(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

Finally settled æäº² last evening, but the folks suggest to buy GDL items a wk before GDL leh, they say no need Gan jiong 1..only for roast pig & wedding cakes got to order early. Wanna ask u all, is it safe to buy 1 wk b4 GDL?

Chinorene, when ur GDL & AC? I nv heard of Pine Garden cakes before..they do wedding cakes too? Yes it's shiok to strike off task 1 by 1..haha! Tiring indeed!

Ivy, received email from Kyo cakes?

I think its alright to buy early, since most stuffs are not perishable items. Buy last min, scali no stock oso headache~~ Perishable items..like oranges maybe 1 day in advance go NTUC buy. Cakes, 1 day in advance collect bah =)

What other stuffs to buy huh? I also not sure..I am agar agar buy one...

Jasmine, Pine Garden cakes got 1 store in AMK. Got feature on TV before :p They have lychee martini..orange zest choc cakes..yummy yummy!

My GDL on 25 Nov and AC on 28 Dec (2 days before my AD) ~~~

Chino, I know their cakes are nice but didn't know tat they do have GDL cakes..

Jasmine, ya juz received their voucher.. how about u? GDL stuffs tink u can buy earlier ba.. one week a bit rush and risky.. cause if no stock then u will panic.. =D

One task after another being check on the to-do-list is a relieve.. but hopefully will be tat smooth towards our AD ba..

Ivy I did not receive anything leh

Chinorene, I jus google the website just now, really looks yummy & the box is v nice too..but the wedding cakes pg states all unavailable leh. Must call 1 ar?

Think Ill go get the GDL basket this Sat jus in case. As for the 5 grains, mil ask us to go medical hall buy cheaper..zzz

Jasmine, hmm did u check ur junk folder? for mine, the email actually go to junk folder.. else u wait see tml u receive a not ba.. Haha.. ur mil helping u to save $$.. tink u buy from those GDL shop they gt help u wrap up nice nice le.. tink only a bit more ex.. not tat much different either..

Ya Ivy I check le, dun have leh..nvm I wait till tmr see have or not. I understand her intention but I tot GDL stuff shld be bought by in laws? In the end she ask me to settle everything?!

Think tat time gt ppl ask about crystal bouquet right? Yanting is it u or ...? Let me know if you still need info about it.. found a place tat gt sell crystal bouquet on pre-order basis.. thank you..

Jasmine, aiya standard one la.. sometimes is better to bother ourselves then to get them involve.. if they are involve sure a lot of problems one.. sure comment this and tat.. so better make urself less stress!! haha.. anyway we buying the GDL stuffs ourselves..

Haha Ivy it's me asking abt the crystal bouquet but changed my mind liao..lol

Yes v sian 1 she ask for alot of things lor...walao she think she å«å¥³å„¿ instead!

Chino, gd to do your e-filing early since apparently our wedding date is a hot date.. N according to my solemniser, we'll need to go down to ROM to collect the documents few days b4 ROM day, so scared if too many pple also choose the same ROM day u've to go collect documents v near your AD.. Oh I've heard of pine garden cakes! Heard its gd but nvr try b4.. Their tiered wedding cakes r nice!

Jasmine, think its better to buy early, depending on how particular u r with the items (but knowing your sil pattern, better to buy swee swee one!).. My mum was telling me last sun her problems finding some items.. Eg. She dun wan the 龙凤烛 fr those GDL shops, cos she say nt so pretty. So she wanted to get fr those chinese incense paper shop but they dun sell it there anymore le, then she need to find elsewhere. N she say on GDL day, htb bring over 2 sets of 龙凤烛, we muz return 1 set of 花烛 to them, n this also can't find liao, she still finding nw.. So it's much better to buy early, at least cn think of backup plan.. Btw, the GDL basket usu is nt for sale one, those shops will rent u nia.. Anw it's big n bulky, dun think u'll wan to keep them too.. N for GDL stuff, the bb bathtub, basin n stuff forms part of the å«å¦† fr your parents. So I went with my mum to get la when I went shopping with her for her dress 2 wkends ago.. Then those that the guy side supposed to bring over, shd b fr his parents bah.. But I guess for my case, my htb will b paying for it too
so I hope we can go shopping for the bracelets myself, feel so weird to go buy gold with mil.. Haha.,

Chino, gd to do your e-filing early since apparently our wedding date is a hot date.. N according to my solemniser, we'll need to go down to ROM to collect the documents few days b4 ROM day, so scared if too many pple also choose the same ROM day u've to go collect documents v near your AD.. Oh I've heard of pine garden cakes! Heard its gd but nvr try b4.. Their tiered wedding cakes r nice!

Jasmine, think its better to buy early, depending on how particular u r with the items (but knowing your sil pattern, better to buy swee swee one!).. My mum was telling me last sun her problems finding some items.. Eg. She dun wan the 龙凤烛 fr those GDL shops, cos she say nt so pretty. So she wanted to get fr those chinese incense paper shop but they dun sell it there anymore le, then she need to find elsewhere. N she say on GDL day, htb bring over 2 sets of 龙凤烛, we muz return 1 set of 花烛 to them, n this also can't find liao, she still finding nw.. So it's much better to buy early, at least cn think of backup plan.. Btw, the GDL basket usu is nt for sale one, those shops will rent u nia.. Anw it's big n bulky, dun think u'll wan to keep them too.. N for GDL stuff, the bb bathtub, basin n stuff forms part of the å«å¦† fr your parents. So I went with my mum to get la when I went shopping with her for her dress 2 wkends ago.. Then those that the guy side supposed to bring over, shd b fr his parents bah.. But I guess for my case, my htb will b paying for it too
so I hope we can go shopping for the bracelets myself, feel so weird to go buy gold with mil.. Haha.,

Wah Yanting, ur mum also v particular leh..I think my mum most modern, she say jus buy simple will do, nv ask much also except for roast pig & wedding cakes. My sil, slap her left right upside dwn lor! Lol u haven't buy gold? My hubby scared gold price keep increasing so we bought in March liao, instead of LFZ we bought SDJ instead, cheaper lah. Yes better dun go w ur mil..tat time I chose liao den hubby ask fil go pay..my mil say no nid buy so thick, nv wear is waste $...

Anyway I ask hubby go buy GDL things w mil lah, she wan this wan that, better she go choose liao pay for them also! I better dun go ltr I headache..lol

Jasmine, so smart of you.. haha.. oh all ur mil/fil buying gold for u all ah.. tot only teochow will buy gold (SDJ) for DIL one? now apply to all dialect ah??

Ivy I'm Cantonese so my mum request groom side buy gold for me lor, either LFZ or SDJ. Cantonese is LFZ but v exp coz v thick leh, so my mum say SDJ also can, if nv buy means look dwn on bride's family..something like tat.
Think in laws shld buy gold for dil 1 mah, common practice?

Jasmine, oh no idea is it common practice a not lei? hmm up to now.. no news from my htb's side.. so dunno will I be receiving a not.. so it's a mystery to me.. cause htb's mum not around le.. so I oso dun expect much.. but my mum will be buying for me..

If ur mum buy nv request ur in law side, I think they'll still buy at least gold necklace or bracelet for u during tea ceremony ba, if not just Ang bao lor.

Ivy, best is 一切从简,no need headache
u can check w ur hubby the situation last time his siblings got married. Whether they receive gold for ur sil or give gold to their dil.

Jasmine, ask my htb he say very long ago his bro married le.. he forget whether hav a not lor.. hav then hav lor.. else juz ang bao ba..
I gt more things to headache about now..

Ya, actually u quite gd alrdy leh, no need to serve mil..u know wat I mean hor, dun mean to be bad or sarcastic..

Anyway, wats the issue now? I also v headache now, abt what will crop up during AD..my mil until now still cant cfm her guest list which makes us v fed up..keep rushing her she say duno to invite this or not. Or wan to invite tat or not..zzz! All things handle by us she no headache, use mouth say only, also nv help us w our burden...

Jasmine, I get wat u mean.. no worries..

No issue at the moment.. but towards AD..
very standard they only use mouths one la.. dunno hw tired and tedious to plan a wedding lor.. tot we very free all tat.. haiz..

Haha ya lor, I agree..super jialat! So u settle ur frames & albums liao? When can collect?

Yanting u collect alrdy? How abt u Chinorene?

Jasmine, will be going down to WL coming weekend to choose my prefer photos for the frames and confirming that all the layouts are in order before they proceed to develop into the respective album.. should be able to collect it mid Nov(Hopefully)..

now gold price v v exp! Its like $79/gm for 916 gold...last December I bought was $75/gm ~

yeah..I think MIL suppose to buy some gold pieces for DIL. But I dont think I m getting anyway~ haha. Better dun give. I scared take liao will have many problems in future! LOL. And also, mother oso suppose to buy gold for daughter too..

Pine Garden's cakes. Nice! Last week I went BOWS, and the lady was very nice to let me try 3 assorted cakes..sooo yummy! Waiting for her to send me the brochures...yupz, I tried their website, all stated NOT Available! I think got to email/call them to order de

Jasmine, can I ask which shop in city plaza u bought your brothers ties/bow-tie? Im also intending to buy for my brothers too! Wanna get the same colour as my jiemei dress de~~~ =)

Yanting, yes! I think do early better...that time my fren very late then e-file, and she can only collect 1 day before her AD!

Chino, I totally agreed with u on the taking the gold pieces from MIL/FIL, in future more problems.. haha.. so I think not getting is also a good thing..
wait if there's any conflict all tat, they will sure take all these things to say one.. haiz..

Morn ladies!

Chinorene, I get back to u on the bow tie on fb ya, let me go hm & check the add. So will u be getting wedding cakes from Pine?

Ivy, I haven't receive the discount voucher leh, think they missed out, but nvm as hubby decided on Sweetest Moments. As for gold, take or nv take tongues also will wag 1 lah..just let them be, most imptly is not staying tog! Haha

I Ask my mum not to buy gold for me liao, she passed me all her gold instead, also can lah, if not own so many gold pcs also nv wear de

Jasmine, ya lor.. oh oki.. so finally u hav settled for Sweetest Moments..
btw do the shop u bought the bows/ties have those strips for bros?? if hav, do let me have the shop address too.. tks..

Ivy, u mean stripes on the bow ties? If u mean that den u v lucky coz my bow ties have stripes de! Lol the auntie also sell polka dots bow ties & a range of ties & suspenders too! But she quite stingy & attitude. I update the add tonite, hopefully the plastic bag still ard..but I think I throw away liao

U ordered ur cakes liao? Ya I'm getting from Sweetest Moments instead, hubby prefers lah so let him decide.

Jasmine, I actually looking for suspenders.. let me hav the address if u still hav so tat I can pop by during weekend..

For cake wise.. future sil suggesting bangawan solo.. say cheaper.. faintz.. come into the picture again!!

Haha Ivy, we 2 jokers sia! Discuss so much end up decide on others instead..Lol! They are always in the picture de lor...haiz!

Kk let me check, btw I'll be gng Chinatown to buy GDL stuff on Sat, so I can check out the add again if I discard the bag..n hubby ask me to go buy GDL stuff w him..think he also wan to chop chop finish buying..if mil go cfm ley chey 1

muahaha!! =D suspenders will look really cute! Jasmine must go and dig the plastic bag liao...lol. If cannot find nvm, we just look for the attitude auntie lorh. hahaha.

Pine Cakes.. I Have not decided leh..bf says the cakes is very modern kind..normal butter cream cakes more traditional (maybe relatives, since elders mah, may prefer that more)

Chinorene, u have the brochure w u? Can upload here?

Yes I agree that elders prefer normal butter cake than cream cakes, think too creamy for them. But the Pine cakes & boxes look nice lor! I quite like too

Thks Chinorene! Wow the teochew wedding pack is exp..$38! Faint!

Anyway Ivy, Bengawan Solo cakes not cheap also leh, starts from $7.90 pandan cake wor..& its too common lor..its ur wedding mah so I suggest u take Kyo better, nicer & better pkg too. Ignore ur sil unless she wants to sponsor. Extra!

Jasmine, can't be bother with them le la.. they wan buy wat then buy wat.. anyway oso not we eating.. cause my mother oso got ask for biscuits all tat.. so very mafan one la.. so let them be it ba..

ohh I thought the place is at city plaza?? so is in Chinatown ah??

Haa ya lor, alot of opinions this & that..zzz

Yup it's at Chinatown. City plz I saw at lvl 2 tailoring shop but I nv ask the price.

Haha most welcome!

This weekend will be another hectic 1..tmr buying GDL stuffs & selecting bedframe..Sun meeting 2 pg frds & wedding coordinator at hotel to test run their cameras & AD briefing..tired until...!

Jasmine, u so fast meet wedding coordinator to test run and briefing le ah..

This week hectic day for me too.. Wed having food tasting, long weekend going to order cakes/biscuits and buying GDL stuffs.. hopefully after that should be more or less on the banquet stuffs le..

Ivy, my wedding coordinator planner cameraman & 媒婆 r all my frds..Lol coz I find that my Hotel is quite dark, so get them to go dwn site to test their camera & flash, & my coordinator to brief them on AD situation & back up plan.

Anyway I haven't settle my GDL stuff yet! Hubby work til v late on Sat so maybe we gng to settle this wkend.

Friday also burn, my cameramen wanted to visit both my hse & hubby hse to see wher serve tea will b gd angle & brief us on other small details.

Ivy u ordering cakes from? For emcee, can ask ur frds to help mah, give them small token lor

Jasmine, icic.. tink should be ordering from Kyo/Bangawan lor.. frens all stage fright.. faintz.. initially got an emcee then one of her family member passed away then can't le lor.. haiz.. suddenly gt more things to headache!!

Try to see if ur cousins or ur hubby's side any1 can volunteer or not, engaging emcee not cheap & duno u well, so it's like abit strange, unless if u hire live band I think will be better?

Jasmine, tks for your suggestion.. will see whether any one can help out ba.. haiz.. if engage outside ppl around $500 - $700 sia.. pocket damage again!!

Ya v exp leh, not worth it lor! Or maybe u can post in forum, some ppl might be willing to help out for quick cash, maybe like $120?

Coz my emcee is my boss & her P4 son, I intend to give my boss angbao $68 & maybe $28 for her son or give him a present. Is $68 v little huh?

Need so much ar? Coz I ask my frds they all tell me between $50-80...lol..some of my frds emcee for free as they just help out, den the rest just give $50..I tot mine $68 ok leh..faint lah!

Okok thks for highlighting to me, think Ill revise their pay! Haha

Jasmine, cause is boss ma.. so no choice.. if fren cheap cheap still oki.. haha.. aiya compare to outside this is juz one fifth of it lor.. not counted as much lei.. hmmm it still depend on individual.. juz a suggestion!!