(2012) 2012 Brides to be

Von : Congrats... Well. what I know is that Qian Xi have really good food and deals for 25 tables and above. Some malay function was there and their Halal food smells really great

Thanks all for the comments & wishes...
I had went to 1 wedding at Farrer Park before... food was not bad too... bt nvr been to expo for dinner before... but by seeing the comments, believe it is still not that bad afterall...
next, i need to settle is my wedding date & PS next week...

natty: hmm.. ok.. however, i was served by Linda & Vincent both claimed that booking for Q3/Q4 2012 not open yet.. pricing will be revised as well..

so which will be ur AD?

gers: i tot of using "scrap book" for my guest book.

means my guest got to DIY the page, and deco as they like.

how you think? issit very troublesome??

for AD or ROM?

if u DIY your own guest book is ok ba.. if want your guest to DIY the page, i think might be abit time consuming..
those who arrive early can do it, but the others who r on time or late might not hv enuf time to do it.

magal: i tink u better diy ur own book den they choose their fav page to put their wishes.. coz mine was onli to let them stick their pics and write already v messy..

magdal: not very feastible to let the guests DIY a scrap-page for you.. some may not like this idea and will find it troublesome... ya i agreed with szesze, let them just paste their pics on the page they like is easier for everyone..

Mag : Depends on the photo printing eq they bring i think. Alternatively you can get some 1 to use digital camera to take the pics and use the cannon photo printing thing to print the pictures??

Scrap book wise, I think you have to DIY it yourselves . Some guests who are not as arty as others might not be comfortable with this idea? ..

Just to check . Are you all printing the Invites or are you all DIYing . Thinking of making the invites ourselves(If parents not going to invite a lot of relatives) and the bridesmaids dresses do we need to rent for them?

gen: are you thinking of sponsoring for the bridemaids' dresses? if not, just tell them ur color theme and ask them to source it out themselves? really, when date comes closer, u will realise u really have no much time for this thingy... :p

cards wise, ur hotel/restaurant shld provide at least 80% of your guests... of cos, it's a nice and unique ideas to DIY a card ourselves, but do note this is very time consuming too...

madgal: im getting palette pictures on my wedding day.. they provide me with props and booth for the instant photos taken... upon requested by the guests then they will print out the hardcopies, unlimited.

gen: i think for bridesmaid dresses, what i've come across are arnd $60-80 (min) per dress. i was considering to get a dress for each of my jiemeis, but they r all of diff "sizes" so i think quite hard to get a certain design that fits all and if i hv to customise one each, it will be quite a waste of money since they might not be wearing it again... so prob just give them a theme colour and get them to source for their own.

ya i agreed with shanna...
i feel it's better to set a theme color, then get the sisters to source out on their own on their preference wearing.. so long as the color is almost similar... cos afterall they are kind enough to help us out on our AD, dun "stress" them too much in wearing into a design which they may not like...

hmmm best is talk to your sisters first ba.. im sure all are close best friends, nothing to paisei about talking this issue out..

btw, do BS provide dresses of same design for sisters?? from what i know, most BS their so-called bridemaids' dresses are ROM dresses too, thus they may not have a lot of similar pieces if let say we have more than 2 sisters...

mrs ho: how much is the package?
some BS willing to lent you the dress free. my BS include 2 "sister" dress for me.
if you have not much mates, can go nego with your BS.

Gen: my bf also find if quite a waste, so plan out~
mates dress.. my gers willing to help on $$ for the dress. somehow problem ABIT solve
or maybe you can meet them out for shopping together, that way the colout the choose wont be too much different.

shanna: why not try covertable dress.

magdal: cos my jiemeis all diff "style" de. i think they would prefer to wear something they are more comfy with ba..plus if they only wear it for a one time off event, might be quite wasted lo.

Hi all, planning for 2012 AD (Q4). :D Or at least hope to la, haven't calculate an auspiscious date yet.

Looking at GPCH, Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, and Mandarin Oriental currently, but haven't visited any of them yet. :p

Hi Serynn, nice to meet u! and welcome! :D
CP is nice! GPCH was on my list too, but my date is alr taken.. wasnt too keen on the ballroom too though. keke. :D

would be good to get your date first, from there, easier to plan.

serynn> my AD will be Q4 2012 too..
i'm oso looking @ CP & GPCH...
GPCH is our 1st choice currently.. hehe..

this friday GPCH will have a wedding show..
u can go take a look~ ^^

Shanna: Thanks for the welcome! :D My uncle is a shifu, but he's overseas for work now, waiting for him to come back to count our ba zi. XD GPCH's ballroom nt nice?

Julia: thanks! I already signed up to attend! :D For me, I like CP's ballroom better, but can only accomodate 28 tables...

Serynn: actually i find GPCH pretty nice, but i would prefer a bigger ballroom. also cos im doing my march in with sword bearers, so GPCH's ballroom isnt too suitable for me as the march in is pretty short.
my AD is 25th feb 2012 and i've signed up with amara hotel.

serynn> how many tables are u looking at?
GPCH max 32 but would be quite cramp i think..
i think max go up to 28 would be jus nice...

if you looking at more tables..
maybe u can try other venue?
but jus go see GPCH first and see how la.. =)

Shanna: Really ah? I'm hoping for a longer aisle... anyway, see first then say lol. Having sword bearers for march-in sounds so grand! :D

Julia: Hoping for about 30 tables... 28 tables should be okay laaaaa, but abit 勉强 cuz need to cut down 20 pax after all. If I really like the ballroom, will discuss with parents and partner again.

serynn> GPCH march-in is rather short only...
u can go view their virtual tour of the ballroom to have a rough guide.. =)
i think at most 3 tables length..

serynn: yup, its a L shape march in though.. i find it very cramp so i didnt like it. but the other areas are not bad.
best to take a look and decide. location wise also v convenient, esp to those guests who doesnt drive. but if i rmb correctly, the other time i went to hv a site visit at GPCH, the coordinator (janice i think?) told me best to hv 27-28 tables if not might be too cramp.

Gen: My boss went for a dinner there recently, and she doesn't have good reviews on the food... the venue is nice though!

Julia: Wa! That is short! Can't show off long long train~
The ballroom looks nice though...

Shanna: If also can accomodate about 28 tables, then CP sounds like a better choice right now :P The aisle also L-shaped, but I think it's a longer L. :D

serynn> wah ur boss dun have gd reviews?
GPCH food is well known to be v yummy one leh...
and ya GPCH the aisle is tat short.. haha...
but the new ballroom is nice la...
i oso like CP march-in.. haha...
but food wise & location wise, GPCH is better..
headache.. haha...

Julia: I mean for MBS! Heh. Venue nice, but food not nice. Then again, maybe my boss is also those exceptionally picky kind~ haha.

Yah lor, so headache! KS also got benefits ya... at least planning-wise a little less hectic, more time to look around~ XD

serynn: yupyup.. GPCH aisle very short. thats why i didnt like it.. CP is quite nice, it was one of my choices too, but due to location, i drop the idea. keke. but i think its not bad. my sis also mention the food shld be not bad since its from imperial treasure.

one of our girls here (acacia) is taking CP for her wedding banquet.

<font color="FF0066"> That's right! I just signed with Crowne Plaza Hotel earlier this week! The location is the main problem... Otherwise, it'll be very good! The package is not bad. Coordinator is quick to reply.

<font color="FF0066">Julia ~ Yea... The ballroom is very small. Actually, our first draft of guests list is 300pax already. But because we couldn't secure a hotel since my date is so popular, we have to make do. So we shall decrease the number of invites to strictly 28 tables only. My HTB suggested that we "walk uber slow to the stage"! LOL!</font>

Acacia: Actually the location for me still ok... I mean, at least got MRT station, still acceptable. XD 24 tables is really too little!

Instead of walking "uber slow", you can do it fashion catwalk style. Door to stage, turn, stage to door, turn, and so forth, confirm can walk for very long! lol! :X

Thanks for sharing! :D

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~ Awww... You so cute! Haha! Yea, I could walk slowly with nice wedding music... Then suddenly near stage, change fast music! Catwalk style! Strike a Pose! Hahaha...

So how... What are the hotels you shortlisted now?

Acacia: LOL. Sounds fun ley! XD I just added quite a few more! :p

Swissotel Merchant Court
The Regent
Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Mandarin Oriental (I like the most, but budget sigh...)
Pan Pacific Singapore
Grand Park City Hall
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Novotel Clarke Quay

...ok, not really -a few-, but at least open to options for the moment la. :D

<font color="FF0066">Serynn ~ Hmmz...
Swissotel Merchant Court ~ Good Food, High Ceiling, Nice Suite
The Regent ~ Great Lobby! Good Food, but low ceiling and coordinator always change.
Grand Copthrone Waterfront ~ High ceiling, Main Ballroom nice with garden backdrop. Suite not nice (but they are renovating).
Mandarin Oriental ~ Yea, expensive!
Pan Pacific ~ I haven't been there.
GPCH ~ I haven't been there, heard that got pillar?
Novotel CQ ~ High Ceiling, Crystal lights! But no real lobby as it's above Liang Court. May not look classy. But the price is under $1k!

Just my opinions! Hehee... </font>

mrs ho: thanks! will be taking pictures ma? :D

Acacia: wa! thanks for the input babe. Regent sounds scary (with the coordinator change), but my friend reviewed that the food and venue are fantastic. Mixed feelings~~~~~ > <" Doesn't help that I'm usually fickle and indecisive too arghhhhh

Oh ya, btw, for CP can choose theme for ballroom deco? :D

Serynn ~I was choosing either Amara Sanctuary, The Regent, or Crowne Plaza. But in the end go for CP coz everything new new! Hehee... 1 more good thing about The Regent is their themes are nice. And they usually have more themes to choose from. CP's one quite disappointing. I don't like! Only 3 types for 2011. All not nice! Hehee... I hope 2012 will have nicer ones.

Mrs Ho ~ Thanks for giving us feedback on CP's! I hope it's acceptable! Hotel say done by Imperial Treasure, cannot be too bad. LOL!

serynn> wow many... haha.. =P

Swissotel Merchant Court - my bf went for wedding dinner there b4 and say the food nt nice..
The Regent - food by summer palace! yumyum
Grand Copthorne Waterfront - had feedback tat the food nt v nice
Grand Park City Hall - food by park palace! yumyum
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport - new new... food shld be not bad..
Novotel Clarke Quay - pretty grand ballroom.. food not bad too.. by dragon pheonix restaurant..

serynn> CP has a few theme... u can go to CP thread to take a look...
kraz did upload some photos of the theme from the latest wedding show...

Acacia: lol! So which one did you choose? Yah I saw Regent's themes... very nice!
But the coordination looks like a pain, if the person-in-charge keeps changing :|

Julia: Yr bf went SMC for the dinner recently? Some time ago I tried before, food quite nice leh... Better to look around for more reviews lol! I'll go look at the photos NOW. :D