(2012) 2012 Brides to be

yah...so before the invites are even written, we gotta set our foot down, that we decide who comes. The hosts are the biggest decision makers and what we say goes. but at least those kind you can still say there are not enough seats. So only the elders are invited. For me, my htb is the same age as his nieces nephews. So his parents will sure invite their sisters and brothers so from there down all need to invite coz everyone knows everyone.

It's really scary bcoz I have seen relatives who are very buay paiseh and bringing the whole family. and can you imagine reception girls and guys will be in a frantic to fit the extras in. =X

ya ya i ever seen pple bring along their maids to the dinner... imagine that's another seat gone for nothing!

i feel it's alright to tell the relatives straight that we are only inviting the elders due to some "restriction", im sure the relatives will understand...
if the relatives make ugly noise, it concludes that in future please stay away from them... hahaha

haahaahaahaahaa.... yah.... so true... good relatives will always do wat's best for another relative and be understanding... but for some ppl, it's the parent who give the couples things to deal with due to face issues.. oh well.. if only wedding can be simple affairs for the chinese..

kelly, $100.00 ang pow for 1 table also hear before liao.... my fren was tell me that we should do it hong kong style, announce ang pow $$ when ppl give at reception... hahahahahaha

jean, still working on my mum... hahaahah... but will stick firm with my hotel choice...

haahaahaa... i so agree with Kelly.. but i had a cousin who only invited the adults only.. even made it known to everyone that no kids are allowed.. not even cousins. tt i think is a bit no give face. As good as saying tt unless u can pay to sit and eat, you're not invited.

I think it's only good to invite the relatives that you know. If parents want to invite relatives that you don't know, then can voice out la..that you dunno them and it's gonna be awkward saying hi to people you've never even seen b4. i think i'll only invite the parent's immediate family members loh. Which will be my immediate aunts and uncles plus grandparents.

Sometimes following customs and traditions give the whole wedding affair a good feeling.

pris, whoever that receive 100 for a table will sure be cursing and swearing. i alr told my propective jie meis that whoever is in charge of the angbao, must receive the angbao personally and check that names are written on it. Guests are not allowed to place the angbaos in the box themselves. Then i'll create a Q system so my jiemeis wun be so overwhelmed. haahaahaa.. i machiam like control freak like tt...

I do agree with Jean that abit not give face if dun invite those who are closer. I think we will invite those whole family who are closer and only senior for those who aren't that close. actually i think nowadays if u are not close to them, u also hope they wun invite u, otherwise extra cost leh... so i think senior is better at least they are closer to parents den they junior think they also dun wish to be invited if not senior got to package in the cost.
Jean, ur jiemei will really do that for u. will relative feel offended? i dun mind to str tell the person if i'm close, but if is fren's relative, abit kai bu liao kou. LOL.

Just keep the ang bao box away from their reach should do the trick bah. i'll tell my mum if she receive angbao, she has to either remember who give which or write their names down behind the ang bao. I'm sure the guests will all ask where to put the angbao. Then they just gotta tell the guests that they'll place it in the box for them. Maybe to make it easier, i'll place a beautifully designed sign to tell the guests to place their angbaos with my jiemeis for safe keeping. then that 1 or 2 jiemei just need to collect angbao only..

Jean: Yes, they do sit-downs too. Mine will be a sit-down dinner plus dance floor. My rates were last year, so not sure how relevant it would be for you. But it was value for money compared with other outdoor/garden themed areas I compared with. Feel free to contact Joseph (the boss) with your queries. He's super nice!

i nvr assign anyone to collect or look after the angbaos for me... i plan to personally collect the angbaos on my own and write down the names in case they "forgot"... if anyone ask why im writing the names at the back of angbao, i will just reply nicely "so that i can show my appreciation back to you later mah"... haahaa.. my hubby will also to do the same... as for those who give to our parents, up to them, i can let the parents keep the angbao then, so it's ok if no names... haahaa

haha yup Chinese are very complicated. I tell my hubby next time for my children, I will let them do whatever they want. =)

anyway, no matter how complicated or traditional chinese is, it's still a wedding... you all dun so stressful... must enjoy the preparation! hehe

btw, i have a very comprehensive bridal package for resale due to intention to take overseas PS instead... am open for any reasonably offer from you if you are real keen... email me for more details at [email protected]

to show u a review of the shop PG's recent nice work on one of the couples' PS.. http://christineandvitor.blogspot.com/2009/10/raw-sample-photoshoot-album-layout-from.html

btw, i oso have a white color bird cage for sale, brand new, at S$10... nice to place your rings inside the cage during solemnisation!

cheers~ :-)

Julie: oh..okok.. will contact him and see what he packages he has on offer. maybe towards the last Q of this yr since we plan to do the dinner only in the last Q of 2012..coz if ask now, like most of the hotels, they can't give an estimate. nobody dare to commit themselves.. lol...

mrs ho: yah hor.. ttz also a good idea.. but wun that spoil the surprise of your march in? Like everyone already see you b4 the march in..

Kelly: yah... very... but i would still like our children to follow tradition for some stuff.. maybe for dinner can do buffet la.. chalet style.. more fun.. the elders can play mahjong all they want... then can inter-mingle..

jean: mine is an outdoor garden affair.. when i start my solemnisation ard 6.15pm, i dun intend to hide mysf anymore... cos i will start my buffet dinner ard 6.45pm... so i dun think i have much marching in... haha.. everything is open!

partly cos as an outdoor garden affair, it's buffet style starting from 6.45pm till Oneorchester close for the night, some guests come early, some come late... i cant probably ask my jiemeis to sit still at the reception table the whole night too... i also hope they can walk around, chitchat with other friends and enjoy my BIG day...
unlike ballroom dinner, it's pretty standard that guests will all arrive by 8pm! scarly for mine, some come at 9pm! haahaa

Sze Sze: Mine aso will abt 45 - 50 tables.. headache ah!!

Jean, Mrs Ho, anotherday: waaa! n i tot my bf has alot of relatives liao.. hoo hoo!! his Dad has 5 siblings n his mum has got 4+5 siblings.. *phew* LOL

Mrs Ho: actually ur PG quite reasonable leh.. hehe

mrs ho: oh ya...forgot u were doing outdoor.. so ur march in i guess will be just for your solemnisation... usually the guest who know that it's buffet style will come on the dot or early..even if they're late, they also wun be too late coz they'll be scared give angbao liao nothing to eat.. keke... *joking joking*. My fren who did an outdoor for his wedding said everyone was pretty much on time and the dinner wasn't very long and everyone left before 1030.. other than the very very good frens plus the xiong di jie mei who stayed behind to have some fun w them.

suesue: dun headache la... sure have one.. my fren getting married next yr also need to accommodate about 40 odd tables. they were thinking of getting intercon then changed their minds to Grand waterfront then changed their minds again to Oriental.. tho i'm not sure how many tables max oriental can fit in.
haahaahaahaahaa... but i think all of my htb family and relatives are very close with each other..maybe coz of the over lapping in age bah..coz his dad is the age of his cousins and he is the age of his nieces and nephews.

jean: ya moreover my day is on sunday, i dun think pple will really hang out that late too...

suesue and for those who need at least 40 tables: perhaps you can try meritus mandarin, hyatt, or hilton... i heard my fren mentioned there can hold more than 50 tables... cos my fren is looking around these three hotel too...

yah..usually they dun hang out till late...so those who stay behind will be the best buddies of u n ur hubby. then your wedding night sure filled w lotsa fun n laughter..

hey gals... i think we need to come up with a list of things to do for our weddings.. so far, the only things i think are needed to complete a wedding are....

1- BS
2- Banquet venue
3- video/cinematographer
4- photographer
5- wedding favours
6- florist

is that all there is to do??

Kelly: haahaa.. yah... ttz why i keep emphasizing to my HTB that the dinner has to start on the dot so we got more time for fun.. keke...

oh yah...gotta decided on the theme... hmm..then gotta tell my htb to sit down and look at the hotels and venues together liao...

ok to share with u all.. im the kiasu one! i got ready all my stuffs 1.5 years beforehand... haha

venue can be done once u got some dates on hand... u just gotta sit down n discuss carefully with ur hubby on the budget and what kind of wedding style/feeling u are looking for...

PG/VG/BS shld come after the venue! and you shld have more than one date on hand.. in case the venue u want dun have available slot for your 1st choice date, u can go for ur 2nd choice date...

pls do some homework on ur BS before purchase, this forum is pretty a good place for homework! and be prepared that some sales are hard-selling and will keep on holding u back until u pay for the package... so ur will must be strong too... like for me, thou my bridal package is pretty good deal after comparing with the others, but cos i nvr did any homework beforehand and kenna pull unexpectedly by an uncle to sit down for "chanting" during a shopping trip at bugis... after looking around, now then i come to a conclusion that i want an overseas PS instead... which is why im busy selling my local package now, since it's not of what i want... :p

if ur bridal package comes with MTM gown, start buying some wedding magazines for preference... i personally like "style wedding" local magazine and "the wedding" magazine from msia... blissful brides magazine is not bad too...

we change our mind as time goes, wedding favours can be decided perhaps 3 mths before ur big day... unless u are very sure that is the wedding favour u want for your guests, then go ahead n get it...

florist? i thought most bridal package include AD flowers?

wedding car! cos those cars which the bridal shops are offering is pretty old model of merz... unless u are ok with it, then it save a trouble to source for a car too...

jiemeis and xiongdis sourcing...

give some positiveness in ur wedding preparation... try not to be over-demanding to make thing over-perfect... it will only stress u more and pull off your happy mood... communication in relieved tone is very important, be it with venue, BS, VG, PG, ur jiemeis, etc... good communication makes thing work well... when u are in a harsh tone requesting something from someone, im sure that someone will oso unwillingly give u impatient tone back n uncompromise to give in then...

my view..

actually i got my venue, BS and PG before i join sg brides forum... to think i really nvr do homework at all before buying.. my first choice venue is actually one-twentysix at ecp, cos ecp is where me n my hubby started out, but then one-twentysix do not have much shelter in their garden (i worry abt rainy) and the planner dun seem to want to entertain me, she actually refer to me another planner from oneorchester (same family company) which is why in the end i chose oneorchester, it's nice too! BS is unexpectedly purchased! i came across my PG website from blissful brides magazine and went to check out on him, this is how i just go ahead and book him since his price and package is reasonable to me... i am pretty glad that things still go smoothly for me in the planning....
hope for the same for u all too!

Thanks a million mrs ho!!!!!! haahaa..my BS package signed was pretty much kena sucked in by the charboh's sales talk but i think i set my mind on it coz of a red EG that i saw in the photos. In my opinion, i think red is a very difficult colour to design.. and also the photographer's pre wedding photos have the nature feel tt i'm looking for. So far so good la.. the BS very nice to me. Plus i think she has thrown in a lot of stuff for me. Maybe coz like the wat you say la.. cannot be harsh to people.. u harsh to them, they'll be harsh back to u..

me too! i went into Di Gio's boutique cuz my bf's colleague went to sign wif them, n i saw someone's using Di Gio's n i love it!
then the salesgirl let me tried some gowns n showed me like 4 stories of of gowns!!
my bf liked the photos so he decided to sign lor.

one of my gf went to ALL the BS to check out their packages wif her gf.. LOL
i think all is abt the same lor..

am going to check out my dates tomo!! so exciting!!!!!

Ladies: i 'dragged' my bf into Cartier n Bvlgari to check out their wedding bands.. so disappointing leh.. Firstly, there waz not much to choose from and it's not comfortable at all! seiously, i think the prices are for the brand oni lor..

n i fell in love wif this piece from Love & co.. it has rose gold wif white gold n a small diamond..

do u all think it's too early to get the wedding bands now since i'm oni planning my AD on 1Q of 2012? LOL. i think i muz be the most kiasu BTB here.. wahahahaaaaa

suesue, i love Love & Co too! ya it's pretty early to get wedding bands now if ur AD is 2012... get your bf to buy you proposal ring instead, then when date nearer get a wedding band lor... hee~

Hi suesue,

Emm..It depends on how you look into diamond rings..Cartier and Bvlgari selling expensive diamond becoz of the branding ma..
For diamond ring,you need to look into the 4C's lor...

yes..heard of love&co too..not bad!
But i got my ring from DeFRED.
They offer good diamond spec and affordable price too...

I can intro the sales manager who serve me last time lo..They can help you to choose your ideal diamond...

If you need the sales person contact can email me de!! at [email protected]
Can add me in MSN too! heee

For wedding bands,not too early to get it now lo..
sometime times,if you find one that you love it can buy la...
Not kiasu la...
heee..

yes...Love&Co not bad de!!

sue, see how de! if your bf can afford to buy you a proposal ring then okie lo..
worry not afford la,just too worry burden him ma..

heeee

yea.. cuz i told him i dun need a proposal diamond ring, juz a proposal, u noe?
n if we're having our AD in a restaurant like Pioneer Spring at Mt Faber SAFRA, then i think the prices for Love&Co can compensate ma.. hehe.

the salesman from Love&Co of Vivo very frenly, professional n cute too..
n he actually mentioned that jewelleries will increase in prices as the yrs go by too, so abit scared.

Suesue: Wah!!!! So fast u wanna buy wedding ring alr ah?? Actually not say cannot but must choose a timeless piece loh coz jewellery is lk fashion ma.. I'm sure u know tt alr. As for wat the salesman said, it is true to an extent coz prices of gold will go up.. Unless so lucky tt the gold prices drop la.. Hmm..ur htb is a regular?

Shuhua: u can try if there's someone u know tt has signed up with the BS.. If not, they usually dun let u try..

Jean: Yupz, he's a NAVY regular, same as Jazz's n another babe's HTB.. LOL
but i dun think it will affect anything if we sign up wif Pioneer Spring cuz the restaurant is by itself, it's not by SAFRA.. LOL

Suesue: our wedding bands are from Love & Co. But if you are only planning for 2012, I would think it will be too early to buy now. they will introduce more designs into their collections by 2012.

shuhua: some bridal shops dun even allow u to go in and view their gowns too, cos they are also worried u are from competitors..