$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

ID called to update me my Permit is now approved. Our renovation plan can proceed as planned! Happy* Happy* The permit paper also stick up at outside of the wall le.. :-)

I am so sad, the HDB branch ppl lost one of my keys, hence have to delay again.. so much of expediting my application.. so disappointed with HDB management.. do thing so slow and full of problem.

falling flakes
inform the PUB...when u go to HDb to get your keys, there's a counter for PUB...just proceed to the counter can liao.

hi babu,

just to double check with ya, b4 ur bf called the HDB contractor directly, when u submitted ya defects list do u need to wait for the HDB officer go through any inspection together with u to ensure the defects are there?

i hope to speed up my rectifications work too..

Hi ouchie...
no we did not have anyone to go thru our defect list with us. juz called the HDB a few days after we submitted our keys and defect list.

hiz all, meeting with the HDB ppl tml morn at my flat.... at last!!! so happy!!!

babu, anne,
we manage to get hold of the office in charged so hence she made appointment with me tml... hopefully they can start the work asap...

anne, hang on there... dont be like me, so stress!!...

yane, how long did u have to wait for ur reno permit?? i also need to do some planning, the ID said 7 working days, if want hacking walls, the permit will need longer time.... *finger cross*

Devila, mine took 7 days as I have 1 wall to hack only. My ID apply more than 7days ago, he just wanto make sure our schedule for hacking will nt be delay bcos of permit approval. So which ID u have signed with?

Hi Lavender, thanks!

Btw anyone in 656D got their keys already?

Anyone planning to do ceiling fan and grilles for the main balcony? I am thinking of doing for practical reasons (mum saying in the future if got kids then jia lat if got no grilles) but then afriad it will look ugly spoil the view. As for the fan i also dunno will look weird or not...

yane, havent sign with anyone YET!!!!!!! still so totally confuse!!! really hard to compare APPLE TO APPLE.... but it seems likely i'll sign with future home now despite the fact tat i had already paid citidesign a $500 deposit earlier, cos their price is still afew k over our buget.

design wise, i havent seen wat future home can design for us as we didnt pay any thing yet... seems like all IDs every firm REFUSE to draw out or show u the details n design drawing for your flat until u pay at least some sort of deposit!!!! sometimes i wonder how can one choose if one cant even c at least some pix... if i can imagin, i would have been in the ID line long ago!! haiz they only kept showing me their past cilents designs, pix from other flats, etc...

citidesign did some computer drawings and some detail black and white drawings to show me (since i paid them $500 le) but once i mention that another firm quoting much lower, they stop doing the drawings le... seems like either scare i use their design and ask someone else to do or they decide tat since i'm comparing, so might not enage them and hence waste time drawing for us..... haiz

future home quotes seems cheaper... i really hope that everything can go smoothly. my hubby heartache the $500 hence prefer citi, just tat now wants them to give us more competitive rates... both haiz.... be4 sales, anytbing also can, after sales, i donnoe... yet to be tested...

dun be so stress out. the main factor to ID search is to find one whom u can trust and talk with. having trust with his capability and sincerity to make sure ur reno is a smooth one. able to convey thots and opinions. thats the most important. see, if ur ID has always have bad feedbacks, how to even start to give ur trust to him, and gave him probably more than $30k of hard earned money???

then other factors will follow, budget lah design lah workmanship lah services lah... after the price is satisfactory, workmanship is the 2nd thing i looked for. if im happy with the showflat project ive went, then its abt there le. designs can change and change and change till its SATISFACTORY, as they are obliged to make sure designs r what u want.
* i have done many many changesssss... kekez

devila, good for u...
u still have ppl from the office to go thru stuff with u??? the HDB just pass the keys to the contractor and arrange for the contractor and my bf to liaise... HDB was like out of the pic...

hi falling flakes, i am in ur scenerios weeks ago. me and fh dun wanto have grilles, but elders insisted and end up we have grilles for the whole unit. but we manage to have no windows for our balcony. to do grilles in future means the mess will come later after u moved in, and sure if u have kids u will do grilles, latest by the time the baby have learn how to crawl. for fan, it depends what theme u gg for. if its contemporary, zen, its ok... i think lah.

hi choz, if i din remember wrongly, 1st appt is to pay the $2000 option fees etc... then there is a 2nd appt which is time to sign the agreement of lease, collect keys, pay insurance & conservancy fees etc. u jus need 2-2.5hrs to go thru the whole process. hope this helps.

for those who engaged FSM, does they include opening of fortune door, date for starting work (dong2 tu2)and ending work (xie4 tu2) and prayers chanting.

oh we sama sama taste! so we r both 'weird' in other ppl's eyes... kekez, joking lah. share with u gals my another view.. front view of my mbr toilet with shower screen.

473076.jpg

thanks yane, but now i am wondering...need to do grilles for the toilet or not...
mum was saying all do but i was thinking so high people how to climb in singapore also got no spiderman mah...

the cabinet is my designer's idea. the mosaic is my ID idea, but end up i get my lobang to do at much cheaper rate... nt from ID. but my ID don't mind it at all.

my house will be white/black/red/grey color theme. dunno how's the final product will be. afraid that the designs will look weird at the end of the day... *scared scared.

Hi Yane,

Dun worry, it will just as great as you could image. I am also looking into black n white and one highlight colour. some strong colour like orange or magenta

fallingflakes,

toilet no need to grille... window not big also.
doubt many ppl will become spiderman nowadays.
do those big windows will do... me and my bf also do it this way... cos no choice, old ppl nag when we din put grilles... so only plan to do those big windows. no grilles in toilets....

hi babu,

does your FSM include opening of fortune door, date for starting work (dong2 tu2)and ending work (xie4 tu2) and prayers chanting.

anne... ya.. my FSM also will give me dates for all those u mention, just tat, these dates presently cannot calculate yet cos also donoe when going to start work, permit when can approve, but once have a rough idea, will call my FSM again so he can tell when is a good day to start.

babu, yane, ya, one of the HDB PE was with me yesterday also, including few of the contractors.. seems tat different contractors will be doing different things... meet mr lee yesterday too... but he only can do my kitchen tiles, choosen the yellow wall tile yesterday le. mr lee said tat toilets will be another contractor as mr lee cannot do any waterproving works for my flat...

yane, love your toilet!!!
but my FSM said tat my hubby cannot have red. even cannot wear red shirts!! i dont have any buget left for doing up the toilet to my liking, so it'll be up to how HDB contractors can help me lor... haiz... hoping that i can get beidge/brown/white combination. but since i cannot change the toilet bowls n sinks, mabe cannot do much colour changes also... c how lah....

the midnite barang2 thingy looks interesting... anyone wants to go?? mabe we can go together...

edit : just realize tat it's for memebers only leh...

mr lee cannot fo waterproving works???
oh my god...
he did my toilet ald...
very nice leh... will me tiles last????

*faint*

babu, yes im buying toilet door from h*b.

devila, how do u noe he is HDB PE? he said? u alr told PE u r hacking wall?

the mosaic is red/greyish-white mini tiles. but as red is most significant color hence it looks the whole thing is bold red.

my renovation started this morning!! ID called me to update me... he was at my house with his workers, briefing them what to expect coming up. his tiler spotted the balcony cement screed floor is kind of hollow and so he quickly suggest me to declare as defects, and instruct h*b to hack it away, ID will cement it back for me. this way can be very sure the foundation is not hollow, the tiles will not pop. today received 2nd version of contract ffom ID, incl all the additional works/deletion of works/electrical works etc, am glad everything is put into black and white, no conflict. still managed to keep reno cost below $30K. phew!!

stress ah stress ah... need to replenish my Vitamin M!!

Babu: on 2nd thot i think i dun wan to do the toilet grilles, do also hard to clean!

Anyone doing ceiling fan??

Yane: how did u manage to keep ur reno cost below $30k??????? I mean, urs seem to be doing a lot of things including the loo, mine my loo nothing much yet my renO already $39K!!! wah lao!

And i haven got my keys yet...

Anyone in blk D got their keys already???
why hdb so slow???????

fallingflakes, u can choose horizontal grilles only mah... its easier to clean. one direction only. im not doing ceiling fan.

ahmmm... seek for more quotation to compare lor. my luck on ID searching is quite good, appreciate such blessings... got 2 good IDs for me to choose from at the end when i need to decide on one. my current ID and us are sincere to keep good working relationship, hence we give and take on many things, he oso tell us what are good-to-have, what are must-have, then let us weigh the importancy. all homeowners muz learn not to be too gullible and trust everything ID said... do more homework and u wil learn (the hard way) how to save $$ for ur wallet.

another thing to take note. if u notice, most of the ID companies have warranty for their carpentry works. the hidden note is, who honour the warranty?? some ID companies employ sub-con to do their carpentry works and chances that they will change the sub-con in years to come are potentially there. while other ID companies have their own carpentry factory; meaning they have their own workers. which do u think are more trustworthy and can give u the warranty without disputes?
take note...

babu!!! no no no not mr lee cannot do waterproving for me not becos he donnoe how but cos he doesnt have contract with HDB to do it at our BLKS!!.. another contractor is in charge for our blks for waterproving..... dont worry lah....

yane.... dont mind i ask... ur toilet was actually done by HDB? if so.... can check with you how to go about it? n if possible can let me know how much it cost u? and u mean u can buy another toilet door from HDB? as in different design de? so then wat about the orginal door? do u sell back to HDB or it'll be a lost for u in cost i mean?

cos if possible, i would like to redo my toilets also... the HDB tiles i saw, only colour to match the MBR toilet bowl n sink is pink wall tile n red floor tile which as i mention, my hubby cannot use. so if i wan to change it to anyother colour, like blue, the bowl n sink will be totally out since i have to use the orginal ones back..... now still thinking how can i solve this problem....

my previous tiles are faulty. gotten approval from T.O to have it changed. so since h*b paid the sub-con to have it overlay, hence i bought my own tiles and paid the price difference. the tile shop is strictly only that tile shop the h*b sub-con have ties with. for the toilet doors, its very common complain ppl conplaining abt. the handles have squeaky sound (meaning cant open or close smoothly) if u managed to get approval from T.O, then u can either 1) get new foc same pattern one; or 2) top up $$ to get aluminium-frame bi-fold door. thou need to top up, the $$ is well-spent. u will not get back the previous ugly one. hope this helps.

devila, u can consider the yellow or orangy tiles?

well, i have choosen the light yellow tiles for my kitchen le... thou plain, but just wat i'm looking for. but i havent choose the toilets ones yet. but since the toilet bowls n sink is beige/peachy colour for mbr toilet and blue/grey for common toilet, i dont have much choices unless i'm willing to buy new bowls n sinks....

i was hoping that i can get white/beige n brown colours for my my MBR, still can match the bowl n sink, and for common toilet, grey or light blue (no choice i guess)...

hmm... i dont think i'll change the doors thou, the MBR one is already alum blind fold... the other common toilet one thou is those 'plastic feel' white colour type but both not in any serious problems, hence, no reason for HDB to chnage lah... other then the magnetic strips tat is... and i must agree, the doors looks so 'old' looking... haiz...

u can take the white with greyish grains or orangy square tiles for mbr toilet. can match. then vanity cabinet, next time u do brown one.

for my kitchen toilet, i oso use back the existing WC+basin. only overlay the ugly tiles. or maybe ur ID can advise u better option.

many of our neighbourhood neighbours' reno did not involve using PE, how come u need to employ 1? it cost a few hundred right?

oh no no didnt employ PE... wat i mean is she is the HDB staff in charge of our blks, her post is P.Exec. (says in the HDB letter) she is the one who arrange the contractors to my flat. rite now, i'm hoping the toilet contractor and hurry up n contact me when can go choose the tiles, etc...

as for the colours, really depends on wat hdb selections are.... *finger cross*!!!

anne, congrates!!! welcome to the world of chaos!!! :P

just went over my new flat, my downstairs neighbour already started their reno!! so envy.... their contractor already done alot of the tiling for their living/dining area le!!!!

i have already signed up with ID 2 weeks ago with a quotation of 36K with Arts & Thots. till date, very happy with their service. They give very good advice and throw in a fair bit of good deal. mine got a lot of carpentry n glass concept/wallpaper and hacking too. most impt, they are very approachable ppl. those who have not select any id, can give them a try.