(2012) 2012 Brides to be

magdal

Hi PG and Koh, i cant find ur request to FB. could you send it again. thanks

SY,less sweet,love forever, samatha and Clarina. added u to FB. sorry for the late late adding~ :D

magdal

house of love: did tot of getting hwee. but in the end, htb dont really like the style.

lesssweet: wow!! u really got to be fast!

lesssweet

Magal: been slacking too much last few mths. Now need to 临时抱佛脚 haha
Everyday on the way to work n after work surf Internet for information. So tired..
My FB have not been added to the group.. I have sent my request..

shannat

less sweet: i think need to go arnd n shop for it. keke but i hv seen quite a few arnd.

honey_pork

hi everyone this is my first post. im getting married next year, 10-11-12.
anyone has the same date as well?
we are going to diy our wedding. anyone here diy-ing as well?
oh well, dunno where to start... any tips?

honey_pork

we have started to search for wedding banquet venues.
went to orchard hotel but the shape is odd and low ceiling.
went to marina mandarin but the 1st floor many ballrooms, im afraid guests will be confused and the 5th floor is very dark.
went to intercon, is super nice! but $1500 per table. do you think is worth it?
still pending now...

revlis

Hmm orchard hotel ballrm got v high ceiling leh. How come u say is low?? It similar to grand coptherne high n pillarless ceiling. Ballrm 3 and ballrm 1&2 both high ceiling mah. Which u saw?

honey_pork

i went to orchard parade hotel lor, i saw is the one beside the restaurant de. the aisle is L shape and got pillars de... dun like it...

revlis

Oh orchard parade hotel n orchard hotel is two diff hotel. The one at orchard hotel got 6m tall ceiling. The one at orchard parade is under tung lok i think. I didnt go see the orchard parade hotel.

houseoflove

magdal, u haven add me in fb wor....

honeypork, my wedding banquet is at intercon too..i tink the ballroom is gorgeous lor..tats the main reason y we took it...but mine is a lunch..i tink most impt is u like the ballroom lor..even for lunch, we are prepared to lose 5k..

u can also consider amara santuary, super nice too! they were actually my first choice bcos the feeling is so diff from the rest of the hotels..but have to be prepared their perks are very little..

honey_pork

@xrevlis : oh it's 2 diff hotel? ok, i'll go check out orchard hotel.. haa.. thanks

@houseoflove : you got intercon? but it's $1500, as we need dinner banquet.. i think nowadays ppl still bao $80 to $100 for ang bao, we have alot malaysia relatives and our relatives are all average and some is low income.. so we will definitely lose alot more... still considering... but in the meantime i will check out orchard hotel.. have considered amara sanctuary but is at sentosa. my htb's dad face got a shock when he just tell him we are looking at amara sanctuary at sentosa.. he said no one will go, they will only pass him ang baos, or most will be very late then reach. actually that is our first choice.. but dah.. forget it, i dun want anyone to get upset over this...

revlis

yup is two diff hotels

orchard hotel abt 900plus for weekdays and 1k plus for weekend which is within my budget. i looking hotels ard 1k cos half of the ppl invited are those i duno :p so i rather spend more $$ on my bridal package & honeymoon hee. so long as i get a high ballroom without pillar and big stage that my main critierias cos i wan plan some stage programme

honey_pork

yar, that's my budget as well for hotel. am going down to crowne plaza to check out on monday, already book appt.. me most important is my wedding gown, video and photo.
This 3 is the most important and meaningful.

i've also met afew companies, on my list now is Unique colours. their package quite comprehensive, includes video, photo, instant prints, childhood montage, and prewedding video. all in 1 package.

my htb was his friend's brother at a wedding with unique colours as the video and photo, he came back full of praises and said he want to join unique to work lol.. my hubby passion is photography, he got all the camera stuffs, accessories stuffs.. full set, buay tahan.. lol

anyway my htb showed me all their videos and we went down to meet adrian from unique as well last friday, everything quite good esp their videos are really good , no complains and is really unique, wonder if this is why they are call unique colours. their videos are unique and photos are vibrant, so is call unique colours.. haaa.. guess i too nothing to do now... lol

revlis

Crown plaza one of my choice also but their normal pkg dun have sharkfins n my htb love sharkfins hee so give it a miss. Can upgrade to their premium pkg but that will exceed our budget. Find their ballrm quite special.

Unique colors realli not bad, i saw their pics also
u can consider them

binary

hi, welcome.. same date as me (Hilton)and magdal (should be grand park city hall)..

My budget also somewhere there.. orchard & marina mandarin (mm) r my shortlist choice and both pillarless.. mm is my 1st, but pricing is steeper... So Hilton ultimately win over mm. BTW, how many tables r u having? cos orchard hotel will have shared reception area.. cos ballroom 1+2 and ballroom 3 share r actually one big ballroom..

honey_pork

@ xrevlis , yar crowne ballroom quite nice, looking at concorde hotel also, like their red carpet.. heee.

yar, already 99% confirm Unique colours, just waiting to confirm which hotel tomorrow as i be seeing crowne and concorde tmr. then i will call Unique tmr as well, to confirm and inform them my hotel at the same time. hehe.. yar, their video and pics are really good, i also like their instant prints which is laminated and unlimited throughout the whole dinner banquet with booth and props and backdrop... sounds cool right..

@ evelyn , we have the same date?! cool! haa.. i be having around 25 to 30 tables... i prefer not to share reception, in that case, i think i better cross orchard hotel out first, shall still go to crowne and concorde to check out first..

revlis

evelyn: yup ballrm 1&2 and 3 is actualli a big ballroom but ballrm 1&2 can accomodate up to 100tables so usually they dun combined the 3 ballrm hee that wat i heard from my coordinator

honeypork: yup is a shared reception area but their is a very long reception so one at each end
wont get mix up and they got staff ard to guide the guests. if ur is 25 to 30 tables, ballroom 3 just nice and will be the first reception area, u dun need worry ur guests will go to the wrong one hee
but if u reali against sharing ballroom, u can seriously consider crown plaza but i think max is 28tables and if u dun mind no shark fins

magdal

less sweet & hous of love, i haven added you??
whats ur nick??

Welcome honey pork~ same date as me and evelyn. have you got your hotel??
mine at grand park city hall

chirpychirpy

ello 2012 BTBs ..

Did I miss out anything impt? I have booked my venue, bs and AD PG/VG. The rest of the things seems to early to be done ..

julia85

hi clarina, when's ur AD?

actually u can start bits n pieces of ur wedding stationary if u wanna DIY...
like guestbook, angbao box, guest pens...
or the wrist corsage for JM etc.. =)

julia85

u can try golden dragon @ chinatown's people's park for all the beads & crystals, ribbons etc..
or spotlight too..
and art friend for those art n craft stuff...
can try arab street too...

lesssweet

Magdal: had sent my request but have not approved.. My FB name: Shao Dian
Thanks thanks!

Houseoflove: I'm holding my luncheon in Intercontinental too! When is ur AD?

yyiling

cluelessbtb, i'm considering a live band, checked out a little dream earlier this year and it was 800 for two piece. think they may have revised their rates upwards.

lync____

hi yyiling and cluelessbtb, what kind of live band ur looking for? I've got contacts for a live band, and they've got 1 vocalist, 1 acoustic guitarist, 1 electric guitarist, 1 keyboardist, 1 bassist and 1 drummer. They can play a variety of songs, but since the vocalist is a malay, i'm not sure if they can pick up songs in mandarin too.

they're young but they've played in YOG opening ceremony and some competitions before.. so if you don't mind, i can pass you their contact and maybe they can arrange some sample pieces for u to hear before you decide..? they're playing 3 songs for my wedding as well..
charges wise i'm not too sure (they're playing at my wedding for free cos the bassist is my bro :p ), but i think they won't hit $800 for 2 songs..

binary

Think they mention $800 for 2pc is not 2 song .. maybe 2 to 3 sessions of 45 min.. with 2pc of instruments for the setup..

henges

yyiling mean its $800 for a 2 piece instrument band right? It should consist of two 45mins session. that means a total of 1.5 hrs?

You can pm me if you want. I have got lotsa contacts too

yyiling

Oops, sorry for confusion, I meant 2 piece band, 2 sets of 45 mins. I'm looking for a vocalist familiar with English & mandarin songs because of my guest profile.

Henges, from your contacts do you know the approximate cost for a band to bring their own sound eqpt? My hotel doesn't allow the live band to plug into their speaker system.

Lync, usually the band will sing during the meal, the guests will mostly be eating.

lync____

haha, cos for me i'm having a lunch buffet at church. so the band can only play during the recep, the buffet or during the church service itself. :p

lync____

I'm not sure, you can contact them and ask? But they've never played in weddings before (mine's the first), so i'd recommend u to choose a few songs u want and hear it from them before deciding.. i'll pm u! :D

lync____

hey cluelessbtb, i tried pm-ing u, but they said u don't accept pm. =x never tried pm-ing anyone before. u try enabling ur pm? :D

shannat

elaine: i booked them when they were running a promo$600. 2 intervals of 45mins.

hmm not sure if they provide Emcee or not cos i did not asked from them.

henges

Yiling, it is common that hotels don't usually allow sound system to be plugged into.

If I don't rem wrong, approximate cost for a band (3 pieces + 2 vocals) to bring their own sound eqpt approx $800-$1000 for 1.5hrs

henges

Hey peeps, I have 2 contacts as well for wedding bands. If you are interested you can drop me a pm or email at [email protected] and I'll get them to contact you.

Both companies provide emcee-ing in both languages.

henges

I correct my above statement. There can be additional charge for emcee, so have to check with them if you guys are interested.

henges

Anyway, I haven't introduce myself. =P I'm a 2012 BTB but I'm still very slack in preparations....

A little concerned as I will be holding dinner near the F1 period.. Anyone's having it during Sept??