$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

hi emilylee
i assume u r getting a resale flat?
water proofing is very important. if it is not properly done, will cause leakage in your neighbor below you at their ceiling. then...lots of problem between both of you.

Hi Cynthia,

Nope.. mine is the new flat @ JW. considering of overlaying the tiles as the current one is v dirty.
Do you also stay in the new flats @ JW ?

yo emilylee

yes..mine is at jurong west.
my tiles still ok leh. just got it from the recent WIS, also 5 years plus flat.

if i am not wrong, that should cost $700? depending on what kind of tiles that you choose.

Hi Em, i overlaid the loor tiles of both toilets. but wad my contractor did was to hack away the floor tiles, then lay the new ones. So its not like the new above the old, if u get what i mean. The cost is about $3k.

Cynthia: that day i was asking my carpenter abt false ceilings leh. he said better dun do, cos only look nice only. reasons being:

1) inside is hollow. things like termites will get there n then jia lat liao

2) makes the house warmer.

3) if there are any problems with wiring or water leakage (it can hide the pipes also mah) then got to remove the whole false ceiling n ur whole house that area will be in a big mess. whereas for concrete ceilings, only solve the problem area.

Hi Cynthia,

Mm.. that means we r indirectly neighbour of JW ?
Mine looks kinda dirty but we shall see.. if after reno. If the dirt cannot be removed then we will overlay.Then have u start ur reno?

hi falling flakes,
my heart almost skip a beat when i saw $3k for toilet floor tiles...ahem...
hahaha

talking about false ceiling, really got to pray hard that the wirrings are ok..otherwise, if they tear away the ceiling, will be lots of white powder flying all over your place.."falling flakes".
ops..we better stop liao, think we got lots of brothers and sisters here got fale ceiling.
BUT...it looks dammm shiok lar..hotel look..

emilylee
it is because the house kanna vacant too long. water stain. it should be ok after chemcial eashing.
i started my renvo, and almost done. waiting for air con installation, plus chemical washing..and they can hand over keys to me already.

Hi Fallingflakes,

You mean we can hack off the current floor tiles and replaced w/ new tiles? if let's say to overlay the toilet floor tiles cost $450/toilet. Is it ex?

Hi Cynthia,
ya.. We will get the contractors to try w/ chemical wash first if cannot remove then we overlay the tiles.
Good for you.. mine just begin today.

Hi Em,

if its 450 per toilet for floor tiles including the cost of the tiles, should a ok price.

My ID quoted me 400. but in the end i went to buy my own tiles and get the HDB contractor to lay for me. the tiles for the whole master toilet cos me $619.

but not going to lay the tiles yet. gonna wait for my ID to hack off all the walls otherwise tiles might crack during the hacking

hey all, remember the PE issue i was complaining about? in the end i really got to hire a PE to hack the goddamn service balcony wall. $500 fly away.

Hi Matthew,

Ya.. $450 including the floor tiles. We are not changing the wall tiles.

Oh .. we were also told that we must enage a PE to hack the service balcony..when they told us a PE is needed, we change our mind.
So, did you hack that bal. wall ?

matthew,
$500 in exchange for a bigger kitchen...
how did you find the PE from? recommendation from friends or from HDB?

emily,
my renvo started in late May and now its still not fully complete. our renvo was drag so long cos we are not pushy to contractors. ask them to take their own sweet time and dun need to prioritise our renvo because we only need the flats by the end of the year. the faster they renvoate our house, the faster we need to pay them. we need the money for other purpose... like..travelling... OPS!!!

Hi Em,
yeah, we did hack the service balcony wall.

Hi Cynthia, the PE is found thru my ID, saved me a lot of trouble doing the coordination.

me same case as u... not rushing the ID to hand over fast. In fact now i am only doing HDB rectification, hacking of walls. The real reno will start only in oct this year. haha i am only gonna move in next oct!!!

hi cynthia,

kitchen,service balcony wall, study room, master bed room, total hack 4 walls and reconstruct 3 walls

haha no choice, got to change the layout to fit wat i want for my house.

i guess thats y our EA is so cheap... due to lousy design.

but i am actually quite happy with the flat now, after the redesign, i like how it will look. And most imptly, its near the MRT. I hate taking feeder bus to MRT.

HI mathew,

now, all walls hacked. new erected walls for BR1 and MBR. Tiling work for living and kitchen almost done. Electrical works halfway done, air con trunking also half way done.. kerb in bathrooms done. tired of chasing for progress..

How abt yours? tiling works done?

Hi Cynthia,
My reno started yesterday. Din wanna hurry too.. only want to move in before CNY.
Now, am thinking whether to overlay the toilet tiles.. I scare the tiles will pop up after some time. Now, becos of this house, cannot anyhow spend money...poor emily.. wahhaaa

hi Anne,

mine not yet. Today is just the wall hacking. Should be done by tomorrow.

Kitchen and toilet tiling will i just called the HDB contractor to start work next sat. cement screeding on 9th July.

after that, all work will stop until oct. I only want the reno to begin in oct, since i am only moving in 1 yr later. so now basically just wanna finish up anything that has to do with the hdb contractors first.

The rest of the work will just purely be done by my ID and i wanna do it slowly in Oct. i always tell her i got plenty of time, just do a nice job, take ur time. haha

hi emily
me too..poor gal...
cos now got wedding in december also..+Siong+
i dun think will pop out one lar...it only pop after 15 years later. and then since its first hand should be ok.
unless after u move in, u used strong detergent to wash.

matthew, our EA lousy layout or not, last time it was still quite ex. the reason its cheaper probably bcos this is like ex stock and the lease already lesser than 99 yrs. blk 626 -630 previously ard same price but the layout much better.. but i dun prefer the location...

ya i got to agree 626-630 lay out better.

love their balcony. but their masterbedroom is very tiny. i feel that cant do a WIW unless u dont mind the room look small.

anyway the main reason i didnt get that is also due to location. although got pioneer mall there, the proximity to MRT is the most impt factor to me.

I HATE FEEDER BUSES

we already wasted the good 5 years of lease.
my ID just called that my air con got to fix on thu, after which chemcial washing.
she is trying to get things done by this weekend...and then the handover...

there finally my renvo is completed. i cross my fingers that there will be any problem after that. I DUN WAN to have anything to do with HS after that.

my handover was like 2 weeks ago but after that i also no time to clean or do anything.. very bz. dunno when i got the time to move in. haha

sianz, cant wait for this reno thingy to be over manz. i hate the waiting n chasing part. everything also need to wait, esp with hdb peepx! my aircon 2nd installation finally done today, at least 1 headache gone, i hope....
anyway, if u are bored waiting for those people to turn up, u can always go kpo ard ur neighbours' houses (reno going on too). kinda fun in a way haha

i am glad mine over... really if not out of neccessity, i wont move and save all this hassle... now still got to clean the house, afterwhich still hv the hassle of moving in... wah headache..

for me, I dun have much problems with HDB, but LOTS of problem with HS.
thanks god i dun need to face with my ID, my poor bf is the one doing all these. he is now at our house doing LAST round of inspection.
now left with some minor problem but good enough as Eye sore...really vomit blood.
guess only my bf have the patience with them.

hi swatdila
you r right, after that still got to clean house. the worst fear i have is, the more i clean, the more problem i find that is cause by my ID. totally lost faith in them.

hello all....

guess some of u have already done with the reno. cleaning is really tired, been staying for a mth already..
As for the bus to interchange, dun have to worry. there is pte bus to take.
just that back fr interchange is problem. sometime has to wait for almost 20min..

Hi oshgosh, where and how to take the pte bus? Would you know the price and the route that the bus takes? Thanks.

BTW, what's HS?

i dont take the feeder bus. walking is fine bcos at most 10mins walk only.

if from Jurong point and a lot of things to carry, then take taxi abt $3 only.. haha

morrning ladies...good to know that some has already shifted in. is the place breezy?
realsised its breezy when we open the door.

quite a number of people has moved in already hor... our lot of flats is actually quite breezy.. especially if u are facing the factory side, it is open space, so is very windy..

btw, anyone of u got problems with the tv point? last weekend i brought a tv and plug into 1 of the bedroom, found that its not working.. tot the whole hse points not activated or wat but i went to MBR, it works....

u need to call HDB to activate the TV point. they will sent techicial to yr place. i have already shift in more than a mth. the area was very windy.. holding my hsewarming end of july

phew house warming huh? are we invited?
hahah..
my stupid ID co-ordinator has gone MIA to malaysia leaving behind so much tiny tiny problems like didn't drill holes on cabinates for wires, hood not propeerly install, fautly door at kitchen cabinate not replace, request for full length mirror for WIW but give me 3/4 length, my WIW door got air bubbles...

simply irresponsible. talk big no actions.

yup, i inform hdb liao. they sent their tv cable contractor. he came to my place yesterday but i want not ard, so he called me to say he connect from outside, ask me to try again... when i free one of these days i go and test again.

errm i rem that time FH scrubbed real hard and the stains came off leh, though nw hdb changed white ones for us. the grey and beige is so ugly.... u try those very strong detergent see can or not lor.

btw, any idea when and how much is the whatever tv license fee and number plate fee?

mine also changed new ones...

original ones were pink and grey.. so ugly. i complained to hdb about the stain and ask them to change new ones for me but they refused.

In the end, they damaged the toilet bowls when they remove it to change the wall tiles. so now they gonna replace for me white ones as per my request. LOL

looks like i have to live with it.
anyway, its not very big patches. my FH say can be removed with some strong detergents.