(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

elmoseah

Hi Chino, ya.. i tried to book her but she was not available on my AD.. haiz..

anyway do u guys know wat's the meaning of transport when it comes to MUA services? Tks.

chino_rene

u still lookin for MUA? Jiayou =) don't worry.

Transport - some MUA charge seperately for transport, while some don't charge.

But its common for them to charge for early timing (usually maybe anytime between 7am is early)

elmoseah

oh icic...

Anyway, hav shortlist a few on hand.. =D

juz wondering whether my BS MUA tat do for me on AD can do for my mum too.. check wif co-ordinator he ask me to check wif MUA directly on day of my PS but I scare by then all good MUA taken up le.. haiz headache.. >.<

quek_sk

Hi Ivy,

usually BS MUA can do for ur mum too but think it's better to find another MUA as better for MUA to jus focus on you

yanting

Ivy, my BS MUA told me if I need makeup for mum n mil, she cn arrange for someone to come n do it for them. U cn directly liaise with her on that one.. Most likely I'll b doing that..

elmoseah

Yanting,oh ic.. u met ur BS MUA already? I got to wait till 9/8 then can tell her to make arrangement for my mum, if I wan. Any idea whether will it be done at the hotel or home? hw much they cost per pax?

yanting

Ivy, I haven't met her, but I have her hp no so I called her directly. If for banquet, it shd b done at hotel. I know mkt rate shd b abt $80-100 bah..

forever_btb

Hi all BTB =D, anyone getting Zwed &amp; Chris ling for your bridal package ? care to share your experience so far? i'm going for PS in Aug dunno if they'd give me all the soft copies =(

clong

Hi BTB in love, I have checked out zwed n Chris ling.

I don't think they will return back all the soft copies.

Your bridal shop is zwed?

jovaine00

Hey gals, Aug coming..Ivy &amp; Yanting ready &amp; looking forward to ur ps hor? haha

BTB in love, dun think any BS will give back all soft copies unless u really top up alot or another album. They normally give u back what is in ur album.

Chinorene, Yanting &amp; CLong, how's ur scrapbook preparation so far?

I'll be viewing my ps layout this weekend..woohoo looking forward!!

elmoseah

Hi Jasmine, ya look forward for the PS and also my PS layout in the upcoming months(hopefully by sept/oct). Can feel your excitement to view ur PS layout this weekend. =D

elmoseah

Hi All, do you guys buy dresses for ur sisters? or u give them the theme color then they go buy themselves? Do you all give ur sister(s)ang bao for helping out? I heard some ppl say no need to give cause they will get the $$ from the gate-crush.. any advise?

yanting

Jasmine, haha I'm too engrossed with my hse stuff nw so dun feel excitement yet! Only juz realized few days ago I haven't start finding the stuff I need for my photoshoot! Better start on it soon.. :p n my scrapbook is more for aft wedding, as a collection of photos fr the wedding itself, so haven't done any research yet! It muz b exciting for u la since u gonna view your ps layout le!!

Ivy, I'm gonna buy dresses for my sisters cos I prefer a uniform look in the photos.. N sometimes difficult to get exact same shade if they all buy at diff places.. Erm I also hear b4 say no need Ang pao le, but so far fr my experience being others' sisters, bride also nvr give, only both side parents give.. More of to thank us for the help rendered to the wedded couple bah..

elmoseah

Yanting, icic.. for ur case, will u be giving ur sister(s) ang bao?? I thought of just buying them the dresses will do. perhaps we can discuss in details on tat.. =D

yanting

I dun think so bah, cos im gonna buy them the dress, plus accessory to match my theme.. So most probably I'll treat the sisters and brothers to my hse aft the wedding for a hme cooked dinner to thank them!

jovaine00

So now the trend is no need give angbao lah? Seriously?!?! LOL! Maybe I'll give them a gift instead if thats the case. I'm not buying any dress for my sisters as too troublesome? I'll give them the color code &amp; let them source for themselves. Any idea whr to get sisters dress?
online shop also can.

Ivy, yes i'm v excited!! Haha! I've asked my coordinator to email me the layout for viewing before I head dwn for discussion.

Yanting, what props u need for ur ps? Whitelink nv provide? Where u gng for ur outdoor?

Ivy, how about u? Outdoor day or nite? I seen couples taking nite shots in Garden by the bay, v nice!

yanting

Jasmine, Occasion at raffles city has nice sisters dresses.. Bugis village also have, I've come across as cheap as $29/pc one n looks decent too.. Haha totally cn sense your excitement abt your photo selection!
I juz heard fr my fren who juz went PS with whitelink say got props provided, although the coordinator say cn bring our own also la.. So I mayb won't bring props.. But we thinking of doing retro theme for 1 of our outdoor looks, dun think I wanna spend money on dress so probably gonna play on accessories to get the retro look.. Haha n I haven't start shopping yet, cos I haven't even decided on which dress.. :p we thinking of going lower pierce.. I like e reservoir n greenery there.. Then probably Fullerton or Clarke quay area?.. Wa so fast got pple use garden by the bay le, I also tot of going but felt that nite looks better than day leh, n I dunno whether I shd extend the PS til nite..

elmoseah

Jasmine, mine is just studio(indoor) PS. Had done my outdoor PS oversea. =D for sister(s) dresses maybe u can try at far east plaza or city plaza?

hmmm not sure about the trend of ang bao lei.. i tot need to give the sister(s) as an appreciation but my other friends say no need. so now maybe thinking of giving them a good treat before the AD as a token of appreciation or buying the dresses for them instead..

Yanting, Garden by the bay tink will be a lot of ppl planning to take PS there.. unless u wan to take it with less crowd then will be later in the night le. but with the extension of the PS = more $$$$.. for me i oso prefer more to greenery type.. =D

yanting

Ivy, ya lor I also scared of crowd.. Some more my PS on long wkend.. Scared there will b crowded like mad.. Hee, I also prefer greenery for PS but my bf dun wan all greenery one, he say later all the photos look the same.. Haha.. So I chose lower pierce le, mayb will go for some other scenery bah.. :p

jovaine00

Yanting, i think u shld go Garden by the bay at nite, its really v nice with the lightings &amp; ambience. Anyway, just extend ur ps to evening lah, whether to choose the photos or not aft tat is another matter wat, alrdy paid for ps, just go!! haha

Ivy, if whitelink pkg includes outdoor, think u shld go outdoor too, diff feel mah..just my opinion lah =)

When I'm free, I'll just bring my sisters to shop for dresses &amp; treat them a nice meal ba.

woohoo today is WED!! LOL

elmoseah

Yanting, so now it depends on u and ur hubby preference le.. =D

Jasmine, i have to top-up for the transport if I need to go outdoor for PS local. i dun see the need cause took quite a lot of photos oversea le.. wait too many photos hard to choose oso.. although i agree wif u on the diff feel.. haha.. but i rather save the $$ for wedding preparation/ honeymoon trip..

If your sisters know one another then u can shop together with them the dresses.. else a bit awkward too.. but who cares since they gonna co-ordinate wif one another on the AD.. haha

jovaine00

Ivy, alamak still need to top up transport..zzzz! Haha, like tat den save the trouble also lah.

Yanting, like wat Ivy mentioned, more places, more poses, more difficult to choose &amp; might end up topping more pics.

I still have alot of things left undone..lazy..Lol!

yanting

Jasmine, ya most prob the PS will end abt 7+ bah.. My frens ended ard that time when they did their PS last mth.. N I also scared too many pics, later I choose like siao cos I really dun wanna spend too much money topping up.. Btw I personally feel bringing the sisters shop for dress is v nt time efficient one, esp if your sisters r v diff in size n shape.. They'll have too many opinions that it'll b hard to choose.. So like my fren advised me, juz choose something that I like n think will look gd in pics one.. Unless u dun mind they all choose v diff patterns la.. What have u nt done yet?

Ivy, ya I agree shd save the money for Honeymoon or even your hse!

jovaine00

Besides PS, MUA, Venue, Emcee, all not done! wahahaha..

ok, think i'll just tell the sisters to shop for their dresses lah, ltr diff opinions &amp; disagreement among themsleves, i gng to faintz!

Thks for the tips huh!

anyway Yanting, how's ur hse reno now? ready to move in anytime soon? Any pcis to share? =)

elmoseah

Jasmine, I oso a lot of things not yet done.. high five

Btw Lunar 7th month coming, are u guys particular of inviting ur frens verbally for confirmation of seats in the month?

jovaine00

Aiyah I'm ok 1, I'm not so superstitious as my mil...anyway most my frds know my AD is in Dec so think they somehow will remember? Lol

I havnt even choose the song for my wedding pics montage to be given to my BS this Sun...HOW???

Any nice Chinese songs bo?

elmoseah

Jasmine, my hotel co-ordinator suggest tat we can use the hotel background music as our wedding pics montage if we scare there's some copy-rights issue..

Hav you guys settle ur parent's tables and dowry/pin jin?

jovaine00

Oh I actually also sorted out my guests list &amp; table arrangement too. Haha!

Dowry as in GDL will be done aft mid autumn festival. As for the ping jin wise, my mum nv request for it but my KL side 30 tables for relatives, my husband asks my parents to keep all the angbaos collected. So it's settled!

How much ur mum request for pj? Have u all buy si dian jin yet?

elmoseah

Jasmine, my side still not yet settle on the Dowry stuffs.. haiz.. my parents ask for around 10 tables.. pin jin wise, they nv mention.. so is up to the guy side to give.. since they already request for 10 tables, pin jin i tink juz give "æ„æ€ æ„æ€". dun forget they still wan biscuits/cakes all tat.. haiz...

Jasmine, so ur KL side 30 tables for relatives is in Singapore or KL?

for si dian jin not yet... btw si dian jin is actually to be bought by the bride's side? or guy's side? any ideas?

jovaine00

My relatives 30 tables all in KL, but in SG we reserve 2 tables for them. SG we have 20 tables.

Si Dian Jin is given to bride by mil. Ur mil shld buy for u.

Talking abt biscuits &amp; cakes..haha sian 1 rite. For me, I think no need lah, all relatives in kl, maybe for my neighbours lor, for my in laws, I think they dun want coz their relatives only 2 or 3 tables, so it's like 3 or 4 boxes? Funny rite

chino_rene

im having difficulty w table arrangement =( bf parents not willing to help arrange/invite relatives lorh. they find it so troublesome. Bf &amp; me just requested the parents to fill-in names to our template. But they also #^%*#*@

elmoseah

Icic... my mil nv mention about Si Dian Jin. so i nv ask, else wait they tot i very "yao gui".. haha..

Actually biscuits are more for those old folks, now is more to cakes vouchers le.. aiya 3-4 boxes oki ma.. æ„æ€æ„æ€ oki le.. dun complicate things when you have more important things to deal with nearer to AD.. haha

chino_rene

jasmine, my shortlisted songs for my BS montage:

厚臉皮- Ella (SHE)
就是爱你 - David Tao
最é‡è¦çš„決定 - 范瑋çª

happy lah....going to see layout liao.. hehehee..have fun

yanting

Jasmine, Actually u r almost done with all your wedding prep stuff le ma! Haha.. Btw Chinese song I super like 范范's 最é‡è¦çš„决定! Everytime I hear on radio n sing along with it I'll cry one.. Haha.. Oh reno juz started tdy, only lay those cardboard for protecting the flr tiles nia.. So no pics to share yet.. Haha..

Ivy, wa 10 tables like a lot.. Hope my parents dun ask for so much.. N yup Si Dian Jin is guy side buy for u de.. But strictly speaking, it's nt a custom for all dialect grps. Like im Hokkien, my mum say no Si Dian Jin one, but have to buy 2 thick thick bangles, but nt v practical so many pple switch to Si Dian Jin too..

Oh btw, gals I'm making customized cupcakes as side line, if u all need cn chk out my fb pg - The Patio Baker

yanting

Chino, oh dear that's jialat.. Ask your hubby to work on them lor, if nt ask him to do it.. U also using Chinese songs for montage? I also wanted, but bf n frens say nobody use chinese songs one will b v weird, esp if got non-Chinese frens..

Ivy, my frens suggested to me that b4 both parents meet to discuss all these, we shd go talk to our own parents 1st, ask wat they wan n adjust their expectations too, so that when meet nt so paiseh to ask for this n that.. N won't seem so yao gui cos we've relayed both sides' expectations le.. So if u wan Si Dian Jin have to ask your hubby go tell his parents 1st..

elmoseah

Chino, i tink u and bf are going to have a hard and difficult time dealing with the no of tables.. haiz..

btw ur 3rd song (最é‡è¦çš„決定 - 范瑋çª) is also one of my shortlisted choice.. =D

chino_rene

ivy! so sad horh =( the parents like dun feel the joy of the son and future daughter-in-law's marriage. dunno how. maybe all the relatives can just dun come lorh...hahhaa...

最é‡è¦çš„決定 - èŒƒç‘‹çª is a very everlasting nice song! very meaningful..bcos she wrote this song for the hubby mah. =)

chino_rene

I havent start on my scrapbook..bcos Groupon doesnt have any offer on the coffeetable/photobook yet..hahaha...

major things not done: mom and sisters' dresses, tables listing, pre-wedding albums, find a solemniser, buy instax mini films, GDL stuffs, AD Schedule and tasks/roles, angpow box

yanting

Chino, dun think like that.. Mayb they juz nt IT savvy, or they dun understand y muz so ma fan n write this n that, cos last time they dun do it this way ma.. Juz try to get things done on time n happily ya..

elmoseah

Chino, i agree with Yanting. the most important thing is that both of you have to enjoy the process of preparing for ur big day.. on/after ur big day, u will feel that everything is meaningful and worth-while since u all prepare all the stuffs urself.. remember must be a happy BTB in the preparation process.. enjoy ya

chino_rene

LOL =) Hahhaa, okays. thanks gals! must be happy......hehehe..

on a happier note, i have selected by BTO flat! Settled my wedding favours, looking forward to select photos on National day, bought new set of mattress, bought nice colourful n pretty pens for guestbook and signing of my rom cert, book hotel stay for the wedding nite, plan my liquor needs for banquet =)))

yanting

Chino, congrats on getting a bto! Woa u've done a lot of stuff too!
talking abt liquor needs, do u gals think it'll b cheaper for me to get wine fr carrefour wine warehouse sale? It's ongoing til 29 jul at plaza sing.. So I'm wondering whether I shd go there get instead of getting consignment..

jovaine00

Chinorene, dun stress, do 1 thing at a time &amp; everything will be settled!
Hey at least ur in laws bo chup is better than those want this &amp; that &amp; die die must follow what they say rite.
If you need the table arrangement, I can email you. For solemnisation, think u must faster book alrdy, now Aug liao!

Ivy, will look into 最é‡è¦çš„决定. I only shortlisted Alex To å«ç»™æˆ‘..haha! Ya &amp; agree with Yanting, better to discuss with parents &amp; hubby to discuss with his folks what they expect for GDL before the official parents meeting.

For the rest of the things..still KIV in process!! Lol

chino_rene

that's true hor..bochup is better than those who want everything..hahaha

jasmine, okie~~sent to me for reference! thank u! via FB okie?

but hor, soleminser only accept bookings 3mths ahead.....

wine, buying urself could be better. carrefour haf lots of choices at affordaable prices too. alternatively, try http://www.cellarbration.com.sg/ they sell liquor n wines at wholesale prices

elmoseah

Yanting, for liquor needs perhaps u can try this http://winebos.com/ as they do cater for bulk order for weddings. Perhaps u can check with them whether there's any good discount price for bulk order? Chino's suggested website above can be a very good consideration too.. perhaps u can compare the both in due course..

Jasmine/Yanting, hmm i dun tink Si Dian Jin is complusory ba... is actually depend on individual.. guy's side not biological mum.. so can't say/ask anything.. so stuck there.. the most get ang bao only lor.. haha.. my mum's side, i ask them to give me a list of the biscuits/cakes/GDL stuffs they want to request from the guy's side then i scan through, if unreasonable will go back to her first before the guy's side come into the picture.. i agree with u all tat i shall settle with my side first..

Jasmine is right.. if kanna those in-laws wan die die wan follow this and tat will make ur life even worse.. so think of the bright side.. haha..

Chino, ya .. soleminser only can book 3 mths in advance..

I have not done anything at all yet... haha... will start on doing the mortage real soon.. wedding favours/printing of cards - waiting for hotel co-ordinator to call us to go down to discuss (there's an open showcase in Sept so maybe got something new coming up).. new set of mattress - will buy/order maybe last 2nd mths towards AD.. choose photos and album layout hopefully by end Oct ba..

btw can I check hw do u guys roughly gauge ur liquor needs?

jovaine00

ChinOrene, I will forward to ur email instead. Give me sometime as I think I lost it also! Wahahaha! U sort out ur guestlist 1st ya.

I actually forgotten that solemnisor can only be book 3 mths in advance coz my rom was 2 yrs ago &amp; my hotel settled all the knick knacks for us.

I duno how to gauge the liquor qty leh. I know my hotel gives 1 red wine for every table. So I need to order beer instead?

yanting

Ya I also agree bochup better than everything wan u follow their way! At least u cn ensure things r done to your liking!

N thanks for the wine links! Will chk them out later..
I think liquor needs really gotta agak agak.. Depends on things like:
1) your banquet is lunch or dinner - dinner pple will drink more
2) banquet is on wkday, fri, sat or sun? - if fri n sat pple might drink more too
3) whether your guests r wine lovers..

Mine is a sun dinner n most of my frens nt heavy drinkers.. Hotel giving me 1 bottle per table, plus I think corkage waiver for 24 bottles.. So I'm thinking of getting 24 bottles myself, plus wat they give is abt 2 bottles per table.. Each bottle is abt 4 glasses, so means each table got abt 8 glasses le.. Shd b ok if no heavy drinkers.. If still nt enough then I'll buy fr hotel lor, cos I bring my own also have to pay abt $30 corkage, nt worth it..

chino_rene

hi yanting, i actually will serve only liquor and beer on my banquet. The advise are from married friends, its mainly for easier management and control =) when we serve more drinks, there are more things to look too.

Usually, the couple will assign a friend, aka'logistics officer' to handle the flow of wine/liquor/beer. Hotels/restaurants will only 'open' the bottles upon the couple consent and permission

my best friends/cousins are all drinkers..heavy..lol..four five person can finish a 750ml martell bottle in a night =) haha. that's scary isn't it! But I reckon that during wedding dinner they will drink so much..bcos got yummy food to eat mah.

as for beers..its mainly for older folks like fathers, uncles, aunties who usually drink beer (kopitiam style). hehehe