(2011) 2011 Brides

Sapphire: I'm a huge fan of Gmarket Korean..
Hmm I also like outdoor PS more.. but SG weather very hot leh.. don't like the pespiration feeling.. maybe an alternative since we already had our outdoor PS in San Frans..

another way is to psycho my fiance to pay to do indoor venues.. hiak hiak hiak~

Hi everyone! I am a BTB in 2011, my BF just proposed over the weekend. We haven't set the date yet.

This is such a great and informative site.. glad to come here!

sapphire>> ok dok.. will try to see if i noe how to purchase frm gmarket. saw some dresses that i like!

blackcat>> congrats and welcome! in no time u'll be very well-informed with all the info and chitchat gg around here.

Hi Joyle.. I think you can go down to JawnHappyEverAfter for their ROM dress? I tink they have dresses for sale for ROM, tea-dress or bridesmaid dresses.

If Im not wrong, I think the dress for ROM are at $280.

welcome blackcat!

sapphire: how's ur BS shopping coming along? =)

Me going for my first EG fitting & altered WG this weekend, very excited! Hope e EG's like what I've envisioned!

sapphire>> thanks for the recommendation!

wob8ly>> bora bora beach bar at sentosa? food's quite good, service gd too!

pinkglove>> update us then! i'm also waiting for my first fitting, can't imagine how happy it is for u!

hihi ladies...i haven to for all the gowns shopping yet.

Any suggestion to how should i go abt doing it?
1) Must call & fix appointment?
2) Or can I email them to fix?
3) Is there any place I can grab all the contacts?
4) Can try the gowns on the spot? Only been to a few & they all touch on package & seems only allow u to try their gowns when u fix the package with them...

pls help....thinkin of going to do it this weekend

Siy

(1) It's always good to call and fix appointment. If u are going for the ala carte boutiques like Jawn Happy Ever After, Emanuel B, Silouette, Ted Collection, Bridal Veil etc, an appointment is a must. For the all-in-one boutiques, they will serve u only if they are available, hence still good to make appointments. If u want to walk in, good to do it on a weekdays when they are not as busy hence more willing to assist u.

(2) Calling always better than emailing. Very immediate confirmation. I feel tat not all BSs are prompt to checking emails.

(3) There is a directory on SgBrides. Best is to visit each of the websites. Do u have any particular ones u have shortlisted? Some of us may already have the contacts and can help.

(4) I think it helps that you let them know specifically that u would like to try on some gowns on your appointments. For walk-ins they are not that willing to let u try gowns. In all my appointments, I made my request when fixing the appt and the BSs have been okay in obliging with that. In fact, for Jawn, whom I signed up with, I went to try the gowns twice. With Emnauel B, I went to them just to try gowns for like more than 1 hour!

What's ur budget and what kind of gowns are u looking for? All-in-1 or alacarte? We can give recommendations!

wob8ly >> My friend did his at Cafe del Mar! Damn nice and we have a private area for the dinner.

Unfortunately, Singapore is not a place with beautiful beaches and many options to choose from. Are u considering a beach ceremony in say, Bali, Phuket, Langkawi?

j0yle: Yes, very happy and looking forward to it! hehe.. when'll ur first fitting be?

Siy: I agree with Kass, it's
(1) Best to call appointments if u wanna try out gowns because sometimes there might not be available fitting rooms for u if u just pop in.

(2)I've booked all appointments via phone calls and I feel that it's the most efficient way.

(3)Are u looking for one-stop BS or just designer boutiques? There's so many to choose from and each of them specialize in different areas =)

(4) I personally feel that if the BS doesn't allow u to try on e gowns, u shld reconsider because I think it's e most basic thing to allow brides to try on e gowns

wob8ly: how about sentosa? my cousin had his at rasa sentosa and the sunset was very pretty!

pinkglove: so exciting! i'm sure your gowns will turn out gorgeous

siy: i made appointments with the ala carte boutiques i visited. As for all-in-one BS, they allowed me to try quite a number even when I walked in without an appointment. What kind of BS are you looking for?

pinkglove>> not too sure bt my first fitting appt. will go down 1 more time to confirm my EG colour and the actual material. most likely in Jun/Jul. not too sure how long they will take to put on embellishments actually! ur EG is MTM yah?

Siy>> Style Weddings got this section where they have listing of quite a lot of BS with lil' write-up/address/contact. i find it quite useful and good overview of everything..

so far, I went to ala carte BS (TWP and Blush Blush) and they let me try gowns on the 1st appt. Another one, My Dream Wedding did not allow me to try the gowns (they said that new gowns will arrive nearer my wedding and those who were trying are those who's AD is ard the corner cos MDW only has OTR).

j0yle: i see.. Yup, MTM EG....so kinda anxious cos i usually don't feel safe getting something which I can't see that's already available..hehe.. but e preference for EG I realised as I do my shopping is very individual cos there can be a great variation in terms of colours and cutting.. so I just went for mtm..

MDW not very consistent leh cos they allowed my friend to try on their gowns.

purplebotle: tks! u can count down to trying out gowns in june too! hehe..

I've just confirmed with Avenue 8 for my AD PG/VG.. spent like 2 hrs talking to Bernard and going thru his albums & videos.. will also be doing another local PS with them..

Siy: If u have the budget, would suggeset that u visit ala carte BS instead.. those 1 stop BS are really pushy in their sales.. and always asking u for top up etc.. and in my own opinion, I find that their photography skill kinda of old fashion lah..

Oh, if ani1 of U needs the photo of OH wedding show..do let me know.. I taken some shots during the show..

Hi Pinkglove..Ive visited Jawn only. I like Euzart and he showed me his works. I think I will sign up with him.. 99%. Heee... So I would be confirming my BS soon. Heee.. He shares alot of details and gives alot of info. I find such very good service.

Hi Siy - I agree with Kass and PinkGlove. Better to give the BS a call for an appointment.

Hi Helovesmi.... Im with OEC! Heee... Are you thinking of getting their AD photography or pre-wedding photography?

Hi Clint... one thing down for you. Hee... A sense of achievement right?

thanks thanks.. yar, now left 1 major thing to settle which is our venue.. after that can shake leg for a while..

pinkglove: share with us your photos if u can! feel so excited for u

sapphire: glad u like Jawn =) Yup, he gives a lot of explanation and can see his passion in designing gowns for e brides!

Hmm, im thinking maybe after my PS den show u guys some of e professional photos..haha..cos also not final fitting yet..hehe..

Hi pinkglove.. yup, you girls have given me a good recommendation. Thanks Heee..

Yup.. must show us! hee... Then if you continue to log on to here after your AD, you would surely get a chance to see ours too.

hi ladies> i will have my PS in Taiwan under Bluebay. However, I do not have any actual day BS yet. Was thinking of either do ala-carte or sign up for one since I got my WG ready. Left EG & Kua/CS & ROM dress.

If can get reasonable price from BS, will look at them to cover my EG, ROM, KUA/CS, both side parents gown, coat, then jie mei dresses. Unsure if there's such service?

I was able to read all ur comments from my Iphone, wonder when we are able to comments n go direct into our forum :p

or any recommendations for nice EG?
I prefer those CS type or curvy type for my EG...

Hope to go SIL this weekend - any good contact to dial?

Anyway, there be many Wedding shows coming up, update u gals on some of the schedules

11/Apr - Sheraton (F.O.C)
11/Apr - Holiday Inn Atrium (F.O.C)
18/Apr - Marina Mandarin ($28 UOB Credit)
18/Apr - Goodwood Park ($48 DBS Credit)
18/Apr - M Hotel (F.O.C)

hey ladies! just for update.. I had scheduled an appt with LBC to have my solemnization gown measurement, fitting and design discussion early next month!! so looking forward to it... WG discussion will be in Aug.. prolly photoshoot is in Nov... had the schedule made out using the tentative AD...

Siy, I am attending the GWP show... registered..

hi everybody, i just went to La-Vie bridal studio. Any reviews regarding their services? I am interested in engaging them and for overseas prewedding photo shoot. Anyone had experiences with them for overseas photo shoot? I am interested in Europe which is very expensive...

Siy: If I remember correctly, that time when I met u.. I told u about Vaughn Tan.. he use very vibrant colours for EG and his ROM dresses..
I got one of my dresses from him..and very happy with the buy

perhaps you can also ask Bluebay regarding their AD package? maybe they can give u a better price since you have a PS package with them already..

hi Siy.. you want the jackets for both dads to be provided, dresses for jiemeis... such I htink only those one-stop bridal shop provides.... and SIL and those other designer BS wont have these.

yup Siy, SIL n designer BS doesn't provide all these. So if u are not looking for WG, u might wanna consider one stop BS instead..

For SIL, r u tinking of going down to stamford branch or amoy branch? I feel Sil has beautiful WG n they does CS EG too but they don't really specialize in CS. There are places that are well known for CS e.g. like Dang Bridal.

cowcow: exciting!! hehe.. urs will be MTM WG & EG?

Cow: Oh, cool! I think having at least 1 mtm is rather exciting. Lol. N it's great tat u have seen an OTR EG u like!

Sapphire: yup, sure will share when my ps photos r ready ;)

Thanks Rachel for the suggestion!

I have just created one FB 2011 brides group.. those interested to join can PM me your FB email.. any1 wanna volunteer to be the administrator?? Hee

Clint: Super effecient! Tks! Ahm, I'm tinking maybe we can have a few administrators? Lidat easier to make changes also? I don't mind helping, so u n me hor? Haha.. Plus someone else?? Hehe.

Siy >> For your requirements, it seems like the all-in-one BSs will cover your requirements such as ROM, parent's gown etc. These are usually not included in the alacarte BSs. You may be able to negotiate with them for a lower price since u dun need a WG.

Not sure if any BSs will cover jie mei dressed though. I rather buy them online.

Clint - PM-ed you!

Pinkglove>> yeap, same opinions on EG cos’ colour is one main factor! Sometimes just like the design but OTR only got 1 colour.

Think my friend went to MDW on a wkday and she got to try also. I went on a wkend and have to wait even thou’ I made an appointment.

Siy>> like what sapphire said, don’t think ala carte BS provide so many things, even if they do, it’s like way too expensive. (my BS doing bridesmaid/flowergirl dresses at $350/250 each for simple design), unlike one-stop kind which have a range and provide rental so can give cheaper rates.

Gd idea to have fb group! Can add me too, j0yle_t*nn @ hotm*il.com (* = a).

clint: u already have me on ur FB so still need to give u my email to add me?

j0yle: i see.. ya, i tink BS are always very busy on wkends..