(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

Yanting, the photo looks good. So sweet! Btw, when and where's yr banquet?

I think I'll follow yr advise, better to roughly sort out the seating first. Hahaa.. We haven't decide to go where yet. Hopefully Europe.. ☺

Hey Ladies, I'm back from selecting the Photos.. did top-up a bit but still reasonable.. haha.. very satisfied with the photos. will post some of my favorite photos here when I get the soft copy in due course.. =D

Yanting, ur photo so swee! ur MUA is Sammi is it? any idea when is ur layout available for viewing? I hav check with WL le.. they say their page finishing is matte(lucky sia.. haha).. btw did u include ur name and htb name in ur ablum too? for my mum ah.. ya the 3 days return back to bride's house oso is her.. haha.. hmmm she likes to hear ppl advise lor.. ppl say must do tis then she will say must do tis.. haiz.. tradition wise still oki.. up to now still "quite" acceptable.. but dunno towards the meet up and pj part then I no guarantee le.. haha.. so I will make sure she confirm everything with me before meeting the guy's side parents for food tasting..

Jasmine, my seating arrangement is somehow settle le.. still gt a few not yet confirm.. it's confirm that in laws and old folks are not easy to deal with.. they are juz making our lifes difficult.. they dun understand the process of planning the banquet.. tot very easy!! haiz.. especially staying under the same roof.. I envy Yanting and his htb can move into her love nest after their AD le..

Derby, it's better to roughly arrangement ur tables seating first.. since u can't do much things at the moment.. anyway we share the same AD.. haha.. an advise to u is tat u better send out an e-invitation/sms to check ur guest attendance first.. cause our AD is oso sch holidays period.. some of my guest oso can't attend due to travelling or some already book for their friends/colleagues/relatives wedding le.. hmm so fast plan honeymoon le ah.. for me oso gt to look into the damage of our pocket after the dinner.. Venue hopefully Europr/USA

Thanx gals! I also can't wait to get my hands on the layout n the photos! Haha.. But my photographer say can only see the layout 4-5 wks later, so I guess im still 1mth away fr seeing the layout! Excited!!

Jasmine, I also think if I were fr the olden days whereby I've to stay with my in-laws, I think my htb will faint n nvr wake up! Wahaha..

Deby, my AD on 30th dec
n banquet dinner will b held at Carlton hotel.. Yes yes, juz do watever u cn 1st, so that won't have the last min rush n stress.. Jiayou!

Ivy, yeah glad u like your photos too!
yup my MUA is Sammi! U know her? Oh we change our album to shots, cos we felt keeping the heavy n bulky album will b a hassle, so we juz wanted to have the soft copy.. Ya it's better for u to cfm everything with your mum 1st.. I had a gd fren her mum also like that, relatives say wat then she wan wat, she also had a big headache.. Dun envy me la, we were juz super lucky.. when will u gals b getting your love nest?

Hi Jasmine, Mine is at fullerton.

Deby, You have the same wedding date as mine. Where is your venue?

Yanting, you look great in the photo.

Hey gals, am happy to hear everybody satisfied with their photos! Haha! Now waiting for Deby to have her ps & reviews. Have plenty of rest & be a beautiful bride for ur ps ok! U selected ur gowns for ps & AD gowns?

Ivy, u staying w ur in laws for temp rite? Waiting for ur hse at the meantime? I think we all envy Yanting lor..super lucky gal! I'll be staying w my parents until my hse ready in 2014. Hubby has the option to stay w me or stay w his parents or alternately, as for the past yrs, he has been staying w me most of the time. But our matrimonial bed is at his parents pl lor, seldom slp on it also nvm 1 rite?! Lol

Yanting u so funny! I was saying Im e one faint Liao nv wake up..Lol! Carlton hotel is nice leh, the one with v nice chandeliers & lightings 1 rite! Dun worry, 1 mth past v fast, u see mine..from June count dwn 2 mths plus, collect album Liao! I can feel ur anticipation, excited de lor!!

Clong, Fullerton v classy, ur banquet must be exp rite? I saw my frd marching dwn from the staircase to the ballroom, really nice ambience. Something diff from other march in. So I guess u'll be marching in from the staircase too? Nice!

Yanting, seen her name in forum before.. haha.. ya going to confirm with my mum everything first before their first meet-up with the in laws to be else I can foresee the problems ahead.. haiz.. my love nest should be around late 2014.. 2 more yrs to go..

Jasmine, ya staying with in laws temporarily lor.. cause htb home gt place so can't give the excuse of staying at own's house first before our love nest is here.. haha.. sianzz..

Clong,
, thanks for the compliments! Oh saw jasmine's comments abt the march-in staircase at Fullerton then rem a horror story I heard fr my fren.. Her colleague's fren march down fr the stairs, then dunno her hubby or someone else accidentally stepped on her gown, then her whole gown dropped down n her whole upper body exposed to all the guests! End up she didn't come down for the rest of the banquet le.. Sorry didn't mean to scare u, but juz tot u might want to take necessary precautions, like wear nubra or ensure a sis hold your gown's train so no one steps on it.

Jasmine, u also nt too bad wat, at least u cn stay with your parents! N ya I know u meant u will faint n nvr wake up in your previous post.. But I also meant my htb will faint n nvr wake up cos he's the sandwiched one! Wahaha...

Yanting u really make me rofl! Hahaha ya I understand u lah! Omg to the horror story leh! I think the guests will nv forget abt the incident & the bride will remain a laughing stock lor, nightmare will nv go away! Clong, pls take note!!

Ivy, ur bto also same as me lor, ard 2014 like tat. My hubby can't stand me also coz I nv force him to move in with me tog w my parents, I give him freedom lor, so he cannot control my freedom also! Hahaha! I can't stay w his family coz my sil staying w them & I think if I move in, I'll make sure she faint & nv wake up!! Lol

Ivy, just tolerate for 2 yrs, u stay in their hse better than they stay in ur hse rite!
time flies v fast! All my female frds also bear w it, it's worth the wait!

Ivy & Clong, so we hv the same date... Hahaa.. It's quite a popular date. Cos some of my frens already got invited also. But mine is lunch, so they still can come. I just signed up with Shangri-La, Azalea room on Sun..

Now I abit gan jeong cos all of u done PS and selection already while my PS still need to wait until end Oct. Although I hv chosen the gown for PS already, my BS consultant say they gonna hv new design launch in Nov, therefore ask me to choose my AD gown then. Hahaa.. Now I feel I very garang, cos only in Nov then choose the AD gown... I foresee I'll be super busy in Nov.

By the way, when r u all going to guo da li?

Jasmine and yanting, mine is only 10 tables so will be at the smaller ballroom without the staircase one. My one is lunch so is cheaper than dinner. If their dinner price, I find a bit ex. Also we only 10 tables so still not so bad.
If I have more tables, I won't choose Fullerton.
Ya yanting I heard my fren fren also fall down from the stairs before.

Debt, ya I like the date. That y I choose it cos is easy to remember. Oh u still manage to find a ballroom now. That is very efficient
I don't hv GUo da li, I do without all traditional procedures

Jasmine, hahaha u also v funny! U n your faint n nvr wake up.. Haha.. N ya I also dunno how the bride in the horror story gonna face her frens n relatives later on.. Where's your bto? Ivy how abt u? Although they say 2014, usu will b ready earlier de la..

Deby, wow u still managed to find a ballroom on a hot date! Lucky u! I'm planning to have our Guo da li on 4th nov.. That's the only sun that the fengshui master gave us..

Clong, didn't know their lunch cheaper, I nvr chk out Fullerton at all cos I tot their price sure over my budget one.. Wa, u doing without all the traditional procedures? So lucky, no need all the headaches at all..

Yanting, my bto in Tampines, last yr proj. TOP is 2015, but I foresee will be end of next yr or 1st qtr 2014 hopefully lah becoz now the Lego stack at lvl 6 alrdy..haha

Ivy, urs punggol? Or wher?

Deby, I havnt email my master to ask him abt GDL...I think it's abt time to email him liao..ya I think aft Oct, everyone of us are getting busy. Abt gown selection, I think u can drop by & check out the gowns 1st, coz u nv know which will catch ur eye. Not necessarily new gowns, maybe u fall in love with particular design leh.

Clong, I hope I can do without th traditions, chop chop settle. Haiz..my ideal date is 20/12/2012, but aft consultation, master say cannot...zzz

Yanting/Jasmine, my bto is at Sengkang. TOP is 2015 but should be ready by 2014.. =D

Derby, my guo da li got to meet up with my fengshui master then he will give us the date.. ur banquet should be very ex since u say is at Shangri-La?? u still manage to find a ballroom at this time on tat date, u are lucky.. =D

Clong, wa u so shiok.. w/o tradiditonal procedures!!

Jasmine, I heard that 20/12/2012 and 12/12/2012 are not good dates this year.. although they are easy to remember.. lol

Jasmine, your bto near Tampines central is it? I've fren who bought that bto too..

Ivy/ Jasmine,
they build v fast one la, b4 u know it n it's done!

Jasmine, your bto is very near where i stay now.

ya i very lazy to co-ordinate those sisters or traditional things so i asked my husband to be to check with his family is it alright to do without all these.

the only thing we will do is to serve tea to the elders but we cant do it on the actual day as the our wedding date too near with my sister in law wedding date.
So our actual day consider to the family is a ROM date only.

Yanting, Tampines had 2 BTO last yr, I took the other 1, Tampines Ave 8, also near interchange but no as close as the other. Coz I can't stand noise & overcrowded, esp near interchange.

Ivy, I think ur BTO is also last yr May proj? Near SK mrt 1 izit?

Clong, so u serving tea aft ur AD?

Ic, so u'll have ur pg & vg on both days? Or just ur lunch? Doing it separately quite costly leh.

Gals, I nv engage pg & vg leh..haiz coz my morn highlights can't be produced by lunchtime, so hubby said forget it..plus he also dun wan childhood montage. So I'll be having a decent lunch only..

For pg, some of my frds r freelance so they offer to help. So I save the trouble too.

wow! we have alot of friends here all staying in the east area in years to come! mine too ~ also at sengkang (compassvale boardwalk) but ready only in 2015. Haha. Long wait!

But after wedding, will not be moving to in-laws place bcos not convenient and also...hmm..staying together with in-laws will potentially create many unhappiness. good thing is, my future MIL is agreeable to this arrangement that I need not move in and she's okay with my hubby to move to my home =) But still..the an zhuang part, will be done at his home. I guess, its more of formality to still put at groom's side bah~~~

where did u all buy mom's dress? I haven't shop for my mom dress....hahaa...

Jasmine, my bto is anchorvale.. directly opp the swimming complex.. hehe.. =D

Yanting, ya.. before we know, we gt to save for the renovation.. haha

Chino, my mum bought her dress at one of a shop at Suntec City.. tink is level 1.. forget wat's the name..

Chinorene, u can try city plaza. I heard some saying there have alot of auntie fashion, I havnt recce yet.

Haha looks like we're lucky to stay w our parents aft customary. Anyway, I think quite normal to see many staying in the east or northeast since most bto r always in sk or punggol. I was lucky to get tampines!!

Jasmine, only photographer for my lunch. I also didn't engage videographer. Ya I also don't hv child montage. Just montage of our photoshoot.

Ya I also love to stay in the east but can't get a bto. End up get a bto in yishun.

My mother in law get her dress from OG.

Ivy ~ anchorvale, i balloted that too! But bad Q no. We're pretty near each other. Maybe all of us will shift to other forums after we completed our wedding..and we will discuss about our future lovenest. hehee~~

I also no child montage..not v signficant to me. going to showcase just pre-wedding shoots and morning highlights.

moms' dress n sisters' dress, i have been planning to do a visit to cityplaza..but..lazy..lol.

planning to do GDL between mid-end november and My AD on 30/Dec.

Jasmine, ya I agree, I also can't stand noise n overcrowding.. So lucky we also managed to get quite a peaceful estate
we engaged both PG n VG for morning then only PG for dinner..

Chino, my mum hasn't start shopping for her dress yet.. That day asked her wat she wanna wear, she say she also dunno.. Haha.. But my mil went shopping with my sil n bought a simple white with floral design cheongsam le..

Ivy, ya lor aft your wedding, u all cn start saving for reno le.. Gd thing for u all is won't b so siong.. It's super siong for us nw, we estimated the hse reno + furnishing will cost us abt $40k

Yanting, urs is 5 room? Whr ur location? It's actually abt that pricing. Which ID firm u with? Care to share ur pics aft reno?

I'm giving diff ID firms my floor plan le, compare designs & pricing. V ks hor..haha but due to inflation, I'm ok to sign earlier to lock the price but at the same time, scared company close dwn!!

Clong, ya it's hard & depend on luck to get bto in the east area, more exp too due to mature estate. In fact, for Tampines BTO, my Q no exceeded over 100+ but luckily many pPl give up, coz it's rather ex & only left standard flat, which is wat I'm looking for. I even opt out all tiles & doors! Haha

Jasmine, no la mine 4rm nia.. Cos the bal flats chance for 5rm too low so we decided to go for 4rm, n it costs a freaking >$560k for a 95sqm flat!! -_-" mine is at Dover
my ID is sun hup, recommended by my ex-colleague, apparently they r known for their carpentry worksmanship, which is of high importance to me.. But their shortcoming is they v drag their feet, dunno is it they've too many proj on hand.. But then again, I guess most contractors also have this drag n drag problem.. So we muz call n call, chase n chase.. I dun mind sharing my aft reno pics.. Haha we convert this thread into a reno thread liao.. Haha.. U r indeed kiasu, I tot I started reading up on contractors few mths b4 I get keys already kiasu, u starting few yrs b4 u get keys!! Hahaha.. But I dun think its advisable to sign so early leh, heard of many horror stories of contractors closing down or running away aft collecting partial sum of money.. My reno quoted to b $24k, we already have to pay $7+k initial payment, so if u've to do things like flooring n all that, expected to cost even more n u'll b taking quite a big risk bah.. Plus wat u ask them to quote nw may nt b applicable or wat u like few yrs later, then also have to pay more for other things that u wanted,.

Ya Yanting, v risky if I sign w ID too early, so I'll just do my research & piece the diff designs ID drawn up & see which impresses me most.

But 560k is damn exp! But urs is Dover, so it'll be more exp..I remember got 1 bto launched in Clementi few mths back is priced ard 700k for 5 room..thks to our P*P! Absurd pricing rite! More than half a mil! However, it's the demand that supports the supply lor! Despite the skyrocket prices, ppl r balloting like no tmr..zzz

So when ur hse ready? Will it be ready for ur AD?

Jasmine, ya u also cn spend some time on reno forums to learn wat r the things to take note of, which furniture shops to avoid etc.. Ya the prices r crazy, how cn it be called public housing at these prices.. During my same batch of bal flats, there's some 4rm units 92sqm nia at holland v there going for 600+k!! But still they r snatched up in the 1st few days of selection.. Crazy ttm! I hope it'll b ready b4 AD, then no need worry abt so many things in the last few mths b4 AD.. I gave ID ultimatum, muz b ready by end sept, cos I told them my furniture side they only willing to store the furniture for me until 1st wk oct which is a fact.. Hopefully they cn keep to this timeline bah..

Haha Yanting, hopefully ur hse will be ready by Sept!! Seriously, this thread becOmes renO talk liao! Lol remember to showhand ur beautiful hse hor! :p

Anyway ladies, have gotten my GDL & AC dates. GDL is 3 wks from my AD & AC is 1 day before my AD! So lucky my hubby slp on the floor for 1 nite only! Haha

Yanting, u all GDL alrdy?

Hahaha.. Hope the other ladies here dun mind us side track n talk abt reno stuff :p yup of cos I dun mind showing u all my hse photos aft reno, if no objections fr others.. Haha..
Actually it's gd that your AC is juz 1 day b4 AD, then lower risk of pple accidentally sitting on it or wat..
Haven't, our GDL shd b on 4 nov bah.. Haven't really fix yet.. My mum says like v far fr AD like that.. But no choice cos no other Sundays in the dates given to us le..

Hi Ladies, it's beginning of the mth September tml.. 3+ mths to go for our AD..

Yanting/Jasmine, its oki to share ur reno stuffs here too.. anyway we can get some advise from u all too.. lol..

Jasmine, ur AC is 1 day before AD, then is the best le.. like wat Yanting say, lower risk of ppl sitting or jumping on it especially with young kids around.. =D

My dates of GDL and AC, I got to meet up wif the fengshui master in mid September then know wat's the good dates to be given to us.

Can I check roughly when will u guys be printing ur wedding invitation cards? any idea how do we go about printing them?

Ivy, ya so fast hor! We almost there le! Can't imagine I'm gonna sign on the line in another 3mths time!
Haha nt really reno advice la, juz some tips aft going thrgh it.. Haha..
Think our hotel will arrange for us to meetup in oct to choose the invitation cards n stuff.. Usu every hotel will have their own preferred printers, but of cos u cn source your own too.. I heard fr my fren they went to the preferred printer n it's v easy one, juz tell them which wedding card u selected then they'll tell u which layout for inserts u cn choose then u juz select n get them to print lor.. Then I think the printers will send to the hotel n u collect everything tgt..

Yanting, ya after we sign on the dot, a new chapter of our life begins.. which means more commitment.. lol.. cause my hotel co-ordinator tell me tat I may liase directly with their preferred printer.. so I'm a bit confused.. I thought the wedding cards are all prepare by the hotel itself.. haha.. the hotel only provide the cards rite? the insert we have to pay is it??

Yup ladies, 3 more mths only...like so fast rite! Was only preparing for my ps in June & voom! Now Sept liao!

As for invitation printing, unless hotel provided for us foc, we can source for our preferred printers.

My hotel just provide us templates, we have to print ourselves. Is it the same for all hotels?

Jasmine, at first I oso tot my hotel include everything.. haha.. however, after checking with my co-ordinator, I dun tink hotels provide printing FOC lei.. normally they will provide the cards itself but printing wise should be from own pocket.. The template yr hotel providing is it the cards itself or the insert?

If I nvr rem wrongly, most hotel packages include the cards but inserts muz print ourselves.. But some hotels may throw in printing of inserts as freebies if u bargain..

Ivy, I not sure leh, hotel will so gd provide us with cards ar? Lol If tats the case, we just print inserts? Will be cheaper?

Aiyoh I think foc cards must be cmi 1 leh..haha ur hotel provides u also? Yanting wat abt u?

Ive to check w my coordinator..suddenly like so many things to follow up aft 7th mth lor!

Yes jasmine, most hotel packages come with cards for 50-70% of your confirmed guests, u cn chk your banquet contract. N usu there'll b more than 1 design for u to choose fr. As for whether the cards will b cmi, it's dependent on your own preference bah. For me, as long as its free n nt black i'll take! Haha.. Cost of printing inserts is abt $100-200, depending on how much u print bah..

Jasmine, I agree wif you tat there's a lot of things to follow up.. hopefully can confirm my attendance list by end Sept.. now about 70% confirm for my side.. if attendance for banquet done then can go on to other stuffs le.. will be visiting the fengshui master mid Sept after lunar 7th mth for the dates and timing for AD and AC.. =D

Yanting, ya as long as it's free, I'll will oso take.. haha.. anyway the cards for guests oso for 1 time use only.. they will juz throw away after tat.. so no point making it so nice(additional $$).. anyway still gt to spend $$ on the inserts also(which is usually not included)..

So have you all chosen the card designs already? When are we suppose to do the printing of the cards?

My package actually include printing, so my coordinator say they'll just pass me the contact of the supplier for cards and printer (dunno is it same company), then we lias directly. But no news from her yet leh.

Ivy, ya lor I also can't b bothered to spend more money on things such as invitation n favors.. Hotel give, I juz choose the nicest among the choices.. Haha.. I've heard of pple who specially design a logo with the couple's initials n get it printed on all the invitation cards n favors blah blah.. Faints..

Deby, fr wat I rem choosing of invitation cards n printing is abt sep or oct.. So they shd b calling us up soon!

Yanting, totally agreed with you.. I saw some couples they make their wedding cards to be an air-tickets.. lol..

Deby, tink if they pass u the preferred printer contact details.. u may try to give them a courtesy call/ email to check what is the arrangement like.. like wat Yanting mentioned, choosing and printing should be around sept/oct.. =D

Congrats to all Dec brides =)! My AD is on 15/12! I'm the more 'gan cheong' one, i sent an email to the hotel and have them advise the dates for food tasting. I'll be having the food tasting next week!

Pardon my this question, do u all BTB wear tea dress to the hotel after tea ceremony or still have to change back to WG after tea ceremony?

Hi Cynthia. wa u are really early in food tasting.. haha.. so everything for ur wedding is done since u mentioned tat u are more 'gan cheong' type?

I tink we should be able to change back to casual wear after tea ceremony before going to the hotel.. let's see wat's the response from others.. =D

Hi Cynthia! Welcome to the thread n congrats too!
I tot food tasting is usu 2mths b4? Haha u really fast fwd..
Fr wat I know fr my frens, think they change to casual wear b4 heading to hotel.. But for my case, my timing for that day may b a bit tight, mayb I'll juz go straight.. Waiting to cfm my timing with my MUA on my AD..

Hi Yanting,

Yes,you can change back to your casual wear after the tea ceremony before heading to hotel. But.....of caurse but be casual but presentable one, ok ! Congratulation to you

Hi all, seems like u all are getting ready for the big day..Welcome to the thread Cynthia! So I assume u alrdy done all ur preparations, only waiting for sending out invites? :p Whr is ur venue? Food tasting 3 mth before AD is really early though, but at least 1 task checked!

Ivy & the rest, when & whr r u gng to print invites? If print in Oct, still have time rite?

Yanting, I'll be changing to Teadress aft tea ceremony & head to hotel liao..as mine is lunch, quite rush, so will change back to WG in hotel for 1st march in. Anyway, I'm thinking of mingling ard w guests & take photos instead of wasting time hiding in the room b4 1st march in leh, ok 1 rite? How huh?

Jasmine, finally u are back!! haha.. I should be printing from my hotel preferred printer!! much more easier!! but dunno whether we can get the cards and print outside ourselves.. if purely juz get the cards dunno is it from the hotel or their preferred printer lei.. cause my htb got frens doing printing, perhaps can get better rates.. u better check with the printer these days.. some need at least 3 weeks.. if u sent for printing 1st week of Oct should be still oki.. btw ur AD is when ah? Can refresh my memory? =D

Blessed day, Thanx!

Jasmine, oh ya hor yours is lunch so it makes more sense for u to juz go hotel in your tea dress.. I might also go in my teadress, cos end up my timing that day may b v rush, have to start makeup at 3pm n tea ceremony at my hse may end mayb 2pm?
Whether to mingle with guests anot, I guess it's pretty much up to u bah.. I shd only b selecting the cards in oct? But I guess if hotels have been asking couples to select n print cards abt 2mths b4 AD, then shd b enough time bah..

Ivy, ya I agree using hotel's preferred printer will be much easier.. But of cos, if u wanna send to your own printer it's also ok bah.. Usu pple will choose preferred printers cos no need to source their own, n the preferred printers usu have ready templates n layouts for u to choose, so easy for u n them bah.. Lucky for me, my htb's cousin-in-law's family is in printing biz, n she told me during cny that they juz became 1 of the preferred printers for my hotel this yr, so I shd b going to her for printing bah..