(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

happylilone

Chloe: my JP's mr Koh. V easy going and smiley guy.. Ok, will keep u posted..

Yup.. I DIYed my ROM invites.. But its more of handicraft den printing.. For text wise, I used Photoshop for the effects and do a simple box ard the text.. So yup.. Can't really help u on the border part..

Fresh flowers sounds nice! But be cautious of where u get them from.. Chances are flowers from the 'bigger' florists usually dun last through the day..

chloe11

happylilone: thanks....

Then I'll have to continue finding....cause don't intend to spend more money on the cards since spend a lot on the ang pow boxes already...

I'm hoping to get my fresh flowers from my ROM and AD bouquet..which means on the day itself will have things to do before the dinner itself...cause i'll have a bouquet for ROM and two for AD...so will have flowers to play around with...then if need to add other side flowers or berries will buy them....

happylilone

Chloe: yar.. That's good thinking.. Using the flowers from your bouquet.. Me too! I got to set up my set up the area to hang all the wishes from the guest (that's my guestbook) and set up my favours lor..

Yup.. Invites can be rather pricey.. I did my ROM invites for almost $3 per piece plus envelope.. My AD invites cost abt $1.50.. Lucky I only have 18 ROM invites (which is tedious enough for me to do).. I think I'm just fussy.. :p

animelover

happylilone: I bought quite many materials - ribbons, felt, cardstocks, paper stacks, punches and embellishments including stamps, and die-cuts accessories to do my cards..

Have even told my bf about my crazy ideas for the wedding, might even be a mini-D&D style dinner hehe. I'll probably need to do about 30+ invites. Your cost is still lower than mine

happylilone

AL: yup.. got to keep my costs low.. cos i have 300+ to make.. :p and i guess u got your materials from scrapbooking shop.. their stuff are too ex for me.. hahaha.. i bought my materials from paper and ribbons wholesaler..

ee09: do share your theme and ideas yar? and how many invites u need? cos if a lot.. u wun wan it to be too tedious.. see if i can help u with a design!

chloe: yar.. i totally forgot abt the punching part.. but those things dun come cheap.. was trying to upload the effect of the punches.. but failed..

angeldoll

wow! i did not log in for a few days and there's so much info to read!

pinkbinzz: im worse than u! i havent even booked venue, (but we fixed an appointment for 16 jan), havent booked ad bs too... but for our ps we are going to taiwan

Xue Ting: thanks! we like their service too! went down on 2 occassions to look at their rings le... but there's this design that we like from meyson.. so we are comparing between the 2... hahaha

anyone know of a good GP to recommend? would need him to be able to speak in eng and chinese..

ee09

sorry dun know y din receive notification fom SB when someone replied.

colour theme Pink & gold.
theme: 2 hearts 1 love

looking at elegant.

Thanks so much!!

ee09

Just to ask: Do u gals intend to change wedding ring every yr?? Thinking of buying a new pair each anniversary....

animelover

happylilone: Actually I dun get my stuff from local scrapbook shop, all from online and they are way much cheaper.

chloe11: If you need ideas, you can take a look at Prints, there's cards made with normal hole punchers and ribbons to go around them to make shapes. Simple and nice.

ee09: Wow.. Your HTB is alright with that "new rings every year"? My bf said one ring would be good enough to last a lifetime.

angeldoll: If you dun need those famous JPs (I think you meant JP not GP), I can recommend you one, Mr Song Wilson (whom I've worked with in previous ROM ceremonies). He speaks excellent English and Mandarin, friendly and always accommodating to requests (please dun abuse that).

happylilone

Ee09: just a rough idea yar? Was thinking of a design while I'm prepping to go work.. I'm thinking white/cream pearlux shimmering paper.. Cos gold or pink paper is tricky to work with and not easy to find in the correct tone.. Gold and black fibrous paper, with pink ribbon and gold powder embossed monogram, which features a pair of hearts with u and htb's names...

It'll be a long postcard style card, not the conventional type
that folds into half.. Topped off with slot envelope.. Be prepared cos it's a lot of handiwork!

I realised u may not know wad I'm talkibg abt.. Hahha.. U wanna leave your email add for me to email sketches? I hv pics of some cards I've done before.. :p

chloe11

happylilone: thanks for the idea...but doing just a few cards so don't intend to buy those...went to look at it but a little too ex...maybe shall consider it again....

AL: thanks for the suggestion...I've been to Prints but the cards are pretty ex there...do you mind sharing the website you bought your stuffs?? did you buy the stamps from there as well???

can I also have Mr Song's contact...must keep a few just in case some other JP can't make it...is his name in the JP list at the ROM website??

kaishin

Hi All, I'm a 20.11.2011 BTB. Just booked Venue. Still sourcing for BS, ring, and etc. Only manage to contact JP but I think too early so he doesn't want to commit yet.

>.< Anyone doing afternoon wedding banquet/lunch? Would it be very rush for tea ceremony &amp; auspicious entry into the house?

ee09

happylilone: thanks. I see the idea. Thanks so much!!

AL: care to share where u buy online?? thanks

animelover

chloe11: What I meant was that you could get some ideas from Prints, not buying from Prints. Or maybe buy one, and modify the card.

As for Mr Song, he's a grassroots leader under Queenstown. That's if you dun mind having "not-so-famous" solemnisers.

lily930: Mr Song is a licensed solemniser, not under the list of JPs. Will drop you an email.

ee09: I get my stuff from www.joann.com. It has sales off and on, so quite worth compared to getting them in SG. My friend has also recommended me to get pearlized paper. I'll be mixing my paper types for my cards.

happylilone

Gals, u may also like to check out fancy papers oppo national library.. They sell art cards and papers at v reasonable price, with huge selection.. For ribbons, check out kin soon at Arab St.. Another one that u can be spoilt for choice.. V cheap too.. Cos the same roll of ribbon can cost thrice in places like spotlight..

chloe11

happylilone: do they sell laced ribbons there as well??? just in case cause not sure if I still need any lace....

happylilone

Chloe: the last time I been there is quite some time ago.. Mmm.. I may swing by this weekend to grab more ribbons.. Can help u take a look

chloe11

happylilone: thanks.....just looked at the website AL gave...found some border punchers already and may need to buy ribbons too....

AL: thanks for the website...it's really good....

chloe11

AL: How do you place order for it? They only ship within the US is it?? So how did you ship it to Singapore???

happylilone

Chloe: no prob! For the border punches.. If u are buying the punch around the page ones.. Do rem u need to buy the corner punch also yar? And also.. The border ones required your card to be of specific dimensions.. So do keep that in mind.. I have a set which I bought sometime ago at laine's..

animelover

chloe11: You can get a US address when you register an account at either vpost, comgateway or borderlinx (you need to own a Citibank to use borderlinx). It's free. You pay for your shipping charges (these service providers will ship your orders to SG after they have received your orders from the merchant). Do note that if you spend anything > SGD400 (inclusive of shipping and taxes), SG Customs will charge 7% GST on your parcel upon delivery.

If you are looking at something cheaper (usually of lower quality though not all items), you can try to www.orientaltrading.com

https://www.vpost.com.sg/vpost/index1.jsp
https://www.borderlinx.com/m/
http://www.comgateway.com

chloe11

happylilone: I didn't buy any corner punch and I suppose the one I'm buying should be flexible type cause it's like a whole long piece kind...still haven't decided how to go about using the punchers....hehehe....

AL: thanks for the info....came a bit too late cause I've bought it and putting it at my cousin's place in US...will have to wait months before I get it cause need to wait for another cousin to go there to bring it back....

chloe11

AL: Just emailed them to check if it is possible to cancel the order as they are just processing the order. If not then I may just have to wait lah....

the_moment

How the thread is becoming more active as the date draws nearer! You know, like most girls, I've always fantasized about my grand wedding. That once in a lifetime thing.

I've also thought abt D-I-Y-ing lots of stuff but as I get nearer to the date, I realise I am not as enthusiastic as before. I think that personalising the ang pao boxes, ang paos, invites could be a waste of time and afterall we would put it away after wedding.

I want to feel as much excitement as well. But wonder why its dwindling. Perhaps it's due to high work committment. But argh.. I want to have the time to do all these for the once in a lifetime event too.

That said, I've ordered personalised number plate for wedding car and bedsheets in Dec already. So contradicting.

happylilone

Chloe: I just walked out of kin soon.. Din spot lace ribbons but the place still awe me with the tall shelves of ribbons.. :p.. Saw quite a few couples shopping for wedding needs also..

ee09

SSAC: I thought abt diy my own invite then htb reminds me hotel provide e card.

Will be diy ang pow box, ang bao, corsages...

xumeetschew

Hello BTB!!
Valentine's day is round the corner.. haha. I'm a bit kiasu. but i need ideas what to give for ur another half.
feel free to flood ur suggestions, ur ideas here.

chloe11

happylilone: thanks for helping...then i'll probably get it from Spotlight if necessary but will probably go down to look for ribbon for my cards cause I got this border punch which allows to do some threading with the ribbons to provide texture to the cards.....but will probably go down around June/July cause my stuff won't be arriving till around that time....

Guess will just have to focus on doing my montage first and getting the card wordings and printing done first.....

shanney

anyone knows where to design and make customised invitation cards? wanna do a customised one but totally no idea where to start..

animelover

YJZL: A lot of those printing shops at Bras Basah Complex (or near NAFA new campus) do offer card-printing services, and yes some do cater to customised designs. You might wanna try asking the price around first.

ee09

u can try queensway or queenstown shopping centre. the one next to anchorpoint...

There are lots at peace centre too...

junio

my hotel provide ang bao box and card and wedding favour.. but i am add more stuff for wedding favour since it is a family and close friend only..

shanney

hi jun, what are you adding as wedding favour??

need to get more ideas, i want a customised wedding, yet cheap + fuss free. hehe

junio

i thought of getting mini cupcakes and put our initial on it..

and also some traditional stuff.. i am muslim so i am going to put the flower egg which have some meaningful meaning and also a bag of leave and flower that smell nice.. it also have good meaning to the wedding couple..

u know like chinese kind.. couple eat tangyuan.. kids jumping on the bed.. but this one i add to the wedding favour..

lily930

wow.. u all are so talented.. coz can DIY stuffs.. i am super lousy at that.. haha! i also planning to source for my own wedding favour.. wan cheap cheap deal yet nice nice and practical thing for all my relatives and closest friends.. lolx!

junio

Lily &amp; YJZL: how big is your wedding and where?

Have you guys settle with your photoshoot and bridal package?

Mine only 90 people! LOL ..

Any nov bride going to this weekend fair?

My partner is in overseas... no friend to go! LOL

shanney

lily: im also bad at DIY-ing (plus lazy) thats y im looking at customising, but cheap ones though. i dont want those wedding favours that ppl get so often, it seems meaningless.

jun: mine is at Marina Mandarin should be around 20 odd tables. hopefully as small as possible. i booked my bridal package with selatar broadway already, gonna see see the gowns next monday.

and im going to Bows this weekend. I hope they received my RSVP coz no acknowlodgement or whatsoever from them.

any recommendations on PG/VG?? me and htb now choosing PG/VG and having a hard time deciding.

chloe11

YJZL: just an advice, if your getting borh PG and VG, make sure they worked together before. Maybe you can choose your favourite PG and ask your PG to recommend any VG friend he/she comfortable working with because you wouldn't want your VG appearing in your the photos, spoiling those photos and you wouldn't want to keep seeing you PG in your videos as well.

What kind of things do you want to DIY?? I am also bad at DIY but just need to get ideas from internet and I'm sure you're there. Just hope it'll turn out as what I expect.

Lily: maybe you can check the backlog of this forum post cause I remembered some BTBs did post some website to get favours from Malaysia which would be cheaper.

pinkbinzz

ee09: i saw your message on DIY your corsage?may i know where did u find all those items?

Hi All btbs: may i know anyone of u also doing corsage? i have intention to do only corsage and hong bao box though the hotel do provide..