(2012) 2012 Brides to be

Szesze: congrats!
u getting rom today too right?

ya ... it is qian xi
Not sure abt if they offering catering . We still shopping around. HTB not too keen on qian xi though .

Shanna : Yeap the food there is nice . Some more they offering some discount for us since my parents are on good terms with all the staffs working there.
Will go there to racky when we have the time

Shanna: yup yup.. Yesterday was my rom,, at sg flyer.. As promised.. My comments are as follows:
1) food are not bad.
2) manager is good but not the rest
3) able to coordinate w my theme
4) alot ppl commented TT the venue is cosy

there's a few bad/ negative comments also

Sze Sze: wat were the negative comments? anw the VIP lounge is only able to hold 40 pax? ur buffet was also held there?

btw any BTB considering Humble House? or other smaller Tung lok branches?

Most prob, i will be booking Qian Xi (Farrer Park) as alot of my friends commented that the place look ok & food portion was more than enough for 10 pax per table...
But will still be making an appt to visit it once more time, cuz we are still thinking whether to want it at Farrer Park or Sg Expo...

Any suggestion from you gals?

my "sil" had her wedding dinner at Qianxi paya lebar. the food was really yummy! though the restaturant didnt look very "grand" but i feel tt it was still acceptable.

but she took the "smaller" room, as she had lesser tables. there was another wedding being held and all of her guests need to walk past (as in right into) the other wedding to enter her side.
abit weird, cos some ppl might get mixed up, but other than that i felt it was OK.

szesze: glad that ur ROM was great.
now officially a missus liao. :D congrats!!!!

anyway girls, i alr decided on my hotel le. will be taking amara hotel. decided not to consider M hotel cos they r quite inflexible (worst than amara) and the main ballroom, the march in is sooo weird lor. many ppl commented it is a U shape walk in but NO, its like a ? (question mark shape) walk in lor.. so funny... like twist n turn to walk to the stage. LOL.

i also went to the expo one before.. the fish is not very nice.. maybe my friend chose the wrong fish or the chef is not in condition that day... abit tough leh...
but the rest of the food is not bad... the place is quite big also.. my friend opened 50 tables that time and there's still alot of space to mingle around.. got ample car park space in the open car park at night also...

Shanna: Yes, i find the Paya Lebar branch is not as grand & abit cramped that y i'm thinking on Farrer Park or Expo as the place is bigger...

Natty: Oh reli? the fish i might be getting is groupa.. i dunno reli know the fish type la.. but i got ask ard & others said groupa is a not so bad fish loh... hahaha...
Expo is good as there got alot of carpark lots availiable wherelse Farrer Park got limited carpark by the club itself... unless we can park near the farrer Park Mrt behind (open car park) & guests have to walk over loh...

yep.. groupa is not a bad fish... but must know how to cook well... likewise for the other fishes.. haha... i'm sticking to my soon hock or cod fish whichever place i'm going to book.. cuz the meat is more tender i feel... haha
behind farrer park mrt also quite full leh.. cuz the carpark area quite small... unless the guests are ok to walk a distance lo.. cuz further in got more carparks if the nearer ones don't have space to park...

Mandarin Ballroom (Weekends : Minimum 50 tables Maximum : 95 tables)

Weekend Medley of Joy $908++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$958++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)
* Weekend (Friday & Sunday)
Weekend Medley of Joy $928++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$978++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)
* Weekend (Saturday, Eve of Public Holidays & Public Holidays)
Premier Symphony of Love $1288++ Per Table (Jan – Dec 2011)

Mandarin Court (Weekdays & Weekends : Minimum 15 tables Maximum : 20 tables)

Weekend Medley of Joy $918++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$968++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)
Weekend Medley of Joy $938++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$988++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)

Mandarin Suite (Weekdays & Weekends : Minimum 8 tables Maximum : 13 tables)

Weekend Medley of Joy $828++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$878++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)
Weekend Medley of Joy $848++ Per Table (Jan – Sep 2011)
$898++ Per Table (Oct – Dec 2011)

Wow... really admire those who took their vows in chinese. Just to check , u all did the vows yourselves or just follow a template?

szesze: mr chia ti yu good? i want to do the vow in chinese too... is he very "naggy" type? :p and roughly how long in advanced must we book him?

Von: My AD is at Qian Xi at BB de.. heard alot of gd comments abt tt place but my sis went for a wedding dinner laz Sun n she say the fish is not nice, abit worried now.. Faintz~

n the thing abt Qian Xi is tt they dun haf wedding favors, no complimentary carparks n no room lor..
other than tt still ok cuz got free flow of beer, wine n liquor.. heh

Sze Sze: Congrats!!

sze sze> woo urs oso chia ti yu...
doublej is oso him.. haha...
i'm planing to get him too..
future sis-in-law was oso solemnise by him...

my dad's friend solemnizes in both english and chinese.. mr sunny leow... he did it for my cousin and aunt..

didn't drag the ceremony at all...
i shld most probably be getting him also since it's much easier... :D

magdal: by right, this is a volunteery work for the JP to do solemnisation with us, we only need to reimburse their transportation (some will claim according to the taxi receipt, but some will just ask for an amount without receipt)... and out of goodwill, normally the couple will still give him an extra angbao for his help. this angbao can be $28, $68, $88 etc depending on individual...

then i also read from the forum before that got 1 rude JP actually open up the angbao and demand for more money! for this, we can make a complaint to the ROM...

shanna: usually the JPs won't ask for any amount cuz they are overseeing your ceremony on the basis of goodwill.. so the ang bao u give then will be out of goodwill basis also... except for that JP which mrs ho mentioned la...

shanna: ya, shld there be anyone asking you for angpao, please make a complaint to ROM... hahaha.. cos by right, whether we give or not, it's our own will to do so... :p

transportation is confirmed must reimburse the JP... either thru cab receipt or just a sum of money which ur JP quotes.. so long as it's not too over, just pay them lor..

then the angbao to JP is not compulsory. cos it's their own will to do this volunteery work... it's just that chinese has a goodwill of ending things nicely by giving a little token angbao to show our appreciation. that's all...

ohhh okie girls, so meaning our AP usu is the cab fare plus the token we wanna give right?? keke.
ok noted liaos. hee, thanks thanks~

natty, hmmm, im not cfm yet, if taking JB bridal, then the overseas is in msia only. but if taking local BS, maybe we will go overseas (TW, HK, AUSSIE) to take.

mmmm.... i'm doing alacarte.. contemplating on going HK to take cuz for now it's only local prewedding... so looking for ppl to join together and share the cost of the pg's accomodation and flight... haaa...

actually my pg also asked me to go to perth.. but cannot afford to go perth... HK cheaper :D

i feel that tw is abit overused.. hoho...

if shanna is not taking the BS, maybe we can consider.. haha :p

shanna: best if for transportation claim by the JP, give them in cash by hand, not put in a angbao... if not, they might think this angbao is only your appreciation, not on their claim... just separate these two issues accordingly (1-transportation, 2-token angbao)...

mrsho: okies, thanks!

natty: initially i didnt intend to take BS, but i thinking, might be more mafan. so take BS everything i need bao inside.
actually perth n HK, arnd same price ba..
if im not wrong, perth, maybe u need to prepare 3K shld be enuf for a a 4D trip. the previous time i went last yr, i think i spent arnd there.

suesue: ya loh... they did not provide wedding favors & parking... but i think most resturants did not provide wedding favors loh.. so no choice, have to get ourself... but i heard from 1 of the manager there that they got another website with wedding favors & will be given 10% discount if we buy from them... hehe... the gifts is nice... as for the parking, i think no choice loh...
this evening, i meeting 1 of the manager to view expo ballroom & will take some pics for reference... as im considering this 2 location (Farrer Park & Expo) cuz i find that expo got more parking lots compare to Farrer Park loh... but still in the midst of thinking with my HTB...

shanna: isit.. i saw perth's airfare like quite ex.. haha.. hk still cheaper :D
i still prefer the flexibility of doing it alacarte.. at least won't be bounded by the bridal pkg

v0n: yah yah.. that time we made 300 bags of wedding favours for my friend's wedding at qian xi farrer park... chiong around like mad to make cuz we only had 2 weeks that time... let us know your decision yah

you can go look around at www.yovell.com, www.sellheronline.com or www.luxweddingfavors.com
their favours are quite nice.. GWP and Marriott takes from them