$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

Hi babu,
I haven't move in yet. Reno should be starting end of this month.

Jessi,

U got ur keys during the last yr selection?
what kind of concept you have for ur hm?
Care to share share?

hi jessi
i am also keen to know.

to all
my fiance just called HDB again, for ppl who WIS in Feb, keys not ready yet. likely ready from april to May...wonder why take so long???

WIS in Feb??
Is it consider as Jan??
Cos I rem i went for the selection in Jan...
and was informed that 3 mths later...
so either end of March or Early April leh...

If delay, we must hurry with our renovation to avoid the 7% GST.

Hihi Iceq
I just bought a resale flat at Blk 667. We are going to have wallpaper as feature wall as well. We have been to Goodrich a few weeks ago. The selection was simply too much for us to digest in a few hours..My suggestion is that mayb you could come up with a concept 1st then go down n choose the wallpaper.Else u will be so overwhelmed by the large variety.

cynthia..talk about being so long, I can't even smell my hle loan approval..sigh.

heay tesoro, do you know how much is the selling price for the wallpaper? I didn't get to go last week..

Hi babu and cynthia,

i went for june 06 WIS, but only got the keys end of oct cos there was some miscommunication about submission of some documents to HDB and also HDB contractors took some time to touch up the place before the key collection.

we are going for resort style theme for our home. how about both of you?

im oso from 62X Jurong West. have some quotes in hand and should be signing contract 2 weeks later. with all the price increase in the market, renovation costs is such a burden.

Hi Cynthia Tan,

It's Home Living 2007 home designer at expo this sat.

FOr home reno it's best you send me an email with your contact that i can reach you so i can discuss with you thru the phone easiler. You can email me at [email protected]

Hi Jessie,
you waited 4 mths?
i register in 02/02/07, worst scereniro, get keys in June, ....i can only pray hard that my reno can done smoothly.

right now, too early to go home living, because simply the final draft of renvo is not ready yet.

hi white,
thanks for your kind offer, but frankly speaking, I dunno wat to discuss with you about home reno also, mind is totally blank.

Hi Jessi,
me goin for modern concept.
wow resort concept is gd huh.
like always on holiday mood.

Hi Yane, welcome. u also get your keys ald?

Jessi,
maybe u can go down and take a look but do not committ to anything yet. Just tell them you have not get your keys. Will check with my dear if he wants to go.

Just go get some ideas lor if you are like me, know nuts abt reno...
hahahaha

I've juz met up with IntraD Dave last weekend...hm...gave a good impression...shd be meeting up again once he done up the designs... yup heard that the cost is not going to be cheap but renovation really cannot only base on cost to decide...its a long run thing... soo it'll depends alot on what materials u choose and also that is the resulting effect on the cost eventually loh
... haiz sianz seems like everybody waiting and waiting for the HLE and 2nd Apptn...argggghhh make us kancheong onli rite >< ... oh yar hey...any body got idea of wat to do with the balcony :D ... tot of putting a swing chair there... then no idea liao :D suggestions?

Jacko,
true enough...
cannot be based on cost.
if u want better material, u gotta pay lor...
wat kind of swing chair??
the one hanging from the ceiling ah?
my dear prefers a coffee table for 2 there...
hehehehe

Hi Cynthia,
It took 3mths+ cos of the miscommunication, else it will be a shorter waiting period. Many of the people under the same WIS as me got their keys earlier than me.

Hi babu,
Actually I had already signed up with a ID. never really like going to those reno fair, alot of pushy sales ppl there. :P

Hi Cynthia,

I'm from a design firm, if you don't mind you can pass me a copy of your floorplan, from there than we discuss and i will work out a quote. Better to discuss it with you on the phone.

Can i join in? I also booked a EA at blk 656 on 23 Jan. At that time while waiting in HBDHub, can see EA selling like hotcakes for 656 blocks. Also lookin for IDs. So far has went to 2 IDs.

Hi Anne, sure..
u went to 2 ID? rec a quote ald?
I'm still waiting for one of the forumner to come back to me... His name is Sean...
Have go find ID yet.
Surfing the website to see whose design I like.

some minor updates for 656 bros and sisters

1) many foreign workers loitering at void deck night (better to get hubby wait for u if u are taking bus home)

2) closest and only feeder bus is no.254 (thats' if you your block is closer to the industrial site)

hi babu,

ALready got one from Chew's. on the high end i guess.. 40k. waiting for another one from desprit.. =)

hi dumb,

I agree with the foreign workers loitering around that area as my parents also staying just a street across. The police are alway on patrol for these few areas. There is a RC office in one of the blocks, guess not so bad... just have to avoid quiet lane..

one more update, i noticed there is a good choice if you are choosing btw parquet and laminate flooring, new choice is rubber tiles that look like parquet and cheaper than parquet yet more lasting than laminate flooring.. =) most important, not slippery. =)

Hi Anne,..i went to chew before too...wa 40k is quite ex ...that time my quote was ard 31k (free air-con,hood &amp; hob) you have these? you doing alot iszit?

Babu: Yar tot putting those swing chair hanging from ceiling... but was thinking wat if raining? will the chair gets dirty? most likely rite since i not doing window there :s ...hm anyother suggestions?

juz like me and cynthia lor...
put coffee table...
my dear say during weekend, we will take our breakfast there...
hahahahaa...

or u wanna make it into a botanical garden??
depending very much on you and partner lor.

hi cynthia, the mis-comm happened cos during the time of application i was not working. so the lady gave us a form and told us that can try apply for one of the grant. but after which i got a job then will not be eligible for it so we never send out the form. apparantly they were waiting for the form before they can start processing the application.

but when we call them up the first time to check if we had missed submitting any docs cos we had waited for quite long and they told us don't have. so we waited a few weeks more and call again then they told us still waiting for the application form for that grant. so we told them we are not applying for that grant and they told us that need to write a letter and mail to them saying we are not applying.

that's why all the waiting here and there caused us to wait so long then can collect the keys.

Hi babu, jessi, yane

Me also gonna stay at 62X

i went for the WIS last year Jun, got the keys in Sep but till now hv not reno my place. Finally willing to get to work when the GST hike was announced. So i guess June will b a noisy and debris mth for most of the WIS locations. lots of reno gg on to beat the 01 July GST hike

what sort of theme are u planning for ur EA? Cos i hv no idea yet.. actually lots of ideas but no budget lah

Hi Iced Latte, we might be neighbour! ;-p

I have gotten my keys. Now finalizing quotes. Target to sign contract this month, and start reno next month. Budget to keep my reno below $30K, which I think its not impossible. It's a 'torturing' process to balance your Wish/Wants to your Needs... of how to incorporate your Wishlist into the quotation.

Wanted to have Minimalistic initially. But as we went for furniture searching, the theme is vulnerable to change... haha...

As for the Balcony, we will be keeping it, ours are facing the field, got nice greenery view. Intend to have a hanging swing chair / hammock, with outdoor table and 2 chair... :-)

Hi white7, I don't think we feel comfortable to forward our contact details and floorplan to you when we don't even know your background.. at the least, which ID firm you are from. Hope you can understand.

Hi Yane,

You can forward an email to me then i can reply back with my contact details and my company name. As i try to post my company name in the forum it dosen't allow me to post. Hope u understand.

Hi white7, thanks for your clarification. Yes, I understand your situation. Giving us a 'Hint' on your firm name is sufficient. Let me do abit homework on for ID and will get back to you if I require your advice on quote.

Hi Yane

My block is facing the basketball court, diagonally facing the field

I happened to c my neighbour downstairs renovating their flat so me and FH popped by to look. Didn't see the full reno cos a lot of carpentry not done yet. The owners told us their reno is ard $30K. Kept the balcony and toilet &amp; kitchen tiles.

I want to put a raised platform at the balcony area cos i want to put window (lazy to wipe whenever it rains). Also dislike the toilet and kitchen tiles, esp toilets. Am trying to psycho myself to accept them... esp the vanity top in the MBR toilet, tho not nice, is not cheap to do also. I want to keep the reno below $30K too.

Hi Iced Latte, er... actually i think my block see more of the court than the field. I think we are from the same block.

Hi Yane

Oh like that i think so same block! Yeah!

Which floor are u staying? to the left when you exit the lift (only 1 unit facing court) or to the right (2 units)?

Yane, wanna get white7 to quote?..

white7, got bulk discount anot, since u may b serving 2 customers living in the same block, so convenient! haha!

Mine is turn left on high floor. Don't wanto share 'wall' with neighbour...kekez, joking.

I don't mind to get another quote, since i have not sign any contract yet.

Hi Ice Latte, so we are all at the same block ;) Agree with Yane that it's difficult to decide between the needs and wants in the reno. My initial budget was 25K but ended up spending 28K on reno and furthermore we took out quite a number of "decorative purpose" capentry to reduce the cost.

Ice Latte, maybe we are direct upstairs-downstairs neighbour. hee... PM me your block number lah...

Jessi, you are on mid level right?

The most hatred stupid thing about our layout is the Household Shelter door!! HDB tekan us ah... face the door at the dining area... the whole stretch wall is so dxxx long...

Hey Ice Latte and Yane,
so we all in the same block ah?
Can ask White to include me?
3 of us, might even be cheaper.

Jessi, so fast we found ourselves 2 more neighbours.

Yane I agree. Stupid bomb shelter door.
to put a feature wall there sure cos alot... haiz...

yup yane, i'm on mid level

babu, having feature wall to cover bomb shelter door is really expensive. we were quote 2K+ for it, but we never go for it cos wan to cut cost. now need to think of other cheaper alternative to cover the door.

this weeked got exhibition at expo..something like for kitchen and toilet reno.
any 1 like to go take a look for ideas?

jessi,
maybe put a curtain over it?
buy those nice and can use to decorative item lor... guess this will be cheaper...
if not you can paint a pic over the door lor.
or print a wallpaper of you and your dear to paste it on the door? see which ever way cheaper lor.
this is wat i think of when my dear told me he would rather forgo the feature wall on the bomb shelter. so I've been racking my brain.