(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

elmoseah

Woo hoo.. finally food tasting 2day.. hopefully it goes smoothly..

This weekend going to settle GDL stuffs and order of cakes/biscuits.. more things striking off from my to-do-list..

how about u ladies??

jovaine00

Wah Ivy, v fast hor, next wk alrdy Nov! Omg! Looking forward to ur food tasting ya..haha

My GDL stuff got to postpone to next wk again..both hubby & I got work & other stuffs to settle..Wah I really scared can't finish task on time sia..

elmoseah

Jasmine, ya very fast lor.. one snap is going to be left with less than a mth to go le.. awwww.. if next week buy GDL stuffs should be still okay ba.. dun stress out.. one task at a time.. before u know, they are all been done already..

jovaine00

Ivy, hopefully can faster strike off my to do list! Haha..like still so many things undone. Also need to buy some figurines to vamp up the wedding atmosphere in our matrimonial room & develop some photos of us to frame up so that pg & vg have things to shoot.

I'll be buying GDL stuff in Chinatown Mkt. From my gdl list, like not much things to buy leh, the dragon Phoenix candles, 5 grains get from medical hall, da qian xiao qian, xi stickers, lamps, wash tub tog w comb toothbrush hand towels, red umbrella..wat else huh?

My mil ask me to buy towels for hubby's whole family..demand thick cotton towels & wool blankets for our bed..zzz! Bedsheet I settled yest liao, bought 2 sets of satin sheets @ $120..

Lucky marriage is only once, if not think we'll b v broke lor!

elmoseah

Jasmine, haha.. if not once in a lifetime, we will be extremely broke lor.. I tink the GDL stuffs should be more or less there ba.. hmm hw about slippers, pyjamas?? buying towels are usual as I also kanna.. haha.. but they nv mention thick cotton towels la.. btw where u bought ur bedsheet ah?

jovaine00

Bedsheets I bought at bhg, now got offer, mine is 830 thread count..they say more thread count, smoother but I think not true. U have to feel lor, some 400 thread count also v silky smooth liao.

I nv think of slippers & pyjamas leh, it's a must?

elmoseah

Jasmine, I tink depend on individual.. some say after bathe with dunno wat leafs before hair combing need to change to new pyjamas and slippers.. something like new beginning.. from those GDL stuffs u mentioned, might as well u get from them the package.. tink more worth lei.. the most those u dun wan u exchange for other things u need lor.. tink they are flexible one..

yanting

Wa, u ladies super active lately! I've been so busy no time come in read n comment.. Haha..

Ivy, I think bed sheets buy fr big dept stores when they have sales is much much cheaper.. That time I bought fr tangs 1 set 600-700 thread count $60. Aft that tot go elsewhere buy other patterns n materials to try try, I went aussino n other similar shops, 200-300 thread count already nearly $100! N the materials feel sucky.. Plus they dun have the bed sheet size that cn fit the height of my mattress.. So do take note of your mattress height b4 u buy, esp if your mattress is the thick thick type.. End up I went back tangs buy 2 more sets other brands to try..

Jasmine, if u both gonna 梳头, then need new pyjamas, supposed to change into the new pyjamas for the ceremony, then aft that can't go out until 接新娘.. Btw I think my mum nt v particular la, juz that she knows the customs v well, so those muz do wan she'll do, but those nt so impt one she also nvr insist lor..

elmoseah

Yanting, wa finally u are here sia.. office hours still oki ba.. haha.. well then I shall try the big department stores like Tangs/Robinson and etc then..

Btw the bedsheet u all bought got those "xi" wordings? or those normal bedsheet?

jovaine00

Yanting finish ur hse Reno rite? Alrdy started ur baking & cooking! Haha congrats!

I have no 梳头 procedure coz we cut off those unnecessary things if not alot of things to remember lor. So if no 梳头 still need wear slippers & pyjamas? Not intending to get GDL in pkg as normally they cfm include alot of items & jet up the pr.

Anyway Ivy, agree w Yanting, better check ur mattress dimension esp thickness. Normal bedsheet is only 10", only those measured up to 14" can cater to thicker mattress.

I nv buy the xi bedsheet, v exp & only use once. I bought really nice silky red bedsheet for AD.

yanting

Ivy, haha ya I'm finally here! haha.. yes I noticed most of the times u all v active during ofc hrs, but I dun have ofc hrs so sometimes super busy.. Yes yes, juz look out for those on sales, plus if you've the merchant credit card, cn have disc also rite? no I didn't bother to buy those with "xi" one, agree with Jasmine, if wanna reuse aft wedding, looks v "song2".. haha.. plus bedsheet cn use for AGESSSS one, imagine 10yrs later u still using the "xi" bedsheet.. haha.. I bought light light yellow bedsheet for my AD, cos my parents bought from China a real silk quilt and pillow set which is light yellow with pink floral prints, say wanna give me so I'll use that for my AD lor

Jasmine, thanks!! yup its almost all done!! just left some minor touchups, still waiting for my contractor to come back do.. But I also nvr chase them, cos I wanna drag the last bit of payment till my fengshui master come up and chk.. ok liao then I pay off everything.. heehee.. erm, I dunno if no 梳头 still need to wear slippers and pyjamas anot leh.. ya agree with u, they really throw in alot of unnecessary stuff into GDL pkg..

elmoseah

Can I check with u all how many boxes of cakes/biscuits ur parents are requesting from the groom's side? Thank you.

jovaine00

Ivy, my parents nv request. Just ask us to check our guest lists & see wanna give cakes to who. I have 18 boxes for my side, neighbors only as my relatives in KL, KL banquet will be settle in Nov.

Now less than a mth for me! Lol

How many boxes u ordering?

chino_rene

i will be having 18 boxes of cakes + 18 cans of the canned pig trotters. And should be giving back the groom 6 sets... I have not ordered/or buy anything yet though...~~~

elmoseah

Jasmine, we ordering 33 boxes of biscuits and 12 boxes of cakes.. Zzzz.. btw I have settled my GDL stuffs yesterday le.. phew!! finally a few more items strike off from to-do-list..
but our pockets big holes too.. haiz..

Chino, when is ur GDL? had u bought ur GDL stuffs le?

elmoseah

Hi All, any idea if we can distribute wedding cards to our frens and colleagues before our GDL day?? or must it be distribute on and after GDL day? Thank you.

jovaine00

Haha Chinorene, same same..will get down to work this weekend! Lol crunch time liao! Haven't even order roast pig yet..is $588 sia..v exp!

Ivy, I alrdy send out all my invites to frds le, only neighbors & close relatives den will pass them invites & cakes personally on GDL. My GDL is 9-11am, so will be distributing the stuff aft tat, will take approx half a day ba..

Anyway, y u have cakes & biscuits de? The biscuits is in GDL pkg? How's ur food tasting? So hotel settle liao? U buy bedsheet alrdy?

I'll be meeting my hotel rep probably next wk ba..haven't make appt yet.

elmoseah

Jasmine, biscuits not in GDL package.. is my parents and my grandma requested biscuits and cakes to distribute to relatives and frens one.. very mafan.. total damages for biscuits and cakes itself is around $500.. haiz.. food tasting over last wed still not tat bad.. now tinking where to buy bedsheet only.. any brand to recommend?? Tink once I get my invitation cards, I will start distributing my frens and colleagues le.. my GDL is 11-1pm so will be busy for the whole days for the relatives for both sides.. haiz..

My hotel rep just called to fix an appt to meet up to discuss on AD details..

jovaine00

Wah v xiong on ur cakes & biscuits..lucky my relatives all in KL so can leave them out.

For bedsheet, u go to any departmental store to buy. Feel the material 1st, normally less than $100 can get really nice 1. My is from Castello, nv heard b4 1 lah, jus feel the smooth satin so I just buy liao as got offer also.

elmoseah

Jasmine, ya lor.. very xiong.. so u having another lunch or dinner in KL too?? btw I heard and seen tat brand before.. hehe.. Which dept store u get tat brand from? had took a walk at Robinson but their bedsheet is quite ex.. at least around $200 with quit cover.. ~.~

jovaine00

Ivy my KL dinner on 24 Nov. 40 tables, each table rm798.

Robinson & Isetan will b more exp I feel as they cater more to the well to do ba. I bought mine from bhg. Maybe u can wait til Xmas sale. When is ur AC?

elmoseah

Jasmine, AC is 30/11 but heard they say bed sheet hav to go to groom's side together during GDL oso.. Maybe I will try CK Tang & BHG coming weekend..

jovaine00

Oh yes yes, I forgot abt it. When ur AD? Mine is 7 Dec, AD 9 Dec.

Have settled towels for my in laws side..like finally! $6.90 per towel..still ok lor

elmoseah

Jasmine, my AD is 2 Dec.. last weekend juz bought towels from Aussino.. gifts more or less settled.. so now is our own things.. hopefully able to buy a nice bed sheet coming weekend and meeting up with the hotel rep to discuss on the AD details.. more items striking off the to-do-list.. hehe..

chino_rene

Ivy, my GDL on 25 Nov Sun, 9-11am =) Haven't buy those stuffs yet..this weekend then buy! Whats the total estimated costs...u all can help me to be mentally prepared first. LOL =D

Bedsheets can b expensive! Go those OG, BHG oso about $100...but the brand Novelle looks pretty tho. Its not those super red red kind. Abit cute cute type!

For relatives n neighbours, I will pass them invitation cards only after GDL. It will go along with the cakes =) Friends, I think I will give earlier.

Jasmine.....40 tables!!!! Thats alot alot alot....u r super woman!! =P I think I will faint handling the guest list..hahaha

jovaine00

Chinorene, KL side my cousins will help out tog w my parents. So basically I just nid to show face & yum seng..haha but really grateful to my cousins being my wedding planner ther, & most of all my parents too, they did a great job!

My GDL is on 17 Nov lor, will be gng Chinatown coming wkend & settle the cakes liao.

Ivy, so in the end u get ur cakes from?

elmoseah

Chino, I can't give u an estimated cost of GDL stuffs cause I bought those package one.. unless u asking for the package prices? a bit ex though.. but htb say if buy ala carte scare something miss out then troublesome.. =D

Jasmine, in the end Bangawan solo cause spend too much on biscuit le.. so juz order there.. anyway we are not the one eating.. haha..

jovaine00

Ivy, exactly 1 mth left to ur AD!
Excited?

Aiyoh I still can't settle my GDL this wk..suddenly so much job & hubby got to work..how sia!

elmoseah

Jasmine, haha.. u gt good memory.. ya excited but stress!! collecting invitation card tml.. will start distributing early next week..

Buy ur GDL stuff on Sunday? both oso got to work? btw had u order ur cakes? better order them fast as they need to prepare ur order in advance too.. =D

jovaine00

Ya man, my job is unfix de & hubby is always on 24h standby, think will get them next wk during wkdays lunch lor..no choice if not no time! Will order cakes online tonite, cfm getting from Sweetest Moment.

Wah u so late den collect ur invites! Lol I've finished mailing them to frds! Haha! Waiting for my parents to finish writing the invites for neighbors & distribute to them tog w cakes on GDL.

elmoseah

Jasmine, ya.. I understand wat u meant.. cause my hubby oso those on 24h standby type.. if u buying ala carte perhaps u can start buying bit by bit??

haha.. ya lor.. got to rush out sending the invitation cards ASAP!! haiz..

jovaine00

Ivy, next wk send still ok lah, at least ppl wun forget so easily, but hopefully they will RSVP u so u have time to look for back up guests..haha!

jovaine00

Anyway, I got my GDL stuff yest evening liao..with teaset AC thingy red packets & stickers, cost us $238. Izit exp? Aiyoh I abit regret buying from Chinatown coz the price is like almost same as outside, I tot will b cheaper. But the thing hubby told me is outside pkg dun comes w teaset stickers red packets leh..I'm abit confused here.

Ivy, can share ur GDL price?

elmoseah

Jasmine, finally u bought ur GDL suffs.. my GDL sets do comes with tea set lei.. stickers (do you meant those small stickers to stick on oranges one??) if so, they are inclusive inside the packages.. those stick on doors or mirrors one then we need buy ala carte..

If I nv remember wrongly, total add up to be $400++.. tat total amount is inclusive of all the beans, tea set and etc all tat + pyjamas + hair combing set, umbrella, fan and my mum insist wanna buy the jewellery box(tink around $68-$78)and also those main ang bao (like the son-in-law ang bao for him to buy pants,belt)..

But if u buying tea set, AC thing, red packets & stickers(if is those mini stickers to stick on oranges one), $238 is actually quite expensive le..

jovaine00

Wah pkg $400++..ok Ivy u made me feel better..Lol..I forgot that $238 also include my dowry set to hubby's hse during GDL..but still I find it quite exp lor..I think if buy pj hair combing set & all also almost add up to wat u paid.

Ya all the 5 grains & angbaos tray basket stickers umbrella red tub & those knick knack stuffs lah,, all we bought ala carte lor & still cost $238..walao damn xiong hor!

Anyway today will be meeting my hotel rep for AD planning & discussion. Abit sudden coz I just called her in the morn to try my luck since today will be able to clear my work by 3pm.

elmoseah

Jasmine, ya.. if u add up those tat I bought should be almost the same price.. my $400++ also included the dowry set to hubby's house during GDL and oso the "Jewellery box"..

Ytd had met my hotel rep to discuss AD planning and details le.. so will meet him again a few days before our AD..

Btw I had bought my bed sheet from BHG last weekend le.. hehe.. finally..

Now got to write invitation cards.. hopefully to be settle by this weekend..

jovaine00

Jia you Ivy! I've yet to settle my cakes! Lol! Keep us update.

Yanting, so u alrdy finish GDL rite, now waiting for AC? U're the busiest juggling hse & wedding but finish the fastest! Haha

elmoseah

Haha.. tks Jasmine.. tink everyone of us got to jiayou le.. it's towards the final mth and days of counting down..

Keep the forum updated by posting more updates..

chino_rene

my GDL stuffs...groom's purchases was $67..bride's purchases was $110..I feel its very expensive =( Bcos I didn exactly get alot of things...red packets (labelled for pinjin, MIL, FIL n etc..) tea-cup set, candles, red bags, candle holder, an-chuang beans/plates, glass bottled orange juices....

Decided not to do the comb-hair thingy...like very mafan! more things to remember...very stress!

Weddings are really very expensive affair!! =x LOL.

On happier note:
I ordered my GDL cakes from pine garden =)
I have e-filed successfully too!
I have ordered my invitation cards!
I am picking up my albums + frames + choose my AD gowns this Sunday!

elmoseah

Chino, u hav been missing a while.. guess u are busy with the wedding preparation too..
ya I totally agree with you tat having wedding in Singapore(especially) is extremely expensive.. is like in pocket really burn one big hole.. haiz.. but look at the other side, is really a once in a life time thing.. haiz.. wat to do.. if really no such tradition, I'm sure we really rather use tat $$ to travel around the world instead of spending on the ONE night event and not forgetting the stress level we are going through and the elderly are giving us towards our Actual Day..

jovaine00

Hey Chinorene, finally gng to collect ur albums..haha! So how many gowns u get to choose?

Yup we also do away the hair comb custom, really troublesome & cost $ again..Lol sibei heartpain leh.

Did u gals get the sewing set? I nv buy leh..just buy the red basin as yi shi, coz walao use on that day only den put 1 side is really waste $ waste space.

Now waiting for GDL to take pl next wk, busy day..need deliver cakes sliced roast pig & cards personally islandwide i shld say? faint!

elmoseah

Jasmine, mine was a set.. everything is inclusive.. ur GDl is oso 18/11?? my roast pig is on AD not GDL.. now waiting to collect my albums & frames next week too.. GDL timing given by master is 11-1pm.. so got to rush everything.. luckily no need every relatives personally deliver.. Due to the tradition, we are still going through the hair combing process.. ~.~

Btw hw's ur meet-up with ur hotel rep?

jovaine00

Ivy, my GDL is 17/11 or 18/11. I settle on 17/11 as 18/11 need to go JB collect my EG for KL banquet the following wk..suddenly all the things come together.

My timing for GDL is 9-11am, & my mil say still need go templeS (plural) to pray....zzzz
& die die must pray on GDL day..!

Roast pig to deliver on GDL as we having wedding lunch, if deliver on AD, still need to cut & chop, scared not enough time..so GDL shld be better ba.

Looks like everybody collecting albums next wk wor! I'm too early sia..haha

Oh my meeting w hotel was a pleasant 1..she has 15 diff types of wedding favors to choose from which took me quite sometime to settle on what i want..all of them are nice & unique..that is alot rite! I was shocked by the table of favors! Lol

So far, details are more or less settled, she also gave us suggestions & feedbacks on the dishes since we not having food tasting coz it isnt complimentary lor..unless we have 20 tables..haiz!

elmoseah

Jasmine, icic.. btw where is ur banquet being held again?? so in the end, which favors u took? ur mil is traditional type? Not 1 temple only? Anyway is always early to settle things than last min panic..

jovaine00

Ivy, my mil selective traditional lah..u know lah Aunty is like tat..zzz!

My AD lunch is with Crowne Plz Changi Airport. In the end chose a giant wedding pen & just married coaster. U settle on ur favors too? What u have? Haha

elmoseah

Jasmine, I have settle mine couple mths ago together with the floral deco for my ballroom.. mine will be all shot glasses..

jovaine00

Ivy, I can't wait for my AD to happen..haha marching in the nicely decorated theme ballroom w my man..at the meantime also bz nervous fed up emotion roller coaster ride!

Just hope that it wun rain & everything goes smoothly! Aft wedding, I'll be free! Haha!