Iridis.joy
Do you all have some auspicious hour to stick to? Because I was considering lunch banquet but my auspicious hour is 9-11 which makes it super super rushed! So end up hv to stick to dinner.
I agree para 1,2,5 cos my thoughts exactly and I am having a lunch banquet too (but ours is alcoholic free flow...lol)
Do you all have some auspicious hour to stick to? Because I was considering lunch banquet but my auspicious hour is 9-11 which makes it super super rushed! So end up hv to stick to dinner.
Don't think so...Some places lunch is not cheap too..most impt is you are comfortable with it. Friends are there to give you their blessings. As long as you and your husband to be are happyany1 got frens say do lunch is cheapo?![]()
Your auspicious hour is for ROM or FTB? If it's for FTB, you can get fetched and go straight to the hotel and serve tea to relatives at the hotel before the lunch?
If it's ROM, then maybe having dinner might be a viable option.
I love the food at Mandarin Marina but they don't have the date we wanted so I have to look for another option. Heard a lot of good review on the food for Mandarin Marina but MBS Im not usreHave u ladies been to wedding dinners at mbs or marina mandarin? Which do u all prefer in terms of ambience and food?
I love the food at Mandarin Marina but they don't have the date we wanted so I have to look for another option. Heard a lot of good review on the food for Mandarin Marina but MBS Im not usre
I have set around $70k coz im going overseas to have my pre-wedding shoot too...Just curious, can share how much budget did you all set for the whole wedding including banquet but excluding recovery first. I really don't know if mine is like within the normal range or is way too high.
Alamak I've no idea! I just saw a post in the master tong forum that the timing is to enter the house, fetch the bride and finish all tea ceremony.
Didn't know rom also need auspicious hour.
Are you talking about the Vanda Ballroom? When my bf and I went, only Vanda ballroom is available. Yes the ceiling is quite low which my bf feel the ballroom look crampedYa heard food is ok. But what's really holding me back is the low ceiling. Everything there is ok except for the low ceiling that is just nagging at the back of my mind each time I wanna sign with them.
The setup at the ballroom also seem non existent when I went to visit during someone's actual wedding.
Are you talking about the Vanda Ballroom? When my bf and I went, only Vanda ballroom is available. Yes the ceiling is quite low which my bf feel the ballroom look cramped
Yes I admit that I am saving cost, I am be thrifty but I am not cheapo.. End of the day, it's a win win situation.. I get to rest early (enjoy the hotel facilities, pool, gym), the guests get to go home early (though mine is a Saturday), and it's cheaper.
If it's a dinner, there will be this awkward break timing in between where it's neither here nor there.. perhaps I am just used to packing my own time table up so as to make my day a lot more eventful than to have pockets of empty time where we don't know what to do.
Furthermore, ours is a non-alcoholic event, which makes lunch a even more viable option compared to dinner (assuming that more guest will drink during dinner). My fiance and I are both against alcohols and we are both non tolerant of alcoholic drinks as well.
So if you were to couple these 2 things together - lunch + non alcoholic banquet.. people will start pointing fingers and say that we are cheapo.
BUT, it's our wedding, the very fact that if we are extending our invitation out to the relatives (no choice), or to our friends means that you play a significant part in our life. A wedding is nothing but for a day's show, but marriage is for life. Furthermore, we are financing the whole wedding and housing on our own, our parents are not forking out a single cent.. so we have 100% say in how we spend our budget
*disclaimer: we are spending quite a bit of money on photography as we are flying to NZ for our overseas pre-wedding photoshoot. However, that double up as a honeymoon, and since NZ is a great place, we decided to document our journeys together on photos and memories that will last a lifetime*
Personally, I am living on the mantra where I choose how I want my life to be. There's no way you can please everybody.. so long as you and your husband/wife is happy and comfortable, that's the most important![]()
My friend had hers at the grand ballroom...seems ok. If you are looking for high ceiling, I think there are quite a few hotels have that...just that need to source. I went to 11 hotels to see then finally found one that my bf like coz he is more concern about the venueYup vanda ballroom. I thought their main ballroom ceiling also quite low one?
Yes i agree with you ladies! How can people say lunch is cheapo? So ridiculous. The cost of a banquet do no indicate whether it's a cheapo wedding or not. Dont understand how some people's minds work...
My plan was to have a lunch banquet too, however, same as @Iridis.joy i've the auspicious hour to stick to, hence i've to go for a dinner banquet.
My budget is around 70K/75K as i'm having a banquet for about 40 tables.this is what happens when both sides have big familes.
My friend had hers at the grand ballroom...seems ok. If you are looking for high ceiling, I think there are quite a few hotels have that...just that need to source. I went to 11 hotels to see then finally found one that my bf like coz he is more concern about the venue![]()
I signed up with park royal at beach road coz it fit all my bf criteria.... be it the food, the ballroom and locationwhich 1 did u choose in the end?still sourcing for mine!
hmm.. our friends drink plus the package comes with it too so we just include. abit weird to be drinking so early but oh well. lol. yea.. we are financing it on our own too. my cousin still loan from other relatives which i dont like.. cuz if cannot finance den dont do so much or wat ba.. in the end after the wedding in debts also :/
enjoy your photo shoot!!![]()
i saw photos in NZ too! hen mei but dont wanna spend so much on the photos so we might do tw
![]()
@kemise ohhh. i haven been there yet but im sold by the pix they take. LOL. im jay chou fan and got tis scene they went to do the secret movie and his cafe. ME WAN. lololol. so nice!!! but yaaaaaa. i was told by frens many did liao. so i am attempting to come up my own story line. lol! den maybe wont be same as others
so u took in tw too?
really? like wat kind? i like pan pac too.. got the Canapé and mocktails during cocktail recept. hahaha. me likey!! but the ballroom not nice at all leh. the small one. so ... v sad. in the end cannot consider them liao.Actually MM perks are vvv attractive!! If not for the ceiling I would have signed with them.
I signed up with park royal at beach road coz it fit all my bf criteria.... be it the food, the ballroom and location![]()
nope havent took my photos yet.. but i got friends who took photos in taiwanhaha if you have places in mind, then just suggest to the photographers if not they will bring you to those usual places
i'll be heading to NZ next year for shootbut no MUA (oops!)
really? like wat kind? i like pan pac too.. got the Canapé and mocktails during cocktail recept. hahaha. me likey!! but the ballroom not nice at all leh. the small one. so ... v sad. in the end cannot consider them liao.
is ok de. my sis de also no MUA. lol. but the gown u take and bring there?
My wedding is on our 10th year anniversary too!!Haha, free flow alcohol will be great if your guest are big and heavy drinkersmust capitalize!
![]()
Both of our families don't drink, and our friends are perfectly fine without drinks (we go out for dinners and usually no one orders alcohol). Furthermore I guess because both my fiance and myself are pretty sporty and athletic so our friends understand our point of view.
Problem lies with the relatives. But nope, it's our wedding.. so they have to play by our rulesLOL! #yolo
I've to admit that we are the most "chin chye" couple ever. We don't have auspicious date (we want the wedding date to be on our 10th year anniversary, so it's aupicious in our dictionary haha!), and definitely no such thing as auspicious hours. However, if your family believes in it, then it's best to follow the tradition. Will changing the date makes the auspicious hour a more viable option?
Or, alternatively you can have the tea ceremony and ROM at the auspicious hours (so it means you are legally married at the auspicious timing too!) ?
@tulipkiss My friends told me there are nice gowns recently in Taobao, you can go in and take a look at it. The rating have to be at least 4.8 and above to play safe![]()
ya!! thats the reason why we wanna do lunch instead
My wedding is on our 10th year anniversary too!!
I didn't check with geomancer or the tong shu. We decided ourselves. Hopefully it's a good day for us!that's so sweet! my anniversary / monthsary dates are not "auspicious" for us according to the geomancer. so we only picked anniversary month.. hurhur..
I didn't check with geomancer or the tong shu. We decided ourselves. Hopefully it's a good day for us!
yeah, if not pangtang, any day can be a good day!![]()
When's your big day?Hi all,
a new topic can be created just by clicking on the "Create New Conversation" button. It is as easy as that.
Now, go and create new and fun topics! Enjoy!
Admin.
I'm not. But most parents are.. so if u're looking to attend any within 3 months, better to check w yr parents n yr parents in law.r u girls pan tang abt e 3 mths thing? cant attend other ppl wedding etc..
Hi Have pm you.Can pm me the contacts of your coordinator? Like to find out about their package.
r u girls pan tang abt e 3 mths thing? cant attend other ppl wedding etc..
Where to rent wedding car? What kind of car does couple using?
Those who went for the MM showcase just now, how was it??
I'm not.. parents aren't too. my fiancé is attending both red and white events even now. it's less than 2mths to our solemnisation day.
i went!!! Lol quite good..i like the grand ballroom. Alot of themes to choose fromThose who went for the MM showcase just now, how was it??