6.5 or 7 kg front load washer, which model is good?

ridhwan82

thank you very much for you kind note.

if there is anything that i could assist you do let me know. yeah?>

cheers and best of luck
ridz

dreymin

hi ridz,

hope you can help me here.
i m looking at continental front load washers.
some brands i am considering are: electrolux, bosch, thomson, zanussi, miele, brandt and AEG. heard LG is also not bad.

need your expert advice which is good enuff for 2 persons with hand wash function, hot wash, can wash king size quilt preferably.

ridhwan82

hi dreymin,

first and foremost i need to ask more question okie?

1) looking strictly at front loads? or toploads cos thomson does not have front lods only top loads. while the rest like electrolux have both top and front. miele only carries the front load

2)Hand wash and also hot wash this most of the washing machines can handle it.

3) how important is the king sized quilt to be washed at home? cos this will greatly limit your choice as king sized quilt preferably it should be a 8kg washer and only electrolux has that and plus its really expensive

4) what is the price range that you are looking at. it can be (depending on capcity and rpm) as cheap as 850 to as expensive as 5000 and above?

so let me know your most comfortable price yeah?

5) also can also let me wknot if you are looking for a matching dryer. cos this will affect your capacity as most washers comre with up to 8.5kg washer but dryers are only at 5kg yeah so do let me know as soon aas yo can i try to help you.

look me up at msn also can patrick _ jr @ hotmail.com

preciousmoments

anyone has Bosch service centre number? Thanks.

ridhwan82

can try this

BSH Home Appliances Pte Ltd
38C Jalan Pemimpin
Singapore 577180
By telephone: +65 63561080 (main office) +65 6751 5022
Customer service hotline :
+65 6751 5000

staritzz

what are the pros of having a dryer other than not having to rely on a sunny n windy weather?

i heard that drying clothes in the dryer wil ve less creases..is that true?

will the clothes smell bad becoz it has not been "sun-ed"?

ridhwan82

hi staritzz,

okie pros of having a dryer,

1)you can do laundry at any day and time.
2)you can be manage your time better cos you will know how long it takes to dry your clothes unlike on the line its kinda guessing game.
3) hygiene cos its indoors and its in your house you dun have to suffer the fate of like neighbours dripping on your clothes etc and good especially for those with sensitive skin

and well for the creases it depends like usually like t shirt there will be creasing of course but how much creasing depends on factors such as if you have overloaded your dryer yes more creases and also after the drying is complete if you dun remove it immediately and fold then once the t-shirt has cooled the creasing can be kinda bad so best is right after drying remove the clothes and then fold as soon as you can.

well for the bad smell highly unlikely cos unlike drying on the clothes line where its dependant on the ambient humidity and temperatuer and of course t5he sun, where if its on a rainy day it might cause the clothes to dry slowly and hence the smell.

but for dryer cos the clothes are heated hence exaggerating the rate of evaporation hence the clothes is sorta baked in the dryer but at a safer temperature unlike under strong sunlight where though temperature is 33 degree but the degree of heat and trapped by the cloth from the sun is usually much higher and hence may damage your clothes.

jasnick

wow.. ridz.. you r expert at WM.. thanx for all the info..

so you will recommend thomson n brosch?

but is there reali a big difference between using elba and thomson?

cos thomson is reali ex.. n i m looking at continental front loader WM with prices not more than 600.. possible? what brand will you recommend?

chng

Hi ridz,

Just wonder wat u work as. U seems not only expert in aircon, but also washing machine!

ridhwan82

hi angel_z

apologies cos i was away for the last couple of days haven been able to check email yeah. anyway for your question in terms of the washing well to a certain extent there is a difference.

say for example you have the same item everything with someone else but yet another one is an expert. you follow the same exact thing as how he does it. somehow the expert always gets it right so washing is the same, with the same exact materials they are made up of in this case the same washing action etc. but just with a little difference in the programming, things comes out differently.

yes thomson is really ex. but then again if you compare to miele them thomson is one of the cheapest higher end brands in the market. miele washing machine price tags at minimum 3.9k and the most expensive washer goes beyond the price of 5.9k.

well if you are looking for a front loader continental price of not more than 600 i must tell you that its almost impossible.

also depends on what is the capcity you are looking at. most people are opting for 6.5kg and spin speed of around say at least 850rpm and this will carry a price tag of approx 900.

how about what is the features that you are looking for.

eg like front load? or can have top loads as well? need hot wash function? handwash? what is the rpm you are looking at?
let me know and of course you best budget you can stretch i try to look around for you.

ridhwan82

hi chng,

haha well i am no expert. just someone with a little more attention to details yeah?

anyway my profession is teaching yeah so there you go.

jasnick

hi ridz,

you r in teaching? same here.. heehee.. =P

so what school n subj you teaching?

ok.. you see.. pardon my ignorance.. i reali dun know alot about WM.. therefore have to clarify certain areas first.. =P

some WM only have one rpm which is 800.. is it enuff? or should buy those WM with adjustable rpm?? (but this means more $$, so i m thinking whether is it reali necessary to have so many diff rpm?) how to decide whether how much rpm i need? let's say besides normal clothes, i oso have queen-sized bedsheets and comforter..

i guess 6-7kg should be all right for me.. cos its jus me n hubby in the house.. shouldnt have tat much things to wash.. but one thing to note.. hubby is in SAF and he has heavy n dirty uniforms to wash.. so does this mean tat higher rpm is required?

i would prefer to have handwash function.. so dun have to hand wash my clothes.. hot wash function should be dun need cos tat is more for baby clothings, right? (read it somewhere fr forum, or was it read from your postings? heehee.. =P)

this is another problem for me.. i dun know whether front load or top load is better.. i have read all the comments on both types but i still cant decide..

my concern is tat front load takes longer time to wash (we r all so busy, where got time?) though it saves water.. and front load has to bend down to take clothes..

however, top load will stretch clothings due to the movement, right? but i read somewhere can just throw all clothings in the laundry bag and this will not be a problem..

so how?

by the way, is Asia brands like Samsung n LG reali not advisable to buy?

sorry for the long list of questions..

and a million thanks for the feedback.. =D

ridhwan82

hi angel_z

haha okie let me answer your question one by one.. i cut and paste okie?

so what school n subj you teaching? --heheh i newbee ler still in NIE but practicuum they posting me to keming pri. sub specialisation eng,math and social studies.

ok.. you see.. pardon my ignorance.. i reali dun know alot about WM.. therefore have to clarify certain areas first.. =P >> not a problem.

>>some WM only have one rpm which is 800.. is it enuff? or should buy those WM with adjustable rpm?? (but this means more $$, so i m thinking whether is it reali necessary to have so many diff rpm?) how to decide whether how much rpm i need? let's say besides normal clothes, i oso have queen-sized bedsheets and comforter..

--> for the above question well i must say it may or may not be necessary. to have variable spin speed. first things first. higher spin speed mean the clothes will come out drier and hence if you are going to use a dryer then the clothes will dry faster in the dryer hence you will use less electricity when using the dryer. or if you are hanging it out then it would dry faster on the clothes line.

a general gauge would be if you are using dryer hence at least go for 850 rpm. but of course higher is better.

for variable usually spin speeds --machines capacble of max 650 rpm are usually fixed but those with higher like 850rpm they are variable. cos delicates such as wool,silk cannot be spun so fast else the fibres of it will spoil hence usually machine with fixed spin speed are those with only about 650rpm.

those with higher spin speed say 1000 have an automatic limiter so when you wash with cotton cycle you can spin max 1000rpm but when you choose delicate cycle then yup it will max for you at 550 -650 even though you choose 1000 yeah?

so in general delicates are the ones that cannot be spun so fast okie?

so safe side would be to choose somewther between 850rpm or my personal recommendation at least 1000-1200 rpm yeah

>>i guess 6-7kg should be all right for me.. cos its jus me n hubby in the house.. shouldnt have tat much things to wash.. but one thing to note.. hubby is in SAF and he has heavy n dirty uniforms to wash.. so does this mean tat higher rpm is required?

-- for this question about the capacity well i must say usually i would say that a 5kg would be sufficient but cos you mention that your hubby is in the saf hence the clothes are usually bigger and thicker i would advise you to go for higher capacity such as 6.5 or 7 kg wsher but bear in mind it will cost more.

as for the higher spin speed i must add that for the uniform cos it is cotton hence if you are have higher spin speed then of course better especially if you are going to get a dryer.

>>i would prefer to have handwash function.. so dun have to hand wash my clothes.. hot wash function should be dun need cos tat is more for baby clothings, right? (read it somewhere fr forum, or was it read from your postings? heehee.. =P)

-->okie i see so you need handwash. dun worry most continental washers can perform handwash function for you.

--> well for hot wash well for babies clothings is true also but for me i usually wash my clothes at 40 degrees (this is the temperature which is optimum for the enzymes in the washing powder to work but be warned though that not all clothes are suitable to be washed at this temperatyre cos the colour will fade very fast hence for those colour fast clothes i will wash at 30 degrees or cold wash.

and most continental washers are equipped with heater in built. and washing bath towels usually i will wash it at 60 degrees. its cleaner.

>>>>this is another problem for me.. i dun know whether front load or top load is better.. i have read all the comments on both types but i still cant decide..

---first and foremost let me clarify with you .over in this earlier posting i am referring to front loads as continental washers where the tumble the clothes up and then down . and the top loads i am referring to is also the continental washer meaning that they use the same washing technology as those in the front loads just that insteas of loading it at the side og the drum (therby opening in so called front) we load it from the top we have to open the drum from the top (hence known as continental top loads) brands like electrolux thomson and also bosch hasx this.

>>>my concern is tat front load takes longer time to wash (we r all so busy, where got time?) though it saves water.. and front load has to bend down to take clothes..

-- hence with regard to my comments earlier the top load and the front loads are int he same category of what we call continental style of washing where the clothes gets tumbled up and down vs the asian where is spins round and round to the side.

in connection with the time i guess its a give and take lah for me cos ive been using thomson like all my life literally more than 20 years already we are already used to the usual 1h45mins standard wash time and if intensive wash plus a additional pre wsh function then it goes to abou 2h 30 mins. but its time worth spent and of course money too cos the cleanliness that is great plus saves much more water and electricity too.

well in the matter on time thats the reason why i got a dryer to compliment it. so instead of washing when there is time for it. i opt for a dryer so i can wash when i have time.

you can just say put in the clothes in the morning and if you are not so sure if you wash alredy then if no one take it out it will smell you can opt to rinse hold in the program where just before the final rinse it will fill the tub with water then the machine will stop till you come back then you are back then you release the rinse hold thereby it will continue with the cycle then spin it out ready to be placed in the dryer.

or alternatively some models are equipped to have delay timer so you place all the clothes and all inthe machine then you delay time it such that it will run only hours later and will end the cycle around the time you get home just nice for you to do the drying part yeah?

>>>however, top load will stretch clothings due to the movement, right? but i read somewhere can just throw all clothings in the laundry bag and this will not be a problem..

--- in this case the top loads cos im referrinf to the continental top loads hence stetching is not a problem.

>>so how?

i think the question is more for your preference now? do you prefer to nbend down to retrieve or would you prefer to have it loaded from the top?
and another would be budget cos top load washers i think max is 6kg load whilse front loads they have all the way up to 8kg too. and top loads cos of its slim profile (where space area is a major constraint then its more suited for it) it is generally more ex than the front loads.

i posted in my other earlier posting about front versus top where its more on the space you have to spare for the washing machine and also the possibilities of a dryer and in addition to that would be the budget and preference that would be the deciding factor ultimately.

by the way, is Asia brands like Samsung n LG reali not advisable to buy?
--> oh yeah for this i think not say not advisable to buy lah but sometimes the price tags really does not justify the features where i can get the same features with more known brands like electrolux who have been making the front loads machines all their life while these asian are just new at it and reliability is still unknown lah. just my two cents worth

sorry for the long list of questions..

and a million thanks for the feedback.. =D
not a problem hope to hear from you soon.

jasnick

WOW!!! ridz.. thanks for the info..

i oso a newbie in teaching.. me jus graduated from NIE in jan.. now teaching geog in pioneer jc.. my second subj is literature.. and since i m teaching geog, i m oso learnin about social studies under geog..

but in pionner, i onli teaching one subj.. well, great to know you, fellow colleague! =D

well, back to WM.. heehee.. =P i will oso copy n paste.. heehee..

"higher spin speed mean the clothes will come out drier and hence if you are going to use a dryer then the clothes will dry faster in the dryer hence you will use less electricity when using the dryer."

------so this means that a WM with diff speeds will "eat up" alot of electricity, right? so if i stick to ard 850 rpm with dryer, i should be doing all right?

if lets say i dun intend to get a dryer then what speed is better? have to be higher than 850 rpm man.. tats going to be quite high, right? =(

so with my hubby's uniform, i will def need ard 7kg WM.. hmm.. i can see some light in the tunnel le.. (all thanks to you.. heehee.. =D)

"for me i usually wash my clothes at 40 degrees (this is the temperature which is optimum for the enzymes in the washing powder to work but be warned though that not all clothes are suitable to be washed at this temperatyre cos the colour will fade very fast hence for those colour fast clothes i will wash at 30 degrees or cold wash."

--------is 40 degress the normal temp for normal washing? how do you know what clothings are colour fast?

after reading your post, now everything seems clearer le.. so all along you r talking about the top laod tat spins the same way with fron loaders.. icic..

i consider those top loaders too.. but ex.. and like what you said, they got veyr limited capacity so wasn't veyr keen on them..

i prefer top loaders cos my parents have been using it for many years but i dun like cos it will stretch the clothes.. n those top loaders that spin like front loaders are ex with limited cpapcity.. so my onli option is front loaders as i need ard 7 kg..

but now thomson dun have front loaders.. so now left electorlux, brandt, bosch, right? hmm..

anyway thanx a million for taking the time to answer all my questions.. =P

ridhwan82

hi angel_z

paiseh ah i copy and paste again hehe

WOW!!! ridz.. thanks for the info.. ---dun mention it. dun hesitate to let me know if you want to know anything else yeah>

i oso a newbie in teaching.. me jus graduated from NIE in jan.. now teaching geog in pioneer jc.. my second subj is literature.. and since i m teaching geog, i m oso learnin about social studies under geog..

but in pionner, i onli teaching one subj.. well, great to know you, fellow colleague! =D

>>:>not bad liao can know one fellow teacher here wor haha can share classroom mgmt technique hehe!!

well, back to WM.. heehee.. =P i will oso copy n paste.. heehee..

"higher spin speed mean the clothes will come out drier and hence if you are going to use a dryer then the clothes will dry faster in the dryer hence you will use less electricity when using the dryer."

------so this means that a WM with diff speeds will "eat up" alot of electricity, right? so if i stick to ard 850 rpm with dryer, i should be doing all right?

>>>> please do not misconstrue that higher rpm means higher electricity. you will be amazed that the electricity can be actually about the same or even lesser. cos so called the engine capacity is bigger mah so during the wash its more efficient than smaller engines mah hehe

my best bet would be 1000 rpm if you can.

if lets say i dun intend to get a dryer then what speed is better? have to be higher than 850 rpm man.. tats going to be quite high, right? =(

>>>> if you are not going to get dryer then you can maybe consider say 850 yeah but again depends on your preference. but i can only advocate that at least go for 850 rpm yeah?

so with my hubby's uniform, i will def need ard 7kg WM.. hmm.. i can see some light in the tunnel le.. (all thanks to you.. heehee.. =D)

>>> well yeah especially in the army last time lah my machine is only 5kg only mah then the most can only wash i think about 2 - 3 full set of no 4 cos its big so i gotta wash 2 rounds for my uniform alone. and please put cold wash for the no 4 cos they are very colour fast. so use the synthetic cycle at cold wash yeah>

"for me i usually wash my clothes at 40 degrees (this is the temperature which is optimum for the enzymes in the washing powder to work but be warned though that not all clothes are suitable to be washed at this temperatyre cos the colour will fade very fast hence for those colour fast clothes i will wash at 30 degrees or cold wash."

--------is 40 degress the normal temp for normal washing? how do you know what clothings are colour fast?

-----> usually yeah between either 30 degree or 40 degrees. unfortunately its hard to tell if the clothes is colour fast or not. but in general with washing colour will definitely fade but if you wash with 30 degrees for like normal clothings i think its good enough. but bath towels usually i wash at 60 degrees more hygiene.

best bet is also to read the instruction or garment care label it will indicate what is the washing temperature. and any other washing instructions

after reading your post, now everything seems clearer le.. so all along you r talking about the top laod tat spins the same way with fron loaders.. icic..

>>> yup the top loaders here that i am referring to is the continental top loaders not the japanese top loaders.

i consider those top loaders too.. but ex.. and like what you said, they got veyr limited capacity so wasn't veyr keen on them..

i prefer top loaders cos my parents have been using it for many years but i dun like cos it will stretch the clothes.. n those top loaders that spin like front loaders are ex with limited cpapcity.. so my onli option is front loaders as i need ard 7 kg..

>>> well great that you have concluded so and that you have made a decision to look for a front loader with a 7kg capacity. now to narrow down your search further.

but now thomson dun have front loaders.. so now left electorlux, brandt, bosch, right? hmm..

>>> thomson do not have front loaders but its sister brand BRANDT has front loader. do take note that thomson and brandt is both under fagorbrandt group. the difference between thomson and brandt is that thomson is high end models while brandt is generalist.

take for example the thomson machine has the posistop where the drum will automatically align the opening to the top door when its done as a standard across its machines. However only the higher end models in the brandt has that.

and also thomson is still made in france cos its premium brand while brandt is made in europe maybe turkey and some other parts.

anyway thanx a million for taking the time to answer all my questions.. =P

>>> as for the bradns yeah you can consider bosch, brandt as well as electrolux.

i think for a 6.5kg washer the average pricing is about $999

try to narrow down the models and then work out from there based on your budget.

anything if you need help let me know yeah?

jasnick

hi ridz,

hihi, heehee.. me oso copy n paste.. seems the easiest way..

"not bad liao can know one fellow teacher here wor haha can share classroom mgmt technique hehe!!"

------ yaya.. we can share on classroom mgmt.. =D

"my best bet would be 1000 rpm if you can."

------- is 1000 rpm too high a speed to wash delicate clothings?

"best bet is also to read the instruction or garment care label it will indicate what is the washing temperature. and any other washing instructions"

------ ask you a silly question.. heehee.. if all the diff clothings have diff instructions, then how? if have to wash all separately how? or tat would not happen? well, you can see that i m not exp in washing at all. heehee.. usu i jus dump everything in the WM.. =P

its was only after coming to this fourm then i learnt so many things about WM!! so interesting.. washing clothes oso got technique.. heehee.. =D

so as of right now, i have narrowed my search to 7 kg front loader with at least 850 rpm.. n def not asian brands.. thank you!! heehee..

"and also thomson is still made in france cos its premium brand while brandt is made in europe maybe turkey and some other parts."

-------- so does this mean tat brandt is inferior compared to thomson? i saw somewhere in the forum tat electrolux is made in thailand.. is it true? then is it inferior compared to thomson n brandt?

"anything if you need help let me know yeah?"

-------- thanks so much!!! all thanks to you i roughyl know what WM to look for le.. ^_^

g0000ber

been using my new electrolux washer 850 and tumble dryer for the last 2 months since i moved in. we stack them up to save space and for a more european look. I was introduced by the electrolux person (who came to give me a tutorial) to enzyme washing as well. he told me that most of the powders available in the market contain fillers which cause smell and white particles if not dried properly. apparently fillers just add weight to the powder say a 1kg pack will not have 1kg of washing powder. maybe 200-300 gram of fillers.

so i switch to low suds enzyme washing liquid.

i usually wash at 30 degrees, quick wash, 850rpm with 2 pumps of the detergent 10ml and then spin dry for 80min. results have been great. we pre-soak gym clothes to first remove the perspiration. dont want to lump our perspiration with all our other "cleaner" clothes. =)

hope this helps!

jasnick

thanks grape for your info.. will try out your formula and see whether it works for the clothings in my house.. heehee..

jus to ask, you mention spin dry for 80 mins, that is done by the dryer right?

hi goober & ridhz,

I'm on the lookout for WM, Continental & front load.
Able to give me comments on Electrolux vs Bosch or any other brands, costing $800-1000?

What's a gd RPM? I've seen most ranging only ard 500-650RPM, which I've heard fr a sales person, wld take rather long..

ridhwan82

hi angel_z

hihi, heehee.. me oso copy n paste.. seems the easiest way..
>>>i think so too hehe

"not bad liao can know one fellow teacher here wor haha can share classroom mgmt technique hehe!!"

------ yaya.. we can share on classroom mgmt.. =D
yeah onz!!

"my best bet would be 1000 rpm if you can."

------- is 1000 rpm too high a speed to wash delicate clothings?

>>> remember i mention that for the different wash cycles the machine will have an automatic limiter system like the delicates will only spin at max 650 and the synthetic would be around 850 while only cottons will go to the machine;s max say 1000if applicable

"best bet is also to read the instruction or garment care label it will indicate what is the washing temperature. and any other washing instructions"

------ ask you a silly question.. heehee.. if all the diff clothings have diff instructions, then how? if have to wash all separately how? or tat would not happen? well, you can see that i m not exp in washing at all. heehee.. usu i jus dump everything in the WM.. =P

>> alright here is the thing if allk the machine have different washing instructions. then the only thing that you would need to take note is that if
1) machine washable
2) make sure that only wash together non colour fast (those indicated as wash with clothes of similar colour usually hints that its colour fast)
3) follow according to the most "delicate" of the items.

say you are washing the following

t-shirt >> non colour fast wash up to 30 degrees no bleach
shirt>> non colour fast wash up to 40 degrees, only colour bleach
towel >> wash up to 60 degrees, bleach,

hence you can put all these items then you dun put any bleach and wash at 30 degrees. so there ytou have it. yeah?

its was only after coming to this fourm then i learnt so many things about WM!! so interesting.. washing clothes oso got technique.. heehee.. =D

>>> that would be correct. washing is an art too with the manipulation of the machine to do the right thing for you.

so as of right now, i have narrowed my search to 7 kg front loader with at least 850 rpm.. n def not asian brands.. thank you!! heehee..

>> great so i think brands for you would be electrolux i think ew 880f seems alright for your selection

and bosch im not too sure which models at the moment

and for brandt too many new ones haven been updated haha will let you know if any comes across yeah

"and also thomson is still made in france cos its premium brand while brandt is made in europe maybe turkey and some other parts."

-------- so does this mean tat brandt is inferior compared to thomson? i saw somewhere in the forum tat electrolux is made in thailand.. is it true? then is it inferior compared to thomson n brandt?

alright here is the thing. for brandt and thomson i would say say inferior to a whole lot extent just the features is short. cos materials i think is about the same they use. and for the brandt its more of cost saving that they move it to other parts of europe and turkey so its like imagine if your television is assembled in germany versus those assembled in china. what is the difference? same material same quality but only difference is the level of skill the worker has so difference is more of like the refinement of its fixing the thing. i dunno how to describe it but you get the drift.

yes electrolux are made in thailand but so far not much of a problem. thats one of the reason why electrolux have been able to bring their prices cheaper than thomson etc yeah?

"anything if you need help let me know yeah?"

-------- thanks so much!!! all thanks to you i roughyl know what WM to look for le.. ^_^

ridhwan82

hi angel_z

oh yeah there is some things that you should take note when using continental washers.

and that is you need to regularly do the maintenance cleaning run which is run the entire program at 60 degrees with soap but NO LOAD once in every half year or every quarter would be great to maintain hygiene

you also need to remove the items thats trapped in the waste trap once a month

and another thing is to use ONLY LOW SUDS deterent. from experience best is persil.

so yeah use persil for electrolux or bosch or even thomson and brandt machines.

ridhwan82

angel_z

for the dryer and the no need to iron issue.

several factors yeah?

its somewhat true that you relatively do not need to iron t-shirts and such provided

1) the machine has not been exceeded its capacity of drying. cos if say the dryer is specified as 5kg but you try to dry 7 kg it can still dry just that the clothes wil have more creases

2) you have to remove the clothes and immediately dry as soon as the cycle of drying is completed

this is because during drying the fibres are heated and hence will lose their so called form and hence creasing will be so called disappeared. but when the drying cycle stop you remove it and then hang it up what will happen is that the clothes are in straight position ad hence the fibres will retain that shape as how you hang it.

hence if you let it cool in the dryer with all the clothes tumbling on one another it will cause it to crease as it cool yeah? get it??

ridhwan82

hi cha_alex,

alright for softener... as some of you have noticed when you use softeners like softlan etc, the part where you put the softener has this awful waxy stain and you gotta clean in all the time,

this residue is left behind not only in the container to hold the softener but also in the drum also. becayse of the content of the softener which contains wax. hence the need to clean the machine through the maintenance run as i mentioned earlier on top of disinfecting the drum within.

hecne to counter th9is problem you may like to try softeners that does not contain paraffin or wax.

and this is especially useful for those with sensitive skin and the use of softeners with wax may cause irritation.

one brand that has no wax if i am not wrong is vernel can find it at most supermarket.

ridhwan82

hi meh meh Lim

i cut and paste okie?

I'm on the lookout for WM, Continental & front load.
Able to give me comments on Electrolux vs Bosch or any other brands, costing $800-1000?

alright electrolux and bosch are both competitive brands and offer similar specifications and competitive price. for which is better.. well pardon me but i have to inform everyone that there is no one machine that is the most perfect for you.
although i must say there is one close to perfect but at a superbly perfect price which is miele price tag starting price is 3999 and up to 6000 so yeah that is the best machine available and i can tell you its worth the money you spend to buy that machine.

apart from that if you are comparing with bosch and electrolux then maybe you can consider smaller details like the wash cycles offered on the various machine and also take note if you have like kids or am like me sometimes clumsy then opt for electrolux cos the drum door is metal catch while bosch is plactic catch and once broken it will set you back by about 100+ to replace the door yeah? and other things of course

like if you are intending to stack dryer on top of bosch machines then you can only use bosch dryer cos the stack is different from electrolux cos electrolux and brandt uses international stacking kit while bosch ones are a slight difference with screws in place to hold so yeah

and anothe rwould be where the items are made in. both bosch and electrolux are no longer made in the countries they are from but from others yeah?

What's a gd RPM? I've seen most ranging only ard 500-650RPM, which I've heard fr a sales person, wld take rather long..

well a good rpm would be best at least 850rpm while looking at 1000-1200 rpm would be great especially if you are looking to get a dryer

as with higher rpm the residual moisture in the clothes would be lesser and hence when using dryer the drying times would be shorter which translates to smaller electricity used for dryin using the dryer.

well yes continental washers generally takes about 1h15 mins to about 2h30 mins to wash so yeah if you are not comfortable with the time please bear in mind yeah

and electricity wise duyn worry with a wash load of 6kg cold wash cycle cotton mayeb will take about 1h15min but consumes only 300 watts and in coimparison with asian brands like hitachi etc they have the same load but shorter time like abour 40 mins the most and consuming about 200 watts

water wise continental washers usually have 1 wash + 2 rinses and these would add to about 55 litres of water

while asian washers have about 1 wash + 2 rinses these typiall would use about 150 litres of water yeah?

jasnick

hi ridz,

wow... again.. very impressed with your knowledge.. and thanks for takin time to answer my questions.. thanks, thanks!!!

now i know more about WM le.. yeah!! heheee.. so diff washes mean tat the WM will automatically adjust the speed la.. wow.. so cool.. i was still thinking if only have one speed will spoil the more delicate clothes anot..

so clothes tat can wash with 30, 40 degrees can all wash tog as long as they are not color fast la..

icic.. so actually thomson n brandt onli have diff in workmanship la.. whereas other things still the same la..

i guess workmanship shouldnt be a big problem hor?

one more question: is a dryer necessary?

cos i see my mum hangs the clothes in the house whenever it rains and the clothes will still dry after 1 day.. so i was wondering is there a need for dryer?

what are the other benefits of having a dryer? cos my hubby was saying tat his camp oso got dryer n nobody uses it.. they jus hang the clothes ard..

softerners dun sound very friendly eh.. my mum dun use softerners n our clothes are ok le.. so what is softerners reali good for?

heehee.. sorry.. so many questions again.. =P

ridhwan82

wow... again.. very impressed with your knowledge.. and thanks for takin time to answer my questions.. thanks, thanks!!!

>>> not a problem

now i know more about WM le.. yeah!! heheee.. so diff washes mean tat the WM will automatically adjust the speed la.. wow.. so cool.. i was still thinking if only have one speed will spoil the more delicate clothes anot..

>> but be careful okie the limiter system will only allow it to spin at the default spin speed if you select the correct cycle.

say you mix synthetic and cotton to wash but you use cotton cycle then in this case the machine will spin for you at max 1000 rpm etc but if you wash mix synthetics and cotton but use synthetic (remember the rule that i say alwasy wash to adapt to the most delicate item in the wash) hence use the synthetic so the spin speed wioll be automatically limited to 850. yeah?

so clothes tat can wash with 30, 40 degrees can all wash tog as long as they are not color fast la..

correct this can be done but follow the most delicate instruction okie?

icic.. so actually thomson n brandt onli have diff in workmanship la.. whereas other things still the same la..

correct

i guess workmanship shouldnt be a big problem hor?

that depends if you ask me like electrolux from poland and from thailand i would say its okie cos thailand has some sorta standard. even most toyota cars and daikin and mitsubishi air con are made in thailand now. but if the electroluc is made in china then die also wun buy sorry no offence yeah?

one more question: is a dryer necessary?

cos i see my mum hangs the clothes in the house whenever it rains and the clothes will still dry after 1 day.. so i was wondering is there a need for dryer?

what are the other benefits of having a dryer? cos my hubby was saying tat his camp oso got dryer n nobody uses it.. they jus hang the clothes ard..

Okie well i must say that last time when i was in army also same cos one time drying must "tong" that 1dollar ler.. so no one bother to use sometimes spoil also hahah but i think it would be better to have a dryer at home for sure

as for the benefits i cut and paste from my previous post sokie?

okie pros of having a dryer,

1)you can do laundry at any day and time.
2)you can be manage your time better cos you will know how long it takes to dry your clothes unlike on the line its kinda guessing game.
3) hygiene cos its indoors and its in your house you dun have to suffer the fate of like neighbours dripping on your clothes etc and good especially for those with sensitive skin

and well for the creases it depends like usually like t shirt there will be creasing of course but how much creasing depends on factors such as if you have overloaded your dryer yes more creases and also after the drying is complete if you dun remove it immediately and fold then once the t-shirt has cooled the creasing can be kinda bad so best is right after drying remove the clothes and then fold as soon as you can.

well for the bad smell highly unlikely cos unlike drying on the clothes line where its dependant on the ambient humidity and temperatuer and of course t5he sun, where if its on a rainy day it might cause the clothes to dry slowly and hence the smell.

but for dryer cos the clothes are heated hence exaggerating the rate of evaporation hence the clothes is sorta baked in the dryer but at a safer temperature unlike under strong sunlight where though temperature is 33 degree but the degree of heat and trapped by the cloth from the sun is usually much higher and hence may damage your clothes.

and especially for us teachers we can better manage out time see.. like for example what you can do is that you out clothes in the laundry and delay time the wash to suych a time where when you get home the clothes will just nice be washed and then you get home transfer the clothes to dryer then you can do like cook dinner lah mark books lah then by say around 9 dry7er can be done so can fold a bit of clothes then go straight to bed or something liek that. rather than how to wash to make it for the sun? its hard .. come to think of it.

or maybe just for like rainy days. its better to have a dryer for me as i stay with my siblings anmd parents and there is 7 of us in the household cant do without my dryer and dishwasher can really die i tell you.

softerners dun sound very friendly eh.. my mum dun use softerners n our clothes are ok le.. so what is softerners reali good for?

well softeners as the name implies is just to soften the fibres so that when its dry its a bit more comfortable to wear and not so rough especially with shirts and such.,

heehee.. sorry.. so many questions again.. =P
not to worry cos its expensive investment i must add.. but choose a good one it will last you for long.

like my first thomson my parents got lasted like about 13 years i thknk then change to another thomson then lasted about another 7 years then now my latest thomson about already 3 years still working fine.. so yeah.. buy good ones is better than cheap ones but always spoil so fast.

hi Ridz,

Many thanks for ur comprehensive reply...
Went Courts to looklook seesee, i figure for front load, there aren't many tt reach the RPM of 850. But i must go check out again, prob at Harvey Norman at Millenia, rem they have a pretty wide range of almost everything

I'm also concern abt the catch, thanks for the reminder on getting the metal sort. Wld def prefer tt to the Bosch plastic sort.

So what's ur take between Electrolux & Brandt (i know Brandt is a sister brand of Thomson)

ridhwan82

hi mehmeh_lim

not to worry. never buy things from courts they have super limited items and the sxtaff are all like dumbo always trying to smoke you just to earn that commission. and some are worse i ever asked what is the diff between this brand of camera and that brand of camera you know what the idiot replied?? they are all the same only the specs like how many megapixels etc are different.

so shit rigght who the hell in this world doesnt know that as a fact.

anyway yeah you should go to harvey norman millenia walk they have a pretty wide variety

if you go to the washing machine department look for alan and say ridhwan, the one who bought several electrolux items asks to look for you. and ask him to give you a good price. he is good and very patient you can take your time and ask him loads and tonnes of question and he will still bring you around the sales floor to show you the different machines and different brands.

well the catch yeah that may be of some concern lah but to me i think its the same cos my thomson machine also is plastic catch but so far no catch at all still working fine.

and also take note of the how to operate the machine. this could be a crucial deciding factor also cos if the brand offers good things but to operate is hell then its the same mah might as well get something that youa re more comfortable to operate but bear in mind with continental washers usually there is more than one step to complete usually about say 3 selection before you ca press the start.

1) choose wash program
2) choose temperature
3) additional options

then start.

wahts my take on electrolux or brandt. i would say that i prefer none cos i would say for front loads or just purely washing machine i would opt for miele. if you havethe budget to spare go and get miele its the best washing machine ever. but at a super best price.

anyway digress haah okie lah i would say that if you want more features then brandt is the way to go cos you must know that brandt is a generalist brand while electrolux is positioned slightly higher than that of brandt.

but i would go for electrolux for front loads cos they have been doing it for years so shouldnt you trust them more?

but electrolux wise i would prefer to get the higher end ones.

hi Ridz,

Wow, u never fail to amaze me with your knowledge on WMs

So far, i'm geared twd Electrolux.. I rem this sales guy at Best @ Taka commenting tt Electrolux is still made in a European country (slipped my mind) Miele, is def out of the budget! heheh

Also for Electrolux, there's an outlet for sthg (again, slipped my mind!!) whereas Brandt/Thomson doesn't have.. Pls correct me, if i got this mixed up

Shall go look for Alan when i do make it down to HN at Millenia

ridhwan82

hi mehmeh,

well thanks for that kind words you put for me.

anyway electrolux are no longer made in european country only some selected models i think the 8kg washers only but double check please,

as far as i know. usually the first batch of a new model is produced in europe then subsequent batches of delivery is from thailand etc. but i think their dryer the ede 429 auto sensing ones is made is poland so yeah

and miele is made in germany.

electrolux have an outlet in singapore its at the somewhere near toh guan their show room.

thomson and brandt also have its at the comtech over at alexandra near NOL building.

yeah have a look and take your time. no rush unless you are in a real hurry to get the machine, usually with the GSS there is a lot of things one.

hi Ridz,

Shall verify on whether the electrolux model I finall narrow down to is made in Europe anot.

Btw, any comments on Whirlpool?? Coz Fisher & Paykel is having a warehouse sale, & WP is under them, so might be worth checking out if u have well-worth reviews for this brand..

Thanks in advance!!

ridhwan82

hi mehmeh_lim

well yeah but if you are looking at the usual front loads i reckon only the 8kg is from europe the rest is from like thai etc.

whirlpool for that i would not have any experiences nor encounters with that brand hence cannot comment so much. just that personally i dun prefer them thats about it cos my aunt did tell me once that their products arent as reliable as electrolux. i have no idea how to validate cos my family members none using whirlpool...

hi Ridz,

Thanks for the advice on the origin of Electrolux.. I guess if we can accept Altis fr Thailand, which costs so many times more than a WM, we can also accept a WM fr Thailand too

Briefly read here & there tt Whirlpool not the most reliable.. Nonetheless, shall just find out how much they cost & rate them against an Electrolux..

Thank u so much!

hi goober,

I was quite certain on getting an Electrolux, then this sales person at Harvey Norman recommended Bosch. Specs wise & Bosch stands out, and there's an offer price.. Aiyah, such a dilemma.. heheh

g0000ber

hm...funny. it was a harvey norman guy who told me to get electrolux and showed me how superior the electrolux one was. e.g. bosch WM steel drum is not stainless steel, latch is plastic rather than steel easy to break and replacement cost not cheap, etc.

hi goober,

i kept tt issue in mind, abt the latch of Bosch being plastic. But he said coz Bosch's WM has a double-hinge door, so the alignment of the catch & it's respective hook wld maintain.

He didn't mentione abt Bosch's drum not stainless steel though.. Then what material is it of?

g0000ber

maybe you take a look into the drum and compare with electrolux. it's a obvious difference in quality. think it's aluminium or something.. cannot remember.