(2012) 2012 Brides to be

SMC is nice~~ the food have gd reviews and the ballroom looks gorgeous! my date was alr taken up, if not would hv considered SMC though a bit over my budget. =X

Shanna: Yaaaaaaa actually it also falls SLIGHTLY over my budget, so I'm thinking of scrimping abit more on other things if I really like the ballroom :/

serynn> oops... i made a mistake =x
not SMC.. its the fairmont.. last time oso swissotel..
they keep changing names.. so confusing.. LOL!!

serynn: ooops, i made a mistake. haha! its not over my budget, but i cant meet the min tables required, cos min need 35, i only hv 25-27 tables. tried to nego for lesser but they didnt allow. also date taken up, so gv up the idea of it. keke! psps!!

Julia: LOL!! xD that's true!! actually i think fairmont and swissotel are both separate hotels currently (but at the same place). So confusing luh.

I had D&D at fairmont/swissotel/whatever la before, and thought that the food isn't nice also, so totally not considering this place... :x

Julia/Shanna: u both v cute lei! LOL. xD

35 tables for me shd be okay... just that need to pay more, that's why abit over budget. > <" Maybe can negotiate for 32? xD

hahaha =P

i think i ask for pkg from SMC b4 too...
but yea cant meet the min tables..
so din look into it further.. haha..

serynn: wakakakaka, seen too many packages til all mixed up! the other time i tried to nego 30 tables but they say bu ke yi, so sad~ cos i really like the ballroom but cant be top up 8-10 tables ma, so gv up~ if i can meet the min req tables, i think chances are i would change my wedding date!! kekeke!

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~We haven't choose our CP themes coz ours have to wait till Q3/Q4 next year when the launch 2012 themes.

Shanna ~ SMC won't negotiate coz ours is Saturday wedding mah!

Julia ~ Hi, are you considering CP?</font>

Acacia, hope that CP will come out with better/prettier themes to choose from!

Shanna, actually I heard that SMC will throw in a free ROM venue? Is that true? That'll be VERY attractive! :x

<font color="FF0066">Julia ~Great! When's your AD? ROM on same day?

Serynn ~ Ya lo! If not nice I will be sad. Btw, when's your AD? I got better deals coz i do lunch solemnization and dinner banquet on same day.</font>

Acacia, still quite someeeeeeeeeee time away - Q4 of 2012, still waiting to pick the date. ROM at the end of next year!

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~ Have you got your date? Btw, how young are you? Tsk tsk! I'm '84 and fiance is '80. That's why Dragon year is very good for us. Oh, SMC's poolside need extra charge. I think you better go clarify again first!</font>

acacia> my ROM on 20.11.2011.. AD on 02.12.2012 LOL!

serynn> wah if free poolside ROM den worth!
cos usually need to top-up for the venue...
can start to pick ur AD date liao!
must be KS... get date, see venue, nice, like.. when the time comes, BOOK!
ahhahaha

<font color="FF0066">Julia ~I was supposed to ROM on 20-Nov-2011 too! But in the end doing all on same day to save cost and hassle! haha! You consult master to get dates?</font>

acacia> i'm the opp of u... haha!!
i'm suppose to do everything togth..
but cos i wanted a poolside ROM..
and is difficult to find one which i like the poolside and
at the same time they have a nice ballroom for banquet and
also gotta be friendly to our pocket...
so end up we separate ROM &amp; AD.. haha! =x

we din consult master for our ROM date..
but AD date yes...

<font color="FF0066">Julia ~ LOL!
Hmmz... CP's poolside not very idea coz they won't cordon the area (meaning hotel guests can still swim by). Besides, the venue is very narrow, I think 6 rows of 2x2. Tight! Sze Sze had hers at CVH. Looks nice! I seen the package, provide room too! Another place I think not bad is Royal Plaza on Scotts (next do DFS orchard). Although it's not poolside, but the ballroom with full glass has good view of Orchard Road and their pool. Quite exclusive. Price good too! I wanted too... But choose to do it same day at same place.</font>

acacia> yea... we went CP wedding show..
from photo the poolside ROM looks nice..
but when u're there to feel it.. not v nice..
v narrow.. i dun like it.. haha...

<font color="FF0066">Julia ~ Yea... It's not as nice. I opt for the new venue in CP. It's at the lobby near entrance. Can see nice view yet still within air-conditioned place. Hehee... We are the 2nd couples who is using the venue. Think they will launch it the next show.</font>

HiHi,
My AD will be on 02.12.2012...
Are the he hotels open for booking?

I've shortlisted the below:
Manderin Oriental
Conrad
Intercontinental
Gooodwood Park

Acacia, we're both Ox ('85!). :p My shifu haven't come back from China yet! Will be counting our dates next week. Ya, better go clarify first... later give us "free" poolside venue, but buffet charge 80 bucks per head lol. :x

Julia, KS then can faster grab the dates! :x Must go ask ask SMC liao.

Sze Sze, what a coincidence! I just emailed you yesterday abt the taiwan photoshoot stuff! xD

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~ Oh you are paying buffet for solemnization? I think that means they will let you use poolside venue ba! I thought you mean just ROM then usually hotel can throw in function room FOC. Hehee... Update us when you have your AD! We can countdown together. haha!

babyjwpw ~ Hello! You have same AD as Julia! Doubt the hotels are opened for bookings. So far I seen, only The Regent can commit for the whole year of 2012 now. Most others either accept till Q1 2012, or still have to wait till next year before launching.

Sze Sze ~ Yea, long time no see! I also just started to be more active again. Hehee... Btw, Marriot gives how many invitation cards? Mine at CP gives max 70%. But throw in 10 additional cards. So little! I hear others getting 80%.</font>

babyjwpw> my AD is also on 02.12.2012!! hehe...
wanna ask.. did u get ur date from master tong?

acacia &amp; serynn> i'm a 85 ox too!! haha!!

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~My date falls within the 2011 till Q1 2012 ahz! It's same, but it also means that should they give better perks for 2012, it will not apply to my contract. This year, they give 10% carpark coupon only. But 2011 increase to 20%. Maybe 2012 will increase to 30% like other hotels? But it won't apply. Boo...

Julia ~ I'm older that both of you leh... Me Rat '84! Hehee... I also got my dates from Master David Tong! May consider him for our house fengshui advice also. Hehee...</font>

wah~ this thread is getting more lively again~ keke!!

now im patiently waiting for htb to be back from aussie in another 2 weeks and we'll head down to JB to check out our bridal!

Hi Esther! welcome!
actually still abit early to book for dec 2012 cos most hotels are not open for booking yet. most probably u can book them next yr.
as for auspicious dates, we all get it from the Masters who calculate the dates for us using our birthdates and zodiac signs (including parents). i think most of the ladies here go to master tong ba. for me i go to the one my sis reco to me, Master Seah.

<font color="FF0066">Esther ~Yea, I agree with Shanna that it's too early to book as most hotel will not accept Q4 2012 reservations until 2011 Q2-Q3. But it's good to start doing your 'homework' now. :P For dates, most Masters charge $120-$250. I got dates from 2 Masters... Master David Tong and Master Long Tian Xiang. Both are recommended to me in forum. You probably need to discuss with your partner roughly how many guests you will be expecting, and whether if your wedding will be on weekday/weekend. This will narrow your search for suitable hotels.

Shanna ~ Hey hey... did I mentioned to you that I applied for current BTO afterall? Checked on the location, like that it's opposite sports hall and near to the park. HDB sent letter and gave us 5 chances. Increased by 1 chance only! Boo...</font>

acacia: i also applied for it! yah i saw the location not too bad, still can consider! keke. well, htb alr said that if this bto cant get then we will just get resale.....sians... n i hv to live with my MIL.... **faint**

babyjwpw> ya i get mine from Master Tong too..
seems like he give similar dates to many couples leh... haha...
cos my fren oso like tat...
have a few same date as her and also by Master Tong...

acacia> wow u consult 2 masters? how come?

I got my date liao! 20/12/2012. LOL! xD But currently it's only tentative, cuz bf's parents prefer to wait for tongshu... but 20/12/2012 is generally quite an auspiscious date la.

Shanna, if can get BTO then dun need to live w MIL? Resale COV very high... that time my parents use my name to buy condo (for investment), now as an "ex-property owner" I can only buy resale also, unless I wait for another 2.5 years to ballot for BTO. Currently trying to appeal.

Esther, hi! Another Q4 2012 bride. ;D It's abit early ya, but early is good! Can "standby" and got time to do more homework ;)

serynn> usually this kinda dates got extra charge one...
like 10.10.10, 20.10.2010, 20.12.2012...
u know.. those swee swee numbers.. haha..

Julia, how much more extra? D: Wah, thanks babe, I didn't know that... xD I thought these swee swee dates difficult to chop only, dunno will charge extra! haha! liddat must refer back again... ;x

serynn> depends on hotels.... maybe ard 60-80 more per table...
most hotels do charge extra for this kinda swee swee dates.. haha..

<font color="FF0066">Shanna ~ You won't be staying with in-laws if you get resale ah!
I'm still having doubts about the estate... Don't know if I should approach MP or not.

Julia ~ We went to Master Long first. He gave us a booklet of dates, and his methods for calculation is different. We have doubts so went for second opinion with Master David Tong. Then we compare and finally chose 25-Feb-2012.

Serynn ~ Congrats! Where did you get your dates from? I think you have to book as early as possible to avoid disappointment. Coz for us 25.02.2012, which is an auspicious date but not 'linked' number... It is already very "hot selling". Your 20.12.2012 will face more 'competitors'! :P</font>

Julia, thanks for telling me! omg i totally dunno can o.o

Acacia, my uncle who is a shifu! I'm also given a booklet of dates to choose from la. Like u, I also going to seek for a second opinion, bf's mum will gao dim for me :D

Acacia, i know of many ppl who went to MP but also no use.. but u can try though..

Serynn: yah, if get BTO, might not need to stay with MIL. LOL~

acacia> my sis oso get from Master Long..
oso booklet of dates.. can use for watever... AD, GDL, An Chuang, Move hse...
its like so general like tat.. haha...

hey girls, need some help here on AP.
can gimme a range of how much u all will give as AP? just a agar-ration.

1)Jiemeis (including gatecrash)
2)Bros
3)Parents
4)Grandparents
5)Flower girl/Page boy
6)Boy who open door (sorry, dont know what ppl call them) =X
anymore else??
thanks ahhh, trying to work out how much i need to set aside for AP.

Gatecrash I will plan for about $268 ba~ (for about 5 to 6 jiemeis) The rest not sure already :x Maybe give the same amount for xiongdi.

I heard that must give AP to little kids that are present during the tea ceremony also? MUA and photographer/videographer and chauffeur must give AP also (just a token sum will do).

1)Jiemeis (including gatecrash) ~ $60-$80 each, oso depends if u sponsor their dresses..
2)Bros ~ $60-$80 each, depends if they drive their own car (petrol $$)
3)Parents - not sure eh.. need to give? or this is the nappy money?
4)Grandparents - not sure yet.. =P
5)Flower girl/Page boy ~ $8/ $18/ $28
6)Boy who open door (sorry, dont know what ppl call them) =X ~ $8/ $18/ $28

MUA / PG / VG / Driver jus a token ~$8 will do ba..