(2012) 2012 Brides to be

talking about credit card cash rebates... standard chartered bank got a few cards with cash rebates (manhattan), pruprestige or prudential card where u can use the points to offset your policy... plus standard chartered bank quite regularly has the 15% cash rebate promotion when u dine at a restuarant... u can look out for such promo! cos banquet afterall is consider restuarant too!

after hearing you gals mentioning about the manhattan credit card cash rebates, i just apply it online. it says that i will receive the card in 2 business days and if they fail to do so, i will get $50 rebate instead of $20. haha... i gonna use it to pay for my deposit. thanks gals for the tips!

Just to clarify, wedding banquets are not eligible for dining promotions.. Just the 5% cash rebate if you spend more than $3000 a month (max $200 rebate per quarter). Yups!

Hucklebeary: don't worry! You can pay the remaining banquet with manhattan!

yx: wat u mean? i confuse liao

cos earlier on u say can use for banquet rite? as in pay in advance, but now u say cannot for dining promotion?

she is saying that the wedding banquet is not under the 15% cash rebate which is meant for dining. u will only get the cash rebate of 5% for using manhattan card.

it should work in this way?

the manhattan card has a step up % rebate in lieu of rewards. so if u pay $4000 u can get back 5% (cap of $200 per qtr)

This can be used for any purchase including banquets.

The dining promo is a special promo by std chart . it ups the rebate to 15% for dining expenses. Shld be dine in only. so pre pmts for banquets wun be included.

hth!

lol ya! BS 5% , banquet 5%, favours 5% etc etc 5% all adds up. =D only thing my PG n VG doesnt use credit cards otherwise.... i'll charge oso

Yup that's right! Thanks girls for helping... I know it's confusing.. Can go the website and read all the terms and conditions and you should be good to go!

Xrevlis: I was referring to mrs ho's comment

Hi all!!

I confirmed my venue today, RHS will draw up the contract and send to me next week (I think).

When does the food tasting take place? I'm guessing since it is the RHS then the food should be good?

YX.. u can check if ur hotel got any promo with amex. last yr orchard hotel got x10 points and my brother paid his banquet wif amex n the points he redeemed 2 tickets to london.

morning gals..

wow we have a few btbs join us here.. welcome gals!!

Hucklebeary: we have the same venue, Hilton
we will be claiming Hilton Honour point cum frequent flyer miles for the our banquet. And top of that, we are paying using Amex so another source to accumulate frequent flyer miles. this is one reason why we taking up Hilton..
Intend to redeemed airtickets too..

you are paying by Amex too..

Dimsummeimei: So have you confirm ur venue?
You can look for ur potential venue now but try to book during their wedding show.. better package.. rather than we try to fight for more peaks from the normal package..

wow u gals are fast, talking on AD scheulde, AD lunch caterer, wedding/GDL cake..

after my AD venue & oversea PS secured, i have slack for awhile.. initially planning to source for AD package and MUA.. while my htb source for AD PG.. but we all stop there.. haha..

Evelyn: i use the dbs altitute amex to pay for the deposit... and i just get to know abt the hilton honour card.. how do i apply for that? Is it the americian express hilton honour cc?

Just to let you all know, there's a sale at Essex Walk at Meritus Mandarin Hotel, prices start from $50.00.
I didn't buy anything though, not sure what colour my dresses will be!

Shan: ya its a great feeling =))
HUGE load off my mind liao.. reached a major milestone for my wedding.. haha

woohooo~~ i shall wait til next yr den mang liao.. LOLLL

Just met my church's priest just now.. the date that I'm looking at my parish is booked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OMG, now i'm thinking of doing it one day earlier on a friday. But fri dunno if a lot of ppl can attend anot. Headache....

YX: oh, the hotel allows paying for the dinner quarterly? hmmm.. gotta chk with my co-ordinator if she allows tt :D

btw, for the std chartered cash rebate, they will rebate us in cash form or via our credit card statement? any idea?

Kat: yup the hotel allows
the rebate comes as a credit in your statement.. You can cheque it out
or just leave it in there to pay your next bill...

fel> u oso 02.12.2012!! did u booked GPCH?? >.<

the slot was being booked when we meet up with christopher...
so in the end din book it...

Julia: did u book with GPCH or u change a date? Ms Fel booked with Crowne Plaza. I am still hunting around for my wedding banquet still. What a tedious process

julia: nope not gpch. htb and me decided to go for CP. Even for CP, the dinner was already booked in jan =/
me n bf went for lunch banquet in the end.. my mum prefers wedding dinner.. but no choice.. better than cant book the date at all lo..

looks like 02.12.12 is a hot date hor? Amara dun have this date anymore too le..

crystal> in the end we din book with GPCH..
well, i shld say it's a blessing in disguise...

we have actually decided to change a date cos GPCH dun have 02.12.2012 anymore..
den suppose to sign last weds...
but jus the nite b4... my bf saw a video of the march in with 28tables..
quite squeezy... and the fren who attended say it was rather noisy due to the small space, echo-ing makes it noisy when everybody is talking..
and we tot we may have 28 or even more tables..

so finally, decided to drop GPCH...
will be looking at another venue instead...

fel: congrats!!! really a huge load off ur mind!

julia: jiayou and good luck in looking for a new venue!im sure u will find something u n ur htb loves!

so girls, the best card for rebates is the standard chartered Manhattan card or amex? from what i understand from your posts here, SC Manhattan card is cash rebate of 5% while amex is accu points for K.flyer isit? for amex, is which card?
sorry ah~ me n htb dont use CC, so abit unsure, keke, so we might wanna go apply one jst for the savings. hehe~ thanks babes!

julia: how many tables u have in mind?

shanna: thanks thanks!! hee.. really huge load off my mind leh. I can shake leg til next year! whahaha

xrevlis: i went to orchard hotel last wk too. Visited the ballroom 3 which can hold up to a max of 32tables. Hmm.. ballroom is spacious &amp; high ceiling with 2 very big chandeliers. Have abit of L shape but long March in.
But bf and me prefers CP coz it gave us a THIS IS IT feeling.. haha
u really must go down to the venue n see for yourself de.. coz everyone thinks n feels differently. U need contact for orchard hotel? The co ordinator who served us was very friendly and nice.. =))

xrevlis> yes, orchard hotel ballroom is pretty..
my sis having her banquet there...

shanna> we r using manhattan card for the rebates! =D
we alrdy have a venue in mind...
gotta confirm asap if not later no slot again..

smilem> ya max capped at $200..
used to be $300 de...
now they reduce liao...

julia: which venue?

actually im still thinking, is getting cash rebates better or the points better~ keke. guess i need to do more research first~ hehe~

Hi Shanna, jsut check if you, Jovie's package for actual day doesnt come with a trial? I took it for granted that make up always come with trial... Thanks!

i cant remember off hand, i remember u were interested in engaging Jovie so when i saw ur post asking for the cost of the trial, i thought i was mistaken into thinking that there was no trail included in the package..

haha.. julia oso same as me.. shen shen mi mi..
hee~~
no worries dear.. u can update us when u have book la. Just like wad i did! hehe!

so happi..... now i tink i only left wif VG and probably ROM preps..

do u gals get an auspicious ROM date from your geomancers anot huh?? Or is it just AD need an auspicious date??

i also headache abt venue too, initially wanted to go to GPCH, but i still cant find "this is it" feel. so back to sourcing...headache!

ms fel: u found ur photographer liao?

minmin: u alr booked her right? keke, then will be inclusive, unless u nvr book then when u go for trial need to pay for it.

im still exploring diff MUAs, so might just head for a trial session b4 commiting, but im wondering what is the range for trial sessions?

julia: haha ok! quickly book!

fel: ROM not necessary to use auspicious date.
actually the auspicious date is only impt for the morning ceremony, even if u hold ur dinner on another day also wont matter as long as ur morning ceremony is on the auspicious date.

crystaline: jia you and good luck in your search!