to consider. There is also the OptiA45mins full load washing which will save you even more time.

You may also wish to consider the EWF 984,EWF1084(Electrolux) or the WAE16060SG,WAE18060(Bosch)if you decide to switch brandings.

The EFM102K dryer is a 6kg dryer. You may wish to put into consideration the Electrolux EDM 606A dryer.

Overall, not a bad choice but if given a choice, i would still opt for a bigger capacity load for the washer.

Shop wisely and wait for the correct timing to purchase. Await the sales coming in the middle of this month..... (cant inform you which departmental store is having sales)... Once again.... the HDB shops are in for another surprise.....

ckoonyin

Hi twt, i think u are right.

Actually i was at courts and was told that it is a good one.

@ Courts it is $759. How is the pricing? or i can get it cheaper @ HDB shops or Katong Mall?

Got lobang must share leh.

So would i be right to say that it is a good buy? or at least a good model to buy?

Ckoonyin,

If you gonna purchase at Courts, do remember to grab the $70/- NTUC voucher(so if you offset with the voucher it will be $689/-). There will have to give it to you upon delivery of the machine. HDB shops will be around this pricing, perhaps $15-$30/- cheaper for this particular model.

Hoever, if you decide to purchase extended warranty then this might not be the best place to purchase it.

To me, this model at the price range you are getting is a 'not bad' model. Justy remember, do not overload the machine and not to dump any comforter into the machine.

Give us more info on your machine once you start using it. Gd luck

ckoonyin

Thanks for your reply twt but hor.paiseh still got more questions.........super noob in this leh.

eh extended warranty not good place to get?
U mean it is more ex for extended warranty?

Den where would u suggest? Harvey Norman or best?
Or still got other places offering extended warranty ah?

Or you would suggest any other alternative?

If you are talking about extended warranty.... then you got not much alternative but to proceed to Best Denki to get. It is the cheapest extended warranty across Singapore.

But discount price will be abit tougher. However, you must proceed to the correct outlet for Best Denki. I know of one particular outlet whereby sure have discount for Best Denki and not only that you will get quality pricing.

The other alternative would be not buying the extended warranty but in my personal opinion, i would rather get it for i wont know when the machine will get faulty.

stellarm

hi twt,

thanks for your reply. can i ask u a few more questions?

i did take a look at the 600rpm one, and yep the price diff is $100. so the difference in rpm is abt 200rpm, does it make much of a difference?

hmm... i didn't really look at the 7kg one, i think i somewhat remembered the guy mentioned that it has 10 over functions? i think 10 is a little overwhelming. haha.. not sure if i will use all so not sure if i wanna pay the premium for these functions.

the nextime i go look at these WM n dryers again, i will take note of the other models and check them out too. actually wheres the best place to get these items? do share if u have any lobang ya! i only checked out courts and HN. price wise i think perhaps courts is better (if u count in the $70 vouchers they give for this model).

i'm actually also considering a WM cum Dryer 2 in 1. this is due to space constraint. but my hb thinks its not a good idea, because if WM spoils, we can juz replace WM, if buy a 2 in 1, the whole thing spoil then gone already. whats your opinion? any brands for WMdryer model to recommend?

Thanks a lot!!

stellarm

by the way, does anyone know how to see what is the RPM for an asian WM? my old LG one, not sure where the manual is now after so many years. i want to check what is the RPM for my current machine.

kymt

twt...

Would like know the comparison of BOSCH wae20260sg and LG WD-14361TD.

Hav u heard any problem with LG WD-14361TD?