(2012) 2012 Brides to be

shanna: let me share with u my AD schedule.. for your reference...

5am start makeup
7am groom reach my hse
7-7.20am gatecrash
7.30 or 7.45am leave for groom hse
8am reach groom hse for tea ceremony
10.30am leave groom's hse back to my hse
11am reach my hse for tea ceremony
1pm lunch and bit entertainment at my hse
2.30pm hopefully guests left for the day liao, so that i can go wash up
3.30pm left my hse for onerochester
4pm reach onerochester for night makeup, together with two more MUAs for my mothers/real sisters
6pm reception start
6.30pm solemnisation
6.45 or 7pm dinner start

im hoping for some spare time in between from my hse to his hse and from his hse to my hse, so that we can go for some quick and short PS with the PG at nearby park etc...

so, not only we wake up early on the AD, our family also same... sisters/brothers may go home to rest before joining us again at the night venue... but i do come across some couple have their sisters/brothers follow them thru'out the whole day... it depends on individual...

when u all have ur dinner at hotel venue and that dinner standard starts 8+pm, perhaps u have 2 more hours more to spare as to compare with my schedule... mine is really rushing!

shanna: most of the chinese traditional is after returning from the groom's hse to the bride's hse, we will be goin straight to the hotel for resting... it depends, if ur htb's side has many relatives attending the morning ceremoney, im sure they will stay till after lunch (cant be go home straight after tea mah), in this case u may have to cater additional lunch for them, this you may have to discuss with ur htb on the necessity... for mine, im only catering for my home only... cos my sisters/brothers also need a good lunch before they go off for the day mah.. plus we also need to eat ar... unless your mother want to cook herself, then u can save on this cost... but if many guests around and they are bound to stay till 2pm, best is cater lunch, easier too for everyone...

my mum cant cook... LOL~~ as in for big groups of ppl.
we will order buffet bahs.. htb side, need to ask him lor. how abt the jiemeis n xiongdis will they be following us arnd? or just stay at my place?

shanna: no worry abt the cost for buffet lunch at home for this situation... just get the normal food will do, so long as dun go hunger! haha... like what i told my mum, dun tell the caterer it's wedding, just say normal family gathering to avoid being chop... :p think if so, shld be able to get $20/pax cost... then during tea ceremony, relatives sure bao u $20 too when u serve them tea... in this way, u somehow save bit too!

ohhhh, alrights no problem! thanks for the tip!
btw, when can we check the "tong shu" (uhhh, is this what it is called??) to see if the dates we want is good or auspicious for us???

Hi Shanna Ting,

Nice to meet you here wo..
hee..see tong shu can check in the "FU LU SHOU" complex at bugis la..
they can check auspicious date for your wedding day ma..

hi coolie!

but its for 2012, will they be able to check now???? my mum say still too early?
how they check???
as in by birth dates or sheng xiao?

waaa Mrs Ho, u haf ur timetable planned out liao ah? now i abit stress liao..
i asked my mum to count how many tables she need n she say still very long way to go... how ah?

suesue: hmmm, maybe tell your mum u need to know roughly how many pax/tables so u can plan your budget??
lucky for me, my sis getting married next yr, so tt time my parents count for her, so i agar know how many tables they need, just add the number of friends i wanna invite.

also, me n my sis both tell my parents we only want a small wedding and also have a budget to meet, so keep it small. we only invite the adults or only parents of each family if they hv young kids. my parents will inform my relatives abt this.

suesue: till now my mother oso havent tell me who is she inviting for the night dinner... very scary... i keep chasing her almost every alternate day too... haha.. keep saying no time to sit down n plan... *faint* a housewife staying at home with grand-daughter got no time to get back to me... dunno to laugh or angry... :p

shanna: think tong shu is out by sept 2010... u can go and count ur wed date for 2012 once it's out...

Hi Shanan,

Emm..can also gua!
YOu may ask them lor..
need give yourself and htb and your parents and parents in law lo..
they need to match all to give you few auspicious days to choose la..

yaya,you got msn can add me at [email protected] to chat more about wedding stuffs too..!
I can share you my acupunture program tooo..heee

Mrs Ho: ya lor ya lor.. she got time every night to watch PPLive but no time to juz count how many ppl she wanna invite.. then my Dad like got issues leh.. my Mum told me my Dad asked how many tables my bf's side willing to gif us..

i duno how to start leh.. abit stressed.

Can i ask who is Serene Quek in FB?

I have checked with the geomacer at fu lu shou, a friend's granduncle. it will cost $150 to get dates in 2012 (3 dates) it will get cheaper as it gets closer to 2012 as alot of data is required to pick the dates.

suesue: serene quek is one of the girls who had chatted with us in this thread before.. but think she isnt very active here lah... hee~ but she's quite active in the FB 2012 group...

can we just choose a date n ask them if it is good?
cos we hv a date we want alr.

mrsho: is your mum looking after the grandkid herself, if so, i can tell u, really no time. being a house wife, or rather SAHM is no joke, very busy de.

actually u shld agar know the number of direct relatives u hv right? then u just do rough estimation lor. but u guys nvr set a limit ma??
i think if i nvr set limit i think my dad n mum will invite 20 tables themselves. =X

shanna: yes u can have a date in mind, then as the master to calculate if it's good for both...
ya i know looking after kid isnt easy.. but least is while they are sleeping, she can just quickly sit down and think mah.. haha.. :p

haha yeah~ but also gotta include hsewrk ahhh, trust me, i speak from experience. =X

anyway, my mum also everyday nagging me say im obsessed with my wedding plans... n why i keep changing it. LOL! >.<"

girls: u all wan this Thai fortune teller i went to to get my dates?
she's quite nice n quite accurate as in, she calculate the dates she still wif tell the characters of me n my bf, our jobs etc etc..
n u oni need to gif an ang pow of any amt u like..
she gaf me 11 dates to choose from Nov 2011 to March 2012.

mrsho: me too, previously i was planning my garden theme, then i told her i need to plan all myself cos is ala carte. but now she also dun bother much alr. she just let me do it.

Hi Ladies!!! wah.. almost cannot catch up with u gals alr. Anyway, i got this from another forum chat some time ago.. Hope it helps with giving u gals an idea of the schedule for AD...

(Just click on the icon and it'll download)
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
AD schedule sample
Wedding_AD_schedule-658334.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Ladies: no more actions liao ah? hehe..

I went to check out the ballroom of Civil Service Club at Bukit Batok, Pioneer Spring at Mt Faber and Hotel Re!.. most prob will be taking CSC..

like very "quiet" lately. LOL~
actually if active here i can talk during ofc hr, FB only after work but not so active. =X

so u gals alr cfm your solemnisation n banquet location???? i only hv in mind but not cfm yet wor.

Hi ladies!!! u gals all saw Acacia's engagement ring?? Soooooo pretty... heeheehee... i hope i get a pretty ring as well.. keke...

Suesue: u went to see hotel Re! ah? how's their outdoor ballroom ah? nice or not? coz from the picture like very nice like tt but cannot really see the inside.. i scared i like the place only to get disappointed coz got pillars inside and turn out to be not as nice as in the pictures..

mrs ho: haahaa... yah... seems like our fb grp for research postings have become our chatroom as well...

Shanna: at least u have an idea of what you want in your mind wor... for me actually have idea then become totally clueless to sianz... just coz we can't estimate when our keys will be ready for collection.. they haven't even started clearing away the "forest"... sigh...

szesze: you got all book?? looks like i too slow le~

wow.. think i super slow.
anyway i give up my diy plan.. bf will be very busy next year to go china with me. so we sign a package in sg. got Z we**ing

jean: yeah i saw it. very nice.
haha i also saw mine alr, but its a very simple one. plan to get a nicer wedding band so gg to stick to a simpler engagement ring. :D
so u will only hv your wedding after your hse is here??hmm, according to my frens who got BTO, they say usually 3.5 yrs can get the keys alr.

szesze: wahh! booked alr!! so fast!!!! think we will only start everything next yr. also bcos we would hv enough funds for everything. and also just in case we see something else we like.

mag: dun worry, im also slow. =X
why u wanna go china??? as in why does it hinder your diy plans??? haha i also sorta gv up my diy plans, cos i worry on my AD i dun hv a team of ppl which i can count on to run the show for me.
but that would be still in consideration until we cfm our bookings. :D

shanna: ya.. that what i worry too. so as well thorw everyting for the bridal.

anyway have anyone try before holiday inn wedding dinner?

a few wedding show coming anyone going??

szesze:hmmm i meant friends/relatives who i asked for help to..
i just worry they cant run the show properly. if i DIY everything, then everything will be ala carte.
sa in on AD, eg i do garden wedding, i need few ppl to help me when the caterer comes( where to set up, make sure all set up is nicely done), floral( arrangements n deco), wine (if i hv, make sure amt is correct), guests (make sure everyone is sitted at the right place) n many more.. also inclusive of paying (say if i need to pay them on tt day itself. make sure the right cheque is given to the right person).

well, none of my friends r married yet, n i just worry things might cock up on that day.. somemore is AD lehs. not i dun trust my friends, but i dont want to end up blaming anyone if anything goes wrong. at least if it is hotel or what, anything wrong can shoot arrow wont spoil my friendship ma. =X

mrs ho: LOL~~ yah u girls r the experts!! hahahahaha!

Sze Sze, Jean: Hotel Re! is nice, very modern retro, very colourful.. the ballroom is pillarless but max can put up to 45 tables abit squeezy.

Sze Sze: how many tables u ask at Noble House? How much per table? u're fast leh..

but actually if can book for 2012, it's better to book now cuz every yr they will increase the price.. so at least now, u lock in the price then no need to worry if they increase due to inflation.. i'm gonna pay my deposit this Sat at CSC too! heh..
))

shanna: yup yup engage us
magdalene: yup..my sisters also not married.. so have to guide them through lo..
suesue: i nid ard 50 tables so cant take hotel re.. we took 50 tables at noble house.. taking the glamour menu i tink..the 688+ one i tink..

ya lo.. every yr increase price de lo

actually it's ok to just book and pay a deposit first... they cant probably turn down business lah... if they refused, u walk off lor.. it just show they arent flexible enough, this may cause a "worry" that in future when your date come, their service may not be any kudo too... and it's good to book now, cos price definitely will increase as time goes, it wont go down lor...

one thing to share with you all which i came across when trying to sell off my sg bridal package...

you shld not just look at those "small" items like ROM dress, ROM coat, fathers' coats, thank you photos for relatives/friends, etc.. the cost of these items do not stand in big place in the BS profit... as it's a much smaller costs, in fact, they will definitely give you any amount u want if u simply just ask for it... these freebies are only for attraction to keep u with them...

what you shld look at more on what is called a good comprehensive package is
1) how many gowns given for your PS/AD,
2) whether it's MTM/NEW piece,
3) how's the skill of their PG,
4) what is the total duration they give for your PS day (common one is 10hrs in total for 1 day PS),
5) album -- hard/soft cover and pages, the size, how many pages, how many poses...
6) makeup artist for AD

these 1-6 are the most important and worth the higher costs in a BS, the cost of your package depends on these 6 items... which is why at times these items are hard to bargain for more... if u realised, the sales will change topic, moved you away from that sight, and pretend to be kind enough to give u more on those small freebies like 4R/5R album or table top frame photo extra just for you lah blar blar blar...

best to ask for something which u know might tempt u to spend more money on... eg: buying back of the softcopies, the cost of adding on poses and pages in the album, diamonte/bead/lace cost included for MTM gown.. anything related to gown and PS cost the most in a package!

woah~~ szeX2, u booked ur venue liao... tats fast

mag: dun worry, i haven done anyting to it yet lo... dun even have any ideas yet leh... *stress*