(2016) 2016 brides

Do you all have some auspicious hour to stick to? Because I was considering lunch banquet but my auspicious hour is 9-11 which makes it super super rushed! So end up hv to stick to dinner.

I agree para 1,2,5 cos my thoughts exactly and I am having a lunch banquet too (but ours is alcoholic free flow...lol)

Haha, free flow alcohol will be great if your guest are big and heavy drinkers :) must capitalize! :)

Both of our families don't drink, and our friends are perfectly fine without drinks (we go out for dinners and usually no one orders alcohol). Furthermore I guess because both my fiance and myself are pretty sporty and athletic so our friends understand our point of view.

Problem lies with the relatives. But nope, it's our wedding.. so they have to play by our rules :P LOL! #yolo

Do you all have some auspicious hour to stick to? Because I was considering lunch banquet but my auspicious hour is 9-11 which makes it super super rushed! So end up hv to stick to dinner.

I've to admit that we are the most "chin chye" couple ever. We don't have auspicious date (we want the wedding date to be on our 10th year anniversary, so it's aupicious in our dictionary haha!), and definitely no such thing as auspicious hours. However, if your family believes in it, then it's best to follow the tradition. Will changing the date makes the auspicious hour a more viable option?
Or, alternatively you can have the tea ceremony and ROM at the auspicious hours (so it means you are legally married at the auspicious timing too!) ?

Yes i agree with you ladies! How can people say lunch is cheapo? So ridiculous. The cost of a banquet do no indicate whether it's a cheapo wedding or not. Dont understand how some people's minds work...

My plan was to have a lunch banquet too, however, same as @Iridis.joy i've the auspicious hour to stick to, hence i've to go for a dinner banquet.

My budget is around 70K/75K as i'm having a banquet for about 40 tables. o_O this is what happens when both sides have big familes.

Your auspicious hour is for ROM or FTB? If it's for FTB, you can get fetched and go straight to the hotel and serve tea to relatives at the hotel before the lunch?

If it's ROM, then maybe having dinner might be a viable option.

Your auspicious hour is for ROM or FTB? If it's for FTB, you can get fetched and go straight to the hotel and serve tea to relatives at the hotel before the lunch?

If it's ROM, then maybe having dinner might be a viable option.

Alamak I've no idea! I just saw a post in the master tong forum that the timing is to enter the house, fetch the bride and finish all tea ceremony.

Didn't know rom also need auspicious hour.

Have u ladies been to wedding dinners at mbs or marina mandarin? Which do u all prefer in terms of ambience and food?
I love the food at Mandarin Marina but they don't have the date we wanted so I have to look for another option. Heard a lot of good review on the food for Mandarin Marina but MBS Im not usre

Ya heard food is ok. But what's really holding me back is the low ceiling. Everything there is ok except for the low ceiling that is just nagging at the back of my mind each time I wanna sign with them.

The setup at the ballroom also seem non existent when I went to visit during someone's actual wedding.

Just curious, can share how much budget did you all set for the whole wedding including banquet but excluding recovery first. I really don't know if mine is like within the normal range or is way too high.
I have set around $70k coz im going overseas to have my pre-wedding shoot too...

Wedding is a happy but expensive event :D

Alamak I've no idea! I just saw a post in the master tong forum that the timing is to enter the house, fetch the bride and finish all tea ceremony.

Didn't know rom also need auspicious hour.

Yup. David tong normally gives 1 FTB time and 2 ROM times. So you can base it on the time to decide if you want to hold a lunch or dinner. :)

Ya heard food is ok. But what's really holding me back is the low ceiling. Everything there is ok except for the low ceiling that is just nagging at the back of my mind each time I wanna sign with them.

The setup at the ballroom also seem non existent when I went to visit during someone's actual wedding.
Are you talking about the Vanda Ballroom? When my bf and I went, only Vanda ballroom is available. Yes the ceiling is quite low which my bf feel the ballroom look cramped

Yes I admit that I am saving cost, I am be thrifty but I am not cheapo.. End of the day, it's a win win situation.. I get to rest early (enjoy the hotel facilities, pool, gym), the guests get to go home early (though mine is a Saturday), and it's cheaper.

If it's a dinner, there will be this awkward break timing in between where it's neither here nor there.. perhaps I am just used to packing my own time table up so as to make my day a lot more eventful than to have pockets of empty time where we don't know what to do.

Furthermore, ours is a non-alcoholic event, which makes lunch a even more viable option compared to dinner (assuming that more guest will drink during dinner). My fiance and I are both against alcohols and we are both non tolerant of alcoholic drinks as well.

So if you were to couple these 2 things together - lunch + non alcoholic banquet.. people will start pointing fingers and say that we are cheapo.

BUT, it's our wedding, the very fact that if we are extending our invitation out to the relatives (no choice), or to our friends means that you play a significant part in our life. A wedding is nothing but for a day's show, but marriage is for life. Furthermore, we are financing the whole wedding and housing on our own, our parents are not forking out a single cent.. so we have 100% say in how we spend our budget :)

*disclaimer: we are spending quite a bit of money on photography as we are flying to NZ for our overseas pre-wedding photoshoot. However, that double up as a honeymoon, and since NZ is a great place, we decided to document our journeys together on photos and memories that will last a lifetime*

Personally, I am living on the mantra where I choose how I want my life to be. There's no way you can please everybody.. so long as you and your husband/wife is happy and comfortable, that's the most important :)

hmm.. our friends drink plus the package comes with it too so we just include. abit weird to be drinking so early but oh well. lol. yea.. we are financing it on our own too. my cousin still loan from other relatives which i dont like.. cuz if cannot finance den dont do so much or wat ba.. in the end after the wedding in debts also :/

enjoy your photo shoot!! :D :D i saw photos in NZ too! hen mei but dont wanna spend so much on the photos so we might do tw :D

Yup vanda ballroom. I thought their main ballroom ceiling also quite low one?
My friend had hers at the grand ballroom...seems ok. If you are looking for high ceiling, I think there are quite a few hotels have that...just that need to source. I went to 11 hotels to see then finally found one that my bf like coz he is more concern about the venue :P

Yes i agree with you ladies! How can people say lunch is cheapo? So ridiculous. The cost of a banquet do no indicate whether it's a cheapo wedding or not. Dont understand how some people's minds work...

My plan was to have a lunch banquet too, however, same as @Iridis.joy i've the auspicious hour to stick to, hence i've to go for a dinner banquet.

My budget is around 70K/75K as i'm having a banquet for about 40 tables. o_O this is what happens when both sides have big familes.

yeahhh~ i guess as i go along more ppl will say this and that. so long as i voice them out here and you wonderful ladies help me i guess everything will be smooth. lol. the whole wedding thing like show la.. like mus haf this dish and that dish if not ppl say again..wow.. we probably abt 25 to 30. 40 tables u can have many choices!!

My friend had hers at the grand ballroom...seems ok. If you are looking for high ceiling, I think there are quite a few hotels have that...just that need to source. I went to 11 hotels to see then finally found one that my bf like coz he is more concern about the venue :p

which 1 did u choose in the end? :D still sourcing for mine!

Hi everyone, if anyone is interested to remove their eyebag instantly on their wedding day or to have passive income opportunity. Pls pm me....

My friend has tried the product and it works. No obligation. Just recommending :)

hmm.. our friends drink plus the package comes with it too so we just include. abit weird to be drinking so early but oh well. lol. yea.. we are financing it on our own too. my cousin still loan from other relatives which i dont like.. cuz if cannot finance den dont do so much or wat ba.. in the end after the wedding in debts also :/

enjoy your photo shoot!! :D :D i saw photos in NZ too! hen mei but dont wanna spend so much on the photos so we might do tw :D

ya no point entering marriage with debts :( not a good sign (not auspicious LOL).

Taiwan is pretty too! But many of my friends are doing it.. and most of the time they just bring you to a few set locations.. I really love the outdoors and nature :) The only bad thing is that I've no MUA with me so have to learn how to make up :P

@kemise ohhh. i haven been there yet but im sold by the pix they take. LOL. im jay chou fan and got tis scene they went to do the secret movie and his cafe. ME WAN. lololol. so nice!!! but yaaaaaa. i was told by frens many did liao. so i am attempting to come up my own story line. lol! den maybe wont be same as others ;)

so u took in tw too?

@kemise ohhh. i haven been there yet but im sold by the pix they take. LOL. im jay chou fan and got tis scene they went to do the secret movie and his cafe. ME WAN. lololol. so nice!!! but yaaaaaa. i was told by frens many did liao. so i am attempting to come up my own story line. lol! den maybe wont be same as others ;)

so u took in tw too?

nope havent took my photos yet.. but i got friends who took photos in taiwan :) haha if you have places in mind, then just suggest to the photographers if not they will bring you to those usual places :p

i'll be heading to NZ next year for shoot :) but no MUA (oops!)

Actually MM perks are vvv attractive!! If not for the ceiling I would have signed with them.
really? like wat kind? i like pan pac too.. got the Canapé and mocktails during cocktail recept. hahaha. me likey!! but the ballroom not nice at all leh. the small one. so ... v sad. in the end cannot consider them liao.

nope havent took my photos yet.. but i got friends who took photos in taiwan :) haha if you have places in mind, then just suggest to the photographers if not they will bring you to those usual places :p

i'll be heading to NZ next year for shoot :) but no MUA (oops!)

is ok de. my sis de also no MUA. lol. but the gown u take and bring there?

really? like wat kind? i like pan pac too.. got the Canapé and mocktails during cocktail recept. hahaha. me likey!! but the ballroom not nice at all leh. the small one. so ... v sad. in the end cannot consider them liao.

Think they shared the full details on their website. I like the part about option to choose either free flow beer and 1 wine per table. Or free flow wine and a 30L beer. Think nowadays pple will take more wine? Also there's a free table for 20 tables booked (vanda ballroom). The other general perks are ok too.

Haha, free flow alcohol will be great if your guest are big and heavy drinkers :) must capitalize! :)

Both of our families don't drink, and our friends are perfectly fine without drinks (we go out for dinners and usually no one orders alcohol). Furthermore I guess because both my fiance and myself are pretty sporty and athletic so our friends understand our point of view.

Problem lies with the relatives. But nope, it's our wedding.. so they have to play by our rules :P LOL! #yolo

I've to admit that we are the most "chin chye" couple ever. We don't have auspicious date (we want the wedding date to be on our 10th year anniversary, so it's aupicious in our dictionary haha!), and definitely no such thing as auspicious hours. However, if your family believes in it, then it's best to follow the tradition. Will changing the date makes the auspicious hour a more viable option?
Or, alternatively you can have the tea ceremony and ROM at the auspicious hours (so it means you are legally married at the auspicious timing too!) ?
My wedding is on our 10th year anniversary too!!

ya!! thats the reason why we wanna do lunch instead

yup! somemore my solemnisation is on a separate day.. so there's really no point for us to do customary in the morning, then wait all the way till dinner for banquet.. haha. i wanna get it done with asap then enjoy ourselves for the night at the hotel!

Those who went for the MM showcase just now, how was it??

meeeeeee. hahaa. lunch banquet is very value for money.. lvl 1 ballroom v nice too. min 30 tables. only need to pay deposit of 8k den after actual day then settle. i like this theme!

Attachments

• 1443093576897.jpg
    1443093576897.jpg
    64.4 KB · Views: 60
I'm not.. parents aren't too. my fiancé is attending both red and white events even now. it's less than 2mths to our solemnisation day.

icic. my mama say nooooo cannot. 3 mths b4 or after. lol. so kua zhang. n she v funny. initially nth much. now ask her den she say. lol.