(2011) 2011 Brides

Anyone doing Save the Date cards?

Am going invite some of my cloest overseas friends, so thinking of sending them a Save the Date card so that they can start planning for the holiday.

Kass: same feeling about when I was at BOWS..!

I thought of doing some save the dates cards too..as I'm planning to invite my ex-colleagues to my wedding.. it would be helpful for them to plan their schedule since my previous job is shift work..

thanks joyle for the link

j0yle_t >> Thanks! I am doing my own monogram today (on off today! v free) and maybe will come up with my own Cards... but I need some help with some graphics or vector designs.

clint >> Are u going to email or mail to them? I probably will email... easier and cheaper!

But invitation cards, will u be mailing to them?? I am thinking how to mail to my colleagues... considering that I am most likely not inviting my previous big boss and the no. 2, so it would be a bit weird for everyone in the old office to get the invite, but not the bosses! Prob have to mail to their home addresses!

I still have Pan Pac and Hyatt's 2011 rates which were just recently mailed to me. If anyone is interested, do leave ur email addresses and i'll forward to u.

Offer ends by this weekend when I will delete them!

Kass: Planning to email.. then ask some to disseminate to those without email..

I will go down to my ex-workplace to pass the invitation cards bah.. my previous workplace quite big ah.. so abit hard to snail mail every1.. probably will go when about to end work... usually the bosses are not around that time..

Hee

kass: seeing u doing ur own monogram motivates me a little.. lolz..i tink i'll start after my PS.. I've a friend who did her own wedding card with castles, fits her fairytale theme.. super nice!

r u guys thinking of having ur PS photos on e Save the date card? so far all that I've seen includes their pre wedding photo..

j0yle_t >> I have some basic knowledge of photoshop, so can try to do lah... Used before.
Have u tried using the monogram online software? Just remember the fonts u like, then download these fonts. U can then use them in paint to cream ur monogram.

pinkglove >> Don't intend to put photo, cuz I have not taken prewedding photos yet.
The Save the Date cards are largely for out-of-town friends so that they can start making plans. But problem now if I still dunno what theme I want!

Usually how long before hand should send out the save-the-date cards? I'm planning to do a e-version since many people are IT savvy.. As for relatives, parents will do their job to inform them..

Hi Clint.. generally wedding couples send out the wedding invites 1 month before the AD.

So you are not going to give invite cards to your friends / colleagues. If so, can save alot on printing!

clint >> Save-the-date cards should be sent out 6 months before. This is for people to make plans. If it's to out-of-town friends, do give them 8-9 months notice so that they can start saving up, make plans, make travel arrangements etc.

kass: ya, it's hard for me to design when i also haven decide on e theme too.. but u'r right, for overseas frens its best to let them know earlier so tat they can save up their leave for ur wedding...

sapphire: long time no see! have u been busy recently? btw, ur hubby has been working overseas for how long already? is it tough without him by ur side? im askin cos my fiance's prob gg to work overseas n im trying to prepare myself..it's kinda tough to tink tat im gonna prepare e rest of e stuff alone..

clint: my colleague sent out 'save the date' first then those who can make it then i tink he sent out the invites.. maybe in this way can save $ from giving out cards to those who can't make it..

Hi Clint.. I see.. you are sending those 'save-the-date' e-invites. That's a good idea.

Hi pinkglove.. yeah. .been a little busy with work. Hee..

My hubby is in USA for 1.5years already... and 1 more year to go. Hmm, will feel lonely on Fridays and weekends initially coz used to having him around but will get used to it after some time. Im rather independent, so Im fine handling everything myself.

How long would your hubby be going away? Which country is he going, coz if it is regional areas then easy peasy coz same timezone and there's budget airlines.. you can still arrange to visit him on a fairly regular basis.

sapphire: u r very steady eh! tat means he's away for 2.5 yrs, tat's very very long to me! I must really learn from u ya
he'll be gg to hk though very near but im already kinda sad .. haha..e thought of seeing him only once every 2 mths sounds so long to me.. lolz.. I'll be joining him only after our wedding's over

So you are relocating to HKG to be with him after your AD? HKG.. can always take jetstar to look for him.

No choice but to be steady leh... Good for his resume if he goes overseas to work. But he would be back before our AD. Would be a little rushing, coz need to get him suit MTM and take prewedding pics.

The longest time we didnt see each other was about 7 months.

ya, i'll be relocating to HK to be with him cos his is permanent posting.. but that is if he's happy over there, if he choose to return then things remain e same. yup, agree with e part on good for his exposure esp while we're still young..
I cannot imagine 7 mths!!

Will find a job after a few mths of rest I guess.. Need a break frm work too. I can't speak Cantonese at all. Lol. But too early to plan now also. Many things can change along e way too. Fiancé might decide to come back instead? Hehe, will just play by e ear ;)

Just read the post on Bryan & Jean photography. I quite like their pics actually... What a pity that the atitude wasnt professional.

Pinkglove - that's nice to be relocated. I also want to follow my hubby but it's better than I stay put here to work and save $$ for wedding.

i think yishun is gonna have a DBSS soon! developers bidded the site just yest!

for those still looking for a nest might wanna keep a lookout!

Sapphire: u have survived n ur r/s will b stronger den ever! Gosh, I confirmed would have gone over if it's so long! 2 of u r super practical pple!
Clint: hopefully can rent out e unit. Actually this's one main reason y I'm not gg over earlier cos our house expected to finish by mar so I've to b here to handle lotsa admin..

Don't worry pinkglove , you still have your friends n family to help you while your fiancé is away. =) Yeah I find that relocate to another country with your partner is quite fun n challenging . But I believe the relationship between the couples will also grow stronger cos oversea only 2 of them. so the couple will tend to cherish n relies on each other more. In addition , exposure is there . Good for both couples' resume. Sapphire ! Wah . . 7 months nv see your htb is really super duper long ! I admire your strong bonding with your htb . Really not easy !

Pinkglove - if can rent out your house unit, then it would be good...

Agree with Cherry that the couples will grow stronger coz overseas only 2 of them.

Haha... our strong bonding? Hehe... But if in future he relocates again, I would follow him there, though it's better for me to stay here coz would be working would have $$. I wont be able to get a job if I follow him as I would be on those dependent visa. But I dont want to get separated again. Like you said it's not easy, needs alot of faith, trust and have to be very positive.

thanks cherry & sapphire

sapphire: ya, if we can't rent out our place, it'll be financially very taxing.. oh..tat's a very impt point, e visa part! so dependent visa don't allow u to work? I tink if i can't find job over there, i might have to leave bah.. i can't imagine myself not working..lolz..

sapphire, seady lor.... mean u been doing all the planning yourself!!

pinkglove, jia you!! you can do it!! If you getto follow go hongkong shiok leh.... mb you can also get him to recce for stuff there... supposed to have a shopping mall there that has all of wedding shops and related stuff....

Hi Pinkglove.. yah, usually dependent visa cannot have a job.. just like Spore's dependent visa. Cannot even have hp lines under the person's name.

Hi Prisclla.. yah.. hee... so I decide what I want and just get it.. Dont have to seek his opinion! hahaa....

Yeah sapphire . I agree that u must go with your htb if he relocate again . =) already married , it better to follow hubby around . Hee . Never mind la cannot work , just be a tai tai for 1 to 2 years ba =) maybe can take up class to spend your free time î„ hee . Anyway, I believe for your case, there will be some spouse benefit if your htb relocate again.;) yeah pinkglove I agreed with priscila , he can help to source items from hk for your wedding . Cheaper
I m thinking of gg hk again in dec or Jan . To get my jiemeis n wedding stuff . Hee

Priscilla & cherry: I'll def b flying over during my break. so I shld b able to check out e stuff myself. Hehe. Cannot ask him la, he wont b interested in shopping for such stuff one lo.

Sapphire: tks for e info, I didn't check out these stuff yet vno wonder u didn't follow ur hubby over.. I think I'll only check these stuff out if fiancé manages to settle down there n will confirm b stayin put ;)

sapphire, hee.... true also....get to pick everything you like...now for me is i pick a few and then the auditor(htb) decides :p...

pinkglove, hahahaha..... also true la... anyway... more fun to pick yourself anyway

that good . I think it will be fun spending your holidays for a month or so .. heheh..

shopping ! I love HK so much esp the year end weather is super good ! hehe.

Hi girls, any of u tried gowns at Avana Loft before? What's the price range like?
Thinking of getting a cocktail dress to wear before the banquet starts.

Also, have u guys done any research on florists yet? Any feedback on simply flowers, or lovedroplets? Thanks. I quite like their creations.

so interesting lovelife we got in our forum.
my BF is actually from HK also but has migrated since secondary school.

Pinkglove> no worries, i got fren who got married over to HK & recently when i go over she said she prefer her life there

fyi, the DBSS hse you can rent it out..no worries on that portion but u will need to get approval from HDB. I got fren who also stay in Tampines Premiere & relocate to KL. They got the approval to rent it out. But issue is the min. occupany of 5 yrs will b drag eg. 2011 get keys u rent out 2 yrs=2013. then from 2013 u calculate 5 yrs = 2018 then u can sell.

girls, I'm also not going over there now leh.. still have a year to go.. long way eh.. haha..

Evon: have u been very busy recently? Seldom see u around

Don't worry gals, im sure u girls can get a place by next year.. still have 1 year to look for ur place! My friends who'r getting married next yr are all actively looking around for houses now..

Siy: Tks for e info, i'll check that out soon too

pinkglove, clint: yep.. kind of.. coz i started work alrdy, so cant online 24/7... hahah! so seldom come in...
now the houses' cash is soooo crazy... hmm... also duno how, then BTO all like 4 yrs... x.x and worst is my AD is jan... sob!

pinkglove: guess we are all very happy and excited for u..hehe ;)

evon: i'm already preparing myself to stay with the in-laws already.. if we can't afford a resale flat or waiting for the BTO to be ready.. we are also thinking of renting..

chill ya.. everything will fall in place nicely!

haha.. maybe u girls can really consider renting e house from me if u really going to rent.. lolz.. but mine's in simei.. hehe..

clint: u r leaving soon right! exciting! Have u collected all ur gowns & CS already?

clint: yah... now the price is crazy.. rent is not a solution i tink.. coz my cousin rent a room aft her marriage.. its madness.. -_- unless u got e money to rent the whole house.. (which is so not worth it too) hhmmm... *pray* for all of us that the cost on hand value will dropppppp... ;)